Barbados needs to protect local food production

BU commenter Colonel Buggy responded to the question on the blog Tourism Sector a Cadre of Beggars – what is the answer for food security and the reduction of the food import bill in Barbados …?

First of all we have to instil in our people the need to eat what we grow, and not to hanker for the fast foods, whose raw materials are mostly imported. Or, as the Dipper would have said, we have to take back the hearts and minds of our people from the Confederate Colonel of the South.

Free up some of the hundreds of acres of former productive lands, now in bush, to persons interested in farming.

Allow farmers, who so wish to live on the land, even if they are restricted to chattel homes only, as this is one measure that will minimise the incidents of praedial larceny. And all farmers living on and working their lands should be exempt the impost of this increase in land tax,which came in the guise of a solid waste tax.

Many countries give meaningful concessions to farmers, i.e. duty free equipment. In Barbados, concessions are so petty and bureaucratic that many farmers prefer not to bother with them. During the last war, and subsequently in National Service, in the UK, many farmers and farm workers were exempt military service, as farming was seen as an essential National Service of its own.And this is still true today.

Either the Ministry of Agriculture, or a Farmers Cooperative should be encouraged to act as their own import agency, for all of their needs, from tractors to plant seeds, thus by- passing the exorbitant prices levelled on them by the greedy merchants in Barbados.

Get the Agricultural Extension Officers out of their comfortable air-condition offices, and out into the field, like their predecessors who were frequently visiting and advising farmers, and to the extent of recommending what crops individual farmers should concentrate on to prevent a glut and wastage.

Down in Farmers St Andrew C.O Williams has diverted some six springs, to a central dam providing water to his Apes Hill and other golf courses. Water costs to the farmer is very high,and the Ministry of Agriculture should be looking at harnessing the run off rain water, like the billions of gallons which ran into the Atlantic Ocean last Friday morning, as well as from the many springs found in St Joseph, St Thomas and the St John area, which the marijuana farmers are making very good use of.

Supermarkets, hotels, restaurants and big food retailers should be encouraged, especially if they are given some government concessions, not to exclude the small/medium farmer in preference for the bigger guys, who most of the times, have connections.

As is evident, many Barbadians have shied away from farming because of the unwarranted stigma attached to it. Some years ago, many of the places in the agricultural food belt, like in St George, Gibbons Boggs, farms in the St John and St Joseph areas, had a high number of non-nationals engaged in the farming of those lands.Vegetables and other produce were in abundance. Today, Gibbons Boggs is virtually closed down, and those food producing farms are mostly manned by a reduce work force of non-nationals. Perhaps, we should consider bringing in non-nationals, under contract, to work our lands, the same way that we send our people to Canada and the United States.

But isn’t it a “growing” shame that every Tom Dick and Harriett are jumping on the band wagon calling for the legalising and production of Marijuana in Barbados, as it will bring millions of dollars into the country, but are otherwise blind to the fact that if we start to eat most of what we grow, that it will stop even more millions of dollars from leaving these shores.

If we continue to sit back and do nothing, our food will be secured indeed, but it will come at an even higher price, when the thousands of acres of farmland leased by the Simpson Motors Empire in Guyana begin to bear fruit.

88 responses to “Support Local Agriculture, Eat Food Produced Locally”

1. @ David
    …noted Walters brass bowlery today ….LOL
    He may owe BU some royalties….
    …unless of course….he is Bushie … 🙂

