Minister Denis Lowe issued a threat to social media yesterday – see Our eyes are on you. Perhaps he needs to peer into his own backyard, specifically his relationship with mentor Peter Allard the owner of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary. Minister Denis Lowe, social media is watching you as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Compiled by Due Diligence

40 responses to “Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary, Forgotten”

1. So what did the Minister say to social media?

2. @Minister Lowe “demonstrate a commitment to strong traditional values”

In his personal life does the Minister himself “demonstrate a commitment to strong traditional values?”

Just asking.

I am sure that the Minister will respond.

3. Tell -“whey my cuxt”- 10 to one is still murder….

4. game on Dennis Lowe vs. Social media let,s see who have some balls in here today,,,

5. At some time, very soon, BU will rerun our series on Denis Lowe.

6. Maybe Police should be charging someone for the annoyance, distress and anxiety placed on citizens caused by the pile up of garbage all over the country.

7. Sounds familiar..? Take it away birdie….fa who doan understand

8. David | December 4, 2014 at 7:07 AM |
    At some time, very soon, BU will rerun our series on Denis Lowe.

A suggestion, take one minister a day and analyse his/her performance,statements and promises.
    This should be interesting reading,especially when their public utterances are compared to their personal actions.

9. Well said Mr Lowe as the adage that to be warned is to forearmed. Just as citizens should not be reckless in their quest to hold politicians accountable we expect politicians to respect the masses quest to know.

Mr Lowe I am a critic of your stewardship post 2008 as Minister Of Environment and not as a person. Thus, I am wondering whats your excuse for not responding to the Future Centre Trust questions on the proposed Cahill Waste To Energy Plant. You are well spoken and smart enough not to know you don`t have a monopoly on being smart.

Mr Lowe, what do you expect from educated bajans when the government fails to proclaim the ITAL and FOIA. Everyone outside of BDLP yardfowls and brain dead partisans know that in the absence of relevant legislation governing ministerial conduct, malicious gossip and hard questions will be the norm.

Mr Lowe, remember words are meaningless without supporting actions. Oh for the public records I have nothing personally against you as you seem to believe thanks to Bush Bar Whispers of the yardfowls who love to report on postings. My loyalty is foremost to country and future generations.

Dont forget the Country needs to know the details of the Cahill Waste To Energy Plant deal and why the work of the late world renowned Prof Oliver Headleys solar research is not considered as an alternative.

Barbados needs the collective brain power of all its citizens and not controversy if its to navigate its way out of the governance and financial morass.

10. So far so good.nothing immoral or indecent going against the grain of what is defined as malice with”intent” to harm.

11. The following excerpt is taken from the article “Minister issues warning to users of social media”, which is attached to this post:

“According to the minister, while the Fruendel Stuart administration may not be considered to be the most intellectual to grace the halls of parliament, it can be viewed as a Government driven by strong moral standards.”

<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The following is a news item from the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation [CBC] web-site (yuh hear dat “NationBLPnewspaper”, ah suh CBC website):

BARBADOS HEALTH MINISTER CALLS FOR MORE GAY-FRIENDLY LAWS
    CBC: October 30, 2008 [10/31/08 12:58 PM]

Barbados’ Health Minister Dr. David Estwick Thursday said regional politicians should not be afraid to address controversial issues related to HIV/AIDS. He said legislation criminalising homosexuality and prostitution in the Caribbean region were among difficult issues that the political directorate must take up urgently. Social advocates and others have said that most men who have sex with men and were HIV-positive positive continue to remain in the closet and are reluctant to seek medical attention because of the legislation barrier and because they feared discrimination.

“What are we going to do about reaching men who have sex with men when we have laws against their sexual activity in most Caribbean countries?” asked Estwick, as he addressed participants at the 8th Annual General Meeting of the Pan Caribbean Partnership Against HIV/AIDS (PANCAP).

“How are we to adequately address sex workers in the region if sex work is illegal?” Estwick said those were “tough issues that presented formidable challenges to politicians,” but he said an acceptable balance must be struck between the strategies advised by technocrats and the wishes of those who, on moral grounds, oppose the proposed strategies.
    Responding to suggestions that Caribbean politicians would be committing political suicide by decriminalising buggery and prostitution, Estwick said many of his regional colleagues were not truly aware of the fundamental socio-economic impact of the HIV/AIDS pandemic.

