Submitted by Dr. George Brathwaite
Dr. George C. Brathwaite

Lord Dicey argued that the legal system consists not only of the procedural enforcement of rules and precedents but also of the informal “customs, practices, maxims, or precepts which are not enforced or recognised by the Courts, [and which] make up a body not of laws, but of constitutional or political ethics.” In the Commonwealth Caribbean – Barbados included – most states govern using the broad pillars of a Westminster model parliamentary democracy.

Indeed, over the last year, Barbados has been celebrating its 375th anniversary year of Parliamentary life which is the third oldest in the British Commonwealth. On top of this, Barbados is now into its 49th year of independence and the challenge remains for all citizens of the country to be ‘strict guardians’ of the Barbadian heritage and ‘firm craftsmen’ of the fate of the nation.

Read full submission – Show Prudence, Let Political Ethics Be the Principle

70 responses to “Show Prudence, Let Political Ethics Be the Principle”

1. Isn’t that Dale Marshall top far right? I thought Togetherness aka Waiting aka x 25 said he was not speaking at the public meeting?

Cut down to size

A PERSON KNOWN for their impatience is said to be like a fish out of water these days. The individual thought with a seemingly resentment of the leader of the organisation by those working in it, together with the support of an experienced staffer, that they would have been able to catapult themselves to the head of the entity. But the embattled manager had other ideas. They chopped this grasshopper’s long legs off and reduced them to be just another worker. Now this person is said to be asking around as to what should be their next move as they are nowhere.That is, they have no major role and have been clearly sidelined possibly because of their links to those who have made it clear they do not wish the leader well.

2. Gabriel January 24, 2015 at 3:07 PM #
    This man Carrington has affected 3 important constituents.First and foremost the people of Barbados wherever they reside.Secondly,HM Commonwealth of Nations of which we are no ordinary member but one with the 3rd oldest parliament .Thirdly HM inner bar of advisors and advocates.
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    And he surely has disappointed HM Prisons Dodds, where reservation should have been made for him.

3. @Enuff,

Dont worry with the liars, now known as the demoncratic party.

Some time ago, the BLP held a public meeting. A line up was agreed and one person who thought he was powerful and bigger than the party, called a call in programme to say he was not going to speak at the meeting. The party would not want a repeat of this, I would think.

I could never understand politicians…….yes, you all are all different and have have big egos but as part of a team, there must be some give and take. If you are leadership material, you would rise to the top!

4. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

Unfortunately I am hearing a rumour of an additional tax, could be unfounded, but the way everything is being taxed, maybe possible.

It is the D-Bot tax. The longer a member is, the more tax, by scaled measurement, will be. This is for the males. Females will be taxed on the size of the posterior.

I am not sure how many Ministers will have to pay much tax, but rumour is that Mr.Bush Tea of this site, will be hard hit, due to his renown.

Apparently Ms.AC is also blue vexed that they would do this to her.

She is apparently going for a bank loan on Monday.

5. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

To memebers of the Honourable Chamber
    Mr. Speaker Sir, I rise on this occasion to speak to the vexing issue of the fiduciary responsibilities of your Honour and I would like to say that Honesty , dignity , integrity and even Mariah Carey dictate that an honourable person should know what is the honourable thing to do in any situation with which that honourable person is confronted.

To the General Populace

The Prime Miniser of Barbados the Right Honourable Freundel Jerome Stuart made a serious error in rising to speak in the defence of the Dis-Honourable Speaker of the House. The emphasis here is on the word -HONOUR/HONOURABLE- , something that is not bestowed as some people seem to think but something that is earned based on a number of factors that usually and more often than not is focused around the unwritten rules and ethics of the presiding environment. Part of this honour is knowing when to fall on your Sword–

6. We could talk until we are blue in the face. This government is not going to have any consideration for, or even listen, to the masses, until the next general election campaign.And we already know how they will come. London has its Chelsea Pensioners, Barbados is lumbered with its Palmetto Pensioners.

7. Prodigal Son January 24, 2015 at 4:59 PM #

If you are leadership material, you would rise to the top!
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Speaking of leadership . During the Great War, a German General described the British Army as ,”lions led by donkeys.” There isn’t a single lion within this ruling administration. But there appears to be one crafty lion tamer.

8. ha ha Leadership ,,wid the real leader of the BLP please stand up.

9. O. K. so the BLp has been given a reprieve”sort of” with the carrington issue,, question, how is this issue going to help the BLp win the next election,
    with the many problem and fires stoking within the BLp party yet to be resolved, it is conclusive to say that the BLP is not ready in any sense of the word in governing the day to day affairs a country when their family squabble like the hinkson and payne story under the leadership of mia has yet to be resolved.It would be interesting to see how this all plays out, given the onslaught of allegations and accusations hurdled at carrington from the slurry mouts of the blp yardfowls, guh long boy, high wind know where old house live, anyhow it is time fuh you yardfowls to start buying some rope cause wunna ole house all but ready to take flight, Kaboom!

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 24, 2015 at 8:37 PM
    “…O. K. so the BLp has been given a reprieve”sort of” with the carrington issue,, question, how is this issue going to help the BLp win the next election…”

You just don’t get it, do you ac for assorted crap?
    Isn’t it obvious that any political party contesting the next general elections will beat that deceitful lying party (dlp)?

