rodney_wilkinson
Rodney Wilkinson in handcuffs

The news that the bagman has been arrested on 67 counts of fraud is big news in Barbados. In BU’s opinion it ranks in the top three memorable moments since our Independence because of his high profile status given his connection to high profile politicians. Time will tell if our competent legal system will work to make at least 25% of the charges ‘stick’.

Those who wonder if the bagman would have had to suffer the same public ridicule as the former Prime Minister’s brother Richard Arthur had a different administration been in office, probably not. The scenario playing out gives hope to the optimists that the wheels of justice may yet turn on one of its own.

Rodney Wilkinson was the CEO of GEMS/HRL project that included at the time Savannah Hotel, Blue Horizon, Time Out, Eastry House and Silver Rock properties. The W in JAWS is for Wilkinson?

BU will be labelled as being foolishly optimistic by some to expect the justice system to wheel into motion to work like it is suppose to in the matter of Wilkinson versus Globe Finance and NASSCO.  The Auditor General has been unflattering in several reports regarding the management of Hotel Resorts Limited aka GEMS. In light of recent events BU is calling for a forensic audit into the operations of Hotel Resorts Limited in the period when Wilkinson was CEO.

It boggles the mind – now that we know – that Wilkinson was appointed deputy chairman of the Barbados Mortgage Finance by former prime minister Owen Arthur and he (Wilkinson) was fingered as the contact man in a construction company called Kitchener Construction and Investment listed to do work for Urban Development Commission.

It is only the politically partisan who continue to ignore how the political directorate (by both political parties) in Barbados continue to manipulate the system for personal gain.  Who can forget Clyde Mascoll’s 360 turn on the issue of JAWS after he crossed the floor. Barbadian taxpayers should be made to rest easy after an investigation into the operations of HRL Limited in the period Wilkinson was employed as Chief Executive Officer.

71 responses to “Call for Immediate Forensic Audit into the Operations of GEMS”

1. […] Call for Immediate Forensic Audit into the Operations of GEMS […]

2. Over the years I repeatedly called for this and especially WHERE the proceeds of the sale of Eastry House and Silver Rock went to. Also the waiver of property transfer tax for Silver Rock. All these accounts should be made public. After all it was taxpayers monies.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Unlike you, I am not optimistic that the wheels of justice would actually go into motion and complete the job. This is a distraction to give Barbados something to talk about. I would have to see a few more before the courts for this scam before my opinion changes to expect that high profile thieves would reap their just rewards.

It is impossible for a single person to perpetrate a fraud of this magnitude. Why have his co conspirators not taken before the courts.

Just recently, in India, a chief minister was sent to jail for corruption but in Barbados we hear of corruption at high levels and no one ever gets to see the inside of a courtroom. Don’t forget, we have a situation where a retired agricultural labourer could die and leave $5 million on her account. Her children are fighting over the money that they know could have only come from the proceeds of corruption.

Mind you, the State has not intervened to seize the money as that of the proceeds of crime.

I am not therefore holding my breath to wait and see that Wilkinson et al would get their just desserts.

4. Government owning Hotels (or any business) is totally ridiculous. However, it is an excellent and expedient method for assaulting the Public Purse!

The last words any serious business person should want to hear is a Govt representative calling up to say, ” we are here to help”. Naturally, if they want to buy your business at some over inflated price a response in the affirmative maybe worthwhile individually.

5. @ David
    You are an eternal optimist as always….have you any idea how many people would get locked up if we were to start enforcing the law around here? Shiite man, it would make more sense to put the innocent in Dodds for their own protection and leave the lotta crooks in jail on the outside….

BTW
    Mascoll turned 180 degrees not 360…..but then again he does talk so much shiite that it is difficult to tell which end he is speaking from …so you may be right… 🙂

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Wilkinson knows that he does not have a thing to worry about.

In a close door secret room (cane field or some other secluded place) the syndicate met and indicated to Wilkinson that this matter has the potential to destroy the crooked empire that he and all the other BLP rats (some Dees too) conspired to build for their gains over the years. Wilkinson was told up front that since he is the front man take the fall for now.

The syndicate mused that all his millions are safe until his return because our justice system is not like America who would freeze all his assets pending a thorough investigation. He was told point blank that the justice system of Barbados is in the pockets of the crime syndicate (which consist of prominent business persons, BLP and DLP rats and several key top government officials and heads of departments). The syndicate stated that we must appease the people, since many are understanding the inner operations without significant proof but might soon have proof to our operations. As a result let it be seen, known and appear like our justice system is not segregated or compromise.

