Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Where does Mac Fingall get off with his absolute rude and crude behaviour, Monday at the Christ Church Foundation School’s Black History Month celebrations?
For those not privy to the goings on, Mac infront the school’s filled auditorium, did the unforgivable. In a nutshell he informed all in attendance, that people(obviously includes classmates) of a fairer complexion, owe their colour to the fact,that a white man indignantly raped their great great grandmothers.
C’mon Mac, we all know you can’t say that. (Even if it were in some cases true). Not when you a retired school teacher from the Lodge School, and today a mentor for many young inmates at Dodds Prison, a societal icon, just recently received a Barbados Service Star.
No Mac, such could be termed provocative and racial insighting behaviour, that if misconstrued by the Foundation’s School students, could lead to disharmony at the Prime Minister’s old school. Now we wouldn’t want that,right Mac?
Listen Mac, Jack ya behaving Slack….hence the Flak. Ya owe the school an apology for such unsavoury behaviour. In future Inspector Bacon, do consider your audience before starting one of your oppressive and haughty omelettes. Ya hear muh Jack?

247 responses to “Come on Mac, Where is Your Class?”
From the time Columbus crossed the ocean blue in 1492 coercive sexual intercourse=rape was the norm.
You do understand don’t you that an enslaved woman cannot consent to anything, including she cannot consent to sexual intercourse.
Mac did not insult anybody. Ar aped woman need feel no shame because she did nothing wrong.
The rapist is the one who should be ashamed of himself.
@ Old Onion Bags.. The point I sought to make was that in our fair land the white folk have always been able to freely and fearlessly speak their mind, and dare I say right or wrong without repercussion. That Mac Fingall in this the year of 2015 is expected to shade in grey an article of truth in relation to black history is nothing short of an affront to all right thinking black people. My choice of Ralph ”Brugga” Johnson was not only based on his last idiotic comments broad brushing black Barbadians, but I invite you to ask those who know about his stance/tolerance for black race drivers back in the days. Who offered an apology for that? Who saw the lack of class? Our hopes, dreams and aspirations maybe stunted and sometimes even snuffed out. The truth however cannot be denied.
Then again this is the same writer that not too long ago attempted to foist Donville Inniss pun we. Did you hear the same Donville the fraud talking bout white shadows in relation to this eminent persons foolishness? Hey Donville we know who does the bidding for the white shadows, so both you and he that admires you need to go take a rest. I mean you Onions.
just asking February 6, 2015 at 6:35 PM #
With all this stupid talk of white , black, yellow & Brown, anyone remember that it was our own African people that sold our ancestors to the slave traders, let’s get pass this negative talk. Yes, learn our history, so not to make the same mistakes again, but is that being done? when we hear of all the boats that are leaving Africa with humans beings on them for Europe, and some don’t even make the journey, they die at sea trying, who do we blame for that? We need to better educate ourselves, & our people so that we can move forward instead of going backward
………………………………………………………………………………………………….
Not forgetting that most of this slave trading was facilitated by the over 70 Cuban owned and operated slave ships which plied the route between the Caribbean / America and west Africa.
Black History Children,
Great great grandmothers and beyond were raped by white men
Don’t listen to any White History they lie like a C
http://youtu.be/yfT0OjB-CuQ
Mac Fingall’s mistake in making that speech, was not sanitising the history of Plantation copulation , to make the planter class come out smelling like the Lady in the Night shrub , just as the Twistorians among us have done with the Crop Over bunch of lies, reference providing a feast ,and a song and dance for the plantation workers at the end of the crop.
I have the draft of a book, now for many years, perhaps one day I’ll get around to putting it in print. The provisional titles are (a) Living in the Shadow of the Great House, (b) Down in the Nigger Yard
Extract from my draft- Growing up in Massa Land / Down in the Nigger Yard etc etc.
” But still you had to have some sympathy for these poor women. They were lucky in comparison to others , in having a family to go home to.
The ‘live-in” servant were the ones who really saw hell, with a capital H.
