Submitted by Bush Tea

What the hell!

Bushie turned on the TV by accident this [yesterday] morning only to see Jeff Broomes and two of his students – the head girl and deputy head girl – on the DLP TV talking about a peer program at Parkinson School on Mornin’ Barbados.
Some Shiite gotta be wrong with Broomes. In this age of total and complete shiites in eddy kashun in Barbados this man keeps coming up with impressive ideas, selfless developmental concepts, and high quality initiatives that goes completely against the grain…. He gotta be looking for enemies…

The man turns up with two TOTALLY impressive young ladies on the TV, IMMACULATELY dressed, looking confident and relaxed, and totally on board with his leadership. Shiite man Jeff…. Wuh you think you at HC or wuh?

Then they go on to outline a program that is clearly designed to build camaraderie among students, teachers and parents, to address bullying, to improve academic results,  to improve the school’s image….and this program cost almost nothing.

This is madness!

Why does Broomes not get with the program, take a leaf from Sir Cave Hilary’s book and ask for about $60 M to be invested by government for some esoteric program involving new buildings in Bridgetown, hiring a dozen PhDs, and begging COW and SAGICOR for land?

Why does he not shut down the damn school and go on strike like the other teachers who want to get promoted to Chief Education Officer?  ….or send home all the children until their parents teach them some manners and how to dress properly…?

Clearly Broomes is out of step with education in Barbados. No wonder Froon appointed a Commission to move his ass from Alexandria, and no wonder some want him out of Parkinson…he is clearly a problem.

Those two girls ARE impressive however….shiite man, they gave Bushie goose pimples… Pity that they are Bajans and so destined to grow up to be brass bowls …once authorities finally succeed in saving them from Broome’s dangerous clutches…

136 responses to “Jeff Broomes is a Glutton for Punishment”

1. Bush tea u need to “get over” this fanatical and surreal enthusiasm for Jeff,
    For years Jeff allowed his best abilities to be overshadowed by controversies and machoism behaviour and obviously it continues to haunt him and which will for a long time,
    his best approach would be to exit gracefully instead of building a legacy shrouded in doubts and confusion around his name,

2. @ David
    Why can’t you just give Jack his jacket?
    Good leader shiite… THERE ARE NO GOOD LEADERS ANYWHERE RIGHT NOW…

So If Bushie says that Old Onions is a good fisherman …are you going to counter by pointing out that the Sea Cat Woman does mek laughing sport at his three inches?
    ..just accept that the man is a good fisherman nuh….

Shiite man…..
    Our Prime Minister is a lousy leader
    Our Opposition Leader is no damn leader
    Is the CJ a leader in justice?
    Is the police force enjoying good leadership – with promotions on hold for two years?
    Is tourism enjoying good leadership?
    Agriculture?
    UWI?
    ……where is this good leadership?

At least Broomes is an excellent teacher and at least he DOES what he can to make lives better for his students….

Shiite man….it is like when Jesus healed the sick, fed the hungry, make wine from water…
    …and the brass bowls turned around and crucified him because he did not save their sorry asses from the Romans….

…and had he saved them from the Romans they would probably have crucified him up-sided down …for not giving everyone an ipad or iphone..

3. Arterexes
    don’t worry bro, this article is nothing more than tying up loose ends, sorry bro you are late for the party ,however you can always check the nation archives to present the Truth and Facts surrounding jeff broomes ,ac will save a seat for you at the table while awaiting your return

4. @Bushie

There is some merit that Jeff’s track record shows some achievement as a teacher.

5. Bushie may not have made mention of Mr. Broomes as a leader but the fact remains that his position as principal makes him a designated leader of his staff. He needs to spend some time polishing his “brass bowls” and at least some of them will reflect his light.

6. donna did you follow the alexander fiasco, do you know how much money jeff broomes cost the taxpayers in having his a,ss removed, now you talking about him being a designated leader of his staff well if memory serves me correct, the staff with which jeff is best recognized and associated describes broomes leadership skill as “one of going to hell and back”,
    BTW if you have a few seconds the Gopher Artaxerxes was on this way to the nation archives digging up all the ghoulish details surrounding the alexander fiasco and broomes the details makes for pretty interesting read, you would not be disappointed ,stay tuned

7. Bushie,

I read your post again. Are you deliberately misunderstanding me? I did not say he should compromise and shine his light downwards. I said he should spend some time enlightening his subordinates or polishing his “brass bowls”. With a little polishing some of them will reflect the light. I know you have read the epistles of Paul. Note how he highlights all the churches’ good qualities before mentioning their shortcomings Maybe Mr. Broomes should put some polish on the brass bowls before he starts to rub them the wrong way. Even brass bowls have their uses. There is also a part of the Bible which speaks of the Church as the Body of Christ and the interdependence of the organs. What would happen to a body without the donkey hole? You wouldn’t have one shiite to talk about!

