The decision by the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA) to withdraw support for Joel Garner and back countryman Dave Cameron confirms the crisis West Indies cricket finds itself. Cameron has presided over the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) at a time when a West Indies team had to abandon a recent tour of India speaks volumes. The end result of the failed tour to India is that the WICB has been in grovel mode to resolve the issue with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) who is understandably upset at an out of pocket position of USD42 million.

It must be evident to even the most ardent West Indian cricket supporter that the leadership of West Indies cricket over the last 20 years has failed. The inability of the WICB structure to metamorphosize to ensure it remains relevant by producing  competitive teams has been a sorry tale. The horse trading that occurs to select Board members is not based on ability but rather who are better at playing the politics of West Indies cricket to derive a result shaped by narrow and parochial interest.

The question the solution oriented will ask is how do we change it. The management of West Indies in its current form makes it difficult for public opinion to be a difference-maker.  The WICB is comprised of  the little exclusive fiefdoms of the individual territories Leewards and Windwards included.

There is resistance against the politicians getting involved although there is a sub Caricom committee responsible for cricket matters. Logic says if the West Indies governments are expected to bail the WICB financially – we can cite the CWC2007 as an example – then it must be allowed to participate in the process of managing cricket. The danger in selecting this approach is that regional governments have been unable to show by performance of managing the affairs of state this would lead to a good result.

Around and around the mulberry bush we go and the time approaches when Bangladesh, Ireland, ZIMBAWEE will ease pass West Indies in the ICC rankings. What have we seen since the aborted India tour fiasco? The incumbent WICB president Dave Cameron is the front runner in the next WICB presidential election and Wavell Hinds retained as head of the West Indies Players Association (WIPA).  What has changed is the removal of a few players considered ‘rebels’. There is a moral to the saga playing out which we have witnessed all too frequently in West Indies cricket.

West Indian supporters who want change are left to wish the unthinkable  – allow the West Indies team to be relegated to playing with the ICC group. Such shame maybe the only way the region is jolted into a position that we have to change or die.

118 responses to “West Indies Cricket Continues to Slide”

1. The “question of the leadership of West Indies cricket” will never be solved successfully……and the reason is obvious…

There is NO SUCH THING as a “West Indies”…

What we have is a loose collection of self-centered tribes that had been put together by colonizers in search of easy prey to beat up in cricket. In the early days, the ‘prey’, motivated by the common desire to prove a racial point, worked together (reluctantly mostly) to successfully prove that point.

Having proven the point, tribes will be tribes…..

Let us stop wasting valuable BU space on this shiite do….!!

2. @Bush Tea

Your view is consistent all agree. It mean the the UWI, Caricom and other regional configurations designed to assist with functional cooperation will fail.

What about the relative success of the sub region?

3. Bushie’s defeatist attitude is well known. As much as we will agree that the conditions for these people to be all sent to the other place, underground, no insult to BU, including Garner, we shall not wait for no BBE, or any body else!

Surely, when Bushie is hungry he doesn’t wait on BBE to actually put food, physical food, in the larder. When he had dah tooth ache de yedda day he called for BBE but still run down dey tuh de dentist, real quick.

Why would he wait on somebody, no matter how much people called Her, over how many centuries, never come or offered any help at all.

When all the time he(Bushie) is the One we were all waiting for!

4. @ David
    define “success”

@ Pacha
    You REALLY think that Bshie is just waiting on BBE…?

shiite boss…. were that to be the case you would NEVER EVER have heard of Bushie….
    You would NEVER have heard of a 10 point plan from Bushie..
    You would be missing a clear ‘brass bowl perspective’ of life as we know it…

…and (as David is wont to let slip from time to time) Barbados would have been different in a number of ways….

The truth is …
    The WORLD needs BBE’s intervention….
    it is not that BUSHIE is resigned to waiting for it…

Wuh if Caswell and Walter were to BUP tomorrow…. Bushie would be there to assist …or to buss their tails… if THAT is warranted …

BTW
    UNITY parties seem to be the ‘IN’ thing these days 🙂

5. David, you have played straight and true for six: “Around and around the mulberry bush we go and the time …”. The folks at the top are all complicit and exactly as we see displayed in the various gov’t scandals there in no true member whose hands are washed in clean water and free of dirt.

