Submitted by Anthony Davis
Enrollment at UWI, Cave Hill affected by government's policy to exact tuition cost from students.
Enrollment at UWI, Cave Hill affected by government’s policy to exact tuition cost from students.

“Not a single one!

That was the reaction of a senior official at the Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies in response to SUNDAY SUN questions whether any students had turned up with proof of having received one of the thousands of bursaries promised by Government eight weeks ago.

On July 12, while speaking at an official ground-breaking ceremony at the campus, Minister of Education, Ronald Jones, disclosed: “Young people have been saying you need to do more to help us over the threshold now that we’ve made the adjustment in tuition fees and we are committed to that. In the first few years, we will do some 3000 bursaries to help those with challenges and this has already been agreed to.

“We can say with the greatest of accuracy that not one person who has registered has brought any document or payment showing they have received a bursary from the Ministry of Education, and as far as I am aware the university has received no correspondence from the ministry indicating that any bursaries have been awarded,” the official said on condition that he not be identified.

“On August 29 Minister Jones revealed that 1695 people had applied for bursaries to cover tuition fees and officials of his ministry were processing them, after which he would take the matter to Cabinet for “sign off”. Well placed sources in the ministry told the SUNDAY SUN they were unaware of any paper being taken to Cabinet on Thursday, the last time  Cabinet sat. Repeated attempts to reach Jones for a comment were unsuccessful.”

Well, well, well!

The Government of promises and plans have struck at the heart of the poor, the needy, and the vulnerable once again. This Government which always seems to have such lofty plans and make such promises which they cannot put into action is only demolishing everything that others have put in place to help those mentioned. Now they cannot even keep their promise to help them with bursaries!

Mr. Blackett said that it is a “people-centred government” and I still want to know what he means by that!. Which people do you mean, Mr. Blackett? The Butch Stewarts of this world and their ilk? You certainly do NOT mean the lower echelons of our society, because you and the rest of this government have done nothing but pull rug after rug from under their feet.

RPB needs to change the words to his song “Cahn find me brother” to “Cahn find me Minister”. Ministers in this government seem to go AWOL quite often. Only recently the Minister of Agriculture couldn’t be found either. I wonder with whom this one is hanging out.

Is the minister sure that he didn’t place his paper work in his cabinet at home? Maybe this all came about because he said he wanted to do the bursaries. You don’t “do” bursaries. You award them or give them. That’s probably why he doesn’t know what he has done with them.

You have millions of dollars to pump into a hotel which is always about to start building again, but “No Seasons” seems to be too far gone, or nearly $250,000 to spend on a trip, but cannot find the money for the bursaries for the scions of the poor, the needy and the vulnerable. This means that only the progeny of the upper echelons of our society will be able to study certain subjects because of the high tuition fees.

Is this being “people-centred?

I think not!

On the other hand: Enemies’ promises are made to be broken!

302 responses to “UWI Cave Hill Takes a Hit”

1. ok sir

2. are-we-there-yet | September 16, 2014 at 1:48 PM |

AWTY, I agree with your analysis. However, I don’t agree that this person is a UWI graduate. OBY has been very general and not specific in his postings about UWI.
    Also, note the agreements with AC’s posts. Perhaps this is one of the ACs who, under these circumstances, has decided to develop his own persona

3. ’Enuff & Artaxeres
    It seems that you posts with pertinent information has stopped the mouth of the anal aperture even if temporarily

I wonder what he has to say now about his faecal material below?
    Bush Tea | September 11, 2014 at 8:36 AM |
    If the UWI was actually producing SUCCESS STORIES on a regular basis then Bushie could see your point…but hey….where are they?

Bush Tea | September 11, 2014 at 11:11 PM |
    @’Enuff
    Your warnings are bovine excretement
    Look around Barbados…..where is the UWI legacy in leadership?
    Where is it in science?

’Enuff & Artaxeres
    IT SEEMS THAT YOU HAVE DONE VERY WELL IN SHUTTING HIS MOUTH

4. Artaxerxes;

I think I actually know who Overseas’ is. I don’t think he is another AC. He does have an undergraduate and a graduate degree. He has a long history of posting on BU under different pen names at different times. My memory is very bad these days or I would have listed some of them. One of them is blogger2012, I think.

