Simple Partnerships in Tourism Are Smart AND Cost Effective

I am often surprised and occasionally humbled by some of the people who read this column. Out of the blue a couple of weeks ago, I had a call from a senior executive of the Illinois based third largest credit card issuer in the United States, with a quoted 47 million card holders. He had been following some of our tourism initiatives and wanted to see how we could ‘partner’ to help increase their brand awareness and acceptance on Barbados.

Of all our major markets the United States has, for the last decade, been one of the most challenging. Until the 2014 figures are published the industry at large can only speculate about any real recovery last year.  But what we do know though is that 2013 recorded the lowest number (120,584) of long stay American visitors over the past 11 years. So clearly, there is work to be done and I am sure with the recent restructuring that has taken place, we will start to witness increased numbers in the not to distance future, especially if we wish to sustain any added airlift. So what is finally being negotiated with DISCOVER is a win-win scenario that will hopefully achieve their object, while at the same time help to raise our destination visibility in US market, again at minimal cost.

With help from the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc (BTMI) the new branded re-DISCOVER DISCOVER lunch and dinner voucher will be mainly distributed from the BTMI office in the arrivals hall of Grantley Adams International Airport. As we know, the vast majority of passengers have to pass this office after clearing immigration, baggage collection and before clearing customs. This will be critical in the possible success of the promotion. Of course we will continue to mail out additional vouchers to online requests where a name, address in Barbados (hotel/villa/apartment etc) and arrival date is supplied.

To make the promotion even more enticing, the BTMI will assist with return flights’, one of our leading resorts has already agreed to supply a week’s accommodation, a leading car rental company providing a hire vehicle and to round off the components of a spectacular prize, a submarine adventure for the two lucky winners. To qualify for entry into the competition the visitor will have to use their DISCOVER card as the method of payment at any of the 40 participating restaurants.

Those ‘partners’ who do not currently accept DISCOVER have a clear cost free option to drive a tangible increase in business without any financial outlay, over and above the normal merchant acceptance fee. What I found fascinating is that according to company’s website, Discover card members spend on average over 35 per cent more on their cards than the existing market leaders, Visa and MasterCard. The reason or logic behind this statistic should also be analysed to see what, if any lessons can be learnt from it.

This is another example of how the private and public sector can work together in the common good without spending a fortune and my sincere thanks to all for supporting this promotion.

67 comments

• Pingback: Simple Partnerships in Tourism Are Smart AND Cost Effective

• The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) wishes to publicly morally and politically support – to a fair extent – the efforts of Mr. Andrew Bynoe, Mr. Andy Armstrong and Mr. Patrick Frost, in campaigning against vote bribing and treating in Barbados.

According to the Sunday Sun, February 22, 2015, these three “elders” had prepared a document which sets out their position, and which includes calls for stiffer “legislative penalties for those who sell or purchase votes, or attempt to induce their sale or purchase, in any election”.

Also, it is true that in the last General Election and in its immediate aftermath in this country, there were “many allegations in public of persons having been persuaded to cast their vote in a particular manner” and of they having been given and having been in receipt of money and other things, on the understanding that they vote in that particular way. And too it is true that after the conduct of that General Election – notwithstanding those countless allegations – not one prosecution by police came about.

It is pellucidly clear that as much of the politics of this country must be devoted to almost totally elmininating these unfair and corrupt practices which have had the effects of subverting the election process in this island and destroying the will of the people of this country.

While we in the PDC entirely morally and politically support the efforts of these Barbadian “elders” to write and speak out against such illegal and immoral election practices, we do not support their reported approach (in the same Sunday Sun news story) “of delivering the document outlining their desires to the Prime Minister and to the Opposition Leader, because they feel that those office holders can make a difference and can cause a difference to happen”.

We disagree entirely with such an approach given that they and their parties have been the primary beneficiaries of such alleged vote corruption of elections in this country, over the years, and they and their parties, especially when at the helm of government in this country, have as yet to do any thing substabtially legally politically for a very long time about such voting improprieties and transgressions.

