Dover Stinky Skip

BU acknowledges the effort by the Nation newspaper Editor highlighting the garbage disposal problem in Barbados. An overflowing skip dubbed ‘Dover Stinky Skip’ located at Dover, Christ Church – a key tourism location – was featured on todays front page. How the minister responsible, Denis Lowe, continues to head the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) boggles the minds of sensible Barbadians. There is an obvious breakdown in the waste collection (and disposal) system in Barbados and the buck stops with minister Lowe.

Some interesting information was shared with the public today. We learned that the National Conservation Commission (NCC), a state entity under the ministry of the environment is paying Hinds Transport for the rental of the skip featured on todays front page. Why has garbage collection in Dover/St. Lawrence Gap been outsourced to a private entity? Isn’t the SSA operating under the same ministry? Why does the ministry of the environment headed by minister Denis Lowe continue to outsource collection to the private sector if the SSA is mandated to deliver the same service? Is this a similar arrangement the SSA has with the Williams Group to provide services at Mount Stinkeroo?

Is the NCC the same statutory corporation that sent home staff claiming it not longer had the resources to keep them employed?

Sandals Barbados donates fence to Dover Sports Club

What is interesting is that the member of parliament for the St. Lawrence area John Boyce is also the minister of health. BU understands he is also a member of Dover Club, although nowadays he prefers to spend his free time at the Barbados Golf Club, hopefully on his time. Wasn’t minister Boyce along with minister Lashley spotted in the same area last week dutifully attending a grip and grin session with personnel from Sandals who handed over a fence to the Dover Club? Did they not spot or sniff the skip that is strategically located nearby? Isn’t it ironic the Dover Stinky Skip was located in close proximity to the new fence donated by Sandals to the Dover Club?

Something stinks alright and it is not the Dover Stinky Skip!

221 responses to “Lowe Garbage Waste”

1. @Prodigal Son January 1, 2015 at 3:41 PM “Does Sinkler know how silly he sounds criticizing Standards & Poors? Does he realise that he is NOT an economist and does not understand finance?”

Honestly I don’t think that he does.

2. Btw,what has become of the garrulous,loquacious,talkative,know all GoCBB.Ever since the issue with the Nation,the man has backpeddled from the public glare which he seemed to enjoy,prattler that he was.Or is there something more sinister in the offing,like the IMF insistence that the MoF not tinker with the monetary policy of the country,so the de facto mouthpiece of fiscal policy has been told to shut yo’ donkey.

3. @Gabriel

Wasn’t the Governor suppose to hold 12 video/press presentations to replace those cancelled? BU recalls one show hosted by David Ellis a few months ago.

The MoF promised on a VoB show to send some info to Corey Layne, was it sent?

4. Political rhetoric can also be ascribed to Donville Inniss as well, especially when we constantly hear him with his favourite phrases, “It can’t be business as usual” or “the opposition is criticizing but not bringing solutions”.

Recently, we had the usual “huff and puff” from Estwick when he gave a deadline for the prime minister to meet him, as well as asking him [Stuart] to “reprimand and charge” Sinckler for misleading the cabinet on the proposed $500M Barbados Cane Industry Restructuring Project [which ultimately proves there is some tension between Estwick and Sinckler].

However, when asked to comment on these developments, Inniss was quoted as saying “I will say that after almost seven years in the Cabinet we are still one happy family. We have our differences [and] opinions from time to time, but we are still a group of dear loving people.”
    Pure political rhetoric, but then again, what else can he say?

But here is where more political rhetoric comes in…….. against the background of the failures of this present administration during 2014, his constant lambasting of the private sector and public sector, while asking for private sector investment when it’s convenient to him, Inniss had the audacity to say he “actually feel pretty upbeat about the past year and even more upbeat about” 2015.

5. criticism of Innis would not replace Mia mouthing and gesturing to political door stoppers , MIA is the one of the major players in contention for PM , anything she says and done would been seen through a different lens

6. I remember sometime in early October 2010, Ricky Jordan, of the Nation newspaper, wrote an article entitled “Estwick Given Raw Deal?”. A few days after, a response to Jordan’s article, in the form of a paid advertisement, was published in the October 17, 2010 edition of the Sunday Sun, which sought to highlight the achievements of Estwick.

