Submitted by CARIBBEAN GUYANA INSTITUTE FOR DEMOCRACY (CGID)

BROOKLYN: The New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) joins New York City’s elected and community leaders in condemning the assassinations of NYPD Officers Wenjin Liu and Rafael Ramos, who were killed while on duty in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn last Saturday. This barbaric act has no place in our society and is antithetical to goals and values of the current movement for justice in our City.

CGID morns the loss of these heroes and expresses sincere condolences to the family and friends of officers Liu and Ramos, and to the NYPD.

We join our elected leaders in appealing for tranquillity, as well as a suspension of all forms of protest against the NYPD; until our heroes have been laid to rest. Currently, large portions of our City are seething with anger. Consequently, all of us as stakeholders have a responsibility to tone down our rhetoric and passions.

The attacks on Mayor Bill deBlasio by the President of NYPD’s Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association, Pat Lynch and others, are odious. Such unsavoury and divisive rhetoric dishonours the memory of officers Liu and Ramos and desecrates this period of bereavement. It should therefore be repudiated. The Mayor deserves our commendation for demanding equal treatment for all New Yorkers. It is a constitutionally enshrined right which the PBA must also respect and not diminish.

Police Commissioner Bill Bratton can help to calm tensions between the community and police by implementing urgent measures to ensure the law is enforced equitably in all communities. This will assure citizens that their voices have been heard. The Commissioner must also guarantee the efficacy of extant provisions in the law to address allegations of Police abuse and misconduct, and urge that they be utilized fearlessly when appropriate.

Moreover, all citizens; especially our young people, must be admonished of their lawful obligation to obey and respect Police officers; whose commission is to keep our streets and communities safe and to protect life and property. Police officers are human beings with valuable lives, families and love ones just like all of us. Hence, they deserve our respect and gratitude. Most important, they have a right to return safely to their love ones at the end of their tour each day.

120 responses to “Two New York Police Officers Murdered”

1. Someone said “the duties of police officers center on enforcing laws, detecting and deterring criminal activity, arresting suspects, and maintaining the public’s safety, peace and order. To accomplish these duties and responsibilities officers are given significant power and authority.”

I suggest that the author of the original blog post interpreted sentiments such as those to assert that ” all citizens; especially our young people, must be admonished of their lawful obligation to obey and respect Police officers”.

Because if laws are created to be obeyed and respected it’s very reasonable and PRACTICAL to affirm that it’s necessary to obey and respect the individuals who enforce those laws.

It’s basic, valid and a rule we all (law abiding persons) operate under as it does not abrogate our rights or contravene the constitution.

We appropriately assert your constitutional rights as needed but when the enforcement arm of the police meets those rights in a one-on-one situation it’s self preservation and good judgement to obey and respect all lawful requests.

To adopt a confrontational dynamic is ineffectual and often endangers life.

2. Until the blame game ends and leadership on all sides tackle the issues let the protest grow.

3. Ross

When it comes to touching up young girls, the feminine does NOT impute the masculine …..OK …. least not to normal folk…
    and…
    where did Bushie call for a “talent-blind” society? is that the same as calling for a society where the ACTIONS and OPERATIONS of authorities were equal irregardless of race, wealth or talent?

shiite man…even by the standards of a Bajan Lawyer you are pathetic…

4. Whether the killer of these cops was of sound mind or not. The continued abuse of Black and Brown people at the hand of law enforcement without remedy will lead to more of this. When fathers have to bury their sons due to racist policing and the perpetrators are insulate from any and all meaningful punishment, some fathers may exercise their universal right to justice. The fact is that the “we shall overcome” self-appointed leaders don’t hold the same sway as they use to with the younger generation.

The solution is to end racist dual-policing. The punishment must be immediate and comprehensive. The fact is that white privilege has never felt compelled to altering course. Historically demonstrations and protests commence and most whites cynically place hit the timer button as they tap their feet awaiting its end without change.