I don’t share Bushie’s defeatism but there will be continued great pain before we see, dare I say it, some signs of a ‘resurrection’.

This outsider sees the type of coalescing of purpose by the entitled to protect their territory.

Mike Holding recently said: I was on commentary when the press release came through that the rest of the tour had been abandoned… when I came off commentary …I immediately jumped on the phone and made contact directly …with three directors of the WICB, who said they knew nothing of the development.”

Now, there was no indication who those three were but let’s presume it was the two Jamaicans and Joel his former teammate. That would set up the scenario why the Jam CA argued so vexatiously to reach their original decision and Joel decided to try his hand.

But true or not, Mr. Garner’s hands are still not clean nor those of any of these vagabonds so I am not shocked at this outcome.

And BTW, Holding went on to surmise: “I wonder whether, if I had had the contact details for other directors, they would have been as dumbfounded as those three”

So the question is, how the f*** could these directors not be on this like white on rice to ensure a practical result re the tour.

I was far removed from the day-to-day actions but immediately I saw the start of the brouhaha online I was agitated and thought the WICB should just grandfather the old contract and wait to the players returned home.

MBA trained corporate seers, lawyers, former players and a cadre of seasoned business/cricket people couldn’t be so simple and practical.

They essentially conspired to bring this $42M suit on their heads and now not only does Cameron have the gall to run again for President but four territorial boards are backing him: NONSENSE and CORRUPTION.

Haven’t we been saying for weeks that the elite class from where the politicians were spawned all behave the same. Steeupse.

6. I WAS SURPRISED A FEW WEEKS AGO WHEN I READ THAT THE JAMAICANS HAD DECIDED TO BACK GARNER, AND WONDERED THEN IF THEY WERE SO EMBARRASSED BY CAMERON’S FIASCO THAT THEY WERE WILLING TO JETTISON HIM.

BUT I AM NOT SURPRISED THAT THEY HAVE CHANGED THEIR MINDS. AFTER ALL JAMAICANS THINK THAT THEY KNOW IT ALL– EVEN THOUGH THEY DO NOT.

I EXPERIENCED THIS FIRST HAND WHEN I TAUGHT AT A NEW MEDICAL SCHOOL THERE. THEY DID NOT HAVE A CLUE, BUT DID NOT WANT TO LISTEN. THEY CONTINUE TO STAB IN THE DARK

I BELIEVE THAT LLOYD WILL GET WEST INDIES CRICKET BACK NEAR THE TOP

HE HAS STARTED CORRECTLY AT THE BOTTOM BY CHOOSING AN INTELLIGENT BAJAN BOY AS ONE DAY CAPTAIN. SOON BRATHWAITHE WILL BE THE TEST CAPTAIN
    BE PATIENT FELLAS
    THE PLAYERS WILL SAVE US AGAIN AS THEY DID IN THE PAST
    BUT WE MUST MAKE BARBADOS CRICKET STRONG AGAIN FOR THIS TO HAPPEN

7. It was interesting to listen to Desmond Haynes, Philo Wallace, Andy Roberts, Brian Lara all come out opposing Lloyd’s approach to team selection. This is insightful as well.

8. @Bush Tea

Success is our leaders sharing a vision and strategy to achieve and compete using all the relevant success indicators. And tweaking over time if agreed success factors are not being met, something we do not do well.

9. @ georgie porgie

dream on…………..

10. David February 18, 2015 at 11:29 AM #
    It was interesting to listen to Desmond Haynes, Philo Wallace, Andy Roberts, Brian Lara all come out opposing Lloyd’s approach to team selection. This is insightful as well.

I CAN LISTEN TO ROBERTS & HAYNES BUT WALLACE WAS AN UNSUCCESSFUL SWIPER & LARA A VERY SELFISH PERSON WHO UNDERMINED RICHARDSON, WALSH AND EVERYONE ELSE.

