Submitted by Anthony Davis

GOVERNMENT has been hit by a bombshell, the shock waves from which will impact the scores of retrenched workers hoping for compensation soon. In a dramatic show of disgust, eight of the nine members of the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT), including its chairperson Traece Codrington, have resigned with ‘immediate effectNation Newspaper 17 December 2014

Well, well, well!

Pray tell me, Mr, union man, where were the unions when the minister responsible for the NCC workers was making his decisions about whom to fire? You were nowhere to be found because you were in bed with Government. How come you waited until the people were sent home to play that you are interested in their affairs? If there is anyone to be sued it is the Minister of Labour for failing to provide the necessary accommodation, secretariat, and equipment. We are no longer slaves where we must sit on the ground, whereas Massa sits in his fine chair.

Former PM, Owen Arthur, said:”Massa day done!”

If you had done your duty from the beginning it would not have come to this, unless you expect the members of the tribunal to bring their own equipment and find accommodation for themselves. If one starts wrong one ends wrong. You are now trying to save your own hides – nothing else. Every time a minister is wanted to face the press, he/she absconds. I wonder where she has gone?

They do their own thing and then can’t face the music!

Ironically, had the basics been met, the tribunal could have commenced in 2013 as there would be no need to focus the collective energy on administrative functions,” they said in the letter.

My mind boggles. I thought that the tribunal was to be only set up to deal with the NCC affair. This makes it even worse! Is there no accommodation anywhere in Barbados which this “people-centred” Government could find? Is it possible that the Minister of Finance did NOT have the money for the Minister of Labour to set up the necessary accommodation, secretariat and equipment for the tribunal, whereas he has enough for high-end toys, and could pour $120 million into the always “soon ready to start again” “All Seasons”?

When it comes to the needs of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable this Government is always unwilling to help, yet it expects them to pay more and more taxes so that they can be paid. This is a very sad state of affairs. The BWA has a spanking new $ 60 million building with lots of space, because there is not the manpower to fill it. Could the tribunal not have been set up in there?

It is incomprehensible how something as important as this could take so many eons to set up!

Under the headline:”What next? FORMER NCC WORKERS ANGERED BY NEWS OF TRIBUNAL RESIGNATIONS” on page 4 of “Barbados TODAY” dated 17 December, 2014 it stated:”St. George resident Cynthia Ifill, who broke down in tears about the situation during an interview last month, accused the former tribunal members of not having their interest at heart.”

It sounds to me like a waste of time. If they resign now that means they never had our interest at heart. Is it (justice) going to take longer or is it going to happen at all because they will have to look for a different set of people now. Is it going to happen? It’s very frustrating because I don’t know where we are going from here now. Where are we going?” Ifill asked.

It is NOT the tribunal’s fault!

The fault lies fairly and squarely at the feet of the Minister of Labour and your representatives in the hierarchy of the BWU and the NUPW. The tribunal cannot operate from under a tamarind tree somewhere, and so they – who could have started work since 2013 – needed the prerequisite conditions under which they could carry out their duties properly. They have been waiting since 2013 for somewhere to set up their office, and up to now that has not happened. If they had never resigned, we would not have known the scale of this fiasco.

I think that the Minister of Labour should resign!

“Procrastination is the thief of time.”

121 responses to “Employment Rights Tribunal Betrayal by Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo”

1. Excellent assessments above, miller and Caswell.

I am now at a lost as to what next will go wrong in our country! What else could go wrong? Devaluation? Further downgrades? Stinkliar is not paying government’s bills, not paying income tax refunds, so how the hell could he present such a rosy picture. He really think that people believe a word out of their mouths? By where is Kellman?

I feel so sorry for the poor workers who will not have a good Christmas. Meanwhile, the morons will enjoy their Christmas after these poor people were tricked into voting for them will not be able to do so! Who can believe this!!!!!

2. Wuhloss, Anthony! I knew something was coming! Whenever you see this MOF rush out to announce this project and the next project……….look out, some bad news from the international rating agencies.