Firstly the term “live-in” is inaccurate, as she was given a little hut to live in which was no bigger than an outside toilet. It was located far from the Great House ,almost on the edge of the grounds, abutting the nearest cane field, There was no toilet facilities, no electric lighting,no running water, and mostly only a one door-window combination.
She lived in a far worst conditions than the prized plantation dogs and its other animals. Because she lived-in, her hours of work were considerably longer. Starting earlier and finishing much later than the field workers, and moreso, if the plantation family was hosting a function.
These women were treated like dirt, by the children and ‘Mistress” of the great house. It is well known that many a Great House master would give these poor women extra duties, caring for his favourite dog, after the Mistress had gone to bed.
This was particularly evident from the great number of what we Bajan like to call pretty brown skinned children around.
It made no sense for these poor women to complain of technical or convenient rape, because in those days, a white man could do no wrong. Even her own family would have accused her of lying on this “fine ,decent gentleman”, and this would be the end of her pitiful career as a servant ,in any Plantation House in Barbados. Field work ,Yes!
To many young women ,servant work was a way of life ,and in those days when jobs for women were so limited, they had to take anything which came along, sadly, the master included.
MoneyBrain February 6, 2015 at 5:23 PM #
I have never entered a state of self deception that would lead me to attempt to swim the Pacific Ocean when Joesephine’s River was so close and far narrower.
……………………………………………………………………………..
You could have gone upstream to those two big pools between Castle Grant and Surinam?
I want to get the pecking order right so I don’t screw up if I meet some of you people in public
Plantocracy
investor
tourist
high black
poor white
women
poor black
beachbum
guyanese
Love it the old pre-emptive strike ,the nation paper talks about the regions children some as young as ten being forced to have sex… those dirty plantation owners are still at it. Will they never learn
The victim perpetrators have very thin pasty skin and can’t take their whippings when accused of racism rape and brutality through history and will get all preachy quoting MLK, Gandhi and Buddha saying whites blacks browns yellows are same and we should get along in togetherness dub
http://youtu.be/E2J8Q1ESWa0
Based on this blog and whole lotta talk regurgitating these decades old debates about race and parsing what is the correct tone and context of slavery it’s absolutely clear that Mac Fingall achieved a key part of his message.
That a brown-skinned/mixed race man bedecked in the 3 piece attire of the landed gentry/plantocracy of the day stands before a Black History month gathering and ‘shouts from the rafters’ that HIS (and others like him) great-ancestors raped/were raped by their slave owners/slaves is all about creating razzle to dazzle his audience.
It’s all about awareness and cutting through the noise. Mac has always known how to do that and he certainly did it here as well.
There were so many lines of good enquiry that could have been started from Mac’s speech but here we are in 2015 actually debating how to parse the issue of skin color in the context of slavery.
Perhaps it was all about the soft porn angle the thread took with the salacious ‘sweet brown sugar’ and reverse ‘jungle fever’ comments. All good!
But, I personally prefer comments from Donna and Bushie (going have to stop requoting them, but if he right…).
Didn’t the sex (rape) take place? Why tip-toe around it at this stage of our evolution as Donna alluded to from the git-go; and “just being… here as a slave was non consensual… Fingall knows what he is talking about.”
I frame it this way: If Bob Marley at 70 years was in Barbados and his talk was on ” Mental Slavery’ he would have received RAUCOUS cheers when in his smooth Jamaica lingo ‘im tell the crowd bout their ancestry and how those who look like ‘im need to always stand up and remember their ‘istory.
I’m sure he would have been as snarkily eloquent as Mac was. And he would be praised to high heaven.
Pieces put it into suitable context with: “The issue of appropriateness for 11 year olds in 2015 is a grey area … if they know what a doggie can do and videoing each other in “lascivious acts”.
Yet, we be here debating how Mac should parse the issue of sex (rape). These kids can buy and sell us times over on that subject. And they do need to understand their ‘istory.
Onions you are totally off base here, sir.
Could you liberate my post presumably from spam
…great-ancestors raped/were raped by their slave owners/slaves
To be clear, that statement means that both sides of Mac’s ancestors (all of we ancestors) suffered or perpetuated the act.