“They are not truly aware and conscious that you can wake up one morning over a ten-year period and have a fundamental shift of your demographic profile that can catastrophically affect your social and economic production in the society,” Estwick said.

“I believe if you are talking to reasonable individuals, once they become aware via some education programme or process then I believe that they would be more willing to apply across the board all the applications towards access and then the whole political suicide aspect would become secondary to what is right, what is just and what is moral,” he added.

Estwick is among several health ministers attending the meeting which opened Wednesday night and ends on Friday. It has attracted more than 170 registered participants, making it the largest ever gathering in the 8-year existence of PANCAP which was launched by regional leaders in 2001 to lead the fight against HIV/AIDS in the Caribbean.

is Lowe saying to us that Estwick is immoral?

12. @ David, I am taking these threats seriously. I will try to find out what the risk is to us Canadians blogging from Canada.

We have freedom of information and investigative journalists in Canada.

13. Man D whole damm lot a dem….ent know dem xxxx dems xxx…..dat is wat….

“According to the minister, while the Fruendel Stuart administration may not be considered to be the most intellectual to grace the halls of parliament”

…now that is a class act.

14. @Hants

What a pack of jackasses taking on social media as if they do not have bigger problems. Then again social media has been relentless to shine a bright light up their dirty asses.

On Thursday, 4 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The goodly doctor is reading BU..Good! And he is trying to make out himself to be goodly. I wonder what he has to hide that he is in attack mode against the mouthiness of social media. Guess his comrades charge on that Facebook fella is just the drive he needs to instill more fear and subjugation into the hearts of those whom the political system has been able to subdue and keep quiet for years. Or it must be the revelation about the thousands of dollars in a mother’ account for which he thought he could conceal. Or the cell phone message about a cut he wanted. I just saying wuh I hear Low-ie please do not come after me. Mr Lowe Sir, I wonder if you are clean. If you are, you have no problem answering the question: you ever receive any gifts such as large sums of money from any projects? Opps sorry I forgot the last fella who was ask how he could buy a plantation on a politician salary sue and came out 75,00.00 dollars richer. I mean after all the system protects its own. But if you are a clean upright politician, you have nothing to worry about ma-boy because you earn your money honestly. But if ya dirty and dabbling, and proof is brought to bare, I hope your ass get your just recompense. You politicians in Barbados feel you are all above the law and everyone else have to be subjected to it. You do not take kindly to people saying things about you but you can blatantly make promises and do not keep them and treat your constituents like crap for which none can lay a charge against you. It would be hell if we were a communist country with the likes of you lot.

16. David it seems that they think social media exist only in Barbados and that the laws in Barbados applies to every other country in the world.

17. All of the DLP Ministers and yard ducks will get the just rewards that is coming to them very soon, the dishonesty (MONEY) that got them in power is going to take them out , take a look and see all the taxes on the people , the NIS money and the loans,they can’t get anything right ,
    A bigger power is at work with this DLP , it is Money, you see the DLP got to power with CLICO Policyholders money that was stolen buy a man who’s evil sprit is in St.John Church yard , we know how that man was when he came to power in 2008 , the Devil
    took him , but is now taking the rest minds first , that is why them can’t get anything right, can’t THINK, MIND going

18. @Hants

Of course BU will never condone malicious use of social platform. Equally, if a scam artist is found out in the world of philanthropy one does not stop giving to charity. The hogwash self serving rhetoric from these hungry politicians only serves to provide comedic relief.

19. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

The DLP and other even LOWE is looking to control the world because they bought votes to stay in Office and hide from not going to jail for crimes against the People of Barbados,
    The want to be above the law and t do as they please, We know that they and him is a crook under the meaning of the law meanings,
    We want to know did his Mother have 5 Million in an account ?
    Was it true that his and his family was fighting over mothers 5 million dollars,
    If so, Where did this money come from , source of FUNDS,
    Did she pay any taxes or VAT on the money?
    What about the framers with the oil spill , did they own the land?
    Did you or did you not see the PLANTATION DEED for the land to know they are not the owner and the seller was not the true owner to sell .

Was Ralph Thorne the lawyer for the farmers? and how much was he paid ? and what happen to the farmers?
    Did you ever hear of Violet Beckels and the massive land fraud your DLP knows and covered up after the BLP lost the Election that was stolen from the CUP .