8. ac,

Are you trying to misunderstand me as well? I have repeatedly stated that Mr. Broomes management style is not the best and needs adjusting. He must do this or anything else he does will come to naught. It is not always what you say but how you say it. The abrasive approach doesn’t work very well in today’s Barbados as everybody prides himself in being more ‘igrunt’ than the next person. Hence the chaos that follows Mr. Broomes.

9. @Donna
    If you weren’t Donna I would swear you were observing.
    Ya batting like Sobers on an easy wicket.

I endorse EVERYTHING you’ve said here so far about leadership.

@Bushie
    What do you mean there are no good leaders? Haven’t you seen me in action back in the day and just the other day? Good thing my ego was stolen from me many moons ago or I would feel bad. Hahaha

Give it a rest.

Just Observing

10. Dear Bush Tea:

Ary you and Jeff Broomes one and the same?

11. @ observing wherever you were go back .ac makes ac.s own decisions not necessarily for you to step on or over ac. ta ta

Donna February 4, 2015 at 7:23 PM #

Bushie may not have made mention of Mr. Broomes as a leader but the fact remains that his position as principal makes him a designated leader of his staff. He needs to spend some time polishing his “brass bowls” and at least some of them will reflect his light.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

so what are you saying ,either he broomes is a designated leader or he is not . your above comment states

that his position as principal makes him a designated leader of his staff. He needs to spend some time polishing his “brass bowls” and at least some of them will reflect his light.

12. ac,

Have you switched personalities again? I’ve lost our connection.

13. Observing,

Observing people is my hobby. Thanks for your kind words. Like Sobers? I’m not that good with the bat but I sure can handle a bushwacker.

14. 15 best beach getaways for 2015: Barbados
    http://www.msn.com/en-us/travel/article/15-best-beach-getaways-for-2015/ss-AA8GmoF?ocid=mailsignoutmd#image=1
    Barbados
    Two new, non-stop Delta flights, from JFK and Hartsfield-Jackson International in Atlanta, allow easier access to this island paradise. The hard part is choosing among Barbados’s 60 beaches—all of them public. Whether you opt for the calm waters of the west coast, aka the Platinum Coast, or the surfable waves of the east coast, it’s hard to go wrong. And when weary of the rays, there’s plenty else to do, from wreck and reef diving to touring rum plantations to spelunking through Harrison’s Cave.

Insider Tip: Sandals just unveiled its revamped property in St. Lawrence, with 11 gourmet restaurants, the longest lagoon pool in Barbados, an expanded spa, and complete refurbishment of its 280 rooms.

15. That’s bushwhacker!

16. donna what you might be intending to say in reference to broomes as a “designated leader is not coming across with clarity

from what i gathered you attempting to make a point that broomes as a principal positions him to become a leader

to which my reply was in disagreement.in part that his record and management style over the years has shown his inability to interact with his staff in a pristine and cordial manner but choose or prefers the overuse of dominance which automatically disqualifies him for such a higher calling.
    however could be that of a characteristic flaw not intentionally of his own doing but one however that restrains and constricts his movement within those perimeters of wanting to make change (but) making him vulnerable and wide open and the victim of his own undoing,

17. @ Donna
    There is also a part of the Bible which speaks of the Church as the Body of Christ and the interdependence of the organs. What would happen to a body without the donkey hole? You wouldn’t have one shiite to talk about!
    LOL ha ha ha …Ohhhh shiirt!! …dat SWEET den…
    Girl if you was 50 years older Bushie would ask yuh a question….

Don’t mind Observing…he is just boosting you up with the lotta Sobers talk..he is also setting you up ….
    …which bushwhacker um is you think you can handle bozie…?
    you better have a word with Islandgal yuh….you don’t sound like you could “handle” a 2X4 cross yuh head….

Serious though, …don’t get carried away with this ‘bringing along’ role of leaders. You may be mixing up “leaders” with parents.
    Parents “polish” or “bring along” children…children are excused for being silly, ignorant, careless, unfocused and for generally playing the ass.

ADULTS ARE NOT.

Children need and deserve guidance and help and second chances.

