The Adrian Loveridge Column – Opportunities Abound
It’s now over five years since we organised and held the last re-DISCOVER the Caribbean Show and wonder if the timing is now right to resurrect the event again, especially as there are positive signs being shown by LIAT […]
to offer more affordable fares.
[…]
The recently announced additional flights to/from Port of Spain are an example, with a lead-in cost of US$183.10 for Trinidad to Barbados and US$196.36 return in the opposite direction, including all taxes and add-ons.
Sadly our national marketing agency at that time lost interest in what was in fact a unique gathering within the region of over 20 participating Caribbean territories with a common objective. Apart from the obvious increase in hotel occupancy and associated spending the scores of exhibitors generated, we had started witnessing secondary benefits, way beyond that of growing intra-Caribbean travel.
St. Vincent and the Grenadines especially, saw the value of participation, by encouraging their smaller manufacturers and suppliers to display and promote their products. The last delegation from SVG alone comprised of over 30 persons.
We worked very closely with the now Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre (LESC) to make exhibiting affordable for all, with corporate Barbados willingly sponsoring individual destination shared Small Hotel stands enabling even the tiniest accommodation providers across the region to be part of a much bigger awareness picture for a nominal $50 registration fee per property.
Caribbean people travel year round and just a ten per cent increase per year in arrival numbers from this market could make a massive difference to the bottom line of many tourism partners. And before detractors point out the limited air capacity availability, even if LIAT is averaging 80 per cent load factors during the summer, that still means hundreds of unsold seats are available to fill each day. Just as an empty hotel bed cannot be sold twice the next night, airlines have almost identical challenges with unoccupied seats.
We willingly gave our time and resources to mount and promote the show entirely free of any charges for eight years as we felt then and still feel now that there remains a huge untapped market within the Caribbean.
The idea was that the event would be built into a showcase for the region, partially reversing the millions over the years that have been spent by our tourism planners to travel to London and Berlin for the annual World Travel Market and ITB shows. What better way to promote our tourism offerings than to bring overseas travel agents and tour operators in greater numbers to sample product in person.
Hopefully now under a restructured Barbados tourism national marketing agency and new enlightened thinking, our policymakers will re-consider supporting the re-DISCOVER the Caribbean show.
Barbados still remains the only Caribbean nation who successfully put together a truly dedicated intra-regional consumer and travel trade event, which captured the interest and participation of more than twenty tourism driven countries. Plus with the new direct twice weekly flight from Bogota in Colombia, there is a wealth of opportunity to include destinations along the southern Caribbean coast.

Listened to Dr. Kerry Hall talking a good game with DJ yesterday and after the highfaluting language here is what she opined. Barbados bushy and dirty, it wants cleaning. Sure Miller, Hants et al agree because they have been singing this tune till hoarse on BU for years.
LikeLike
BRITAIN’S LEADING TRAVEL ASSOCIATION, ABTA, is reporting “strong” demand for travel to Barbados.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/74754/-strong-demand-barbados#sthash.qSge1K0v.dpuf
WONDERFUL NEWS.
NOW CLEAN UP DE PLACE BEFOE DE TOURISSES GET DOWN DEY AN TREAT DEM REAL
NICE AN REMEMBA TO SAY TANK YOU FUH DE FOREIGN EXCHANGE DAT WILL SAVE
SUMMA WUNNA FROM ABJECT POVERTY.
LikeLike
Homeporting a cruise ship in Barbados for the winter has certain benefits in terms of the island’s exposure, but the average cruise ship sets out from Barbados with 2,000 passengers for a 7 night jaunt around the Caribbean. It takes 10 wide-body planes to bring them down to catch the the sailing. Immigration will record that this number of visitors arrived in Barbados TWICE (once recording the cruise passengers’ arrival from their countries, and the second time after their cruise). Obviously this will distort the tourism arrival performance this season. . . . and many long-term repeat Barbados visitors are having trouble getting their flights down !!!