Not to worry, the PM, Kellman and Inniss will tell you they dont care about these agencies!

3. Another downgrade, Estwick acting up and Donville revealing that this cabinet is now very close despite the rumblings! Comedy at its best!

4. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

http://www.caribbean360.com/news/barbados-government-fully-committed-restructuring-clico-stuart?utm_source=Caribbean360 Newsletters&utm_campaign=a8e

move cover up , for his good friends, this PM is a deep crook with the people money again ,

5. The news that CTUSAB will not be part of any future Employment Rights Tribunal is another example of hogwash. Has Cedric Murrell and his CTUSAB been asleep all these months when it had been obvious the ERT was stillborn?

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The ERT was not still born: it just would not function. If they wanted to, they could have started to hear cases since July last year. It is a simple matter of not knowing what to do.

7. We know it is not going to happen but if only those who resigned from the ERT Board would collect the gumption to tell their side of the story.

8. @ David
    ……if only those who resigned from the ERT Board would collect the gumption to tell their side of the story.
    Give Bushie a break David…..
    What tell what side of what story what…
    …and embarrass themselves even more?

Bushie suspects that Caswell is right (for a change 🙂 )

There are lots of “jokers” around Barbados who have big names and alotta qualifications, but who can only perform when things are calm and steady…
    ….create a few waves, or even just rock the boat and they start pissing themselves…

The former PS called them “Jokers”…but he REALLY mean “brass bowls” if bushie knows him well…

Shiite man, even if they have a case that they were not provided the necessary requirements …wuh it took them two damn years to work that out….?

…..were they paid a stipend in the interim?
    …..are they planning to return that money?
    …..could they not have at least MET and taken a decision on the way forward if that meant resigning?
    ….they obviously only resigned because the minister put a deadline in their asses which they knew they were incompetent to meet, and so the stipend was ending anyway…

Obviously the chairman is a “Joker” as must be the others….
    LOL…one is a joker AND a yardfowl….

We already know that the minister is hopeless as is her boss….

Our ass is grass…. 🙁

9. Wily……….don’t knock Haiti too hard, I wholeheartedly agree that they need to get over themselves in Haiti, but if not for Haiti and Jamaica, Bajans would still be slaves, given their mentality.

Maybe Haiti is a lesson to be learned for the Bajan politicians, if they could stop being proud of and admiring their ugly new hearses long enough to even notice Haiti’s current problems, they keep making the same mistakes and expect different results.

Politicians in Barbados are too busy being corrupt with their executive friends to notice what is coming next for them or realize they will soon have a Haiti dilemma on their hands.

10. “Byer Suckoo seems to fail at everything she has done so far. ”

One thing I know about the DR., don’t get between her and a photo op or you’ll be road kill.

11. I am convinced that this Government has a Dirty Tricks Department, headed by the PM himself, with Estwick as his faithful Deputy.

12. Wily Coyote December 20, 2014 at 7:03 PM #

“Byer Suckoo seems to fail at everything she has done so far. ”

One thing I know about the DR., don’t get between her and a photo op or you’ll be road kill.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    When the Prime Minister went against the wishes of the people and unilaterally appointed Byer Suckoo to the Senate and gave her that Ministry, it was his intention to use her as a “fall guy” in the expected troubling industrial climate that would bound follow during his ‘rain’ in office.

She has been booted into second place by Cheshire Cat Stephen Lashley . Hardly a day goes by without his mug being flashed on CBC TV or the print media.

13. Well Well,
    You ought to give the government of Barbados and its people a little more credit than that because we are an educated people who has the know it how and the can do spirit to emerge from this current crisis.