Unless a third party comes along able to stimulate and motivate the electorate the BLP will win by default. The only people that could vote for the DLP in any significant way might be the johnnies still blinded by their allegiance to the Skippa whose legacy and memory have been destroyed by the current bunch of cunts dominating that once illustrious political party.

There will be no money from jada, cost-u-less or even the Williams clan to back a bunch of lying losers to buy votes from unemployed young people as was done in February 2013.
    Now what ads can you launch to make OSA look bad? A naked young girl in the unemployment line on Bush Hill running from a vampire looking like Mia?

11. D jokes in here never cease…..(MURDA)…..

12. Miller wrote ” buy votes from unemployed young people”.

So will the BLP have the money to buy the votes.

Seems like no money no vote. lol

13. Presumably there will not have to be any vote buying next election. The demoncrats are going to be to ashamed to even canvas. They will be afraid to ask any man, woman or young person for a vote. They may get pelted!

14. @ Sir Bentwood Dick
    ‘….but rumour is that Mr.Bush Tea of this site, will be hard hit, due to his renown.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Never mind Islandgal with her blabbermouth….. 🙂

15. i am glad this issue with that thief Michael Carrington is as it is…i want to see the DLP back in the jungle where they came from before the end of the year. the majority of them have shown the world that when guerrillas are put in charge then not only will the people be eating bananas but the guerrillas will be robbing, the poor, the rich and anyone they desire because they had NEVER had it so good and it is certain they never will again. now the head Retard is telling this thief to get a lawyer!!! he stole money for his benefit and he is being advised by the head of an island (to the world, we have to be a banana republic) to get himself a lawyer. when they are up at 3:00a.m. conniving with their other lodge fellows and demons, why can they not just chop off each other stupid heads and replace their degenerated brains with that of humans? how long must honest Barbadians have to look at these buffoons in suits? when u make a pac with the devil, it is for a certain length of time, right down to the second after that you are in dead man’s guts. i hope all those asses know that and fully understand that when their faces morphing in front of other ordinary humans that says, their time is short….let them be aware

16. Pacha…………again, the problem is not the degrees of corruption, the problem in Barbados is that all the politicians and lawyers have gotten away for decades with every degree of corruption, it’s the getting away and not paying for their crimes is the problem.

Those dudes in Albany, New York, most of whom are lawmakers for the state of NY are quaking in the corrupt ass boots this morning because they all know they have all been corrupt at one time or the other, yet they all know that when the other shoe drops, they will pay in public for their corrupt ways, no one in Barbados can say the same for the corrupt lawyers and politicians in Barbados….I am sure you got my point now.

It’s disgusting that Fruendel Stuart will even tell a thief like Michael Carrington to get a lawyer when a judge has already ruled, that can only happen in another banana republic just like the one the DLP/BLP have reduced Barbados to in their many faceted greed, just like Pavlov’s Dogs.

17. Prudence? Owen is stated in todays Nation as remarking that Griffith needs ‘justice’.

Well, funny that. He never ever remarked on Al Barack.

So, as usual, just a jibe to get at Mia …..AGAIN.

Principles my foot, more like twists and turns.

18. Ha Ha Ha
    Why wunna think Jesus used the analogy of wheat among tares to describe the proliferation of wickedness in this world?
    There was the suggestion in the parable to abandon the whole project and collect both wheat and tares and burn everything….
    …but the wise master decided to let them both grow together until the wheat was ripe, THEN to separate the two at the harvest…..

hmmmmmmm…

Of course some of the poorrakey wheat will fall victim to the weeds, but those that develop and ripen will be top notch…some even bush men 🙂

The other thing is that while weeds look large and impressive when left to themselves, you just need to put a whacker in there ..and their ass is grass in no time….with bush flying all over the place….

Ha Ha Ha Ha

Those crooked tares only flourish because we let them…..

19. David
    Today’s Trinidad Express carries a story headlined AG Speaker Must Resign.It vindicates Caswell’s contention that a no confidence motion was the way to go in the handling of the Carrington matter.Maybe you could place the entire report on BU for a comparison on how the two countries handle a similar dilemma.I am convinced Mia was deliberate in putting Santia,like a lamb to be slaughtered,to deflect her responsibility, in her attempt to save Carrington tail from exposure.

20. Examine the question “And how will we know if they are for us or against us?”

That question could as easily be answered by (I) the actions through which the SS soldiers were able to confirm suspected Jews when the demanded suspects to pull down their pants and expose their covenant of circumcision or (ii) “shibboleth” the word which the 42,000 Ephraimites could not pronounce that caused their death

Equally so, as Mr Caswell Franklyn first announced, and Gabriel now repeats, the question of “why did the leader of the opposition choose (by her proxy Santiago Bradshaw) the teethless option of the committee of privileges”.

And the answers comes back to us.

Because it would have created a precedence where other lawyers in the honourable house would have been open to the same parliamentary process in the future and Mia, who is also a lawyer, also knows the story of Haman and the Gallows he built for Mordecai.

And Answer Number Two, because if such action had won, and toppled the government, with Mia as the Leader of the Opposition, at the ensuing General Election, she would have become Prime Minister.

However, Owen Seethru yet liveth and his Prometheus-like “possessions” DO NOT PERMIT this ascension to the Illarian Throne, not yet.

To all who would be president, king or prime minister keep wunna doggie clean and wunna transgressions limited to unpaid parking tickets