LikeLike
Lee when Muscle Mary Lynch was tourism chief under the Bees he dismissed your posit that passengers who land and go directly to cruise ships are recoded as long stay tourists. Added to that you wrongly postulate that they are recorded twice as arrivals thereby swelling the stats. Are you the Chief of Immigration and when did the policy change from the days of Muscle Mary? Just asking.
LikeLike
We need to work harder to keep the lid on crime. We should not forget Dr.Hall mentioned on the program with DJ on Sunday that the plan is to involve tourists in community tourism. To hear about two shootings at the St.Philip carnival does not augur well.
LikeLike
would not be so funny when reading about garbage in barbados when those doing the scrutiny lives in big countries like america or canada where some of the streets are littered with garbage
wonder if they apply the same kind of scrutiny to their govts for clean up ,,Not saying that scrutiny is not called for but it seems that there is always an overabundance of negativity found on BU against this Country among some overseas bajans who lives in countries of great wealth and have to live with rats and vermin running their streets
LikeLike
http://i2.wp.com/media.globalnews.ca/videostatic/210/395/GLBCNH072215STEWART_848x480_489862211579.jpg?w=670&quality=70&strip=all
LikeLike
What an idiot:
We have the head of the Barbados Tourism Product Committee Kerry Hall calling for the island to be cleaned. We have the parliamentary secretary on her Facebook page admitting we need to spruce up the product and others. Yet here is an idiot comparing a country which depends on tourism to big cities which has a diversified based. All in the interest of perpetuating yardfolowism.
On 1 December 2015 at 10:29, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
Glad to be an idiot there are many positive things being said about barbados on face book pages but of course David King would ONLY find Those pages that spout negativity ,,,WHAT AN IDIOT
LikeLike
I am pointing my finger at YOU DAVID KING. If i believe you were genuine in your concerns my reaction/s would be different but you have exhibited an unending mischievous attempt to flogged the nation and the reputation of this small island in the ground with negative articles,Thankfully u have failed so far.
There is no sequence of balance whereby a regular reader can say that is Fair and balance,
BU approach under the guise of change can be interpreted as mischievousness and disproportionately imbalanced and at times misleading.WRONG ! WRONG! WRONG
LikeLike
Take a walk from Bridgetown to oistins and then say what you say you DLP mouthpiece, the island is in terrible shape, run down buildings, unfinished buildings with laughable signs …occupancy 2014 only two left….things that haven’t seen paint in years. How there can be garbage on the ground when the can is only a foot away is ridiculous. You are supposed to be a tourist destination maybe you should start acting like it. Barbados reminds me at my night at the bar the other night, when the bar tender was going on about all the things going wrong in his life, I finally cut him off and said …buddy you have got this all wrong I am supposed to bring you my problems. So I say to you AC instead of telling me about my streets your the tourist destination,you want my money … get your house in order
LikeLike
@ Lawson /David
Cuhdear … AC is an ass…. equus africanus asinus
What did you expect?????
Admittedly she is one of the more coherent DLP asses, …but that only tells us why our Treasury is in such a mess …. It does NOT tell us that you should expect an ass to bray logically….
Let the legion post in peace nuh….. it gives an insight into the level of shiite into which we have dug ourselves….. and hopefully inspiration to Jeff, Caswell, Walter and Grenville that they NEED to get their personal protective equipment into shape in preparation for shovelling LOTS of shiite….soon.
LikeLike
If Bu intent is to burn the house down .Well go ahead at your own peril .the world is watching.
LikeLike
It is better for Bajans and BU to complain that wait for Tourists to find a NASTY STINKING Island and then go back home and spread the word.
CLEAN UP THE PLACE AND BE NICE TO THOSE BRINGING YOU “FOREIGN EXCHANGE”.
LikeLike
@ David November 30, 2015 at 4:23 AM #
“Listened to Dr. Kerry Hall talking a good game with DJ yesterday and after the highfaluting language here is what she opined. Barbados bushy and dirty, it wants cleaning. Sure Miller, Hants et al agree because they have been singing this tune till hoarse on BU for years”
And this pet peeve of ours is vividly borne out by Colonel Buggy’s photo contributions to corroborate the saying: “a picture is worth a thousand words”.
