I am often surprised and occasionally humbled by some of the people who read this column. Out of the blue a couple of weeks ago, I had a call from a senior executive of the Illinois based third largest credit card issuer in the United States, with a quoted 47 million card holders. He had been following some of our tourism initiatives and wanted to see how we could ‘partner’ to help increase their brand awareness and acceptance on Barbados.

Of all our major markets the United States has, for the last decade, been one of the most challenging. Until the 2014 figures are published the industry at large can only speculate about any real recovery last year.  But what we do know though is that 2013 recorded the lowest number (120,584) of long stay American visitors over the past 11 years. So clearly, there is work to be done and I am sure with the recent restructuring that has taken place, we will start to witness increased numbers in the not to distance future, especially if we wish to sustain any added airlift. So what is finally being negotiated with DISCOVER is a win-win scenario that will hopefully achieve their object, while at the same time help to raise our destination visibility in US market, again at minimal cost.

With help from the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc (BTMI) the new branded re-DISCOVER DISCOVER lunch and dinner voucher will be mainly distributed from the BTMI office in the arrivals hall of Grantley Adams International Airport. As we know, the vast majority of passengers have to pass this office after clearing immigration, baggage collection and before clearing customs. This will be critical in the possible success of the promotion. Of course we will continue to mail out additional vouchers to online requests where a name, address in Barbados (hotel/villa/apartment etc) and arrival date is supplied.

To make the promotion even more enticing, the BTMI will assist with return flights’, one of our leading resorts has already agreed to supply a week’s accommodation, a leading car rental company providing a hire vehicle and to round off the components of a spectacular prize, a submarine adventure for the two lucky winners. To qualify for entry into the competition the visitor will have to use their DISCOVER card as the method of payment at any of the 40 participating restaurants.

Those ‘partners’ who do not currently accept DISCOVER have a clear cost free option to drive a tangible increase in business without any financial outlay, over and above the normal merchant acceptance fee. What I found fascinating is that according to company’s website, Discover card members spend on average over 35 per cent more on their cards than the existing market leaders, Visa and MasterCard. The reason or logic behind this statistic should also be analysed to see what, if any lessons can be learnt from it.

This is another example of how the private and public sector can work together in the common good without spending a fortune and my sincere thanks to all for supporting this promotion.

67 responses to “Simple Partnerships in Tourism Are Smart AND Cost Effective”

1. Adrian Loveridge February 27, 2015 at 11:46 AM #

I am surprising that no-one has commented on Sir David Seale’s letter in the Advocate today entitled ‘Insult to the rum industry’ and that (again) no Barbados rum is available at Sandals despite ALL the concessions they were granted.

I did not see the letter but if what he says is true I have to agree it is a disgrace.

2. oh come on DD you can do better than that with the political jobby you posted

how about sandals role and most important role of adding approximately one hundred and thirty thousand tourist annually to these shores and don.t give me no B/S about all one hundred and thirty thousand tourist going to stay inside the hotel and never venture out ,you know that is foolish rum shop talk and the proof being that through out all the other carribbean islands where there are sandals that perception was never a concern
    Furthermore how about the 1500 hundred or more jobs that would put money in peoples pocket ,well that too should be a great benefit and help to the economy to say that Sandals is not going to give back is a bold face lie and a trick of the devil. so far Butch has invested millions of dollars into refurbishing the hotel and that is not pocket change when it all adds up,
    also his participation is getting local products being part of the sandals dynasty
    You and the other BL misfits are just poor losers” living on Doom and gloom street and hell bent on getting others to join your sorry behinds ,
    hey i read david seales concern, however sandals has only being in operation for a short while in barbados and ac believe that the barbados rum industry would not be forgotten or left out as a intricate part as being a supplier as it name does sells barbados..however for the time being all and sundry would do diligence to take their personnal issues to dissect and contrive
    I am certain that if Mr Seales wanted to get the answer (as a very prominent business person) in barbados he could have written his concern to mr, Stewart who would have replied accordingly.

3. @ ac

“how about sandals role and most important role of adding approximately one hundred and thirty thousand tourist annually to these shores”

Tone it down a bit please

Sandals property has 280 rooms, so with 2 to room that is 560 people per week, times 52 weeks = 29,120 guests per yea if every room is full every night..

But, do not forget that these ar not new room – just renovated.

Lets just say that under prior management, Couples and Almond, they had a 50% occupancy rate (was probably much higher) – then at best Butch is bringing in an extra 15,000.

“Furthermore how about the 1500 hundred or more jobs that would put money in peoples pocket”

According to reports I have seen,hHe is employing 600 people, which is probably 100-200 more than Couples or Almond.

And the rum stuff – maybe he does not think Mr. Seale’s rum is “Premium” enough for his guests

4. nothing to tone down here ,the combination of the two hotels is where the employment would be boost along with increased in tourist,

5. Due Diligence February 27, 2015 at 7:45 PM #

And the rum stuff – maybe he does not think Mr. Seale’s rum is “Premium”

enough for his guests

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

DD this is the kind of horse manure that the BLP like to throw out as factual. ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    IMHO mr, seales being a business person would have walked in butch shoes many times in regards to daily operations of his various enterprises and taking experience as a guide he would have known that some problems when come forth can be handle expeditiously by going to the management team with out choosing to embarrass or damage reputation of a business.

6. Due Diligence February 27, 2015 at 7:45 PM #

DD, don’t you realize that this AC you are having this fruitless “discourse” with is none other then Irene Sandiford-Garner?

Why don’t you like me and take heed of Bushie’s advice not to respond to any of the consortium’s posts?

It makes no sense arguing with someone who is so politically biased and blind that their only acceptance of anything that is right can only come from within the walls of the Democratic Labour Party.