ADULTS SHOULDN’T

So if you are suggesting that school principals OWE it to ADULT TEACHERS to “bring them along”, be patient with them, and hold their hands then we must have the wrong people teaching.

Leaders of ADULTS are not there to wipe noses and change diapers, but to achieve results and improve quality.
    Seems that our problem is that we have “children” trying to do grown-up work as teachers….

18. Bushie, you are hands down one of the best wordsmith I have read.

I know I am absolutely not in your league of crafting words and commentary but I am so intrigued by your comments that here I go again.

There was nothing wrong with your grammar. It was crystal clear that it was
    the two students who were “totally on board with his leadership”. BUT that is exactly the point. It’s about HIS LEADERSHIP

Your piece spoke to how these pupils had embraced his leadership and were “TOTALLY impressive, looking confident and relaxed”.

Donna then pointed out with clarity and displaying an absolute understanding of leadership that Broomes needed to better refine his skills and spend “some time enlightening his subordinates”.

In short, that great leadership that inspired the pupils is also needed to inspire the staff.

For you to retort therefore “Where did Bushie say that Broomes was a great leader?” is amusing

But as I said before, all good.

You made your point. Jeff is an outstanding teacher/leader of children and young adults and Donna was correct with hers that he is absolutely a poor leader of adult men and women.

All good. The BU family, like me, I am sure remain absolutely impressed with your craftmanship despite this little gymnastic routine.

This happens all the time …take this one for example:

US Senator and Presidential candidate Rand Paul said on Monday that he has “heard of many tragic cases of walking, talking normal children who wound up with profound mental disorders after vaccines,”. He said that he wasn’t arguing that vaccines are a “bad idea” but that parents should have some input. He said clearly, “parents own the children and it is an issue of freedom

The very next day, he said this: “I did not say vaccines caused disorders, just that they were temporally related — I did not allege causation. I support vaccines, I receive them myself and I had all of my children vaccinated.”

Verbal gymnastics.

This is a skill all married men know well so having to employ it on the political campaign trail or here on BU is par for the course.

All good.

19. …But Dee Word
    why do you INSIST on being wrong again…?

If Bushie said that “The two students were totally on board with Broomes’ leadership”….

How did you transmogrify THAT to be saying that Bushie was praising Broomes’ leadership? LOL …wuh the Bushman merely REPORTED what the girls indicated.

While you are at it….
    Exactly what word crafting skills did you have to employ as a married man…. and why? 🙂

20. @ Bushie

You have chosen this day to engage in mortal combat. Are you preparing, in training, for the battle of all battles? LOL

21. @ Pacha
    Are you preparing, in training, for the battle of all battles?

Have been for some time now….
    Surely ….you are too…??!

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I can remember when the pass mark 50 was dropped to forty at my son’s school just to allow IDJITS to PASS.

What is at the core of the Jeff Broome issue is that, over the course of the years, the society’s “pass mark” has continued to drop until, @ today, we have a veritable population of IDJITS and non performers who, like cockroaches, are so numerous that they have become the standard.

Any aberration like the figurative insertion of one grasshopper stands out like a sore thumb.

Broome is fighting a lost battle for mediocrity is the norm and anyone who tried to shine is singled out for destruction.

Which brings me to Intro viral fertilisation or what a few call the genesis of designer babies.

Technically this is to eradicate certain genetic diseases (currently mitochondrial abnormalities) but potentially, given possible future practices and restrictions, may become only available to the rich and privileged.

The digital divide gone social.

Just a passing issue that caught de ole man’s eye

http://static.oprah.com/images/o2/201412/LA-literacy-test.pdf

“The 1963 Louisiana literacy test is typical of the tests used throughout the South before passage of the Voting Rights Act to deny Blacks — and other non-whites — the right to vote. While state law mandated that the test be given to everyone who could not verify that they had at least a 5th-grade education, in real life almost all Blacks were forced to to take it even if they had a college degree while whites were often excused from taking it no matter how little education they had.”

With our vaunted 98% literacy, how many of you would put your head on the block that 10% of our population could pass this test??

Excellence is expected at the white man’s schools that they recently set up here in Bulbados with its entrance rules but let a black man do the unthinkable and demand higher standards of our pickneys and immediately he is a dictator.

23. @Miller etc.
    Kyle Onstott and Lance Horner would have been proud of Mr. “Drum” McFingall for his forthright honesty.
    +++++++
    I read the same books as you did, hope that they don’t occupy any space in your library; curious word that “miscegenation”, I know you are a man of many words but did you ever think about the origin? If it was consensual union between a black and an Asian would you apply that term? Forced unions between the conquered and the vanquished have been going on for millennia and West African women are among the victims, in recent times check out what the Japanese did to the Korean “comfort women” during WW11 or what the Bosnian Serbs did to the women of different ethnic origin during the 1990’s.

