The recent ‘in-artful’ remarks by the British actor, Benedict Cumberbatch, are creating somewhat of a storm in a teacup. Cumberbatch, a popular Barbadian name, referred to African-Americans as ‘colored’.

There are a number of interesting sides to this story. We need to consider the extent to which Cumberbatch has been forthcoming relative to the other descendants, on all sides. For instance, the extent to which those who would presume to represent us, while at the same time accepting knighthoods, for example. In other words, we may prefer to deal with a Benedict (Arnold), who let slip, than a Beckles who gleefully accepts a trinket of the very enslavement of African peoples.

Few will know that this actor of some repute, Benedict Cumberbatch, is a direct descendant of one the the largest slave owning families in Barbados and the Caribbean. A slave ownership which has amassed tremendous inter-generational wealth for the Cumberbatch family and its descendants. Indeed, the Cumberbatch family is not alone. The present British prime minister also owes his family’s odious wealth to its involvement in the African Slave Trade. We say African Slave Trade for the Atlantic never enslaved nobody! It has been our friend from times before White even existed.

But there is a substantial difference between these two White men.

Whereas Cumberbatch openly admits the criminal activities of his ancestors and to some degree seems to support the emerging reparations discourse, Cameron will have none of it. And flies into the face of certain realities. Cumberbatch has stated clearly that his whole life has been financed, made possible, by his family’s odious accumulations from African enslavement. That all his high priced schools were paid for from those earnings. That his life would be impossible without such accumulations. And for speaking this truth we must give him some credit.

Prime Minister Cameron, on the other hand, is insistent, that the Dark truism about his family’s wealth should remain unrecognized. Is not to be spoken of. Certainly, for a protector of law Cameron must also qualify for having a particular genetic disposition.

Cameron is not alone. The Mountbatten-Windsor, Elizabeth, the second, the present Queen of Barbados, also has deep family roots in the slave economy. These were seen when at the ‘independence’ of Barbados, this British monarch could visit a plantation in Barbados which, at that time, had been owned by her family for hundreds of years. And stinking EWB would think this to be a fit and proper person to tell us when we were to be independent, or not!

But these are only the top of a criminal iceberg of official corruption in the cash for flesh business. A number of the major banks in the United Kingdom and more generally, the largest banks in the world, have had their genesis in the slave economy. Or other illegal, extremely unpleasant, repulsive activities. In the UK, we can cite Standard Chartered (SC), one of the two or three largest banks in the world. Standard Chartered continues hiding its tainted money by sponsoring all types of sporting activities. Barclay’s Bank, which dominated commerce in much of the world for centuries. Lloyd’s Bank, which dominated transactions in the movement of African slaves, as three of the biggest offenders. But the whole global system stands indicted, still. Of course, we could continue to enumerate many more in the UK and continental Europe, as well. In the USA there is overwhelming evidence (proof) of tainted wealth from the enslavement of Africans, is no less visible.

In fact, the evidence of this first globalizing effort is quite visible in all facets of modern life. And most people, unlike Benedict Cumberbatch, refuse to recognize the wickedness of their ancestors. A wickedness that, to this very day, western-industrial-finance-capital continues to rest on. The original sin!

All the ivy league universities in the United States were founded within the salve economy model. Harvard, Brown, Columbia, Princeton and Yale were all started with the profits of slavery. Their first endowments came from slavery.

So when Bajans walk about oh sooo proudly calling themselves Cumberbatch, Beckles, Brathwaite, Skinner, Pile, Clarke and the lot. They must know what these names mean. Where they come from. And how we are to find our way in a world based on these ‘naming’ lies. Based on the genocidal intent of White people.

For it was MLK who taught us that the ultimate aim of racism is genocide! That these illegal names should have been expelled from memory can’t be wrong, be merely a fact of history, for a seriously independent people. A reversal of this genocidal intent, which continues today under other guises. We are slaves, still! Operating within a slave economy model and Benedict Cumberbatch is living proof of such.

105 responses to “Benedict Cumberbatch and the Slave Economy Model – Still”

1. MLK hmmm …. King is that African

2. We are slaves, still! Operating within a slave economy model

+++

We sure are however I don’t believe most people see it that way. It’s a not so hidden system, if you care enough to see it.

When I am in Bim I always go looking for books. My father recently bought me a Hilary Beckles book. However, since I found out he was knighted by the Queen…I know which side he is on. You can’t be for the people and the Monarchy, of any European country, or elite at the same time.

