Submitted by Anthony Davis

GOVERNMENT has been hit by a bombshell, the shock waves from which will impact the scores of retrenched workers hoping for compensation soon. In a dramatic show of disgust, eight of the nine members of the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT), including its chairperson Traece Codrington, have resigned with ‘immediate effectNation Newspaper 17 December 2014

Well, well, well!

Pray tell me, Mr, union man, where were the unions when the minister responsible for the NCC workers was making his decisions about whom to fire? You were nowhere to be found because you were in bed with Government. How come you waited until the people were sent home to play that you are interested in their affairs? If there is anyone to be sued it is the Minister of Labour for failing to provide the necessary accommodation, secretariat, and equipment. We are no longer slaves where we must sit on the ground, whereas Massa sits in his fine chair.

Former PM, Owen Arthur, said:”Massa day done!”

If you had done your duty from the beginning it would not have come to this, unless you expect the members of the tribunal to bring their own equipment and find accommodation for themselves. If one starts wrong one ends wrong. You are now trying to save your own hides – nothing else. Every time a minister is wanted to face the press, he/she absconds. I wonder where she has gone?

They do their own thing and then can’t face the music!

Ironically, had the basics been met, the tribunal could have commenced in 2013 as there would be no need to focus the collective energy on administrative functions,” they said in the letter.

My mind boggles. I thought that the tribunal was to be only set up to deal with the NCC affair. This makes it even worse! Is there no accommodation anywhere in Barbados which this “people-centred” Government could find? Is it possible that the Minister of Finance did NOT have the money for the Minister of Labour to set up the necessary accommodation, secretariat and equipment for the tribunal, whereas he has enough for high-end toys, and could pour $120 million into the always “soon ready to start again” “All Seasons”?

When it comes to the needs of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable this Government is always unwilling to help, yet it expects them to pay more and more taxes so that they can be paid. This is a very sad state of affairs. The BWA has a spanking new $ 60 million building with lots of space, because there is not the manpower to fill it. Could the tribunal not have been set up in there?

It is incomprehensible how something as important as this could take so many eons to set up!

Under the headline:”What next? FORMER NCC WORKERS ANGERED BY NEWS OF TRIBUNAL RESIGNATIONS” on page 4 of “Barbados TODAY” dated 17 December, 2014 it stated:”St. George resident Cynthia Ifill, who broke down in tears about the situation during an interview last month, accused the former tribunal members of not having their interest at heart.”

It sounds to me like a waste of time. If they resign now that means they never had our interest at heart. Is it (justice) going to take longer or is it going to happen at all because they will have to look for a different set of people now. Is it going to happen? It’s very frustrating because I don’t know where we are going from here now. Where are we going?” Ifill asked.

It is NOT the tribunal’s fault!

The fault lies fairly and squarely at the feet of the Minister of Labour and your representatives in the hierarchy of the BWU and the NUPW. The tribunal cannot operate from under a tamarind tree somewhere, and so they – who could have started work since 2013 – needed the prerequisite conditions under which they could carry out their duties properly. They have been waiting since 2013 for somewhere to set up their office, and up to now that has not happened. If they had never resigned, we would not have known the scale of this fiasco.

I think that the Minister of Labour should resign!

“Procrastination is the thief of time.”

121 responses to “Employment Rights Tribunal Betrayal by Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo”

1. […] Employment Rights Tribunal Betrayal by Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo […]

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If the Tribunal wanted to work, they could have done so. They is more than adequate space available to them in the Barrack building, they were getting into thing that should not have concerned them. All they were required to do is schedule the hearings and make themselves available to hear the matters. There is a lawyer available to them who has been doing the administrative work.

Quite frankly, I don’t think that the tribunal understood what was expected of them. They should have been fired long ago for failing to do the job that they were appointed to do. The excuses about a phone number and staff were merely red herrings to justify their inaction.