@Hamilton Hill
    Your teacher providing information during classroom discussion is acceptable, but to discuss “clear skin’ and “good hair” as the consequence of rape as quoted in Barbados Today in the context of African History month shows a lack of preparedness, someone is “winging” it and didn’t have anything substantial to deliver and fell back on old bromides. He had a captive audience and if they are like some of us they want to gain new knowledge, they want to walk away and stimulated with newly discovered facts and wisdom. What is this fascination about skin and hair anyway? No wonder the Headmistress of HC is confused, its always one step forward and three steps back.

BTW did I hear that Mac walked out of the church when the priest spoke about wise men building their house on a rock at Carew’s funeral? If I was at Foundation I would have walked out on Mac’s speech.

@Bush Tea
    I understand that you are the resident BU sage, but this seemed to escape your wise countenance. There are “do-gooders” and “good doers”, you can always tell the former because they are always eager to remind you of the things they have done for people, there are always fawning stories about them in the Press about some project or innovation that has caught their fancy, they are the ultimate self-promoters. The “good doers” go about their work quietly; they volunteer their assistance and are embarrassed if you compliment them on any success or achievement and will respond with “I just did what anybody would do”, they “hide their lamp under a bushel”.

Guess which camp your idol is in?

24. Your analysis is too Simplistic Sargeant.

In certain areas, “good doers” NEED to hold their light up and to engage good PR.
    If you worked in education, the church or government or with children generally you would understand the need for “collective inspiration”, and the role of using the press to such an end.

It means using the media to educate, to motivate and to challenge. (it is why Bajans call on Froon to say something…)

Your concept of hiding one’s light under a bushel is only applicable with alms-giving, not to community development initiatives.

Broomes and Fingall bother people like you because wunna cannot understand the special talents that they possess in getting through to children.
    Ask one of Fingall’s students about his influence…

This is a special and valuable talent …probably why Jesus said to let the little children come to him, because it is such minded persons (open and inquiring) that will make it to the right side of this project called life on Earth.

25. ADULTS ARE NOT.

Children need and deserve guidance and help and second chances.

ADULTS SHOULDN’T

So if you are suggesting that school principals OWE it to ADULT TEACHERS to “bring them along”, be patient with them, and hold their hands then we must have the wrong people teaching.

@Bushie

What are you saying – by attaining adulthood there is the assumption guidance is not required? Isn’t guidance defined in the context of the disciple, this case teaching.

26. Sarge

I agree with you….Mc. Fingall was most insensitive in uttering those words in a school hall infront of diversed color-ations. Besides being the commensarate Jack ass as MC….and Dodds…he now seeks to brainwash our innocent children…..MAC.looka hay Jack, set back !

27. …fix WordPress do..: commensurate

28. On another point about education I see that Mac Fingall managed to insult thousands of Bajans and other Black people throughout the world by saying that their “clear skin” is a result of their great grandmothers being raped. I used to have a lot of respect for Fingall but recently I have come to the conclusion that the man is a phucking dolt. Shame on Foundation School for not having the smarts to invite someone with a bit more intelligence and historical information about African people to speak at the launch of their “African History month”

Sad indeed what CBC TV did tis morning on Morning Barbados…..A TRAVESITY….

Even Mac recent holder of Service Star….cud get CBC to convenient EDIT-OUT his jack-ass-ery….Belle Holder and Doug Hoyte….you have become accomplice.

I call on Mac to COME CLEAN and admit the folly…..apologise to the children of Fruendel school….. U either man or mouse !

29. Agn corr; Travesty……………Conveniently

30. Looka here Mac…..
    You mischievous quack.
    How dare U utter such slack…
    Without Fruendel’s tact…..
    And CBC quix to edit the smack…
    To avoid the incomin flack?

We waiting Jack…..

31. Bushie,

If I were fifty years older I’d be a “ghostwriter”. Don’t mistake my youthful naivety for chronological age. However, my reflexes were and are much sharper than the average and though I was no Sobers with the bat I made a very good wicketkeeper. Soooo …. how fast are you with that 2×4?

Now, we are dealing with reality here. The donkey holes are outnumbering us. They are everywhere. In fact, a good day for me is being home alone and, for the most part, out of the donkey holes’ range. But eventually I have to come out of the cocoon and deal with the donkey holes so I say that we have to learn how to reduce, reuse or recycle the abundance of waste escaping from these donkey holes or be buried under a load of shiite.

