I guess the washing services at Case de Suckay isn't working either..
Laundry services @Casa Grande

Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Is this a case of deja vu or some new mumbo-jumbo all over again? How come every time visitors from the motherland set foot here in Barbados there is  some controversy? Yes I speak of the 90 or so African (Nigerian) students who have unfortunately somehow found themselves temporarily sojourning at Casa Blanca.

While one would willing admit, that all facts and circumstances surrounding are still unclear, one cannot help but ponder WHY in a country whose number one revenue earner is tourism, this mishap would not have been somehow nipped in the bud by now. Have some ever heard of damage control or contingency management? Is this not what is supposedly being taught at our School of Hospitalities Studies nowadays….how to pamper one’s guest and go all out wherever possible, to see that they are comfortable and adequately accommodated? Ironically, some of these  very students are said to be here to learn from us the  social science of Hotel Management and Hospitalities.

As stated before all circumstance are not clear as to how  these ‘our visitors’ found themselves in the circumstance, however one would tend to believe that by now all would have been resolved. Finger pointing at this stage does nothing to end the mix up, damage control should be paramount. “Postponing the solution does nothing to resolve the problem”..that by now should be clear.

105 responses to “Oulatunje?… yes brother I am here”

1. @ Anthony

The Student who returned home was ask to do so by her husband. He as not in favour of her coming here in the 1st place. Since the hotel issues she figured it was time to return.

2. BU has written to Donna St.Hill to provide clarification on a few issues arising.

3. @ Fix it

I can’t blame her.

Despite what you are implying a lot of these guys are highly educated and ALL DESERVED BETTER.

4. The hairstyle causing confusion at Kolig

#whatsuccesslookslike #kolijnatural

Open letter to principal of Harrison College

5. Michelle jean hairdo

6. St George's Dragon Avatar

Just a few points of correction and a couple of questions:
    1. The Principal of BCC was stated in the Nation article on Sunday as being the person who signed the contract for the Nigerians’ training; it was the Board which was apparently kept in the dark about the arrangements. Is that normal, or is something worthy of investigation there?
    2. If it is correct that US$500,000 has gone missing, you don’t need to place the blame at the Nigerian end of the arrangements, it is surely more sensible to ask when it left the Barbados organiser’s accounts and who had access to them. Why is Sharon Brathwaite no longer the administrator? Is there a connection?
    3. GP will correct me if I am wrong, but I thought scabies is a mite transmitted by skin-to-skin contact – I have seen nothing to say it is water-borne.

7. What a tangled web .Its all coming to the fore now. Deputy Governor and his Mistress, a working Afro- Barbados Joint venture. Looks like the taxpayers of Barbados will eventually, once again,have to finance the repatriation of these used Nigerians.
    Mr Comissiong and Co need to point fingers and make demands of those responsible for this mess, and stop trying ,as usual , to rail road the government of Government.

8. Is this the same Government that touted transparency, the same Government that the PM was referred as being honest, is this the same government that claimed to be for the people????Is this the same government that has put laws in place to protect disabled citizens?

NEVER in the history of Barbados has any member of Parliament brought the oldest parliament in the western hemisphere into such disrepute. Has this crop of leader no conscience? No pride? How can anyone with money want to invest in this country? This is another self inflicted gunshot and downgrade.

Barbados I weep for you!

9. They say when you reach rock bottom, there is no other way out but UP. This government has equip themselves with a couple of pneumatic drills, in the bottom of the Barbados solid waste pit.
    Say what you like about them. Insult and belittle them all you want. They are not going to budge,until every manjack of them qualifies for a pension. This is a case of constipation. Some hard pieces jamming the works.

10. Correct me if I am wrong. I was under the impression that those photos of the Nigerians and Casa Granda saga, were the works of a Nation staff or a local Freelance photographer. How come that we see the Sahara Reporter claiming credit for these same photographs which were first published in the Nation?