5. BT benefited from the status quo, maybe, benefited from hard work definitely lets face it I am not going to be shot robbing a store ,selling drugs, breaking or entering etc I do not know anybody that has done any of those things on their resume. I don’t know anybody that has killed someone or have been killed by anyone. Yes I like the state of affairs just the way they are however as the face of my city changes so does the level, type and ferocity of crimes committed Each day I thank God for that thin blue line that allows me to keep my small town safety . I don’t care what color the cops are or what color the criminals are I just want my status quo so if there are a few hiccups with who is a real criminal or not so be it.

6. According to the Police Rep, Policemen are now being targeted because of the uniform that they wear.
    This is a plus for the policemen, they can always change their uniform. Blacks in America are being targeted for the skin that they wear, and noting can change that.
    Hope that this situation does not turn out to be another Northern Ireland where the Protestant dominated Royal Ulster Constabulary were targeted by the Catholic Community who were treated , in Belfast ,Derry and all over the province , in the same fashion that blacks are treated in the USA. Will we never ever learn from other people’s shortcomings?

7. Saturday’s Slain NYPD Officer Ramos Was Not So Good

Asiaa MelRose
    About 2years or more ago my Head was constantly being slammed into concrete floors which left me with non stop headachee knots etc. Basically not pretty By the officer in the picture who is Also one of the 2 officers that was fatally shot & killed today in Bedstuy Brooklynn Execution style. Not Saying him getting killed was ok but Karma is Definitely a Bitch kus He Could have killed me! LIFE LESSON::: BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU DO TO OTHERS CAUSE KARMA ALWAYS WATCHING.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=592996297467706&set=a.188842564549750.30268.100002720246624&type=1

http://ireport.cnn.com/docs/DOC-1200000

8. NYPD Officer Shoots And Kills Unarmed Man In Brooklyn

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/21/akai-gurley-nypd-shooting-dead_n_6199428.html

9. I would like to give you some insight into the big picture. In Ottawa Canada;s capital where parliament and all the embassy’s are located, I have seen it all G20 protestors G8 protestors Armenian,gay rights Russian Iraqi you name the group they have protested here, but heres the end result. Look in the parking lots of fire or police dept. full of new expensive cars from the overtime, look at all the new equipment supplied by federal money. time to stock up at govt expense. We better hire more people this may go on for a while. A raise is in order to keep moral up. People can protest all they want but they are just making it better for in this case the people they are protesting against. Lets keep it going I want a boat

10. The protests continue in New York as they should.

America claims to be the “leader” of the FREE world and the right to protest is part of the “FREE”.

11. Yeah, Lawson, but where is your solution? You are just responding with what you think is a thoughtful response. But please give us a solution. It is a lot easier to respond like you than to actually create at least a solution that may make sense. You may actually like it the way it is. You should just say that. It would be an honest response.

12. @ Lawson
    “….lets face it I am not going to be shot robbing a store ,selling drugs, breaking or entering etc I do not know anybody that has done any of those things on their resume.”
    Fair enough Lawson.
    But do you think that you would be able to say the above so smugly- had you been the son of two black Bajans, ten generations of whose fore parents had laboured on plantations with nothing to show, to produce the wealth that allowed the planter class to never have to rob stores, sell drugs on the street, or break and enter?
    Can you understand the difference in perspective held by someone who finds them-self harassed by the system, having the same of better abilities than certain others (easily demonstrated at HC) but unable to build on such talents.

Can you grasp the frustration accumulated in a grown adult family man who is continually humiliated by young white police …..over and over… just because they can …and because he has no options….
    Can you see why at some point he is likely to break…. to talk back…. to resist… to stand up….??? and be shot without consequence…?

Nah…. You won’t be able to associate with such degrading treatment… shiite man, the cops probably all address you as ‘Sir’…. not as ‘Perp’

BTW Lawson
    Lets also face it, you are also not going to be shot misappropriating funds from a company, importing drugs in bulk, bribing officials or colluding to fix prices to take advantage of poor consumers…..and Bushie bets that you DO know people with such on their resumes…..

13. Hants nothing is free here is the solution respect the men in blue, those guys in NY were extra police protecting those apt blocks in Bedford because of not police crime but assholes acting up . When you are told by a cop to do something do it. Ferguson is mostly black but the representatives are not GET OUT AND VOTE if you want change. Work within the system if you don’t nothing will change, however here is one little observation everyone in charge in Barbados is black and you guys still cant get it right all the time . So why on earth would you think a bunch of white guys are going to get it right all the time either.