Are you prepared to give up the fight?

32. @ David February 5, 2015 at 12:49 AM…”What are you saying – by attaining adulthood there is the assumption guidance is not required? Isn’t guidance defined in the context of the disciple, this case teaching.”———————

David, what Bushie is saying is simply what Bushie is saying. That is, Bushie has to make his point and will not budge regardless of the sandy ground on which he stands.

This argument has an all the excellent looking parameters of logical reasoning and sense, but I believe that people smarter than me call it a fallacy.

I believe that it’s acceptable thought that many adults enter professions trained in their craft but still often lacking some components to become stellar performers in that trade. Their leaders help them harness their training by guiding them, shaping them, refining their training and LEADING them to greater success.

This happens daily in the military, corporate ranks, at NASA, universities, hospitals, surgery theaters etc etc. Bright, very intelligent people accept guidance and actually enhance their knowledge and skills from leaders to achieve a greater good or simply personal good.

It is also acceptable thought that not all people fall into that category and don’t play well in that environment. Some go on their own and do exceedingly well.

Bushie’s fallacy says that is all brass-bowlery and leaders are there only ” to achieve results and improve quality”.

David, it’s as hard to argue against a fallacy as it is to argue against a fact.

BTW, one little fact that requires a much greater emphasis that Bushie’s fallacious leadership ethos: It is reported that there are 22 suicides by US military personnel PER DAY.

Now this is a very difficult matter and I am not trivializing it here but the point is that for Bushie to espouse that type of simplistic concept of leadership does a grave injustice across many levels.

33. ac,

I am saying that by choosing him as principal the Ministry of Education has thrust him into a leadership role. He has unfortunately been unable to fulfill the requirements of that role. There are ways to handle people who cannot yet see our vision. It’s called expanding their horizons. If Mr. Broomes would slow down and take the time to deal with his staff less abrasively it would eventually save him some time in the long run. He can spend his time putting out fires and fighting wars or he can slow down and spend some time building a team that will do some of the work for him. I refuse to accept that that cannot be done by the right person.

34. IN DEFENSE OF BROTHER BUSH TEA

Not that Bush Tea needs anyone to defend him but….

Sometimes the hope, and theory, of imparting relevant instruction to mentees come into stark reality that, irrespective of the interpersonal skills of the mentor, “the harvest is plentiful but the workers are few”

As Donna said earlier, one is simply outnumbered by the donkey holes

How old are you Dee Word?

I will conjecture and then make a statement.

To be as old as Mr. Jeff Broomes and to still be in the trenches fighting while teaching, especially in these times, with student, teachers and the inept ministry of Eddy Kashun, is the most commendable thing that any citizen of Bulbados could do.

Broomes is not Jesus Christ, devoid of all sin, he is human ergo his idiosyncrasies and seeming dictatorship which has developed over time as a defence mechanism against his innumerable detractors

The real issue is that our system lacks ever “shadows of Broome” and wherever men with balls stand up, the personification of mediocrity, embodied in the Redmans of this world, MUST MANIFEST AND CONTEND FOR SUPREMACY

And always it shall be until this cycle ends…

35. Steupsss
    One would think that DeeWord would learn from his mistaken urge to somehow show the bushman to be talking shiite…
    …and that David would know better than to join him in that hopeless quest … 🙂

Look people, when you are a child, you ACT like a child, think like a child and expect to be treated like a child.
    When you become a grown-up you PUT AWAY CHILDISH THINGS and take up the responsibilities of adulthood.
    This is why parents and an educational system exists. To prepare for that transition.

You are talking shiite about the army DeeWord…..
    The day that a soldier goes on active duty his ass is eligible to be sent to live duty……You REALLY think that the sergeant is there to teach him how to load weapons; how to take cover; how to put on his protective gear…?
    steupsss …. why does Bushie even bother to set you right nuh…?

What are you saying –by attaining adulthood there is the assumption guidance is not required?
    ++++++++++++++++++
    unequivocally…YES!
    THAT is what adulthood means.

The problem we face is that we are not maturing to adulthood……big hard-back men drinking milk and looking for aprons to hold on to…..
    In the case of teachers, this is after gaining a degree from Sir Cave, a diploma from Erdiston and in many cases a Masters to qualify for extra pay….
    …AND then need someone to hold their hands…?

…and you and DeeWord looking to justify that….

tut tut tut!!