As for the actor, Cumberbatch…well…I would not give him a pass just because he admitted to his family history. These so-called celebrities know journalists will delve in to their past so…perhaps it was a peremptory move.

As for our surnames, I think it’s more important to liberate our minds. We and the white community still live the negative legacy in our minds and therefore in our actions too.

3. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Happy Birthday to political activist, educator, author, and the woman who shook up the U.S. in the 70’s, Angela Davis.

“We have to talk about liberating minds, as well as liberating society.” – Angela Davis

Still I Rise
    http://youtu.be/ff8uYB-eZBs

4. …A wickedness that, to this very day, western-industrial-finance-capital continues to rest on. The original sin!————–

We do need to debate the original sin and the sinners to ensure that we properly understand our history and the path going forward as the author so clearly defines.

And the western-industrial-finance-capital to which he refers is actively and vigorously doing all within their power to continue to influence and set the political and social agenda.

Consider that there is a Republican political action group in the US that expects to spend close to $889M in the upcoming Presidential elections.

That is just short of ONE BILLION dollars.

Both parties together spent this type of small change in the last election.

One senior operative’s wry remarks re these outlandish figures was: “For that kind of money, you could buy yourself a president. Oh, right. That’s the point.”

Absolutely, that always the point.

5. b>What were those “clipper ships” for again?

There’s a lot of history is those “vague” spots that they don’t talk much about in history class. For example, how did America’s richest families make their vast fortunes in the early-mid 19th century?

Manufacturing? Yeah, some.

But the big money makers were slaves and dope.

Yes, dope.

Contrary to make-believe history, those romantic clipper ships in Boston Harbor weren’t just bringing back tea from China.

They were winging opium from India to China as fast as they could and bringing back silver by the ton.

Skull and Bones of Yale was founded by the kids whose families made their money this way and the new generation – those Bush kids – picked up the thread in the 20th century.

See more at: http://www.brasschecktv.com/videos/hidden-history/a-real-dose-of-real-american-history.html#sthash.FtibpPxu.dpuf

6. Imagine a business that doesn’t pay wages and salaries. That’s what slavery was. The fortunes of Europe and America were built off the backs of Africans and their descendants. That is a fact. They owe us big time! They owe our foreparents wages and salaries and interest and damages for personal injury, pain and suffering. As their offspring we should be the beneficiaries of their estates. And for those who say that that was a long time ago, it’s not even two hundred years. We have many centenarians alive now whose great grandparents could have been slaves. This was just a hundred years before the Jewish holocaust that we are encouraged never to forget. Most are still battling the effects of a playing field that was never levelled. We are running up a steep hill still carrying them on our backs. And now that we have moved from their fields to their offices we return to them the meagre salaries and wages that they pay us by purchasing the trappings of success that we never really attained – brand name gear, appliances, cars, techno gadgets, consumer goods rather than investments all purchased on credit and paying great dividends to the former slave masters through these same banks and financial institutions built on the African Slave Trade These are the trinkets on which we base our worth and with which we stare down each other. Until we “emancipate [ourselves] from mental slavery even reparations will do us no good. We have to examine ourselves and do the hard work so that in the unlikely event that reparations are made we will be in a position to make good use of the opportunity for the common good.

7. @Donna

“Until we “emancipate [ourselves] from mental slavery”

Might I suggest that you follow your own advice?
    Begging for reparations that will NEVER come is degrading. The only ones who will get rich from the reparation lobby are those that are leading it and would hope to administer it.

“As their offspring we should be the beneficiaries of their estates.”

Hoping to profit from your ancestors suffering is greed. Blaming whitey and the long gone slave trade for your own lack of financial and/or social mobility is a convenient excuse used by many when the real reason is their own feckless lifestyle choice.

8. Slavery still exist, it has morphed to financial slavery.

9. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

10. @ Bookworm
    You have to be a visionary to see that perspective that you have outlined…

11. @ Bushie

Sometimes you don’t fail to amaze us.

What is so visionary about finding excuses or justifications for the crimes of White people? We guess the victims must somehow be blamed for the sins of Whites too.

Separately

There are always excuses for White people. Whether it has to do with slavery, the use of nuclear weapons or anything else. There will never be an accounting. Not for the Pinkies!

We again would have to guess that is because they are your chosen people of god! And if an indictment comes against them it would be, to your ilk, a repudiation of god himself. And the White man’s god must be repudiated! He should exist for Black people, if we have sense!

Anytime Black people have to raise these questions some fucking idiot would want to institute a rule which is counter to international law, especially for the Blackest of us.

