Good to hear the crescendo of calls for Speaker of the House Michael Carrington to step down. Leading the calls is outspoken and widely respected lawyer Andrew Pilgrim QC  a former President of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA). BU assumes he was not head of the BBA when the 78 year old wheel chair bound Griffiths  filed a complaint in the matter now occupying national attention. BU understands there is a concerted effort around town to raise monies demanded by the Court Order from ‘pals’ of Carrington, we have no doubt that he will be bailed out. The political class and buddy system always close ranks.

Cudhere!

Whether he is able to honour the court order or not the Prime Minister, Cabinet colleagues and Government are left with no choice but to ask Carrington to step down as Speaker of the House. It is a moral imperative by a government led by a man who was promoted as Mr. Integrity himself.  Until Carrington steps down no utterance  by any member of the House can be allocated moral weight.

218 responses to “Speaker of the House Michael Carrington MUST Go!”

1. ac not talking to you pacha, you neither B or Do just a NB(noisy body)

2. David, no major 3rd party will emerge. Bajans are living in a fantasy land–talk is cheap (look no furher than the current governmen) but doing/acting is a whole different kettle of fish. Forming and maintaining a political party and managing a country is not 4-H club.

3. @ Enuff
    Forming and maintaining a political party and managing a country is not 4-H club.
    True.

….which is why we need to get rid of these two brass bowl joke parties and form another…..
    Compared to the BLP and DLP, even PDC seems a viable option.

….and can someone tell Peter Wickham that the reason that Bajans voted for the DLP after it became clear that Stuart was a sleeper and snail is that the BLP option looks even worse….especially with his ‘funny’ friends in its corner and running things…

….a rock and a hard place.

4. There USED to be a reason that a third party was unlikely. That was when the BLP and DLP still had a large ‘historical’ following, those who either themselves or mothers, fathers, grandparents voted a particular way.

Now, too much time has passed to rely on ‘the Dipper’ legacy, or on the Adams legacy, no matter how good those were, to carry a party through an election.

Most of the voters are of a new category. THAT is why a third party is now more viable.

I agree, a third party with outlandish ideas, like suggesting to seize huge tracts of land without investigation, or removing all taxes which run a country (tax system needs restructuring, not wholesale removal of system), will not be successful.

However, there is now no doubt, that a third party, made up of ‘reasonable and good people’, not the currently greed grabbing lot, which permeate either side with a number of exceptions, is now necessary.

One will surely ask, but find ‘good and reasonable’ people. That is another issue entirely, but does not negate the need for a third party and does not mean that a third party with such persons is not possible.

Another question may be then, how about starting with those in the current two, who are the exceptions? Well, they already have their hand in the pie, already thrown their hat in the ring. We need a fresh start.

The next issue then is, how does it start? Well, it starts with two or three ‘good and reasonable’ people, to step forward, to seek others. And ready for the next election, even if only as a group of independents.

Such a group may not be successful first time, but my own suspicion is that they will have some support and will bring some fresh air to the political scene.

A couple above ridicule the idea. Why? Because they think that doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result, is wise? That, as far as I know, is one definition of madness or at least, is foolhardy.

What is surely clearcut, is that many citizens, some who vote and some who are so distraught that they refuse to, are fed up with the antics of both current groups.

And maybe, just maybe, that will bring enough to make a difference in the opportunity for a third party, since Sir Richard Haynes first formed the NDP. But those were different times when political legacies still held some currency.

5. @enuff

We will have to wait and but there is some serious talk occurring by some heavy weights.

6. Anon January 16, 2015 at 9:57 AM # Hi folks, Michael Carrington owns Karibu restaurant on the west coast .Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall and other BLPites like me patronise that place. Mia Mottley called last night and I pledged $10,000 to help pay Mr. Carrington legal bill.

I am a member of the Political Class.

I love it!

DEMs sure klynow how to tell BIG ROCK lies……Mia won’t piss pon “Denzil” if he did on fire…
    Tekk O for creativity too…..if ya did smart, ya wudda said I am a waiter @ Karibu….wait ac whey my video clip wid Poncho the Donkey ?

7. Some of you don’t know when to ignore comments posted to disrupt the conversation. Use discernment and commonsense for god sakes.

8. While the wily ‘Anthony’ a.k.a Dale Marshall tried his best to discredit Anon story about the Karibu connection with the BLP top brass and Micha el Carrington here is the evidence I have found: Karibu near Payne’s Bay at the foot of Holderd Hill is owned by Michael Carrington. The staff there confirmed that Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall and other BLPites are regular big spending patrons at Karibu. On Monday night before Parliament Mia Mottley told the staff at Karibu their boss man would be all right. Anon said he received a call from Mia Mottley and pledge $10 ,000.00

Well David would have track down Anon to confirm that.