11. Listened to the Parliamentary Secretary in the ministry of tourism who seems to be the only government person addressing the issue deflecting the matter to Donna St. Hill. Unfortunately, and this is sad, is that while our national reputation is being dented we have the government NOT taking ownership of this matter.

12. Im still getting these sort of e mails. almost daily. I would not trust anything with a Nigerian connection. I think Barbados has been had (again)

Federal High Court of Nigeria (federalhighcourtn@gmail.com) Add to contacts 1/10/2015

Federal High Court of Nigeria Headquarters
    24, Oyinkon Abayomi Drive, Ikoyi, RM.B. 40012,
    Falomo, Ikoyi, Lagos Tel: (234) 813 430 4553,
    Fax: (01) 2091036

Attention:

In our office today, was presence of One Mr. Paul T. Godwin of 122 Fitch Way, Sacramento, CA.USA 95864filling application contrary to your pending Fund transfer. The above-mentioned person visited this Court yesterday with a power of attorney given in his favor by your good self, granting him benefits to process and claims your inheritance of $2,000.000.00(Two Million United States Dollars Only) for personal reasons.
    He further Stated that your account be terminated while the Fund should be transferred to his Bank account with Bank of America, Account Number # 910085730457 Routing Number# 126050317.Our office have ask Mr. Paul T. Godwin to return Back to our Court to enable us have a personal confirmation from you being hither to the beneficiary.
    However, we are sorry to have delayed your instruction in giving out this Fund since we must adhere to the mod us operand of this honorable Court by making sure this requests verified and confirmed by the beneficiary and his existing attorney. Your confirmation on the above will be appreciated.

If you did not instructed this man to come all the way from your country to claim your fund please get back to us before the next 48hrs with below details, Before we can proceed.

(1) Your Full Name
    (2) House mailing address
    (3) Your sex, age and marital status
    (4) Phone number for conversation
    (5) Your current occupation
    {6} Your Country.

Meanwhile, As soon as we receive the listed information we will now give you the contact of the paying Bank, that is in charge of your inheritance Fund Transfer. Feel free to call me if you for more information on how to receive your Fund.

Thanks and co-operation are needed.

Yours sincerely
    Chief Registrar, Ayo N. Emmanuel,
    Federal High Court of Nigeria Headquarters

13. We keep implying that this incident with the Nigerians is going to hurt Barbados’s reputation worldwide. These may be considered harsh words. But with the exception of some Bajans and some other Caribbean people, the rest of the world are not going a single tear for the Nigerians ,as their reputation has long preceded them.

14. That should have read, “the rest of the world are not going to shed a single tear………”

15. @Exclaimer January 12, 2015 at 1:11 PM “Once in the country they would have the opportunity to abscond or perhaps seek refugee status. Barbados would be a stepping stone for these individuals. Their likely destination lies in Canada or the USA.”

!. How does one hide in a place as small as Barbados?
    2. Is it likely that thes students would be granted U.S. or Canadian visas while they are temporarily in Barbados?
    3. And the would claim refugee status from what?

16. @yatinkiteasy January 13, 2015 at 1:36 PM “Im still getting these sort of e mails. almost daily.”

Does your computer have a delete button? Well use it.

If your friends and relative don;t give you money why would you expect or accept money from a stranger?

17. @ Colonel Buggy
    …again you are on the button.
    A set of jokers (coming from Nigeria to Barbados to learn Hospitality??!! ….for $10M dollars??) make a PRIVATE arrangement to undertake an illogical and expensive trip to Barbados…..wuh dat is THEIR business.

It turns out to be a mess (surprise surprise…) and we have BAJANS calling on the government to spend Bushie’s SHIITE taxes to clean up the mess??!!??

WUNNA SERIOUS?

What the HELL?
    Why not call on Government to investigate (Police) and lock someone’s ASS up after recovering the stolen money…?

Why not call on the organizers to immediately satisfy the commitment THEY made to these people?….OR ELSE!!!

Why not suggest that the “students” return home (they DO have return tickets …NO?) and realise that THEY have been scammed?