14. Uh ..know there are instances when yardfowls should be reminded of the past..like the Alexander explosion that under the BLP govt was never resolved..yeah! yeah! yeah! Yeah ac knows wunna gonna try to downplay as not the same..however some of the same issues are relevant pertaining to employees rights in pursuit for fairness…
    However the Alexander issue was tackled and put to rest by present govt..therfore it behooves me that the Blp misfits and drive by shooters would on a daily basis using gunpowder to attack this govt about the long drawn process it is taking to resolve the retrenchment problem while highliting the discomfort to the workers..
    The usual diatribe by the yardfowls is a reminder that when pointing a finger outward the other finger is pointing in the opposite direction at self

15. The question remains Minister Suckoo, why has it taken all these months for you to pull the plug on the ERT? This is an epic fail. Thanks for the update anyway.

16. @ ac December 21, 2014 at 8:33 AM #

“However the Alexander [ALEXANDRA] issue was tackled and put to rest by present govt..”

After the ministry of education, the Chief Education Officer and MoE Ronald Jones could not resolve the Alexandra School issue, PM Stuart thought it was wise to use an expensive commission of enquiry to solve the problem, at the expense of tax payers.

If you are saying to me that:
    1) by spending over $300,000 to resolve an issue that could have been resolved by persons who are already employed by the ministry of education to deal with such matters;
    2) many of the teachers involved, by going on extended sick leave have demonstrated their refusal to teach at the schools they were transferred to;

is your opinion that the issued has been resolved and is something for you and the DLP to “beat your chest” about, then you certainly are a yard duck.

17. @ the Anunnaki

earlier you said “the firm of ACs..”

Then, I was viewing the Blogmaster’s remark directed to Minister Suckoo and it then dawned on the ole fellow what de ole man couldn’t unnerstan

“Simple and Compound Metre”

Each time signature in music had a regular measure (excluding that techno garbage de grans does call music)

I was becoming confused by the styles, multiple styles, of AC who was and is writing in four distinct styles

Absolute Cretinism (by the illiterate wife), Acrimonious Diatribes, Astounding Clarity and Agreement & Common sense.

Whereas I once used to scroll past the first AC who was alone at the steering wheel for some time last year, I found/find myself pausing and scanning for the Metre and, depending on if it is Cretin, reading, and sometimes “liking” the Common Sense character

Sage Anunnaki it seems that the calcification of the brain that the resident Equis Africanus Asinus has accused de ole man of having, is in fact true for it truly boggled me as to the jekyllian styling and oft caused me to scroll up to see if the submitter was AC.

Thank you for making me aware that a few of the DLPites are making submissions under the same name

There must be some internet law that is being broken by this conjoint identity commingling one that we, like Micheal Lashley could invoke and send police to their residences and get them lock up, or at least have the Royal Barbados Police Force squeeze DEM balls in a drawer, ask Baffy whu tuh do wid de missus AC…

18. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

OH MY GOD!!!!!!!…..my head hurting me go much with the gross amount of incompetence this government has displayed….I does have a box of paracetamol’s….and some..”spirits”…nearby just to take away this misery!!!!!! And how long the next elections is???….3 years!!!…..Hopefully these 3 years will fly by!!!!..
    .Now Ester Byer-Foo Foo gine wait till 8 members of a 9 member ERT.resign…to tell us that the ERT going on the wrong path. Now if I had to swallow this bullshit….how long did she knew it was going on the wrong path!!…and why didn’t she…out line this “path” to the ERT members!!!!!….first sign of incompetence. Secondly….in everybody’s eyes…..the ERT….existed practically in name only….it wasn’t functioning and this is about 6 months that it was said to be formed!!!!!…..This is in keeping with this govt “smoke and mirrors” style” of governance …..saying something would be done….give those that are naive a whiff of hope..but in reality never was going to do anything….I knew those NCC workers didn’t have a chance……I agree with the NUPW…..thus govt must stop wasting time!!!!! and pay those workers their severance.

19. The Minister of Labour Esther Byer-Suckoo was quoted to promise the following yesterday. We will again monitor like the proverbial hawk in the same way when the matter was handed to the Labour Office by PM Stuart 8 months ago…

Tribunal to meet soon

Sanka Price, Sankaprice@nationnews.com

Added 20 December 2014

esther-byer-suckoo

Minister of Labour Senator Dr Esther Byer Suckoo explaining the mandate of the soon to be appointed Employment Rights Tribunal. (Picture by Sanka Price).

