The lack of transparency by the government continues to be a high agenda item for Barbadians concerned with holding public officials, especially politicians; accountable. Last week on a talk show former member of parliament Mark Williams attempted to question Barbados leading journalist David Ellis about the Adopt-a-Kilometre project, the attempt was trivialized.

BU suspects Mark Williams attempt to probe the Adopt-a-Kilometre project is valid but because of the institutionalized lack of transparency, the unwillingness to hold persons in public office accountable and a supine media it was destine to yield no result. The lack of transparency by the government has become a source of annoyance, distress and anxiety to Barbados Underground.

Barbados is not a banana republic or is it. Why is one man (Mark Maloney) able to present the Adopt-a-Kilometre proposal to Minister Michael Lashley – it is approved – and the management of the project outsourced to a group of White people. Who are getting rich from the Adopt-a-Kilometre project? Not those spotted cutting the grass on the ABC Highway presumably for a minimum wage.

Minister Michael Lashley as a member of the social media BU wants access to the MOU guiding the Adopt-a-Kilometre project.  BU believes a few are profiting handsomely from the deal.  BU believes a few are profiting handsomely off this deal Mark Maloney. BU believes a few are profiting handsomely off this deal Minister Lashley.

Who is the government of Barbados getting the $25 million from for the QEH?

Our eyes are on YOU!

56 responses to “Minister Michael Lashley a Source of Annoyance”

1. @NEW old onion bags,

It is time to retire the “old onion bags” moniker.

2. I agree. He is not old onions. Ole onions was more fun with a dry humour.

3. I question every day how these DLP morons could have hoodwinked most Barbadians to the point where they elected them to rule this country. We have lived to rue that day.

This inept incompetent bunch promised Barbadians in that fraudulent piece of shit called “Pathways to Progress” that 40% of all government contracts would go to small black contractors. This has NOT happened and these small black men and women who bought the bullshit sold by these con artists are now smelling hell while white contractors are getting all the work and contracts.

Bajans, the DLP does not own Barbados. Nothing in this country is going right, every sector is in chaos.

I heard a lady on Brasstacks today lamenting that her 11 year old daughter is getting home nearly at 7pm and was told by the Transport Board that she could call the Stinkliar, they need money to buy buses. What callousness! Thankfully a good Samaritan called and offered to transport the child. This what this DLP has brought this once proud nation to.

4. We can only conclude that these white men realise that this bunch of morons can be used…………have to watch what I say as they are now monitoring what we say on BU.

We need to find out the net worth of these morons. Did any of them ever declare their assets like they fooled the people they were going to do?

5. Most if not all of the DLP Ministers in 2008 ,were unemployed and poor with no assets . look at them now

6. David Ellis,is an advocate of the Devil ,God help us, if he is a leading journalist ,

7. We need a white govt. Next!

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

We black people will always be slaves, irrespective of who the massa is…

Will I join the group that shows how the sellout has occurred and I’d occurring with these infelicities and kickbacks ? I probably will at another time but for today I’d like to focus on the small stuff.

The pennies which are slowly becoming dollars.

Small things that are creeping slowly like the lava flow in Hawaii into the living space of Bajans yet we can’t see who is controlling us.

I give you the ABC highway with this controversial Adopt a Kilometer scam but with another more serious issue.

One which shows the collusion of at least four entities.

The Ministry of Transport and Works, the Office of Town and Cvntry Planning, the Royal Barbados Police Force and the Barbados Road Safety committee

If any of you run off the ABC highway and are needful of a stretch of culvert, road reserve or just embankment to regain control or the vehicle DO NOT, DO NOT HAVE SUCH AN ISSUE in the stretches where those permanent solar powered death blocks now are built in these relief areas on the highway.

In the quiet of the night MTW gave permission, The Chief Town Planning Officer kept silent at the execution blocks were installed, the RBPF upholders of the laws also remained quiet and well I need not even mention the silence of the Road Safety clowns

Rome was not built in a day but over the course of time these small things become inextricably intertwined into our society until, unless you cut off the gangrenous appendage, the entire body is at risk

9. The Hon. Michael Lashley MP oversaw the greatest growth in houses while he was Minister of Housing. And he will also achieve great success at the Ministry of Transport and Works.

With this zeal to succeed I can understand why David is annoyed !!