What I would like Mia Mottley and all the ‘united’ BLPites to answer for Barbadians…..Why did they not call on Michael Carrington to resign?

KARIBU Connection?

Dale Marshall and George Payne law firm represented Mr. Griffith in the case against Carrington!

Anon says…It is the Political Class.

d $ 10

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Fractured BLP

You commented:

“What I would like Mia Mottley and all the ‘united’ BLPites to answer for Barbadians…..Why did they not call on Michael Carrington to resign?”

I can’t remember ever agreeing with any of your comments, however, I must wholeheartedly endorse the above. This is a case of the politicians (on both sides) making mock sport at we.

10. @ Fractured BLP January 17, 2015 at 8:17 AM #

While the wily ‘Anthony’ a.k.a Dale Marshall tried his best to discredit Anon story about the Karibu connection with the BLP
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Fractured idiot.

I am not Dale Marshall and have never voted for any political party.

I call a spade a spade.

I also live on the West Coast and can make my own enquiries in light of what you have highlighted.

11. @ Crusoe…… In your post at 4:43am you are singing a song that I’ve been humming for quite some time now. They are a number of so called ”safe seats”. A strong message is sent if two or three of these ”safe seats” are captured. We need a few good men and women to start this rescue mission. IT CAN BE DONE ! As we speak the safest seat held by this admin. is ST Lucy. The tables are turning…..with time so will the Apple cart.

12. @ David January 17, 2015 at 5:47 AM #…We will have to wait and but there is some serious talk occurring by some heavy weights.——————

I do wish that there is ‘serious talk’ indeed.

It’s one thing to palaver here and play out ‘evidence’ of malfeasance by politicos but another thing altogether to defeat slick media, personal appeal campaigns and too the ‘cornbeef & fridge campaigns’.

As a commenter already alluded to, organizing and running a political party group is no walk-in-the-park and is even farther removed from running a ministry and then a country.

One fundamental aspect of these debates here has been the comment that the political class takes care of each-other. Implicit therefore that they are all alike.

So from where are these new (or old and experienced) but keen and unsullied politicos to be found is the question.

13. Agreed Deeword, the how is where the rubber always meet the rub.

14. Things are changing, times are changing.
    Years ago, this case would not have seen the light of day, furthermore the press or public.
    But, things and times are changing. Slowly! But changing none-the-less.
    I don’t want to join in the crucifixion of the Speaker of the House. Not because I respect, love, admire or adore him, but because he is symptomatic of what many lawyers in this country do to their clients continually: “Steal and cheat them out of their birthrights!”
    So we have a problem, and its a problem that can’t exclusively be solved by the introduction of more legislation, which will be undoubtedly be written by more lawyers, and, in a small society, friends and family of the perpetrators.
    We need a body or individuals, impartial(as much as they can be), and empowered to act on the behalf of the public, who are monitored and evaluated by said public, and whose only role is to protect the public from big business, lawyers, doctors and the list of charlatans that prey on the public.
    Short of that, the only answer will be Anarchy, the purest form of patriotism!

15. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

To much long talk , the House Rat needs to Go,

ONE RAT AT A TIME IF NEEDED , BY THE END OF THIS MONTH THE HOUSE WILL BE EMPTY,.

16. Anthony……you can deny all you like.

But I know that you are Dale Marshall and you heav ily patronise Karibu restaurant that is owned by Michael Carrington

That is why Barbadians would never hear you and Mia Mottley called for Michael Carrington to resign.

Who you trying to fool?

Mr. Karibu?

17. Watcher
    Add to that list priests,pastors,evangelist,prophets,or whatever name they go by.A local pastor was just in the news described as a “serial beggar”.I saw on an American TV channel called American Justice,a pastor before Judge Christina on charge of taking money by false pretences.When questioned he admitted to a written notice he had at his place of worship,telling the membership to sell all their worldly possessions and give the money to the church to spend on the poor and needy.Pressed further by the judge he admitted to having bought several homes and to my surprise he confirmed that takings from his exhortation amounted to the whopping sum of $10,000.00
    PER WEEK.Former Commissioner of Police William Holmes-a Court must be crying wherever he is;to think that in this age of enlightenment suckers still abound.And the local press got the gall to describe one as an influential
    leading cleric.Bunch ‘o frauds………….