3. Does it ever end! Failure to fund the ERT Tribunal by the Minister of Finance (Employment Rights Act 2012, Second Schedule Cont’d, 5. ) Why did everyone keep mum: Minister of Labor, & Tribunal chairman. Resigning was like a child stomping their feet to get noticed. And what good did it do for the employees affected who now have to wait for another Tribunal to be seated.

4. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

MORE CROOKS LIARS AND SCUMBAGS, EVERYONE WANT TO PLAY BIG, THEY COULD HAVE SET UP UNDER A TENT,

DID SOME ONE PAID THEM TO BACK OUT , ALL FUNDS IS GOING ONE PLACE , TO THE BANK TO PROP UP THE COUNTRY ACCOUNT,,

DID THEY SAY 14 WEEKS OF MONEY,? How long will that last if all these people are paid for not working?

No one need only just to pay water , light and food, Banks ,.COURTS and others need not to be paid , let the cars go back and no need for cars if you not working,Walk it or ZR,

We not paying road tax 2500, nor insurance 3000, both cars off the road, That alone with out gas, money these bitches not getting , People need to learn to boycott,

We need to see what is what and will not help these crooks rob us or no one, walking will hep you live longer and cleaner air,

Long Live the King,

5. Them tribunal members get paid?

6. @Caswell

Are you suggesting the ERT legislation is that ambiguous how the Tribunal should work

Are you saying that after a reasonable time had elapsed when the PM gave his assurance the NCC matter would have been heard that the buck should not have stopped with the government he leads?

Are you saying that what has happened here with an ineffective ERT it should not have been the catalyst for ALL trade unions in Barbados to mobilize to protest given that it strikes at the heart of all who have a vested interest in the labour movement?

7. i do not understand MIA Mottley at all ! at all! at all!.. the woman comes across as a brilliant knee jerk back slapping political armchair politician with no clue and comprehension of the intricate details and hard decsion making that involves the running of the country affairs,, every time this woman opens her mouth she sends messages to the public that are half truths and littered with political propaganda that should only be heard coming from the dwellings of rum shops and political yardfowls and not from a persons who one day might hold the reigns of high political power and by all means should be clearly cognizant of what the role of leadership entails and some of the hard decisions made that are for the benefit and security of the countries best interest . this woman never ceases to amaze, MIA mottley Ready for Leadership NO! … A political whinner YES!

8. There is a moral and ethical hazard which the government needs to negotiate. The PM and the Minister of Drainage over food and drink at the LSCC promised the workers they would be looked after. The workers were promised the ERT would hear their case in short order. It is obvious this will not happen anytime soon. The government has a responsible to make good with the workers even if it is not the ideal result. This is not about politics, it is about treating human beings with respect.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Racehrse

It was never about funding: it has always been about delaying tactics. You should recall that the first reason for not meeting was that the tribunal did not have any rules of procedure. That was a joke because the Employment Rights Act provides that they should use the procedure under the Commission of Inquiry Act. In my opinion they were finding excuses not to start hearings.

There are several tribunals at NIS that have been operating from the 1960s and they don’t have any dedicated staff. NIS arranges everything and the tribunals just turn up and hear cases.

10. Where else in this world …or any other… could a Prime Minister give his word PUBLICLY that a particular course of action, guided by an entity under HIS control, would take place in order to address a critical matter under his attention …..
    …..and then sit back quietly and watch the whole plan fizzle into nothingness?

Shiite man…. If the Prime Minister does not resign after this personal embarrassment then we should KNOW that we are indeed in duck’s guts politically in Barbados.

Wuh if Sleepy is unable to get a shiite tribunal to even meet, how the hell can he be expected to address any of the REAL problems that we face daily bout here…? …or the REAL shit that is coming our way…?

