Ariel view of the Muslim Clermont Settlement

BU has withheld comment to the news that a Muslim group was given the go ahead to establish a community in the built up Clermont St. James neighbourhood.  Why has this news evoke a 7-day outcry from Barbadians? All the lots in the new Clermont community were purchased by Muslims.

It strikes the sane among us that in a country reported to be 90+ percent Black many educated Barbadians have reacted to the news with a Muslim phobia. The breaking news that 50 Trinidadians of a certain religious sect  have flown to Syria to join the terrorist organization ISIS will probably add to the hysteria by those opposed to the Muslim Clermont Settlement.

The majority if not all of the Muslims associated with the Muslim Clermont Settlement are Barbadians. Many if not all were educated in Barbados and are second generation immigrants. Some of them have dated Barbadians outside of the group although they are encouraged, and often do, return to the fold to chant marriage vows. Many Muslims have resided in the enclaves of Fontabelle and Kensington for decades  with a mosque built in 1950 in the environs to practice their religion. Could it be a case the Barbados middleclass feels threatened by a few hundred Barbadian Muslims because some of them aspire to live in a middleclass side of town, TOGETHER? It seems those opposed to the Clermont Settlement were happy to be silent when they traversed Kensington New Road and Fontabelle to attend cricket or do business in the area. We are truly a bunch of hypocrites.

The Closed Brethren have lived segregated lives in Barbados for decades although they control big business in Barbados? Will those opposed to the Muslim Clermont Settlement find voice and oppose those who live at Kent?

Full credit must be given to Abdul Pandor, Suleiman Bulbulia and others from the local Muslin community who have come to the public to explain and clarify the Clermont transaction.  Although many questions remain unanswered local Muslims have not behaved in a manner to compare with the Jamaat al Muslimeen in Trinidad to suggest Barbadians should fear local Muslims desire to live together. It is no a secret this is a group who relish their clannish ways.

They have gone about their business by attending to rituals and practices in the most unobtrusive manner. Have we have become intoxicated on a diet of US Cable news we are happy to label Muslims and other ethic and religious groups with a very broad brush?

The only concern BU has about the Clermont Settlement transaction is whether is was transparent. From arms distance it appears very convenient all of the lots were sold to Muslims. BU understands a few Muslims bought all the lots and on-sold to other Muslims. When did the lots go on sale. Did a non Muslim offer to buy any of the lots. Was there any ‘pressure’ brought to bear on the Town Planning department. When was permission requested from Town Planning and when was the deal consummated between buyer and seller.

The developers of the site have wasted no times, work has started in earnest at the site.

221 responses to “Muslims Moving to Upscale Neighbourhood, TOGETHER”

1. David

Surprisingly, myself, Robert Ross and Mr. Mistablack, who appears to be a Muslim, have had a vibrant discussion on the Barbados Free Press blog, invoving this very issue the entire week. And would you believe that the discussion increased our fears, narrowed our understanding and widen the polar divide. Now, in hindsight, the one important thing that came out of that week long discussion was the fact that we were dealing in the business of misperceptions and a historical ignorance regarding Islam and Christianity.

2. well for one .we need to get our facts straight there are over 4.000 thousands Muslims and growing in barbados, that is nothing to sneeze or dismiss u give a man an inch eventually he takes the whole plot,,,the fact that barbadians have a concerned might not only be centered around this one issue but a growing number of real concerns one of such being the financial power that this group have and the ability to use such power to acquire or influence ,

3. David wrote “The only concern BU has about the Clermont Settlement transaction is whether is was transparent.”

The concern I have is the acceptance of APARTHEID in Barbados and the continuing justification of this overt segregation because other races and religions did it .

The reality is that Bajans accept any and everything. What is good for Trinidad is good for Barbados.