Our concerns over the state of public health of Barbados are born out of visual experiences in competing tourism-based destinations. Bermuda, The Bahamas and the Caymans spring readily to mind.
Aren’t concerns for the environment and its impact on public health clear indices of an educated population? After more than 50 years of so-called free education, is it asking to much to realize some ROI from the billions of tax dollars spent on public education?
It seems the country might be better off writing down this large but impaired investment by reducing its on-going contributions to keep this failing investment from becoming a massive liability.
And this negative prognosis it borne out convincingly by the likes of ac & co who have in the most ‘enlightened’ of manner seek to put a case why Barbados should remain dirty and rundown because big cities are full of garbage.
I believe our clarion calls are falling on death ears because the authorities in Barbados will only act when there is an outbreak of some communicable disease of epidemic proportions that could make the country a no-go place for tourists.
What would be a wakeup call for these people to come to their senses and clean up Bridgetown given the hundreds of cruise ship passengers transiting through Barbados? The removal of Bridgetown from the list of the UNESCO heritage sites?
What about the improving the signage to assist cruise ship visitors in their trip from and back to the cruise ship terminal in the Port?
What about cleaning up the Oistins Bay Garden facilities and upgrading the toilet facilities to accommodate the expected increases in stay-over visitors?
LikeLike
I do not get your point of using a picture of garbage strewn about the place after a music festival, What are you trying to say —–“we are not so bad?
One must be careful when comparing the US or Canada to Barbados. Of course , they have pockets of untidiness, but the size of their economy means that they would not be as affected by tourism as Barbados would be.
In addition, the size of these countries and the number of tourist attractions are much more numerous than what we have in Barbados.
LikeLike
The idea that as we are a sovereign nation like the US and therefore we can make comparison between the two countries needs rethinking. When one begin to take other variables into account, size, population, economy, etc. then the nation to nation match-up is a flawed one.
Bajans have to take good care of their nation so that we do not engage in comparing the Barbados with the worst of the USA.
LikeLike
@ TheObserrver December 1, 2015 at 2:01 PM
Anybody who seeks to make any comparison between Barbados and the USA or Canada of any Western European country in relation to economy, population size or social development will have to be a blind jackass thinking only with its rear end.
And our BU-resident ‘equus africanus asinus’- styled as “ac” the asinine cretin- is the epitome of such thinking. Barbados is no more than a large town in some Mid-western state in the great USA or an extension of some conurbation of any major European city.
Let Barbados, with its incestuously Victorian-era based mores, compare itself with others of its own fighting weight division. Let the junk bondholders start with Bermuda, The Bahamas or even St. Lucia or Antigua. But certainly not Singapore, its former social and economic primary school classmate now turned professional and fighting in the top-class heavyweight division.
LikeLike
Here is an example Dr. Kerry Hall used, bear in mind she is the head of the Tourism Product Authority. He stated lighthouse attractions is big business in other tourism destinations, Barbados has FOUR and they are in a derelict state. Pick sense from nonsense.
LikeLike
@lawson, this is Artax’s comment meant for you:
LikeLike
David I saw it every morning on my walks, litterers tourist or local should get arrested and have to spend half a day picking junk or snails or pay a fine.
LikeLike
I made my point garbage is a world wide problem for many countries rich or poor. This ongoing attempt to send a malicious message to tourist about garbage in barbados has been over done and overused by political malcontents
What Dr, Kelly says is within the context of a Historical Frame work and not with the intent of malicious and idle propaganda to ran away tourist,
Bu has been on a tirade of salacious and malicious gossip for years and most who have frequent this blog would be well aware that BU has become a toxic bed of propaganda to feed the hostility that emits from the mouths of the BLP brigade against the govt
LikeLike
LikeLike
The above photo is from one of the wealthiest and richest countries and can afford dump trucks day or night to haul garbage yet some who frequent this blog and lives in that country have the nerve to be pointing finger,
Compare to what lawson has depicted as garbagein barbados in his pic i wonder what he would call that dump pile on the streets of kanada
LikeLike
@ ac December 1, 2015 at 7:03 PM
“Bu has been on a tirade of salacious and malicious gossip for years and most who have frequent this blog would be well aware that BU has become a toxic bed of propaganda to feed the hostility that emits from the mouths of the BLP brigade against the govt..”