I AGREE WITH LLOYD TO DROP BRAVO & POLLARD . WE ARE NOT LOSING BECAUSE THESE TWO ARE NOT PLAYING?

WE ARE LOSING BECAUSE SAMUELS HAS NO BRAIN & GAYLE HAS PASSED HIS SELL BY DATE. THE TEAM IS NOT PULLING TOGETHER—-ESPECIALLY THE JAMAICANS

MJK TIGER PATAUDI WAS YOUNGER THAN JASON WHEN HE BECAME CAPTAIN OF INDIA AND SO WAS THE SOUTH AFRICAN GRAHAM SMITH

11. @GP

Roberts is of the view Lloyd has been removed from the region for too long to be attuned to the vagaries of team selection.

12. WE WENT TO THE 92 WORLD CUP WITHOUT RICHARDS GREENIDGE AND DUJON. THERE WAS NO FURORE THEN

WHY CANT WE GO IN 2015 WITHOUT NARINE BRAVO AND POLLARD

COMPARE AND CONTRAST—- WHO DID THE MOST FOR WINDIES CRICKET, THE FIRST GROUP OR THE SECOND?

LLOYD AND WALSH AND CO PICKED THE TEAM. LIVE WID IT.
    AFTER THE WORLD CUP DROP THE UNDER PERFORMERS TOO!

13. There is nothing special about cricket. It can die like anything else colonial. We should let that colonial relic die. Let Australia, England, New Zealand and South Africa be alone

14. David February 18, 2015 at 12:26 PM #

Roberts is of the view Lloyd has been removed from the region for too long to be attuned to the vagaries of team selection. BUT WALSH AND BROWNE HAS BEEN AROUND. LLOYD DID NOT PICK DE TEAM BY HIMSELF.

ROBERTS ALSO DOES NOT LIKE LLOYD FOR DROPPING HIM PREMATURELY IN 81. THERE IS NOTHING LLOYD CAN DO THAT WILL PLEASE ROBERTS

15. BY THE WAY, IRELAND BEAT A BETTER WINDIES TEAM IN 69

16. georgie porgie

you are dishonest. previously you agreed with us that the 1992 situation lies at the heart of the failures since then.

holder is merely a young man who can be controlled

within a few years he too will be another failure as well

17. The problem plaguing cricket is not only about who is Captain.

18. Jason Holder will be a successful all rounder and in a year or two will be playing T20 IN THE IPL.

19. David

We are not sure these ‘vagaries of team selection’ are valid. When Roberts was there things were no better. Now Lloyd has interests inconsistent with his inspired era of dominance we see no hope. In additions, all the other people-centered problem being manifested in cricket but have deeper cultural meanings. On this you are right.

20. If there is any justice in the world, the WI should be out in the first round.

21. RE georgie porgie

you are dishonest. previously you agreed with us that the 1992 situation lies at the heart of the failures since then.

holder is merely a young man who can be controlled

within a few years he too will be another failure as well

YOU SEEM TO HATE THE YOUNGSTER…WHY?

ARE YOU AN ASS? OR MERELY ILLITERATE ?
    WHEN DID I AGREE WITH YOU THAT the 1992 situation lies at the heart of the failures since then.
    CLEARLY YOU CAN NOT READ OR UNDERSTAND A SIMPLE ARGUEMENT

IF WE COULD PLAY AND LOSE WITHOUT GREENIDGE DUJON AND RICHARDS WHO HAD A PROVEN TRACK RECORD WHY CANT WE PLAY WITHOUT MEDIOCRE PLAYERS LIKE BRAVO AND POLLARD AND NARINE -THE PELTER?

ANY ASS CAN UNDERSTAND THE ABOVE

WHO WOULD YOU HAVE MADE CAPTAIN FOOL? SAMUELS?
    WHO IS IN THE TEAM THAT IS YOUNG THAT CAN PROBABLY PLAY FOR 17 YEARS LIKE THE YOUNG GREENIDGE AND RICHARDS IN I974 EVENTUALLY DID?