Wilkinson with a smile stated he will take the fall and after he is acquitted will fly out to Miami to one of several big houses he owns and chill for about 5 years or less. Then he will return when the BLP are in power to continue his corruption under a Motley rule.

SO WILKINSON AIN’T GOT NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (BU):

Does anyone know who were the External Auditors for GEMS while R W was CEO?
    These so-called professionals allow management to break all the accounting rules especially that of full disclosure of material transactions and use those ‘cover-ups’ to charge and extract abnormally high premium fees.
    That situation certainly played out with the CLICO scam. Leaving one to wonder if another scam was carried on where the GEMS business is concerned.

Like Bushie I suspect a call for a forensic audit into the financial activities of GEMS will never materialized. Fraud involving significant sums of money or valuable property cannot be perpetrated unless it involves sophisticated well connected professional crooks pretending to be ignorant of the rules and procedures.
    These professional crooks tend to be intimately associated with corrupt people straddling both sides of the political class fence.

8. @Bush Tea

360 degree because if you listen to him good he was anti JAWS as DLPite then pro when he crossed and lately anti again. One is not sure.

@Caswell and Bush Tea

Have faith nuh!

9. A forensic audit of GEMS financials while RW was CEO cannot and will not happen. Why? Because when Government changes, retaliatory forensic audits will be ordered at the Transport Board, National Housing, Ministry of Health….. need I go on? I won’t expose you if you don’t expose me – gentleman’s(?) agreement.

10. Proponents of this request for an “Immediate Forensic Audit into the Operations of GEMS” have not taken some very pertinent information into consideration

There is a legal term known as “Statues of Limitations”. As applied to crime, criminal statutes of limitation is a law which forbids prosecutors from charging an individual with a criminal act that was committed more than the specified period of time or number of years, as determined by the state.

Barbados’ statute of limitation is 6 years. Therefore, if the proposed period for review extends from 2003, then under these circumstances, the statute of limitation in this matter has apparently expired.

Maybe the lawyers among us can elaborate further for our benefit.

11. A forensic audit does not have to satisfy a brief to lead to prosecution. It can address process or even to elucidate. Public awareness is key.

12. The expression “PISSING UP A ROPE” comes to mind.

13. Artaxeres

Ross, is the only lawyer that I know of on the blog who is probably qualified to answer your question, so why don’t you ask him? It shouldn’t be that difficult given the nature of the jurisprudence/ judicial-systems in the Caribbean. If the Statute of Limitation indicates that it is six years, then you’re probably correct, unless there has been an amendment to the statute. Or perhaps, you may have read and antiquated statute?

14. David | October 2, 2014 at 10:35 AM |

“A forensic audit does not have to satisfy a brief to lead to prosecution. It can address process or even to elucidate. Public awareness is key.”

Your statement is not entirely correct. Addressing processes are undertaken by auditors, and you must bear in mind that there are significant differences between an auditor and a forensic auditor.

An auditor is more concerned with determining if an organisation’s financial statements were prepared in accordance with GAAP, and they fairly represent that business’ financial position during the period under review.

Forensic audits are performed for a specific legal forum or in anticipation of presentation before a legal forum. As such, forensic auditors are trained to detect fraud, embezzlement, money laundering, etc, as well as in court proceedings and giving evidence as an expert witness, just to mention a few.

If it is peremptory, forensic auditors may be required to undertake risk management engagements within business organisations without the necessity of allegations.

15. @Artax

You may dress it up how you want, BU is calling for an investigation into GEMS for the period Wilkinson was CEO. Let us do it for the cause of transparency and answering some of the AG’s concerns. This is no time to dipsy doodle with the issue.

16. David | October 2, 2014 at 11:39 AM |

“@Artax :You may dress it up how you want, BU is calling for an investigation into GEMS for the period Wilkinson was CEO. Let us do it for the cause of transparency and answering some of the AG’s concerns. This is no time to dipsy doodle with the issue.”

I’m certainly not “dipsy doodling with this issue”. It easy for you to come on your blog to grand stand and call for a forensic audit without knowledge of the parameters involved in undertaking such an engagement. Perhaps because Wilkinson has been charged for fraud and he was associated with GEMS, this is a knee jerk reaction in an effort to kick a man now he is down. I’m sure that if this fraud issue had not occurred, we would never be debating this audit request.

