Submitted by Georgie Porgie
Dawn Phenomenon and Somogyi Effect

One of the most frustrating things that diabetics deal with is an unexpected rise in blood glucose overnight. You go to bed with a BG of 100 mg/dL (5.6 mmol/L), and wake up with a BG of 130 (7.2)! You didn’t eat, so what happened?
This results from two distinctly different processes: Dawn Phenomenon and Somogyi Effect. Here are some basics.

DAWN PHENOMENON
While it has rather an attractive name the Dawn Phenomenon can cause problems for diabetic’s. The Dawn Phenomenon occurs when there is an apparently unexplained morning rise in the fasting blood sugar (blood glucose) levels. That is when the fasting (pre-breakfast) level in the morning is higher than the pre bed-time level.

When fasting blood sugar levels in the morning are much higher than the pre-bedtime reading, with no food eaten in between there is obviously a problem somewhere.

Increased morning blood sugar levels can have two causes –

1. The Liver dumps its reserve of glycogen (a form of glucose) when blood sugar levels get too low.
  2. Insufficient Insulin in the blood together with increased Insulin Resistance due to hormones released in the early morning.
    Everyone, diabetic or not, exhibits some Dawn Phenomenon. It is a natural part of our bodies’ circadian rhythms

The hormonal changes are basically preparing the body for the expected exertions of the morning and occur in everyone, both diabetic and non-diabetic. In diabetics though they can raise blood sugar levels too high and cause further difficulties at breakfast time.

Since most of us fast while sleeping, our bodies use stored energy during sleep. The body uses all three macro-nutrients (carbohydrates, proteins, and fats) to store energy.

The most easily used is the storage medium of carbohydrates, called glycogen. Glycogen is made from glucose, and is stored in the liver and muscles.  Since it is basically nothing more than a complex matrix of glucose, it is easy for the body to store and use, something the body does all day long. The technical term for the act of creating and storing glycogen is glycogenesis. When the body calls for the conversion of glycogen back to glucose it is called glycogenolysis.

Another macro-nutrient that is available to be converted to glucose is protein. Most of us think of our protein as being stored in muscle, but the body has protective mechanisms to make muscle wasting its last choice. One of the most useful and readily available sources of protein storage is in blood components, i.e., albumin (plasma).

The body uses a process performed in the liver to convert amino acids, the building blocks of proteins, into glucose. The name for this process is gluconeogenesis, literally “the creation of new glucose”.

So, what does all this have to do with a high fasting BG? Overnight, usually between 4am and 11am, your body releases some hormones. These are Growth Hormone (GH) from the anterior pituitary gland, cortisol from the adrenal cortex, glucagon from your pancreatic alpha-cells, and epinephrine (adrenalin). These hormones cause an increase in insulin resistance, raising your BG.

In addition, these hormones trigger glycogenolysis and gluconeogenesis, adding stored or new glucose to your bloodstream. Dawn Phenomenon, and its associated increase in insulin resistance, is the reason most diabetics are far more sensitive to carbs in the morning.

How to Prevent or Lessen the Effect of the Dawn Phenomenon

Since the two causes of the Dawn Phenomenon have two different solutions we need to find out which is occurring first. Check blood sugar (glucose) levels at 2-3am, if they are regularly very low followed by a higher bounce in the morning fasting level, its likely to be a liver dump.

Otherwise if the blood sugar levels are more or less the same as it bed-time followed by a rise in the morning fasting level its likely to be insufficient insulin that may be combined with early morning insulin resistance.

Liver Dumps

Liver dumps cause a sudden release of glucose in the blood leading to a quick increase in blood sugar levels. They may happen after a blood sugar low or hypo that may wake you in the early morning. A small snack last thing at night can help; a mix of carbohydrate, fibre, protein & fat to slow the release of blood sugar. Something like Cheese on Toast, Peanut Butter on Ryvita and so on.

Insufficient Insulin

For diabetics injecting insulin a common cause of high fasting blood sugar levels in the morning, can be if the insulin runs low during the night. That combined with a lessened effect of any remaining insulin due to hormonal changes that occur in the early morning. The remaining insulin is insufficient to cover the background needs of the body even at sleep. So after about 4am, blood sugar levels gradually rise. For Type 2’s on drugs this is likely to be a lesser effect because their pancreas still has some remaining insulin production.

Morning Insulin Resistance
Insulin Resistance may remain high for many hours including before and after breakfast. Carbohydrates eaten in the morning may cause a greater increase in blood sugar levels than carbohydrates eaten at mid-day or evening. It might be expedient to experiment with the following suggestions to see what works for you.