2. @Exclaimer
    I am well aware of the land distribution in Barbados . We in Barbados are wedged between the proverbial rock and a hard place, and personally I do not believe that taking land from COW et al will improve the status of our agriculture . Over the years government has taken over many many plantations, only to have them run to bush in a few years. Bath Plantation, just outside the entrance to Bath Beach is one of those bushy plantations, the farm yard of which is now used as a material depot for the Ministry of Transport, the same applies to Haggatts Plantation. And there is another bigger problem. When I first came back to Barbados from the UK/Europe, on my way to the beach I passed a field of harvested rotting canes lying in a field at Springfield Plantation in St Joseph, which at the time was,and probably still is , owned by Alleynes of the Shamrock fame. I enquired from a person in the vicinity if the plantation trucks had all broken down. His reply was, ” Not at all. The same people who have worked for the white man all these years at this plantation, suddenly do not want to work for the new black owners.”
    Yes COW has a large swath of Barbados’ land and is on record as saying that all of Barbados’ agricultural needs, could be produced in greenhouses. Manufactured and supplied by C.O.Williams Construction of course. What COW is saying is that the rest of the land could be put to use as golf courses and residential estates. And for this he has the blessing of the Barbados Government and the Town and Country Planning Department.
    It is only a matter of time before we see upscale houses being built at Strong Hope in St Thomas. Here was one of those Green House projects growing lots of vegetables and food.Then suddenly it has been close down, a precursor to a change in land use policy.
    Almost like the Society Primary School which has been abruptly closed by the Minister of Education, a precursor to the nearby exclusive Codrington High School, purchasing it in a few years time at scrap value, and carrying out their all- like- now -so planned extension.
    As one of the so called Radicals said at a meeting the other night at the University of Independence Square, Bajans are complaining about Gated Communities, Muslim Communities, White Communities, when are we Bajans , 97% of the population in Barbados, going to form our own community.

3. @ Colonel Buggy
    What are you talking about?
    Don’t you watch QTV? …..that is the 97% Bajan community….
    …that and Kadooment.

…some beer, dominoes, music and donkey hair …and Bajans are as happy and contented as brass bowls…..

4. There are new groups and projects coming on stream with young people in agriculture. The Ministry of Agriculture has been stagnant for the past 30 years. Pioneers like Edwin Cumberbatch, Percy and DeCourcey Jeffers have left a legacy but since then nothing has been done to improve the diversification of agriculture. Those who are in charge of the Ministry do not have the passion for Agriculture. The younger ones do but are stifled.

Haggats Agricultural station is in a mess and probably the rest of them too. No new fruit varieties have been introduced for the past 25-30 years. No mangoes trees have been available to purchase for the past 4 years. The inertia that has taken over this ministry is alarming. The new tissue culture lab may fall by the wayside if they are not careful. I understand they will be concentrating on ornamental plants to supply nurseries that import a few plants seasonally. That is not going to be viable venture. There are too many small growers that supply farmers with seedlings and many backyard nurseries with ornamentals.

Right now in Indonesia in the lowlands farmers are growing english apples next to bananas. This is taking place in Kenya and some African countries. The pacific islands have been experimented growing apples and other temperate fruits in tropical climates with some degree of success. http://www.civilsocietyonline.com/pages/Details.aspx?333

There are the artocarpus family of fruits, all in the breadfruit family. Jackfruit is the largest fruit in the world–it weighs up to 100 pounds. This fruit is popular in the Caribbean, Central America and Asia. The wood is an excellent wood for making houses and boats. Another is the marang artocarpus odoratissimus http://toptropicals.com/html/toptropicals/plant_wk/artocarpus_odoratissimus.htm These fruits can grow here, a few people are growing Jack fruit but it has not been introduced to the general population. The jackfruit can be be cooked while green and used as a vegetable and eaten as a fruit when ripe. The fruit size alone can feed families. I can go on and on. All we hear is talk and more talk with nothing of substance coming out of it. We need action and less talk, talk is cheap.

5. @Bushie some beer, dominoes, music and donkey hair …and Bajans are as happy and contented as brass bowls…..
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Thats the ladies taken care of , how about the guys?

6. @Island Girl
    Edwin Cumberbatch, Percy and DeCourcey Jeffers have left a legacy but since then nothing has been done to improve the diversification of agriculture. Those who are in charge of the Ministry do not have the passion for Agriculture. The younger ones do but are stifled.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    Is this the same Edwin or Edward Cumberbatch who was the head and leading expert at Soil Conservation? Over the years his knowledge of the Scotland district and its peculiarities seemed to have been ignored by successive governments.Not only is Haggatts Agricultural Station in bad shape, but the crucial soil conservation project seemed to have been abandoned, in spite of the fact that earth moving equipment worth millions of tax dollars , are lying idle rusting away down there.

7. @Bushie
    …unless of course….he is Bushie …
    Who owns that copyright? It has been in use for several years but you seem to delight in using it ad nauseam. One of its origins is a letter to the Advocate from a tourist who wrote he enjoyed coming to the island with his mother and while touring Oistins he heard the fishermen talking in local dialect and he kept hearing the word “Brassbowls”. He wanted the Editor to explain what “Brassbowls” were.

I don’t know if the Advocate keeps those type of records but that letter is a classic.