Why don’t you do a bit of Time Travelling and go back to pre-2008? Would you assertion still apply?
The photo you posted is typical of many an alley in ‘Historic’ Bridgetown a so-called World Heritage Site whose designation will soon be withdrawn if you guys don’t get your act together.
Colonel Buggy has a repertoire of photo evidence to prove it; rats and all.
Barbados just like it junk bond economy will soon be tagged with the label “Environment of Junk”-with the warning: For your own Health & Safety, please do not visit.
LikeLike
This one for You miller you like starting fires
LikeLike
Thats regent park did you get that snap on a visit
LikeLike
Now tell me this how can a country so wealthy have garbage trucks catching on fire,, Not supposed to happen right,but it did, kanada
LikeLike
Lawson dont worry the snow soon come and cover it all up/// unfortunately for Barbados we do not have such luxury of waiting foir snow to hide our dirty laundry, Barbados is a where the canadians hang out in the winter and could not care less about two pieces of garbage on the streets of barbados, after all they left there house filthy stink maybe miller and some ot the BLP brigade can email the canadian govt and give them a piece of their mind about kanads dirty streets,
LikeLike
Barbados during strike action
LikeLike
Steupsss
Man David …you can’t rub out some of this shiite AC posting?
Any other idiot knows that however dirty you keep your OWN house, you won’t be happy to leave home to go on vacation and SPEND YOUR MONEY in a place that is dirty as shiite…
…but AC is a SPECIAL kinda idiot – who will take a few weeks to figure that out…
In the meantime ….MUST WE ENDURE HER…?
…or can you rub um out…? 🙂
LikeLike
Thank god for the snow and cold hides garbage, kills bugs, stops Canadians from bringing things back with them after a holiday big or small . Typical instead of sayin yeah we should do better tourism is our life blood you say you are just as bad if not worse . dlp hack
LikeLike
Bush shite do not start fires you cant OUT now get OUT of my Face you dirty ole man
LikeLike
@ ac December 1, 2015 at 9:42 PM
How dare you call somebody “dirty”!!
After what you have written previously to justify the unsightly piles of garbage all over Barbados, but especially Bridgetown, how dare you refer to another as dirty?
One can just imagine the state of your domestic surroundings. A no-go area for any person of class or concerns for their own health. How do you feel living among filth and having rats and other vermin for bedfellows, ac?
But like Leroy Parris, you are not a leper to those of like mind.
LikeLike
Thanks, David
LikeLike
this one is right up Professor deputy dawg alley
LikeLike
all because he drop a stick of chewing gum on the street
LikeLike
Today just after 3 pm I observed a wee girl, no more that 7 years old unwrapped , something and dropped the paper on the ground beneath her. Now where did she learn this?
LikeLike
Have you heard the promotional jingle on CBC ? ” This is the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation, coming to you from Beautiful Barbados.”
You may be able to fool some of the people some of the time, but…………..
I must once again repeat what I overheard a Royal Navy sailor saying way back in 1980, as he stepped off his ship at the Bridgetown Port and was walking along Princess Alice Highway on his way to the City Centre, or Nelson Street. “F*** me, mate! there is more sh** on the roadway than on the bloody side walk.”
35 Years later and we are still bobbing and weaving our way between the sh** in Bridgetown and elsewhere.
Pride and Industry, like a one night stand,is to many Barbadians, a one day affair.
LikeLike
@ Colonel buggy
LikeLike
We can do better Colonel Buggy, the garbage problem is more visible in the gullies when you are out and about on those future trust walks. Disgusting.
LikeLike
On the road to redemption
I like the video, but as a man from the North who rarely made it past Bridgetown, the place is foreign to me. Looking forward for you Speightstown to Bridgetown run.