1. Try eating no food after dinner. This works for people whose Dawn Phenomenon isn’t very strong. Basically, it lowers their baseline BG, so that when DP does hit them, the increase keeps them below a certain level, usually 120 (6.7).
  2. Try eating a small snack of fat and protein before bed. Most find that a tablespoon of peanut butter, or some cheese and deli meat are effective. The theory here is that the slow-digesting fat and protein holds their BG high enough overnight to avoid Somogyi Effect (see below).
  3. Eventually, you will learn how the two disparate approaches above work for you. Hopefully, you will set personal targets to guide you, eg., if my BG is below XXX (insert your target here), I need a snack. If my BG is over XXX, I don’t need a snack.
  4. Lastly, the prescription medication Metformin HCl (Glucophage) is often very effective in limiting Dawn Phenomenon for Type-2s and insulin resistant Type-1s. Of course, Type-1s can adjust their basal (slow) insulin regimen to account for Dawn Phenomenon.
  5. Lastly, EAT BREAKFAST. The resulting increase in blood glucose from food will often turn off the continued rise. If you don’t, some diabetics will continue to rise until 10-11 am.

SOMOGYI EFFECT (or the “rebound” effect)

Somogyi Effect, named for the researcher who first described it, is the tendency of the body to react to extremely low blood sugar (hypoglycemia) by overcompensating, resulting in high blood sugar. This is secondary to a low blood sugar overnight, while fasting overnight. It is most commonly seen with insulin using diabetics, but is also seen with overnight reactive hypoglycemics.

The Somogyi effect is most likely to occur following an episode of untreated nighttime hypoglycemia, resulting in high blood sugar levels in the morning. When the blood glucose levels drop too a low overnight, the body responds by releasing counterregulatory hormones such as glucagon and epinephrine. These hormones (especially glucagon, the strongest blood glucose increasing hormone)  spur the liver to convert its stores of glycogen into glucose, raising blood glucose levels.

This can cause a period of high blood sugar  following an episode of hypoglycemia, the result of which is that the liver is stimulated  to start glycogenolysis and gluconeogenesis to provide enough glucose for the  body to survive. This is sometimes referred to as a Liver Dump. Often, this mechanism over-produces, and the diabetic wakes with a significantly higher BG.

People who wake up with high blood sugar may need to test their blood glucose levels in the middle of the night (for example, around 3 AM).  If their blood sugar level is falling or low at that time, they should speak with their health-care team about increasing their food intake or lowering their insulin dose in the evening.

The only way to prevent the Somogyi effect is to avoid developing hypoglycemia in the first place. Setting the patient’s BG target a bit higher, will usually prevent them from having a hypoglycemic event overnight.

DAWN PHENOMENON-SUMMARY

• The Dawn Phenomenon refers to a  sudden rise in blood glucose levels in the early morning hours.
  • This condition sometimes occurs in people with insulin-dependent diabetes and (rarely) in people with noninsulin-dependent diabetes.
  • Unlike the Somogyi effect, it is not a result of an insulin reaction.
  • People who have high levels of blood glucose in the mornings before eating may need to monitor their blood glucose during the night.
  • If blood glucose levels are rising, adjustments in evening snacks or insulin dosages may be recommended.

THE SOMOGYI EFFECT (Rebound hyperglycaemia) –SUMMARY

This refers to a swing to a high level of glucose (sugar) in the blood from an extremely low level, usually occurring after an unrecognised and therefore an untreated insulin reaction and hypoglycaemic attack during sleep in the early hours of the morning or during the night. It presents as hyperglycaemia before breakfast.

The swing is caused by the release of stress hormones to counter low glucose levels, and is also due to the release of the insulin-opposing or counter-regulatory hormones in response to insulin-induced hypoglycaemia. People who experience high levels of blood glucose in the morning may need to test their blood glucose levels in the middle of the night. If blood glucose levels are falling or low, adjustments in evening snacks or insulin doses may be recommended.

It is essential to recognize the Somogyi effect in order to avoid the mistake of increasing (rather than reducing) the dose of insulin in this situation.

103 responses to “DIABETES: Dawn Phenomenon and Somogyi Effect”

1. Dr. The Georgie that is Porgie
    In all seriousness. We wish to thank you for presenting the conventional definition and treatment modalities of the malady that presents as diabetes – the allopathic approach. An approach that treats diseases. Not the whole person.

But as the resident physician and given that we are talking a lot about creativity and innovation for national development. Maybe the goodly doctor could tell us how we can CURE this national malady. Why do we have to put up with it at all? Why can’t we wipe this out? Why do we like drug addicts have to be forever dependent, and it will soon be independence day, on drug pushers, forever? How is it to be possible that these miscreants are to have growing demands on the national budget, forever more?

We trust that these few question will not burden the doctor too much.

2. pachaman u now mash GP corns wid that pertinent question….Btw i just heard a loud squeal coming from my computer fuh sure that got to be GP shouting murda..