5. Why don’t you guys keep up the discussion about UWI? Many are reading.

6. “Rarely a day goes by when there isn’t a new discovery or innovation from Imperial’s talented staff, students and alumni,” Gast said, paying tribute to the college’s “entrepreneurial culture” and cooperation with academic and industry partners.”

http://www.theguardian.com/higher-education-network/ng-interactive/2014/sep/16/-sp-qs-world-university-rankings-2014

Location doan matter?

7. Hants | September 16, 2014 at 1:21 PM |
    Given the contraction in the Barbados economy and the increase in laid off and unemployed workers…….

Where are the graduating students going to find jobs?
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    They should consider switching and completing their studies in India, then perhaps they MAY find employment with LIME.
    How long before EMERA start load shedding its UWI qualified Bajan professionals at BL&P et al, in preference for Canadian graduates.
    Can’t happen here ! ugh!!

8. David; re. your 2.48 pm post. My apologies.

9. Can you help me David ?

Where are the graduating students going to find jobs?
    UWI BCC SJPP and secondary “school leavers”.

10. are-we-there-yet | September 16, 2014 at 4:19 PM |
    David; re. your 2.48 pm post. My apologies.
    APOLOGIES SHITE
    HE DONT INTERVENE WHEN BUSH TEA TALKING A LOAD AND TRYING TO CHALLENGE A MAN WELL VERSED IN HIS AREAS OF EXPERTISE

11. David do you still own this blog?

12. @Hants

To become self employed is an option.

@are-we-there-yet

No worries.

13. David I notice you getting attacked a lot these days and ent banning nuhbody.

Dah is why I ask eff you still own BU

You really nise in trute doh. lol

14. @Hants

Some of us take ourselves too seriously. Like you always say, BU is a virtual rumshop, as a Barbadian you know how that goes, the good, bad and ugly is to be expected but through it all, there is satisfaction to be had :-).

15. Hants | September 16, 2014 at 5:19 PM |
    CLEARLY YOU DONT LIKE TO HEAR THE TRUTH

16. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Dompey used to be Mark Fenty so according to Dr. GP, the language and the penchant for name changing points to Dompey and OSBY as one and the same. But why are we dealing with who wrote what ?
    Lets deal with their submissions.

17. Enuff; Re. your 3:44 pm post

Another ranking which covers the Caribbean. Methodology etc. is questionable but fwiw:-

http://www.webometrics.info/en/americas/caribbean

18. if it aint having academic trophies, one takes one self too seriously. or one is thin skinned
    HILARIOUS!

19. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

are we there yet and art

if I want to use big words I am very much seized with the ability.

Firstly let me state the beauty here is to put a position and let the bloggers here decide if I have any common sense or not.

let me give u all a few hints, I am trained in computer programming one of the early Barbadians to be trained in that area. I am a double graduate of UWI Cave Hill with an undergraduate hons, degree and with a post graduate, By the way I sat at the feet of Professor Stan Reid.
    In blogging sometime the fingers go before your thoughts, ART I know all the statements that comprise the financial statements having pursued and passed Management and Financial Accounting. In addition, I am a English Trained Secretary. I need no one to accredit me. I am capable of representing my self, as well as writing in different styles.

I hold to every thing I have said about my beloved UWI and will continue to criticize it, My family has benefitted from free education; they are in the area of Dentistry, Medicine, Engineering, Teaching to mention a few, So you see, we have a strong relationship with UWI and long before the introduction of fees, we recognized that plans must be put in place for the education of those behind us.

It is amazing that you two guys trying to ascertain whether I have been blogging or is blogging under other names, David can answer that question as he can ascertain from the ip address, That is not significant to me. What is obvious is that both of you have determined that I was commissioned by the DLP to spin. If I were to deduce from your writings that both of you are blp spin doctors would that be fair gain? But it bothers me not, i am here to force bloggers to think, even though you might consider me a non thinker.

Yes Art i know that the establishment of the medical school was a fraser ego trip and now there is some concern about the wisdom of establish such a school in Barbados.

I have always said that those countries that do not contribute to LIAT should not have liat flying there..

I have said that govt needs to evaluate the contributions of all institutions that receive state funding and UWI is no exception.

I believe that govt should look at it’s management systems to cut out inefficiencies and hence reduce suboptimisation of financial and human resources.

The financial melt down of the world capitalist order should have awoken us from our slumber that things cannot continue as usual

20. @Overseasbajan

Te jury is out the numbers we benefit in regional numbers by using LIAT as a hub and spoke for travel in this part of the region.

21. OK, OBY,

I never thought or said you were commissioned by the DLP to spin.