IN A MATTER of weeks, the retrenched National Conservation Commission (NCC) workers will “have their day” before a newly constituted Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT), pledged Minister of Labour, Senator Dr Esther Byer Suckoo.

Related articles

Furthermore, the tribunal will conduct its business with simple procedures as the ministry recognised that some people coming before it would be doing so without an attorney.

The minister made the promise this morning at a media briefing in her Warrens Office Complex suite. The briefing was called to discuss the resignation of eight of the nine members from the original ERT with immediate effect on December 5. They were first appointed in April 2013 and never heard any case during their tenure.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/61028/tribunal-meet-soon

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have been saying for months, in this forum and on the call-in programmes that the ERT has been making the process, to have a case heard before them, unnecessarily difficult. The procedure, that they were implementing, was taken straight from the rules of the Supreme Court. Applicants who had no legal training were being asked to draft witness statements similar to those that lawyers prepare for the High Court.

Cases before tribunals in Barbados take the form of a summary trial where the evidence is presented orally. Cases were not heard by the tribunal because they were unfamiliar with the required procedure and not because of anything that the Government did or didn’t do.

My difficulty with the Government is that it did not take the initiative to relieve the country of that tribunal and waited instead until the members of the tribunal realise that they could not bluff their way around anymore and resigned using the minister as a scapegoat. Mind you, I am not complaining that they are gone; I really don’t care how as long as they are gone. They have done this country a disservice.

21. @ Caswell,

I don’t know why you are continuing with the same BS.

The buck stops with the Minister.

They were put in place since 2013 and if they were found to be ineffective they should have been terminated a long time ago.

THEY DID NOT APPOINT THEMSELVES.

This is TOTAL incompetence from the Minister responsible in this area of more than 18 months.

Yes as professionals they too should have taken it upon themselves to walk away a lot earlier if they found that in their opinions they were not being given the tools required.

This is a major slap in the face of all those UNEMPLOYED workers seeking readdress through this kangaroo tribunal that existed in name only.

I am not part of any Union or political party and have no axe to grind.

However these unemployed Barbadians former government workers have been left to suffer along with their children before and during the holiday season and further into 2015.

Whilst the Union leaders, cabinet ministers and the former tribunal members enjoy themselves at their expense.

22. David

Word reaching me is that the race to be Chairman of the ERT has been won by a little bony horse that Galloped over to the DLP camp.

23. I think that the Government got it wrong when they legislated a tribunal of nine persons chaired by an individual chairman. The Government should have copied the formula for constituting the severance payment tribunals. The legislation should have provided for three or more tribunals each with its own chairman and let each tribunal set about hearing cases.

24. CASWELL FRANKLYN>>

FUH u everybody gets it wrong, u seem to establish a one man govt all by yuh self,, with rules and regulations that would only attract fish flies .

25. @ Caswell
    You keep missing the point….
    TRIBUNAL BUSHIE’s ASS….

The issue is really how, after 50 years of nationhood, we are incapable of managing a simple government department and have to send people home and hand the work over to white people -plantation style….

What we need is NOT some shiite tribunal to adjudge who was wrong or who should get compensation, we need some SENSIBLE, COMPETENT, HONEST people making decisions in this place UP FRONT.

This is why your fetish with unionism, where you get to show up how incompetent our leaders are, is misguided. It is fun, but it is not helpful….

Can’t you see that we need your FORESIGHT at the decision-making level – not talking shiite AFTER the brass bowl female rabbits have French Connected (UK) -up the damn country…..

steupssss

26. Yes Caswell, the minister in her press conference agrees with you position, in fact she stated it. The only issue is that she took so long to bring an end to the farce which was at the expense of the 400+ workers. 77 cases pending, wow!

27. @Bush Tea

Both issues are relevant your obviously with more weight but both speak to a dysfunction at all levels.