3. i HAVE POSTED THE ABOVE BECAUSE THIS PHENOMENON CONFUSES MANY DIABETICS WHO EXPERIENCE IT

I HOPE THAT THIS INFORMATION HELPS TO ALLEVIATE THE CONFUSION OF ANY WHO HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THIS PHENOMENON

USING CRACKERS AND PEANUT BUTTER BEFORE TIME MIGHT ALLOWS ONE TO SLEEP FOR LONGER PERIODS SO THAT THEY GET UP FEWER TIMES TO WEE AT NIGHT

4. @Pacha

Have we not established NCDs is a lifestyle disease?

5. BEFORE BEDTIME

6. GP even the uneducated patrolling this blog got it “” now it is way past BED TIME for you bozoo,, Nite NITE ,, don’t let the bed bug bites,,

7. HERE IS A LIST OF CAUSES OF DIABETES
    THIS LIST INDICATES THAT THE CHANCES OF GETTING ARE HIGH AND THE CHANCES OF A CURE IS DANGEROUS

List of causes of Diabetes

Following is a list of causes or underlying conditions (see also Misdiagnosis of underlying causes of Diabetes) that could possibly cause Diabetes includes:

Metabolic syndrome – a syndrome with 4 key features (diabetes, hypertension, obesity/overweight, and high cholesterol).
    Insulin resistance
    Hemochromatosis – iron overload causes pancreas damage that can mimic Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes.
    Chronic pancreatitis – pancreas damage that can mimic diabetes.
    Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) – ovary cysts inhibit natural female hormones causing insulin resistance
    Carcinoid syndrome – glucose intolerance, protean manifestations, serotonin inhibits insulin production
    Pancreas surgery
    Pancreas trauma (type of Pancreas conditions)
    Overactive pituitary gland
    Overactive adrenal glands
    Pancreatic insufficiency
    Acromegaly
    Cushing’s disease
    Cystic fibrosis
    Adenocarcinomas
    Somatostatinoma
    Aldosteronoma-induced hypokalaemia
    Phaeochromocytoma
    Primary aldosteronism
    Wolfram’s syndrome
    Leprechaunism
    Rabson-Mendenhall syndrome
    Insulin autoantibodies (IAAs) – can inhibit insulin and lead to insulin resistance.
    Type B insulin resistance – insulin receptor antibodies can inhibit insulin action.
    Stiff Man syndrome – about half have Glutamic Acid Decarboxylase (GAD) antibodies and get Type 1 diabetes.
    More causes:see full list of causes for Diabetes-like symptoms
    Diabetes Causes: Risk Factors

The following conditions have been cited in various sources as potentially causal risk factors related to Diabetes:

Risk factors for Type 2 diabetes (the majority of cases):
    Obesity
    Hypertension
    High cholesterol
    Race – certain races get higher rates
    African Americans
    Hispanic Americans
    Mexican Americans

THE CAUSES BELOW ARE PROBABLY THE ONES THAT WE ARE MOST LIKELY TO BE ABLE TO PREVENT
    • (diabetes, hypertension,obesity/overweight, and high cholesterol).
    • Chronic pancreatitis – pancreas damage that can mimic diabetes.

8. Let us be honest. We Bajans like nuff fried pork and chicken. We like nuff rice an peas. We love macaroni pie.

We do not eat enough VEGETABLES AND FRUIT.

Therefore we need medical intervention because we do not discipline ourselves to eat a healthy diet.

9. HANTS
    WHAT IS TRUE TOO IS THAT WE DIDNT EAT LOTS OF MEAT DAILY– WE ATE MEAT ON SUNDAYS AND HOLIDAYS.
    WE ATE MORE FISH
    WE WALKED AND BICYCLED MORE

EVEN HERE IN THE USE VEGETABLES AND FRUIT. ARE EXPENSIVE

WE MUST GO BACK TO KITCHEN GARDENS TO PRODUCE THE LATER

ENVIRONMENTAL FACTORS AND FOOD ADDITIVES ARE ALSO AFFECTING US—THE YOUNGER FOLK MORE SO THAN THE OLDER FOLK IT SEEMS

10. who (is ) WE bajans ..ac don’t eat nuff uh dat tripe you mentioned,,, speak fuh yuhself hants,,now tell me what was the winning time for HAMILTON today,,

11. ac I don’t count you as a Bajan. Just a clandestine BLP supporter who writes irrelevant shiite.

12. there u go Hants for once got something to say about nothing,,,

13. This disease is wrecking havoc on the health of Bajans on the rock. It is there consuming significant resources at the QEH in bed space etc. We need to have people understand they have to change lifestyle.

On 24 November 2014 at 02:08, Barbados Underground wrote:

14. @ Georgie Porgie,

BAJANS ARE BUYING A LOT OF “FAST FOOD”.AT SUPERMARKET DELI COUNTER, SELLERS IN VANS, ROADSIDE “SHACKS”.