One of the achievements attributed to Estwick was his being able to implement a 2009 budget proposal of the establishment of an Early Warning Economic System, which was launched on September 27, 2010.

Estwick stressed what he had in mind was important because Government needed to know “when Barbados’ economic environment has reached a point where it threatens the stability of the country’s economic profile”.
    He also said this meant that “out of this crisis we would have been able to create a system that will allow us to better analyse the macro-economic stability of Barbados and possibly instability, when you are under threat as in the international crisis that now exists”.

The following excerpts were taken from a post on the GIS website entitled “An Early Economic Warning System Is Vital”: Published on October 1, 2010 by Julie Wilson

“Based on the results of the three indices, Dr. Estwick indicated that government officials, managers and the business sector, would be equipped with additional information that would allow them to “better plan for their business life cycle and implement the requisite strategies to keep them afloat, during the economic crisis.”

“It would also assist economic planners to have a better understanding of how the economy works; enhance the planning and implementation ability of the Government; provide the tools for improving policy advice to Government Ministers and Permanent Secretaries on the economy and to pinpoint changes in the macro-economic environment.”

Has the government abandoned this “Early Economic Warning System”, especially taking into consideration the amount of downgrades Barbados has experienced?

7. I tell wunna smoke & mirrors……

8. @Artaxerxes January 1, 2015 at 3:16 PM #

But we must ask ourselves if this incompetent lot has the ability to overcome these challenges. So for, they have demonstrated they cannot. They have continued to “put together a little something” to appease the IMF, Moody’s, etc., and present it to Barbadians in the form of a budget or a ministerial statement. Bajans are well aware that the policies articulated in the budget are either slowly implemented or not implemented at all, and the ministerial statements have no real meaning because they usually contain many unsubstantiated generalized statements.

But the irony of it all is….. after each budget or ministerial statement, we can expect a downgrade…………………………..

If this was not so serious, we would laugh, eh? You think he should know to shut the hell up.

These Dems play politics at every turn. I well remember when the downgrades started, we had one ac and Carson C Cadogan on BU dismissing Standards & Poors and Moodys and turning the blame to the BLP……………….well there were downgrades under OSA. Dems have never accepted responsibility for anything they have done since 2008, it is always OSA’ fault and the worst world recession ever but never anything that they have done.

Is there any doubt why we are in this mess. They are in denial!

9. Besides the usual suspect Straughn, Stephens and that lot, what are the other Economists in Barbados saying?

10. @ Prodigal Son January 1, 2015 at 6:37 PM #

“Is there any doubt why we are in this mess. They are in denial!”

Yes Prodigal, you are correct, the DEMS and their supporters are in denial. Rather than addressing the problems facing Barbados, they chose to blame Arthur, Mia, Ryan Straughn, Jeremy Stephen, BLP, S&P, IMF, Moody’s, BU contributors, Nation newspaper, VOB, “Brass Tacks”, Corey Layne, Dennis Johnson, Peter Wickham and anyone who may offer constructive criticism of their policies.

And don’t forget their constant references to the in-fighting going on in the BLP. But they must be cautioned not to be so zealous, because there was an occasion, in 2001 to be exact, when there was some very serious in fighting within the DLP as well. At that time Denis Kellman was one of the major players in contention for leadership of the party and for PM.

I will refresh their memories by listing the following:

(Sep 24): David Thompson resigns abruptly as president and political leader.

(Nov 3): The DLP meets for an hour and a half, but fails to decide whether Thompson or Kellman should be the political leader of the party.

(Nov 12): Party decides not to name MP Dennis Kellman as political leader, and opts instead to have Senator Clyde Mascoll become the convener of parliamentary group meetings.

(Nov 14): MP Denis Kellman blasts his party’s General Council decision (on Wednesday night) as the kind you would expect in a “banana republic”

(Nov 17): MP Denis Kellman says he is POLITICAL LEADER, and questions why David Thompson did not inform party executive of contents of his letter. SAYS HE WILL NOT ABIDE BY DECISIONS OF HIS PARTY EXECUTIVE.