Steupsss..
    Suckoo should have resigned and gone back to medicine right after the last election. Yuh mean someone can’t take a hint from being DEFEATED by a joker? If the damn people don’t want yuh …then they don’t want yuh…

However Bushie supports the Unions……all of them…EXCEPT CASWELL.
    If working people are so damn foolish as to bring money every week and GIVE it to a set of low-class morons calling themselves union leaders, so that they can drive “big rides”, hob nob with Government and business big shots, travel overseas regularly, and laze around all day otherwise…….. wuh shiite den!!! who is Bushie to condemn these leaders?
    Seems to the bushman that they are just pissing into the same brass bowls that the government, business people, trickidadians, canadians and everyone else seems to be pissing on….

Caswell is just stubborn and playing the ass…
    The Union model has served its time. It is DEAD.
    If Caswell really wants to serve the cause of workers, then he either needs to get a life with BUP, …or just retire and write shiite articles like Bushie….

11. david – the prime minister gots the boys in a tailspin since yesterday when he tell them to expect a cabinet reshuffle in january

12. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

David , its good that you post what you post, We keep saying , never look for the truth where crooks , liars and scumbags are COMPLICIT in crimes against the state ,

David again , We need to focus on the CRIMES and not the aftermath of the CRIMES , nor the reactions of the CRIMES,

WHEN, you all see the CRIME, KNOW THE CRIME AND GET TO KNOW HOW THE CRIME EFFECTS BARBADOS , No more then will you loose focus on why we are where we are and where we are headed,

No Clear titles no loans, No investments, laid off, no work, bill not paid , no food , no movement , Crime will go up,, jail maybe full but not of Ministers and lawyers , the root cause of all things in Barbados,

13. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, Minister of Labour and Social Security blames a computer glitch for the chaos surrounding payroll of temporary workers.OH!

Bull shit, One CALCULATOR , THAT IS WHAT A COMPUTER IS,

THEY CAN DO BY HAND , BEFORE 1980 PEOPLE GOT PAID, , MORE LIES,
    BYER-SUCK-OO LOST HER SEAT , crook ass PM put her back in a sear and crook ass TODD ,. now they are the LEFT AND RIGHT hand of a crook,
    making your the E11 might now we the E 9.

If Barbados dont stop the long talk with delays , they will drag this up to Elections and spend all your money to get your votes again , Then to flip back in the laundering of your own FUNDS,

CLEAR TITLE PEOPLE , CLEAR TITLE,

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The legislation is not ambiguous. The problem is simple; Government selected the wrong people to start the process. It would appear that the tribunal was clueless as to their role. Government needed an experienced person as chairman but selected a person, who as far as I am aware, has never been involved in a similar exercise.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t expect anything that was done to be a catalyst for any action by the unions. The major unions have forgotten their role, and assumed the responsibility of keeping the DLP in power. They were collaborating with Government against the interests of their members. Check and see what Maloney said in relation to the moves to rationalise some statutory boards, and you will see that is is basically what was contained in Sinckler’s ministerial statement.

Why is Maloney privy to Government policy and not the acting general secretary?

16. Rumours of a Cabinet shuffle have been rife for years now.

@Caswell

If the Chair was inexperienced Thomas, Young, Sobers don’t have similar excuse. As a Board they had the option to express a lack of confidence in the Chair.

17. The populace and the world is watching this island crumble and sink bit by bit into the sea. This present administration cannot implement anything. They are all talk and no one is really listening and believing. They have lost credibility with ALL Bajans and Investors with the exception of AC and the Donkey of course. The PM is very pleased with his ministers performances. No drugs in our Hospital, Garbage piled high along our roads, International businesses leaving by the droves, Roads are filled with potholes, Bush has taken over everything, Bridgetown the capital looks poor rakey, and laid off Workers are paid lip service. Will 2015 be any better? Under this administration I hardly think so.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I see you have bought into people’s propaganda about their own abilities.

19. @Caswell

We have two post grads and a top HR practitioner verse in the workings of the public service, enough said. Are you questioning the credentials of the folks?