LikeLike
Barbados wins an award.
http://sflcn.com/barbados-named-destination-of-the-year/
!
LikeLike
David have you seen how many travel awards were given out , it would be surprising if a country didn’t win one. Barbadians should see this as a disappointment …that from probably winning every category at one time they have dropped way down the list there is time to turn it around if all hands are on deck
LikeLike
@lawson
It could have been worse, no award received.
We need to clean the place.
LikeLike
I guess in a way you are right one better than Haiti or Guyana
LikeLike
And there is a different perspective when the camera speed is reduced to still shots and the photographer is on foot.
This photo shows some buildings along part of the route seen in the video. These old buildings are on the South Coast, a stone throw away from the popular Browne’s Beach. They are in the middle of the Garrison -Bridgetown Heritage site(s). And are just a politicians throw away from the Government Head Quarters on Bay Street.
Yes David, we can do much better, in many spheres.
LikeLike
NEW YORK – Barbados wins big in 2015 with the recognition of the island as ‘Destination of the Year’ 2015 and acknowledgment for the opening of its newest resort,
Sandals Barbados, dubbed the ‘New All-Inclusive Resort of the Year’ by Caribbean Journal in their coveted Caribbean Travel Awards
That makes 2 awards.
We should be pleased but INSPIRED to CLEAN UP DE PLACE NOW and more importantly CONTINUE TO KEEP DE wrasse whole place CLEAN.
NOTE:
A wrasse is a unique fish that forms a symbiotic relationship with other species by setting up a “cleaning station” to remove unwanted parasites that may have attached themselves.
LikeLike
sandals Barbados destination of the year, maybe if your were a clump of sargassum
LikeLike
Listen Colonel some of them ole houses was owned by the Anthribus cant spelled the name correctly but these white folks live in a big great house next to ST pauls church the govt cannot demolish property they do not own, i guess the beneficiaries of the properties on bay street do not care
LikeLike
i am quite familiar with bay street only lived a stone throw away from the beach many of my freinds lived in some of those houses before they were derelicts, the fact is that the ownership does not see a need to repair but use the property as a landmark rather than letting bush accumulate and having to pay for the up kept
some of them are occupied even as the landlords keep collecting rent but govt cannot locate these slum lords as they lived overseas and it would cost govt and taxpayers sums of money to locate them and legal hurdles prevent govt from demolishing them
In the meanwhile they remain eyesores and govt gets blame.
LikeLike
Barbados will continue to be a force to be reckoned “with” in tourism the awards will keep pouring in Not only has govt helped in giving necessary support to the industry but Rhianna last visit during crop over gave an overwhelmingly amount of exposure to the island worldwide ,Her name has now become synonymous with barbados tourism helping to give the additional accolades and respect due
LikeLike
my buddy used to win all the home builders awards till he stopped paying the entry fee AC get a grip
LikeLike
@lawson
Correct, many of these awards require an application to be considered.
LikeLike
The grip should be held by the naysayers and haters of this lovely islands .Even an award that would help to garnish publicity for the island the haters take offense .What a God dam shame and pity , What about the free publicity Rhianna gives to this country ,leave it up to the likes of a Lawson a gag order would be place in effect to ensure that she never speaks the name of barbados ever again
LikeLike
@ ac December 3, 2015 at 8:49 PM
With all of these successes in tourism why are they not being reflected in the foreign reserves or the multiplier effect being felt in other sectors of the economy to reduce unemployment especially among the youth who are the most socially explosive segment of the society?
LikeLike
@Miller
The tourism minister from Singapore said the KPIs for tourism is number of arrivals and average SPEND. Our locals like to boast about numbers. We need the holistic approach.
LikeLike
Miller why don/t u take a peep at Mia’s numbers and she how much traction she has picked up over the past three weeks and leave the job of tourism numbers to the govt who have done a splendid job in attracting tourist to barbados
When they were little tourist wunna scream and shout like gully boars. Now the tourist are coming wunna say that is not enough
LikeLike
nobody hates the island just what you and your cronies have done or let happen, but quit mixing topics by mentioning Rihanna I have gone from homo sapiens to homo erectus
LikeLike
@ ac December 4, 2015 at 7:10 PM
“leave the job of tourism numbers to the govt who have done a splendid job in attracting tourist to Barbados..”
