Update: Several persons still have not been paid and some have been paid from the date this letter was written. Some persons got all, half or part of the money that was owed to them, it is not that you purposely work without pay. When you are temporary in service and you are absent from work the money is deducted after your 14 days sick leave, when you are permanently appointed it is not. If you do not come to work because you are not being paid they don’t see it as an excuse you are still mandated to come to work. The only way to get your money is to resign and work elsewhere, easier said than done.

As far as we know the problem originates from Geriatric hospital who sends the paperwork late, then Ministry of Health who receives it then disappears. Then Personnel Administration Department where it magically appears and then disappears. The point is not to cast blame but to see how this can be improved. Management in those institutions do not care, if they did, they would ensure we are paid on time. School opening and my children don’t even have their school stuff as yet. I just wish the Minister would do something urgently about this.

68 responses to “No Salary II”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

People still blame Personnel Administration Department (PAD), ministries and departments when they are paid late, sometimes after several months because they don’t understand the system. Since the constitutional amendments of 1974 all temporary jobs must be approved by the minister with responsibility for the Public Service. Generally the paperwork at the level of PAD and the ministries and department is completed; the problem comes when everything sits on the minister’s desk waiting for his signature which sometimes takes a while. The civil servant dealing with the paperwork then becomes a convenient scapegoat who can’t speak out to defend himself.

2. I feel your pain, but you’re obviously dealing with an issue of Bureaucracy, which is not uncommon elseway in the world. However, not being paid for a year sounds a little unreasonable and quite frankly, questionable. When I was a member of the armed forces, I heard of instances where people weren’t paid for a month, bear in minds also that the members of the armed forces are paid biweekly or on a monthly basis if their so desire. So the reason I find it quite difficult to believe that someone would work for an entire year, knowing quite well that there isn’t any definite indication whether not he or she will be paid, but nonetheless kept on working just does not fly in the face of reason. If you’re not getting a salary at all, what is the incentive for getting up for and entire year through the rain, heat and mud? Please!

3. David, I honestly feel that it insults the intelligence of reasonable people when some individuals try to force feed others with such utter nonsense. Who in their right mind would work for an entire without be paid and not make a stink about it? Where was BU, CBC, the Nation, and the Adocate etc, during this atrocious and egregious mistreatment of this poor soul?

4. A trade union can unfortunately offer limited support where your employer simply does not have the funds to make your salary payments, as opposed to choosing not to do so.
    Perhaps the Bu should bring these concerns to Senator Dr. the Honourable Esther Byer Suckoo, holds responsibility for the Ministry of Labour and Social Security and was re-appointed to this portfolio on February 28, 2013, this time with the addition of Human Resource Development.

5. Is there anything in this country that is functioning right?
    Transport, Finance, Agriculture, Housing , Health , Tourism ,Education all seems to be running on half throttle without a driver behind the wheel.
    And speaking of Transport and Housing, when is the Minister of Transport ,the present one, going to remove that Bush Garden protruding onto the ABC Highway , just outside Coverly Concentration Camp. But then again as Minister of Housing, he gave his accomplice permission to carry out that crazy bit of work.

6. Dompey | September 7, 2014 at 8:42 PM |

“David, I honestly feel that it insults the intelligence of reasonable people when some individuals try to force feed others with such utter nonsense. Who in their right mind would work for an entire without be paid and not make a stink about it? “

You obviously don’t know what you are commenting on. How dare you sit in your lofty position abroad and condemn people here in Barbados who want to work and are experiencing problems receiving their salaries/wages, by insinuating they are telling lies?

A friend of mine was a nurse at the Psychiatric Hospital, and sometimes 6 months would pass before he received a salary. He had to borrow from relatives and his wife for personal expenses and to pay bills. My friend and some others became so frustrated with the system that they decided to take advantage of opportunities afforded them for jobs of a similar nature in England and Bermuda.