14. @ Bush Tea,
    Why waste time debating with closet racists?

Off message:

The 369th Infantry Regiment, formerly known as the 15th New York National Guard Regiment, was an infantry regiment of the United States Army that saw action in World War I and World War II. The Regiment consisted of African-Americans and African Puerto Ricans and was known for being the first African-American regiment to serve with the American Expeditionary Force during World War I. Before the 15th New York National Guard Regiment was formed, any African American that wanted to fight in the war either had to enlist in the French or Canadian armies.[2] The regiment was nicknamed the Harlem Hellfighters, the Black Rattlers and the Men of Bronze, which was given to the regiment by the French.[3] The nickname “Hell Fighters” was given to them by the Germans due to their toughness and that they never lost a man through capture, lost a trench or a foot of ground to the enemy.[4] The “Harlem Hellfighters” were the first all black regiment that helped change the American public’s opinion on African American soldiers and helped pave the way for future African American soldiers (Ref: Wikipedia)

An alternative perspective of World War One –

http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/z2bgr82#zp9k87h

15. @lawson

What a simplistic almost juvenile assessment. Your statement defines you as an apologist for racial injustice. Within what system was the fight for civil rights working? You obfuscate just like a white man who is contemptuous of the thought of relinquishing any of his white privilege.

16. NY protesters reject plea for hiatus despite police slayings

NEW YORK (Reuters) – Protesters who have rallied for weeks over excessive police force rejected New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio’s plea to suspend demonstrations after the killing of two officers, and vowed to march in the center of Manhattan on Tuesday evening.

http://news.yahoo.com/activists-reject-ny-mayors-plea-pause-protests-over-180318854.html

17. BT I don’t say anything smugly because I know what I came from, we have gone around this tree a million times .Lots of people have had it tough, you know quite well there are lots of slaves still today. What I find remarkable friends of mine just came back from Vietnam and loved it , a country that fought America was ruled by france and have been able to move on and carve out a new path forward not carrying the old baggage.In Canada we had the Vietnamese boat people, I have not seen a more hardworking people and have prospered although coming with nothing, maybe it is time to let go of the past and take responsibility for your own lives.
    You know this may sound crazy but
    I liked Bush as president
    I like bush at the strippers
    and now I like bush on the blog go figure

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea December 23, 2014 at 7:56 PM
    “BTW Lawson
    Lets also face it, you are also not going to be shot misappropriating funds from a company, importing drugs in bulk, bribing officials or colluding to fix prices to take advantage of poor consumers…..and Bushie bets that you DO know people with such on their resumes…”

Nice one Bush Tea. Let’s see how Lawson responds, if he dares.

It’s time black people become more “sophisticated” in their law breaking / criminal activities. Leave the muggings and stealing from stores to somebody else.
    We look forward to seeing how the white police officials would deal with the ‘Black’ smooth operator in the areas you have outlined.

Can we improve on that rough diamond called Leroy P?

19. Wait …Miller you are complaining that black people aren’t stealing good enough…hopefully you can pass that wealth of knowledge to your offspring, we would not want them being under achievers.

20. LOL @ Exclaimer & Hants re Lawson

Lawson is not a bad fella ….indeed, he is a typical decent Bajan white who sees things from a completely different perspective and (believe it or not) genuinely thinks that the present status quo is near to ideal and is deserving of protection and maintenance.

That people like himself, Money Brain and John sees fit to openly and honestly debate and share their perspectives is one of the unmatchable strengths of BU.
    We can all learn a lot by trying trying to understand their point of view, and by helping them to see another perspective….

The truth is somewhere in between…

Bushie spent many years working with a fellow just like Lawson who, while totally confused and overwhelmed by the Bushman’s unusual personality (and talents Ross 🙂 ), was unable to accept internally that Bushie was anything but a talented Plantation boy who should have been grateful as hell to have had the opportunities that bushie enjoyed….

LOL…of course Bushie’s perspective was that HE was uniquely lucky to have been so close to one of BBE’s boys…. ha ha ha

Nah…. Lawson is cool and can handle himself….