THEN THEY GO HOME AND BLOG ON BU……LOL

15. buy more beds,,,

16. YES DAVID A LIFESTYLE CHANGE IS CRITICAL.

17. plant organic food people would have little choice but to buy with education as the focal point of awareness in helping society to make the change,, , implement laws that are preventive measures in the preparation of foods with emphasis on quality.there are times when govt have to take the lead in order for populace to follow,

18. Dr. The Georgie that is Porgie

Could you please make contact with our questions please?

19. We are a people hooked on the ‘good’ life. Everyday in Barbados we observe new KFC and Chefette outlets being opened. One suspects even if we were to provide healthy alternatives for Barbadians to chose from the preference would still be junk. It is fast, it is convenience and it is a lifestyle choice. Same with the sodas filled with artificial sweeteners and god knows what else.

20. Diabetes still a bother

Added 14 November 2014

dexterjamesdrcopy

QEH director Dr Dexter James.

DIABETES AND ITS complications continue to be a major problem for health officials in Barbados.

Related articles

Speaking to the Press on World Diabetes Day, which coincides with the 50th birthday of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, chief executive officer, Dexter James, lamented the fact that 25 new patients have been admitted to the Dialysis Unit in the last two weeks. All of them are people with uncontrolled diabetes, James said.

He is hoping that as Barbados joins with the rest of the world in the celebrations, some of the messages will get through and people will take the necessary steps towards a healthier lifestyle and prevention of non-communicable diseases. (YB)

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59253/diabetes-bother

21. Dr. The Porgie that is Georgie

There are many practitioners curing diabetes every day without pharmaceutical interventions. Yes, they include lifestyle modifications, regular exercise, links to HBP etc. These modalities are far less costly. Why should we maintain an establishment that pays people like you for killing Bajans with your bad medicine? Should we not reorganize our whole society in more cost effective, healthy lifestyles ways. And should people in your profession not focus on holistic treatments that actually work instead of paying homage to big pharma?

You, of course, will again not answer these questions. For your very existence depends on drug pushing!

22. @Pacha

Who should be responsible for reorganising the society? Should it not be all of us?

23. A brass bowl is a fella who thinks that it is possible to plant cassava and reap tomatoes monthly.
    It is therefore no surprise that Bajans can’t figure out why diabetes is a BIG problem bout here….
    Our idea of good health is to be size XXX; to drink carbonated sweet water by the case; to eat as much drug-laced meat as we can afford; and then flop around in the living room playing games on computers and phones while watching foreign shiite on TV.
    In short…planting cassava….
    Then we somehow expect to reap tomatoes…. to have a powerful athletic build, rock-hard abs, perfect blood pressure and to sleep like a baby when the nights come… (Like Bushie 🙂 )

But then again, Bajans also expect to sell all their assets to foreigners, do as little work as possible, hoard their monies in Credit Unions, look for “free” everything – from pampers to education – from government ….and then to be treated with human respect and to be assured a safe future for their children….
    …as the Boss man is wont to say…”Ignorance has no bounds”….

Pacha is right. Controlling diabetes (and High blood pressure and other NCD’s) is about adopting a sensible, disciplined, balanced lifestyle up FRONT, …and definitely NOT about doing a lotta shiite and expecting good results.

24. @ David
    Yes, all of us! And in the medical ‘industry’ we have huge opportunities for national transformation. But as Bushie would say, it would be like turning a Titanic, but if we as individual make different choices, the tail will stop wagging the dog.

25. AC accused me of insulting the poor people of Barbados for eating at Cheffette and KFC .

Another idiot called furry bear said
    “Please stop mocking Chefette and KFC, it is all that many Bajans can afford for an occasional meal out.Stop being so snobbish.”

Then The same GP who authored this post supported the above bashers who bashed me for criticizing Jumas restaurant.

26. Hi, New to posting comments here on BU. I’ve been a lurker for a while, reading the articles and associated comments. David, i think you have a great website here. Keep up the great work.

Now regarding the above article, I must agree with this Pachamama fellow. We know that as a country we are facing an epidemic with these NCDs. Diseases that can be controlled without the use of drugs. We talk constantly that it is a problem but without trying to implement any meaningful solutions.

Regarding Dr. Dexter James, I recall attending a public lecture at the QEH which dealt with trying to quantify in monetary terms how devastating these NCDs are to the QEH’s budget and the economy of the country.. The final assessment was that because of lack of data here they could not come up with a definitive number. Anyway, during his spiel, Dr, James emphasised the need for personal responsibility and how individuals must change their lifestyles yada yada yet less than a week later, I had friends, who are doctors, sending me photos of the newly installed vending machines which once again contained a pile of nonsense foods (coke zero, cranwater, chips, cookies etc). Less that a week! The same vending machines which had been taken out, amid a lot of fanfare as encouraging staff and members of the public to eat unhealthily.

My conclusion, we aren’t really serious about this. We seem to want our young people to get sick and die young form these diseases. We push too many drugs as the solution, no, that just takes care of the symptoms. We fool individuals that healthy options can be found at fast food places. Yes, as if that chicken salad you have once a day is going to offset those pastries and soft drinks you graze on constantly throughout the day. We really need to get serious.

27. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Stick to the plan or Doctor GP will throw a wobbly

28. @ bajanfarmgirl

Thanks for your comment, don’t be a stranger. Will checkout your blog 🙂

29. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Sugar
    http://youtu.be/_6f_da84I4U

30. islandgal246 | November 24, 2014 at 8:36 AM |
    re
    Then The same GP who authored this post supported the above bashers who bashed me for criticizing Jumas restaurant.

YOU ARE A JACKASS OF DOMPEY-OID DIMENSIONS
    WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE IF YOU EAT AT KFC OR CHEFETTE OR JUMAS RESTAURANT? OR AT HOME?
    ALL THE FOOD WILL BE CONVERTED TO ACETYL CoA
    ACETYL CoA IS THE PRECURSOR TO FATTY ACIDS AND CHOLESTEROL INTER ALIA. ah lie?

31. bajanfarmgirl | November 24, 2014 at 8:45 AM |
    RE
    Now regarding the above article, I must agree with this Pachamama fellow. We know that as a country we are facing an epidemic with these NCDs. Diseases that can be controlled without the use of drugs.

MY DEAR, COULD YOU PLEASE KINDLY TELL US THE AGENTS THAT CAN BE USED TO CONTROL NCD’S WITHOUT DRUGS?

COULD YOU ALSO TELL US, IF POSSIBLE THE MECHANISMS OF ACTIONS OF THESE AGENTS ?

32. Pachamama | November 24, 2014 at 7:50 AM |
    Dr. The Porgie that is Georgie

You, of course, will again not answer these questions. For your very existence depends on drug pushing!

I HAVE NOT PRESCRIBED A DRUG FOR ABOUT 18 YEARS
    ALSO THE ARTICLE WAS INTENDED TO INFORM DIABETICS WHY THEY HAVE A HIGH BLOOD SUGAR IN THE MORNINGS AFTER HAVING FASTED AT NIGHT

THIS CAUSES A GREAT DEAL OF DIABETICS WHO CHECK THEIR BLOOD SUGAR LEVELS REGULARLY AND METICULOUSLY

THIS ARTICLE WAS ADDRESSED TO THEM, NOT TO THE AVERAGE MORON WHO POST ON BU DAILY WITHOUT THE ABILITY TO COMPREHEND

IT IS AMAZING HOW THE BU HERD CAN NOT STAY ON TOPIC

i SUGGEST THAT YOU ARCHIVE THIS POST AND ONE SUBMITTED YEARS AGO ON DKA- diabetic ketoacidosis ON THE MEDICAL PAGE

33. Bajanfarmgirl

That’s the best piece of medical advice I have heard in quite sometime. But you ought to be careful because PG don’t take to kindly to anyone out -shinning him in the area. He usually kick up a stink when anyone encroaches upon his area of expertise, but allow him to run his food -trap until he has had enough.

in any instant, I have a question for you: I know that we continue to argue against medication- therapy with a focused emphasis diet, but there are those cases whether through congenital or bad food choices. Where the Pancreas does not produced enough insulin to supply the body’s needs and pharmacological -intervenation seems to be the final resort.

34. There is an Ad sponsored by the Barbados Diabetes Association currently running on local radio trying very hard to warn Barbadians the need to adjust lifestyle behaviour etc. The prospect of losing the breadwinner in the family, the cost to the health care system etc. The problem though is that we have a generation hooked on fast food and as they will be quick to point out, it is their right.

35. DAVID

It is funny how all of a sudden the emphasis is on Fast-Food. But what about the high starch foods such: English Potatoes, Sweet Potatoes, yam,and Breadfruit etc, that our grandparents have been eating for donkey years. Such food are high in carbohydrate and are contributory factors in the onset of diabetes. The medical literature shows GP, that if you consume such foods in large amounts for an extended period of time that it would over work the Pancreas, decreasing its insulin output.

36. Type 2 Diabetes: 4 Signs of Trouble
    If your glucose levels get out of control, it can lead to serious diabetes problems. Knowing the signs of these diabetes conditions can help you take quick action to resolve them.

DIABETES complications can occur if you don’t regulate your blood sugar (glucose) levels properly. Blood sugar is produced in your liver and muscles, and most of the food you eat is converted into blood sugar. This is your body’s source of energy, but when your blood sugar gets too high, diabetes is the result.

Your pancreas produces the hormone insulin, which then carries blood sugar into your cells, where it’s stored and used for energy. When you develop insulin resistance, high levels of sugar build up in your blood instead of your cells and you start to experience signs and symptoms of diabetes.