20. @ Caswell Franklyn December 19, 2014 at 8:46 AM #

This matter should have been dealt with in its entirety back on Monday May 12, 2014, when discussions between the NCC, BWU and NUPW, were held in the Labour Department’s conference room.

It was reported that after almost 2 and 25minutes of intense talks, NUPW general secretary, Dennis Clarke, informed the press no resolution was reached because “talks broke down.”

Reports also stated “the NUPW and BWU came together to insist the NCC withdrew retrenchment letters issued to the 200 workers, and that the ‘last in, first out’ policy be used in determining who goes home.” Clarke insisted “that the principle of ‘last in, first out’ must be honoured, and if it was not the done, then the NUPW would ‘start to build our forces’…”

Clarke issued the threat “we are not fooling around on this one all because it’s cabinet decision that we’ve honoured. If they don’t honour it, then the Government of Barbados got to bring back on every man jack that they sent home.”

Both the NUPW and BWU had between the months of June 1 to November 30, 2014 [ a period of 6 months] to petition government for a resolution to this matter.

21. @ John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. December 19, 2014 at 3:03 AM #

We not paying road tax 2500, nor insurance 3000, both cars off the road, That alone with out gas, money these bitches not getting ,

People need to learn to boycott,
    We need to see what is what and will not help these crooks rob us or no one, walking will hep you live longer and cleaner air,

GOOD DECISION

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Now you see why some people awarded national honours.

23. @ Caswell

You cannot blame the members of the tribunal for resigning and then turnaround and say that the wrong people were hired.

That means that the buck must stop with whoever hired them.

Also whoever hired the tribunal members was aware this was to be functioning since 2013 and at the end of 2014 was not up and running SHOULD BE FIRED.

THIS IS A MANAGEMENT PROBLEM AND SOMEONE HEAD SHOULD ROLL.

Also if a speedy response was promised in this matter by BOTH PM and Lowe and it OBVIOUSLY has not happened it should tell ALL BARBADIANS irregardless of party or non party that the CURRENT government is not there for them.

THIS IS THE SAME SAGA WITH CLICO no accountability.

24. The honorable Bush Tea has said and I quote “The Union model has served its time. It is DEAD.”

And one must concur.

What was the average weekly salary of 60% of Bajan workers in the 1980’s around the time the late Sir Errol made his famous Mirror Image speech? And what is it now?

When is it that at 2014, offshore companies can employ workers in Barbados under such conditions of employ that it approaches “bus fare and (maybe) lunch money”?

The phenomena that manifests itself here is aftermath, a place where what we are seeing in the Employment Rights Tribunal fiasco is the downright abdication of duties of the unions when the matter was in front of them for their action when they were in the National Conservation Commission ‘s yard.

EWB in that perennial speech says” and there are people in high places who conspired to Allow that to happen….” And even now his words resonate as the finger squarely points to the Union(s) co-conspirators in this crime.

NCC workers are “the beasts of burden” of our decade’s replacement of the cane fields whom are shunned because of the menial nature of their toil, as are the shop assistants and the “bus fare and lunch” denizens in the offshore companies that BIDC has indentured to overseas FDIs and our unions have participated in sharing the 30 pieces of silver.

If your mirror image is flawed you do not see this group of people as humans, we are Considered to be only cattle and chattel to be used and disposed of at the whim and fancy of our new masters

I wonder how many of us are seeing that the “mirror” of existence and commitment to our nation’s wellbeing is cracked and warped and these instances and i competencies are just skewed reflections of what we have become?

25. I believe the Unions should also be sued in Court for Fraud (mis-representation).

How can you take anyone’s money each month for years to represent them; then once the same paid-up employees are in a crisis situation not caused by them but by their employer unfair employment practices you abandon them

Excuse given in some cases that you cannot represent them as they are classified as temporary employers.

Yet you mislead them by taking their money monthly over a sustained period of time.

All funds paid in by temporary workers to the Unions should be refunded with interest.