What the copied document in the Sunday Sun failed to do is to point out that the three “elders”, with their tremendous access to the public of Barbados and to money and resources, are going to commit themselves to getting many of the relevant publics of Barbados more aware and educated about the dangers of such illegal voting and vote bribing activities in this country, by their initiating a serious and concerted mobilization, aggregation and articulation of public feelings and sensitivities on these very important issues, with a view to their creation of another new party to fight illegal voting and vote bribing and wider corruption in Barbados.

What the said copied document in the Sunday Sun also failed to do is to point out that there is an urgent need for the modernization and simplification of the existing Election Offences and Controversies laws of the government of Barbados.

For instance, CAP 3, Section 41 (1) of the Election Offences and Controversies laws, reads: “At the time of presenting an election petition or within three days thereafter, the petitioner shall give SECURITY for ALL costs which may become payable BY HIM to any witness summoned on his behalf or to any respondent”.

Section 41 (2), reads: “The security shall be an amount of ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS and shall be given in the prescribed manner by recognizance entered into by any number of sureties not exceeding four or by a deposit of money, or partly in one way and partly in the other”.

Section 41 (3), reads: “Within seven clear days after the presentation of the petition, the petitioner shall serve on the respondent in the prescribed manner the prescribed notice of the presentation of the petition and of the nature of the proposed security and a copy of the petition”.

Section 41 (4), is read as: “Within five days after service of the notice referred to in subsection (3), the respondent may object in writing to any recignizance on the ground that any surety is insufficient or is dead or cannot be found or ascertained for want if sufficient description in the recignizance or that a person named in the recignizance has not duly acknowledged the recognizance”.

Section 41 (5), is read as: “An objection to a recognizance (earlier dealt with in another subsection) shall be decided in the prescribed manner”.

Section 41 (6), reads: “Where the objection is allowed, the petitioner may, within five days of the allowance thereof, remove it by a deposit (ANOTHER ONE) in the prescribed manner if such sum as will, in the opinion of the Registrar, make the security sufficient”.

Section 41 (7), reads: “Where no security is given as required by this section or any objection is allowed and not removed as aforesaid, NO FURTHER PROCEEDINGS shall be had on the petition”.

Now, clearly from any serious analysis of those particular provisions any national effort to educate the various relevant publics of Barbados on the need for positive modern changes in voter attitudes and values towards vote bribing, treating and corrupting, must also take into consideration that there is an urgent need for serious reform in the laws speaking to the governing of the conduct of any persons petitioning against candidates that have been unfairly and wrongly elected into any electable public office in this country on account of such gross improprieties and transgressions.

• Interesting comment by BHTA President Sunnil Chatrani on the VOB news this evening. A little disappointed a mature tourism product is now at the stage of building intelligent reporting for the industry.

• David, sadly did not hear Sunil’s comments. What did he say?

• @Adrian

Just that the BHTA will move to a position where members will be asked to submit data to support the BHTA being able to read the performance of the sector in a more intelligent way (BHTA is working with the UWI). To compare with other markets based on key indicators etc. He also there is reform coming which will see the a president selected from outside the accommodation sector. Some other interesting measures, long overdue.

• @Adrian

Waiting for your comment on Griffith’s press conference.

The best January in 15 years!

Wow, this is awesome and what an increase in the US market.

• David

“The best January in 15 years!
    Wow, this is awesome and what an increase in the US market.”

If Griffith’s numbers are correct – awesome indeed.

And all that with Sandals welcoming guests for only three days in January.

Just read the story “Increase in arrivals partly due to Sandals” at:

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=41910

Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy, says.

“One of the reasons why you see so many visitors all over Barbados is because there has been a 25 per cent increase in our arrivals from Canada”

“The reason why we have that tremendous increase out of Canada, is because Air Canada has decided to bring their largest aircraft, the 777, into Barbados on a daily basis, and that aircraft is coming to Barbados for one reason alone, and it is Sandals.”

First, over what has there been a 25 per cent increase in our arrivals from Canada.

The latest tourist arrival statistics posted are to November 2014, at which point YTD arrivals from Canada were down 6.1% (according to CTO stats).

Having opened for business on January 28, Sandals guest arrivals could not have affected December 2014 arrivals, and could only have a minimal impact January arrivals.

I think the Minister is incorrect in stating “Air Canada has decided to bring their largest aircraft”. He should check his facts. DD understands the Aid Canada 777 flying into Barbados is not the 777-300ER with 349 seats, but is 777 200LR which has 270 seats.