We don’t hear these scribes telling the Japanese that they should give back the reparations paid to them.

We don’t hear Bushie telling his god’s chosen people to dismantle the Holocaust Industrial Complex which continues to exact billions in reparations.

Only raassoul Blacks could find all these justifications for the destruction of Africa and African people. And wunna telling us wunna save, save from what? Surely not ignorance.

This Bookworm that you think is so prophetic, his name alone should suggest that anybody who waits for dated information in a book will always be at least 2 years out of date. That is the nature of the modern idiot.

12. not exist

13. Bookworm,

I beg for nothing! I demand justice! I ask for no handout for myself, only a leveling of the playing field. This does not mean money handed out to individuals like me but a shift in thinking and behaviour by the powers that be. The imbalance of power is preventing my people from advancing. Sure we could work harder and smarter but it would take forever to change things. The young people of today are impatient. They often lose hope. If you call yourself a bookworm you should have read and understood my post. By the way, all good parents fight and suffer for the advancement of their offspring. I would have absolutely no problem with my offspring benefitting from the pain and suffering I endure. Then my pain and suffering would not have been in vain. I am the least greedy person I know and my definition of social mobility and success is not the popular one. Read and understand Bookworm. Like you eating the books instead of reading them.

14. @ Donna

The kinda justice that it will take to deal with the 500 years of slavery our ancestors endured CANNOT be dispensed in any European court; CANNOT be adjudicated with money or belated apologies; CANNOT be simply acceptable to us brass bowl mendicants currently trying our utmost to be just like those who we are seeking to charge…

THAT level of justice is beyond us all….

Even if the opportunity presented itself, we would be GROSSLY insulting our ancestors by ANY kind of arrangement that would even remotely allow the descendents of the perpetrators of this colossal travesty to claim repentance….

What we need to do is to learn of our heritage and of our birthrights ….and to fulfill the unbelievable potential with which we have been endowed…instead of seeking to mimic the very criminals whom we seek to charge.

If we truly understood our heritage, we would NOT want a single shiite from these people….and we certainly would abandon ANY tendencies to emulate their ways…

….but we are brass bowl rabbits(f) …..so any shiite could play…

15. @ Bushie

We know yuk aint talking to us but this pie in the sky, waiting on the same white man’s god for justice in a bye and bye, is irrational. It is exactly what the slave masters though you. We reject it. It has its limits.

If there is to be a divine judgment let it come after known judgments are rendered here and now.

Everything cannot be predicated on the fiction of a bible. A bible written by the same people you have you fooled about some milk and honey business somewhere else while they enjoy their right here. This is bullshit!

We don’t trust Beckles nor the Caribbean leaders, but why Black people can’t enjoy their just claim now and in your hereafter too?

You talk about 500 years, these systems are in place here today, still.

16. @ Bush Tea, I see where you are coming from even if I do not agree on all points.

17. Can someone explain why the Cubans that have come to florida with nothing have prospered while others who have been there for generations have not. Maybe having your nose to the grindstone may actually mean something. The chances of reparations are probably nil but like an unwinnable court case there is no shortage of lawyers willing to take it knowing they will get paid no matter what .

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Pachamama January 28, 2015 at 2:29 PM
    “Everything cannot be predicated on the fiction of a bible. A bible written by the same people you have you fooled about some milk and honey business somewhere else while they enjoy their right here. This is bullshit!”

And therein lies the predicament of the black man; believing in a make-believe god manufactured by the same European in his own image.
    How does one explain the invasion of the starving Europeans to Australia and the subsequent exploitation, decimation and social marginalization of the indigenous populations?

Can you imagine in the name of natural justice a white Australian court ruling that the white Australian government has a right to turn back boat people aka refugees from Asia?

Now how did British castaways and criminals get to Australia if not by boat? These were the original boat people after the pirate Cook did the early scouting. Imagine if the Aborigines had turned them back where would they be, if not in the belly of sharks.

Australia is not the white man land; neither is Canada, the USA nor South America.
    The same way the white man believe they have their white god-given right to live any part of the globe so too should the black man be thinking but if only he could learn to believe in his own God that gave him that colour skin to live anywhere where the Sun shines.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lawson

Your point regarding application and lethargy among the oppressed making the difference between success and failure for any transplanted people is acknowledged.

I would like you, with similar aplomb, to clarify for me why jews, post Auschwitz, in pursuing restitution to their peoples, hunted down under extraordinary rendition modi and prosecuted Nazis?