Woman you are playing the ass…. Bushie is liking you more and more….
    Plus yuh like you “of age”…. 🙂

CAREFUL. …You could be in serious danger from a jealous rebel called Islandgal …who carries a 2X4 and who has been known to use it….

If you continue in this vein and force the bushman to declare his position it could have cataclysmic repercussions in BUland yuh…..

36. @Bush Tea

Then if as a society many are not achieving adulthood and therefore need guidance how will those you define as leaders be able to execute? Leaders by definition need to get the others onside.

37. THAT is exactly why Bushie has spent so much time cussing Sir Cave, our eddy kashun system, parents, and ALL the agencies responsible for producing ADULTS.

The challenge demonstrated by Broomes is that even where we find a few visionaries to lead into new initiatives, unless we have OTHER supporting ADULT talents and strengths, we will get NOWHERE.

Imagine if in addition to Broomes’ vision and natural children’s touch, we also had a few teachers who were excellent administrators, a few really talented with building things, one or two good at team-building, communications, PR, etc….. THEN we would have a chance….

Donna’s suggestion that “since Broomes is a good teacher he owes it to us to ALSO be a good leader” is misguided.
    we should be grateful for the fact that he has that talent….far less demand more…

WE NEED A GENERALLY WELL PREPARED SOCIETY OF ADULTS WITH VARIOUS SKILLS AND TALENTS.

It is our sick mendicant attitude that expects some single superhuman to come with all the needed skills to save our asses….or some white man with nuff money…

Even Jesus will not take that route……

38. @ David [BU]

“Train up a child in the way that he should go And when he is old he shall not depart from it”

Broomes has appended this immortal adage from its Immutable Source with another more pragmatic strategy.

He has accepted that there may be a segment of those “who though needful of instruction, like that generation of stiff necked Israelites, are lost permanently and therefore, with the remaining effort in his sinews, he has left them to their wiles, while indoctrinating the willing generation that will come into the “promised land”

It is to be noted that mr. Broomes has not left out all of the (2nd tier of) teachers/these “leaders” that everyone is suggesting he should be nurturing, he has just applied his efforts more strategically.

It should become evident now that his success is measured by the cadre of students being produced, which, incredible as it might seem to many, is truly the litmus test of good teaching while that of Erdiston Training College is that of good teachers.

Do not shift the blame of poor educators to the principal of the school, that is not his function

39. BUSHTEA
    RE WE NEED A GENERALLY WELL PREPARED SOCIETY OF ADULTS WITH VARIOUS SKILLS AND TALENTS.

WE DONT APPRECIATE SUCH TEAM BUILDING IN BIM
    WE PAY LIP SERVICE ONLY
    IN 93 I WORKED FOR A SHORT TIME AT A CERTAIN POLYCLINIC
    THE REGISTRATION CLERK WAS STERN AND COMPETENT AND HAD ALL THE NOTES OUT A DAY BEFORE
    THE VAN DRIVER PARKED HIS CAR AT DISTRICT A EARLY IN THE MORNING AND ON HIS WAY UP TO THE CLINIC PICKED UP MANY OF THE STAFF

WHEN I ARRIVED AT 8.30 I COULD START WORKING IMMEDIATELY AND WORK STEADILY UNTIL ONE UNINTERUPTED
    WE WERE FREE IN THE AFTERNOON TO SEE ANY WALK INS

INSTEAD OF REPEATING THIS DEGREE OF ORGANISATION ELSEWHERE, THE TEAM WAS DISRUPTED

AT ANOTHER CLINIC I WORKED WITH A JAMAICAN LADY WHO CAME ON TIME AND WORKED STEADILY UNTIL ONE METICULOUSLY LOOKING AFTER THE ELDERLY

THIS ALLOWED ME TO “CLEAN UP THE REST”

THIS EFFICIENT TEAMWORK WAS REWARDED BY SENDING US BOTH TO DIFFERENT CLINICS

DOUBTLESS BROOMES HAS FAULTS AS NONE OF US IS PERFECT
    HOWEVER, IN BIM WE DWELL ON FOLKS FAULTS ESPECIALLY IF THEIR STRENGTHS SUPERCEDE THAT OF ALL AROUND

HERE LYING ONE OF THE PLANKS OF OUR CONSISTENT FAILURES

40. Bushie,

Nothing more relaxing than playing the ass. Much better than being the ass. I enjoy your posts as much as I do a Richard Hoad column and totally get where you’re coming from, but you can tell Islandgal to put down the 2×4. Do you have any idea how much time and energy it takes to save an eleven year old boy from the brass bowls these days? I’m already bushed!

