There is so much divisiveness (almost typed derision) in Barbados of late. In the same way an organisation is defined by the quality of its employees and the ability to be productive – the definition is the same for a country. Barbados will only overcome the many challenges it faces if the majority of  the citizenry is led to unleash its collective intelligence for the good of the whole. Sadly we are far from this being a reality anytime soon.

Within the government ranks the Eager 11 episode has fizzled to David Estwick versus the rest. The discord periodically played in public by the government betrays the loyalty to the Westminster model of government and its aged old conventions. On the other side of the political aisle we have the leader of the Opposition battling demons as well in the form of former prime minister Owen Arthur tossing political barbs from the Independent side located on the government bench, sacked ‘Leader of Opposition Business’ Kerri Symmonds or the senseless bassa bassa between George Payne and Edmund Hinkson. There is a resignation the Westminster system we have bastardized breeds an adversarial politics. Do not expect any solutions from the political class.

What about the trade unions?

The Barbados Workers Union (BWU) and the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) both represent retrenched National Conservation Commission workers, yet, the NUPW decides to march and the BWU decides to wait until the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) meets.

The bigger issue we see is the embarrassing position, or so it seems to BU, of a social partnership formed to represent a shared position of labour, government and private sector, yet, the largest credit union is NOT a member of the partnership. How can we pretend we have a partnership given the fracture? Why is there no outrage at the hypocrisy of such an arrangement?

Interesting is that the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium can be chock-a-block on the weekends with churchgoers attending some convention or the other, yet the same religious constituent is not motivated to support causes of a national interest in the same numbers.   Instead of blaming the political class to haul our asses out of the social and economic morass we find ourselves, why are we not looking at the mirror to think and mobilize how to win our country back from these JAs. Shouldn’t our religious leaders want to mobilise the flock to demand accountability and justice from the system?

The biggest concern by BU is to observe an unwillingness by an educated class – billions sunk in education post Independence –  to define the kind of Barbados it wants to build. Why have we allowed all the businesses our forefathers slaved to support a way of life for Barbadians to be stolen by outsiders? In 2015 we are like sitting ducks in the face of hegemonic ambitions by all comers.

When will the hour come for an educated class to understand there is power in numbers.

64 responses to “The Power of ALL”

1. @ Observing
    “…..is it the job of “formal education” to show the real point of living?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    No it is not to “show the real point of living”….

It is the job of ‘education’ to properly prepare current and future generations to maximize their performance as a society.
    Some ways in which this is done:
    -teaching a true history of where the society has come from
    -identifying and refining the various talents available in the society
    -identifying and responding to the various external threats to the society
    -critically assessing and refining the society’s strategic focus

…probably most importantly, researching, identifying, grooming and developing rare but critical assets in society that are vital to that society’s continued success in a challenging world:
    Things like
    Leadership
    Business acumen
    Disciplinary leaders

But unless there is a clear understanding of final purpose intended for that society, how could such roles be conceptualized for education?
    What would then be the ‘raison d’être’ or even the ‘sine qua non’ of education?
    Who would determine this…?
    What would true leaders look like?
    What would be rewarded as “success”?
    What would be punished as “failure”?

What would be accepted as “normal”? / “moral”? / ethical?

Without a sound ontological /epistemological foundation, we will end up with exactly what we have….
    …an expensive waste of time and money…
    …and with people like Sir Cave being able to use the system for their own ends….

2. @Bushie

What about effectively managing interpersonal relationships@

3. Awww AC! I was just beginning to believe you could be a useful contributor and then you backslid. When not acting like a yardfowl you display far more than a bird brain.

4. There is some learning here if we are serious about the kind of society we want to build.

Miss Jamaica Kaci Fennell is an embarrassment to Jamaica

Jan 27, 2015

What is Jamaica’s biggest contribution to the world? That was the question asked to Miss Jamaica Kaci Fennell. Her response was Bob Marley and Usain Bolt. Yes, an athlete and an entertainer. What an embarrassment. If her answer was true, it would have been an embarrassment to Jamaica, since her answer was false, she is an embarrassment to herself.