Were they, as a Jewish people so savagely wronged, correct in seeking such boundary-less reparation against this genocide, similarly misguided, as we are with “matters coloured” or, as the Germans in Dresden, Germany now are saying, are you of a similar mind and espouse that “it was the past and should forget the past?”

When terrorist kill twelve of yours from civilized Paris France it insults the collective sensibilities of many of you, so much st that 40 world leaders march along the Rue de Whatever in Solidarity, but when similar terrorists kill 2,000 of us in Nigeria, or 6 million of us while implementing the transatlantic supply chain, we must be mighty uppity niggers to even mention that.

This niggah wanna know what you think white boy?

20. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Estimated 100 million Africans died during the trans Atlantic Holocaust that lasted 400 years

Britain exterminated an entire Tasmanian nation and attempted genocide of the native Australian and American.

This is why Reparations are needed.

http://youtu.be/BIVoJM6wAEI

21. @ pieceuhderockyeahright January 28, 2015 at 4:01 PM #…Were they, as a Jewish people so savagely wronged, correct in seeking such boundary-less reparation against this genocide, similarly misguided, .. but when similar terrorists kill 2,000 of us in Nigeria, or 6 million of us while implementing the transatlantic supply chain, we must be mighty uppity niggers to even mention that……..

Pieces, it is possible to compare and contrast different historical matters as you did above but apart from the absolute numbers of people killed by both of these ‘savage wrongs’ to use your words, it is otherwise really very simplistic to compare the deaths from the slave trade to that of the actions of a political leader’s systematic genocide during a war when the leader sought to become a world supremo and then further difficult to compare either to current terrorists activities.

I can’t follow your logic other than these things were horrendous.

How can that similarity alone (only one I can see) validate reparations re slave trade?

22. When the politicians teffing, Bushie and all the crew want blood, in this life.

When murder is committed everybody wants a trial, in this life

But once White people have to be brought to any bar of justice the slave mentalities of even bright Black people kicks in and they demur from offending massa, not we doh!

This is the present day slavery. The slaves don’t even know that they are in bondage. They feel they free!

If we had our way we would write our own Bible too, like how the RCC did as recently as 1975 telling some indigenous people in Brazil that they killed somebody called jesus. And that if they did not repent god will killed them. The Panara people.

We could never understand why, especially in Africa, people would accept a book translated by a buller King James and his consort William Shakespeare, a buller, as chief translator. This same bulling Shakespeare who left his mark (WS) in this bible itself.

In fact, William Shakespeare wanted King James to let him be the co-translator. When the King refused he hid his mark, his initials, within.

White people have done toooooo much evil for us to wait on some non-existent god to deliver justice. That justice will never come. What a trick!

23. In Pachamma’s bible it would say that White people are the devils that kill Jesus. And unless you kill them, god will kill you. LOL

24. Africans were not only decimated in the Atlantic Slave Trade.King Leopold was one of the most savage Europeans when it came to murdering Congolese on their own soil.Barbadians witnessed the savagery when they were recruited in Barbados,placed on a ship and ended up in the Congo in 1892.They rebelled and killed some Belgians before they were themselves subdued and executed.

25. Pacha

If you choose to doubt the authenticity of the bible, then that is your right.
    There is no need to rant and rave and insist that others must do likewise. …and no one is stopping you from writing your own “Pacha-bible”, go right ahead.

What is this issue about a “white man’s bible?”
    Many of the other things you use, things you eat, originate from the white man…
    Surely you have the intellectual capabilities to dissect something like the bible on it’s own merit -independent of the source.

wuh if you were BBE and wanted to have your word disseminated across the world who would you charter for the job? the Arawaks…or the English? …the Aborigines or the white man…?

Grow up in this regard Pacha. …judging the book by its couriers?

If you wish to discuss the book itself Bushie is willing to explain any serious concerns… 🙂

26. @ Pachamama,
    If you were to take a close look at those European countries who participated in the Atlantic slave trade you could argue that the only country that has “failed” to have continually capitalised on their previous slave economy has been Portugal.

Portugal is a basket-case of a country. It is a beautiful country however it is not a country which attracts immigrants. The number of Portuguese who migrate to greener pastures is extraordinarily high.

What of all those other European colonisers, well some are clearly doing better than others. It is clear that since the period of decolonisation that Europe has seen her market share and power decline. Decline is relative. How do you judge decline in a region of the world which gained incomparable and extraordinary wealth over a period of 400 years.

Let me take you to Bristol, Bath, Liverpool, Birmingham, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Yorkshire, London, Scotland, et al. Let me show you the monuments, the architecture, the canals, the underground system, the railway system; all are now tourists attractions. All of this was built on slave blood, overseas colonies and an indigenous chattel class of UK men and women born in the wrong social group.