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Fractured BLP

What is the use of all these record breaking houses when all of them are yet to be occupied?

11. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Fractured BLP | December 5, 2014 at 2:45 AM |

The Hon. Michael Lashley MP oversaw the greatest growth in houses while he was Minister of Housing. And he will also achieve great success at the Ministry of Transport and Works.

With this zeal to succeed I can understand why David is annoyed !!

Are you a fool or are you just kissing his ass, We know you have to well out of you devil ass mind
    House he built is on land that none of them own, More proof of fraud and kick backs , money missing , no gain from the fraud,
    It may be time to look at this right out fool.,,,, housing housing , better study it before you talk this mess,
    if we are to worry about people telling the truth on BU and must look for the police to come , then they need to be at the door for the liars who support the crooks and scumbags also,
    Like to know who paying you to lie or be stupid to pump out right lies to cover this fraud man in Barbados.
    We see that they may put you on the BU for a distraction and to prolong the pain of the Bajans,
    If these fools dont tel the truth or answer questions then we have the right to say what we see and find,
    Better VOTE better next time, to stop these crooks who support them on BU,DLP and BLP = the same NASTY pissy shitty lawless bitches,
    vote the CUP.

12. That contract should have been given to a company established by the retrenched beautify barbados/NCC workers. This is the same government that opposed privatisation and rubbished the idea of empowering workers through business ownership. Erecting signs on a highway and cutting grass is clearly not beyond the competence of those workers. Yet Stuart and his Caninet members decided to give the contract to others. By the way isn’t Maloney’s grandfather black?

Fractured, Lashley built houses that were in projects already developed and just waiting to be implemented. He found a willing private sector investor and we all know how that turned out. Kindly let us know what ORIGINAL housing project Lashley or the Dems conceptualised and implememted over the last 6 years besides how to keep houses empty? It would also be kind of you to let us know if government got any of CLICO plantation lands for the $5 per sq ft programme and if so what, if any, price was paid?

13. @ Hants\ Pat
    Time for a Deputy…LoL… wanna want D ole man bellyup, cuddear

14. @ Pat
    How Gordon,Paula, Sonia and Elenore and the ressa D posse….somebody enquires?

@ Hants

Why doan behave urself nah and stop fishing in BU waters?

15. “I question every day how these DLP morons could have hoodwinked most Barbadians to the point where they elected them to rule this country.”

Prodigal …man you now know how STUPID Black people can be for a few pieces of silver, IPads, flat screens etc.

16. Piece said:

“We black people will always be slaves, irrespective of who the massa is…”

Some folks in a think tank have figured out the some of the problems stem from the fact that most blacks don’t realize that a generation is a mere 25 years, so they pass on ignorance continually from one generation to the next without any break in the cycle…..Barbados has a very bad track record.

17. Fractured
    What the hell is being done with ALL of these houses Michael Lashley had built?
    Hope you are familiar with the quote “Private the Profits but Socialise the Debt”. When all is said and done the GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS will have to take over Coverley at the tax payers expense. WHAT AN SEE.

18. @islandgal
    Prodigal …man you now know how STUPID Black people can be for a few pieces of silver, IPads, flat screens etc..
    ………………………………………………………………..
    And in addition to telling us how educated we are . The most educated in the Caribbean and the world………… Then they flog us all an invisible suit.

19. Whats the story with the Coverly project..several hundred unfinished houses up there..the Bank, Supermarket, Gas Station have not materialized.Looks like a ghost town…except for Road Tennis nights…
    Perhaps that was what it was built for.

20. The GOB is being asked to take it over. The US investor/partner of Maloney & Bjerkhamn died a couple of weeks ago so that make the task of completing the project now impossible.
    I am hearing they want $70 MILIION to turn over the project to GOB.

21. Colonel Buggy
    I really challenge the hypothesis that we’re the most educated in the Caribbean. Because St. Lucia our next door neighbor, whose education system is of no comparison to ours, managed to produce two Nobel Prize winners. How is that possible?

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

If the poo paw police force and system of justice was not so one sided., I am sure if you had dig deep to all the Lashley houses you would find some dirt on him. But the system takes of the politicians and status quo….all others are punished by it.

23. Only in Barbados could Mark Maloney be described as a “white man”, his father is white, Mother a brown skinned bajan daughter of Mr. Smith who ran Carlton Browne’s drugstore in Roebuck st for many years.