7. sIr why don/t u stop[ spreading fruitless lies and propaganda u do not know me or know of me.
    your above comment speaks of the mindset that is is persuasive in the BLP with a sense of entitlement above board with candid disrespect of dissenting views

8. Ignorance definitely has no boundaries.

The consortium’s comments clearly demonstrate a case of “sanctimonious hypocrisy”. I’m sure that many on BU would agree, that when contributors do not sing in the DLP’s choir, the consortium label them as BLP supporters and CANDIDLY DISRESPECT them by adding pejorative titles such as “misfits”, yard-fowls” and “dogs”. Is this not a “candid disrespect of dissenting views”?

If individuals feel such contempt for anyone who does not agree with the policies of the Democratic Labour Party, does this behaviour not suggest that they believe the DLP has some of entitlement to rule Barbados?

Then surely we must agree that the insults hurled by the AC’s at those who may not be in agreement with the DLP, “speaks of the mindset that is persuasive in the DLP with a sense of entitlement above board with candid disrespect of dissenting views..”

Oh, what a “monstrous perversion of common sense.” I rest my case.

I’ll leave the consortium to fret amongst themselves.

9. notice how u refrain from adressing the FACT. of not knowing .how ever in your usual absurdities you have launched an attack to justify .however the reality of my attacks are all due and part to the many unwarranted attacks to my person to which i do not apologise.
    In part i must insist that if and when attack i would spare no thought in handing back with equal force

I have commented numerously that my opinions are not a capsule version of any others but solely explicit with content of my own opinion.

10. now that a renewed energy and revitilisation has entered the tourism industry of hope those who have benefitted in the past years of plenty should be open and working alongside to produce a product that is efficient and one not caught up in the trap of self centredness and victimisation depending on taxpayers bailouts
    A call to put pettiness and systematic belly aching aside should be the forefront of moulding and shaping the tourist industry
    and those those who would insist and be persistance in corporate mud slinging i say shame on you as in the long run all suffer

11. “Unwarranted attacks to your person”……….. Hmmmmmmm.

As far as I can remember, Caswell Franklyn, Walter Blackman or Adrian Loveridge have never issued any “unwarranted attacks to your person” in any of their contributions posted to BU for comment.

Mia Mottley or Owen Arthur has never posted anything on BU, so you can’t say they have made any “unwarranted attacks to your person.”

Yet you “spare no thought in” constantly (and abusively) attack these individuals because their opinions are not in sync with yours and the DLP.

As for Jeff Broomes and Lisa Marshall, what have these two individuals done to you that merits YOUR “unwarranted attacks to their person”?

However, judging from the way Stuart likes to insult people; Ronald Jones with his famous “crack some heads and shoot some people” remark; Sinckler calling June Fowler a “bald pooch cat” and telling Mottley she should run down Broad Street naked; Donville Inniss being critical of everyone….. attacking people is something synonymous with the DLP. I guess your behavior on BU is just you acting out the DLP beast within.

“Notice how u refrain from addressing the FACT of not knowing” how, “even in your usual absurdities, you have” a unique way of butchering the English Language.

Try not to use too many “big words” in your sentences to make yourself come across as being intelligent. Because, clearly by your use of English and the way you piece together your sentences, they don’t really make any sense and proves that you are an idiot pretending to be an intellectual. Your contributions are perfect illustrations for the definition of a malapropism.

You’ll prove me correct, because I know you’ll be stupid enough to respond.

12. may be u sir instead of criticizing my abuse of the Queens English (which by the way have not stop me from being a success) U would quote correctly the words which i used in my response

notice how u refrain from adressing the FACT. of not knowing “.HOW EVER” in your usual absurdities you have launched an attack to justify .however the reality of my attacks are all due and part to the many unwarranted attacks to my person to which i do not apologise.

Also if an article is posted the pro and cons are opened to all opinions . by using the named examples of those people who are in higher position of authority whom i have be critical is not a justification for all and sundry attacks on my persons but is just a superficial glancing blow and an exemption allowed to others

13. Btw this simple mortal is not here to engage in the stench of intellectual barbarism just to say ‘it” the way i see it, this ongoing attempt by the intellectual elite to throw barbs and hail stones into the way of free speech serves no other purpose but to intimidate and arose the sensitivities in those who might have a word or two to say but cower under the table of fright
    One thing that would never stop or cower ac is intellectual barbarism with actions to smear and deny a person speech

14. See what I tell yuh? You had no choice but declare your stupidity by responding. I definitely have your number.

15. so the possibility that there is an ongoing smear campaign by corporate elite who have enjoyed the fatted lamb over the years is alive and well.right on the heels of david seales commit, one which i thought that was purposeful with mischievous intent having a concern which could have been professionally handed bewtween two business moguls have now become media fodder having sandals to defend what they said was an untruth pertaining to not having barados rum as apart of their lineup as david seale had reported
    david seales also contends that he was all for the sandals brand entering barbados, if this is so, what have happened that David would lit a fire sending smoke signals that would have cause for others to hold their noses
    could this be petty jealousy

16. PARIS (AP) – President Francois Hollande will travel to Cuba in May in the first such trip by a French head of state.

17. ac February 28, 2015 at 3:45 PM #

now that a renewed energy and revitilisation has entered the tourism industry of hope those who have benefitted in the past years of plenty should be open and working alongside to produce a product that is efficient and one not caught up in the trap of self centredness and victimisation depending on taxpayers bailouts
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And just a short while ago, when many of the hotels and associated restaurants were short of patronage, they devised all types of schemes, the most notable being Staycation, to lure the locals, or more so their money into their establishments. The real real tourist are here, OUT GOES YOU!!