We know enough to understand that the darkest skinned bajan got light skinned family so whether we love it or not both sides of the aisle are our progenitors. All ah we!
We hark to our African heritage surely (not Lawson and MB of course) because the Caucasian ancestry was a forced one.
We abhor that but it’s still there.
Can we now leave his subject and look at the pros and cons of the Clico forensic audit that the Government of Barbados wants to keep from the public.Why does the ‘Director of Finance’ want to keep this matter sealed.Whose interest /name/reputation is being “protected”.Meanwhile the policyholders are kept in the dark by their own dark/black and some would say bugly kind .
What I really see in all this is that whether it is tourism, entrepreneurship or race relations Barbados is full of vision narys
@easy
Your literacy is a disaster because the first thing I said was that the majority of situations were Rape or tantamount!
Secondly since I was NOT born in those days I cant plead GUILTY to anything that happened then.
What people like you must believe is that if your great grand father Raped my great granny then YOU should be CULPABLE! I trust that you are truly utilising this totally distorted “lack of thought” as a result of pure emotion or repitition of others ILL LOGIC.
It was a completely different world 30 years ago farless 200-400years.
@Vincent
Good play on the word ‘liberate’ 🙂
Those who have followed Mac’s career through the years would have been intrigued by his work at the Lodge School when he led the project Fight Back. A project to win back the slumping reputation of the school at the time. He has had a positive influence on the lifes of countless young people. This is a man who has the education AND street smarts to understand the youth. He is hands on i.e. does not operate from the armchair. He has that in common with Bush Tea.
Who cares what you think dumb fockcer
Yeah you I’m talking too
@ DeeWord
Thanking you for your deliberations….but facts are facts. You alike many have gone into the sphere of what if’s at the dire expense what is…. Example :When the PM visited the recent BCCI luncheon procedural etiquette was observed.. both ways too I must say…why any difference wid Mac…Is it because this was a school gathering?….where do we draw the line?
Again I must reiterate
With station comes responsibility…
Come Jack or Mac,
And to that he must give regard,
For our youths are but highly impressionable,
One must use tact and not behave slack.
Haughty, becomes naughty, when such attract…
And good grace become mere waste….
Mischievous and unwonton without solicitude or face.
……God bless.
Moneybrain wrote “Hants views this topic from a very emotional perspective”
So what did you expect me to feel about the rape and torture of my black slave ancestors?
Bushie already answered you at the “educated” level.
Bush Tea February 6, 2015 at 5:38 PM
@David February 7, 2015 at 9:59 AM #
@Vincent
Good play on the word ‘liberate’ 🙂
…………………………………………………..
I had submitted a post on the Nubians and how they were the crack troops of Julius’ invavasion of the Angle isles somewhere in 60 bc and how through their rape and pillage a number of Brits today have Nubian in their DNA.
No need to look for them or post them.
@old onion bags February 7, 2015 at 10:23 AM ….but facts are facts. You alike many have gone into the sphere of what if’s at the dire expense what is—-
Quite right sir, it is what is.
It is Bob Marley’s music that resonates today solidly. His rhetorical mental slavery still shackles us. No Excel spreadsheet of what if possibilities… just stark reality.
It is that we are a complex and interlinked product of slavery. We cannot run from it nor can we hide from it.
It is that our youth are giddy on social media and the prevalence of sex, skin color and all that and that Mac did no more than highlight that already very evocative and daring tone in society.
It is that light skinned Ri RI is a big star and so too light skinned Beyonce and that Kim is married to a dark skinned brother and on and on. It is what the kids all know and follow in a very generic and sometimes hating way re skin color.
It is that a BCCI luncheon of the gilded corporate set, there to be seen and heard, and long jaded by political palaver are interested in etiquette in so far as they demand to be treated to suit their pompous positions.
So, if your sensibilities have been assaulted then I suggest that as you duck your head in the sand do not expect the actual landscape above ground to change.