28. @ David

Both issues?
    What both issues what?!?

As Caswell said, GOVERNMENT GOT IT WRONG in the way they created the tribunal.
    GOVERNMENT GOT IT WRONG when they took the decision to arbitrarily employ political yard fowls
    GOVERNMENT GOT IT WRONG when they decided to lay off hundreds of low paid workers while keeping highly paid ministers and public servants
    GOVERNMENT GOT IT WRONG when they implemented the shiite tax to pay Bizzy…

There is only one issue David… GOVERNMENT GETTING IT WRONG

…and the solution is NOT commissions of inquiry or tribunals to mop up, but to get rid of the incompetent jackasses and put qualified (HONEST, TRANSPARENT, COMPETENT) people in government.

29. @Bush Tea

Understood but the Enquiries and the noise help to create tension to solving the big issue.

30. @ David
    Enquiries and the noise help to create tension to solving the big issue.
    ++++++++++++++++++
    In Barbados? with brass bowls?
    …name such an occasion.

Look David, there is only one way to improve a brass bowl, you have to grab it by the tail, empty it of the lotta shit, give it a good scrubbing and then apply liberal polish to its brass…. THEN it becomes something worth bringing into the house.

This is where Pacha is VERY wrong when he talks about “collective leadership”. Sounds like a good theory, but that would NEVER work with brass… all you would get is different bowls splashing their shiite on one another. Barbados NEEDS a pig headed, arrogant, knowledgeable, patriotic dictator who is not going to be distracted by the trinkets of the great Satan and who has the necessary balls to call shiite as he sees it and to dump it….

THAT describes the damn man Caswell ….especially the pigheadedness 🙂

The man is exactly what this BB country needs to start going in the right direction….for about two to three years, then we could retire him and by that time some of the latent talent would begin to blossom in the new transparent environment.

…that is wunna business if wunna don’t recognize this obvious fact…and let Caswell continue wasting his damn time putting low level public servants in the shiite court over dismissed or “unfaired” workers….most of whom wanted firing any damn how….

31. @Bushie

Don’t you see traditional media is seeking out Caswell for comments about trade union and other matters? Does this reflect positively on Caswell or moreso the dearth of trade union talent which abound….lol. Caswell no offense meant!

32. @ David
    ..or there is the other possibility….

..that the traditional media are all a bunch of balls-less effeminate patsies who all KNOW of the issues that need to be raised, but who, not having the cajoles to come out and raise these issues, seek out a fellow like Caswell (who will always speak his mind), and whom they can then use to say what they all wanted to say in the first place…

…and to what “trade union talent” do you refer…? The jokers who have gravitated to the trade union are exactly reflective of the state of decay of that movement.. …dead…

Interestingly, the absolute worse has, for a long time now, been the various teachers unions… Their ongoing failure to put forward a single impressive leadership figure in a profession that is all about education is amazing….

Well, at least there is a big sign at the BWU conference hall which explains exactly why the people of Barbados are suffering and why it will only get worse…
    …something about a lack of vision….and we all know that lack of vision is highly correlated to the prevalence of brass bowls in high positions…

just imaging AC or Dompey sitting in some influential position….
    OH Hell!! the very thought…. 🙂

33. So exactly when did the minister realised that the ERT was going down the wrong path?

If they had not resigned, when would she had taken action?

Moron!

34. @piece uh de rock
    ………..
    yeah uh right!

35. The ERT Board resigned bar on because of her email that gave an ultimatum.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

None taken.

37. Bushtea

Yuh pelting licks. I like um!!

38. A tad sexist at times though.

39. @ Enuff
    …sorry about that Skippa, but he Caswell real hard ears …
    …steupsss

Wunna can’t tek he back in the BLP to counteract some of the jokers wunna got that giving the party a bad name…?

….man help the country nuh??!!

40. mmmm!