It is very interesting that Europe has failed to admit her role in the slave trade and failed to explain the foundation of her wealth and how it was achieved. Europe and Europeans are a race of people in denial.

If there is a God, let us pray for the day when this group pays a heavy price for the sins of their father and their ancestors. Should this day come we should not come to their assistance.

27. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Pacha

Forget the Bible and go by what Christ was saying not what was written

“God” created everything, everyone and every being

and is not finite but is infinite everywhere and in everything

Like a child is part of a mother inside her and when it is outside

We are all part of “God”

when we die we will return to “God” the Being which is everything

http://youtu.be/-8VIKyvLUiA

28. Bushie

You can only make this call because it is what you do instinctively.

But we have no current interest in the bible and have already made our harsh judgements on it, years ago. Why would you send us to a book that was the basis on which all people of colour of the world were destroyed, exploited, enslaved, ‘genocided’. And these processes are currently still going on.

Where was this christian god when these things were happening in his name, and continuing?

And there are provable claims of plagiarism and so on that cannot be now corrected. What kind of a god would produce an imperfect document through people presented as ‘inspired’. Nonsense!

We have long concluded that the bible is rubbish, in itself, but the historiographies around it were much more interesting. Anybody who understands the wider issues will know that it must be a type of ignorance for a people who were enslaved with this document as the justification, for that construction, to then turn around and make this document central in one’s lives, is indeed a form of modern slavery. Black people best behave like this.

We will prefer to serve any other god before we bow to the christian god. And will never forgive or forget your god for the role played in the enslavement of African peoples.

This thing about saying or suggesting that some people may have misused ‘the word’ to do bad things, do not reflect on the central tenets, is misguided. Religions make this claim all the time. While that maybe true, there comes a time where an accounting is necessary and ownership of these issues is required. This is merely tired game played by religionists.

On the matter you raised, we never considered that you dared to us tell what our choice should be. Our point is that for every issue you never tire of going to the esoteric. We cited issues where you rightly called for justice but for some reason on this issue you find yourself telling Black people the same old story about pie in the sky. This is unacceptable.

With all due respect, there is nothing that you can explain to us that we have not heard before. We will never believe. We will never have faith in it. We have said here before that we are prepared to burn in hell, which is a lie in itself, than submit to the White man’s god. In some ways we think we have a deeper understanding about your book than most christians, including you.

29. hi pacha . ac was strolling by and noticed you had left a note in regard to some comment that i made, in part of your comment you stated that capitalism was being defeated, however let me asked you this have you read about the recent turn of event with the Castro regime having a get together welcome home party with the big bad all time capitalist USA and you mean what Castro didn’t . even invite you, What a pity after all these years of your love and support for the dictator Castro,he couldn’t spare even fifty cents and mail you an invite.

30. @Exclaimer

Yes, we went to school in the UK and am notionally familiar with the geography of which you speak. Britain has better, more hi-tech, museums about the slave epoch than most places. There are none in the Caribbean. A lot of people like to forget that the mother countries were largely built by slave labour, as well. And all the European countries were involved even countries like Sweden, the Nordics.

31. @ AC

There is no doubt that we hold the Cuban Revolution in the highest regard. That does not mean that we could not, for years, speak to the shortcomings of socialism, communism. Our determination was, and is. that all governing systems are failing. Have been failing for years. None of them can care for the majority of the people. Indeed, in some ways, Cuba has done far better than the USA if one looks at the social indicators.

The Cubans well know that this is only a rouse by Obama to achieve by stealth what they failed to do in 50 years. This is a victory for the Revolution. There will be no capitulation. You are to be disappointed,

I like them and will always like them because of the active defense of Black people that the Cuban generals mounted in southern Africa and elsewhere. Apartheid only ended because of their efforts. What did your DLP do in that regard?

We are also forecasting the fall of your most favoured US capitalism. It’s on its last leg. This year you should see a big shock. Keep watching

32. @ dee Word

I fear that you have taken the high road and thus arrived at a perspective of morality of slavery vis a vis the seeming casualty of an attempt at world domination.

Mine is not so ecclesiastical a viewpoint but the simplistic viewpoint that the aggrieved Jew took a stance and in the matter of their decimation sought recourse, reparation or whatever you or the Reparations crew wish to call it.

I then go on to state that in similar vein the black man has the similar right to canvas for such reparation.