The person who I thought you were has a degree from Cave Hill in the humanities and not in Computer Science. If you have a degree in Computer Science and did not blog as Blogger 2012, then you are not the person I thought you were. But that person’s writing styles are totally like yours.

If you are now in the US your current IP address would not match the one used in Barbados.

Perhaps it was a misidentification and I was wrong.

My apologies;

22. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

should we not be arguing for LIAT’s Headquarters be in Barbados in light of the massive investment in the airline. Are we paid landing fees and is the airline current with its payment.

23. Barbados is not have a Cat 1 designation and our cost inputs are prohibitive.

24. Then should we continue to make the massive investments?

25. overseasbajanyankee | September 17, 2014 at 5:31 AM

“ART I know all the statements that comprise the financial statements having pursued and passed Management and Financial Accounting.”

Welcome to BU…. If you share lashes, prepare to take some as well.

Ok, you have passed Management and Financial Accounting, point taken. I, on the other hand, am a bit more knowledgeable in accounting matters.
    I graduated with a BSc Economics & Accounting (double major) and MSc Accounting, from UWI Cave Hill and Mona respectively; gained a BSc (Hons) Applied Accounting through Oxford Brookes University, while studying for my ACCA professional accounting designation.
    I also have a PG Cert in Fraud Examination & Forensic Accounting from Seneca College in Canada; have recently completed a MPhil Management Studies (accounting research) at UWI, but have decided to pursue my PhD in Business and Management – Fraud (specialization) at Loughborough University.

The university continues to prepare students for traditional jobs, such as doctors, lawyers, accountants and managers. With so many people graduating in these disciplines, competition among job seekers will be great.
    I will agree with you that UWI’s educational system needs to change with the times and they must explore the possibility of offering degrees in different disciplines, some of which are applicable to the region.
    For example, The University could expand the department of management studies to offer degrees in forensic accounting, oil & gas accounting or oil & gas management. Degrees could also be offered in transport policy and business management; sustainable transport and travel planning; water and waste engineering; water and environmental management; palliative care; housing & sustainable communities; renewable energy systems technology; computer forensics; computer security, just to name a few.

Let me give you an example of the how the system operates in Barbados. A few years ago I called the government’s Personnel Administration Division to enquire about a job in the Financial Intelligence Unit. I was transferred to the appropriate clerk, who never heard about forensic accounting. She went on to tell me that I should not have pursued such a qualification.
    She also informed me that the qualification requirements for the FIU, is a law degree, ACCA or you had to be a police officer. The unit deals with money laundering and fraudulent transactions. Forensic accountants are trained to give evidence and how to conduct themselves in court. Can you imagine with my experience and qualification in forensic accounting, I cannot get a job in the FIU.

26. @Artax

You should have followed in the foot steps of Desmond Sands.

27. Artaxerxes wrote “offering degrees in different disciplines”

Yes. How about disciplines that allow people to invent products and develop them for manufacture.

28. Artaxerxes;

Not to belabour the OBY discussion, but your impressive background as enumerated above explains the thoroughness, incisive probity and attention to detail that characterizes all your posts on BU. Congrats.

The FIU doesn’t want someone with your qualifications just like the Auditor General’s Department, which has been begging for adequate staff to fulfill its mandate for a long time now, will never get that staff under this current political class structure as it will show inescapably that their mission statements are totally at variance with what they are actually about.

29. David; Who is Desmond Sands?

30. Are we there yet

Your analysis of the DLP political tactics, speaks more about the collective- understanding of the Barbadian electorate, and the BLP inability to inform the its understanding conspicuously. If what you have indicated above are the political strategies of DLP, which by the way, members of the BLP ought to be cognizant of but are obviously incapable of conveying them to the Barbadian-electorate in a clear and understandable fashion. So you need not blame the DLP for the BLP inability to convey to the Barbadian-electorate, that the DLP is undermining the process with its lack of veracity.

31. are-we-there-yet | September 17, 2014 at 11:20 AM |
    David; Who is Desmond Sands?
    HE USED TO BE A POLICE SERGEANT

32. Are we there yet?

It is kinda like a doctor who has diagnosed one of his patient with a case of prostate cancer, and has to choose from an array of treatment options to address the patient’s condition. The BLP just hasn’t found right strategy to arouse the Barbadian -electorate awareness to your above claims.

33. Hants | September 17, 2014 at 10:43 AM |

“Yes. How about disciplines that allow people to invent products and develop them for manufacture.”

I agree with you 100%.