If so the 7 daily flights could accommodate 1,890 visitors.

Sandals’ 280 rooms accommodate 560 visitors per week; so if every Sandals guest travelled by Air Canada they would fill 30% of the 777’s 1,890 seats.

What about some credit to other properties where the other 70%,1,330 visitors per week, are guests.

What about Westjet?

Sealy is also quoted as saying:

“Sandals brings people,” he stressed, also revealing that the hotel spends about USD $300 million marketing their brand in the United States alone.

“More money than the Barbados, Jamaica, St. Lucia, Antigua, Grenada Boards combined; that is the sort of marketing might I am speaking of.”

Witnessing the massive Sandals/Beaches newspaper and television advertising over the past couple of months or so in Canada, there o argument with with the sort of “marketing might” of Sandals; but as Sandals is a private company and does not publish financial information, I wonder where the Minister got the US$ 300 million figure.

The story also says:

“Sealy also acknowledged a 15 per cent increase coming out of the United Kingdom, and indicated that the UK market was “recovering nicely, more seats from Virgin Atlantic and British Airways and that is to do with a combination of reasons. Yes Sandals to some extent, but also the investment environment that we have tried to get going””.

How does the “investment environment that we have tried to get going” (Sam Lords, Four Seasons etc?) translate to increased arrivals before the investments are made and the properties completed.

It strikes DD that Minister Sealy’s love affair with Sandals, is akin to the love affair of DT and FS with CLICO/LP.

The tail wagging the dog?

• @DD

Sealy and his people obviously have more recent numbers. The plebs, read taxpayers, will have to wait until the government websites update the info.

• @DD on page one at Sandals.com

“Sandals delights couples in love with supreme vacation packages at luxury resorts in St. Lucia, Jamaica, Antigua, the Bahamas, Grenada and Barbados, ”

The “brand” BARBADOS benefits.

• David, Just back from the media conference. Will comment soon.

• Here is the media pack from todays BTMI Press Conference: note the CEO’s report was merged in front of the Chairman’s, BU’s error.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/btmi_pressconference.pdf

• @Adrian

This is an encouraging report, the plans afoot we hope will be executed to plan. Congrats to you, we note your reDiscover program is integrated into the plan to add valueadds.

Was any mention made of operating leverage i.e. the expense of the government YoY to attract one tourist factoring airline subsidies etc? What about average spend?

• David

Thanks for the media pack.

Looks like things are headed in the right direction.

Let us keep our fingers crossed

• David, I think the idea is to try and get away from the expensive airline subsidies (marketing support) and look for more creative (cost effective) ways of driving business. Certainly re-DISCOVER has been one of the most cost effective promotions ever. The battle is to convince some restaurants that they can cost control the numbers. ie: fill at table at 6.30pm with re-DISCOVER diners and then again at 9 pm with full paying.

• Just when you think things are getting on track ….in the nation today another blow to tourism when it was exposed that barbadian stick licking is actually being beaten with a stick

• Hants February 24, 2015 at 2:09 PM #

Sandals.com is selling the Sandals “brand”

It’s only interest in Barbados is filling 280 rooms

The “brand” BARBADOS, is the Barbadian people, the Barbadian food, the Barbadian performing artistes and soca music, the rum shops, the East Coast, and on, and on, and on.

“Brand” Barbados is not Gourmet Discovery Dining at French-style patisserie Café de Paris, Soy Sushi Bar, Butch’s Chophouse (a New York-style steakhouse), Bombay Club (Sandals’ first ever Indian restaurant) etc.

• sandals only interest is filling the rooms, O then what if there are no sandals in barbados do you not see the significance of having the rooms filled and some of the benefits the island would reap from having those sandals guest coming to our island,
    i belive that in the past couple years there was a hue and cry that no tourist were coming here, now that sandals has somewhat been able to attract a significant number of tourist to the island the response as usual shines light on what supposed to be a perception with negative undertones,
    bTW sandals in addition to bringing tourist have also employed a large number of people who might still be unemployed

• @ Due Dilligence.

When some people visit the Sandals.com website and see that there is a Sandals in BARBADOS don’t you think some will google BARBADOS and visit http://www.barbados.org and other Barbados websites?