Unfortunately in this matter I am not too attached to Hitlerian war strategy or the casualties incurred as opposed to the right that one aggrieved party seems to be unilaterally accorded while another, with similar status and self determination becomes the centre of Lawson’s ire.

Quite simply Dee Word I see seeking Reparations as a right even though I admit that I do not think they will ever be a court that will ascribe blame to a named perpetrator and incredibly if it did, I have a second challenge with how the quantum would be computed and then the format of the compensation

I am not going to indulge in the classic variant of “degrees of sin” as many of the Holy Hands crew at the churches in Bulbados are want to do.

Thou shalt not steal did not have any deliminators that places a child tiefing rubbers and pencils at school in a 9th ring of hell fire while Michael Carrington, for $205,000 is going to get ring 6.

My point again is the right nothing else

33. Even Cuban racism

34. @ Dee Word

Finally, you are new to the blog and are excused from your lack of knowledge of the Usual Suspects who, under the guise of psycho babble seek to invalidate the right of us niggers to think, say or do anything.

Let me just say that my remark was not to a generic audience but to a specific actor who, though missing in action for a while, has certain nuanced comments that of times border on supremacist dribble and lest he and others who still live there forget de ole man does ask him to foxtrot wid me now and again..

DOAN get caught in the crossfire ….

35. pacha boy you are living in a FOOLS paradise if you belive or even suggest that capitalism would fail , right now your best friend and eternal confident Putin is sweating like a boarhog, wuh look what the USA done gone and do to his economy turn it to junk , but putin should of see that coming after he stick his big nose in america and sytria basa bassa, trying to embarrass Obama , i tell yuh dat was a baddddd badd move boy i tell uh obama not easy that smile ! yeah that smile well i tell yuh anyway to put the icing on the cake obama hobnobbing around with the wealthy oil baron, i wonder wuh they might be cooking u for putin swibbly ars,,s
    however back to castro, i read where he states that he is friends of all and let bygones be bygones,

36. ac January 28, 2015 at 9:47 PM #

pacha boy you are living in a FOOLS paradise if you belive or even suggest that capitalism would fail ….
    ++++

He’s right it is failing. Watch……Everything else is theatrics. The Elite and their puppet politicians are all friends. Happens over and over again and people still get fooled.

37. @ Pacha
    Bushie understands your position. But it is flawed.

Bright as you are, the fact that this makes no sense to you is more likely to reflect a deficiency in your understanding than it does in the overall design of nature.

Of course you are also making a fundamental mistake in seeking to judge the logic of God ..based on the brass-bowlery of men…. The correct approach would have been to start with the design specifications and the strategic intent. Then perhaps it may become clear why such a wide gap may exist between what currently obtains and what would make logical sense.

…besides it may be a tad presumptuous to assume that you have a better grasp of the overall strategic design than what-ever intelligence is responsible for the design 🙂

38. @AC
    however back to castro, i read where he states that he is friends of all and let bygones be bygones,
    Not so fast, I don’t have any particular affection for the Castro brothers but young Raoul has asked for the return of Guantanamo Bay as a precursor to the establishment of normalizing relations, of course this may be a negotiation ploy but the Cubans have held out for a long time.

Will Raoul bait and switch on the backs of his people? Time will tell

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jan/28/raul-castro-return-guantanamo-cuba-us

39. Piece of the rock…I agree with you but you have missed your chance or are you suggesting that the crimes of the fathers be visited on the sons or in this case great great great great great great great grandsons, when the Jews went after Nazis there was dire consequences if they were caught whether it was jail time in the country they were operating in or by the network protecting them.To my knowledge the children of these people were never attacked.
    Yes world leaders held solid against terrorism, you forget all killed were not wasps this was a show against misguided Islamic terrorism would you rather they not.
    I don’t know what is going on in Africa but what I do know is in the black world there it seems to be everyman for himself and this is one mess that whitey cant fix. When you have a 300000 man army and you cant sort out boko haram there is more to this story than meets the eye. But here is a problem intelligent people like your self rather than volunteer to go help or fight for your cousins would rather just complain than take action, I have not seen a groundswell of black people volunteering to go eradicate the terrorists,no-one standing up to fight for Nigeria like they did against that evil casa grande. If I was in charge no able body person would be going on a vacation till the trouble is fixed at home, they don’t need cooks and welders at this moment they need men to take up arms and fight for their country.

40. @ Bushie

Well that is one philosophical approach. Not the only one. For example, some may think that we are all gods already. This separation is specious at best and nonsensical at worst.