But no…..wunna want BUSHIE to pay shiite tax so that our shiite government can cover the cost – while the crooks go quietly on their way…

….like how LP got CLICO money living big…and the shiite government looking to pay
    ….like how Byer got the Caves money and government (Bushie) paid
    Like how Carrington got the man money and feel um is his…
    ….like how somebody got millions from Coverley and brass bowls gotta pay..

Steupsss …. Bajans are THE biggest brass bowls anywhere.

The only thing about this that damages our reputation is how people must be laughing at our stupid asses….

18. @Bush Tea

You are trivialising the issue. It is a private arrangement but it is impacting our reputation. As a destination which depends on that reputation the government has a vested interest in containing the matter.

19. NONSENSE David.

This shiite can and does happen anywhere …. from Switzerland to Timbuktu. The world is full of crooks, idiots and scammers.

The difference in Barbados is that we have this way of excusing THIEVES and feeling that the damn government is to solve every shiite.

ANYWHERE ELSE, someone would have been charged by now, the FACTS would be public knowledge and the TRUE culprits would be called to account…..

BUT NOT BOUT HERE….

Reputation Bushies donkey…. what reputation is that? the place is nasty except for certain foreign owned and managed properties…
    every shiite is too expensive because of endemic UNPRODUCTIVELY..

Our reputation is of being lazy and spoilt ….and gullible….what reputation what?!?

We need a reputation for openness, transparency and HONESTY….
    THAT is the reputation we need to worry about….

20. @ David,
    What’s happening in BIM? We seem to lurch from one disaster to the next. Are we not, soon, due a change of fortune?

21. @ Bush Tea

Yuh shotting…..up and on

22. Did we hear Donna St. Hill explaining that the BCC will be ready for the students next week and that they had an orientation session yesterday? Then again Donna is trained in public relations. We await her response to our communication.

23. @ David
    The most commonly accepted fact about Community College is the fact that annually, large numbers of Bajans fail to gain admission because of the demand.
    Has this changed?
    Now that many are opting to bypass UWI (since it is no longer ‘free’ )one would have expected an even greater demand for BCC…

How will we explain turning Bajans away to the blocks while making room for 90 outsiders?
    Why would not an option for 10 bajan teachers to set up a college in Nigeria over the next two years not have been considered? THAT has to cost less….and expose MORE students to hospitality training…

steupsss

You very well know that when you say “US $10m” around Nigerians or Bajans all sorts of shiite starts to happen…. 🙂

…and this involves BOTH….?!?!
    LOL ha ha ha …Shiirt!!

24. We can explain it, US dollars.

25. @ David,
    Orientation session for the Nigerians has commenced. The first session took place at the illustrious 3Ws Oval at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/62078/orientation-session-nigerians

@ Bush Tea, a good chance for you to meet the ancestors.

26. @ Colonel Buggy,

It is clear to me that the Bajan and the Nigerian are mutually incompatible. All efforts to force a bond between these two countries will always end in failure. We should admit to this fact.

I suggest that our foreign policy should identify those countries who share our common values. Sadly, I do not recognise Nigeria as being one of those countries.

27. @ Exclaimer January 14, 2015 at 7:13 PM #
    ……………………………………………………………….
    And I believe that many of the West Indians,who went to the UK in the early days, would agree with you.

28. Minister Ronald Jones announced earlier that the Barbados Government has appointed Dr Derick Murray, as a sort of third umpire to co-ordinate the activities of the Nigerian student programme . I do hope that Dr Murray is more effective than the Tribunal and the Ombudsman, whoever he is.

29. Trinidad contractor Avatar
    Trinidad contractor

Trinidad contractor,

This is just a continuation of the confusion and betrayal of the Nigerian officials, this said group left Trinidad with outstanding bills pending to be paid. The transport company has been left with a bill and everyone pointing fingers. But for some reason all the fingers is being pointed back to Donna St.Hill… A word of suggestion anyone doing business pertaining to this group need to collect payments IN ADVANCE.
    The students are innocent in this whole situation as these officials has be entrusted with funds to ensure these students are taken care of and all expenses are covered.
    So where has the money disappeared to? Where is the accountability? What needs to happen for the Nigerian officials to fix this?