There is no downside to http://www.sandals.com having Barbados listed as one of their luxury destinations.

I have acquaintances who have been to 2 sandals and Barbados is next on their list.

Sandals employs Bajans. Sandals advertises Barbados. nuff said!

• @Hants

You are correct, the weight of the Sandals brand is a given.

• ac

Many of the large number of people who might still be unemployed, would have still been employed with Couples if your masters had not kicked them out to make room for Mr. Marketing Might and his 40 years of concessions.

• mr marketing mght ,has a proven track record , what good is keeping a product on the shelf if no one is buying,

• the numbers are in! the hard work that govt put forward into bringing the tourist industry up to a substantial level of productivity is bearing fruit, the naysayers whose interest was to score cheap political pot shots and keep the can of despair and hopelessness alive and (well )has been proven wrong,

• amm just a point of interest .of lately it is apparant that Adrian post have been receiving less traffick. wonder why?

• millertheanunnaki

@ ac February 25, 2015 at 6:18 AM

We too are so happy to hear such good news for Barbados.
    All down to the brilliant work of the DLP administration, the MoT himself and the ‘brand new’ BTMI, right ac?

Nothing to do with the ‘fact’ that the entire Caribbean tourism market is experiencing similar or ‘better’ increases in their tourism numbers and Barbados is being pulled along with the upswing.
    Nothing to do with the ghastly cold weather up North driving people to seek destinations in warmer climes not (yet) threatened by terrorism or Jihadists’ infiltration.

The publishing of the CTO numbers might just shock back into a dreamy state of jingoistic reality.

If I were you I would not count my chickens before they are hatched. The proof of the visitor increases benefits (pudding) lies in the increases in visitors’ spending and its multiplier effects on the local economy (the eating).

Can we expect the MoF to be extremely upbeat about such good news and prepare the cheques for distribution to the suppliers owed millions of dollars by the same old brand new BTMI?
    Can the cane farmers now get their money promised since January by the CEO of Barbados Inc?

Can the QEH get that much promised large injection of financial morphine in order the keep that gravely ill institution sedated if not fully out of its cash flow coma?

What about the long-suffering taxpayers whose tax refunds have been turned into long-term IOU’s? When will they get what is ‘Constitutionally’ due to them?

• i can agree with what you said in reference to natures role .however for the past couple or so years the countries that barbados depended where having brutal weather and the tourist numbers were still in decline.
    The fact is and one that you miller would prefer not to acknoweldge is that govt implemented policies along with getting and sourcing information from those inside and outside of barbados in developing a durable tourism product
    However i do remember when you and others were singing the praises of those countries doing better while stating that this govt was not doing enough.Such hypocrites even in the face of productivty across the board due mostly in part to govt intervention the noise makers wants to give credit to a force of nature.Wuhloss

• To quote the CEO of the BTMI: the uptick is encouraging but has to be sustained over a longer period of time to confirm growth. All markets in the Caribbean are showing growth the result of an improving UK market and more airlift from Canada.

What about average spend? The proof of the pudding will be in forex inflows.

• There is no argument with what the CEO states. however blp anarchist trying to be dissmisive of the present progress seen in the tourism industry flies in the face of commonsense and patriotism and must be dismissed as political hogwash.especially when most were opposed to any policies, and used all kinds of distortions and distractions to divert attention away from govts action to rebuild the industry but rather prefered to condem and dwell on negative diatribe
    Now it seems that “sweet revenge” has taken a stronghold the keepers of the gate of doom and gloom has taken an affront to those things positive.Wuhloss

• @ ac February 25, 2015 at 9:21 AM
    “The fact is and one that you miller would prefer not to acknoweldge is that govt implemented policies along with getting and sourcing information from those inside and outside of Barbados in developing a durable tourism product..”

So who do you think was at the forefront calling for the Barbados government to create a level playing field in the hotel sector by granting similar concessions given to Sandals to all players thereby treating the tourism industry as an Export Industry?
    If you guys are going to assign the recent increase in arrivals to the presence of Sandals where did the ‘excess’ visitors stay since the Sandals property was only ready for visitor accommodation from late January 2015.
    Why not give jack his jacket and extend similar praise to the other hoteliers (including Adrian Loveridge) who were berated by the likes of you for being a cocoon of parasites permanently sucking on the financial nipples of Bajan taxpayers?
    Don’t you think you ought to apologize to the other Hotel people for the nasty things you said about them in the past just because they were asking for similar treatment before the fiscal laws?