If this happened in the US, Canada, UK and other parts of Europe the Union leaders would be facing charges including conspiracy and criminal deception especially if the funds were not re-paid.

26. No employee who has been laid off should have to wait more that 1 month to receive all severance due to them.

It is cruel and unjust. Just think of those workers who have been spending their entire pay cheque every month to feed house and clothe their families.

Their children are being punished while Ministers and Union leaders living large.

The situation in Barbados is bad because there are NO OTHER JOBS that people can do while waiting.

Put yourselves in the position of the laid off workers and tell me what you would do.

27. Why is anyone surprised that this has turned into another major DLP/BLP cockup, it’s been happening for years, why would they change their modus now, nothing administrative that requires ethics and morals works well in Barbados.

After hearing some months ago about the displeasure and frustration experienced by the lawyers in Barbados when they were beyond fedup with the slowness of change in the court system concerning it’s existing antiquated rules and guidelines, most of which belong in the dark ages and have no place in a 2014 court system. Again I ask…….

What do lawyers in Barbados do that they did not spot a loophole in the court system that has been exploited by dubious insurance companies for more than 15 years. The lawyers should have approached BAMP years ago, it would have saved lives, pain, suffering and misery because of this legal cockup which was allowed to gain traction. I am actually being fair to lawyers here.

Some of the lawyers are plaintiff’s attorneys and should have petitioned the new Chief Justice vigorously through the bar association, unless they are also practicing defense attorneys, in which case defense attorneys would have no interest in closing such loopholes, it is to their financial advantage not to do so, knowing that most defense attorneys are viewed as low in ethics, sorry Ross, as long as they gain financially, they could care less about travesty of justice or human suffering….so there lies the conundrum….attorneys are both practicing plaintiff’s and defense attorneys, wearing two robes. Some attorneys are not distinguishing one specialty from the other, so their client is really at a disadvantage from the start unless that client also has some legal training.

There seems to be no uniform codes (codes of uniform) in the legal system in Barbados at least none that anyone can see being used, leaving attorneys like Amused deeply frustrated. Anything is anything, hence all the confusion. Justice Gibson knows all about uniform codes.

There should now be at least 1000 practicing attorneys for the population of 270,000 on the island. At least 30 of those lawyers from the Prime Minister, Attorney General, opposition leader, all on down the political line, slither in, out, up, down and around the Parliament calling themselves leaders and politicians.. How is it with all their big egos and boastful, misleading diatribe to the public/voters blah, blah, blah, none of them saw the loophole all those years, and even if they did, not one of them has the integrity to petition the new chief justice, or in the Attorney General’s case, direct Justice Gibson to close the loophole, so that claimants can no longer be disadvantaged by insurance companies misusing the court system. Unless it has also escaped Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite that claimants are also voters….steupss

Ya’ll still trying to believe the lawyer’s/politicians really care about voters who lost their jobs or any tribunal……..that is just another cockup in a long line of past and future cockups to come., just be prepared.

28. It seems to me that the political leaders mamaguy all ya real sweet.

They set up tribunal of ineffectual lackeys, misdirect and delay for as long as possible and now effectively pull the plug to start all over again.

I hope I am not being rude to the members of the tribunal but it seems that they were quite content to tarnish their reputations (if that even mattered to them) with this debacle even as discretionary income was improved.

Because, as Caswell reasoned any well organized professionally focused team would have been able to take this ERT mandate and run with it if they wanted to, despite the basic logistically issues mentioned.

Certainly the ability to find gov’t office space/resources to get meetings convened and on track is not insurmountable UNLESS there was missing intent or if the matter was really a non-starter from day one.

And how could rules of engagement be an issue. The mandate to create the tribunal and existing law would surely have provided more than enough guidance.

So, PM and Minister be damned surely but to muddy your reputation like this can’t be cool for the tribunal members either.

Truly all smoke and mirrors on the backs of the powerless NCC workers.