But their response to these accusations would be democracy is alive in the DLP.

11. old onions bags Avatar

Dems have never accepted responsibility for anything they have done since 2008, it is always OSA’ fault and the worst world recession ever but never anything that they have done.

Is there any doubt why we are in this mess. They are in denial!

What of any worth or mention has these misfits done that is POSITIVE….for this 11 x 16 rock since taking office? Anyone?……maybe free bus rides for the needy school children….not one rass else. But yet they have increased the national debt in 5 yrs to surpass what it took OSA to ascribe in his 14 year reign. Where are the comparable fixed assets like Kensington, the Gynasyium or Dodds prison to show for that spend?….Oh the started Four Seasons and St.Juan Polymixup…WIP. LOL…what a laugh!

12. old onions bags Avatar

corr:, gymnasium

13. Just had a read of reported comments by Lowe, what arrogance!

This expressed by a minister who is responsible for the pileup of garbage across the length and breath of Barbados.

14. old onions bags Avatar

more assets…..ABC Highway, Grantley Adams Intl, Bridgetown re-development, Post Office, new Bus Terminal, new Cheapside market, 8 new primary schools, 2 new secondary schools, Sewage Project…….and more could be mentioned….

Tell me now this New Years Day…..should this current jaded LOT not hang DEM heads in outright blatant SHAME?

15. @ Artaxerxes January 1, 2015 at 3:16 PM #

And the DEMS’ buzz word is “solutions”, by which they are essentially telling us in the face of criticism we should bring solutions or shut up………………………………..

Every time I hear Donville or the ac consortium with this refrain, I have to remind the same Donville of his arrogant boast backed up by the Stinkliar in Parliament. It was very early in 2008, with the power of the election just behind them and with David Thompson sitting in his seat of power looking smug……………………Donville got up shouting across to MAM……”we dont want to hear nuttin from wunnah, any ideas wunnah got keep to wunnah selves, wunnah had 14 years, now is we time and we gine do things we way.”

Well, “wunnah” sure did do things “wunnah” way. Look how it has turned out and you now want ideas? Unbelievable!

16. Only slightly off topic.
    I wonder how would any Barbadian take it , if he or she , were to be decorated with the Order of The West Indies Federation (WIF) for services rendered to the country.
    Today we learn that the latest Buck House handout to “one of our sons of the soil,” came in the form of Knight Bachelor of the Order of the British Empire. Wouldn’t it be more fitting and meaningful if , the Knight of St Andrew award was made to this person last Independence celebrations? At least “St Andrew” is a place that we can readily identify with.
    Maybe one day we will see the Pope, Silvio Berlusconi and Luciano Pavaroti being awarded the Knight Bachelor of the Roman Empire.

17. David,

When I read his comments this morning, all I could say is “what arrogance”! To think this man would ever think to tell Barbadians who have a legitimate right to complain that garbage is not being collected……….to leave Barbados and only then would he resign is simply mind boggling.

Talk about classless!

18. Colonel
    Can you cast any light on the funs of the Barbados Olympic Association and to what use they were put when questions were raised.You see,when you mention this thing about Empire,I seem to recall some newspaper story about
    the BOA and hands in a cookie jar.

19. Yes David what ever became of Sir Frank Alleyne,the economic adviser to the Freundel Stuart administration.Why are we not hearing from Michael Howard and Peter Whitehall and some of the gurus on the hill…..for or against…..but let us hear from you patriotic bajans,the country is in a mess and jokers like Donville whose stock in trade is speaking glibly about the ‘Firce orduh ‘o bizness’ and ‘Awl hans pun dek’ both of which we heard from EWN in 1961 and 71.Inniss should be pushing off from Skeete’s Bay,that is what he knows about….phishing wid a eff.

20. @ Prodigal Son January 1, 2015 at 8:32 PM #

“Donville got up shouting across to MAM……”we dont want to hear nuttin from wunnah, any ideas wunnah got keep to wunnah selves, wunnah had 14 years, now is we time and we gine do things we way.”….”

I also remember Sinckler telling the opposition if they have alternative ideas, put them in writing so they could be reviewed by the government.

