Greater Protection of Children

Submitted by Felicia Browne

The Domestic Violence Act ensures greater protection of victims. In many cases, children and vulnerable members of the household are caught between the disputes of their parents or family members. Though, domestic violence has continued to remain a major concern for children’s rights activists, such concerns include the vulnerability of children during violent disputes. Children, like many vulnerable persons, are at greater threat primarily due to their inabilities to protect themselves from physical and bodily harm.

The need for greater protection of children in domestic disputes should be given full consideration of the law. Children have been known to have suffered severely through the various acts of sexual and physical harm; and in some cases even death by the hands of parents or family members. Felicia Browne applauds the police force and community members for the immediate intervention which have saved the life of the young child. She adds that domestic violence is a still a very serious concern for many of our societies. We have continued to observe the detrimental effects of Domestic Violence on the victims and their families.

We should continue to ensure that governmental and civil societies conduct the necessary follow- ups on existing reports of domestic abuse. For instance, we have had many instances of repeat domestic abuse cases which have led to devastating outcomes. It is critically important that families, as well as perpetrators receive the necessary intervention that it needed. We just cannot continue to assume that violence or abuse within such homes will go away. We should ensure that every community member is aware of the signs of abuse and what steps they can take to prevent such harm- in particular on young children.

Browne adds that though many Caribbean countries have made progress in Domestic Violence legislation and the protection of Victims, she is adamant that vulnerable communities are still at risk where domestic violence is concerned. Children, she adds, though protected under the law, are always at greater risk when family members that are obligated to protect them, become violent or abusive. Children have the right to live from violence within their homes and communities

9 comments

• Who cares about the children these days. We will reap the whirl win.

• People/organizations/states which are stronger/more powerful tend to bully those who are weaker.

A man will come home and beat/bully his wife/woman and children. Yet the same man would never think of beating/bullying his boss.

Why do you think that this is so?

Bullying/violence/domestic violence has always existed and will always exist…unless the strong/powerful voluntarily relinquish their power over others.

Do you think that this will happen anytime soon?

• @Simple Simon

What are you saying, we should surrender?

• This Domestic Violence will continue because most of the time the punishment doesn’t fit the harm that’s being done to the person,or person.

Many men has the mind set that when they are in a relationship, the woman automatically becomes his to own. And this goes even for his child or children.
    But that’s far from the truth. We own NO ONE. We cannot continue to allow our daily lives to be carried over to those who are innocent to whatever might have befallen us outside of the household. Men and women have to both learn to walk away if no solutions can be found.

We have to be more appreciative towards our women. And let them know that they are more than just someone we gain sexual pleasures from. Treat them equal with RESPECT, and LOVE. Treat them like THE QUEENS that they are if we are supposed to be THE KINGS.

Whatever we do for our children to see or hear, can become a guide for them to follow most of the time.
    We cannot continue to tell our children not do things, yet the same things we tell them not to do, are the things that we are doing ourselves. Do as I say and not as I do is old and tired. Change this mind set and STOP THE VIOLENCE.

At the end of the day saying you’re sorry after the damage is done resolves NOTHING. Sorry can NEVER remove the hurt, pain, or replace that life you took.

I hope that each and everyone in Barbados will start the coming year and beyond with a different mind set. And KILL THE VIOLENCE AND DISRESPECT for each other.

It takes less to LOVE and more to be VIOLENT..

LOVE SELF MORE, AND YOU’LL GET IT BACK IN RETURN.

Liked by 1 person

• We should take the time to remember our wheel chair bound citizens as well.

http://bajanflick.wordpress.com/

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ David [BU]

I took a look at the wheelchair access enabled side walk and was amazed that someone somewhere designed these ramps, and another team implemented them and most importantly a third team, the Barnod’s and BCDs in Barbados and Senator Shelley Weir have not canvassed to get these inadequate sidewalk accidents waiting to happen properly designed and assigned

Look at the sidewalk carefully.

You do realize that to enter or exit the ramp, the wheelchair HAS TO COME INTO THE ROAD, then to ascend this 70degree slant?

• @PUDRYR

Do we practice standards for this kind of thing? Does anybody care even the disabled themselves?

• Last time I jump in pon one ah dez children threads…..Bushie & Co. did wanna send me to D Rack ( not Black Rock google it)….I know what Ms. Browne saying is true n correct, but I playing Fumbles pun dis one….just in case a big rock set or a fly stik mekk.

• No only children are vulnerable in these settings, it is more than likely what they witnessed in the home, they will practice later in life. Keep talking and passing stronger laws, it it can make a difference. See link http://mydocvu.com/2015/01/08/985/

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s