8. Colonel Buggy it is the same Eddy Cumberbatch.

9. Barbados used to have a well managed Ministry of Agriculture.

They had Stations at Jerusalem in St.Peter ,Sayes court, Haggatts if memory serves me.
    Some of the knowledgeable employees became farmers.

Unfortunately they sent their children to become doctors, lawyers and priests.
    A generation of potential farmers have been “guided” out of Agriculture.

10. HANTS

YOU DO KNOW THAT SOME LAWYERS AND DOCTORS IN BARBADOS FARM

11. Attn:Colonel Buggy | September 23, 2014 at 9:03 PM |

The late Albert Alleyne of Springfield Pltn is no relation to the late Lloyd Alleyne of Shamrock fame.

We in St,Andrew/St.Joseph all stopped the production of sugar cane in the early ’80’s primarily due to the fact that we could not mechanise (undulation of the land) and labour was scarce and very expensive.
    Note that the majority of plantations in the island at that time were heavily in debt to the Ag. division of the BNB,which was how Albert and I were able to take over the Plantations.

The majority of my workers were women and the average age was 71.

Misinformation should never be allowed to gain currency.

12. Re
    Misinformation should never be allowed to gain currency.

MOST FOLK WHO POST ON BU DO NOT STRIVE FOR ACCURACY SIR.

ANY SHITE GOES.
    ITS CALLED RUM SHOP BANTER AND CHALLENGING.
    WE EVEN HAVE OBVIOUS MORONS SEEKING TO CHALLENGE INDISPUTABLE FACTS.
    ITS HILARIOUS!

13. Thanks Vincent, did the discontinuation of LOMEACP preferential arrangement have any thing to do with the change?

14. Meanwhile we are waiting to see how UWI is going to manage this gift horse at Dukes, St Thomas,and who will be be doing the actual physical work.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/15343352532/

15. @ Hants
    Not forgetting Groves Agricultural Station in St George, which was at one time the leading Sugar Cane Breeding Station in the world,after the watchman at the St Thomas discovered that cane could be grown from seeds.
    Groves is still very much into cane production, and is one of the few plantation that still reap canes manually.

16. IN THE EARLY 8O’S, IF I REMEMBER CORRECTLY, SOME MORONS IN GOVERNMENT DECIDED TO CLOSE DOWN HAGGATS FACTORY, NOT REALISING THAT THERE WERE VERY FEW OLD TRUCKS THAT COULD BRING A LOAD OF CANES UPHILL TO ANDREWS OR PORTVALE

EVEN THE FOLK WITH SMALL HOLDINGS STOPPED GROWING CANES, AND AS THEY AGED WENT OUT OF EVEN THE SMALL SUBISTANCE FARMING THAT THEY HAD DONE TO SURVIVE THROUGHOUT THE YEAR

MAYBE, THE GOVERNMENT OF THAT DAY WAS FILLED WITH MEMBERS OF SHORT STATURE…JUST MAYBE

17. Sargeant | September 23, 2014 at 10:54 PM |
    @Bushie
    …unless of course….he is Bushie …
    Who owns that copyright? It has been in use for
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    “Brass Bowls”, more that likely originated from a children’s game / prank of ages ago when one child would challenge another to insert a finger of each hand into both corners of the mouth ,stretch it like a rubber band and shout “THE KING’S BRASS BOWL!”, which comes out with the B’s silent, and a good lashing ,if within earshot of an adult.

18. @ Vincent Haynes.
    But why in 1979 would 70 year old people cut canes and then leave them on the ground to rot.

19. @Colonel Buggy

There is a plan to develop establish a chocolate facility to train West Indians and manufacture chocolate.

20. Colonel Buggy | September 24, 2014 at 2:42 PM |

“Brass Bowls”, more that likely originated from a children’s game / prank of ages ago when one child would challenge another to insert a finger of each hand into both corners of the mouth ,stretch it like a rubber band and shout “THE KING’S BRASS BOWL!”, which comes out with the B’s silent, and a good lashing ,if within earshot of an adult.

ONE REMEMBER SUCH DAYS WITH GREAT PLEASURE
    ONE WONDERS HOW THE FOLLOWING WILL BE DONE
    There is a plan to develop establish a chocolate facility to train and manufacture West Indians.