21. The arrogance indeed of Minister Lowe, in “talking about staying put until the cows come home.”
    Lowe is almost like the Dictator of Gambia, Yahya Jammeh, who survived a recent coup plot, and who has has given that nation a time line of how long he will stay in office. A billion years, “if Allah wills it”
    Mr Lowe will stay in Cabinet as Freundel wills it, but will be kicked out next time by All-ah we, whose will it is.
    http://imgur.com/gIrFOtf

22. two years in the run up to the last election i was forced to hear and smell the same bowel movements by the same blp political cat spradellers and
    now it like deja vue all over again,
    in the mean time being the fair and good sport ac would take time out and sit on the side lines and watch the high drama and theatrics being rehearsed by the BLP .but this one thing for sure if the BLP is not holding a pair of sixes the game is over,
    i will bet dollars to donuts that when the show is over the closing act would be one of disappointment for the blp..

23. You accuse contributors of “the same old, same old”, when, in actuality, you are more guilty of the same practice. The central theme of ALL you contributions to every post, surrounds 4 main topics, namely:

1) OSA is responsible for everything that’s happening in Barbados. He did not “diversify and restructure the economy”, he is responsible for the “disrepair of sanitation trucks, and many of the QEH problems”, and he lacked “efficiency and precise leadership”.
    2) MIA has so far shown that her style is one of politic rhetoric.
    3) Calling contributors who criticize DLP policies “yard-fowls”, DLP operatives or dogs.
    4) Bring solutions.

Then you compose your unintelligent, incoherent contributions with phrases “put together” from a number of rhetorical political diatribe and generalized statements made by DLP politicians, as well as being based on what you believe to be truth rather than fact.

Never once have you been able to quote from an article, document, research paper, book or magazine, [or for that matter the dictionary or the “Junior English Revised” since your grammar and spelling are appalling], to substantiate any “point” you present.

Essentially, you are just one of those old time “corn beef, biscuits and white rum” political pimps, who the politicians use to push their agenda in the rum shops, on the block, call –in-programs, on forum like BU and especially during canvassing time.

You remind of “Nard” and “Cow” who canvassed for Sinckler, Ricky Jones who canvassed for James Paul, and Lennox Layne who like to run ’bout behind Stuart.

24. God t hear Barrack will be getting ALL of his money son BUT where will it be coming from? Was this provided for in the Estimates of expenditure?

Barrack to get full money next month

25. What does Minister Lowe mean when he states that the government would consider passing on the benefits of the current drop in oil prices on the world market to Barbadians? Isn’t the price mechanism shared by government to pass thru to Barbadian consumers the true price of fuel?

26. The shock and awe at our garbage plight is well founded. We have got to find a way quickly to wrestle this nearly out of control situation to the ground. Never can one recall the amount of garbage all over the country especially in the urban areas. The question is if the SSA and Minister is doing their optimum to bring the situation back to the normality we knew about three years ago. What happened all of a sudden? Is it the economic recession? Is it the retrenchments?

Sanitation maybe one of the services government should look to out source to the private sector if the costs make economic sense. Wasn’t there a proposal by a Canadian company headed by a woman to turn the garbage into energy? What’s become of that?

It appears too that as the Minister opines that some people are deliberately throwing out garbage indiscriminately. Some are doing it on purpose and throwing it anywhere from the highways to the gullies and everywhere else. Some are doing it to embarrass the government. A massive education campaign should be started on cleanliness and garbage disposal and the sanitation police the Minister talked about should be deployed. The hotline is a good move.

The vagrants are another pressing matter connected with garbage all over the place. In fact these dirty characters spread the already dispersed garbage even more. There must be a concerted effort to get as many of the these vagrants off the streets as possible especially in Bridgetown and the tourist areas. It really makes one want to vomit when you see these stinking street people sitting on a main street surrounded by nasty bags of garbage. It must be just as intolerable for the tourists who come to enjoy and spend their hard earned cash here.