How many of these tribunal members or the minsters, like many of us had a grandfather or great uncle or other relative working NCC type circumstances just a generation or two ago.

Mirror image indeed! How quickly we forget.

At the end of the day it’s all about power; regardless of race or class the powerful dismiss and disrespect the powerless always.

29. Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, Minister of Labour and Social Security is a NON ELECTED MINISTER, when are Bajans going to WAKE UP to the fact that their governance system is BROKEN and their leaders CORRUPT.

INTEGRITY LEGISLATION has been the political TALK for years and Bajans keep buying this rhetoric, TIME TO WAKE UP AND SMELL THE ROSES.

As “islandgal246” says Barbados is quickly sinking into the abyss, thankfully the abyss has lots of company, Haiti etc.

30. @Dee Word

A s muddy reputation does no harm in Barbados.

31. @ Anthony

Would only that the ability to sue were a possible/practical option. With the Court Registry in such a sad state of affairs led by a Chief Justice (and Registrar) with no clue or inclination to make any change, that would be a moot effort.

@ Hants

I would respond to you impassioned plea regarding this fragile sector of our society that can barely get ends to meet and that have been so abandoned, with this comment

the Peshawar 141

When you are made to hurt, as I Denizen of Waziristan, was seemingly hurt and moved to inflict such desolation upon you ” oppressors”, when you start to feel my pain, then and only then will you, the heartless politicians, both DLP and BLP , who are both guiltly of this rape, come to the realization that we are parents/people too and need money just like you.

And while we are bashing these soulless politicians let me not forget to mention the parasites and tithe grabbers called the church which finds it fit to remain silent from their pulpits behind their skirts, distanced as they are from GOD

32. @ Islandgal
    The PM is very pleased with his ministers performances. No drugs in our Hospital, Garbage piled high along our roads, International businesses leaving by the droves, Roads are filled with potholes, BUSH HAS TAKEN OVER EVERYTHING, Bridgetown the capital looks poor rakey, and laid off Workers are paid lip service.
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Well then…..it is not all bad is it…?
    ….at least it won’t be when “Bushie has taken over everything….” Ha ha ha

33. Again! If your read pages: 48, 49 of the act you can better gage who dropped the ball. p48 7. The Chairman, & Co-Chairman must be attorneys at law. p49 5. (1) The Minister of Finance allocates the funds for operation of the Tribunal. 49 5. (2) Shall be made out of moneys voted for the purpose by Parliament.

34. It seems as if this Tribunal was really smoke and mirrors to buy time.

Such as the 3000 UWI bursaries.

The system is 100% broke and will get worse.

There will be further downgrades by the International Rating agencies and if this group goes to end of election term Barbados $ devaluation.

Quote me on that.

35. @Wily Coyote December 19, 2014 at 11:27 AM #
    ………As “islandgal246″ says Barbados is quickly sinking into the abyss, thankfully the abyss has lots of company, Haiti etc.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Barbados and Haiti may appear to be on a level somewhere near the bottom of the barrel. Maybe it is that Barbados is descending to the bottom, while Haiti is ascending from the bottom. Looks like we are truly the poorrakiest nation in the Caribbean, thanks to the poorrakiest government that Barbados has ever seen.

36. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

https://www.jcpc.uk/decided-cases/docs/JCPC_2013_0067_Judgment.pdf

Prime Minister Sir James Mitchell

37. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Wily Coyote December 19, 2014 at 11:27 AM #

Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, Minister of Labour and Social Security is a NON ELECTED MINISTER, when are Bajans going to WAKE UP to the fact that their governance system is BROKEN and their leaders CORRUPT.

INTEGRITY LEGISLATION has been the political TALK for years and Bajans keep buying this rhetoric, TIME TO WAKE UP AND SMELL THE ROSES.

As “islandgal246″ says Barbados is quickly sinking into the abyss, thankfully the abyss has lots of company, Haiti etc.

