Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Maybe the Bajan gene is too docile?… .more Ashanti slaves enroute to Jamaica should have been dropped.

How often we hear Bajans are too passive. They will always ‘suffer in silence’ rather than as other Caribbean brothers, vocally object to a wrong.

Take for example, during this past six years of austerity measures whereby 3,000 government workers were affected by layoffs and another 4,000 in private…to date there has been very little objection by the dispirited to show their displeasure. A Value Added Tax increase from 15% to 17.5%, a quelling Consolidation Tax on incomes and a dissonant Solid Waste Tax, yet hardly any vociferation.  Could it be that Barbadians like it so, or are we just too lazy to stray from our humdrum path of normality?

We are told Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, in a ministerial statement is about to inform Barbadians of further measures to augment a $174 million deficit, bringing further hardships and suffering to an already downtrodden spirited people and economy.

What will be the response by Barbadians to such news? For sure there will be less Farmer’s Choice and sorrel, and even less commercial activity to welcome in the New Year.  Bearing in mind December is the most profitable business month for most business enterprises (big and small) would this dampening of growth not be counter-productive to our goals? As to expressing one’s feelings and concerns, rest assured there will be little or  none….such is not encouraged other than on social media formats.

Long Live social media!

108 responses to “How Will Bajans Respond to Ministerial Statement?”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

It all because of the Massive Land Fraud Cover up by both Parties, Soon for 2015 More Pain Will come, Barbados is to pay by buying Back Barbados from the people who do not own it,
    All this talk is of the crooks ass MOF , But it did not start with him in the government , Better look for your answers with Owen, Mia , COP , DPP Sir Cow and Sir Ham , Sir Henry Forde , Sir Beckles, Sir Henry of the National Trust and all the Big Law Firms of Barbados ,
    The DLP today is just now the cover-up team ,

Better do better POST on the causes and not just the reactions to what going on today.
    Much Long talk and Pain Before smarter head focus on the Root cause of Root title and CLEAR TITLES TO LAND in Barbados and add CLICO to it

This is all bout the Numbers People , All Who went to UWI , use your heads or they had good cause to shut it down in the first place,Stop being Suckers for pimp title holders crooks , liars and scumbags,

2. Barbados’ economy is expected to receive a much needed boost of new FDI [foreign direct investment] of over 1.5 billion Barbados dollars over the next two years or so.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60868/oil-exploration-licence-initialled#sthash.UlajBosb.dpuf

3. The text below was written by Artaxerxes under the post “Bridgetown Shops Closed to Cruise Ship Tourists” on Sunday December 16, 2014 at 9:14 AM in reply to John Hanson.
    ………..@ John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. December 15, 2014 at 6:43 PM #

“The KFC and uncooked chicken is about the same price , The fish in the can cost the same as fresh fish, no coupons , no buy one be nothing free…….”

We love to discuss these things, such as stores not opening on Sundays to cater to tourist. But have we ever taken into consideration the prices in many establishments in Barbados, which evidently do not cater to ordinary tourists, especially those visiting from neighboring Caribbean islands?

The prices of KFC in Barbados are the highest in the Caribbean. I’ve been to KFC in Antigua, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago and Trinidad, where the chicken is much cheaper and they offer a wider variety of food than what is served here. For example, in St. Lucia one can purchase 3 pieces of chicken, cole slaw, fries and a large drink for less than what a “snack box” with cole slaw is sold here.

Also, the prices of food in Oistins are ridiculous as well. Fish served with grilled potatoes and salad can cost as much as $40. I remember going to Oistins Bay Garden with two friends of mine to purchase food. I bought fish and salad, one friend ordered creamed potato and chicken, the other had rice and chicken, while I opted for fish and salad. The kiosk owner told us our total bill was $66, and after asking her how did she arrive at that price, she told us the prices of food usually increase after 4:00pm………. we never bought anything from her again.

I have no desire to be critical of those individuals who contribute to BU – but, in all sincerity, how can we as a country and a people achieve anything of merit if we make dumb decisions by choosing to spend our money at American restaurants? I object to KFC for many reasons and would ask all BU followers to buy local.

Old Onion Bags you asked: “How Will Bajans Respond to Ministerial Statement?” Well the answer is clearly transparent in the previous paragraph. The masses are not interested in ministerial statements. So long as they can eat, lime, party, et al. and not have to think too hard about the direction in which Barbados is moving in ….. Need I say more?