Keep fooling yourself.
Is the Barbados government also responsible for attracting increasing numbers of tourists to Cuba, Jamaica, St. Barts and the other East Caribbean islands?
Do the tourists who arrive to join cruise ships just sail 20 miles off Barbados and return for the flight back home?
You better thank Allah for the situation in North Africa and parts of Sub-Sahara Africa.
Just hope that the UK experiences a beastly cold winter.
LikeLike
LOL lawson so you trying to censor my freedom of speech ///what/s up with you blp bunch and censoring. btw u big up yuh old cheap buddy and ac said nothing or even attack
Miller simply say the tourist are coming
LikeLike
Just cutting and pasting.
” five US$25 million luxury villas in Holetown, St James”
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75014/british-firm-batty-about-barbados#sthash.y3nY5yKc.dpuf
25 houses at Battaleys Mews, Mullins, where each three-bedroom house has been comprehensively renovated and relaunched,”
LikeLike
The biggest contribution the government can make to improve tourism is to
CLEAN DE STINKING PLACE
and get the police to deal with the criminals.
LikeLike
cleaning up a place provides jobs….. forcing the owners to paint or the govt will do it and charge them legalize marijuana and have govt sell it, force ac to wear a burka you know things most people are for
LikeLike
ABOUT FIFTY STUDENTS from the Parkinson Memorial Secondary School and the Christ Church Foundation School joined the team from the Caribbean Policy Development Centre and the Caribbean Youth Environment Network (CYEN) to clean up Long Beach, Christ Church this morning.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75219/students-help-clean-beach#sthash.yUXpYLtk.dpuf
AWESOME START !!!!!!
LikeLike
maybe Lawson you can send them a Memo requesting their benevolence towards a Canada cleanup Day in the parks and poor neighborhoods
LikeLike
Here is the difference between us Canadians and you,one of my tenants called me that the sewer line was blocked… this morning three of us dug down 9ft and repaired it we had a laugh 3 well off guys working in a ditch repairing a sewer line. That’s what it is like up here we don’t mind getting our hands dirty But if rich guys can do it so can poor ones. So maybe its time to get some people off there assess to clean the island who find it easier to hold their hand out for alms or a gun in it to rob ya.
LikeLike
Lawson if life is so great in the freezer why do you Bother to come to this Stinky island
LikeLike
ac December 5, 2015 at 7:04 PM #
Lawson if life is so great in the freezer why do you Bother to come to this Stinky island
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Even the Queen has to leave her parlour to spend a penny
LikeLike
AC you are still behind the curve, just rented a condo in mt tremblant for Christmas/newyears the freezer is fun in the winter but lucky you… I will be seeing you in feb and crop-over you should try coming north maybe get a selfie with trudeau. See we have 600000 west Indians or decent in Canada and trudeau is going to let you smoke all the dope you want
LikeLike
@ lawson sounds great to me ….meaning dope
LikeLike
Colonel i don/t think the queen would leave Buckingham place to spend a penny in garbage
LikeLike
But what are we doing about another nuisance which is guaranteed to drive visitors away ? Barbadians have become deaf, and even dumb to it. EXCESSIVE NOISES from ear splitting scrambler bikes , and other types, as well as wannabe racing cars, all hours of the day and night.
Barbados must be rated high as a very noisy destination,and not a fella doing anything about it, in spite of having adequate legislation in place.
LikeLike
Colonel
But what are we doing about another nuisance which is guaranteed to drive visitors away ? . EXCESSIVE NOISES from ear splitting scrambler bikes , and other types, as well as wannabe racing cars, all hours of the day and night.
