Barbados is about to celebrate 48 years of Independence (whatever that means). You will read a lot of trite proffered by well meaning Barbadians in the days to come. The BU picture gallery clearly confirms that Barbados has made quantum strides in physical development.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The speeches by Sir Grantley Adams, son Tom  and the late Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow question our execution of the vision our leaders of the past had for Barbados other than physical development.

97 responses to “Barbados Then and Now”

1. Thanks to DD for researching the speeches.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

The link to the address by the Right Hon. EWB goes to a page not found (at 4.34 a.m.)

De ole man would like to read some uh the words of the only Prime Minister Barbados had

3. Thanks, corrected.

4. Even at today 30 years later The Dipper’s Mirror Image resonates with so many truths people living at subsistence levels, politicians bribing voters, a warped collective image of self…timeless words really.

It only goes to show you that these politicians especially the DLP ites have never read their patron s speeches and even if they had it was like water off the duck s back

5. An extract from Sir Grantley’s speech delivered all those years ago:

Against this background, nothing could have inspired the people of The West Indies more than the offer of the Government of Canada to provide as a free gift two ships for our inter-island shipping service. This is not only help of a remarkably generous kind, it is help where it is most needed, and tangible evidence that your Government understands the basic problems of The West Indies and is concerned specifically to help us in a manner which will enable us to help ourselves.

6. here is an artist animation of Errol Barrow in his own words

7. @PUDRYR

It is embarrassing after listening and reading the speeches of the political leaders of the past to compare with those of today. There is an unacceptable degree of separation. By conclusion it says a lot about the yardies.

8. The Federal Palm and federal Maple were valuable inter island vessels that plied the Caribbean seas. It was a shame that these vessels were never replaced. As a child my family traveled on the Federal palm one summer to St. Vincent and Grenada and it was magical. The First officer gave us some fishing lines to throw overboard to keep us occupied. There were 8 kids fishing from the deck. My parents then left us in Grenada and continued cruising all the way to Jamaica and back. That was a holiday to remember.

9. “Back to the Future”

Please DO NOT say HOW SICK you are of the current Government.
    ‘Cos nuffin leff at QEH to fix yuh!!

10. John Hanson 1781-1782 I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782 I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

We will never have a November 30 have less meaning under the DLP and BLP ,Nothing to get happy about, At this time would have been better off With this Queen and her full Rule, This means the Book at the Archives and the Land Registry would never have been Tampered With, Full law and Order would still be in Effect,
    Now With these Niggers In Both Parties covering up for each other and playing Monkey in the Middle with the Public as they are being RAPED of Truth and Money each day,As we know December 13th !985 When Beatrice Henry Died, No record of Barbados History has the Queen Of Barbados listed any where, Born November 27 1892 .
    To then leave all the PLANTATION DEEDS she bought in Her Life as far back as 1926 up until about 1980 that was Probated and Stolen by Sir Richard L Chelthenham QC Phd, On White park road across from the High Court also on Whitepark road in sight of CLICO Building , Being rented by the same crook lawyer and liars scumbag of Barbados , Who is said to be getting paid 60,000,000 GT Dollars for an inquired of Walter Rodney ?Now or was staying at the Pegasus Hotel in Guyana staying on the 2nd floor.
    What the heck he got looking into another Nations Business as he frig up Barbados with Sir C.O Williams , With a vote buying Prime Minister and MOF VAT-ing and Tax-ing the Bajans ,,
    When we get ride of these main crooks of MIA and Owen out the way of Both the DLP and the BLP we then can have a Happy November 30th ,
    Until then You all can enjoy your Slavery by another Name,
    Happy Earth Day Beatrice Jemmott – Henry,.

11. Piece

I am going to give God thanks for the material progress the island of Barbados has made despite its many shortcomings. You know we have a propensity to somehow focus on the negative and why? Because it is part of whom some of us are as Barbadians.

But why can’t just focus on the positive first before we present this laundry list of complaints which our nature implore to do often? Now 1995 my grandfather died and on my way to Barbados to attend his funeral, my flight was diverted to Antigua for some strange reason, but to make a long story short. When I landed in Antigua I was quite taking back by the pristine beauty of the Antiguan landscape. The airport sat in the center of the very large mountainous range which formed a 366 degree circle. And to me that was a sight to see because Barbados is as flat as Georgie Porgie very large nose. But what surprised me more than anything else was the Antiguan airport and inside at that. When I got inside and ready myself to check my bags in because I was scheduled to catch a connecting flight to Barbados the next morning. The airport I kid you not, was as big as one of the room at in our present airport. And equipments was as from far back as this 1960s. So in a nutshell, I give God thanks for my little island Barbados and the progress she has made these 48 years as she continues to perfect her nationhood.