4. somebody told me that when the ministerial statement was being read they saw a BLP minister gasping for breath,,, the sheer precision and directives issued within that ministerial report left the BLP yardfowls and ministers gasping as 1. they were left in the dark as to what they statement would entails and 2, as usual had come prepared to hear more doom and gloom with the nauseating and drooling lash tongued responses,,good job mof, the people will response as they understand that just like a household when the going gets tough, the tough gets going, good ole ac the yardfowls cuss up and down the halls of BU and for what because ac love of country is not about love of self, wunna blp misfits need to get a handle stay focus on the country;s interest and not on your self,, bunch uh runaway hypocrites,,four more years in the wilderness,, fuh wunna,

5. @ JOHN HANSON:-

I do agree whole-heartedly on your comment. This game has been going on for many years. But the players started to become more greedy in time. Now the shit has hit the fan, but the answer is as-usual FINGER POINTING.

My mother had a saying.”While the grass is growing, the horse is starving;” Maybe when STARVATION becomes the NORM, then will the people step up to be SEEN AND HEARD;

But it should NEVER have to come to this. TRUSTING is something that most Barbadians are. At this junction THE TRUST IS DEAD, AND NEED TO BE BURIED.

I got an email from a friend in regards to many of my comments. And she said it seems like I become more angry with each one. HONESTLY, I AM. Simply because I don’t see why should the people in Barbados continues to allow the people whom they have employed to represent them, end taking from them physically, and to add insult to injury, laying them off. But the same one who suppose to be working for the people, and STILL in LARGE NUMBERS, AND NOT TAKING PAY CUTS…..

This is truly very, very sad to continue reading whatever I can to keep up with what’s going on in Barbados. Only to see NOTHING is changing for THE BETTERMENT OF THE PEOPLE. But only the chosen ones are reaping all the glory from the people’s hard earned dollars.

I hope that 2015 DON’T come with the same old fashion BULL SHIT PLANS that are being handed to the good folks of Barbados. Who aren’t getting what they are paying taxes for;

6. Uh………….Meanwhile moving along, old onions, nothing to see or learn here……more bullshit, more lies. Nothing is happening in this country yet this liar was able to cut the deficit in half? Frigging unbelievable. I still want my two tax refunds, Stinkliar. He could only achieve this by not paying bills, if this is true. QEH is a great example.

Lets forget the Stinkliar and try to have a merry, merry Christmas. I intend to have a great Christmas!

Merry Christmas to all, specially, David for putting up with us bloggers especially the indomitable ac’s.

7. negroess prodigal u still frothing at the mouth,,ha ha the long awaited Xmas present of DOOM and Gloom did not arrive now uh angry as sh,,it… go rest uh oogly self,,, as fuh dat tax refund u don;t deserve one dime of it,,,i hope they keep it till the twelve of never,,, go ahead go stuff yuh fat a,ss wid cake and ham,,, but don;t forget to invite them workers that yuh worry about to have a bite or two ,,uh gorilla.,,

8. Listened to the head of the BCCI Tracy Shuffler very carefully. Her comments this evening suggest the private sector remains unconvinced.

9. The only “person” who believe a word of what the liar said today is our paid troll, ac.

10. ac: you said “somebody told me that when the ministerial statement was being read they saw a BLP minister gasping for breath,,,”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    I can see you love copying and behaving like a parrot. Did you put any thought in the above opening statement?
    Firstly, all opposition candidates in the house are honorable members of parliamentary for a particular constituency.. Only a government member can be called a minister with the absolute pleasure of the Prime Minister. That signify that the person who spoke to you probably meant a DLP minister. Could it be David gasping for breath? Just asking

11. Barbados miss the late Eric Fly too bad.I heard Fly cuss a Governor General the worse way at the top of Quakers Road and he said some things about Sandy when he Sandy was attending a Commonwealth Conference in Zimbabwe in ’94.Between Fly and the grand ole duke had Sandy sh…g himself in Zimbabwe and Fly broadcast it live while it was happening.I heard Fly say a certain minister wife ded from aids and he called the minister name about 10 times on his ‘flatform’.
    UWI is turning out generally some docile self serving ‘professionals’.Their interest is not service to the country but to self.Barefoot people given shoes but cannot walk in them.