THE PROBLEM WITH WINDIES CRICKET BEGAN IN I981-82 WHEN 18 CRICKETERS (9 OF WHOM WERE BAJANS WERE BANNED FOR LIFE)

LLOYD IS CHAIRMAN OF SELECTORS LET HIM DO HIS JOB

WE HAD BUTTS FOR YEARS AS CHAIRMAN OF SELECTORS WHO CONTRIBUTED LITTLE TO WINDIES CRICKET

22. @Pacha and GP

Let us agree we have some structural problems to solve.

Let us agree the decision by Lloyd to buck the trend by selecting Holder signals the beginning of a desire to do something different.

What we also can agree is bold decisions have to be made at all levels.

Let the debate continue.

23. holder is merely a young man who has been given a job to do

re Jason Holder will be a successful all rounder and in a year or two will be playing T20 IN THE IPL.
    why not? he has actually played IPL BEFORE SO WHY NOT AGAIN

RE If there is any justice in the world, the WI should be out in the first round.
    THE WAY THE JAMAICANS ARE PLAYING ONE WONT BE SURPRISED

JASON BOWLED BETTER THAN ALL THE SENIOR AND SO CALLED SENIOR PLAYERS VERSUS IRELAND—- EVERY SINGLE ONE

WHICH JACKASS EXCEPT SAMUELS THROWS AWAY HIS HAND TO SPINNERS NEARLY EVERY GAME
    WHICH JACKASS EXCEPT SAMUELS AKA HELEGANCE DOES NOT LEARN
    FROM HIS FAILURES

IN THE OLD DAYS THE STARS USED TO SHINE
    TODAY THE STARS ARE “shit’ !
    LLOYD GOT RID OF TWO PIECES OF THE SHIT WHO CAN NOT EVEN SHINE IN REGIONAL CRICKET.

POLLARD AND BRAVO DID NOT SHINE IN RECENT 50 OVERS CRICKET
    WHY ARE THEY NOT PLAYING 4 DAY CRICKET LIKE EVERYONE ELSE

THEY DONT CARE ABOUT WINDIES CRICKET
    AND SHORT THINKING MORONS ARE MOURNING THIER LOSS

24. David February 18, 2015 at 1:19 PM #

I DONT DEBATE WITH ILLITERATES
    I JUST STATE FACTS AND REFUTE SHIT TALK
    PRIOR TO 1981 REGIONAL TEAMS AND THUS REGIONAL CRICKET CONTAINED EX TEST PLAYERS WHO BEING FIT TO CARRY ON WERE PRESENT TO LEND THIER EXPERIENCE AND GUIDANCE TO YOUNG CRICKETERS

SINCE THE BANNING OF THE 18 PLAYERS FOR LIFE COMPETITION FOR PLACES IN BOTH REGIONAL AND THE WINDIES TEAM DECLINED

WE COMPETED FAIRLY REASONABLY UNTIL ABOUT 2000 BECAUSE THERE WAS STILL SOME JUICE IN THE TEAM FROM THE OLD TIME INSPIRATION

HOW MANY TIMES HAS THE “GREAT” BUT SELFISH LARA PLAYED FOR TRINIDAD AFTER 2007
    WHEN THEY DESTROYED HAYNES IN 95 HE NEVER PLAYED FOR BIM AGAIN

NOWADAYS MEN ARE DROPPED FROM REGIONAL TEAMS WHEN THEY ARE THOUGHT TO BE OF NO MORE SERVICE TO THE WINDIES

25. NARINE DIDNT GO TO THE WORLD CUP BECAUSE
    1 HE DIDNT FEEL LIKE IT
    2 THEY DROPPED HIS TWO FRIENDS AND COUNTRYMEN
    3 HE WILL GET GOOD MONEY PLAYING FOR KKR—– HE WILL BE CONFIDENT ABOUT HIS PELTING THEN

IF HE IS NOT SELECTED FOR WINDIES HE WILL SAY HE IS VICTIMISED

MY VIEW IS WE PLAYED WITHOUT GIBBS IN 71 WE CAN PLAY WITHOUT NARINE ANYTIME

MEN COME MEN GO
    THE ONLY PERSON WHO CAN NOT BE REPLACED IS THE LORD JESUS CHRIST!