12. Who killed Errol Barrow dream ?a dream design with a people in mind for self empowerment and not having us loiterring on the door steps of anyone..
    Who committed that dastardly act ? Now as bajans reflect in a mirror the image seen have us loittering on the steps of corporate greed and whormongers .A pertinent question that needs to be answerd as barbadians looks in a cracked mirror and see images of others and not of themselves is Who killed Errol Walton Barrow Dream?

13. “Who killed Errol Walton Barrow Dream?”

The present DLP government!

14. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Dream was a wet dream that dried up, BLP then the DLP in todays Life did all things against Natural law and all other man made Laws, None of then need not speak on any of the dead or living Hero of Barbados , Most of the people they put up or set up to be the Best of Barbados in their own Audit of their Life are Crooks,
    An outside group of White People need to come in and Audit the History Books of Barbados , This is the only way People of Barbados will know the truth , The Queen of England need to Audit her PIMP title Holders to see who paid Who like Standford, All the Sir crooks and QC crooks Rule Barbados and wreck this Nation ,
    Truth is the only Path for Liars ,that must be face the she-it they have done . Stay home and let them Know you have nothing to do with their type ,
    Penny gone Cent gone Sense gone faster , Study the PENNY AND SEE BARBADOES kings , I SERVE. Bajan of Barbadoes

15. Drum roll please!…

Isla gal..spoken like a true patriotic yardfowl..

16. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=7015
    Beatrice Henry 1892-1985
    Violet Beckles Queen of Barbados 1918 to 2010

17. @David
    Thanks for the slide but the photos are comprised of the “then”’ would appreciate some of the “now” but I am still appreciative and as one who braved the inclement weather on Nov. 30-1966 (though I was still a lad) I am proud of how much progress that we have made.

We are in turbulent seas and there are storm clouds ahead but hopefully this and all future Gov’ts will be able to navigate the storm and bring the ship of state to calmer waters.

18. Must this conversation denigrate to polarised political positions? What does it say about us that we can’t logically and dispassionately debate any issue. This is exactly what Barrow meant in his mirror image speech. He stated and all of us are beneficiaries of what he started. We need to grab the button at push on. Instead what do we do all day? JAs indeed.

19. @Sargeant

Did you miss that one slide featuring NOW@

20. I just read the Adams’ speeches and it is interesting how much investment Canada poured into the Caribbean.

Now does anyone want to comment on the apparent efforts of Canadian Banks to leave the Caribbean that has been so good to them?

Oh yeah. I know. It’s just business.

21. John Hanson 1781-1782 I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar

Hants | November 28, 2014 at 11:16 AM |
    Now does anyone want to comment on the apparent efforts of Canadian Banks to leave the Caribbean that has been so good to them?

Oh yeah. I know. It’s just business.Wrong Fraud Business By the BLP Abd DLP,
    Bank make their money from House and land loans , They will give no loans for their are no clear title to land , The Business that they are in was taken over by the BLP and DLP with NHC and UDC , The crooks that took over the estate of Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles are now the same Ministers who made up so -call statutory DEEDS with no history title of his own mind and land survey reports , Banks will back no land or house loans back on a black being elected by way of Fraud Elections, Moving around a bunch of crooks who is part of the same nasty deck of cards ,All of or most of Barbados building projects will have to be FUNDED BY THE SAME PONZI FRAUD MASTERS, THE REST OF THE Free Banking world will not come to Barbados and invest in this type or any type o fraud,

If you think oust side banks come in to make money off of car loans, COURTS bills , or iphones have to be a stupid,
    After Barclays Bank was taken over by the crooks to take and hide Beatrice Henry money in the First Caribbean Bank , to play the CLICO land fraud game of investments,

The next to be show up to take over is now SAGICOR now looking to invest in Guyana on the radio talking CLICO lies, Guyana dont need Barbados in their business to make thing harder for them , Look out for Jeniffer King another crook and scumbag lawyer , Her own wrong doings are eating her Alvie as she also dealt with Violet Beckles,

22. No David the mirror image that Errol Barrow wanted to see was an image powered by self determination.hence his vision of quality education making sure no one was left behind. However the powers that”be” mainly those who took control after his death torn the dream apart replacing with a need to hasten and quickeining the paste and all but took barbados backwards and into the hands of a new master

23. RE the powers that”be” mainly those who took control after his death torn the dream apart replacing with a need to hasten and quickeining the paste and all but took barbados backwards and into the hands of a new master

THIS WAS THE DEMS FROM 1987 -1994 WASNT IT?
    WE ALL REMEMBER THE 11 % CUT OF CIVIL SERVANTS SALARIES ah lie?