Where are living under a pebble international visitors live in noisy environments with the twenty hour noises from police sirens ambulances and those every day occurrence sounds coming from the loud outburst of car alarms in the dead of night……. which reminds me that you are a knee jerk alarmist
LikeLike
@ ac
You wrote that “international visitors live in noisy environments with the twenty hour noises from police sirens ambulances and those every day occurrence sounds coming from the loud outburst of car alarms in the dead of night……” What does this nonsense has to do with people visiting Barbados?
Colonel Buggy is correct by mentioning the excessive noises that abounds Barbados, especially from those motor cycle wheeling idiots, who terrorize motorists and pedestrians on a daily basis. The Ministry of Tourism markets Barbados as a tourist destination. Tourists visit a destination to get away from the hustle and bustle of their environment, to relax in peace and comfort as well as to enjoy the destination’s culture and activities. If you were to visit Trip Advisor and read the comments visitors make about noises, for example, from garbage and skip trucks that awaken them in the wee hours of the morning.
Supposed Colonel Buggy had written about the nuisance of providers of goods and services over-charging tourists, beggars, drug sellers, paros, which are also guaranteed to drive visitors away, your response would probably be the international visitors live in that environment at home. What a nitwit you are.
LikeLike
Question how long does a tourist stay on the island a couple of days the annual visitor for the best part does not dwell in the city and most likely the noises like police sirens and ambulances would only effect their night rest or daytime activities periodically
The noise of music might be the only such association within limited spaces close to hotels or residences only on the weekend which is far and few in between but overall the loud noises of which you speak would not have a major effect on the vast majority of tourist or visitors entering the island
Again i reiterate that most tourist hearing any loud noises have lived in such an environment for numerous years
AS usual the BLP watch dogs are always running like a pack of wolves in search of blood
LikeLike
Always such an authority on all issues. When commonsense dictates we should be sensitive to noise pollution and seek to address it not only because it degrades the environment for tourists but locals as well, instead we have the naked yardfowlism being espoused. If a good point is made by a commenter good sense says to acknowledge t and move on.
Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.
On 6 December 2015 at 21:56, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
Always the expert on the interpretation of what a persons input indicates
The retort given was to defuse the Blp blood thirsty hounds dogs argument based on political propaganda
the read of most visitors opinion to this island does not prop up the notion bandied about here on Bu that noise is their greatest concern
If one wants to be fair and use a plausible argument against loud music and car horns etc one should speak about the effect of those noises on the barbadian public in general
Not solely resorting to political hogwash to spike an argument which is laced and peppered in political mouthings and rinsed with perceptions and non supportive facts about noise pollution and the effect on tourist
If the individual wants to tabled those concerns they should bring the statistical facts to prove their mutterings instead of becoming statistical engineers of propaganda
LikeLike
the above retort was for YOU speckled fowl (DAVID) you can do with it whatever you like ,,,like stick it up yuh rear end for all i care
Every time an individual differs in opinion you quick to stick yuh nose,,,, so bloody annoying
And you always preaching about transparency it is transparent that only those views you agree are acceptable those that you disagree gets a tongue lashing Jas
LikeLike
The hat of a DLP yardfowl rest comfortably on your head.
Look the scratch grain…chick chick chick!
LikeLike
LOL and right next to the yardfowl is the speckled fowl but being the exemplary disciple for all things transparent you conveniently edited the photo
LikeLike
The REAL joke is in how similar AC sounds to those other idiots running the country….
…and how similarly unaware she seem of how stupid they sound…
Shiite man!!!
Only sack cloth and ashes can save our asses now…..
LikeLike
ac December 6, 2015 at 3:49 PM
Stayed at a hotel in Rio de Janiero a few few feet away from the popular Copa Cabana beach with a busy highway between. Not a bit of noise .
Stayed at Hotel in Tel Aviv, another in Copenhagen etc etc……………………blah blah
Yes , beside being a knee Jerk alarmist, I am also a seasoned traveler.
LikeLike
Hymie Weiss December 6, 2015 at 4:58 PM #
“If you were to visit Trip Advisor and read the comments visitors make about noises, for example, from garbage and skip trucks that awaken them in the wee hours of the morning.”
Hymie, (or should I write Henry Earl J. Wojciechowski) you made a very interesting point.