I am old enough to think that the situation is hopeless and young enough to convince myself that I am wrong. I will go down still fighting. Despite what you say, I know you will too.

41. @Donna
    “The donkey holes are outnumbering us. ”
    True True True.

btw, don’t spend too much time trying to engage or educate ac.

@Bushie
    I gotta say again. Ya is a BOSS! lmao. You could be my lawyer any day…just that I ain’t giving you any money to put in a account in your name.

This “debate” thrusts us head on into the central, contemporary and critical question.

“what is a good leader?”

Let’s expand that from the school, to the Ministry and even to the national stage.

What criteria do we come up with?
    How many people are currently meeting that criteria?
    How are our systems preparing people to fulfill such a role?
    Do we really need “good leaders”
    Are we society that welcomes and embraces “poor leadership” on the altar of expediency and convenience?
    Do we really get the leader we deserve?

These are the types of questions that will start the real debate and discourse and then, only then, will we know if the point can tip, or if the brass bowls will stagnate.

Just Observing

42. DONNA

RE The donkey holes are outnumbering us. They are everywhere. In fact, a good day for me is being home alone and, for the most part, out of the donkey holes’ range.

IT IS TRUTH YOU AH TELL THERE

But eventually I have to come out of the cocoon and deal with the donkey holes so I say that we have to learn how to reduce, reuse or recycle the abundance of waste escaping from these donkey holes or be buried under a load of shiite.

THE ABOVE IS NIGH IMPOSSIBLE YOU CANT reduce, reuse or recycle THEM CAUSE THEY THINK THEY SMARTER THAN EVA BODY ELSE

AND YOU CANT SEND THEM TO AN APPROPRIATE DUMP/CEMETRY BECAUSE OF THE LAW

IT AINT EASY TO BE “BRIGHT”

43. Bushie I have long ago accepted completely that it’s impossible “to somehow show the bushman to be talking shiite…” as it is indeed a “… hopeless quest”

Your own remarks do the perfect job of showing the reasonableness or illogical of your point.

I expressed that a basic tenant of leadership “happens daily in the military… surgery theaters etc etc… intelligent people accept guidance and actually enhance their knowledge and skills from leaders to achieve a greater good or simply personal good.” Which followed the comment, “many adults enter professions trained in their craft”.

In your esteemed wisdom you responded: “You are talking shiite about the army …The day that a soldier goes on active duty his ass is eligible to be sent to live duty……You REALLY think that the sergeant is there to teach him how to load weapons; how to take cover; how to put on his protective gear.”

Really, Bushie. That is as far from what I said as east is from west. It’s Bushsie’s point though so let’s all move to there and discard what’s really on point.

You dissemble and create another fallacy so we get side tracked with a non-point.

You are the boss sir. As you said it’s a ‘hopeless quest’ to talk sense to your Bushiesense.

BTW, I don’t think anyone is asking for “a superhuman ….to save our asses”.

Who put Broomes where he is?…his ambition I suspect. And his belief (evidenced by his career) that he had something to offer to enhance those around him; that visionary perspective of which you anointed him in the lead-off article.

In every step along the way he has accepted (and sought) a role to lead others: in his profession, in cricket and other places.

How can you now advocate this irrational position about his abilities as a teacher/leader.

Didn’t his visionary abilities allow him to see and understand that the brass bowls would always be there and he had to find an effective way to keep on moving forward with them? Why dd he have such great success with the kids but couldn’t find a path-way to success with a greater cadre of his adult peers?

It’s clear that some of the teachers are recalcitrant about doing things differently but Lord almighty who anointed Broomes as the visionary ‘par excelent’ other than you.

Haven’t other principals (here and otherwise) been great teachers and managed schools to collectively get good or solid results from their staff and pupils?

I think you and Pacha share the perspective that all the leadership modules are a waste of time.

In Pacha’s case he clearly states his disillusionment; you however, make sweet sounding pronouncement that fly in the face of all reasonable sense. It would be better to do like Pacha, really.

You should have been a lawyer (or are you). You are supremely better than Ross’s with your verbal gymnastics.

And let’s be clear you are NOT WRONG. Bushie-sense never is!

44. @ Observing February 5, 2015 at 10:20 AM @Bushie…I gotta say again. Ya is a BOSS! lmao. You could be my lawyer any day…just that I ain’t giving you any money to put in a account in your name.—————–

OMG, Saw your post after I submitted.

Couldn’t agree with you more. The man is supreme. I once compared him to the best word/PR practitioners of the past. I think I did the man an injustice.