24. David | November 28, 2014 at 6:12 AM |
    It is embarrassing after listening and reading the speeches of the political leaders of the past to compare with those of today. There is an unacceptable degree of separation. By conclusion it says a lot about the yardies
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    Technically , this thread , after reading those speeches by our past leaders , is contravening the Malicious Communications act, and if our present day leaders ,politicians and political yard fowls have any modicum of self respect, this should be construed as
    (c) menacing in character causing them annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety.

25. John Hanson 1781-1782 I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar

Georgie Porgie | November 28, 2014 at 12:16 PM | THIS WAS THE DEMS FROM 1987 -1994 WASNT IT?
    WE ALL REMEMBER THE 11 % CUT OF CIVIL SERVANTS SALARIES ah lie?
    Queen Beatrice Henry of Barbados dies December 13th 1985 , that gave time for the time line for Owen and MIA as AG to play her role in this Massive Land Fraud,
    Bank fraud and Land Fraud works well together when the government look to take from older folks , And look to make it look like they made up all things in their live by replacing documents in Barbados History,

26. Then and Now.
    In today’s Nation we see a private school applying for a work permit to bring in a non-national to teach Russian and Ukraine, as ,as usual, no suitable local applicant could be found.
    Given what transpired a few years ago between a local landed gentry, and two Ukrainian girls , who he had imported, ‘as no suitable locals would not have been considered suitable for those jobs,” I do hope that this Ukrainian / Russian teacher will not be required to give lessons in French as well.

27. I just listened to Brass Tacks and heard the report on the state of affairs at the QEH regarding medical supplies. I then recalled the assurances given by the MOH regarding our preparedness for the Ibola outbreak should it arrive at our gates, and also his warm words of confidence that all was well at the QEH. Further still, his self-assured boast that outstanding payment would be made to those companies awaiting settlement.
    Well, today I ordered a 100lb bag of salt. Why? I have decided to take a pinch of salt every time one of these ministers reassures me not to worry, his/her ministry is “on top of it”! Do any of you think that maybe I under-estimated my salt needs? Meanwhile I will hold my breath and await a profound statement from the three monkeys rolled into one, the greatest leader any country ever had ….Mr Classics.

28. The record shows that following barrow death there was about an eleven year span of goverance and control of Barbados by pm St.John and Tom Adams who reconstruct and design a path on a foundation built out of high debt followed by a six year period in which the economy exploded and could not be sustained and the govt had to rely on austere methods to bring the deficit down and reign in outstanding debt owed to our new masters left behind by both St.John and Adams.

29. FEARPLAY
    I THINK YOU NEED A TON -IE 2400 LBS – AT LEAST

30. GP, are you sure that is all? I don’t want to be making unnecessary trips to the supermarket.
    ….and @ac, thanks for the explanation. It is now clear to me why we are in this position. Don’t know what we would do without you.

31. ac | November 28, 2014 at 1:51 PM |
    The record shows that following barrow death there was about an eleven year span of goverance and control of Barbados by pm St.John and Tom Adams

AC ADAMS DIED BEFORE BARROW IN MARCH 85
    BARROW DIED IN 87 HAVING REPLACED ST JOHN AS PM IN THE 86 ELECTIONS
    HOW ON EARTH IS IT POSSIBLE THEN THAT “there was about an eleven year span of goverance and control of Barbados by pm St.John and Tom Adams ”

WOULD YOU LIKE TO RUN IN AND BOWL AGAIN YA NASTY STINKING LIAR

32. @ Hants
    Hants | November 28, 2014 at 11:16 AM |

I just read the Adams’ speeches and it is interesting how much investment Canada poured into the Caribbean.

Oh yeah. I know. It’s just business.

Don’t forget EWB was a pilot in the British Army and more than likely too a member of Ex-Canadian Royal Aeronautical Squad. Maybe that his how he met John Bull ( a member). Does anyone recall the H.A.R.P Gun up Paragon? This was one of Bull’s projects…a long range gun for enabling high altitude research down here in BIm…… Who could forget>>>>”Grugdunnnn- Miss. Burpipp brand new bungalow coming down”…When that thing fired, it could be heard all the way down St.Peter.