26. David February 18, 2015 at 1:19 PM #

Let us agree we have some structural problems to solve.
    SURE IN BIM WE SEE YEAR AFTER YEAR THAT THERE ARE GOOD EMERGING PLAYERS IN PRIMARY SCHOOL AND UNDER 15, UNDER 17 CRICKET ETC

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THAT?

ONLY HOLDER AND BRATHWAITHE?
    THESE ARE SPECIAL YOUNG MEN AND SHOULD BE NCOURAGED NOT CUSSED

WHEN HOLDER WAS OFFERED THE CAPTAINCY OF WINDIES WHAT SHOULD HE HAVE SAID.

WHAT DID DAVID DO WHEN SAMUEL FIRST ANNOINTED HIM KING

WHAT ABOUT DANIEL OR SAMUEL?

LET US BE RATIONAL PATIENT PATRIOTIC ETC

27. Interesting comment by Desmond Haynes last night on the sports show: why are our young batsmen copying others like Gooch et al who hold their bats baseball style? Didn’t our great and good batsmen of the past tap the pitch with the bat to create a rhythm that appear to complement our natural approach? Just one example of where we have lacked leadership.

28. why are our young batsmen copying others like Gooch et al who hold their bats baseball style?
    CAUSE THEY LIKE TO COPY WITHOUT UNDERSTANDING WHAT THEY ARE COPYING AND WHY
    CAUSE THEY ARE INCAPABLE OF WORKING OUT THINGS FOR THEMSELVES
    CAUSE THEY DONT THINK THAT COPYING THEIR OWN IS THE RIGHT WAY

GUESS WHAT ON THE ISLAND OF CEYLON AKA SRI LANKAN THE YOUNG SRI LANKANS IMMITATE THEIR OWN GREATS

29. @ David

You can’t hope to go forward on the basis of ill-will.

Selecting Holder as captain was designed to send a message. A declaration of war!

That message said to all and sundry we, the board, are in full and absolute control and if anybody thinks they could have a different opinion than that inspired through us by god, we shall destroy them. Not only now but forever and ever more. For we are put here by god himself and cannot be removed. Even if we are removed we will nominate somebody just like us, again and again.

Jason Holder was an idiot to allow himself to be thrown into this meat grinder and in support of agendas that are not of his making.

Holder is no more than a promising player who should have spent the next few year honing his skills and consolidate his position in the team.

Moreover, if was to be determined that he had some ‘leadership’ potential then another type of training, especially in off the field thinking, strategy, readings – The Art of War, for example. In a perverse way, not unlike the slave system, the Board has shown it cares as little about Holder as it does about anybody else.

And we here have people talking about two Bajans, including Brathwaite, captaining the WI. Brathwaite a boy who has hardly shown that he belongs at the highest level of cricket people could be already seeing him as captain.

Those who doubt, just wait for a year or two and we’ll see. We don’t understand why you’ll have to wait when we’ve gone through this time after time.

You don’t learn from your history? You are consigned to repeat it!

30. “AFTER THE WORLD CUP DROP THE UNDER PERFORMERS TOO!”

But GP, a side requires eleven players to participate in a game of cricket. Using your logic the Windies at their best, would be unable to field a team of no more than five players!

You’re old enough to have seen all the greats – be happy.

Lara was our last great; Chanderpaul should be commended for his professionalism. As for the rest………………

Cricket like most things in the Caribbean is broken.

I know that you are a man of faith. However there will be no resurrection of cricket within this region. Time has, simply, passed us by.

31. RE Holder is no more than a promising player who should have spent the next few year honing his skills and consolidate his position in the team.