18. @ Fractured BLP

Let’s make a deal.

Name me the time you want to meet there today and we will both introduce to each other.

I will be wearing a blue golf polo shirt.

19. Wunna mind Fractured BLP.He/she should tell the real connectio with George and Carrington.

Is a party made up of current MPs a “new” party?

20. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The problem here is that people are ignoring history for whatever reason. It is a fact that the Democratic Labour Party forms the Government and WALLOP ! -problems seem to multiply beyond control and for whatever reason, there is wailing and gnashing of teeth. We need to examine this fact of history. From 1971 to 2015 under Democratic Labour rule , whenever the DLP Government is in power , such things as third party talk , devaluation , industrial relations, social problems and myriad problems present. Is it the philosophy of the Democratic Labour Party ? What is it ? The 71 -76 period under the Dems was particularly hard and one of turmoil. The 86-91-94 period under the Dems was particularly troublesome. The period 2008- 2015 is the current period and we are living the reality, What I want participants in this course to do is to examine the above named periods and do a content analysis and state their findings and conclusions.

Given the situation, one is particularly peeved when one sees the likes of AC on this forum and hear the mouthings of Sleepy Smith , two current examples of a kind of depraved psychological Democratic support syndrome that ignores reality. People cannot be so biased . It is not possible unless there is some serious derangement.

But we need to critically examine those above mentioned periods and really come to grips with reality. It is something worthy of examination . Why is it that when the Democratic Labour Party forms the Government , things are Bleak but when the Barbados Labour Party forms the Government, Things are bountiful. I want the Trinadian woman to answer this question too. Remember your guide is the list of periods : 1971-76. 1986- 91; 1991- 94; 2008- 2013 and 2013- present

We do not want any responses from AC – the consortium .
    We would urge AC to do the polite thing and give us some respite.
    The Blog refuses to ban AC for any length of time.
    It is not easy to come to this Forum and be accosted with the AC pollution , day after day after day and that it is why I have scaled down my visits to this Forum . The Blog has stated that AC is not someone high in the DLP or part of the DLP or something to that effect. What the hell is this AC thing? Is someone trying to expose the folly of the DLP support syndrome that upholds nonsense regardless of its effect ? This is serious because as a Country such behaviour is detrimental to the country in many ways.

21. DR. THE HONOURABLE January 17, 2015 at 2:10 PM #

The problem here is that people are ignoring history for whatever reason. It is a fact that the Democratic Labour Party forms the Government and WALLOP ! -problems seem to multiply beyond control and for whatever reason, there is wailing and gnashing of teeth. We need to examine this fact of history. From 1971 to 2015 under Democratic Labour rule , whenever the DLP Government is in power , such things as third party talk , devaluation , industrial relations, social problems and myriad problems present. Is it the philosophy of the Democratic Labour Party ? What is it ? The 71 -76 period under the Dems was particularly hard and one of turmoil. The 86-91-94 period under the Dems was particularly troublesome. The period 2008- 2015 is the current period and we are living the reality, What I want participants in this course to do is to examine the above named periods and do a content analysis and state their findings and conclusions.

…………………………………………………………………………….

Thank you DR. THE HONOURABLE,

Well said.

I was just going to post a similar post after reading David’s post above about there being serious talk going on about another party.

My thinking was……why is it that every time the dems are in power, chaos ensues, people become depressed, despondent and hopeless.

Every single time, they are in power, the economy goes into turmoil and you have supporters like a cousin of mine told me….every time the dems are in power, things in the world go bad and it makes it look as if dems cannot govern. I told her you are right, dems do not know how to govern.

The dems f…….up Barbados, they do not want to admit that. We have the same people who helped the dead king and the dems get elected now being so shamed how thieving and bad the dems are, cannot bring themselves to say we were wrong but now to save face talking s…ite about a third party.

Third party my eye, are you going to make the same mistake and put another bunch of novices to run a government and the we end up worse than where we are now?

My goodness, people think! A third party will go no way, bajans will stick to their two party system……..dump the dems, they have destroyed Barbados and they need to go now.

Third party what! David are you going to be the leader?

22. The third partiers are those duped by David “the saviour” Thompson.

23. That is so true, Enuff.

How these people never saw through David Thompson is beyond me. I always saw him as all froth and no beer. The man never impressed me. I saw him only as an opportunist whose only goal in life was to become PM of Barbados.

