A Christmas Wish Politicians

Submitted by Old Onions Bag

Yo Ho Ho Jo Polo-tic-ian,

If I cud be so forward to ask, and you all in equal measure consider, or at least contemplate to consider, granting the downtrodden a lil mo ease pun de gasoline n light bill in the coming year. This vortex of falling crude prices is a perfect opportunity for you all to lower the country’s energy bill and to kick start the economy and NOT to make a killing. Practice a lil honestly for once in that the truth may set us all free.

Big Daddy Fumbles, the ask, is that you control those bestowed in thy care and put a lease on a certain loose canon Poodle, who apparently wants to disembowel de minister of fine ants in an on-coming  bankers fiasco ensong, that cud cause much distress to the public purse and even yo end.

Uncle Ronald, what about the promised $3,000 bursaries for those bushwacked UWI students… how long is TOO LONG, do you think? Man that was just xissy xissy…

To a not so wise man from the East…. keep from rund dey ya hear, …dem bottle did meant fa you not D bottle party.. 10- 1 ya hear…listen to Hants and Sparrow  even Bu Ju.

Swing Low dung now…doan lockup ya family man…besides when Lord Denning ask…man whey u get dat money from ,what you gine tell ee?..ya win lotto or ya cut down a breadfruit tree? Think nah man people bout hay already laughing at ya.

D Don….smooth chocolate all D way here boi…ya lookin good keep it up…time to chuck in annuda gear doa… ya deserving a true starr boi pun  TOP the christmas tree.

All D rest en nuttin and not deserving of nah mention….jokers eva one Factured BLP and the many AC’s included !

Merry Christmas ALL !

131 comments

• David-ville
    How red was the red? Was a bright red or a deep red, what it clean or dirty, weel fitting or loose. These ja’s worrying about the colour of a shirt that someone chooses to wear. We are truly screwed when it get sown to this stage.

• This news may only cause the Prime Minister to change his mind about the Cabinet shuffle.

Two sure ways to get Freundel Stuart not to take action are: 1. Telling him to do something, and 2. Anticipating his next move and making it public.

Cabinet changes, however, are long overdue as ministers have taken on a level of arrogance, complacency and ineffectiveness, having held their portfolios for much too long. Hence we should expect to see changes in Foreign Affairs, Education, Housing, Environment, Social Care and Labour.

The health and sports/culture ministers could be given a longer run, though there may be a realignment of the culture portfolio.

All the talk about a 24-7 society and perceived ambition for higher office, could result in the international business minister being “cut down to size” and his aspirations put on pause.

It is expected that the Attorney General could keep his “pick” by default, though the current transport minister could do his job with eyes shut.

Given more airlift and predictions of an improved winter tourist season, as well as unbridled loyalty, it is believed that the tourism minister is safer in his position than in a Wells Fargo bank.

One parliamentary secretary may get the nod to handle a ministerial portfolio or be elevated to Minister of State to prove himself and boost his profile in anticipation of taking a key riding in St George next elections. A full ministerial assignment would come at the expense of a sitting minister.

The mother of all changes may be seen in the newest dance move called the “Froon shuffle” that could see Dr David Estwick and Chris Sinckler reverse ministerial portfolios in Agriculture and Finance, respectively. A wildcard could be former prime minister Owen Arthur given special economic advisory duties in the new dispensation. Either of these or both ought to get yardfowls clucking and bees buzzing well into the new year.

It is unlikely that anyone on the back bench will move to the front since a simple matter of ordering enough eggs to avoid a Christmas shortage proved too much for one individual to handle, leaving households unable to enjoy homemade pudding this Yuletide season.

• @Norst

Sorry for touching a nerve but the color of Estwick’s shirt addresses the issue of his judgement, an issue which has dogged him for his political tenure to date.

• @ Norst the Invader December 26, 2014 at 11:33 AM
    “Two sure ways to get Freundel Stuart not to take action are: 1. Telling him to do something, and 2. Anticipating his next move and making it public.”

You certainly know the gentleman well.