Under these circumstances, I’m being as rational as possible within in the confines of your call for the audit. And I do so against the background of my qualifications and experience in the accounting and forensic accounting fields.
    Forensic audits are very expensive exercises, and in the case of GEMS, this venture will be indeed lengthy and costly. An audit of this type, includes the review of company information including financial statements, operational data, emails, and involves the questioning of employees.

After all these years, you have to take into consideration if financial statements, audited or otherwise, exist; if they do exist, are they current or partial relative to only specific financial years; can those accounting employees be found to be questioned; obviously information was processed by computers and this would involve contracting persons skilled in computer forensic to recover deleted files, are the computers used still in existence so that all data can be reviewed or retrieved? These are just a few questions.

After so much criticism by the then DLP opposition, this should have been a priority when they assumed office in 2008. But as things go in Barbados, GEMS was a statutory corporation, and members from BOTH BLP and DLP probably benefited from any largess to be had. Obviously, they will huddle and dispose of vital information in an effort to protect each other.

In simple terms, without de information, wha yuh gine audit?

Additionally, every year the Auditor General reports, which are made documents of parliament, continue to highlight government’s financial irregularities, and in the interest of transparency, nothing to date has been done by both administrations to rectify these anomalies.

So, in light of people from the Transport Board, NCC, Drainage Unit, and Beautify Barbados, after over 6 months they have not received severance payments, the pensioners have to wait 3 weeks, and we kick dust when Stuart went to Samoa at a cost of $250,000, do you think it is wise for Barbados to finance a forensic audit into the operation of GEMS.

To request a forensic audit on GEMS in 2014, in my opinion, is ridiculous and a waste of money.

What we should do going forward, is to insist on the introduction of integrity, transparency and freedom of information laws, so that these “teefing” politicians could get lock up., and prevent an occurrence of another GEMS situation.

17. The Licensing Authority was broken into last night. One wonders if this was an attempt to remove vital evidence that could be incriminating for some.

18. @Artax

The problem with your last comment is that you are not even willing to respond to the AG’s concerns about HRL. When was that debt brought to book? Forget the bagman the ossible strong link to Arthur think transparency.

19. David | October 2, 2014 at 2:04 PM |

“@Artax: The problem with your last comment is that you are not even willing to respond to the AG’s concerns about HRL. When was that debt brought to book? Forget the bagman the ossible strong link to Arthur think transparency.”

I am at a loss as to how you have correlated my response with me having an underlying concern about Wilkinson’s possible strong link to Owen Arthur.

I have not read anything relative to the AG’s comments on HRL. Perhaps you can direct me as to where this information can be found, and after reading it, I will gladly respond.

However, my thinking of transparency, is for the government to introduce transparency and freedom of information legislation, so that there can be controls over the level of corruption in Barbados.

20. @Artax

We all know you are good at researching information. Check the AG’s reports or Nation newspaper archives. If we continue to do nothing these politicians and bagman will continue to knock us for six.

21. @Colonel Buggy – Good point my friend. Looks like you’re a thinking person.
    The following quote is self-explanitory “Archbishop Desmond Tutu: “Ashamed to call this lickspitle bunch [the ANC] my government.” (Google News/Irish Times . While the above statement was made in relation to a different matter, I am sure it echoes with complete accuracy how a vast majority of Barbadians feel at this time.

22. @ David
    It does not matter how many you lock up. Once the system remains the same it will create more of the same kinds of people. Anyhow this man looks very unwell. That may have some limits on have far this sporatic investigation will go. Like Bushie says, nobody wants to lock up a whole country. LOL

23. @ Artax …on David’s call for an audit…

WHAT A ROLL!!
    shiite man, you sounded like a BLP version of ac there…

…the truth should be shouted from the rooftops. It will set us all free…..except of course those whose asses will be in Dodds.

24. kinda “licking my chops”on this one.

artrrexes i warned u about quoting ac.you scurvy mongrel.

25. @Pacha

Let us hope locking a few of the untouchables acts as a catalyst, we have to keep probing away.

26. ac | October 2, 2014 at 3:44 PM |

“kinda “licking my chops”on this one. artrrexes i warned u about quoting ac.you scurvy mongrel.”

In response to calling me a “scurvy mongrel”……. I see that you continue “throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree”

27. @ David
    Already the classes don’t see Wilkinson as a member. It easy to cut off a hand to spare the body politic from a chronic disease.

28. @Pacha

Let us hope he agrees with you and remove the tape from his mouth. He is 60, what does he have to lose?