21. Colonel Buggy

Crop season in St.Andrew/St.Joseph was all about land slides,heavy rain causing smooth clay roads,washed out bridges,old equipment,with Haggats closed having to pull hills and the petrol station,lack of money…..too name a few.

I recall that in my last crop ’80/81,Haymans closed with two fields totalling about 13 acres remaining in the field and left to rot.

The 70 year ones were mine and some came over from Albert.

Albert’s situation had nothing to do with melanin content

No.

22. @GEORGIE PORGIE
    ONE REMEMBER SUCH DAYS WITH GREAT PLEASURE
    ONE WONDERS HOW THE FOLLOWING WILL BE DONE
    There is a plan to develop establish a chocolate facility to train and manufacture West Indians.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    We are half way there.This should please Ronald Jones.!!!!!!

23. Vincent Haynes
    What ever happened to the plans to use Springfield sand to make glass, I remember the Dipper , no less, singing the praises of Springfield sand.

24. how will we “manufacture West Indians?”.

25. GEORGIE PORGIE | September 24, 2014 at 2:34 PM |
    IN THE EARLY 8O’S, IF I REMEMBER CORRECTLY, SOME MORONS IN GOVERNMENT DECIDED TO CLOSE DOWN HAGGATS FACTORY, NOT REALISING THAT THERE WERE VERY FEW OLD TRUCKS THAT COULD BRING A LOAD OF CANES UPHILL TO ANDREWS OR PORTVALE
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Way back in the early 60″s plans were made to close down Haggatts,and calls were being made to Mr Barrow who was Premier then, to take it over, which led to his “not buying old iron ” speech, but he later relented.
    The other factories Brucevale and Jose River served the farmers in the Scotland district well. Closing down Haggatts was the last straw.
    One day I stood atop the peak at Chalky Mount and I could not detect a single hole of cane in the wide valley below. And on the other side of the hill at Bissex, looking towards Horse Hill, Mellows ,Castle Grant, there is a never ending rain forests, where canes once used to grow.

26. Colonel Buggy | September 24, 2014 at 5:39 PM |
    I grew up in town, and only got to spend time in the Scotland District after 1979. However, I can feel the pain you must feel to make the statement above. People like you who grew up in that area must be saddened by the current situation.

During the short time I lived and worshiped in that general area in the eighties the situation you describe was well on the way.

27. Colonel Buggy | September 24, 2014 at 5:27 PM |

Vincent Haynes
    What ever happened to the plans to use Springfield sand to make glass, I remember the Dipper , no less, singing the praises of Springfield sand.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Should I cry or should I laugh?????

As a person in my mid 20’s in the late 70’s,who had given up job and house to become a farmer,bearing in mind that we knew we would not stay in cane,but assist in making the area the bread basket of Bim,as well as starting a number of industries using our natural resources of clay,mica and sand.Tourism would also have played a part.

Sad to say myopia and politics doomed our intent.

Those who do not history know are doomed to repeat it….good night.

28. Andrews sugar factory was unceremoniously closed down 1 to 2 years ago. There was not much of a fuss. The closing down of another establishment, the T&T owned Carnival and Wuk up suppliers, Samaroos, as reported in todays Nation, is not going to go down as quietly as the Andrews matter. Ten to one we will hear and see a certain minister putting alternative measures in place.
    Price and Industry, at its best.

29. Sorry that should have read “Pride and Industry”

30. @Colonel Buggy Samaroos is a buy and sell operation.

There was a time when Bajan Merchants would take over or replace the business.

I am sure this business opportunity will be snapped up.

31. @Hants.
    And why not by one of those Swan Street vendors and store owners who are complaining in todays Nation about the delay in Uncle Sam renewing their visas,preventing them from traveling to the states to purchase stock. And we definitely need no visa to travel to Port of Spain.

32. Biotechnology and the Agrarian Crisis: Streams of Profit, GMO and Rivers of Poison
    By Colin Todhunter

Handing over agriculture to Big Agritech concerns is akin to letting the foxes guard the hen house. What do they care if they wreck the environment or human health with their chemical inputs? The more chemicals applied to crops, the better. It’s good for business. The bottom line is increased product sales.