12. A wasted 30 mins MOF that would have been better spent saying >>BUDGET

POSTPONED til March 2015 because of a ‘loose canon’.

I agree with Mottley
    Leader Mia Mottley said no one is the wiser from hearing the 30 minute statement as it offered no hope and relief to Barbadians, and described it as perhaps the longest apology in Parliament for a long time for the Government’s failure.

In summary, said Mottley, it was an admission yet again that the Government’s many plans are not working.She said growth is still elusive; foreign reserves have not been stabilised but are being propped up by the Credit Suisse Loan of $450 million; the national debt and the cost of debt service to the Government are both still increasing and the cost of Government borrowing is still prohibitive and increasing.

“The expenditure targets set in the last budget of August 2013 have not been met and the revenue targets set in the last budget of August 2013 have not been met (while) Government still with a cash flow problem,” said Mottley at the media briefing called this afternoon in the Opposition’s office in Parliament.

13. Paid troll ac, dont you know it is Christmas, the season of peace and goodwill? Cant you at least stop cussing people you dont know and try to be pleasant. Wait, you can never do that…………you are so pitiful! Peace to you! Merry Christmas!

14. @ David
    “Her comments this evening suggest the private sector remains unconvinced”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    With the understandable exceptions of AC and Dompey (wait yuh ban he? 🙂 ) it is hard to see how even a Bajan brass bowl could be convinced by anything said by the Minister of fine ants.
    Shiite man David, the man worse than the Indian fella Persaud, who used to come and tell us that “Four Seasons restarting next month”….for about four years while he collected millions….
    Sinker has been telling us so much shiite now since 2008 – to the point where even he must be unconvinced – far less the business people…

wait …. you sure AC ain’t his mother……??

Bushie sorry for Bajans who are waiting on the fine ants minister for salvation….

15. @ Hants

Barbados’ economy is expected to receive a much needed boost of new FDI [foreign direct investment] of over 1.5 billion Barbados dollars over the next two years or so.

and>>>>>>>>>>>>

A new cruise terminal (Sugar XXXXX) is to be built in 2015 costing $247 million

or >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

how about…….a new plasma incinerating plan from Cahill costing some $500 million

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Qualifying UWI students will get bursaries of $3,000…..yes I will see to that

………promises, promises, promises Hants….the politicians best friend.

16. @old onion bags de second,

17. When the DLp came to power as they like to say, the dead king tried to discredit the work done by the then minister with responsibility for energy saying that no oil was in Barbados’ waters.

How come this lied minister of fine ants can now be pushing the idea of selling blocks off shore? Oh what liars dems are!

18. @Prodigal Son
    AC don’t have the mind to understand peace and goodwill,
    ac(He/She) is the DLP yard duck on this blog and we know the yard duck
    actions are pick up anything(shite) from the DLP YARD and come on BU to put it out
    that pitiful action happens because AC(he/she) don’t have the mind to think ,the AC is control by a program

19. OSA has been giving the MOF lessons on how to survive as MOF thereby robbing Mottley of an opportunity. The game of small island politics. He is playing the role of spoiler and the BLP will pay a heavy price unless they are united and committed. The DLP has out manoeuvred the BLP for another 4 months.

20. ………And Green Grass the DLP wins but who are the losers? Every Barbadian. Politics for the DLP has always been a blood sport…..one upmanship.

Someday the people will wake up after they cannot take the lies and “sufferation” any longer.

21. David,

Do you know if David Estwick got the PM’s nod on his proposal?

As usual, he sticks his neck out of the doghouse, growls and barks, no one takes him on, he takes back in his head, goes quietly to sleep until the next time he feels like barking! oh what a tangle web they weave as they deceive!

22. @ Exclaimer December 16, 2014 at 7:57 PM #

“I have no desire to be critical of those individuals who contribute to BU – but, in all sincerity, how can we as a country and a people achieve anything of merit if we make dumb decisions by choosing to spend our money at American restaurants? I object to KFC for many reasons and would ask all BU followers to buy local.”

My comment was in response to Hanson’s comment about the price of KFC and raw chicken, and it did not state I bought KFC in Barbados, but in St. Lucia.

So, exactly what is your problem with my comment? Because you object to KFC for many reasons, do you expect everyone to do the same? Are you suggesting where I should spend my money?