29. Fearplay

We have had is good for far too long boss, so it is time for a little pain now. Do you remember the days when we walked with our heads held high as we looked down on your St.Lucian neighbors, as though their were beneath us? Well, St. Lucia is steadily moving ahead of Barbados and the St. lucians who once called Barbados home are now moving back home in numbers I have heard. Yes brother, we were once the luminous crystal in the heart of the Caribbean sea; the place most West Indians envy. But now we’re steadily moving to the backburner and all most accept this sad reality.

30. arterexes @ ac

In response to calling me a “scurvy mongrel”……. I see that you continue “throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    sure do ,! bro enjoy!

still licking my chops on this political ticking bomb,,,, BLP beware

31. Bush Tea | October 2, 2014 at 3:34 PM |

“@ Artax …on David’s call for an audit…: WHAT A ROLL!! shiite man, you sounded like a BLP version of ac there……the truth should be shouted from the rooftops. It will set us all free…..except of course those whose asses will be in Dodds.”

Bushie, AC called be a “scurvy mongrel” and I was quite happy with her characterization. However, it disturbs me deeply and is highly offensive of you to categorize me with the likes of AC. It harrows me with much more fear than wonder.

As an ACCA qualified accountant, I MUST adhere to a “Code of Ethics and Conduct”, which regulates members, as it relates to professional behaviour, integrity, confidentiality, objectivity, professional competence and due care. As such, I am all for transparency and have been consistent in my criticisms of this administration for not implementing ITAL, immediately on assuming government, as promised in their 2008 manifesto.

Perhaps you should reread my contribution in the context it was written and understand that my opinion is not based on party loyalty, but on my experience providing general and forensic accounting services. I have also introduced various scenarios that would make such an audit difficult at this time.

Bushie, this time, you have harrowed me with plenty more wonder than fear, when you suggested my comments are supportive of the BLP.

32. There is no way this guy could have faked the existence of vehicles on his own.

The longer this goes on with him as the sole target of the investigation the clearer it will become that he is just a fall guy.

Who weighed and licensed the vehicles?

Got to have someone from MTW in the mix.

33. artexeres

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    don;t feel bad about the misguided allegation of guiilt by association,,,ac still wears the crown and is willing to share it with you,

now listen that wilkinson guy “con artist: boy ,when he whistles the blp brigade gonna have to buy ear plugs to drown out the noise,, whistle ..whistle ,, lil man wilkinson ac is all ears..

34. It is known the car dealer mentioned has fired two car salesmen who manipulated valuation documents.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 2, 2014 at 5:24 PM |
    “now listen that wilkinson guy “con artist: boy ,when he whistles the blp brigade gonna have to buy ear plugs to drown out the noise,, whistle ..whistle ,, lil man wilkinson ac is all ears..”

So you think Rodney will be spilling his guts out to name and shame the BLP brigade of crooks? Are you forgetting OSA is no longer part of the BLP brigade. The Slogan of the three Musketeers no longer applies. The same way Quisling Boyce (another educated professional crook) sold poor beleaguered OSA down the political river, OSA would be like the bully in the playground and do the same to his gambling pal Rodney the wounded.
    Unlike Leroy, Rodney is no longer a friend to the impotent OSA and will be treated as a leper.

But there is one thing you are right about. Leroy will never be in that position to be forced to ‘grass’ on his political pals in the highest positions both erstwhile and current.
    Dead men can tell no tales. The buller’s equivalent of Ebola will have it deadly impact before Greenverbs could shout: “He-she David and He-she Fumble made me do It”

36. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

“There are those who don’t want to get their hands dirty. We in the political class…yada,yada yada”. @ David….while your call makes perfect sense, I like Caswell feel that it will never happen. These guys are all connected. Did we not all depart the Bussa Roundabout back in 2008 with a renewed sense of hope? Thievery is the tie that binds.

37. David | October 2, 2014 at 5:34 PM |
    It is known the car dealer mentioned has fired two car salesmen who manipulated valuation documents..
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps when ,and if we, dig deeper into this car scam,and the operations of car dealers in Barbados, we may discover that some of the cars sold as new in Barbados, were in fact the so-called Reconditioned Cars.
    One of my neighbours, bought a car some years ago from a popular car agency for some $36,000. Two years later, a part packed up on it, and the agency kept poo -sharking the owner with excuse after excuse , as to why the part was taking so long to arrive from Japan. Out of frustration, the owner offered to sell the car back to the agency, which also operated a Used Car Lot, and was given a valuation of $15,000,probably the true value a 7/8 year old car.