30. And a fairly recent report in TNT Mirror

The immigration official then added: “Immigration officers are under tremendous pressure in the execution of their jobs.
    “Trinidad and Tobago is a global ‘hot spot’ for illegal immigrants and people seeking a better way of life.
    “I think there may be close to six hundred thousand illegal immigrants in the country at present.
    “There are Guyanese, Jamaicans, Grenadians, Vincentians, Africans, Chinese, Syrians, Indians and now a lot of Latin Americans coming in and settling because Trinidad and Tobago has wealth, a stable Government with a very liberal lifestyle.
    “These people can come in and live unmolested.
    “From my experience, the Nigerians are very hostile people, not very amenable, while some of the Jamaicans are very violent. We had a meeting recently with a leading company in the fast food sector and we had to make in clear that the CSME does not allow for those sort of workers.”
    Efforts to get a comment from Chief Immigration Officer Gerry Downes proved futile but National Security Minister Gary Griffith dismissed the estimation by the senior immigration official.

31. “From my experience, the Nigerians are very hostile people, not very amenable
    Bushie was forced to jump to a similar conclusion when one of these students went on national TV here, THREATENING Barbados with “reputation damage” if they did not get their way….

Wuh shiite….
    You turn up in a strange place having made shitty arrangements with questionable characters and have the GALL to threaten a country whose only role was to allow your sorry ass to come here in the first place….???

Even if you are upset with the arrangement made by YOUR representative why are you trying to BULLY innocent Bajans? … just because you can see that they are bowls of a brazen metal?

…wuh dem think dem is the West Indies Cricket Team in India or wuh?

Bushie has encountered multiple shoddy arrangements in travels from Paris to Trinidad…..and many other places between….from housing, to transport, to luggage to schedules….
    One just accept blame for lack of sufficient preparation and planning….does the best that one can, ….and ENSURE that such a situation can NEVER be repeated…

But to blame and threaten the innocent brass bowls in the Barbados Government.?… not very amenable at all…. LOL

32. @trinidad contractor

Can you email details of delinquent payments by the organizer?

33. He has stopped short of saying the Speaker of the House should resign. But the man at the centre of the civil dispute with Michael Carrington says he will go as far as seeking an order to seize his assets to get money due to him.

In an exclusive interview with Barbados TODAY at his Waterhall Terrace, St James home this evening, John Griffiths said he had waited too long on the attorney-at-law to hand over an additional $210,000 remaining from the sale of his late aunt’s property at Dayrells Road, Christ Church.

Carrington vacated his chair when Parliament resumed sittings yesterday, after Leader of the Opposition Business in the House Santia Bradshaw questioned whether he should oversee proceedings in light of news that he had failed to hand over funds to Griffiths.

Asked this evening whether he wanted Carrington to step down, 78-year-old Griffiths would only say: “I had lived in England for quite some time and if a [matter] like that had happened in England . . . either the prime minister would sack him the next day, or he would resign himself.”

What he was sure about was that he would head back to the High Court to ask the judge to enforce an earlier order that Carrington, who was handling the matter for almost 14 years, hands over all documents related to the case as well as monies due.

John Griffiths says he has been waiting too long for what is rightfully his.

“I am not quite sure about the procedure. We would have to ask for an order to seize his assets and get our money . . . I want a settlement and I want my funds. That is the most thing that I want. I want that funds in my account so I can pay out the other beneficiaries,” insisted Griffiths, who has been acting as representative for the estate of his late aunt Muriel Worrell.

He said he had only received about $44,950 from Carrington, but approximately $210,000 was still outstanding in relation to the sale of one of the two properties left in the will of his aunt Muriel Worrell.

“[Carrington] was supposed to probate the will and what happened is he got all the assets from my aunt. My aunt had two properties and one was sold. I thought he was going to turn it over to me, but he never did. So at the moment, he has all the assets of my aunt’s properties,” he said.