Now to..(why so much investments from Canada poured into the Caribbean)…..by a process of association and friendships, one would tend to believe…..Friends of all satellites of None..

33. Surprised no comment about the picture which does not belong.

How can we discuss real development post Indepence IF we can’t pick up garbage to a schedule, we can’t produce timely end of year financial for most of our government agencies, we have to borrow to support consumption lifestyle, we don’t earn read export from a diversified base etc…

34. When we had less fancy machinery in agriculture our sugar output was more than what it is today. We have all the fancy gadgets and yet we are producing less and less. Many people who are creative suffer from creative constipation because they cannot find outlets or jobs to show their work. Manufacturing today is still a joke run by a few who don’t care about quality and marketability of the products they make.

What I have noticed is that a few small and exclusive cottage businesses have opened up by individuals who are producing quality limited lines of products in the food catering industry. Social Media is being utilized to get the word out.

Education that once was touted as the best in theCaribbean has become stagnant and repetitious. Many Educators never updated their skills, we now have students more knowledgeable than their teachers. Our University keeps producing lawyers and doctors instead of skilled people who would take our country forward.

After 48 years of a whirlwind development we are now falling apart from the seams. Our infrastructure we still boast about is actually crumbling and the leadership haven’t a clue on how to fix it. Mediocrity has replaced Pride and Industry. We have become immune to the piles of garbage that threatens our daily existence. We have become Talkers instead of Doers. We have been happy to bury our heads in the sand than face the reality of where are today.

Many want to live the Hollywood lifestyle without the sweat and hot sun. Many have taken illegal shortcuts to live that lifestyle at the expense of the tax payers of this country without any fear of repercussions. Our judiciary is broken. When someone steals millions is reprimanded and allowed to go free and someone who has stolen a tin of corn beef to feed himself or his family is given jail time the scale is very unbalanced.

Honesty has no place in politics it seems. If the moral thread has been lost or broken who can the citizens look up to for leadership? Promises and more promises are made every day by our leaders with little or no delivery. This has trickled down to almost every strata of society.

48 years ago we had people with a vision for this country. We had leaders who were visionary and implemented what they thought was good for the nation. Today we have leaders lacking those very qualities required to take our country forward. They are quite comfortable riding the almost dead horses that were used by our founding fathers.

35. How can we discuss real development post Indepence IF we can’t pick up garbage to a schedule, we can’t produce timely end of year financial for most of our government agencies, we have to borrow to support consumption lifestyle, we don’t earn read export from a diversified base etc…

Or if we can’t keep adequate stocks of essential supplies on hand in the island’s only hospital.

QEH crisis

Medical practitioners concerned about shortage of medical supplies at hospital

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on November 28, 2014.

A chronic shortage of essential medical supplies at the island’s premier health care institution has forced doctors into emergency mode.

The ongoing situation has reached such a critical point that the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) and the Junior Doctors Association (JDA) fear the state of affairs could compromise the level of care which their members can provide at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH).
    BAMP’s public relations officer Linda Williams.

“Obviously it will have an impact on the way that we are able to give care to patients and the way that we are able to provide the best possible care for the patients at the hospital,” BAMP public relations officer Dr Linda Williams told Barbados TODAY.

The medical practitioners are so worried about the likely adverse impact on patients and doctors that representatives of the two organizations are due to meet in a joint emergency session tomorrow at the QEH to determine the way forward.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/11/28/qeh-crisis/

36. @ Island246Gal

For agriculture to work like that again…The MOA himself would have to believe that agriculture could be feasible….MOA said that if we replanted all the idle fields in vegetables and root crops..the markets would be GLUTTED…..What this therefore says is maybe we need a cannery….

By the way…”My daddy used to captain one of those shipsssss…U so lovingly spoke of”….maybe that is where I got my salt water Hants…

37. the fact is that after barrow remitted office , ,tom adams became PM ,he shifted the path that barbados is now adhering to a path built on :the cup in the hand ” mentality”.. far away and removed from a path of self empowerment and self determination.., Yes GP your correction noted ,However the mitigating factors that are now rooted in this economy was and continues to be driven by self interest and nothing to do with the interest of a country and a people this system would continue to be (as) is until Barbadians wake up sooner rather than later and decides that a structer built by one self is better than one design and carved by others .

38. @old onion bags,

You wouldn’t need a cannery. Just ship the excess to Toronto. The South Americans and Jamaicans flooding the supermarkets with every fruit, vegetable and root crop they can grow.