North Korea experienced sweeping and progressively worse Internet outages extending into Monday, with one computer expert saying the country’s online access is “totally down.” – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/61128/north-korea-experiencing-severe-internet-outages#sthash.6KxmuoB4.dpuf

41. Prodigal Son December 22, 2014 at 2:08 PM #

So exactly when did the minister realised that the ERT was going down the wrong path?

If they had not resigned, when would she had taken action?

Moron!.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………..
    So what are you going to do with her? Don’t vote her back in at the next election?

42. Not sure if we are buying what the ERT board members have offered in today’s press as an excuse it not carrying out the business it was set up to do.

43. David

If you bought that explanation you’d be an idiot. They continue to mislead people with nonsense about rules of procedure but yet, they have issued forms to be used when going through the process of making a claim before the tribunal. Their explanation is not helpful: it just makes them look worse than they already do.

44. @Caswell

From where we sit the buck stops with the minister of labour. She was the one boasting in the Senate and at regional and international fora how progressive our labour market. This matter should have been brought to a head when the PM transferred the issue to the labour department to be handled by the ERT. We continue to find too many excuses driven by political positions.

45. David

I agree that the matter should have been brought to a head when the PM referred the case to the ERT, but I don’t know if we are talking about the same head.

Firstly, he had no authority to refer the matter to the ERT, only the Chief Labour Officer can do that. The PM has it in his power (well at least on paper anyway) to order the NCC to comply with the decision and directive of the Cabinet. He only needed the tribunal as a delaying tactic so that they could appear to be legitimately delaying making payments to the displaced workers. Mind you, there is nothing in the law that says that severance payments must wait until there is a determination in an unfair dismissal case. As a matter of fact, paragraph 5 of the First Schedule of the Employment Rights Act makes provision for reducing the compensation for unfair dismissal by the amount already as severance pay.

The NCC could pay severance to those that qualify and if and when the ERT makes a determination of unfair dismissal, the balance if any would then be paid.

Government, in association with the major unions, is deliberately deceiving the retrenched workers. I see no good reason why the unions aren’t leading demonstrations to highlight Government’s abuse of the workers.

46. @Caswell

It appears the BEC disagrees with your few that rules of procedure were clear for the ERT.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

They are free to employ whatever face saving tactics they want, but I contend that they were unnecessarily complicating the process. If only they would read the act and not allow others to inform their position, they would have read section 7 (3) of the ERA which tells them to use the procedure found in the Commissions of Inquiry Act.

It is best that they stop talking because they are making themselves look bad.

48. …deal wid it…those workers were sent to the Tribunal for a precise reason….Govt did not have the MONEY to pay them…..all this rig-ma-roll is\was to consume time and frustrate….maybe even defer til the next administration. Caswell you may know the law but let’s how it will be administered….just remember CLICO….I have and lost heavily…Laws what laws?…tis banana Rep.

Come the New Year Mo shoite…

49. Methinks most Bajans save and except those who benefit from this government’s largesse,like those involved in catering since these ministers are eating themselves to death,most Bajans would agree that this cabinet like Sandiford’s before them,just do not have the competence to manage Barbados.The razor thin majority means that the PM even if minded to make a few changes in portfolios is unable to do so without serious consequences.In any case it is like making silk out of a sow’s ear.Sandy and Stuart,comparatively turn out to have a few things in common:both came from a background in teaching and both should have stuck to their calling;neither possess the technical know how to manage the Barabados economy;neither exuded the confidence required for the private sector to invest in Barbados;both like the power of office but cannot deliver the goods.Both have had the misfortune to have to rely on another minister to take the Finance portfolio.All roads lead to the Finance ministry but we have a current PM who opted to take the Urban Development portfolio for purely political gain or so he believes.Stuart appears interested in keeping his seat rather than keeping Barbados an economic powerhouse.After almost 7 years in Bay Street all Stuart can show is a pedestrian walk over at the Pine and some apartments at the Grotto.Oh,and the big tax break given to the abrasive hotelier….40 years of freeness.All other promises are yet to be fulfilled like a new hospital etc bare talk and renaming a few schools.

50. What is the latest with the implementation of the new ERT Board?