But I must add that we also need to change the laws as it relates to how jobs are allocated on Barbados. For example, let’s look at the number one industry and earner of foreign exchange……. the tourist industry.

We are arguing that UWI should play a more important role in the development of the Caribbean and its citizens. I
    n 1978, UWI Mona established the Center for Tourism & Hotel Management, which is located in the Bahamas. On inception, the Centre offered the Bachelor of Science degree in hotel management, and subsequently in 1995, the tourism management programme was offered.

The Departments of Management Studies of UWI St. Augustine and Cave Hill, offers BSc Hospitality & Tourism Management and BSc Tourism Management, respectively.
    UWI Mona and Cave Hill, offers MSc Hospitality & Tourism Management, with Cave Hill – PG diplomas: tourism marketing, tourism with project management, sports management and hospitality management.

Hotel owners are allowed to advertise for managers, chefs, and other posts with fancy names, subsequently state they received no favourable applications, and apply for a work permit to employ an expatriate. That individual is given remuneration inclusive of an exorbitant salary, housing, company vehicle and meals at the hotel.

Do you expect me to believe that, after the CTHM has been in existence for approximately 36 years [from 1978], and the 3 campuses offers tourism related qualifications to post graduate level, a SUITABLE hotel manager cannot be found in the Barbados or the Caribbean?

With government expenditure going towards the payment of UWI economic cost for Barbadian students, and having to forfeit revenue through the offering of numerous “attractive” concessions to the tourism sector, why does government allow tourism graduates to be underutilized?

With the granting of these concessions, should the players in this industry not be a mandated to employ graduates?

34. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

THERE seems to a consensus on the need for uwi to reform, but we also need to address whether certain degrees should be offered by Barbados community college and not the university. I know very little of the SJPP and hence cannot comment on the offerings there.

I am not normally interested in who is behind the blogging name except for gorgie porgie who because of his obnoxiousness and refusal to adhere to rules and regulations HAD to run from Barbados.

35. David | September 17, 2014 at 10:21 AM |

“@Artax: You should have followed in the footsteps of Desmond Sands.”

Sands was an Inspector of Police (with a law degree) who was seconded to the FIU as an analyst. He left the FIU and now has his own law practice.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………..

are-we-there-yet | September 17, 2014 at 10:50 AM |

Thanks.

36. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@are we there yet

IGNORE GORGIE PORGIE

I blog under no other name, I AM NOT DOMPEY. BUT AS I HAVE SAID TO ALL HERE BLOGGIING must be simple, it is only there is a specific audience will there be need to write in a language to that audience.

let the discussion continue and lets stop trying to identify who is behind the mass.

@art

in discussions you attack the other until there is a meeting of the mind. We have agreed that ubwi needs to revisit its offerings, what we have not agreed upon is what uwi has contributed in the area of scientific knowledge to Caribbean society.

37. Desmond Sands is the kind of police officer who spent his entire police career educating himself, and who I am sure he hasn’t a clue about practical policing. I’ve met many of them in my long association with the Royal Barbados Police Force. The only police man that I can say without the fear of contradict, that has give more than a 100% to his job was the late lawyer and CID detective, Dorian Taylor.

38. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@DOMPEY

dorian taylor was an excellent policeman.

39. what uwi has contributed in the area of scientific knowledge to Caribbean society.

SERIOUS RESEARCH AT TMRU
    SERIOUS WORK ON SICKLE CELL ANEMIA
    SERIOUS WORK AT THE POLIO REHAB UNIT
    AND ON AND ON

WHERE DO WE GET THESE PONTIFICATORS IN THE BU RUM SHOP THAT DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT

FACTS ARE STUBBORN THINGS Ah lie?

40. Re in discussions you attack the other until there is a meeting of the mind. We have agreed that ubwi needs to revisit its offerings, what we have not agreed upon is what uwi has contributed in the area of scientific knowledge to Caribbean society.

WHEN I AM BORED I COME ON BU FOR KICKS AND TO GET SOME LAUGHS, AS THERE IS ALWAYS SOME MORON TALKING A LOAD OF HIT AS IN THE ABOVE EXTRACT

HOW CAN THE MEETING OF THE MIND OF A DUMMY AND A BRILLIANT MIND MEET EXCEPT TO DECIDE WHAT CORN FLAKES TO HAVE FOR BREAKFAST?

HOW CAN ONE HAVE A DISCUSSION WITHOUT FACTS? FACTS…..NOT UNSUBSTANTIATED OPINIONS?