38. I believe that for transparency sake, an audit should have been taken long time ago. Having an audit at this time would not only be a knee jerk as stated by Artaxerxes, but I can see such an audit would tumble the entire apple cart on the man even if he is right or wrong. This man robbed from the rich whilst Clico boss robbed from rich, in between and the poor and is still living large. BTW, it was stated that the authorities was looking for him and everybody stated that he can not be found, yet, he was driving about Barbados, going to functions, seen with politicians with big mout drinks in a glass and still no one can find him for questioning. Don’t you feel camera men should be walking about with handcuffs? Will this Clico Saga ever see the light of the day. David, have you placed the Clico comments in the archives or a fire of unknown origin like the Sam Lord’s fire took place,

39. lawd hav merci seems like the BLP want to put a dead bolt on this one ,,but buddy don’t hold wuuna breath,, cause this whistling duck not gonna get away that easy , wunna hard fowls gonna have nuff shit to clean up, buy lots a toilet paper yuh hear, btw ask prodigal where she buys hers.i hear she is a big miami shopper and she got web feet too.

40. @millertheanunnaki October 2, 2014 at 8:06 AM “These so-called professionals allow management to break all the accounting rules especially that of full disclosure of material transactions and use those ‘cover-ups’ to charge and extract abnormally high premium fees.
    That situation certainly played out with the CLICO scam. Leaving one to wonder if another scam was carried on where the GEMS business is concerned.”

You do know that at one time Wilkie was the Financial Controller of CLICO don’t you? Wilkie may be the only person in Barbados that Green Verbs has not brought to tears.

Can you hear God laughing?

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

41. @Sunshine Sunny Shine October 2, 2014 at 8:01 AM “Wilkinson knows that he does not have a thing to worry about…Wilkinson with a smile stated he will take the fall and after he is acquitted will fly out to Miami to one of several big houses he owns and chill for about 5 years or less. Then he will return when the BLP are in power to continue his corruption under a Motley rule.”

There is the tiny little matter of the visae needed before the flight to Miami.

42. Oh shoot he may have an EU/UK passport and may not need a visa.

43. millertheanunnaki October 2, 2014 at 8:06 AM “Does anyone know who were the External Auditors for GEMS while R W was CEO?”

You do know that in his time Wilkie was an auditor for Coopers and Lybrand in London and in Barbados….one of the best, quite capable of running circles around most auditors from here or from over and away

44. Simple Simon | October 2, 2014 at 10:10 PM |
    Oh shoot he may have an EU/UK passport and may not need a visa.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    But he will need to register with ESTA. (Electronic System for Travel Authorisation)

45. Audit for all of Barbados

46. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Who will conduct these audits? Surely no auditors from within. Ain’t happening in Barbados. They would not get anywhere. Barbados is corrupt to the bone and the system is protected on all fronts. Both parties are in agreement to the protection of their ‘nest eggs’ at all cost. The people must force for an external audit from a reputable outside source to exposed Barbados pilfers. The thing is if that happens the operatives would have destroyed or manipulated all accounts. How will you win with such a network?

47. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Simple Simon

With the type of connections that exist in the Wilkinson camp, unless the US is paying close attention to this fraud case and have given specific instructions concerning this brown skin crook, Wilkinson will easily migrate to Miami with the greatest ease. I mean come on Simple Simon how you think Winston Hall got out of Barbados and lived in a neighbouring Caricom island for ump-teen years.

48. Simple Simon | October 2, 2014 at 10:15 PM |

“You do know that in his time Wilkie was an auditor for Coopers and Lybrand in London and in Barbados….one of the best, quite capable of running circles around most auditors from here or from over and away….”

While your above comment may be true for auditors, bear in mind that this post calls for a FORENSIC AUDIT, which is very different from an ordinary financial audit. In your opinion Wilkie may be “one of the best”, but with all the financial and relevant data available, a forensic audit will reveal all financial infelicities.

49. Tell me Why | October 2, 2014 at 9:46 PM |

“This man robbed from the rich whilst Clico boss robbed from rich, in between and the poor and is still living large. BTW, it was stated that the authorities was looking for him and everybody stated that he can not be found, yet, he was driving about Barbados, going to functions, seen with politicians with big mout drinks in a glass and still no one can find him for questioning.”

I agree with your comments 100%, yet you have BU’s resident yard-fowl trying to convince us that there is a difference between Wilkinson and Parris, when it has been proven that both men are dishonest and thieves. Wilkinson is a dishonest BEE and Parris is a dishonest DEM.

50. David

I looked for the article pertaining to the AG’s comments on GEMS, but, unfortunately, I have been unable to find anything at this time.