7. ARTAX

The point I was endeavoring convey is this: if your friend worked 6 six months without an indication that he or she wasn’t expected to be paid in the not distant future, then he or she is a fool. I certainly, wouldn’t expend my energy by venturing to a job not knowing whether or not, I would have been paid or layoff in the process. I am telling you sir, minds met and decided upon a time in which your friend would have been paid, or why else would he or she stay? When he or she knew quite well that he/she could have utilized the same energy he/she wasted at a dead end job to looking for another job. Artax, do you want me to accept the argument that your friend traversed from home to work transquilly, without any indication from management; when he or she was expected to be paid? If you think you could spoon feed me that bullarky, then you’re really off your rocker.

8. Artax, there was a common understanding between management and the employees, or as their say in legal terms: minds met and decided upon certain propositions. Because it seems highly unreasonable in this modern age, that an established place of business would leave an employee in perpetuity as to when he or she would have been paid.

9. Dompey | September 7, 2014 at 11:19 PM |

“Artax, do you want me to accept the argument that your friend traversed from home to work transquilly, without any indication from management; when he or she was expected to be paid? If you think you could spoon feed me that bullarky, then you’re really off your rocker.”

I believe the issue here for you is not the late payment of salaries. You are much more concerned that this situation makes the DLP look tardy. Rather than seek information that can verify the validity of these workers concerns and sympathize with them, you prefer to call them liars, all in your cause to defend the DLP.

Sir, for years some people have been working in the civil service and have not been paid for several months. There is evidence to substantiate this unfortunate situation……… it is a documented fact. Many workers at the various institutions within the Ministry of Health have expressed dissatisfaction with the ongoing situation of not receiving their salaries in a timely manner.

For example, there are instances of acting prison wardens not being paid for 4 or 5 months. As recent as April 2014, prison wardens were asking their association to address this issue. I refer you to an article headlined “AG promises to address prison concerns” written by Marlon Madden, in May 31, 2014 edition of Barbados Today:

“Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite has reassured prison officers his office is working to rectify late payment and address outstanding promotions, even as he insisted that there are no layoffs planned for the service.”
    “Brathwaite said in April he was contacted by president of the POA Donald Connell who asked him to find some money to pay officers because they had not received their salaries.”
    Brathwaite was quoted as saying: “We are working really hard at trying to ensure that we address these two issues in particular – that is, to ensure people are paid in a timely manner and the issue of promotion so that we can fill the vacancies that are there.”

I again refer you to an article in the April 12, 2014 edition of the Barbados Advocate, headlined: “Late payment of salaries must be addressed.” This article revealed that Auditor General Leigh Trotman in the Report of the Auditor General for the Year 2013, expressed his concerns that “Late payment of salaries to temporary officers and substitutes has been an ongoing problem in the Public Service and it is a situation that needs to be dealt with.”

The then MoH Donville Inniss was reported in the April 24, 2009 edition of the Barbados Advocate as saying “Late payment of salaries and other remuneration to doctors and public sector workers generally must be fixed.”

If we use your argument as a measuring stick, then I guess Adriel Brathwaite, Leigh Trotman and Donville Inniss are all liars as well.

This problem stretches over both BLP and DLP, and it is about time the matter be addressed.

10. If only we are able to walk in the shoes of another. We have the vulnerable who need representation the most and we play politics. These are people who are not marketable especially in a climate of rising unemployment. Let us say for argument sake 1 year is a stretch, we have confirmed cases that temps have been unpaid for months.

11. @ Artax
    Bushie continues to be disappointed that you would enter into serious arguments with Dompey and ac…….

12. Bush Tea | September 8, 2014 at 7:41 AM |

“@ Artax: Bushie continues to be disappointed that you would enter into serious arguments with Dompey and ac…….”

Point taken, Bushie……. Lol

13. After reading a lot of the blogs over the weekend, it seems there is the relative question of time management for all involved. While I think we all agree that things are challenging in some areas, the known facts around the Island are things are slow. Simply not being paid on time is not acceptable and not only affects ones credibility, as does not making payment on time. but will also ones reputation in and out of work. No one likes to look the fool, yet alone admit to it. If you bring into play “time management ” and start with what you go to work for, “money,” and your payments are late say for bank, what would be your excuse against extra charges. “I can’t get my money in, so you can’t have yours?”
    Time management starts every day of our lives, truth is you have time, you just choose to spend your time in other areas and while “everyone is doing what they have to – to survive” and this is simply not good enuf.
    ” Everything dread ” and people still not acting – still reacting your reputation is at stake.