He is absolutely good; supremely so.

I would have him on my team. leading my team, whatever it took; 7 days a week and two sermons on Sundays.

If his craftsmanship here is a clear indication of his talents he could make presentations before the US Supreme Court or before any ‘star chamber’ where life and death is paramount and be expected to be victorious.

Bushie, you are saluted by your BU peers, sir.

45. Georgie Porgie,

Nigh impossible is not impossible. It means that there is still hope. Let’s keep trying!

Bushie,

Jeff Broomes took the job as principal. That means he is the leader of his teaching staff. if he did not want that position or does not want that position he should have remained or should return to his comfort zone in the rank and file. He was excellent there.

However, if he could get a good deputy who could relate to his teachers as well as see his vision then we might be cooking with gas.

I am not knocking Jeff Broomes here. I believe he is a good man. There are, as someone mentioned, others quietly doing their jobs but he is controversial so the media have made him the poster boy. I agree that there is nothing wrong with publicity in this case as it forces us to examine issues. It also allows those of like minds to know who to contact if they wish to make a contribution. Lastly it encourages those of us who thought that all was lost and that nothing could ever be done.

Observing,

All is not lost with ac. Trust me.

46. dee world

re I expressed that a basic tenant of leadership “happens daily in the military… surgery theaters etc etc… intelligent people accept guidance and actually enhance their knowledge and skills from leaders to achieve a greater good or simply personal good.” Which followed the comment, “many adults enter professions trained in their craft”.

In your esteemed wisdom you responded: “You are talking shiite about the army …The day that a soldier goes on active duty his ass is eligible to be sent to live duty……You REALLY think that the sergeant is there to teach him how to load weapons; how to take cover; how to put on his protective gear.”

Really, Bushie. That is as far from what I said as east is from west. It’s Bushsie’s point though so let’s all move to there and discard what’s really on point.

You dissemble and create another fallacy so we get side tracked with a non-point.

HE DOES THIS SHITE ALL THE TIME……….BUT HE DOES NOT GET PASS ME WITH THAT PLOY
    I EITHER ANSWER HIM ACCORDINGLY OR GO WATCH CRICKET OR TENNIS

SOME OF US THINK WE MUST WIN EVERY ARGUEMENT EVEN IF WE TALKING SHITE AND NOT DEALING WITH FACTS

47. quote of the day

bushie you are saluted by your peers

just observing. Lol

Btw i read where obama forgot to salute the marine when obama exit AirForce1 could it have been the possibilty it was the bushman standing guard

just observing

48. @ DeeWord
    Bushie gave up trying to understand what you are saying at 11:12am…
    That is the most convoluted roll that Bushie has seen since AC tried to duck from a series of bouncers hurled down the wicket by a blogger called Sunny Sunshine Shine (or something like that..)

When a surgeon takes up a position – he had BETTER know his job and not be awaiting guidance from some head surgeon or other….

When a soldier passes out from being a recruit he should be READY to soldier

When a teacher joins a staff, he should be ready to take on the teaching role AND to bring some added strength and talents on board for the overall team…not needing his pampers changed..

…but you DO make sense on cricket….

shiite man… ya mean you ain’t get over that business of why Jesus spoke in parables yet? 🙂
    …or was it the bushman’s dramatic, devastating, and detailed demolition of your doctrine of the Trinity…??….ha ha ha

Whatever the offending issue, DeeWord is not able to assist you in getting back at Bushie… Donna offers a better chance LOL

49. RE When a surgeon takes up a position – he had BETTER know his job and not be awaiting guidance from some head surgeon or other….

not really true bushie
    any doctor in theatre is ipse facto a surgeon
    he had better listen to advice if he is a junior

many theatre orderlies at qeh used to tell juniors how to set fractures and complain to the boss if the youngster did not listen

but how will a junior learn his surgery unless instructed by a head surgeon ?

again BT you talking wid apparent authority bout stuff you knows nuttin bout LOL

50. McFingall wore a European designer suit to African Awareness Day at Foundation Secondary School. How ironic!

Broomes is not a good leader. He is a good politician, better than the set in the government. He has connections with people in high places. Photo-ops and taking the limelight are not impressive acts. I doubt half of what he says is properly implemented or actually leads to positive results.

David Browne, principal of QC, hardly comes on television and notice the success of QC in every sphere ranging from academics to sporting to technical. QC is quickly becoming the most preferred school while HC takes second spot. Combermere has been relegated to 4th place being overtaken by St Michael School.

Dont be fooled by these photo-ops.