Since you think this sudden increase in ‘big-spending’ visitors from the cold North is due solely to the policies of the current administration informed by great ideas from the likes of the ac consortium why not go a bit further and up the ante to those snow white visitors? Why not take on the board the many suggestions made ad nauseam about cleaning up Barbados especially Bridgetown thereby giving the aging girl a facelift?
    What about offering more opportunities for these “increased” visitors to ‘recreate’ themselves and leave more of their dosh in the local economy?

In addition to Oistins on Friday Night how about a casino and the return of the Island Inn, the Pepper ‘Pot’ and the Plantation-like entertainment shows and night scenes? Do you think lying on the beach all day sun tanning to look like the people from Timbuktu is sufficient for non-cruise ship visitors spending at least a week in formerly vibrant but now nocturnally boring Barbados?

• Miller

Right on

“What about offering more opportunities for these “increased” visitors to ‘recreate’ themselves and leave more of their dosh in the local economy?”

Just wondering how many of the Sandals guests will have any “dosh” left over to to leave in the local economy after sending a minimum of US$ 370.00 pp/pn to Sandals bank accounts in New York, Miami, Panama, etc, to stay at Sandals Barbados with its 11 restaurants featuring spectacular world class dining that’s all included, and all inclusive, all the time; and its 6 bars and cocktail lounges serving unlimited premium drinks and Robert Modavi Twin Oaks wines where there’s always a party and the drinks are on “Butch”

• are u fuh real jack does not have or own a jacket in this good news.jack spared no expense in the offerings that sent crippling effect to demean the govt policies.

• millertheanunnaki

@ ac February 25, 2015 at 1:54 PM
    “..jack spared no expense in the offerings that sent crippling effect to demean the govt policies..”

Now ac from Asylum Court, who is this “jack”? Is it the hoteliers other than Butch? Is it Sue Springer? Or is it your ‘white’ friend Adrian Loveridge whom you would like to embrace with a hug of poisonous blackguard intent?

The only reason the Sandals-type concessions were extended to other hoteliers is because of Butch forcing the hands of the MoT & MoF after lobbying by the hoteliers with threats of suing the government for discriminatory practices under the Administrative Justice Act.
    Don’t you think the credit rating agencies and the IMF had a say in making the government see the errors of its ways?

Dear Mad One, please read my lips before you kiss them with your vitriolic response: The policies of the government, real or imagined, are NOT responsible for the January bleep in tourist arrivals in Barbados. Wait until the summer and slow season and then shout ‘Hallelujah, it’s raining tourists again in Bim’!

• miller next you would be saying that Mia and her band of absentee workerd should be sharing in the spoils

• miller if you think i am wrong with my assessment .just look at the luckluster response to this post.the all so frequent agitators of the past four years who had any and everything to say about govt policies have al but disappeared just only u and DDtrying to put up a valiant fight against the odds., and you call me mad maybe you need to check self first
    Now as a last resort to convince you push the goal posy up to summer obliviuos of the fact that there is a usualsoftening around that time.however the good news being
    that govt has already implemented policies design to attract tourist

• ac

I think I had better book my summer visit right now, before the place is sold-out due to govt policies designed to attract tourist already implemented.

• good idea , lots of interesting perks included also is interesting that DD has had little to say about the turn of events in reference to the upward trend in tourist arrivals , remember you having articles very rigid in content that attracted many bees like honey ,however the silence coming from your end tells ac that the govt has done something right..lol

• A good barometer of what is going on in a country is the price of land and houses ,there seems to be a marked decline in recent years,

• Hants/ac

it must be a sign that Sandals Barbados is SOLD OUT for the foreseeable future.

Why else would the full page Sandals ad on the back page of today’s Toronto Star Travel section not include it Sandals Barbados property.

The ad promotes Sandals White House (Jamaica), Sandals LaSource Grenada, Sandals Grande Antigua, Sandals Emerald Bay (Bahamas) and Sandals Ocho Rios.