You may notice fatigue, hunger, increased thirst, blurred vision, infections that are slow to heal, pain and numbness in your feet or hands, and increased urination. For awhile, your pancreas will work to keep up with your body’s sugar demand by producing more insulin, but eventually it loses the ability to compensate and serious diabetes complications — including blindness, kidney failure, loss of circulation in your lower extremities, and heart disease — can develop.

For most people with diabetes, the target blood sugar level is 70 to 130 mg/dL, but your doctor will work with you to pinpoint your individual target range. Your doctor can also help you learn what to eat and how to keep your blood sugar within a healthy range.

Four Signs of Diabetes Complications
    One of the main reasons monitoring your blood sugar level is so important is that it can change quickly and unpredictably. The sooner you detect any changes, the sooner you can catch early signs of diabetes complications.

Be aware of these four specific diabetes problems:
    Hyperglycemia. The most common cause of diabetes complications is hyperglycemia, or when your blood sugar level rises above 180. This kind of spike indicates that either there isn’t enough insulin in your body or that insulin isn’t being properly used. You can experience high blood sugar from overeating, medication deficiency, or as a reaction to new medication. Signs of hyperglycemia include being very thirsty, experiencing extreme fatigue, having blurry vision, needing to urinate a lot, and feeling sick to your stomach. Although regular exercise may help stabilize your blood sugar level, it’s important to contact your doctor because your meal plan, your medication, or both may need to be adjusted. If left untreated, hyperglycemia can become a life-threatening condition.

Hypoglycemia. A quick drop in your blood sugar level is called hypoglycemia. Blood sugar levels below 70 are dangerously low and can be caused by missing or delaying a meal, exercising too much, or taking too much medication. Hypoglycemia may cause feelings of weakness, confusion, irritability, shakiness, hunger, and fatigue. You can prevent passing out or having a seizure from hypoglycemia by eating regular meals, taking your diabetes medication, and checking your blood sugar level often. When your blood sugar begin to drop, you should drink fruit juice or regular soda, take glucose tablets, eat a spoonful of sugar or honey, or eat five or six pieces of hard candy to stabilize your blood sugar. If you experience hypoglycemia, contact your doctor as soon as possible. Until your blood sugar level has stabilized, repeat the sugary drink or food every 15 minutes. Always carry food with you for this reason.

Diabetic ketoacidosis. When there isn’t enough insulin or sugar for fuel, your body starts breaking down fats for energy instead. As a result, your body produces ketones, which are waste products found in the blood. Because your body can’t tolerate high levels of ketones, your system will try to eliminate them through your urine. If ketones build up in the blood, a life-threatening condition called diabetic ketoacidosis can poison your body and lead to a coma or death. Early symptoms include thirst, dry mouth, shortness of breath, fruity smelling breath, frequent urination, fatigue, dry skin, nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain, confusion, high blood sugar, and high levels of ketones in your urine. You can check your ketone levels with a simple drugstore urine test. Diabetic ketoacidosis, which is relatively rare with type 2 diabetes, can be prevented by regularly checking for ketones, particularly when you’re sick. Symptoms of diabetic ketoacidosis develop slowly, increase quickly, and can create an urgent medical situation. If you suspect you have diabetic ketoacidosis, call your doctor immediately and go directly to the emergency room.

Hyperosmolar hyperglycemic nonketonic syndrome (HHNS).HHNS occurs you’re your blood sugar level is extremely high — greater than 600 mg/dL. It’s most common in older people with type 2 diabetes and develops over days or weeks, especially after an illness or infection. The high level of sugar in your blood makes it thick and syrupy, and your body will work to rid itself of excess sugar by passing it through your urine. If you don’t drink enough liquid, you run the risk of dehydration, and HHNS can also lead to a seizure, a coma, or death. Warning signs of HHNS include a dry mouth, extreme thirst, a fever greater than 101° F, drowsiness, confusion, vision loss, hallucinations, weakness on one side of your body, and dark urine. The best way to prevent HHNS is to check your blood sugar level regularly, and more often when you’re sick. If warning signs begin to appear, drink liquids at least every hour and call your doctor or 911.
    Follow your doctor’s recommendations about how often to check your blood sugar level. In general, people who take diabetes medication should check their blood sugar once a day, and if you’re on insulin, check it three times a day before each meal. Monitoring your blood sugar closely can help you prevent serious diabetes complications from developing.

DAVID COULD YOU PUT UP THE PPT ON DKA from a few years back

37. RE what about the high starch foods such: English Potatoes, Sweet Potatoes, yam,and Breadfruit etc, that our grandparents have been eating for donkey years.
    ACTUALLY THIS IS GOOD CARBS BECAUSE IT IS COMPLEX CARBOHYDRATES THAT IS NOT EASILY DIGESTED AND ABSORBED TO CAUSE SPIKES IN BLOOD SUGAR

THIS FOOD IS GOOD FIBER AND THE REASON WHY FOR DONKEY YEARS WE DID NOT HAVE SO MANY DIABETICS

38. WHEN i WAS A LITTLE BOY THERE WAS A SAYING “DOGS AMONG DOCTORS”
    THIS AXIOM IS WELL DEMONSTRATED ON THIS THREAD ah lie

lets hear the herd rise up now

39. @GP

Will look for it.