GREENIDGE AND RICHARDS AND HAYNES ETC WERE NO MORE than promising player S WHEN THEY STARTED SO WAS SOBERS KALICHARRAN ROWE LLOYD ETC

RE Moreover, if was to be determined that he had some ‘leadership’ potential then another type of training, especially in off the field thinking, strategy, readings – The Art of War, for example. In a perverse way, not unlike the slave system, the Board has shown it cares as little about Holder as it does about anybody else.

YOU HAVE NO DOUBT HAD “another type of training, especially in off the field thinking, strategy, readings – The Art of War, for example” AND YET YOUR PUERILE BRAIN HAS GRASPED LITTLE, YOU ENVIOUS BASTARD!

RE And we here have people talking about two Bajans, including Brathwaite, captaining the WI. Brathwaite a boy who has hardly shown that he belongs at the highest level of cricket people could be already seeing him as captain.

THAT IS CALLED VISION. THESE ARE LADS WHOM FOLK WHO KNOW THEM BETTER THAN YOU OR I THINK THEY ARE WORTHY

AND IT MAKES SENSE. HISTORY SHOWS WHEN BARBADOS IS STRONG—- WINDIES IS STRONG. ITS TIME WE HAVE BAJAN CAPTAINS AGAIN

NIETHER OF THEM SEEM TO BE COCKY. THEY GO ABOUT THIER BUSYNESS HUMBLY SIMPLY AND TO THE BEST OF THIER ABILITIES. THEY HAVE MY ADMIRATION. I WISH THEM WELL. I DONT WISH THEM TO FAIL OR FALTER OR FALL

RE Those who doubt, just wait for a year or two and we’ll see. We don’t understand why you’ll have to wait when we’ve gone through this time after time.

WE HAVE WAITED FOR YEARS ON BOTH BRAVOS AND POLLARD—–AND WHAT HAVE WE GOT?

WE HAVE WAITED FOR YEARS ON OTHERS TO NO AVAIL

I CAN WAIT ON THE two Bajans

32. Exclaimer February 18, 2015 at 2:32 PM #

RE But GP, a side requires eleven players to participate in a game of cricket. Using your logic the Windies at their best, would be unable to field a team of no more than five players!

Exclaimer, LOL YOU JUST SIX OTHERS LIKE WE DID AT SCHOOL OR IN DE VILLAGE. WE CANT DO MUCH WORSE THAN WE ARE DOING NOW

You’re old enough to have seen all the greats – be happy. I AM

Cricket like most things in the Caribbean is broken. YOU ARE PROBABLY CORRECT FOR EVERY THING ELSE SEEMS TO BE BROKEN

I know that you are a man of faith. However there will be no resurrection of cricket within this region. Time has, simply, passed us by. YOU MAY BE RIGHT THERE TOO.

NOW GO TEACH THE PACHA TWIT TO TALK SENSE LIKE YOU! MURDAH

33. Jamaica decided to go with the Tweedledum they know rather than the Tweedledee from Barbados. I don’t know why wunnah expected Jamaica to support a Bajan over a native son for anything

34. I AGREE WID YOU SARGE
    BUT YOU HAVE TO LIVE AMONG THEM TO KNOW HOW STUPID THEY ARE
    THEY PREFERRED TO PAY ME TO SLEEP ALL DAY THAN TO TEACH THE STUDENTS ALL BECAUSE IT WAS VERY CLEAR TO THEM THAT I HAD THE EXPERIENCE AND KNOW WHAT I WAS DOING

35. @ Sargeant
    “….I don’t know why wunnah expected Jamaica to support a Bajan over a native son for anything….”
    True that Sargeant.
    The suggestion that Jamaica was going to support a Bajan had Bushie in shock yuh…
    wuh that shiite would have challenged Bushie’s position that there is no such entity as a “West Indies” and that therefore, …West Indies Cricket’ was nothing but a fallacy that had its moment in time – thanks to the English colonizers…

We are back to business now….

“The problem plaguing cricket is not only about who is Captain.”
    That what you would like to think…

There is no genuine unifying philosophical base. No homeland passion.
    It is about who is from where, and who will not be supporting who…
    It is about a house divided against itself …. it cannot stand.