Griffiths went to the High Court asking for the funds to be handed over. On December 9, 2014, Madame Justice Jacqueline Cornelius ruled in his favour, ordering Carrington to render an account of all sums belonging to the Worrell estate which he had received on Griffiths’ behalf, within 28 days, and pay all monies shown by the same account to be due, along with interest retroactive to May 13, 2014 until payment was made.

Griffiths said he planned to meet next week with his new lawyer, Khamaal A. Collymore, to see if Carrington had honoured the order.

“Up to this day we haven’t had a reply from Mr Carrington,” he said.

“I phone him, I write him, I emailed him many times without any reply. Within the 14 years I used to see him quite regularly but within the past seven years, I would see him about four, five, six times.”

Griffiths said initially it was the probate and not the money from the sale that was the focus of his discussions with Carrington.

However, he said, two other beneficiaries had been breathing down his neck to get the matter concluded and he began to put pressure on his attorney.

“I was going to him and saying, ‘when is it going to come to an end?’ We were just being pushed back, pushed back all the time. The court ordered him to hand over all the documents he had, which we had agreed to two years ago. I decided, ‘well, this is it. You not doing anything, so we taking the business out of your hands and contacting someone else to carry on with the probate to get to the end of the matter’.”

The claimant recalled that back then, Carrington promised to hand over the documents within two weeks.

“That was over two years ago and we have not received any documents and we repeatedly phoned, emailed, went to his officer without any reply,” he charged.

Carrington has declined to comment, yesterday telling Barbados TODAY that he did not discuss his clients’ cases.
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/01/15/im-sorry-2/

34. Trinidad contractor Avatar
    Trinidad contractor

David, my company supplied all the bus shuttle for this group from the airport to the hotel and the daily shuttle from the hotel to the school and back. I received one payment. They arrived in Trinidad on Dec 1st 2014 and payment was made on Dec 11th 2014 to cover the first 2 to 3 days and after that I kept being promised another payment is on it’s way. My company was subcontracted by the person that was awarded the contract, however I have stand the risk to supply the service and pay all drivers. Now that they left I have been asking my contact and he keep saying talks is on with Donna to have the payments made, I don’t know what the talks is about if a service was provided, payments should be made. My staff was professional and on time and more than accommodating for the students. So it is quit unfair now for me to have to resort to highlighting this matter in an attempt to collect for the outstanding invoices. The person that contract me claims he submitted a letter to the Nigerian High Commissioner requesting that they cover the outstanding invoices, but that again referred back to Donna St.Hill as it was stated he received the funding for the said venture and was responsible to handle such matters,

35. Thanks Trinidad Contractor.

If you can email details to Barbados underground contact details at top of page IF you want us to give the matter prominence.

36. Here is a ranking list of the top ten foreign nationalities currently serving time in UK jails.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2614279/Poland-tops-league-foreign-inmates-UK-jails-ahead-Ireland-Jamaica.html

37. BT once Myrie got greased the world was watching, the treaty of chicamunga or chatanooga will be invoked , another 3 country judicial review and meet and greet will happen .Barbados will owe these students money for the trauma they have suffered …and oh yeh the lawyers will be paid.

38. @ lawson

Barbados will owe these students money for the trauma they have suffered …and oh yeh the lawyers will be paid.

From your first comment I saw that U were out to play devil’s advocate……stupess….have you ever heard of burden of proof? Yah mean I now come back to D island from the ole moses.. to find all this melo-drama….can’t believe me eyes….or yeah Watcher..I got burden of proof fa U too…standby.

39. @ Trinidad Subcontractor

The Nigerian High Commissioner was correct.

The road from the original contractor leads to the Organiser Ms. St. Hill for any payment of services or any team she may have representing her organisation in Trinidad.

Ms. St. Hill has no payment obligations to your company as you were the sub-contractor not hired by her/or her team.