The full page Flight Centre ad does include the Barbados “brand”, with an ad for flight + 6 nights at Silver Point Hotel for CAD $1,059

• DD,

I do not think the reason can be because they are ‘SOLD OUT’ . I have just checked availability for a 7 nights arrival Saturday in March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November and December 2015 as at least one category (in come cases 9) of rooms were still available.

• Adrian

I guess Sandals has more vacancies in Jamaica, Grenada, Antigua and Bahamas.

• loveridge why don,t you stop knocking an establish brand like Sandals when are you going to realise and come to full terms that Sandals has supassed many of its islands counterparts and has nothing to prove to naysayers like yourself

• JACK ASS
    LOVERIDGE HAS NOT KNOCKED A BRAND

THIS WHAT HE HAS SAID IN PLAIN SIMPLE ENGLISH

“I do not think the reason can be because they are ‘SOLD OUT’ . I have just checked availability for a 7 nights arrival Saturday in March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November and December 2015 as at least one category (in come cases 9) of rooms were still available.”

• ac

Adrian was simply stating the TRUTH about room availability.

No one disputes that Sandals is an established brand.

My problem with Mr. Marketing Might the way he seems to have the MOT and GOB wrapped around his finger, with his $300 million advertising budget – for his entire Caribbean empire.

Don’t forget the old saying “The bigger they are, the harder they fall”.

Not this year and probably not next year – but stay tuned.

• Sir GP your defensive skills need to be sharpened

there was am argument brought to table as to why barbados was not mentioned in one of Sandals commercial in Canada

one comment speculated that it might be . that there was an availability problem due to Sold out therefore would not necessitate the heightened commercial for Sandals barbados .O.K sounds plausible,

Now here loveridge still wanting to pull u stumps from under Sandals states what information he knows says differently

Sir since i have no knoweldge i did not speculate or inform as to “why”
    however i Zoomed (in) on loveridge information as one of being mischievous for the reason one of a continuing rift he instigated between himself and butch and as to retort finds it necessary to engage in negative propaganda

Sir now go eat your bananas and have your daily cup of prune juice to ease that constipated bowels O.K> Gran PA (GP)

• A new Sandals in Barbados

• I think I will just go down to Sandals, lie around the pool in a cabana, and sip the premium drinks that are on the house, dine at the 11 restaurants and never have to leave the property, until I take Sandals shuttle back to BGI.

Barbados is such a beautiful island, or what I see enroute to and from the airport.

• if a person choose barbados as a destination and sandals happened to be their hotel of choice, it does not necessarily mean that all of sandal amenities would be of interest to them. the relationship between sandals and barbados goes beyond a skeletal approach but is based on the influence which sandals deliver through their marketing strategy which enables both sides to get a bite at the apple , that being said barbados brand which was not fully accessible world wide through advertising can now be seen in the opulence and style which sandals is known for worldwide

• I am surprising that no-one has commented on Sir David Seale’s letter in the Advocate today entitled ‘Insult to the rum industry’ and that (again) no Barbados rum is available at Sandals despite ALL the concessions they were granted.

• @Adrian

Do you know why?

• @ ac

“the relationship between sandals and barbados goes beyond a skeletal approach but is based on the influence which sandals deliver through their marketing strategy which enables both sides to get a bite at the apple”

The relationship between Sandals and Barbados is based on the negotiating power which Government handed to Butch when it went crawling to Butch to save the economy; enabling Butch to eat out of both sides of the apple and he came up with 40 years of tax concessions which leaves Barbados with a skeletal tax base that the grandchildren of today’s taxpayers will have to feed.

• Adrian Loveridge February 27, 2015 at 11:46 AM #

I am surprising that no-one has commented on Sir David Seale’s letter in the Advocate today entitled ‘Insult to the rum industry’ and that (again) no Barbados rum is available at Sandals despite ALL the concessions they were granted.

I did not see the letter but if what he says is true I have to agree it is a disgrace.