At another time you will be resting on ‘free moral agency’. However, that argument is not to be trotted out at this time.

The assumption that there is to be some designer is not gaining in validity. In fact, the reverse is true. And where is this designer when the very ‘god particle’ is being re-imagined.

Your religious core is the biggest corruption these universes have ever known. And is to be rejected.

41. @ AC

Who make the fatal assumption that this Black boy in the White House has some control over anything. This is a joke. That poor fellow has not a clue.

But yes, he is a dangerous SOB that will smile and then send his drones to kill innocent women and child. The real buller’s ethic!

You think you. maybe, seeing one side. But there are other sides you are yet to discern.

One day coming soon, you will wake up and the American empire will be no more. Watch it!

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lawson

This ole man too old for any combat other than that of the mouth.

Even Brother Bush Tea’s legendary exploits on the battlefield of life does leave the ole man grudgeful of BT’s renown and his Lawrence of Arabia Bushwacker pursuits. I fear that “we too were soldiers and once young…”

You fight quite nasty Lawson (says the old man, with grudging admiration.)

You have hit me in that “existential cusp of the zodiac” right where my psycho babble about the rights of self determination joins with “the castle of my skin”.

I think that you have been following the old man as I hope/pray for self enlightenment for my people while cringing when I review “similar genocidal practices” by “my brothers”, the Interahamwe better known for their Tutsis/Hutu conflicts in Rwanda. Or follow that superlative with the most recent self indictment i would have posted when “my brothers” looted AN EBOLA CLINIC and took home items stolen from their plunders.

Sarte speaks to self condemnation more eloquently than I can Lawson but suffice it to say that I do have a variant of Madame Defarge’s words that chastises me each waking hour “je m’accuse” (I accuse myself) and hold self flagellation sessions while looking into the mirror, my progenitors origin – the Dark Continent.

Here lies the 5th largest producer of oil in the world today AS WELL AS the largest potential source of energy, RE, for 2030 BUT it has the greatest instances of poverty for my teeming masses in the globe. And all this glaring waste is ruled by people in the castle of my skin.

I do battle on two fronts – with a world where racism and supremacist’s practices adorn the walls of one’s diurnal existence under the guise of development aid and globalization and on the other flank, my being contends with “world actors numerous” aided and abetted by a cadre of similar ilk. here in my home on this rock, Bulbados. I really dont have to go far to “accuse myself”

When i wrote of the “non-homogenous 12” I was aware of the fact that they were not all WASPS but I (retrospectively) put it to you that if they had been all black, the national consciousness of La France, and those 40 there assembled, WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN AROUSED as later evidenced with the passing of the 2,000 (homogenous persons?) in Nigeria’s NE on Jan 9th which WASP CNN TV first reported, grudgingly, on Jan 12th.

66 Nigerian students at the centre of a US$10M scam makes potentially a very good paycheck for a lawyer who is not permitted to advertise under Barbados’ regulations.

That Mr. Trotman is leading that charge does not negate the similar illegal advertising activity conducted under guise of care by Tariq Khan current leader of the “Clan of the Bloodsuckers” generally called the BA when Khan convened that sanctimonious meeting for the policy holders of the CLICO fiasco as he championed a fizzled class action lawsuit.

This fragile thing called life, full of its actors varied, makes us understand why men would seek the comfort of a hermetic life for “the more one sees of people, the more I love my dogs…”

43. but pachie ma boy u got to hand it to Obama he put a lid on Putin and blew Castro a winning smile, Wuh whoever thought that Castro and America would be talking farther less doing business, he Castro could not keep his silence on the new and found diplomacy with the capitalism, ,Could it be that Castro is taking a page out of china diplomacy and using it to his advantage, Capitalism dead, not by a long shot, brother don.t hold yuh breath,

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lawson

And as to your second fallacy the one where you say “When you have a 300000 man army and you cant sort out boko haram there is more to this story than meets the eye….” history, both current and less recent, has shown that nuff soldiers does not a victory make.

Death delivered while advancing to the enemy is not as hollywood depicts Lawson. An AK 47 wreaks a not inconsiderable amount of damage on you and your cannon fodder buddies irrespective of the Pastor or Chaplain or Imam who intoned the blessings of Deity over your war efforts.