Your assailing of Mac is a genteel, euro centric perspective of decorum that dismisses the stark realities around us. The mere fact that it was a Black History month presentation in itself says that issues of tone and parsing are irrelevant. It’s all about the evocative subject matter.
It is not about a difference where one is saying that there is a time to be ‘rude’ as you are suggesting. It’s about getting the message across.
Was Errol Barrow right to stand up before his adoring peoples and call them sycophants for the US? To basically cuss their backsides and tell them that they are all lackeys for the man he derided as a cowboy. Now sir, that was rude. Very rude.
Alas, but that message cut through a lotta noise and to this day resonates powerfully.
If you think it gets our sons and daughter to a better place to dipsy-doodle around that slavery/race subject, then more power to you. I adhere to the Barrow type dictum in this matter. A little shame goes a long way. I think Mac long ago figured out how to harness that.
As the man said then: Anyhow I done.
BTW, your verse is awesome!
I appreciate the point, it is true for most and very understandable to a certain degree.
@Vincent
Thanks for your admission of GUILT that Nubians were known for Raping and Pillaging way back in 60BC Britain.
This raises the point as to why Britains would have felt fear and could easily justify slavery of such a successfully aggressive people. It was no doubt a strategic defensive posture.
@Deeword
Interesting that you make reference to Bob M, the product of white and black, and not Peter Tosh.
The bottomline on all this palaver is that the vast majority of Whites dont care what Mac said and indeed may secretly be very pleased to learn that darker people waste so much time concerning themselves with history instead of focusing on producing a successful FUTURE which is certainly achievable even with the onerous burden of these useless, corrupt MPs in OCCUPATION of BIM, like a conquering horde of Nubians raping and pillaging the common man ad nauseam.
Focus the youth pun dat!
Was Mac Fingall talking to Whites? What was Mac trying to achieve with his message at Foundation??
Tafari sit up on his pinnacle
he can never be belittle
http://youtu.be/9WKWd5C799M
And I ask why am I black, they say I was born in sin, and shamed inequity. One of the main songs we used to sing in church makes me sick, ‘love wash me and I shall be whiter than snow.
Peter Tosh
I am not a politician… I only suffer the consequences.
Peter Tosh
However there are many ,well some, brown-skinned people whose colour coding is the result of formal marriages between the planter class and the girl in the village. Mine for instance is the result of a grandfather from the Great House getting hitched to one such girl, my grandmother . He was evicted from the Great House and disinherited. The benefactors are now prominent families in Barbados.
So what happened after the Great rape of the 19th century? Why did Mac think it was necessary to then add to his comments about “clear skin” and “good hair” as if everyone with those attributes is the product of some historical rape? Why should those whose ancestors were the victims of those rapes made to feel that they are unworthy? Why would he try to pit those with “clear skin and “good hair” against the others? How does he know if those with dark skins are not also the offspring of some of those who were raped by the slave masters? In the context of the school yard argument next time there is a heated discussion between these two groups as Mac sees them and one individual makes negative reference to the antecedents of another based on pigmentation, what then? Did those with “clear skin” and “good hair” inherit any other attributes from their white fore parents? Which reminds me of a time when Playboy was in its heyday and they used to feature an n interview with a celebrity or controversial person, they sent Alex Haley (he of Roots fame) to interview the American Nazi leader George Lincoln Rockwell. Rockwell didn’t want to do the interview with a black man but then he relented and noted that Haley was light complexioned and observed that he may have gotten his intelligence from the white genes he carried.
If Mac wanted to make a point about “shadism” existing in Bajan society he used the wrong examples in bringing it to the fore and his comments are more likely to be divisive than inclusionary a clear case of “monkey handling gun” and as an observer of human behaviour he makes a good comedian.
Easy
Good Tosh lines dey!
MoneyBrain February 7, 2015 at 11:37 AM #
@Vincent
Thanks for your admission of GUILT that Nubians were known for Raping and Pillaging way back in 60BC Britain.
…………………………………………………………………
We are collectively guilty or innocent,is my point,choice is ours
Presently we here in the Caribbean are a Pelau,irrespective of our melanin content.