4. ac……………………………but a growing number of real concerns one of such being the financial power that this group have and the ability to use such power to acquire or influence .
    David…………………………………………………………………………………………….
    It strikes the sane among us that in a country reported to be 90+ percent Black many educated Barbadians have reacted to the news with a Muslim phobia.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    This 90 +% Black has more power than these 4000 and growing Muslims will ever have.? We have spending power. And it is this spending power,that has bought the land at Clairmonte, and that same spending power that will build palatial houses , and a grand Mosque and school on it . Its that spending power that has attracted the Muslims,Digicel, Massy ,Emera, Pricesmart, etc etc and all others here like moths to a street lamp. We donate , they collect.
    If we Barbadians were to truly build our own community,instead of being a collection of constituencies and villages in Barbados, we the 90+% would not now have to be appealing ,to all and sundry for our Minority Rights.
    China Town may be coming to a village near you sometime soon.

5. AC

If some Barbadians are threatened by the fact that this misunderstood group of people could potentially utilize their Enabling-Means, to ascertain the necessary influence/power their are seeking; said little about the ulterior-motives of the selective group of Muslims, and more about the system or systems which allows them the latitude to acquire such power/influence.

6. APARTHEID….Hants u better dust off your history books and read ,,this nor any govt prior passed a law stating that any group of people should abide by state law and live according as such …..these people asked permission and under democratic rule they were given such permission,maybe these kind of actions by the muslim community maybe be an outward sign of discrimination if one wants to interrupt as such…………….. APARTHEID by whose laws SIR,

7. The only concern BU has about the Clermont Settlement transaction is whether is was transparent. From arms distance it appears very convenient all of the lots were sold to Muslims. BU understands a few Muslims bought all the lots and on-sold to other Muslims. When did the lots go on sale. Did a non Muslim offer to buy any of the lots. Was there any ‘pressure’ brought to bear on the Town Planning department. When was permission requested from Town Planning and when was the deal consummated between buyer and seller.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    What do we expect,and this may not be the case, when Massy , a foreign entity is now one of the biggest real estate agency in Barbados.
    Have we forgotten the timeS when we were booked on a BWIA flightS coming out of Port Of Spain to GA, only to find many of those reserved seats Bajans were given to Trinis in POS.

8. Colonel

correct sir,,, but easier said than done,,we all knew how the wheel is turned and not wanting to go down a racist road,,,,i would stop shorter in saying that the cycle of spending power has its limits but not equal access in how that spent is distributed or divided,

9. Who was the real estate agent for the sale of lots?

10. BU deliberately did not quote the 4,000 Wikipedia source, It is not a verifiable source of information.

How many Muslims are first and second generation?

How many are from Guyana and Trinidad?

How many are Afro converts?

11. What influence if any did Pandor exert on the TP to get the transaction approved.

12. For listening ears: our irrational fears and conspiracy theories ought to be predicated upon substantiative as well as corroborative evidence, rather than the interpretive-extrapolations which is fueled by the propaganda machine of the West.

13. Ross, knows that at one period in our history Islam ruled the world. And that it forced its religion as well as its customs upon areas Europe, Asia, North Africa and even at horn of Africa etc.

I had said to Ross on a previous discussion that the struggle between the East and the West moves far beyond the issue of Religion, and he looked at me like I was three cents short of a dime. This struggle between the East and the West is an ancient struggle for predominance.

I am not defending Islam, but I am defend the fact that our initial view of Islam is one of negativity because it has been incessantly and consistantly driven into our collective conscious by the propaganda machine of the West. Can we honestly say that we have taken the time to challenges without bias, the claims of those who have had a geopolitical interest in the Middle East?

14. Who in hey comparing ‘black people’ to Muslims? Yuh can’t compare ‘race’ to religion yuh idiot!

15. @ac
    APARTHEID by whose laws SIR,
    ………………………………………………………………………………..
    Probably by the same unwritten laws that we have co existed under for over 350 years. So much so that on the eve of scrapping Apartheid in South Africa the then SA President,Botha, on his way back to Pretoria from Washington, stopped over in Barbados, probably on the advice of the then US President Bush , to have a look at how apartheid works without being on the statute books.

16. Agrees with the article 100%.

My only concern of this whole affair is if Black Barbadians will realise you’re not going anywhere without your own.