Why should Physical Deficit Ince become a full minister before Irene Sandiford-Garner?
    Unless he is proposed to replace Quisling Boyce as a sacrificial lamb to appease OSA in the political rapprochement in an attempt to further scuttle MAM’s chances of becoming PM.

• David
    I am not aware of any nerve you have touched. In fact, I would have thought that nerves are a liability in politics.
    You have truly made yourself a jackass by trying to make a point about someone’s judgement or lack thereof but the colour of the shirt he wore an event. You must be a support of political tribalism a la Jamaica style.

• @Norst

Let us agree to disagree that Estwick (baggage and all) intended to communicate a message by wearing a red shirt on the morning the parliamentary team assembled after Thompson died. Even IF he did not intend to send a message he did and it was not missed by some in the public. Don’t take all if us for fools man!

• Horst
    Most folk,particularly those in marketing mixed with a smidgen of psychology inform that a red tie or a red shirt suggests notions of power and authority’s.Further an apparent over obsession with it in Barbados like people who have a fetish for red vehicles and repeatedly buy red vehicles only are said to be semi lunatics.

• David
    What is relevant is the contribution a MP and cabinet makes to national development, not whether he wears a red shirt or always tows a party line, after all this is what has Barbados is the position it is in right now. An obsession of who is look what.
    The man says he willing to stand on a iceberg by himself, and God knows he has been on that iceberg all alone for quite some time yet he still rails against what the DLP has done. Mass layoffs and other acts against the very fundamental moorings of DLP.

• @ David/ BU
    I am enjoying this post , its good every person is looking at numbers and forgetting one big factor , that is how the mind of the DLP Ministers work at the appointed time , we see and should know by now that the DLP Ministers
    minds are all f …k up

• It is easy to brush Estwick and his statements aside as that of a mad man but if you spend some time reading the message you will see that he is always on point with the national interest and is not guided by either special or political interest considerations.

• @Norst

Again we can agree to disagree because what matters in the case of Estwick is that he has done nothing to win the hearts and minds of the masses. He may have a little advantage because of a poor government (based on numbers) but he has no power-base that will stand for any length of time.

• David;

I’ve really enjoyed the discussion between you and Norst the Invader.

Several things have been indicated out of this discussion alone, not the least of which is a potential identification of your interviewee who is absolutely analytical in his approach, is extremely knowledgeable about our politics and politicians, has no readily apparent partisan BLP or DLP political bias, knows all that matters about the main combatants and has some somewhat amoral but very political views on the capacities of those combatants.

Sounds like a top drawer political analyst to me.

But, overall I tend to agree with his conclusions that the political landscape here will be very interesting over the next 3 months, especially if he is correct that a number of the DLP parliamentarians will qualify for their pensions in April 2015 and therefore that the status quo may be maintained until then, after which, all hell could break loose, especially if the economy keeps worsening in the interim as seems likely.

Great posts!

• I hope that you bloggers living in Barbados were kind to the poor and downtrodden yesterday.

I hope that the the obese politicians were driving bout handing out hampers in the poorer neighborhoods on Christmas eve.

• David
    Again this is where you and I disagree. Having been elected as MP to see to the people business, and having had his talents recognised by the PM to serve as a cabinet minister, it is not for David Cleveland Estwick “to win the hearts and minds of the masses” Those are considerations for people who want higher office. That is why those seek to win the hearts and minds of the masses spend the other half of their day trying to destroy all those are potential candidates. They are not prepared to win the hearts and minds of the masses by achievement but rather by guile and trickery.

He has been elected to do a job for the people and he seems committed to objective.

• Interesting discussion all… my two cents worth.

1. Freundel should NEVER be underestimated. We can question his leadership and competence but he has displayed sheer political and Machiavellian ability to achieve one singular goal… to remain PM despite ALL rumblings and grumblings from ALL quarters.
    2. Estwick’s relevance lies only in the numbers game, BUT, as David said he lacks enough of a base to force the issue. Regardless, as stated in #1, the PM will head off that issue before train reaches the station.

3. The boogeyman in EVERY DLP-ites hearts is 1994. NO DLP-ite would EVER wish to resurrect those conditions. Like it or not, that boogyeman overrides ALL other thoughts and desires. DEM know when to shut up.