But wunna can dream….

36. BUSHIE
    RE There is no genuine unifying philosophical base. No homeland passion.
    It is about who is from where, and who will not be supporting who…
    It is about a house divided against itself …. it cannot stand.

THIS WAS ALWAYS TRUE—EVEN WHEN WE WERE WINNING
    BUT IN A PASS AGE THE MEN HAD PRIDE IN THEMSELVES, AND THE STARS SHONE IN REGIONAL CRICKET AND SOMETIMES AS INDIVIDUALS IN TEST CRICKET…SO WE PLAYED GOOD CRICKET AND WON MORE GAMES AND A FEW SERIES

IN LLOYD’S TIME THE MEN WERE SEASONED PROFESSIONAL COUNTY CRICKETERS AND PLAYED AS SUCH ..SO WE PLAYED GOOD CRICKET MORE CONSISTENTLY AND WON EVEN MORE GAMES AND EVEN MORE SERIES….BUT WE WERE NEVER TRULY UNITED

37. Bushie

This shite is playing on an even bigger stage, take the CCJ Trinidad & Jamaica are not participants. Trinidad was for it until a change in Gov’t and the new Gov’t refused to honor the commitment of the former Gov’t but The CCJ is based in Trinidad so they get all the ancillary benefits-staff and administrative jobs and they even get to choose the judges- yuh can’t make this stuff up. So T&T which prides itself on throwing away colonial trappings still prefers to have its cases settled in jolly old England rather than entrust them to fellow Caricom citizens. As for Jamaica they are neither fish nor fowl but they too love the white man despite protestations to the contrary.

The Union Jack is long gone but people are still pining for it and getting more stupid everyday.

38. Agree100% Sargeant.

How do you respond to the suggestion that the unifying force back then was the regional determination to show that black people could kick English butt at their own game?
    Country cricket ended when the English realized that they were indeed coming up against superiors. Sobers, Haynes, Richards, Lloyd, Hall and Griffith etc put the final stamp on any misconception by the colonizers of inferior black cricketing talents.
    …..and so ended the experiment of county cricket for West Indian players.. .
    ..It also ended any unifying philosophy since we had nothing like that to prove anymore….

the new philosophy is money and greed ….and raw nationalism…. except of course for those old-time dreamers on BU and Mason & Friends who continue to live in the 70’s…

After one of those fellows make the first $300,000 and buy a BMW and six women …. you REALLY think they give two shits bout winning cups or training 7 days a week to compete with real real teams like South Africa or Australia….LOL or even Ireland… 🙂

give Bushie a break….

Let us stop stressing ourselves with this cricket shiite …and get back on Parris and Carrington’s asses…

39. @Bush Tea

Take away our dreams and what?

40. Take away our dreams and what?

Hopefully the damned place would WAKE UP and smell the coffee before the house burns down.

41. Bush Tea February 18, 2015 at 4:56 PM #
    RE How do you respond to the suggestion that the unifying force back then was the regional determination to show that black people could kick English butt at their own game?
    BUT THIS WAS PROVEN SINCE 1950 IN ENGLAND AND 63 AND 66 BEFORE LLOYD’S ERA BUT 65 VS AUSTRALIA

RE Country cricket ended
    THEY STIL PLAYING Country cricket MAN
    THEY JUST GET PLAYERS FROM HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE BUT WINDIES. THE ENGLISH TEAM THESE DAYS HAVE FEW ENGLISHMEN—–MAINLY SOUTH AFRICANS

RE …..and so ended the experiment of county cricket for West Indian players..
    THEY DON’T WEST INDIANS TO MASTER THE SWINGING BALL AND PLAY LIKE PROFESSIONALS AGAIN BECAUSE WE ARE NEVER TO RULE THE WORLD AS WE DID FROM 76 -95.