17. David, let me make this last point before you loose what left of your equanimity. My brother-in-law ( my wife’s brother) and his wife and three kids moved to Saudi Arabia last year from the Midwest. She had gotten a teaching job in Saudi through her sorority sisters, even though their do not speak the language. But their told my wife and I that the people in Saudi have a high respect for Black people, but their regard the European with a great measure of suspicion.

18. or was it lose/ loose help

19. How many of the Afro converts will be living in this community? I do hope that the Muslim community is more generous towards its darker brothers and sisters than the Closed Brethern , exclude them form residing in their upscale Closed communities.

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

First of all do they have CLEAR TITLE TO THE LAND,?
    Next what lawyers they dealing with,the buyer and the seller
    Is that part of the CLICO lands that they took from Beatrice Henry to
    Violet Beckles , it may look so
    Mark Cumming have been known to deal on the dirty side,
    The builders may also be all Muslim , They have been looking for land ,
    I see the church members out by Roy Smith Shop also have the same or is it different?
    We all dont like living near Niggers , We see the Bajan live together and the cost and price for the areas are high so they cant afford,
    Many white live together and also Bajans,

If Bajans can afford to live in that area then they should be able to , most cant afford a new home at any price and many cant get loan from Banks for they not working or making enough,
    They will build and change their own kind much less that whites selling to blacks, Most houses in Barbados cost 3 times what it cost to build , and the Muslims will charge each other no more than 2 times what it cost to build,,
    If any one who want to live there can afford and want to then fine , If not leave them alone.
    If it make you mad then dont buy from them , dont shop at them , dont buy on credit from the little white Vans that drive all over Barbados where bajans get credit and pay 5 bds a week and gas not cheap

First to see if any laws for broken beside land Fraud,

21. SuckaBubby | September 27, 2014 at 8:15 PM |
    Agrees with the article 100%.

My only concern of this whole affair is if Black Barbadians will realise you’re not going anywhere without your own.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    Do not hold your breath sir. We as a people for the last 350 years,49 of those being Craftsmen of Our fate, have with distinction looked after the need of others. The Plantation children. The Plantation dinner table. The Plantation “bucky dog stone shiny”car. The Plantation sweet lime and mango beam fence. But ,alas, we badly neglected the equivalent things that were ours.

22. COLONEL BUGGY

President Botha stopped over in Barbados to see how apartheid without being on the statute books. Colonel Buggy, that’s a load of dog crap and you know it. There wasn’t any need for Botha to come to Barbados to see how apathied worked off the books. He could have visited any major Black ghetto in America at the time.

23. Colonel Buggy

So in retrospect, you’re saying that Barbados should have resorted to communism just after independence, in an effort to regained the means of Production and Distribution which was in the hands of the White minority at the time?

24. Open your eyes Barbados, haven’t you seen the number of young Muslim men who have recently started walking around in black, the colour of ISIS.

This apartheid settlement is a sell out so that the DEMS can get funding for the next election campaign.

25. @PLANTATIONS DEEDS
    We all dont like living near Niggers ,
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    And that message was driven home forcibly by the Closed Brethren ,when the Barbados National Housing decided to build homes in Country Road, next door to the Closed Brethren main church. They vacated that church a la Usain Bolt..
    And guess what? Black Bajans, via their church ,bought that property for millions.
    Looks like we are our worst enemy .

26. @DOMPEY There wasn’t any need for Botha to come to Barbados to see how apathied worked off the books. He could have visited any major Black ghetto in America at the time.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps like the many American tourists who came to Barbados around the time, he felt safer in Barbados. The word Mugging had not yet entered our vocabulary.

27. Colonel

Castro in Cuba, Robert Mugabe in Zimbabwe and Idi Amin in Uganda, nationalized the means of production and distribution and in the process they rid those countries of the white problem.

28. Dompey | September 27, 2014 at 8:41 PM |
    Colonel Buggy

So in retrospect, you’re saying that Barbados should have resorted to communism just after independence, in an effort to regained the means of Production and Distribution which was in the hands of the White minority at the time?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    Not Communism but Communityism.

29. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Colonel Buggy | September 27, 2014 at 8:47 PM | @
    It all fraud and pay off, Caswell maybe right,
    They gave a lot of money to have their way as the white do and does, this is all about money for ever thing is for sale that the DLP or BLP never own by any law, Law of Fraud Rules Barbados , we learn from TnT or TnT learn from us,
    So many investors in the Fraud that the water is so muddy,
    As i was told Yesterday , that Barbados pay the less land tax ,
    I told the person I agree for no one need pay taxes on what they dont own
    ,The deeds are bad and no court can make you pay taxes nor bank note if fraud, is found , We must now look for the true Owner of the land and pay rent , the rent now will be taxed by 17.5% VAT, That vat now will pay all the government worker and the bills along with other non Bajan investors,
    As it stand now they have to put more vat and taxes to cover up for what they are not taking in ,
    No one will made you pay tax nor vat, no lawyer not knowing the truth take you to court , Ask the DPP for a true clear title ,
    World Bank and CB , Moodys and S&P know this,
    So the long distraction to next election, divide and and tax you to death as you lie about the land your on,Rent is cheaper than taxes or vat ,
    More pain to come as the DLP support by BLP given you all the shaft,
    Know the truth , to hell with long talking lies

30. It is sad state of affairs when you have a White minority living high on the Hog and the Black majority struggling to make ends meet.

31. Plantation Deeds

We must resolve ourselves to the fact that the Black majority government through every period in our country’s history, appears to have met an Inventive-Gap. google the term!

32. Dompey | September 27, 2014 at 9:06 PM |
    It is sad state of affairs when you have a White minority living high on the Hog and the Black majority struggling to make ends meet.
    ………………………………………………………………….
    Be also aware that this “white” minority who live high on the hog, includes some Blacks,who could not give a toss about those who are struggling.

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Addressing Speculations

Item 1. A discrete call to someone at the Land Registry will ascertain if all of the lots are in fact subscribed to and if the information that was shared during the public disinformation exercises was/is correct or the pre-emptive strategies of a fundamentalist faction being established outside of the prying eyes of Bajans

Item 2. The legitimate concerns of a small nation with 800 policemen and a Defense Force going to fat, a world besieged by extremist islamic organisations would suggest that an equally pre-emptive Police Force, CID and Office of Security could employ the Israeli listening equipment AND the I2 platform of the Royal Barbados Police Force to single out those persons of interest and, by pre-emptively wiretapping others (you can hire Mia to advise on that) ascertain definitively if there is a threat associated with this communal association a la Jim Jones/Ab Bakr formation.

Item 3. A simple call to our local US Embassy *** would confirm if there was actionable intelligence and if the ** flags merit monitoring or worse an interdiction. The issues of the ** and the ** are of interest to the US government and would consequently elicit an immediate response.

Item 4. Cleanskins always present a threat to first world Intelligence agencies because, without these persons even “being on scope”, they can, in moments, wreak such havoc on a system that even the most respected of Intelligence agencies fear this aspect of terrorism.

They recognize that it is simply impossible to predict/profile these parties. Add the plastic bag with baygon interrogation methodologies of our respectable Royal Barbados Police Force to the mix and you can see why the Wikileaks reports composed at the US Embassy did not ascribe any praises to our vaunted “intelligence” community, previously directed by Smiley Teets Dale Marshall, now led by Adriel, Nitwit, Halfwit Brafwit, bless his soul.

As Brother Hants would say Brassholes both.

A request for assistance from the GOB in this regard of this faction which is noticeably increasing and whose activities at their mosques and at the airports and seaports merit “oversight” to the government of the USA and the UK WILL BE supported because of ** and **. The activities are already being effected anyways but, once they are officially included, much more can be achieved.

Of course you need to be aware that two arenas of operation will exist because, in addition to the fact that the USA does not respect the compentencies of the local gendarmerie, they also know that a few well placed Bajan police are corrupt and will sell out for a few thousand $$. That combination does not make for parity in intelligence sharing.