4. Mia has not yet presented herself as a ready and suitable alternative LEADER. She’s a good thinker, talker, mobiliser, but she still lacks that extra oomph for the average Joe (Not BLP-ite) to say… “I will follow her.” which leads me to…

5. Owen’s last legacy will be ensuring that Mia never gets to create hers. Simple.

any combination of any of the above persons will NOT happen simply because there are bigger pictures with longer histories and skeletons at play. I expect A head to roll (maybe 2), internal “stability” returns, the illusion of growth comes about and then we proceed merrily along until 2018.

Remember, only bout hey. We’re Bajans, we um so.

Just Observing

Liked by 1 person

• @Norst

Agree with the idea of doing the people’s business but the ability of a politician to excecute will be based on influence given weight of popular support.

• *correction

should read “we like um so”

• ANY ONE INTERESTED IN BUYING A VESSEL TO ACT AS AN INTER ISLAND FERRY A LA FEDERAL BOATS OF THE 60/S & TO’S ?
    file:///C:/Users/Owner/Downloads/AWV14027791.pdf

• David
    I am guessing Estwick is a man near 60 years old, is it possible for a man to change at this age?
    There is no doubt that when the DLP need Estwick, they run a put him up on the platform to keep the DLP base rallied and committed………….just look at the last election. However in this game of politics, as in life generally, you don’t get when you deserve only what you negotiation. Somehow I think Estwick is also unorthodox in his manner of negotiating.

• I also think that Estwick and Stuart are closer friends than most realise and appreciate.

• well !Well ! so nordst making on assement on what the PM will do ,(,most likely will not do} is laughable especially sitting from your side of the fence, as a BLP pigeon testing the waters of political hogwash , are u not aware that these “socalled”: predictions are only the figments of pundits and yardfowls imaginations and has never bear fruit,, fuh christ sake the eager 11 had many of the operatives rocking and rolling with speculation (and) …
    Oh and on the subject of the role EStwick plays in campaign ,pigeon boy ,, let me help u with this one ,how about the role MIA played for OSA remember them hugs and kisses on the campaign trail.. See UH !

• Yes Estwick and Stuart is suppose to have a relationship.

• SInckler has foolishly taken on MOF not realising that he was recruited for a special skill he brings but rather simply for the PM to avoid carrying out the uncomfortable tasks of a MOF in a time of recession. In his passion to assume higher office, Sinckler gambled with his future political career and gauging from the publics perception of him, we know how that has and is, turning out. Wonderfully terrible for him.

Liked by 1 person

• @ Norst the Invader December 26, 2014 at 10:08 AM #

“Estwick knows whats playing out, he is after all the smartest of the present DLP group but his colleagues need to get to April 2015 for pensions”.

Norst,
    Is the time period to qualify for pensions not eight years? If so this would put the eligibility date down to 2016. Not so?

• This is bad…real bad.

VERY FEW BARBADIANS took to the usually popular picnic spots and beaches across the island today – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/61288/bajans-opt-picnic-boxing-day#sthash.uBcg68Sm.dpuf

• Hants December 26, 2014 at 9:05 PM #

This is bad…real bad.

VERY FEW BARBADIANS took to the usually popular picnic spots and beaches across the island today – See more at:
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    Many Bajans do not have anything left after the Christmas spending to splurge on a picnic.
    Word has it,according to today’s Nation, that this coming Monday, the 29th is a very real Bank holiday for the merchants of Bridgetown and especially of Swan Street,and Port of Spain . They will be jumping and rejoicing all the way to CIBC, RBC and the T&T ones.

• Bajans are frugal people (i.e older one like us Colonel)….those living on Cloud Nine eat their mother’s food and only have to pay for their cars. Let’s no get it twisted…Did you see the crowd at bagatelle great house?….yeah is dem so who fooling people

• Owen has one last shocker to give Mia before he goes. The silent genius in this is Hal Gollop. He along with Parris will ensure Mia gets defeated at next election no matter what it takes.

• does Mia not have some dynamite for/on OSA?

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s