The legion’s comments are based mainly on trying to respond from a biased and partisan position. In other words, they see your comments as anti-DLP and choose to respond accordingly, rather than based on the context of your contribution and that of Colonel Buggy.
The demons are NOT familiar with the tourist industry and have commented based on what they THINK…. not what they KNOW. They are suggesting tourists stay in Barbados a maximum of a few days and the noise is heard ONLY on weekends or CONFINED within the city limits. RUBBISH!!!!!
ACs, why do you choose to comment on EVERY topic presented to BU for comment, when in many cases you do not have any knowlegde or training in the subject matter?
LikeLike
So Artaxerxes You Know For A Fact that the Noise affect the Tourist All AC/s is asking of you is to Bring all the Facts and proof to support the allegations
When the BLPmouthpieces open the mouth they speak with the same role call of allegations but like there leader they change the script in haste and end up standing on a pile of rubbish looking like jerks
Now i say to All of You who wants to shares lashes with Ac to bring the Facts instead of littering the BU hallways with garbage and political propaganda
LikeLike
Oh Artaxerxes i noticed you made a jab at ac taking ac to task on grounds against the Constitutional right of the freedom of expression i.e on speaking on many topics
What you need to do is stay the course to avoid controversy as you may indeed end up looking like a fool by walking the same path of collusive arrogance in haste by way of drumming scurrilous and frivolous charges to curtail an individual FOS Exhibit A Mia Mottley
BTW i also have the statistical evidence to show where your unguarded mouthings might lead you EXHIBT B Maria Agard
LikeLike
To Mr Hymsie i took a small peek at trip advisor on my way to BU and sometime back in 2008 there was one letter which detailed noise in the hasting area coming from cars
Cars are a necessary evil of life and if a building is situated close to a high way any where in the world unless the owner is willing to spend mega bucks and sound proof the building the sounds of moving vehicles or any object would be heard
BTW the letter indicated that they were 20 year vistors to this island an
LikeLike
Hahahaha….. Likewise, I also have the statistical evidence to show where your unguarded mouthings might lead you EXHIBT B Maria Agard…”
Sometimes it would you good NOT to respond to EVERYTHING…. you could read it and move on, rather than display your ignorance.
Unlike you, I choose topics with which I have knowledge and always include information to substantiate my contributions on that subject matter. You on the other hand continually display your ignorance by commenting on every shiite, with generalized statements and rhetorical political diatribe, in your efforts to spread DLP propaganda.
I have been consistent in revealing the flaws and nonsense you spew in your contributions. Surely by now you should have realized that, with the exception of Dompey, Alvin and Fractured BLP, no other contributor to BU takes you SERIOUSLY.
Only an IDIOT would say the only perfect individual to walk this earth was Jesus, but would want to convince people everything DLP parliamentarians say or do is perfect.
You are just another DLP yard fowl assigned to infiltrate BU to promote DLP propaganda, and you have been doing a lousy job thus far.
I’m not going to engage with you in your favourite past time on BU, which is trading insults. However, I will continue to expose the shiite you write for the shiite it is.
LikeLike
Artexeres. have u become Bu despost?shades of Mia are been exercised ,your our arrogance is being explicitlydemonstrated by your on going tirade to curtail one freedom of speech.it would therefore do you well to exercise tolerance of those with whom you disagree
LikeLike
I would opt to “explicitly demonstrate” ARROGANCE, rather than, as is always the case with you, “explicitly demonstrate” IGNORANCE.
Case in point, what the hell is a “DESPOST?”
How could you write about “on going tirade to curtail one freedom of speech,” and then write “it would THEREFORE do you well to exercise tolerance of those with whom you disagree?”
Both statements are “MUTUALLY EXCLUSIVE,” since the event of trying “to curtail one freedom of speech” does not cause or influence the event of “exercising tolerance of those with whom (a person) disagrees.”
See wuh I tell yuh? Once again, you have “explicitly demonstrated” that thine IGNORANCE knoweth no boundaries.
LikeLike
Whatever
LikeLike