RECENTLY A POSTER HERE IN THE RUM SHOP GAVE UP THIS INFORMATIVE SITE BELOW

http://www.niherst.gov.tt/icons/icons-by-name.htm

IT IS AMAZING THAT JUST UNDER A AND B ALONE, THERE APPEARS THE NAMES BELOW OF SOME OUTSTANDING WESTINDIANS, UWI GRADUATES AND UWI TEACHERS WHO EXEMPLIFY “what uwi has contributed in the area of scientific knowledge to Caribbean society.”

Sir George Allenmore O’Garren Alleyne
    Dr. Bert Achong
    Emmanuel Ciprian Amoroso
    Sir Harry Annamunthodo
    Zulaika Ali
    Anesa Ahamad
    Peter Bacon
    Courtenay Bartholomew on AAIDS
    Michael Beaubrun
    Glen Beneby
    Basil Burke
    Chelston Brathwaite
    Knolly Butler

I HOPE THAT THE BETZPAENIC JACKASS WHO IS SUGGESTING THAT UWI HAS CONTRIBUTED LITTLE OR NOTHING TO SCIENCE IN THE CARRIBEAN WOULD SEE IF IT IS POSSIBLE FOR HIM TO GET A BRAIN TRANSPORT———ALTHOUGH I DOUBT VERY MUCH IF THE ARTERIES IN HIS CIRCLE OF WILLIS ARE PATENT ENOUGH TO PERMIT SUCH AN OPERATION.

41. In mentioning of excellent policemen, let us not forget ACP (ag) (Lionel) Mark Thompson, who can be regarded as being one of the best detectives in Barbados. Unfortunately, from what I have learnt, he is ill.

42. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

I will agree that mark is also a good policeman wish him well

43. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@gorgie porgie

no one will want to have a meeting the mind with you, you relic of medicine who had to run from bim and then wanted to blame the system.

44. Today’s Nations editorial pays glowing tribute to Sir Hillary, no doubt a response to the recent Jamaican press editorial.

45. overseasbajanyankee | September 17, 2014 at 2:52 PM |
    did not run from bim–left to go teaching med students, which was always my primary goal

nor do i blame the system. after all I proposed the system for the polyclinics in 1985, it has worked fairly well

not a relic of medicine either– have learned so much medicine in the last 12 years while teaching and researching

you need to ascertain the facts before you lash out lol

46. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

why didn’t u teach medical students in bim? was it because u had problems with the establishment and u believed u were brighter than all

47. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

Tracy Schufler has a piece in Barbados today re: uwi u may wish to read it

48. overseasbajanyankee | September 17, 2014 at 3:50 PM |
    why didn’t u teach medical students in bim? was it because u had problems with the establishment and u believed u were brighter than all
    NOT AT ALL
    THERE WERE NO BASIC SCIENCES IN BIM UNTIL A FEW YEARS AGO

KEEP ATTACKING.
    I FIND YOUR HATRED FOR ME MOST AMAZING

BUT GUESS WHAT I am so glad that Jesus loves me, Jesus loves even me.
    I am so glad that our Father in heav’n
    Tells of His love in the Book He has giv’n;
    Wonderful things in the Bible I see:
    This is the dearest, that Jesus loves me.
    I am so glad that Jesus loves me,
    Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me;
    I am so glad that Jesus loves me,
    Jesus loves even me.
    Though I forget Him and wander away,
    Still He doth love me whenever I stray;
    Back to His dear loving arms would I flee,
    When I remember that Jesus loves me.
    Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing,
    When in His beauty I see the great King,
    This shall my song in eternity be:
    “Oh, what a wonder that Jesus loves me.”

49. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

no gorgie

r u sure, I have a family member who has been involved with medical students before there has been a medical faculty, remember uwi is a teaching hospital.

50. no i am not sure OK? you jack ass
    btw there are several teaching hospitals associated with UWI
    and there is BASIC SCIENCES AND THE CLINICAL ASPECT OF THE COURSE
    go check it out with your “family member who has been involved with medical students before there has been a medical faculty” LOL

your “family member who has been involved with medical students before there has been a medical faculty” must be very old LOL medical faculty at uwi started in 1948 with inception of UWI

AGAIN YOU ARE CHALLENGING WITH OUT KNOWING THE FACTS
    typical BU RUM SHOP MEMBER

bare sport in the rumshop

i wont be wasing more time with you

carry on with your hat and ad hominems