• oh come on DD you can do better than that with the political jobby you posted

how about sandals role and most important role of adding approximately one hundred and thirty thousand tourist annually to these shores and don.t give me no B/S about all one hundred and thirty thousand tourist going to stay inside the hotel and never venture out ,you know that is foolish rum shop talk and the proof being that through out all the other carribbean islands where there are sandals that perception was never a concern
    Furthermore how about the 1500 hundred or more jobs that would put money in peoples pocket ,well that too should be a great benefit and help to the economy to say that Sandals is not going to give back is a bold face lie and a trick of the devil. so far Butch has invested millions of dollars into refurbishing the hotel and that is not pocket change when it all adds up,
    also his participation is getting local products being part of the sandals dynasty
    You and the other BL misfits are just poor losers” living on Doom and gloom street and hell bent on getting others to join your sorry behinds ,
    hey i read david seales concern, however sandals has only being in operation for a short while in barbados and ac believe that the barbados rum industry would not be forgotten or left out as a intricate part as being a supplier as it name does sells barbados..however for the time being all and sundry would do diligence to take their personnal issues to dissect and contrive
    I am certain that if Mr Seales wanted to get the answer (as a very prominent business person) in barbados he could have written his concern to mr, Stewart who would have replied accordingly.

• @ ac

“how about sandals role and most important role of adding approximately one hundred and thirty thousand tourist annually to these shores”

Tone it down a bit please

Sandals property has 280 rooms, so with 2 to room that is 560 people per week, times 52 weeks = 29,120 guests per yea if every room is full every night..

But, do not forget that these ar not new room – just renovated.

Lets just say that under prior management, Couples and Almond, they had a 50% occupancy rate (was probably much higher) – then at best Butch is bringing in an extra 15,000.

“Furthermore how about the 1500 hundred or more jobs that would put money in peoples pocket”

According to reports I have seen,hHe is employing 600 people, which is probably 100-200 more than Couples or Almond.

And the rum stuff – maybe he does not think Mr. Seale’s rum is “Premium” enough for his guests

• nothing to tone down here ,the combination of the two hotels is where the employment would be boost along with increased in tourist,

• Due Diligence February 27, 2015 at 7:45 PM #

And the rum stuff – maybe he does not think Mr. Seale’s rum is “Premium”

enough for his guests

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

DD this is the kind of horse manure that the BLP like to throw out as factual. ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    IMHO mr, seales being a business person would have walked in butch shoes many times in regards to daily operations of his various enterprises and taking experience as a guide he would have known that some problems when come forth can be handle expeditiously by going to the management team with out choosing to embarrass or damage reputation of a business.

• Due Diligence February 27, 2015 at 7:45 PM #

DD, don’t you realize that this AC you are having this fruitless “discourse” with is none other then Irene Sandiford-Garner?

Why don’t you like me and take heed of Bushie’s advice not to respond to any of the consortium’s posts?

It makes no sense arguing with someone who is so politically biased and blind that their only acceptance of anything that is right can only come from within the walls of the Democratic Labour Party.

• sIr why don/t u stop[ spreading fruitless lies and propaganda u do not know me or know of me.
    your above comment speaks of the mindset that is is persuasive in the BLP with a sense of entitlement above board with candid disrespect of dissenting views

• Ignorance definitely has no boundaries.

The consortium’s comments clearly demonstrate a case of “sanctimonious hypocrisy”. I’m sure that many on BU would agree, that when contributors do not sing in the DLP’s choir, the consortium label them as BLP supporters and CANDIDLY DISRESPECT them by adding pejorative titles such as “misfits”, yard-fowls” and “dogs”. Is this not a “candid disrespect of dissenting views”?

If individuals feel such contempt for anyone who does not agree with the policies of the Democratic Labour Party, does this behaviour not suggest that they believe the DLP has some of entitlement to rule Barbados?

Then surely we must agree that the insults hurled by the AC’s at those who may not be in agreement with the DLP, “speaks of the mindset that is persuasive in the DLP with a sense of entitlement above board with candid disrespect of dissenting views..”

Oh, what a “monstrous perversion of common sense.” I rest my case.

I’ll leave the consortium to fret amongst themselves.

• notice how u refrain from adressing the FACT. of not knowing .how ever in your usual absurdities you have launched an attack to justify .however the reality of my attacks are all due and part to the many unwarranted attacks to my person to which i do not apologise.
    In part i must insist that if and when attack i would spare no thought in handing back with equal force

I have commented numerously that my opinions are not a capsule version of any others but solely explicit with content of my own opinion.