24. Reliable source told me that Bjerkham and Maloney were at the head table of Town Hall meeting on Wednesday December 3 at Dumanis Outreach Ministries, Staple Grove. Meeting was called to discuss the EIA for subdivision of land and erection of residences( 749 2 and 3 bedroom) on 75 acres of agricultural land at Ridge, Christ Church. Yes that’s right change 75 acres of agricultural land!

25. Isn’t Staple Grove in the St. David’s corridor?

26. The reference by BU to White people are those managing the Adopt-a-KM project.

27. David | December 5, 2014 at 8:11 PM |
    “Isn’t Staple Grove in the St. David’s corridor”

I believe that it is. If my memory serves me correctly sometime back in July 2014 the Chief Town Planner was quoted in the press as saying that Ecoisle Consultants had been awarded a contract to prepare a 10 year Community Plan for the districts stretching from St. David’s to Six Cross Road’s St. Philip. Ridge would be in this stretch.

If this application for change of use and development of 75 acres of agricultural at Ridge is approved by the Minister responsible for Town Planning before the completion and recommendations of the Community Plan then you can draw your own conclusions.

Remember that this application can only be approved by The Minister. The decision on this is out of the hands of the TCDPO!

28. Instead of wasting 75 acres of agricultural land on housing why not build two 20 storey high rise buildings each having 20 apartments per floor.

You only need 10 acres to do that.

29. We have stated and will continue to repeatedly state it on here and elsewhere that a certain coalitional regime of Barbados, and of which the PDC shall be part, shall, et al, help bring about a number of clearly identified rational revolutionary objectives, relative to the laying of the social political material and financial foundations for the establishment and maintenance of a Post-Taxation society for Barbados.

One of those objectives is the following:

“The emergence of well conceptualized,  properly coordinated and capably managed voluntary civic citizens initiatives for the expressed purposes of taking over (Adoption Agreements) and providing for the development or the maintenance of certain aspects of the people (of Barbados) property and lands they have ownership of rights, for the primary purposes of the people in Barbados benefit or gain, and not for any personal private beenefit or gain on who so ever’s part”.

So such a plank has long been part of the PDC’s very unassailable and vaunted approach to the Abolition of Taxation in Barbados, and its necessary replacement with the appropriate fiscal financial commercial strategies and systems for government more fairly and properly than now accessing money from out of the core financial system of this country, for it more fairly and properly than now coming by more of its own revenues, and for it more than now substantially vastly reducing its financial obligations in this country.

30. The “Minister” is The Prime Minister.

31. @Hants
    Bajans want backyards so they can barbeque like you and entertain friends round the pool. Aint yuh kno Barbados is first world. They want to put up swing sets for the kids and build sand boxes, etc.

32. @ Pat,

I am a “loner”. I don’t entertain.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ all

In every good thing there is a bad

Why can one say that?

The Blogmaster would be able to confirm this statistically

Between Immigration reform and the Garner article WHICH WAS ONE ARTICLE PRIOR TO IT SPLIT, BU had a 1000+ blog commentary.

De ole man didn’t here On BU long enough to say if that is a record or anything but one thing that those of you who read the other topical, domestic, equally articles will note is that a few of the critical articles get knocked out because of the all consuming others

Not many people even noticed that Farrah Fawcett died the same day the legend Michael Jackson died in 2009

When Suns nova who sees a meteor?

34. @ pieceuhderockyeahright | December 6, 2014 at 4:10 AM |

“De ole man didn’t here On BU long enough to say if that is a record or anything but one thing that those of you who read the other topical, domestic, equally articles will note is that a few of the critical articles get knocked out because of the all consuming others…”

I agree with you PUDRYR, I find many important posts dealing with issues relevant to Barbados are over looked in favour of “things foreign”.
    To be honest, and in my opinion, what the hell does Obama’s immigration reform has to do with Barbados that it could attract as many as 653 comments, when there are serious issues that need addressing in this island, such as:

1) The plight of the former NCC and Beautify Barbados workers who, 8 months after being retrenched, cannot receive severance payments.
    2) How is this administration going to deal with matter relating to corporate governance, especially after it was highlighted Richard Byer charged CBL $766,000 to give a legal opinion.
    3) Abysmal record of Denis Lowe as a minister.
    4) Fate of the CLICO policy holders.
    5) A critical analysis re performances of the minister of finance and the prime minister.
    6) It’s almost mid December and no word on the budget.
    7) Poor service from the Transport Board.
    8) Barbados’ immigration policies.