He was never a worker, he inherited Barrow’s practice and look how that finally ended up. He resigned from the DLP when it needed rebuilding after Hurricane Sandi because he did not want to do the hard work. And when did he come back? After Clyde Mascoll did the hard work and rebuilt the party so to speak.

When he finally achieved his dream, he appointed a lot of people in the Finance ministry to do the work and he was practically a CEO PM, according to his buddy Peter Wickham.

Revelations after Thompson’s death have shown us he was a fraud. Bajans will not be duped again .

24. The BU house of Parliament is now in session.lawyers “supposedly”well versed in constitutional law.seems like more of the same to me

25. @ ac,… AND Dr.GP…

I amy wrongly be assuming blame for ac on Dr.GP. If the goodly Doc was actually in Barbayduss and practising when ac was born, maybe, just maybe, the Doc slapped ac in the face instead of the buttocks when she was born.

Likely this has caused these incoherent and wild ramblings that she is wont to produce.

So, Doc, please correct me if I am wrong, I don’t like making wrong assumptions to the detriment of a third party.

Even if you may have had just cause to thus slap ac in the wrong place.

26. some of the most revered men and woman in history has been accused of relying heavily on incoherent speech and wild ramblings..maybe they were slapped in the face..lucky them.

27. Update on Anthony a.k.a Dale Marshall.

I just had a chat with a staff member of Karibu restaurant.
    They have confirmed that Anthony is a pseudonym for Dale Marshall at that establishment and he always wears a blue polo shirt.

28. Fractured BLP. why uh so bad.!

29. @ Fractured BLP

Did they also confirm you are a JA and a coward?

30. So far let us do a check: Speaker of the House of Barbados Michael Carrington, a DLP elected member of parliament, has been exposed by. Court Order to be dishonest and a thief of client’s monies.

On Saturday, 17 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. David u so crazzzzy

32. is there a connection to this current story and the one in Pudding and Souse today?

If so, trouble is in the land!

33. I was reading “Flying Fish & Cou Cou” in the Saturday 17, 2015 edition of the Saturday Sun, and under the headline, “Bailiffs in hot pursuit”, I further read:

“Often in life when one things goes wrong, it is followed by another and another. This is a situation afflicting a certain person these days. This new troubling situation comes after an embarrassing one realted to certain matters.
    From what Cou Cou has been told, this individual is now being pursued by bailiffs for an outstanding credit card debt of at least $15,000. It would seem the management of the bank has grown tired of the promises to pay, and have decided to exercise their legal right to get what is duly theirs.”

Judging from the similarities within the context of Griffiths case, [i.e. “has grown tired of promises to pay, and have decided to exercise their legal right to get what is duly theirs”], could this article be referring to Carrington?

34. @ DR. THE HONOURABLE January 17, 2015 at 2:10 PM #

“The Blog has stated that AC is not someone high in the DLP or part of the DLP or something to that effect. What the hell is this AC thing? Is someone trying to expose the folly of the DLP support syndrome that upholds nonsense regardless of its effect ? This is serious because as a Country such behaviour is detrimental to the country in many ways.”

On a previous post, Hants made the following comments:

“Hants | September 19, 2014 at 3:10 PM | : ac is definitely a BLP supporter. Her sole function on this blog is to create enemies for the DLP.”

After taking into consideration the shiite the AC’s contributed in defense of Michael Carrington’s actions, I am now inclined to agree with Hants.

35. @ Anthony January 17, 2015 at 9:35 AM #

“I am not Dale Marshall and have never voted for any political party.”

Anthony, you have been making some very good contributions on BU, and I’m surprised a man of your intelligence would be engaging in this type of trivial back and forth relative to you being Dale Marshall or not, with someone the likes of Fractured BLP, who has never contributed anything of substance to BU.

Wuh shiite, the PDC and some other DLP nut-case accused me of being Anthony Wood.

Ignore the yard-fowl and continue making your contributions.

36. .! ..In my humble opinion a puzzle is not complete until all the correct and corresponding pieces are put in their right places .

37. Being a long standing member of the BU household the calls to revoked ac,s membership have soley been done by the BLP yardfowls and on occasion by the paper boy Hants.
    The run up to every election has always evoke thunderous emotions and rapid lightning strikes to cripple .ac has grown accustomed and is mindful and fully aware and alert of the fact that the BLp hope and desire is to control ,divide , using a bullwhip to destroy and demonise those with opposing views.ac,s have travelled that road before and has remain steadfast ! composed!and unscathed.