Can you imagine if the United States listed Michael Jackson and Peyton Manning as her biggest contributions to the world? Am I to think that no one, not in school, not at home, not at church; taught Kaci about Jamaica’s contributions to the world?

Kaci Fennel could have spoken about the part the Maroons of Jamaica played in ending slavery not only in Jamaica but around the world. She could have spoken about the role the Jamaican Dutty Boukman (Dutty Bookman) played in the Haitian revolution of 1804. She could have spoken about Jamaica’s bauxite. Didn’t she know that Martin Luther King Jr., Malcolm X, Medgar Evers, Nelson Mandela and even President Barack Obama were influenced by Marcus Garvey? Why didn’t she say Marcus Garvey?

At the same time, I can’t really blame Kaci Fennell for her silly answer. After all, if you visit the Jamaican Passport Immigration and Citizenship Agency (PICA), this is their main reason for why one would want to be a citizen of Jamaica:

In becoming a citizen of Jamaica persons will be able to bask in the pride of national achievement and identify with other great Jamaicans such as Bob Marley, Usain Bolt, Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce, Tessane Chin and Louise Bennett among others.

Talking about a revolution sounds like a whisper – Tracy Chapman

NOT VIEWS FROM LIFESTYLEJA

SOURCE: http://18karatreggae.com/

5. @ David January 29, 2015 at 5:42 AM #

“There is some learning here if we are serious about the kind of society we want to build. Miss Jamaica Kaci Fennell is an embarrassment to Jamaica….”

David, perhaps if young Barbadians of different eras were asked “What is Barbados’ biggest contribution to the world?”, and depending upon the era in which they were born, we may have a variety of responses, which may include Sir Frank Worrell, Sir Garfield Sobers, Errol Barrow, Obadele Thompson and the Pan Africanist would obviously say Bussa, while the most likely reply from those of a recent vintage would be Rhianna.

But what can be expect from a society that is prepared to reward individuals for “one single” achievement, by hosting a grand national ceremony to give them gifts such as a car, house and land, money, an honourary ambassadorship or naming a sports facility or road in their honour. Please note, I’m NOT saying they should not be rewarded.

These events are often etched in the minds of youngsters, especially given all the “pomp and pageantry”. Obviously, in some case, their replies to such questions would be the person being honoured, without taking into consideration the question was not specific to Barbados, but essentially placed an emphasis on “the world”.

6. The title of Miss Jamaica is sufficient. Did you really need to include a photo to tell your story?

7. donna don’t worry about my contributions ac have been about and around BU long enough to know how the game is played

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    For the life of me really don.t know why any one would pay attention or give any major importance to those pageants
    The young ladys response was well scripted and highlighted the importance of how money plays into these pageants She did her job as she was supposed to and promoted the relevance and the necessity of those entities that is influential in putting millions into the Jamaican economy while capitalizing on the role and importance of the tourism industry .Her role of being an ambassador for tourism should be applauded , as for the history the relevancy would not have helped to boost Jamaica economy, that was a once in a lifetime event and she played the role as spoke person and ambassador for Jamaica well while giving the tourism industry a well deserved boost. Kudos to her,

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

A full read of the 18karatreggae.com article, and its varied contributors, MUST BE DONE if one is to fully appreciate what the proposer is speaking to and what others who had/have a deeper understanding of “audiences” also eloquently expanded on

Of course, taken a face value, it would seem that the perspective about “Education (or lack thereof in the Jamaican, and for that matter the Caribbean) is the Key to Awareness”. The words in brackets are mine, the others are a JA bloggist.

It is easy to play up he responses as being shallow but, with all fairness to Ms. Fenell, and in the absence of another encounter with the beauteous Jamaican, one is unable to see if the young lady has a more profound insight and philosophy, one that even the Jamaican Government Immigration agency was/is unable to enunciate.