The list could go on and on. Flow and LIME merger attracted much attention, but only for the “9 day wonder” period, like so many issues raised in this forum.

Afra Raymond has been keeping the flame burning under the CLICO issue, but his post hardly ever raises at least 50 comments. How about the government’s seemingly preparing to silence social media.

But as I said, it’s just MY opinion.

35. We have to be patient with Barbadians. Believe it or not denial of what confronts our little nation is a reality for many, still. BU membership is made up if local and away, those commenting on the Garner blog reside overseas.

36. well of course some would not see the relevance to obama immigration reform and its impact to barbados .well as a matter of interest there are many illegal bajans working in the usa ,the reform eases many of the negative pressure for them,in some way open up doors where they can find gainful employment with better benefits and pay with a possibility of them being able to increase whatever dollar amount they send to there families members living in these small nations, it might not seem like nothing of great importance but forex and its relevance to these small nations economies does help no matter the source,

37. from my vantage point the response to some of these articles have become predictable a regurgitation of old wine in plastic bottles like the repetitive sound of a blindman stick tapping along a sidewalk taking his early morning walk , Barbadians are aware and conscious of the many facts and reasons of these systematic and recurring problems with years of evedience to support ,yes they are concerned and maybe even afraid of the future but what most are looking for are answers and not the ole tired reactionary comments led by spineless political operatives with no backbone or clarity living in a world of fantasy and make believe, pretending (as if) all these problems happen overnight, the internet is a reservoir of information and it can be easily accessed deciphering fact from fiction ,deception from perception truth from lies,,hav a nice day

38. @ ac | December 6, 2014 at 6:57 AM |

“well of course some would not see the relevance to obama immigration reform and its impact to barbados .well as a matter of interest there are many illegal bajans working in the usa ,the reform eases many of the negative pressure for them,in some way open up doors where they can find gainful employment with better benefits and pay with a possibility of them being able to increase whatever dollar amount they send to there families members living in these small nations, it might not seem like nothing of great importance but forex and its relevance to these small nations economies does help no matter the source..”

Well, well, well…….. you are so hypocritical!!!!!!

It’s a pity you did not have these same sentiments when the DLP after forming the government in 2008, embarked on a serious of mass deportations of Guyanese. Or when Thompson made the comments “Ever so welcomed, wait for a call”, or the DLP’s “Barbados first” immigration policies, or how our immigration officers treated Guyanese on arrival at Grantley Adams International Airport.

Guyana is also a member of Caricom and their economic situation was not thriving like ours.
    It did not “seem like nothing of great importance to you that these people were here in hopes of finding “gainful employment with better benefits and pay with a possibility of them being able to increase whatever dollar amount they send to their families members living in” Guyana.
    You did not care about Guyana’s economic plight or the forex and its relevance to that country.

You were not at all concerned about the implications these “new immigration policies” would have on the island.

But now you could come to BU writing shiite ‘bout “as a matter of interest there are many illegal Bajans working in the USA”. You did not sympathies with the Guyanese who were being “round up” while in town liming at bars, from their places of abode, bus stops, work sites, or just walking the road, during police and immigration operations. You shouted for joy when Thompson said “Barbados is for Barbadians first”.

The same way you agreed with this administration’s deportation policy [you don’t ever disagree with anything the DLP does], illegal Bajans do not have a right to live in the USA.

39. “but what most are looking for are answers and not the ole tired reactionary comments led by spineless political operatives with no backbone or clarity living in a world of fantasy and make believe, pretending (as if) all these problems happen overnight…”

Topics such as the Obama immigration reform will obviously serve the purpose of the DLP yard-fowls, since they tend to shift the focus from the abysmal record of this DLP administration.
    Comments will seem as being regurgitated, because this administration has been making the same mistakes over and over, expecting different results.
    Yes, many of us are looking for answers, but this administration always reject suggestions and seems not to be able to come up with any answers of their own. As such, it may be in our best interest to seek alternative answers elsewhere.
    You should be ashamed to mention these problems did not happen overnight….. but it is evident after holding the reins of government for almost 7 years these “problems” are presenting significant difficulties for this administration to solve. Then demit office, call a general election and let us choose even the PDC to run the affairs of the island.