SNIP

With each new ‘fix’, with each technology, with each new pesticide, herbicide, GM innovation, we become further removed from with nature as powerful corporate entities attempt to dominate it with some or other biotechnology that further damages both ourselves and the environment. But, it’s all good business. And once peasant economies are destroyed and remaining farmers are forced onto the treadmill of chemical inputs and GMOs, it can be difficult to get off. There’s always money to be made from a continuous state of crisis management (aka ‘innovation’ and bombarding farmers with a never-ending stream of new technologies).

Ramon J Seidler is a former Senior Scientist at the Environmental Protection Agency Office of Research and Development. In a recent article, he writes that chemical companies that historically have produced DDT, PCBs, bovine growth hormone, Agent Orange, glyphosate products and, more recently, neonicotinoids have inserted themselves squarely into the seed crop production component of the world’s food supplies.
    He argues:

“These corporations have a clear conflict of interest when it comes to reducing the numbers and concentrations of chemicals on crops, because any such reduction has an immediate impact on their financial bottom line. There is also a clear conflict of interest when it comes to altering farm management to avoid insect and weed resistance if it results in using fewer chemicals. As University of Nebraska entomologist Lance Meinke says, “economics are driving everything.” [3]

Over 99% of GMO acreage in the US is engineered by chemical companies to tolerate heavy herbicide (glyphosate) use and/or produce insecticide (Bt) in every cell of every plant over the entire growing season. The result has been rapidly created pest resistance – the opposite of integrated pest management where judicious use of chemical controls is applied only as necessary. There are now huge swaths of land infested with “superweeds” and “superbugs” resistant to glyphosate and Bt, meaning more volume of more toxic pesticides are being applied.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/biotechnology-and-the-agrarian-crisis-streams-of-profit-gmo-and-rivers-of-poison/5404013

33. Former US prosecutor Bill Black interviewed here by the Real News Network is not impressed with Holder’s position on going after whistle blowers while fraudulent activity by corrupt banksters and white collar elites was overlooked. He says Holder’s legacy on “Too Big to Fail” is “Too Big to Jail”.

34. Sorry, posted above video discussing Eric Holder’s tenure as US Attorney General in the wrong thread.

This is what I was intending to post here:

Here is a heads up for local farmers and kitchen gardeners. While we generally look up to the regulatory agencies in the “big countries” like the USA or EU members as being “on the ball” and doing a good job of looking out for and protecting the interests and well being of all citizens and the overall environment, evidence accumulates that those agencies concerned with regulating the safety of food, pharmaceuticals, agro-chemicals etc. (in the US: EPA, FDA, USDA) are often prioritizing looking after and protecting the interests and profits of big business over the interest of everyday consumers. The following should help underline the need to learn from organic farmers and our new, fledgling permaculture institute how to get off the agro-chemical treadmill in food production as much as humanly possible.

EPA knew pesticides were killing honeybees in the 1970s but punished those who spoke out

snip

According to a scholarly 2014 study [PDF] compiled by researcher Rosemary Mason, “on behalf of a global network of independent scientists, beekeepers and environmentalists,” and published on the website of MIT, “We have found historical and chronological evidence to show that the herbicide glyphosate (or other herbicides that are used as alternatives) is responsible for the transformation of garden escapes into super-weeds (in the UK these are termed ‘invasive species’).”

Further, Mason and her team noted that glyphosate — the primary substance found in Monsanto’s Roundup herbicide — was introduced in Europe in 1974 “and became a global best-selling herbicide because the public was told by industry and the regulators that it was ‘safe.’”

The results have been disastrous. For one, the heavy use of glyphosate has led to the rise of so-called “superweeds” that are resistant to the herbicide. But there is another compound that was approved by the EPA — over the objections of scientists — that has had a devastating effect on the nation’s honeybee population: clothianidin, which is used for seed treatment on corn and canola, by Bayer.

‘Honeybees are going extinct’

According to this EPA document describing clothianidin [PDF], it “is highly toxic to honey bees on an acute contact basis,” and “has the potential for toxic chronic exposure to honey bees, as well as other nontarget pollinators, through the translocation of clothianidin residues in nectar and pollen.”

http://www.naturalnews.com/047026_neonicotinoid_pesticides_honeybees_EPA.html

35. @ Colonel Buggy,
    I was intrigued with the article below published by the normally lame Nation newspaper.

I would advice you to read it.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63604/bhm-wha-happen-guinea-corn/page/3

36. Has anybody seen this article in today’s Nation?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84730/region-bad-eating-habits-worrying