Ms. St. Hill or her Trinidad team could claim that she paid all money for transportation owed to your contractor and hence he/she is pulling the wool over your eyes.

Whether that is factual or not.

Your fight is with your contractor to get all monies due since you sub-contracted from him/her and you have completed your obligation to services rendered regardless of your contractor receiving payment (s).

40. @ Watcher
    The Watcher January 11, 2015 at 11:32 PM #

I never said I didn’t like them or made any derogatory remarks about them. So, please read carefully and comprehend whats being said so that my comments aren’t misconstrued in any way.

YET…..earlier

The Watcher January 11, 2015 at 10:09 AM #

This case is, to my mind, a hard one to decipher and come to a decision on who’s really at fault here, or who is at the most fault.

Worldwide, Nigerians are not readily trusted or appreciated because of their excessive propensity towards deception and deceit.
    That said, meet Ms R.A. Merchandani otherwise known as “Ms RAM”, who, if examined alongside the Nigerian stereotype, looks no different to many people

…….who knickers twisted now? get real…

41. @ Colonel Buggy,

I sent you the wrong link earlier. The link below goes into more detail on what crimes some of these criminals have committed.

Our government appears to have a poor grasp of how certain foreign countries have become mere breeding grounds for rampant criminality.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/poles-top-foreign-inmate-list-3463695

42. Can I ask a few not so clamour question to this hangman jury? So how many people are there in Barbados- then- how many are crooks?…likewise- How many people are there in Nigeria?

BTW wait ah can’t forget to ask for Bushie…..how many Brassbowls there are on BU?…LOL.A.;So.

43. ……How many less than Honorable men you can\could find…with hands caught in the cookie jar both past and present ?….surely one would be in more fertile ground…but I is just a fisherman, whose great great gran dad MAY have been Nigerian.

44. Bajans are forever bellyaching that they have been hoodwinked and betrayed at the last general election campaign by the members of the ruling party. We are gullible set of people, too eager to sit back and let other people pull our strings like damn poppets. Is it any wonder that we have now been downgraded to 3rd/4th class citizens in the land of our birth. First it was the planter class, then along came the Asians , pushing us into 3rd Class,and literally kicking us out of Swan Street. And rapidly bringing up the rear , are the Chinese, who will soon overtake us, owning plots of land in places which were for ages, occupied by Barbadians. .
    Is it any wonder that foreigners with a visiting Circus were able to break into a bank at Oistins some years ago under the noses of the police and got away with a tidy sum,after causing a power black out in the area. Is it any wonder that some years ago a group of Bajan and Colombian prisoners escaped from Glendairy,the Bajans were soon caught and the Colombians got away scot free. Is it any wonder that a team of Bulgarians came into Barbados and had a field day with many of our ATM’s. Is it any wonder that many run of the mill jobs are now being given to people from outside of the region . And there is a host of other cases. We are too easy and trusting.
    I have a feeling that even if these Nigerians were accommodated at the Infinity Hotel as is their wish , that they would have still kicked up a similar fuss. They are not idiots,and are using a similar tactic employed by those terrorists in that troubled British city across the sea in the ’70’s and ’80’s. When a new British unit was posted into the province, Rent-a-Riot was brought into action , to test the new unit’s resolve . If the unit reacted in a tough manner, they tended to keep well clear of it,but if that unit made a timid cock-up in handling the situation,then the terrorists and residents would have taken it to the bone,for the duration of its tour. In Bajan parlance, Throwing a Sprat.
    I am glad that the Barbados Government , intentionally, or unintentionally, did not cave in at the first sign of trouble ,as many would have wanted it to do.

45. If some people had their way…all people from that country, should be line up and shot, just so no one else would be able to be ” hoodwinked and betrayed”by these blackguards…..kill D mudda, U sure to kill the calf

46. follow da money

47. Boko Haram gusto……fire go burn botty men

48. Nigerian students expressed thanks to all those who stood behind them and understands their plight….they say things are lookin mo favorable now since intro. of Govt rep Dr..