Item 5. The overt action of not wanting to “intermingle” with we niggers is not something that one can confine to these Muslims. There are housing communities in Bulbados today where only people who are white live even to the exclusion of Bajan Whites. I did not say Royal Westmoreland where the nigger are only the hired help and must be bussed in to the property and cannot be seen walking on the streets in the complex.

Colonel Buggy, “Lamborghinis should not perform in a donkey cart race” Each of your sequential statements have raised the inquisition bar far beyond the mental competencies of the “usual suspects”. Whereas you spoke to process and transparency they spoke of …well I know not what nor can i entertain the tangent.

You are a lawyer by profession I believe, one who has trained overseas, probably in the UK since there is no bravado as is accustomed by US counterparts in your delivery and you present your points like trial notes

34. @Dompey

I am not defending Islam, but I am defend the fact that our initial view of Islam is one of negativity because it has been incessantly and consistantly driven into our collective conscious by the propaganda machine of the West. Can we honestly say that we have taken the time to challenges without bias, the claims of those who have had a geopolitical interest in the Middle East?

++++

You’ve got that right.

We here in the West hardly recognize the propaganda we are fed every single day…It’s not only the guy way way way over there telling lies and shoveling the shit.

35. Caribcanadian

You should not allow the propaganda of the west to influence your opinion, but neither should you allow the propaganda of the so called moderate Islam. You should read the Koran for yourself and then form your opinion. I have!

36. @Caswell Franklyn

I agree with you about being informed on all sides.

Many people just buy everything put out as news hook, line and sinker without using critical thinking skills to assess what they are being fed. Propaganda comes from all sides.

I am not going to brush all people of whatever grouping as being of one mindset. I know that is so far from the truth by my own experience and observation.

37. […] David BU has withheld comment to the news that a Muslim group was given the go ahead to establish a […]

38. Before we lose sight of the real issue, the local Muslim population has been with us from 80 plus years ago. We went to school, play cricket, send our children to school because they peddled their wares for $1 per week with many of them. So far the experience has been good coexisting with minority groups although to be fair, the Whites have been fairly clannish as well.

BU asked a few questions above which so far nobody has addressed. When the bell rings, we the Blacks have the political power to shape the society we want but do we have the stomach to do it.

39. “The only concern BU has about the Clermont Settlement transaction is whether is was transparent. From arms distance it appears very convenient all of the lots were sold to Muslims. BU understands a few Muslims bought all the lots and on-sold to other Muslims. When did the lots go on sale. Did a non Muslim offer to buy any of the lots. Was there any ‘pressure’ brought to bear on the Town Planning department. When was permission requested from Town Planning and when was the deal consummated between buyer and seller.”

Husbands Plantation was acquired by the Government of Barbados in 1964, many years ago. I believe Clermont and Lodge Hill plantations went the same time.

It seems logical to assume the vendor of the land was the Government of Barbados although I very much doubt it!!

Given what happens in Barbados, you might find some of the transactions with the land before ending up in the current landowners hand to be particularly opaque and really interesting to investigate!!

If my understanding of the location of the land is correct there will be issues with the watercourse flowing from the mouth of the deep gully behind Redman’s Village, under Highway IIA, between Prior Park and Welches Plantation yards and under the hill on which the millwall at Husbands stands.

You may remember that large tracts of land in that area remained undeveloped for a while I believe because of the ponds and depressions in the area.

Depressions and ponds usually equate to caves and voids in the coral.

My understanding is that at Apes Hill some really expensive subsurface works are required before a house can be built.

Let us indeed hope everything was done transparently and all the necessary studies were done.

40. “But their told my wife and I that the people in Saudi have a high respect for Black people, but their regard the European with a great measure of suspicion.”

SO

41. STOP A SECOND FOLKS
    I have intimate knowledge about this project. The entire development with the prayer hall went through the full scrutiny of the Town planning department with many stumbling blocks to be dealt with. The primary purpose was to get a Prayer facility which was neigh impossible in the highly developed area. A new development was the only way it could have been done.