Only the truly ignorant have time to waste on what the various tribes did hundreds of years ago…….what we should be doing is moving forward as one as opposed to tiefing,back stabbing and crabs in the barrel operations.
Presumably it will take some time for the Pelau to feel comfortable with their identity that acknowledges no father or mother figure from different lands.
@Sarge
Excellent pov!
I am regularly perplexed by the logic of some pun here and exactly how they intend to better their position and the situation of others.
It seems to me that knocking down proves little. Time would be spent more fruitfully by hatching Plans, Strategies etc for Bim,s phoenix like revival.
bushshite here is a question fuh from de idiot .firstly i noticed how you heaping all kond of accolades for truth and history. but tell me this how about the black men who breed their daughters uh think that story should be told or that is a part of history which should remain closed
Unfortunately this is not a racial issue but a human travesty of global proportions.
Like I am always trying to point out ALL races, creeds and classes are GUILTY of misconduct in manifold ways—all human mistakes.
@MoneyBrain February 7, 2015 at 12:23 PM #
My thoughts exactly…..well said.
agree not a racially motivated.but doesn,t both stories has a truth borne out of moral composite that should be told. doesn,t both stories even though separate at root negates a truth which ought to be told or does the burden of coverup remains a norm for society
.@ Sarge
If Mac wanted to make a point about “shadism” existing in Bajan society he used the wrong examples in bringing it to the fore and his comments are more likely to be divisive than inclusionary a clear case of “monkey handling gun” and as an observer of human behaviour he makes a good comedian
Well said ……I would like to fully endorse your contribution…Mac’s gobble to CHILDREN…could serve no other, but to infuriate tensions….there is no other purpose it could serve there…One must remember Foundation School is not the university or BBC for that matter, and I do believe many of BU contributors may have failed to grasp this.
Aside: One wonders why CBC choose to omit the inflammatory statement…given that they flashed a segment of Mac’s address, the morning affa….did they also see Mac’s grope as unsuitable and sought to remedy?
Belle Holder (ole Lodgerian) do grace us with your call..
My question is. Was Mac telling the truth or was it a lie?
If it was the truth, why are so many having trouble accepting it?
The Observer
Since you seek to be frank…NO…..not all children of color grandparents were RAPED!
So do we go about telling the truth any time….Did the business community at the latest BCCI luncheon speak their minds (trute)? Do we always speak out the truth in the confines of any place, anytime ?C’mon now..we are Barbadians here not barbarians.
@Old Onions
We have answered this business of consent in an earlier comment. A slave read in bondage cannot give consent to anything.Don’t be asinine.
corr : So do we go about telling the truth, all the time, in any forum?
Janice Daisley goes to Foundation. She is of color.(mixed)….Her grandmother is from Nova Scotia…..her Grandad…from PIE CORNER, St. Lucy….
Mac has made a disparaging remark about Janice Daisley? Do you agree? What gives Mac that right?…..where is the ASS-In-nine?
@Onions
Mac stated a truth. We can debate whether he should have couched the language but it will be all subjective.
It is BLACK HISTORY MONTH.
What Mac Fingall said was appropriate. Now the little red children will be questioning their parents and teachers and hopefully they will learn some truths.
I was an inqusitive little shit by the time I was 11 years old I was already aware of what Mac said.
I was aware of the subtle racism and shadism in Barbados and yes it was sometimes an advantage to be red in Barbados (and in Canada).
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/nova-scotia/polite-racism-inequality-still-linger-in-n-s-say-minority-groups-1.2831606
http://www.dal.ca/news/2014/11/21/-killing-us-softly—wanda-thomas-bernard-on-racism-in-nova-scot.html
Now if I went to a seminar or luncheon for beauticians …..and affa our invited guest speaker finished dispensing shouted out……”Cahblima….You is D ugliest wuman in hay”…..Would that be acceptable or prudent or appropiate.?..Yet I may have spoken the TRUTH…..
Truth my friend is not the issue here.