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I will borrow from the counterintelligence definition (Wikipedia) of a “triple agent” to add my take on AC or “legion”

“A triple agent pretends to be a double agent for one side, while he or she is truly a double agent for the other side. Famous triple agents include Kim Philby and Alexander Litvinenko.

A lesser used definition of triple agent is an agent who works for three intelligence services, but is usually truly loyal to only one of them.”

Much like “The Anatomy of a Great Deception” one has to peel the layers of an onion to find an non existent nut I too was intrigued by AC’s many personalities as (i) the erratic female whom SSS was able to bait so well (ii) the studied conversant and (iii) the other two less brilliant personifications with a common denominator – absolute devotion to the DLP

But your Machiavellian “triple agent” plot does not ring completely true if you look at the “focal point of the light rays”

The disjointed strategy and representations support that “Legion” is an agent but certainly not a “double agent” because to be such, mindful of the non-cohesiveness their collective remit and actions, tends to show where their allegiances lie.

For one to be inclined per the double agent status you would have to know or decipher what the AC stands for.

If it is “Alternating Current” or something like that well just maybe you and Hants are right but if it is like Annabelle Carter or a real person then them is a die hard DLP suppporter and their rapid response of 8.54 a.m would confirm that

LONG LIVE THE DLP, (UNTIL 2018 or WHEN Estwick qualify for his pension and he pull up DEM stumps)

39. What is this nonsense Tariq Khan, president of the BA, is referring to on the backpage of the Sunday Sun re: a few bad apples creating a problem for the profession. What about an ineffective Bar Association? Did Griffiths not write to the BA with no result?

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

I knew that it had to happen.

The very people, the very Haman, that is planning the death of Mordecai and the Jews, in the person of Tariq Khan, rising in “righteous indignation” to present a story regarding the “bad apples”!!!

How is that part of the BU website that you promised progressing?

The place where we can post the instances of collusion and professional improprieties of members of the legal fraternity?

41. @PUDRYR

Unfortunately we have not received submission to the extent we thought we would have. Let us give it a couple of weeks.

42. @ pieceuhderockyeahright January 18, 2015 at 10:39 AM #

“How is that part of the BU website that you promised progressing? The place where we can post the instances of collusion and professional improprieties of members of the legal fraternity?”

Piece, I posted a contribution of an instance where an individual known to me was duped by a lawyer, Joseph H. Serrant, and had to forfeit the settlement he was to receive as a result of injuries sustained in an accident in 2002.

However, no one seemed interested that a start was made.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I saw your start.

It was the first on the blog but I think that the Blogmaster had suggested a different process to what you did.

By the way.

The manner in which you did it was splendid.

Third person reporting which (i) reports all of the parties involved with the supporting Case number (ii) provides a summary of the matter that is easily understood (iii) presents the facts of the matter in such a dispassionate manner and (iv) gives a succinct rendition that, even if you were Serrant, the plaintiff, the lawyer who duped the awardee, could not accuse you, nor BU, of LIBEL

It should be the Template for BU articles on “Lawyers Known to the Court” or what Tariq Khan (who may soon feature in that corner) would call “The Small Minority of Legal Buzzards”

44. We have asked submissions to our inbox. Will post a blog about how we should approach this matter later in the week.

45. Can’t find this restaurant on the west coast called Karibu. At the bottom of Holder’s Hill and Paynes Bay roads is a building housing the Roti Den and Sprinkles but no Karibu as stated.Leaving this building and going towards
    Bridgetown is a small outfit with a tent like contraption.There is a sign Karibu outside of what is/was an ice cream parlour.Is that a restaurant now?

46. Now look at that U (gabriel ) actually took time “out” to go on a hunting expedition looking for wild geese and bear (bare) meat,.,, glad u ended up at a cul-de-sac,,

47. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Does the Trinadian woman on brasstacks know AC ?
    The Trinidadian woman can respond but has the right to remain silent

48. We are suppose to be following the Westminster model of government. If this had occurred in the British House of Commons, the Prime Minister and/or members of the party would have asked the Speaker to join a club called the Chilterns Hundreds. One cannot be a member of the Chilterns Hundreds and still hold a seat in parliament at the same time. A graceful way out.

49. The challenge for the prime minister is that he is forced to make political decisions only given a weak hold on government. He has no backbench. The national interest and ability to discipline ministers have to be sacrificed at the alter of political expediency.

50. dr, honorable the most honorable thing for you to do is to stop taking time “out: of your day to read ac.s comment, it would save you a lot of pain and unbearable punishment, now keep a stepping clown