.RE .It also ended any unifying philosophy since we had nothing like that to prove anymore….THIS WAS A MYTH
    the new philosophy is money and greed ….THIS IS TRUE

RE and raw nationalism…. except of course for those old-time dreamers on BU and Mason & Friends who continue to live in the 70’s… IF YOU CHECK A LOT OF GAMES WE LOSE COULD HAVE BEEN WON BY EACH TEAM MEMBER MAKING 7-10 RUNS EACH JUST LIKE THE PRE 76 DAYS
    RE After one of those fellows make the first $300,000 and buy a BMW and six women …. you REALLY think they give two shits bout winning cups or training 7 days a week to compete with real real teams like South Africa or Australia….LOL or even Ireland… 🙂

I CANT HELP IT IF THEY STUPID, AND FRANKLY I DON’T THINK ABOUT THEM

Let us stop stressing ourselves with this cricket shiite …I DON’T STRESS ABOUT THEM MAN

THE HOUSE HAS ALREADY BEGUN TO BURN
    JUST WATCH THE PROPHECIES OF ISRAEL IN THE ESCHATON COMING TRUE

42. Bushie wrote “After one of those fellows make the first $300,000 and buy a BMW and six women”

And if they have the personality and can dance they become celebrities in India.

43. In the good old days ( ? ) the cricketers played for love of the game and love of country.
    They had very little “temptation” and got paid very little.

Today they have the opportunity to make a decent living in T20.

44. Bushie for a guy who displays such apparent knowledge and awareness it is amazing to read (though facetiously stated surely), “Let us stop stressing ourselves with this cricket shiite …and get back on Parris and Carrington’s asses…”.

That is a big issue but that too will pass. Every Bajan, Trini etc will continue with life apace eventually.

However, we all need entertainment, relaxation preferably of our own making or your BBE to maintain the rhythm of life.

To dismiss the WI cricket team is myopic at best and does not properly embrace the tremendous benefits (to which you alluded) that it accrued to all West Indians and still can.

Your pessimistic view is understood but you and others who think like you are not the entirety. It’s fair to say at least 50% of the region’s cricket followers want a successful team and if that team were to perform to at least a credible level the following and support would raise markedly.

No one begrudges you your view but to make such a sweeping statement that the latest political scandal should relegate WI cricket to the dump-heat of discourse is ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous.

45. HANTS
    THE PLAYERS FROM THE OTHER NATIONS ALSO “have the opportunity to make a decent living in T20” BUT THEY ALSO TEND TO BE COMMITTED TO PLAYING FOR THEIR COUNTRIES—GOOD EXAMPLE IS THE SRI LANKANS

LOOK HOW REGULARLY THE SRI LANKAN STARS SHINE
    LOOK AT THEIR STATS AND COMPARE WITH OUR GLAMOUR BOYS

46. @ GP,
    Do not stress yourself. Do you think our boys in Australia and New Zealand are stressing themselves?

47. Something to consider: who on the WICB Board brings the fire in the belly the way a Garner or Lloyd is likely to bring around the Board table? These MBA fellows see dollars and cents and there is a role for them in the secretariat.

48. David this is the latest list of which I am aware. I presume it is still current.

Of the list, Enoch Lewis in the only other former player but that does not mean that others would not be as vibrant and vigorous.

If Bushie or Pieces were there would you not expect them to have lotta fire in the belly.

Maybe someone like Deighton Smith is that type of person.

Whycliffe ‘Dave’ Cameron President
    Hon. Ambassador Emmanuel Nanthan Vice President
    Joel Garner MBE Member Director
    Deighton Smith Member Director
    Anand Sanasie Member Director
    Anand Kalladeen Member Director
    Wilford ‘Billy’ Heaven Member Director
    Dr. Donovan Bennett Member Director
    Enoch Lewis Member Director
    Baldath Mahabir Member Director
    Azim Bassarath Member Director
    Julian Charles Member Director
    Elson Crick Member Director
    Hon. Richard ‘Ricky’ Skerritt Non-member Director (CARICOM nominee)
    Clifford Reis Non-member Director
    Jennifer Nero Non-member Director
    Don Wehby Non-member Director