And yes, we don’t want the “ole tired reactionary comments led by spineless political operatives with no backbone or clarity living in a world of fantasy and make believe”, [political operatives like AC, FracturedBLP, Bajan Fuh Life, NationBLpnewspaper], who would prefer us rational thinking people not to acknowledge and bring to the fore the continual failings of this inept DLP, but rather to sing from their hymn book.

Finally, yes, “the internet is a reservoir of information and it can be easily accessed deciphering fact from fiction, deception from perception truth from”. And as proven quite often, many of us have been able to refer to past articles from the internet that contradicts present statements made by these wild boys in the DLP and decipher fact from fiction.
    Why did you think we were able to ask for David Estwick to be held accountable for statements he makes in one forum and say something completely different in another [the sale of BNOC comes to mind], or finding out about the $3.33M deal between Thompson and Leroy; or Stuart saying the DLP will not lay off workers but did so after the elections, and the list goes on.

Your response to these issues that confront us?………. “predictable a regurgitation of old wine in plastic bottles like the repetitive sound of a blindman stick tapping along a sidewalk taking his early morning walk…”

You have a nice day.

40. Follow the Money Avatar
    Follow the Money

Wait until the US sends their “cannot be bought off” investigators to Barbados seeking money owed to the IRS. There is a highly placed source who says that Mr Money Man’s heirs to the all time crass, classless, and landscape defacers of Barbados are in for a rough road ahead. Why is Coverly empty? The same reason St Peter’s Bay/Port Ferdinand/and the mausoleum called Palazzo will remain empty—locals are getting paid to BUILD these ugly structures while Mr. Money Man who was holding the debt bag has now died.

http://www.dailycommercial.com/news/article_3ccf077d-34aa-56ff-ac11-db8f385504eb.html

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-09-22/florida-s-villages-shifts-to-taxable-debt-amid-irs-probe.html

Once again Barbados’ reputation, or what is left of it in the world, will be dragged through the mud. Watch how this plays out.

41. Wanna that man (Morse)…did a BIG FISH in trute ya…man read the bottom link by Follow the Money above…..7 private jets and nuff Us $ 257 billion……looks like Port Ferdinand in for some sweats…..again I say who blight this Rock?….cuz this is more potta

42. Corr :$2.6 Billion and 4 private jets and $147 milllion yaught- sorry……

43. Follow the Money wrote “In 2006, Morse transferred most of the direct ownership in the Holding Company of the Villages to his three children:”

The deceased had a personal worth $2.6 Billion.

I don’t have to read and spell fuh wunna.

Green Onions when yuh gine use this new name I gih yuh ?

44. Hants

This is the original original here ok Gramps……and make no bones about it. … perspicaciuos little Cloige boi U…..like U smokin Watrford Crystals….and dat aint china herbs H .What green onions what

45. This one for Fractured…..

When ee come home from another freeness event…he he

The Hon. Michael Lashley MP oversaw the greatest growth in houses while he was Minister of Housing. And he will also achieve great success at

the Ministry of Transport and Works.

..What the use in building a lotta house….to remain empty?

…To which Transport Board are you referring? Lashes now just on my TV talking amalgation… cuz they in trouble

46. Fyah & Brimstone Avatar
    Fyah & Brimstone

While I do agree that there is a severe lack of transparency in the current administration, Mark Maloney can carry his backside and go query how his business operates and if it can REALLY account for its cash flow.
    I am opposed to any of those white boys getting all of the work all of the time and no one else should have anything other than what they dont want or feel like discarding.
    Typical “Off-white” Bajan greed monger.
    Go build more modified dog kennels out of that pre-fab garbage and keep your low-lying racists behaviour to yourself Mark.
    You don’t OWN Barbados!

47. What is the fidicuiary connection between Abdul Pandor of the Transport Authority and Michael Lashley? Can someone tell us what the going rate for permits? While asking ,can Darcy Boyce tell which is the best facility or institution to place money offshore?

@David King , how can we finger political crooks who steal from the treasury or take bribes for contracts? Ah wonder when CrimeStoppers gine focus on Bribery

48. Who are the cashiers and bagmen for politicians in Barbados.

49. We need documents.