Immediately upon hearing that the prayer facility was approved as part of the development, Muslims (Asian and blacks) rushed to subscribe to purchase the lots and the majority were sold within days. It was never developed as a Muslim only development. As Muslims are required to pray five times a day and as we have seen happened in the city, living near a mosque is great convenience.

Now here is the twist. Many non-muslims made queries about the development but once they learned that a Mosque was part of the development, they immediately withdrew their interest. Some went on to purchase lots in the new development immediately south of the site and purchased at $5 per square foot more than the cost of the lots in question. Now tell me who is racist and who isn’t?

42. What about the fact that Queen’s College is 50 metres away and as a result the children would be in the zone when it comes to common entrance. I heard that was part of the consideration for citing the development at that point.

43. @ Bajan Heart
    It is amazing how logic or the appearance of it could be used to suppress thinking. We have another story. This is it. Only during the slave period was the sugar cane industry in Barbados profitable. In this thought experiment and given your ‘logical approach’ if we want want profitability to return certain actions should then be taken. No?

Seriously, it escapes logic to present these events in such an axiomatic fashion. Any petty bureacrat could engineer the series of events you so adambrated to achieve stated results. But are these the right things to be done? Would they really serve a wider social good? Are these shananigans in the longer term interests of Muslims themselves? Is the social history of Barbados not to be a guide for what we call development?

These series of events were constructed to achieve a stated objective. An objectives anathema to what most Bajans believe to be right. You have well presented a logical fallacy!

44. @BALANCE
    I will try my best to give voice to the word “SO”
    which you have addressed to me.

So one would have had to have a brain with a wide open- door with no one standing guard, not to have known that the race of Black isn’t too often viewed in such a positive light.

45. It would be refreshing if some of you try to examine this issue in its true light and leave the race BS at the door.

46. St George's Dragon Avatar

Total Muslim population: 1,605.
    Source: Barbados Statistical Service 2010 Population and Housing Census

47. David | September 28, 2014 at 7:28 AM |

It would be refreshing if some of you try to examine this issue in its true light and leave the race BS at the door.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. and what should that “light ‘ be,,,as interesting and provocative the article appears to be ..all issues pertaining( to) should be address,,,not so.
    again bajans see more in the mortar than the pestal,,,,pachaman comment shines “light” in that direction,,even some might prefer such to be sweep under the rug,,, now as you would say “deal with it”

48. @ David
    Your last comment is apocryphal. Why is anyone to discuss anything absent ‘race’ or any other salient factor. This tells us a few things. Firstly, that you seek to encourage certain elements and garner ‘wider’ acceptability. Secondly, that issues of race are still taboo in social class settings in Bim. Thirdly, that you are, like most, convinced that ignoring the premise on which your fair land was built would make it go away. On all these points and more you have been wrong, are wrong and will continue to be wrong – until the ‘shite’ hits the fan. None of the issues germaine to any subject should be wilfully avoided unless you are promoting brassbowlery.

49. Lotta shiite!!!
    Any sensible plan for the development of a society MUST be based on building a convergent mindset among the members of such society.
    Only a RASS would create a farm with lions, rabbits, sheep and elephants all together…..a RASS or a brass bowl idiot.

As Bushie has said before…..EVERYONE who would like to become a Bajan should be given the opportunity to come here and to do so…once they meet the basic requirements, HOWEVER the single most basic requirement HAS TO BE that they want to BECOME A BAJAN.

All those $&@?6;4s who really want to come to Barbados and bring THEIR ways of doing things – to be like lions moving into a sheep farm – should be seen as exactly what they are…..invaders who are THREATS to the Bajan way of life….. Trojan horses so to speak.

The fact that some have extended this process over generations only reinforces Bushie’s point…. WHAT THE HELL!!!! Muslims come here 60 years ago, …and for 60 years have REJECTED our way of life – and only sought to inflict THEIRS on us….???!!
    What does that tell us?

Such people should be asked to pack and head for Ryad or Qatar, not Husbands.

….but then again, the whole point about being brass bowls is that SOMEBODY has to be the victims of this world…..