Note that Frances Ashcroft, FMedSci will be presenting the 39th Sir Winston Scott Memorial Lecture at the Frank Collymore Hall tonight titled ‘DIABETES’ A Tale of Genes and Sugar. A quote from Ashcroft is that diabetes is being fueled by the obesity epidemic.

40. that diabetes is being fueled by the obesity epidemic can be of little doubt.

41. OK GP
    Take the field, you win!

42. George Porgie

It is funny how the American public is well aware on this front because the information on diabetes is so readily distributed in practical all of the doctors office here. I have been aware of this information for many years now, seeing that Glaucoma, Heart Disease, Prostate Cancer, Diabetes and Hypertension are five of the major health problems in the Black community. It is funny how GP has forgotten to make mention of the Glycemic-Index.

43. I am not hear to win arguments or anything pachy
    I came to share a little info about what is a very big worry to many diabetics and maybe some doctors too.
    The idea was to explain these phenomena to BU diabetes
    1 Why is it that I took no food after my medication last night and yet this morning my blood sugar is high.
    2 Next I have explained the four major complications of diabetes and explained how to recognize them.
    Except for Sarano the Pharmacists at Thorpes,who writes a weekly column in Barbados Today no newspaper in Bim attacks medical issues as is done on BU.

44. Georgie Porgie

It the Barbadian people that ill- informed regarding a health crisis of this nature, that you out of all person would take up the challenge to inform them? Old one, instead of spew your malignity at Dompey, you ought to make it an all hands deck as well as a NBA full court press to help your sparring partner PG, properly inform the infinitesmal island of Barbados regarding the potential dangers of hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia.

45. Georgie Porgie

You now claim to be a Peace-Maker after the heat is in your backside, but yesterday you took liberty in criticizing the piece Pachamama wrote.( And as the Native American said to the White man: YOU SPEAK WITH A FORK TONGUE BROTHER) Now it is best I inform you that your sense of Integrity and Credibility is melting like an Ice- Block left out in the Bajan midday sun. Quickly!

46. Georgie Porgie

Any good doctor who is try to educate his patients on the dangers of Diabetes, would have focus his efforts on these three prevasive concerns of the disease:

1) Retinopathy
    2) Neuropathy
    3) Nephropathy

47. If you have DIABETES, you know there’s a long list of foods you should stay away from — namely those high in sugar, sodium, and saturated fat. But there are also plenty of foods you should add to your diabetes diet to help keep your blood sugar levels under control.

The foods you eat have a direct effect on your blood sugar levels, Managing blood glucose levels is key to preventing future complications,” she says.

During digestion, your body breaks carbohydrates down into glucose. With the help of insulin, this sugar is transferred from your blood into cells and used as energy. Start with these 10 diabetes-friendly foods. .

Oatmeal
    Oatmeal contains beta-glucan, a heart-healthy soluble fiber that slows down digestion. This prevents big spikes in blood sugar levels,The beta-glucan in oatmeal has also been shown to improve insulin sensitivity, according to a study published in 2013 in the journal Food and Nutrition Research.

Just remember that oatmeal is a carbohydrate, so you’ll need to watch your portions. One recommends one quarter-cup of dry oatmeal per day as part of a healthy diabetes diet. Enjoy it for breakfast, add it to meatloaf, or sprinkle it on top of your yogurt.

Salmon
    Salmon is a rich source of key nutrients, including protein, niacin, and vitamin D. And getting a healthy dose of vitamin D may be key, as low levels of the vitamin have been associated with type 2 diabetes, Smithson says.

The fish is also a good source of omega-3 fatty acids, which may help reduce inflammation associated with insulin resistance. And a study published in 2013 in the journal Nutrients showed that omega-3s may also help protect your heart health, which is especially important for people with diabetes because of their increased risk for heart disease.

Top salads with grilled or broiled salmon, and try baking salmon patties,

Almonds
    Almonds are high in vitamins B and E, fiber, iron, protein, magnesium, and zinc — and low in carbohydrates that increaseblood sugar levels,.

And since diabetes makes you more likely to have high LDL, or “bad” cholesterol, adding nuts to your diabetes diet is a smart move. Almonds are an excellent source of unsaturated fats, which can help lower your LDL cholesterol and raise your HDL, or “good” cholesterol levels,
    Add almonds to salads or try a tablespoon of almond butter as a snack, she suggests. Just watch your portions and steer clear of packaged nuts with any added sugar or salt.