20. In the UK we have freedom of speech and are not subject to the despotic ramblings of Barbados politicians.
    Sinckler spending the same dollar over and over and over
    Lowe uttering the kind of threats expected from Mugabe
    Lashley abusing his powers but not paying the £3.7million to UCAL that he promised
    A PM that hides away from reality
    QEH scandal
    Sanitation scandal
    Transportation scandal
    and on it goes.
    Can these fools not be impeached either singly or as a body?

The only problem is that the alternative is equally unattractive.

21. The low man should have heard a caller to Brasstacks today! If what is said was not true, he would have sued long ago! Low life!

22. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

To The Entirety Of The Democratic Labour Party: This is a campaign of deliberate intimidation. Intimidation of a people you have cheated of a decent living. How do you expect that in the face of such severe hardship, the prevailing climate of employment uncertainty, the rapid decline of basic social services, your uneven or dare I say nonsensical tax policies, there should not be concern? The choice not to interact with John Public of your own volition was taken by you. From the very outset you have demonstrated that public relations to you meant very little so why now are you attempting to stymie public outcry? The St Kitts regime is about to show all and sundry that it is not too big to try to correct an obvious mistake. You should too, for the name Omar Watson may well figure more prominently in the history of your party than some who have taken that oath to serve the people of Barbados. Your actions are squeezing life’s blood from the veins of the poor. A second look at your policies in relation to poor Barbadians will show that Social media is not the enemy. Your recalcitrance is.

23. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

There needs to be a massive show of support by Barbadians every time Mr Watson goes to court. We need an online petition started so that there is no mistaking the fact that solidarity against this wickedness is real. LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA !

24. Nostradamus | December 4, 2014 at 7:35 AM |

Maybe Police should be charging someone for the annoyance, distress and anxiety placed on citizens caused by the pile up of garbage all over the country.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    Have you heard the one about the Bajan who recently got off an Air Canada flight at Toronto Airport, and as he stepped outside in the fresh air, bruggadung !! he immediately fainted. Smelling Salts could not revive him, not even a shot of Cockspur.
    Then one of the Canadians who was returning from a holiday in Barbados,shouted to the Medics ” Throw a bucket of garbage over him! ” It worked beautifully, instant revival.

25. Social Media is here to stay and unlike mainstream media there is no advertising budget to be pulled. The politicians if they are smart would ensure the public is spoken with and not at. No threats of imprisonment will stop any movement for change in Barbados. There is no connection between social media and libel as every citizen must be responsible in their commentary. I wish those ignorant of social media would stop giving it a bad name. Fire destroys property, life and limb why don`t we ban fire even for cooking.

The RBPF Special Branch can also with the Financial Intelligence Unit utilize the World Cup data logging equipment to help stamp out the most dangerous threat to our democracy which is corruption. Fellas, wunna think its fair that only the poor and unconnected are arrested and taken to Dodds? I am not the threat or the average blogger all we want is our democracy to be inclusive and transparency in government. Ms Stephen please see social media as a friend in crime fighting and not the enemy. Social Media can be your greatest asset.

The politicians in Barbados since independence have treated the governance of the country as their play things thanks to the fear of media houses to ask the hard questions.. Only scant respect has been show to the concerns of the masses. Every bajan must take the blame for trusting these actors we call politicians in the absence ITAL and FOIA. Traditional media does not allow for freedom of expression for citizen journalist for fear of loss of advertising

I will always blog using my real name for I will not enter the gutter to ask the hard questions or libel anyone.

http://www.transparency.org/cpi2014/results

26. Tell- Whey my cuxt- 10 to 1 …is still MURDA !……..ee can take that however he likes……..nah more said

27. Brilliant. Lowe has just cost the Government trust (what it had) and caused suspicion.

The MAJOR miscalculation, is that one cannot separate social media, from society / citizens, it is so entrenched and a part of life.

He has thus directed his words at the citizenry, causing discomfort and anxiety.

What an idiot. If I were the PM I would fire him for that forthwith.

Oops, he cant, only 16-14. Ah well.

I guess he can cuss him behind the scenes, if any of the others actually understood the implications of what he has done.

28. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

As heard on today’s edition of ” Down To Brass Tacks ” there seems to be a growing movement of well intentioned Barbadians willing to come together and offer their personal hard earned money to assist in the recovery of this sweet country. As civic minded as they maybe, as nationalistic as it may seem I beg your indulgence as I pose this question. If your friend or family member is plagued by an addiction to gambling, are you really offering assistance by replenishing their depleted finances before the malady is remedied ? New paint on rotted wood preserves the lives of the termites within. Lets start where it makes sense. A FEW GOOD MEN NEEDED. An extensive education program via social media to shake the foundation of the ” Old Boy’s Club ” so that they may understand that it cannot be business as usual anymore. On the eve of 2015 there are still too many instances where the first order of the day for Granny is to dump the topsy. So that no one forgets Mia Mottley too has little use for social media as well. Then again she leads the other faction of ” The Old Boy’s Club ” so what can we expect? LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA !

29. Having read the various blogs about the controversial stand-off between Peter Allard and Government (most recent https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/graeme-hall-nature-sanctuary-time-for-truce/ ) I went by the Sanctuary to have a look for myself, and I submitted the pictures posted by David above

I know nothing of Peter Allard apart from what I have read in BU, and a bit of Googling, including at:
    http://www.graemehall.com/articles/article.php?id=122&title=Thoughts-from-Peter-Allard

Having seen what little I could see from the entrance, all I can say is what a colossal disaster that the parties cannot come to an agreement. on the operation of this beautiful property

The day we were at the Sanctuary, we were the only visitors there at the time. The cafe , a lovely little oasis was open and staffed by a very pleasant lady and a friendly young man who was keenly interested in ecology..

The grounds were in immaculate condition. As you can see in a couple of pictures ofthe parking area, it was deserted.

What a shame the Exhibits, Aviaries and Interpretive trails closed to the general public.

I am not an environmentalist, but it is clear to me that the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary should be a major tourist attraction and could be major promotional draw to attract environmentally conscious travelers. Lacking in natural resources, other than sun, sea and sand, which are not uniques to Barbados, that property should be considered a national treasure.

The other side of the coin is the sluice gate to the sea, neglected and abandoned by Government.

From gisbarbados website

Dr. the Honourable Denis Lowe, M.P., specialises in Developmental/Clinical Psychology. He was appointed Minister of the Environment and Drainage in June 2011, having held those posts and the additional portfolio of Water Resources since November 2008. He was re-appointed as Minister of the Environment and Drainage on February 28, 2013.

Given his performance as Minister, DD suggests that Dr. Lowe should stick to specializing in Developmental/Clinical Psychology, and leave the environment, water resources and drainage to someone who cares about such matters; including maintaining the sluice gate.

30. We are fast becoming the laughing stock of the Caribbean, dumb boys led by a dumb boy. We cannot even maintain a single sluice gate, while Guyana, which we have always looked down on ,probably has hundreds of the Kokers to operate and maintain.

31. Colonel Buggy

I have heard nothing but positive things about our leading party and the people of Barbados from the Caribbean diaspora here in America. I told one Guyanese woman here in America that Barbados ain’t doing as it used to and she looked me dead in the face and said to me: “Name one place in the world today that isn’t experiencing some kind of economic difficulty.” And I thought the wisdom of her words were so profound, given the fact that there are some who seem to thinking that Barbados stands alone regarding its economic vicissitudes.

32. Mother Nature will redesign Graeme Hall swamp whenever torrential rain falls in that area.

An wen de hurricane come…Major redesign an reconstruction.

Ask Bushie eff wunna doan believe me.

33. One would have thought in a country where ‘Attractions’ are few all would have been done to keep the GHNS afloat. Especially given the very close relationship between Allard and Lowe.

34. @ David visitors love places to see.

Example.

https://www.ripleyaquariums.com/canada/

35. @ David what was the reason GHNS attractions were closed ?

36. Peter Allard pull stumps because he was not getting government support.

37. I searched the net for Malik’s song about world cup cricket and couldn’t find it.
    Some of the lyrics ring true. “Barbados really fyh cup”.

Imagine a tour to GHNS, Harrison Caves, the Animal flower cave.

38. @Dompey
    Bro ,lets not scapegoat the economic climate as contributing towards many or our woes that we are now experiencing in Barbados. Some of these things were happening during our years of plenty. ie the failure of our government to properly maintain anything, and in recent time the population for being carefree with the environment.
    And Bro the grass always look greener from the other side.