27. @ artexeseres ,,Simply put for sure you do not know ac ,. trying to analyze ac by the many political comments and views can be highly misleading and will lead you to a dead end street not alone to mention many sleepless night
    your constant diatribe of ‘Trying” to paint an ugly picture of ac is simply an exercise in futility which has been tried by others and which has failed and for the most part many have given up.
    Therefore your rants and raves and despicable attacks would also meet the same fate ask bush shite ,he has thrown his very best shots at ac and have met with nada results,
    however since you have attempted to draw blood let me tell u this it is better to cautious and appealling than a unarmed soldier fighting on the battle field

28. @Artaxeres.

Did you not notice that ‘ac’ accuses ANYONE who opposes the DLP of being BLP operatives, even though many of us see and state the need for a third party?

No thought, no reason, just attack anyone who opposes, like any autocratic approach.

Same old, same old rhetoric.

Ask ac if she /he was at the $50 dollar Old Year’s Night do…. I suspect that is where one would have found the individuals /s.

Lol.

29. Some financial advice please? A friend of mine is thinking of putting a few hundred dollars (don’t have much more they say, taxes got them brek up), in their mother’s account for safekeeping.

Is that a good idea?

Thanks for any advice!

30. @ ac January 2, 2015 at 12:59 AM #

Firstly ac, you have already done a perfect job of painting an ugly picture of yourself…………. an art of which you have become an expert. It seems as though you can share “rants and raves and despicable attacks” but cannot take any; in a forum like this, it’s par for the course.

Secondly, you are wrong to suggest “simply put for sure you do not know ac” and “trying to analyze ac is simply an exercise in futility”, of course I have analyzed you and now know who you are.
    By your different writing styles, the hate that emanates from your contributions and the venomous attacks you unleash on those who criticize this inept DLP administration, the answer becomes obvious, “Your name is Legion, because you are many.”
    The only difficulty is trying to get some pigs on BU so you can cast yourself into them, run over a cliff and drown in the sea.

Thirdly, your idle threats mean nothing to Artaxerxes, you are the one who has to be cautious. The ACs trying to match wits with me for sure “is simply an exercise in futility”, since I am armed with my intellect, which is superior to yours, and it has made me an “armed soldier fighting on the battlefield” against the consortium.

However, and most importantly, Barbados Underground is not about you or me.

31. Artaxeres ”However, and most importantly, Barbados Underground is not about you or me.”

Oh My! Wonderfully put!

That is a straight drive for six if there ever was one. Kensington Stand in an uproar and even three W’s making noise for once!

Well done indeed!

32. @ Crusoe January 2, 2015 at 6:56 AM #

“Some financial advice please? A friend of mine is thinking of putting a few hundred dollars (don’t have much more they say, taxes got them brek up), in their mother’s account for safekeeping. Is that a good idea? Thanks for any advice!”

Crusoe, someone I know did a similar act, but when his mother died, lowe and behold, the money had to be divided amongst the siblings.

First you must and foremost, tell your friend to his/her mother to the doctor for a medical check up to ascertain if she is in good health.

Secondly, let your friend open a separate account in their mother’s name.

Thirdly, immediately after leaving the doctor, seek legal advice to make sure there is a will. If one exists, then have the lawyer make the necessary changes to stipulate that on her death the money in that particular account goes to your friend. If a will does not exist, let the lawyer offer guidance to the mother on how to write the will, also ensuring that the money in that account goes to them. Most importantly, make sure your friend ask his/her mother to make him/her executor of the will.

33. And finally let the friend confirm that the authorities will not prosecute.

34. old onions bags Avatar

@ Togetherness

It appears too that as the Minister opines that some people are deliberately throwing out garbage indiscriminately. Some are doing it on purpose and throwing it anywhere from the highways to the gullies and everywhere else. Some are doing it to embarrass the government….

Are you some kinda nook nook?….people throwing away garbage to embarrass Govt?

Wait when a fowl cock dead or D ham bone smelling …..one must keep them inside until Low Dung find money to buy new trucks right?….Typical DLP mentality….must be ac

35. old onions bags Avatar

note: new year\new meaning foe ac = a cxnt

36. old onions bags Avatar

……but it serve DEM right, as they too finding themselves up in shoite creek….a certain individual informed O that a certain ” aspiring high up yard fowl” of yellow entrench din even have a ham to feed ee girl n 2 children come dis xmas…..tings now so bad, he had to carry dem to the $50 Old Yrs fete foe dem to taste lil ham n jug……talk bout cut of nose to spite face….what nxt.