Oranges
    An orange is an excellent source of pectin, a soluble fiber shown to lower LDL cholesterol levels, Smithson says. Although they’re sweet, oranges actually have a low glycemic index (GI), according to the American Diabetes Association (ADA). And the lower a food’s GI, the less it affects blood sugar and insulin levels. Do factor in that one medium-sized orange has 15 grams of carbohydrate, Smithson notes.

Oranges also provide key nutrients including vitamin C. Opt for the whole fruit instead of juice for more fiber and antioxidants that may help prevent cell damage, she adds.

Beans
    Beans are rich in soluble fiber and an inexpensive source of protein with a low GI, making them ideal for preventing big swings in blood sugar levels, Smithson says. “A higher soluble fiber content in foods is beneficial for slowing the rise in blood glucose levels because it takes longer for your system to break down the fibrous foods,” she explains.

A half cup serving of black beans has 15 grams of carbohydrate. The ADA recommends eating bean spreads, like hummus (a great dip for raw veggies), or adding beans to soup, chili, casseroles, and salad.

Kale
    Of all the leafy greens you could enjoy on a diabetes diet, kale is the superstar,. This vegetable is rich in a slew of essential nutrients, including vitamins A, B6, C, K, and folate; the minerals calcium and magnesium; fiber; and flavonoids and other antioxidants. Kale is also very low in carbohydrates, sodium, and cholesterol, the U.S. Department of Agriculture reports.

kale contains bile acid sequestrants, substances that lower LDL cholesterol and limit the absorption of dietary fat. She suggests tossing kale into a salad, steaming it, or baking it into chips.

Dark Chocolate
    Sound too good to be true? Consider this: A study published in 2011 in the journal BMJ looked at studies involving more than 114,000 people and found that those who ate the most chocolate had a 31 percent lower risk for diabetes and a reduced risk for heart disease and stroke compared with people who ate the least. And a 2014 study published in the Journal of Diabetes and Metabolic Disorders found that having about 20 grams of flavonoid-rich cocoa a day (about 3 tablespoons) could lower LDL cholesterol and triglyceride levels in people with diabetes.

Look for dark chocolate with more than 60 percent cocoa. But since chocolate also contains fat and sugar, limit yourself to one small square a day, Smithson cautions.
    Cinnamon
    Cinnamon has been used for thousands of years to treat various health issues, according to the ADA. More recently, the spice has been touted as a way for people with diabetes to improve blood sugar control. A 2012 study published in the journal Nutrition Research found that cinnamon supplements lowered blood sugar levels in people with type 2 diabetes. And a 2013 study published in the Annals of Family Medicine showed that cinnamon is associated with a significant drop in fasting blood sugar levels. More and bigger studies are needed to confirm the possible health benefits of cinnamon, the ADA notes — but in the meantime, it’s a tasty way to top cereal and hot beverages.

Vinegar
    The potential health benefits of vinegar are still under investigation, but one study dating back to 2004 and published in Diabetes Care found that vinegar could significantly improve insulin sensitivity in people with diabetes or insulin resistance. The researchers suggested that vinegar’s effects on the body are similar to the effects of the commonly used diabetes drug metformin.

And a 2012 study published in the Journal of Community Hospital Internal Medicine found that vinegar helped slow the absorption of sugar. Two ounces of apple cider vinegar added to a meal improved fasting blood sugar levels and insulin sensitivity, researchers found.

Green Tea
    Research is ongoing on green tea’s effects on many serious diseases, including diabetes, cancer, and heart disease, according to the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine. Although several earlier studies did not show that green tea helps control blood sugar levels, a 2013 study published in the Diabetes and Metabolism Journal highlighted a Japanese study that showed that people who drank six or more cups of green tea were 33 percent less likely to develop type 2 diabetes than were people who consumed a cup of green tea a week.

It also reported on Taiwanese research that found that those who drank green tea regularly for more than a decade had smaller waists and a lower body fat composition than those who didn’t consume green tea regularly. The super brew also contains polyphenols, antioxidants shown to regulate glucose in the body, helping to prevent or control diabetes.

48. The food list is interesting and have to admit many appear on the BU dinner table on a regular basis.

49. LOL DAVID
    MANY OF THESE THINGS WERE COMMON PLACE IN OUR EARLIER LIFE.
    WHY SHOULD WE CHANGE WHAT USED TO WORK IN THE PAST?

WHAT IS INTERESTING IS THAT THE SCIENTISTS ARE NOW CATCHING UP WITH WHAT OUR FOREPARENTS KNEW HOW———–ESPECIALLY THE OMEGA 3 FATTY ACIDS IN THE DEEP SEA FISH OILS

ALL OF US REMEMBER OUR COD LIVER OIL DAYS OR SHARK OIL

50. Georgie Porgie

Why don’t you order a collection of diabetic cook books and dally down town and start selling on them corner? Because if Barbadians aren’t conscientious of the fact that certain food groups impacts their blood sugar levels. Then perhaps, I need not traverse this blog any long because all of your information is as common as the bunions and corns on De Hood’s left foot.