21. That is an excellent article Hants.

22. We Black Torontonians do not have as bad a problem as New York but it is better to be a lighter shade and articulate.

23. Not that I know of, the few times I have been stopped they asked me if I had anything to drink, checked my license ownership and insurance but then again I wasn’t loitering, jaywalking, smoking pot or acting irratically which may open the door for further exploration by police, or be a start of a run for the Toronto mayor job .No in sleepy old Ottawa when people are carded it is usually by a library.

24. Hants you said something there that struck a chord with me ….articulate…. watching the news every black pundit is well spoken yet when ever the average joe is talking it is more like ebonics. There seems to be a disconnect with the people except for color. What is your thinking about this

25. Lawson wrote “watching the news every black pundit is well spoken”.

They are usually well educated as should be obvious even to you.

26. even to me ………. you are a marvel of science being able to look down your nose at me with your head stuck up your ass.

27. Easy Squueze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squueze (make no riot)

Yanks brought down NK Internet which is illegal sabotage and now have to deny it

28. Any reason why protestors can’t protest and pay respect to the murdered officers? A different reaction to police murdered compared to others?

29. Easy Squueze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squueze (make no riot)

It’s a protestors Job to dig up as much dirt about dead cop same way cops and media do about victims they kill

30. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar
    I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO

It’s time to take a reality check.

31. David if by protesting they think that it will somehow further their cause before these funerals have happened they are again misreading public sentiment. People on the fence will be sickened by it. See if they can get Sharpton, jackson or crump to walk with them….I don’t think so…they are smarter than that. The highest ranking white employee biden is going to ramos funeral don’t be surprised if Clinton Romney and a host of others as well. politicians know where to be scene.

32. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar

As usual, bloggers who take a different line from the herd are labelled ‘racist’ or, to please pin brain, ‘closet racists’. I am not unhappy to be called that. It’s truth value is nil, but it makes you people feel good so what the hell.

Now what I equally assert is that so many on here are fundamentally dishonest and that they rely on the ‘racist’ assertion of others to justify it.

Take ac

ac was asked to look at the evidence. He poured scorn on the idea. He wasn’t interested in truth. Fundamentally dishonest.

Take Bush Tea

Bush Tea’s style is to split one line from the rest, to focus on one line which suits his purpose and ignore the rest. Fundamentally dishonest.

Take David

David uses his ‘authority’ to try to diminish those who take a different line by name calling and scorn. Fundamentally dishonest.

And these are the people I must follow in order to avoid being labelled ‘racist’? NEVER.

33. @lawson

Agree or not it is the amendment right of the 500 hundred who want to protest.

34. Wait AC a man???????

35. True David but it is the right but what these people are doing is far worse than the idiots burning down the buildings in fergeson. Good people usually can see both sides in an argument ,smart people know far they can go without offending the silent majority idiots see it one way and don’t know when to stop. See if they can get anybody of note to walk with them. No as disgusted at the burning and looting most people were this is set the bar even higher.

36. And that is your opinion Lawson which is also your right. To join Bush Tea PERHAPS in the same way a White person will never be able to understand what motivates a Black person in a situation where they receive and perceive always on injustice PERHAPS Blacks cannot understand why Whites respond the way they do. PERHAPS tension between the dominant White race and minorities will be with us until …

37. @ Ross
    “Take Bush Tea”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    why don’t you….?
    …let it steep for 5 to 6 minutes and then sip it slowly while it is still warm.
    You will feel a lot better…

…and if you can’t stand the heat, the kitchen door is unlocked….

@ Lawson
    Try to understand how you would react if the government took away all your money and asked you to be patient while your children went hungry.
    …..No protests? No noise? no riots?

Perhaps what has been taken from these protesters (self-respect, equal rights, loved ones) is as important to them as your money is to you…..