The young lady gave “a commercial answer” that the illiterate audience, bereft of knowledge of the underlying precepts or contributions of its Garveys, could assimilate.

If she had delved into this world, (and i am myself unsure as to whether she had these skills, or if she does, given that the venue did not allow her to expand) IT WOULD HAVE BEEN LOST on that fickle audience

Ironically multiple international stages have given our local star Rihanna occasion to speak, and to all intents and purposes, Miss Fenty has, and continues to make colossal blunders. Bless her sweet adorable soul!!

9. @Piece and Artax

If we are producing educated citizens should they not at every opportunity demonstrate this on the public stage win lose or draw?

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

David [BU]

I like that – the gauntlet thrown down – for true men to pick up and run with

I just drew in and blew out a heavy breath.

Mirrors like you make some of us look at ourselves and examine the hot pantings and rantings that we jump up and type down here in the safety of this cyberspace universe for “many a rose is born to bloom and waste its scent upon the desert air”

You are right for in your gentle chide to do greater things we realise that we are either part of the solution through our commission or, by our omission, we become part of the problem …

11. What a moronic comment that the “lady’s response was scripted and highlighted the importance of how money plays into these pageants” and that “Her role of being an ambassador for tourism should be applauded”. Sometimes it’s better for some individuals to reserve their comments for issues of which they are knowledgeable, instead of offering uninformed opinions.

What on earth does her reply has to do with supporting Jamaica’s tourism industry? Firstly, the contestants are NOT AWARE of the questions to be asked of them, so to state her response “was well scripted” is utter rubbish.

Miss World has to be an adequate representative of the pageant franchise at functions and other events, as well as various companies and their products which she may be required to advertise.
    As such, the contestants are asked simple common sense questions to determine their level of intellect, how much knowledge they possess, in addition to how they would interact and conduct themselves within certain social environments.

You are a typical example; juxtapose Miss Jamaica’s reply to the comments you offer in defense of the DLP. If you are the representative of the DLP in this forum, no wonder Barbados has an inept government.

The Miss World franchise does not want an inept person as Miss World.

12. @ pieceuhderockyeahright January 29, 2015 at 9:03 AM #

“You are right for in your gentle chide to do greater things we realise that we are either part of the solution through our commission or, by our omission, we become part of the problem …”

Well stated, Piece.

13. @ David January 29, 2015 at 8:03 AM #

“@Piece and Artax: If we are producing educated citizens should they not at every opportunity demonstrate this on the public stage win lose or draw?”

I agree with you David, and your question has brought the reality that our education system needs to be “revolutionized”. We are producing students who are basically learning a syllabus and regurgitating the answers for an exam to achieve a grade A, B or C.

Critical and rational thinking is required at the PhD level, where candidates have to demonstrate they have a thorough and indepth knowledge of a wide variety of concepts in their chosen field as well as being required to defend their thesis. Critical thinking should be introduced at primary school and emphasized at secondary school.

An individual, for example, may have knowledge of biological theories, but lack the ability to construct an adequate job application letter or conduct themselves at an interview. They may also have poor communication skills, which are reflected by the way they write or the manner in which they speak. And this becomes more evident especially when they’re asked to interact outside their comfort zone.

Let us analyze pageants held in Barbados. Supposed the contestants are asked a question such as “Why have you entered this contest?” More often than not, after hesitating, the reply would most likely be, “Am……. I enter to, am…., I enter to, to…. to boost my self confidence”. Tell me, if you were a judge, would you not give that reply a failing grade? Surely by hesitating and fumbling with the answer is inductive of one who does not have self confidence.

14. Look artexeres what de hell do you know about women in general.. i doubt if you ever been to a beauty show ,or even entered one, you are comparing apples and oranges to well planned international beauty pageants, get real ..