All of the above is True not look to find the CAUSE,

THIS IS WHAT WE HAVE BEEN SAYING , AND WHAT WE WRITE WILL NEVER CHANGE UNLESS THERE IS CLEAR EVIDENCE TO REMOVE OUR WORDS, NOW YOU SEEN THE FRAUD AND THE PEOPLE NOW LOOK FOR THE WHY, THE WHO, THE WHEN , AND THE NAMES TO GO WITH THE CRIMES ,

YES WE GOT THAT AND MORE, FOCUS , FOCUS, RUN IN THE NEXT ELECTION AND REMOVE THEM , THEY PUT MORE PROOF OF LIES , WHAT MORE YOU ALL NEED TO REMOVE THE DLP/BLP CROOKS, LIARS , SCUMBAGS, FOR LIFE,

CAUSE OF THINGS , LAND FRAUD MASSIVE , NO CLEAR TITLES,
    YOU PM IS A CROOK , MOF SIR COW, SIR HAM , ALL EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THESE MINISTERS ARE CROOKS , LATER WE WILL LOOK TO NAME OTHER NAMES NOT CALLED,

38. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

i do not know if that retarded Minister of Labour believes that 3/4 of Barbados is just as ignorant as her, that she could send to the members of the tribunal, who btrw are highly qualified in their careers, such a stupid letter demanding that they conclude this issue by December and the public would pat her on her back???? how does that idiot expect such a serious committee to work WITHOUT a Secretary to take notes, filing cabinets to store files, a building to housed the tribunal, adm staff to file information accordingly etc? did she expect them to meet under a tree and sit on tree stumps? was she just pretending to be stupid or is her stupidity finally showing? I AM GLAD THEY RESIGNED. the lone clown that stayed is the one looking to take anything for a few extra coppers. the members who resigned showed that clown of a minister that even if she does not respect them, they respect themselves…i cannot believe that in this 21st century Barbados is being led by a bunch of buffoons in clothes. at least when Owen Arthur was leader, he knew when to get rid of retards who did not know how to do their jobs…

39. @ Anthony December 19, 2014 at 2:23 PM #

It seems as if this Tribunal was really smoke and mirrors to buy time…………………..

Anthony,

Do not forget that at that time, the NUPW aka Dennis Clarke was promising to march to Bay Street, the PM did not or would not allow that.

So they hurriedly came up with the plan to send the matter to the Tribunal which the PM had to know was not properly configured up to that point. The workers seem to still believe these lying bastards and to add insult to the injury, the PM pretended that the Tribunal was functioning and told the almost non existent Tribunal to have a resolution by the following Friday. I have a friend (yes ac, I do have Dem friends) who was on the Tribunal and this person is always traveling, so when would the person be able to attend meetings beats me! No one can tell me that the PM did not know that that was impossible to resolve this matter in 1-2 weeks. Is the PM so ignorant? Or does he only care about the free trips to go and talk bs?

Nothing happened and this wicked in-compassionate bunch of morons could come to the people and apologise for the way things were handled and try to find the money to pay these poor poor people. And these are the people who only a few months prior voted for these liars, you know!

Look, this whole thing has me so angry that a government could treat poor people so shabbily and seemingly does not care.

Heartless bastards!

40. Did the PM send the matter to the ERT or was it the Chief Labour Officer.

41. I have said already and I will say again especially now with Cuba coming back to compete.Where investors have a choice they will choose the door of least resistance to enter.Barbados need to revisit and repeal the Employee Rights Tribunal.Further the Severance Pay Act should be repealed.It encourages employees with many years of service and who have skills like carpentry,joinery,masonry,electrical etc and who moonlight when not at work but who agitate and stay home ‘sick’ and undermine companies to force them to close.These employees count their severance pay everyday and the more it becomes,the more trouble and strife they stir up aided and abetted by unions.Thirdly, the Holiday with Pay Act need to be revisited.A competitive work ethic should require no more than 2 weeks holiday with pay.Lastly,there are too many bank holidays which make struggling companies uncompetitive especially around Easter:- Good Friday,Easter Day,Easter Monday,National Heroes,May Day,and Whitmonday.These 6 days one after the other in quick succession attract double and triple pay for struggling companies.And for all these uncompetitive Acts,Barbados is still
    in the doldrums economically.Champagne taste,mauby pockets.First world status a goal?
    With what resources may I ask?