38. I will even go further out on a limb and say Sharpton crump and there ilk are probably cringing right now trying to stop these protestors. knowing that with each step that is taken forward the general public are being sickened. anyone that wants to set back the black cause need only get out and march with these idiots How strange is that

39. All those who feeling sluggish and lethagic due to Chickungunya…..boil some paw-paw leaves down to a medicine consistancy…..take a tea-spoon every day…it works. Do not I repeat , do not overdose.My christmas gift to my favorite family….Where is GP when you need him? Onions or shud I say Dr. Onions Bsc.MB. O.B.E….(murda)

40. Wait Onions…
    ….you is the new bush man bout here now?

LOL …sounds like the chicken gunned yuh….. ha ha

41. The chikungunya toll is twice as much as last year.
    Is there anything the Barbados govt wont tax.

42. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar

Bush Tea

Tell it to Canterbury. Nepotism, misrepresentation, plagiarism…you have the lot fella. But if calling people ‘racists’ makes you feel good, have a nice day.

David…then DO something about it.

Only three people so far as I remember had anything to say of substance about this post.

One was Pacha who perceived it contained an ‘untruth’. In saying this he was raising a jurisprudential question. I don’t agree with him simply because I think he ignorers the distinction between ‘obligation’ and ‘being obliged’ and the nature of different kinds of norms in a legal system. But no matter.

Another was Lawson who agreed with the substance of the post – and why not? It contains incontrovertible truths.

The third was me.

43. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar

My view is that people like deBlasio had a public duty to say what they are saying now when this debate first began to rage. In not doing so they subverted the truth. If what they are now saying (and this post writer) is true now it was also true then. In suppressing the truth they affronted a fundamental principle of justice and contributed to racial hatred. I am not saying they caused the deaths of the two cops but they did contribute to a situation which led to their deaths. For this they must ever be ashamed – for they had a public responsibility to discharge and failed abysmally to do so.

Since some are not interested in records, for the record this is my position.

44. @ Ross

PERHAPS….
    ..it is that you have a natural propensity to turn your back on men like deBlasio…
    tough looking dude….

45. Perhaps the DeBlasio issue whether it contributed or not is to be seen as unfortunate and tangential to the bigger issue. Even if the two cops were not shot by a deranged person let down by the state, the bigger issue of distrust between Blacks and the Police would still exist.

46. I TURNED MY BACK ON DEBLASIO Avatar

1. I am unclear that any grave injustice occurred in the two cases which have given rise to this debate. Garner’s case is very difficult indeed but I think it would have been very difficult to make a murder or manslaughter charge ‘stick’, if only on the basis of the lack of a demonstrable causal link. None of us heard the Grand Jury evidence. Moreover mayhem has centred on an ambiguous video carefully put together by someone who is a self-confessed cop chaser and who did absolutely nothing to help a man whom he said was his friend…in other words by someone with an agenda.
    2. Nevertheless, whether there was injustice or not there is clearly a perception of injustice, a perception which is entrenched – and understandably so. The marches at root give substance to that feeling of hopelessness. And it’s for that reason I would march with them if I could and were David or Bobbie to call us out to march here on their account I would. I’ve yet to hear the big boys of BU say any similar thing.

3. The fact remains that deBlasio et al had the opportunity to bring balance into a situation which manifestly required it and failed to do so. They are and were HYPOCRITES, time servers, manipulators, and should be given no credence now for saying now what they should have said then.

AND THAT”S WHY I TURN MY BACK ON DEBLASIO AND CHEERFULLY ACCEPT THE WORD “RACIST” IF HOLDING THESE VIEWS MAKES ME SO IN THE EYES OF SOME.

Meanwhile, all blessings to everyone including those I’m totally at odds with.

47. you like to think people you elect ,…people in the public eye, paid lots of money to think in high profile jobs can see what is coming down the road , but in this case what the average person could see seemed to escape those that bit by bit poured fuel on the fire till the inevitable happened. The same people today that are quick to say this was one deranged person so as not blanket the whole protest movement would blanket the whole police and jury system for killings that may or may not be justified. Anyone that cannot make the connection between the rhetoric and these officers deaths is deluded.

48. Lawson
    …the statistical evidence clearly points to a GROSS disparity between the way that police routinely treat blacks and how they treat whites.
    That cannot be compared with a clearly unstable man doing shiite…

A one-off idiot policeman who mistreated blacks would NOT garner the kind of kickback that you are seeing….especially if the SYSTEM did not endorse it.

….at least you have been logical before – even if wrong….