37. I know one sure way to fix this garbage problem….dump the garbage in front of Parliament for them to get the message. Nah….I forgot that Bajans too docile and prefer to inhale the stench along our streets.

38. old onions bags Avatar

Not really Islandgal…..

Bajans too frighten fa Jail……dun know they fraid D police ruff them up like Omar.

Remember such freedom of speech is not entertained bout here…..In Italy recently they dumped tomatoes in the streets to protest unfair pricing….but Bajans , nuttin so…Dodds not for politicians who steal millions but foe poor Joe’s who speak out.

39. @ old onions bags January 2, 2015 at 7:49 AM #

“Togetherness January 2, 2015 at 12:53 AM #: Some are doing it on purpose and throwing it anywhere from the highways to the gullies and everywhere else. Some are doing it to embarrass the government…..”

Onions, you let me down replying to that shiite. Image, insinuating people are purposely littering to embarrass the government. This has to the statement of 2015 and could only from the pen of a corn beef and biscuit DLP yard fowl.

Onions, you think he is part uh D consortium, I feel Carson C. Cadogan join um too, since he shame to come to BU since that Rasta man call the Nation fuh he.

40. ACs will be all over this posting , it is about what he/she minds thinks and he/she like writing , GARBAGE

41. Togetherness aka waiting

42. David
    What became of the probe into a threat so called that was made on the life of the Sinckler fellow.Was not the House told that he was threatened and the police were investigating.
    Seeing that there has been no apparent follow up,would the acting commissioner of police issue a press release on this very grave matter or do we have to await the return of Darwin Dottin.

43. @Gabriel

Nothing.

Most accepted the utterance for the fable it was.

44. old onions bags Avatar

How can anybody….find confidence in an administration ..if they can’t even manage something a miniscule as GARBAGE???????

Four Seasons….?….now we see why there was a problem.

But No….D BLP do this and BLP do that…….piss poor I say, piss poor !

45. Well done Caswell!

46. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

It is now DAY 15 since we have had a garbage collection in the Inch Marlow area (the constituency of Minister Lowe). The mountains of rotting garbage are getting higher and of course attracting dogs and rats. This in a prominently tourism economy driven area, where this morning I counted 14 car rental vehicles in an area of less than a square mile.
    Yet only a couple of days ago it was reported that people were standing in line to pay the imposed Municipal Waste Tax.
    ‘We’ don’t have the money we keep the situation under control yet the same Minister went on several taxpayer paid ‘excursions’ last year including Greenland, Denmark, Brazil, the Pacific Islands and more

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onions bags January 2, 2015 at 9:52 AM
    “How can anybody….find confidence in an administration ..if they can’t even manage something a miniscule as GARBAGE???????”

Best comment made so far for 2015!
    Succinct, or as the Brits would say informally, ‘Bang on’!

OOB, I know you are a man well schooled in the art of verbal communication so explain to us neophytes how a project (Lowe’s WTE) can be “up and running” but still be in the preliminary stage where a number of studies have still to be undertaken.
    What contradictory tripe is that quack fellow trying to say?

48. @Adrian

Please take some pictures and email asap. Somebody must have a smartphone?

49. @ David

Ditto on Caswell’s contribution this morning…

Looks like we may be BUPPING for 2015 after all 🙂

While you are at it, there must be someone who care enough about the Malcolm Taitt fellow to tell him that he is OVERBEARING with the lotta shiite talk every damn day….

Shiite man…it is a daily damper on Brass Tacks…. BOTTOM of the damn day ….if you ask Bushie….

Love it when David Ellis ask him about his “other members” or about meetings or about anything constructive that he has EVER done…..

….anyway, good start for 2015 by Caswell of BUP…..

50. @Bush Tea

Did you read Gibbs-Taitt’s article in the Nation today?

How can he propose the government raise money on local market by issuing bonds to replace the offer by the two visitors offering to float bonds on the foreign market?

Thought the offer by the foreigners was about raising forex.