What I find troubling is that Barbados has had really good farmers over the years and we now have a new generation who trying with “Hydroponics” and green house farming etc.

The day Barbados cannot pay for imported food then you will see vegetables springing up on golf courses.

39. ac | November 28, 2014 at 6:45 PM |
    SO THE DEMS FROM 2008 -2014 HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE STATE OF CURRENT AFFAIRS AT ALL

40. @ Green Monkey | November 28, 2014 at 5:35 PM |

That is most concerning. Even more concerning is the huge advertising campaign last Sunday in the newspaper.

Going by the above article, if BAMP believes that, we are in dire straits with the health service.

This is truly the beginning of the end.

Expect huge numbers of exodus from Barbados as people emigrate.

41. Well looka muh crosses again…….lolly time again Hants….serious ting dis ! Enjoy.

42. wouldn;t it have been nice if Barrow plan for building an economy from an educate society had come to fruition..wouldn;t it have been nice if instead of having to go with the cup in hand to our new imperialist masters that our society would have been locked stoick and barrel independantly owned as barrow had presented in his vision.. wouldn’t it have been nice that instead of having a indebted economy and our children and gran children having to slave to repay outstanding debt, that the baton was handed to them clear and interest free,,, would it not have been nice, but no some bodies decided that the pace must be quicken that time and tide was against us,, lol and behold the tide has rolled onto shore and the ship has run aground,

43. @ Green Monkey wrote “Expect huge numbers of exodus from Barbados as people emigrate”

emigrate to where ? Kazakhstan ?

44. ac | November 28, 2014 at 7:44 PM |
    behold the tide has rolled onto shore and the ship has run aground,

ALL BECAUSE OF THE DEMS FROM 2008 TILL 2014

45. ( Young ) old onion bags wrote “My daddy used to captain one of those shipsssss”

oops!

46. old onion bags | November 28, 2014 at 4:41 PM | Now does anyone want to comment on the apparent efforts of Canadian Banks to leave the Caribbean that has been so good to them?

Well Onions. If that is so, merely because the Caribbean is being seen as a failed state.

There is no evidence of growth on the horizon and for returns, the economy must have growth. The financial institutions have to pay dividends to their shareholders.

So, I doubt any foreign institutions will stay in the Caribbean.

Which is why we were silly to sell the BNB.

That said, expect a period of contraction in Barbados economy, such that imports are naturally cut significantly, as people can no longer afford to buy imported goods. It will come naturally.

Likely, a major market chain will be disappointed at the returns over the coming years, as the supermarket retail industry will contract to pre 1980 days.

Probably wishing now it never bought into the industry here, note that their reported/ alleged superstore is nowhere to be seen.

Maybe they are now realizing there is no market for it and the returns here are not as fruitful as they thought.

But seriously, we are going back to Barrow economy days, without the sugar.

If international business does not survive, then yes, as mentioned above, there will and will have to be emigration, to US and Canada mainly.

Because tourism alone simply cannot support this economy. We are in serious doo-doo.

47. ac | November 28, 2014 at 6:45 PM |”the fact is.”

Fact, fact, fact… the FACT really is that Barbados has never had a truly excess of foreign exchange, has got by through conservative measured spending in accordance with earnings, up to recently.

FACT is, even when Barrow demitted office, we were running by the skin of our teeth and going nowhere.

FACT is, we need to produce and keep to basics. And out little island cannot support a huge market.

FACT is, we are back to pre 1980 Barrow days of economy, unfortunately , with a huge national debt to pay off with the little economy.

FACT is, people will scrunt to pay off said debts, as they are losing jobs.

FACT is, all hekc is going to brek loose, because no jobs = no money.

And more taxes WONT help, but will only help to accelerate the decline.

48. @Crusoe it was me that asked the question. Doan blame old onions.

49. AC better get dat ole whoe out and start whoeing! Onions boi we ent ready fuh chikki yuh tink we reddy fuh Ebola????

For the doctors to come out publicly and say what they said means that things are in a baddd way. To only attend to emergency cases with very limited resources we have sunk to the bottom of the barrel. Dexter James coming over the air stating that they have the drugs and supplies at the hospital, so why dem keeping dem from the doctors fuh? The doctors have stated that they have lost faith in the management of the QEH so Mr James is trying to save his job. And yuh not hearing one word from the MOH nor the PM. This silence is deafening. “Oh what a tangle web they weave …when first they practice to deceive.”