“Deadly force” by double taps to head, knives in specific organs, twisted after insertion, garrotes while having to watch life ebb out of a target, while a soon-to-be-lifeless human fights to remove the garrote, fights for air, begs for life while one eradicates that “which by its nature, location, purpose, or use makes an effective contribution to military action and whose total or partial destruction, capture or neutralization, in the circumstances ruling at the time, offers a definite military advantage” must itself be a thing that affects the imparter of death, dont you think (notwithstanding the psychotic born killers)

No sir, killing the enemy, irrespective of one’s numbers, and one’s superior armament, a la USA/Vietnam or Russian/Afghanistan conflicts does not guarantee success

45. @ Sargeant,

You can called that feeble response,.”The Diplomacy of Smoke and
    Mirrors”

here is a quote from Castro speech yesterday in reference to USA Cuba relations

“We will always defend cooperation and friend-ship with all the people of the world, including with our political adversaries,”

46. Re. the collapse of capitalism debate. Some input from Canadian commentator Murray Dobbin.

Murray Dobbin is an author, commentator and journalist. He is the author of five books and is a former columnist with Financial Post and Winnipeg Free Press. He is a board member of Canadians for Tax Fairness and on the advisory council of the Rideau Institute. He lives in Powell River, BC.

Downsize Democracy for 40 Years, Here’s What You Get
    New signs civilization is veering towards collapse.

By Murray Dobbin, 26 Jan 2015, TheTyee.ca

Careening towards collapse?

How far down the road to collapse are we? For my generation not so far that we will see the worst of it. But what is alarming is that all the signs are so dramatically obvious. And while the mainstream media isn’t yet talking about the end of our world, the issue of grotesque inequality and unsustainable resource depletion are somewhere in the media almost every week. Indeed inequality in particular has been a hot topic ever since the Occupy movement briefly swept the planet. Yet if you monitor the political debate in this country the two most important trends in our society and the world are virtually never mentioned except rhetorically. There are no serious policy prescriptions. Mass denial reigns. Or, as Freud stated, we are “knowing without knowing.”

SNIP

Theoretically, of course, neoliberalism says the state should not intervene in the efficient functioning of the market — resulting in prosperity for everyone. But the theory, according to neoliberalism authority David Harvey, was simply hijacked by the elites to fleece the system — bailing out the financial sector with trillions of taxpayers’ dollars and failing to re-regulate, while gutting labour and environmental regulation. Government actions reveal neoliberalism as “more of a practical attempt to restore elite class power than as a theoretical project driven by the works of [Friedrich von] Hayek or Friedman.”

The NASA study is not optimistic about our chances of avoiding eventual collapse given the failure of other civilizations. It says “collapse is difficult to avoid…. Elites grow and consume too much, resulting in a famine among Commoners that eventually causes the collapse of society.”

Warnings go unheeded. The NASA reports says “historical collapses were allowed to occur by elites who appear to be oblivious to the catastrophic trajectory (most clearly apparent in the Roman and Mayan cases).”

How close are we to collapse? The study points out that the process can extend over decades and even centuries. Yet some of the supporting empirical studies (by KPMG and the British Office for Science) suggest a perfect storm that involves food, water and energy could occur within 15 years.

http://thetyee.ca/Opinion/2015/01/26/Downsize-Demcracy-For-40-Years/

47. Sorry the above link for the Oped by Murray Dobbin on Downsizing Democracy and collapse doesn’t work. Here’s an alternate:

http://murraydobbin.ca/2015/01/26/downsize-democracy-for-40-years-heres-what-you-get/

48. what phallis see, you are right numbers mean nothing if used incorrectly it all depends on what you are willing to do to put and end to it. If you can keep focused on the carrot and not be sidetracked by public opinion you will put this to an end. If 10 die to get the one you want you will eventually win by attrition, keep killing till they give up, it is not unusual to here the phrase sue for peace there is a reason why.
    I believe that your only use of a garret is that you may have had to live in one on a trip to London, but how can you say it is so difficult to kill yet in the same breath say easy we white folks can kill you with no remorse.

I believe you are wrong whether it is france Canada etc somebody. anybody kills our citizens no matter what race or color we all feel the pain and will rally together against that aggressor

49. @pieceuhderockyeahright

Got to agree with you there about the dogs! I have always fared better with them than with people. Never been bitten or seriously threatened once. Daily I ask myself how a perfect creator could have made human beings. Most dogs have left their wildness behind and use it only for self- defence. Not so human beings. Most of us are deadly in the pursuit of power and riches.

Once human beings are involved in any system be it capitalist or otherwise there can only be one outcome. That is the exploitation of the many by the few. So even if capitalism falls whatever replaces it will eventually be just as flawed.

We human beings are seriously engaged in “doing de dog” whilst the dog is now busy doing what was supposed to be the human. And almost everybody wants to be the top dog.