42. We say the ERT should have set up and do their thing without the resources needed from government but what would have been the legal implications of not recording proceedings correctly etc.

43. What has Dr. Suckoo accomplished since becoming a minister in 2008? Not even the resurfacing of the playing field at the National Stadium she got right. Stypse!!!!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son December 19, 2014 at 6:29 PM #

But why should we be surprised at the turn of events? Both you and I have been warning for some time about the lies and hypocrisy practised by this administration. Even the most recent ‘ministerial statement is a litany of bold-faced lies, abuse of statistics, regurgitated promises of investment project of pure puke designed to force down the throats of stupid and docile Bajans. Why no mention of the projects outlined in the August 2013 budget and December 2013 Ministerial statement? What have become of the Bridgetown marina, the Sugar Point Cruise terminal, The Brandons Housing, the Sugar Cane Industry Restructuring stalemate and the Four Seasons restart now clearly off the table?

When we called out the liars and hypocrites by giving them the nicknames of “Mr. False Integrity” and Stinkliar / Sinliar we were called BLP yard-fowls and prophets of doom and gloom.
    Now who is preaching doom and gloom if not the poor retrenched workers (and more to come), the public transport commuters and indeed the CLICO policyholders who have turned out to be the biggest suckers and losers in the whole DLP/Leroy Greenverbs fiasco and cover-up?

On whom or on what is this incompetent, moribund, beleaguered, irrelevant administration (which has lost its moral authority to govern) going to blame for this current major foul-up and epitome of governmental incompetence and disgrace? On the international recession, falling oil prices? Or on the BLP 14 years of mismanagement and design of the Employment Rights legislation?

Are you prepared, Prodigal, to be the sacrificial lamb for this one?

45. Byer Suckoo seems to fail at everything she has done so far. Even the Employment Rights bill has failed in the way government has disregarded it and sent home workers.
    What a failure she has been!

46. Taken from a Facebook Post

DAVID THOMPSON’s estate is worth a reported $23,000,000.00 (TWENTY-THREE MILLION DOLLARS). Where did all that money come from?

LEROY PARRIS paid himself $10,000,000.00 (TEN MILLION DOLLARS) a year and had a private jet. What did he do that entitled him to so much of your money?

TERRENCE THORNHILL – The finance man that presided over this fiasco — what’s in his bank accounts?

“The EFPA was set up by Parris, but was ordered by the Supervisor of Insurance to revamp, but it was not. Fuck the Supervisor of Insurance! Parris then encouraged key people to take the company’s monies and invest in the individual’s names since they were barred from using companies to invest.” WHERE’S THE MONEY?

ARE THESE PEOPLE alive, and walking around, and breathing air, and drinking, and living in big homes in BARBADOS, or are they on the run?

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

This Government is probably the most inept that this country has ever seen, and I am probably one of their most vocal critics, but trust me when I tell you that criticising them for the tribunal’s failure to hear a single case is unfair. If the tribunal knew what to do and wanted to hear a case, they could have done so more than a year ago. Everything was in place for them to hear cases.

There are rooms at the Barrack building where they can meet; there is a very efficient young lady, an attorney-at-law, who acts as the secretary; the legislation is in place, but the tribunal failed to meet simply because they were not up to the task. They should have gone long ago. To my mind, their resignation is a face saving tactic. Why did they not resign when the Prime Minister sought to give them instructions?

48. We are jokers!

Retired PS feels those responsible for CIL mess should be charged by now

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/12/19/we-are-jokers/