And another thing, if you are so concerned about buying or supporting local, I hope you don’t own a Japanese made Toyota, Nissan, Mitsubishi, Korean made Kia or Hyundai, or a BMW and rely on the Transport Board bus.

You should concentrate on the issues rather than write shiite.

23. What we are witnessing playing out in Barbados and the passive response by Barbadians leaves sensible Barbadians speechless. Recommended reading Dr. Tennyson Joseph in today’s Nation.

24. The MOF has supported Estwick’s plan but the PM is/has not. Estwick will bark but will not bite and in the end the project will end up in the lap of Maloney and Bjerkhamn, exactly where powers/money be, want it to.

25. Truth be told, the failure to act during the last Estimates debate and the switching of OSA, to Independent and supporter of the DLP has rendered Estwick politically irrelevant in Barbadian politics. Used and abused but a lesson for those who have eyes to see, and those who have ears to hear.

26. @ David it is the Christmas season.

Bajans are focused on preparations for the big day and extra long weekend.

27. At least the yard-fowl was correct in her comment that the ministerial statement left many of us, including her as well, in the dark as to what it entailed.

Let us be serious, politicians usually make generalized statements without presenting any supporting documentation to substantiate these statements and for us to peruse so we could have a more information to for an informed analysis. To begin this analysis, let us first examine the below paragraph taken from Sinckler’s ministerial statement:

“The successful execution of such a major fiscal adjustment programme, and moving from a primary deficit from -5.6% of GDP in 2013/2014 to a primary surplus of 0.2% of GDP in a single financial year is by any measure a major achievement for the country, and greater than that achieved in a number of IMF programmes.”

Now, let us focus on the terms “primary deficit” and “primary surplus”, but I’ll look at the fiscal deficit before doing so.
    A fiscal deficit occurs when government’s expenditure exceeds its revenue. The fiscal deficit has been expressed in terms of the island’s current account. The current account consists of about 4 main components….. government salaries and wages, goods and services, interest payments on debt and transfers and subsidies.

A “primary deficit” is the amount by which total government expenditure exceeds revenue, excluding interest payments on debt. Thus, the fiscal deficit increases significantly as a result of high interest payments on debt.

Therefore, if interest payments are excluded from the calculation, the deficit would appear as though it has been reduced.

28. sinckler gobbledegook

29. As I previously indicated, a primary deficit + interest payments = the fiscal deficit. A “primary surplus” is basically the difference between government’s revenue and expenditure, ignoring interest payments on outstanding debt.

By stating Barbados has moved “from a primary deficit from -5.6% of GDP in 2013/2014 to a primary surplus of 0.2% of GDP in a single financial year”, is basically saying there are larger levels of tax revenue in relation to current expenditure, the economy is in good stead and the island does not need to borrow more money.

30. A case of deju ……Opposition not impressed either.

31. Who is Omari Drakes? Should heads roll? We think not!

We quit!

GOVERNMENT has been hit by a bombshell, the shockwaves from which will impact the scores of retrenched workers hoping for compensation soon.

32. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Asian Interviewer: “Can you address their concerns Mr.Chang?”

MR. CHANG: “The concerns of Black people? Yes I can. The fact is, that we all live under a system of White Supremacy. We Asian people look back at our long history of conflict with the European. We observe their strategies and develop our own, in response and in kind. There is no need for loud mass movements on our part, because we intend to overtake them in time, through action and personal sacrifice”.

Asian INTERVIEWER: “And the Black man?”

MR. CHANG: “He does not count into our situation. He is simply here. We do not hate the Black man. We just love the Asian man most. Real love–not cliche. We want to see Asian man happy, so we employ him. We eat together. We spend time with each other. We want his kids to be educated, so we invest in our own schools that offer our children the technical abilities to change the world’s power structure in our favor. We want to see the Asian man safe, so we purchase and organize our own communities. We want him to remain Asian, so we reduce the outside influence of others ideologies and cultures. While he fought to sniff behind the White man, the Black man has had the opportunity and every right in the world to do the same, but he chooses to indict people like me for not hiring him over my own brothers. For me to do this would be foolish and that would not be Asian love. In contrast, the Black man will fight for the right to be up under everyone else other than other Black people who he should feel the most love for. If our indifference to their situation make us racist, then what would you call the Black man’s indifference to his own situation?” http://www.FarrahGray.com

33. @David
    A lawyer from St.George…possibly St.George South connect the dots.

34. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

MR.C December 16, 2014 at 8:06 PM Even the POPE said Greed is the will be the downfall or is the downfall of man and woman ,

We cut back to the main bone, We save our money for plane tickets when the price is best and nothing More , As for me i will not and dont have to buy no cloths for a 32 is my size for Life, Cheap cloths in town with plenty plastic fake shoes, Rasta man have good leather and can fix it when broken,

We look not to give this government nothing we dont have to,We have no Bank account , no credit cards or cards, no courts payments, We hold and save till we leave this island and shop else where,

You can go to Guyana and come back in your suit case with 50 lbs of real Brown Sugar, buy PINE HILL cheaper, Tea time , and all things in Barbados cheaper in Guyana, Get a 2 bed room for 100 to 125us per month.

DLP/BLP and Most Ministers or all want to be in all the money making business in BIM ,
    There is no real stockmarket to invest , So they FUND their own ,

Out side investment WILL NOT COME , NOT Until they clean up the CLEAR TITLE DEEDS .

Most think its a Joke , check any bank and see what loans they given on and Why not.?

Loot at CITI Banks power in the US government

35. It’s a pity many of us on BU do not take these types of issues seriously. I’m sure if Obama made a presidential address and it was posted on this forum, we would have at least 100 comments by now. And as the day progresses, the discussion will move so far away from the topic, you won’t recognise what the original topic was.

The MoF made a “generalized” ministerial statement without really presenting any graphs or any other supporting documentation to substantiate his information, and for our perusal, which would enable us to make a more informed analysis on his presentation. There are some inconsistencies relative to economic growth and levels of foreign reserves, if you compare the statement with the last Central Bank report.

36. Interesting to hear the MoF patting himself on the back for making Sandal like concessions available to the industry, bear in mind the BHTA had to fight tooth and nail to get concessions NOT same. Juxtapose this with the head of the BHTA lamenting recently that their members continue to experience problems accessing the concessions. We have some issues in Barbados how we execute.

37. @Artaxarex

It’s a pity many of us on BU do not take these types of issues seriously. I’m sure if Obama made a presidential address and it was posted on this forum, we would have at least 100 comments by now.

SIMPLE…….when that people directly affect (job cut)… then do they hollar or move a hoofle. The Bajan way of course…can you stop DEM?

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

38. Artaxerxes December 17, 2014 at 9:04 AM #

It’s a pity many of us on BU do not take these types of issues seriously

Understand that most people are easily brain washed and seemingly can’t think for themselves willing to go with the status quo.

If you look at below video it can be compared with how the masses go with the flow in what is presented to them.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=788380134538973

39. @ David

Just cannot understand why WordPress keeps dropping or truncating my submissions….could it be a case of someone from the Gadafi don’t want me writing? again anything is possible nowadays….(go fuh Bushie too nuh) LOL

40. The government is making money just spending it dubiously.

Let me give two personal instances, the price of oil is approximately $60 a barrel and in Canada, US and UK prices at the pump has dropped almost 50% in some case.

Two days ago I stopped by the petrol (gas) station as my gas light indicator was on and put $20 in cash.

After turning on the car and leaving the petrol station the gas light indicator stayed on making me wonder if the attendant had put air in the car and not gasoline.

Second incident this week after suing an individual successfully who owed almost $300k in High Court I was asked to purchase over $1600 in stamp duty (first time I found out that Barbados has $1000 stamps selling in the Post Office).

The money I paid for the stamp duty goes to the government.

Government is collecting money in so many ways and being badly mismanaged.

41. @Onions

Not sure how you are setup. Over the holidays, if invited, we may drop in over a bottle of Vodka or JW and have a look. Try typing your comment in Word or Notepad and copy and paste to comment box.

42. Taking good money to find oil/gas offshore.What a waste.Same money could be used to develop the current natural gas network and solar on the land to benefit Barbados.

43. Prodigal Son December 16, 2014 at 9:34 PM #

If blocks to drill for oil were not sold when the product was earning US$100/barrel. Which company is likely to purchase now that the price is hovering around US$60/barrel?

44. Try Typing in Word?…..You know how long that would take?….Yes it would work, I know but….the problem seems to be if I make a correction….(using back space\delete)..the system seems not to register it in time (although I see it corrected before posting)..and does its own thing…JW is fine,Vodka is a russianwoman drink

45. Try responding from your email.

Click reply.