• now that a renewed energy and revitilisation has entered the tourism industry of hope those who have benefitted in the past years of plenty should be open and working alongside to produce a product that is efficient and one not caught up in the trap of self centredness and victimisation depending on taxpayers bailouts
    A call to put pettiness and systematic belly aching aside should be the forefront of moulding and shaping the tourist industry
    and those those who would insist and be persistance in corporate mud slinging i say shame on you as in the long run all suffer

• “Unwarranted attacks to your person”……….. Hmmmmmmm.

As far as I can remember, Caswell Franklyn, Walter Blackman or Adrian Loveridge have never issued any “unwarranted attacks to your person” in any of their contributions posted to BU for comment.

Mia Mottley or Owen Arthur has never posted anything on BU, so you can’t say they have made any “unwarranted attacks to your person.”

Yet you “spare no thought in” constantly (and abusively) attack these individuals because their opinions are not in sync with yours and the DLP.

As for Jeff Broomes and Lisa Marshall, what have these two individuals done to you that merits YOUR “unwarranted attacks to their person”?

However, judging from the way Stuart likes to insult people; Ronald Jones with his famous “crack some heads and shoot some people” remark; Sinckler calling June Fowler a “bald pooch cat” and telling Mottley she should run down Broad Street naked; Donville Inniss being critical of everyone….. attacking people is something synonymous with the DLP. I guess your behavior on BU is just you acting out the DLP beast within.

“Notice how u refrain from addressing the FACT of not knowing” how, “even in your usual absurdities, you have” a unique way of butchering the English Language.

Try not to use too many “big words” in your sentences to make yourself come across as being intelligent. Because, clearly by your use of English and the way you piece together your sentences, they don’t really make any sense and proves that you are an idiot pretending to be an intellectual. Your contributions are perfect illustrations for the definition of a malapropism.

You’ll prove me correct, because I know you’ll be stupid enough to respond.

• may be u sir instead of criticizing my abuse of the Queens English (which by the way have not stop me from being a success) U would quote correctly the words which i used in my response

notice how u refrain from adressing the FACT. of not knowing “.HOW EVER” in your usual absurdities you have launched an attack to justify .however the reality of my attacks are all due and part to the many unwarranted attacks to my person to which i do not apologise.

Also if an article is posted the pro and cons are opened to all opinions . by using the named examples of those people who are in higher position of authority whom i have be critical is not a justification for all and sundry attacks on my persons but is just a superficial glancing blow and an exemption allowed to others

• Btw this simple mortal is not here to engage in the stench of intellectual barbarism just to say ‘it” the way i see it, this ongoing attempt by the intellectual elite to throw barbs and hail stones into the way of free speech serves no other purpose but to intimidate and arose the sensitivities in those who might have a word or two to say but cower under the table of fright
    One thing that would never stop or cower ac is intellectual barbarism with actions to smear and deny a person speech

• See what I tell yuh? You had no choice but declare your stupidity by responding. I definitely have your number.

• so the possibility that there is an ongoing smear campaign by corporate elite who have enjoyed the fatted lamb over the years is alive and well.right on the heels of david seales commit, one which i thought that was purposeful with mischievous intent having a concern which could have been professionally handed bewtween two business moguls have now become media fodder having sandals to defend what they said was an untruth pertaining to not having barados rum as apart of their lineup as david seale had reported
    david seales also contends that he was all for the sandals brand entering barbados, if this is so, what have happened that David would lit a fire sending smoke signals that would have cause for others to hold their noses
    could this be petty jealousy

• PARIS (AP) – President Francois Hollande will travel to Cuba in May in the first such trip by a French head of state.

• ac February 28, 2015 at 3:45 PM #

now that a renewed energy and revitilisation has entered the tourism industry of hope those who have benefitted in the past years of plenty should be open and working alongside to produce a product that is efficient and one not caught up in the trap of self centredness and victimisation depending on taxpayers bailouts
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    And just a short while ago, when many of the hotels and associated restaurants were short of patronage, they devised all types of schemes, the most notable being Staycation, to lure the locals, or more so their money into their establishments. The real real tourist are here, OUT GOES YOU!!

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s