14. professor brass bowl..the one who knows eveetin.now wants to control what others say about any thing. lol

15. Bush Tea, I quite disappointment that David would allow you the liberty as well as the latitude to infused the blog with your daily bullshite. Haven’t you anything better to do then to come here and permaeted the blog with your anti-intellectualism? I am beginning to suspect and I am cognizant of the fact that others do also, that you have obtained your university education from the standpipe. You write with little or no emotional control and that in itself undermines the characteristics of a learned person.

16. Colonel…..you forgot the Court System/Judiciary, i am hoping one day to post that the Judges are doing their jobs and finally get rid of all the backlog of cases, i am really hoping for that event to take place.

17. David | September 8, 2014 at 6:18 AM |

“If only we are able to walk in the shoes of another. We have the vulnerable who need representation the most and we play politics. These are people who are not marketable especially in a climate of rising unemployment. Let us say for argument sake 1 year is a stretch, we have confirmed cases that temps have been unpaid for months.”

I agree with your comments. There are some people who may not have the requisite qualifications that will allow them to be more marketable for employment. Hence, they will opt to remain in jobs, despite not being paid for a few months or the prospect for promotion is unlikely, simply because they want a job and are hoping their temporary employment eventually becomes permanent.

It is similar to those individuals who choose to remain as maids, messengers, clerks or in entry level positions until retirement, either because they see themselves as not being equipped with the necessary skills to advance or they feel comfortable at their level. At the end of the day, they are earning a living as members of the working force.

In my opinion, I would rather be employed even if I’m not paid on the designated pay dates, knowing that I will eventually be paid, than to walk off the job and remain unemployed not knowing where my next salary will come from.

18. These workers should always be paid in a timely manner. There is no middle ground on this issue.

They should be paid bi-monthly or monthly.

19. I am totally with Artaxerxes and David on this one. But wunnah din see what Caswell seh very early on in this thread?

As I understand it he said that a major contributor to this situation is that the ultimate politician in charge of temporary appointments has to sign off on each one of these appointments. If that politician is busy or sleeping and the files accumulate on his desk awaiting signature, what happens?

In fact, if true, this might be emblematic of many of the opportunities lost in various spheres in present day Barbados.

20. “In my opinion, I would rather be employed even if I’m not paid on the designated pay dates, knowing that I will eventually be paid, than to walk off the job and remain unemployed not knowing where my next salary will come from.’……

Now those are the words of a coward and many unproductive people employed by the public service. You must be a glutton for punishment and your self confidence is at its lowest. What if you don’t get paid like Barrack? At least he got a building that he can sell. What do you have to sell or create? Until the unemployed and the laid become responsible for their own destiny and survival then we will become innovative and creative.

Our Agriculture is in shambles, farmers are still using archaic methods of cultivation and are afraid to adopt alternative ideas and crops. We speak of diversification for the past 40 years and yet we continue growing the same things over and over again while some have ceased production. There is still lots of arable land sitting idly with no one to work. There is an interesting permaculture project taking place in St. Andrew in the old Walker’s sand quarry. We need brave warriors willing to take chances and risks to create and implement . If you can feed yourself and your family then everything else becomes secondary.

We have been fed what is seen as successful….having a job, a government one to be exact and stay there at all cost until retirement and then collect a pension. That has been the dream fed to us all. This dream is no longer a reality and until we can accept that and move forward then real progress and growth can occur. Yes it is hard to accept this new reality and frightening BUT it is one we all have to face at some time the sooner the better.

21. “In my opinion, I would rather be employed even if I’m not paid on the designated pay dates, knowing that I will eventually be paid, than to walk off the job and remain unemployed not knowing where my next salary will come from.”

It is like an abused spouse remaining in a marriage with the abuser.

22. so what we have here are a workload of people who are inequipped and can,t find jobs elsewhere ..living off govt payroll and becoming disgruntled..disgusting..

23. @ Bush Tea. I need your help. I respect your opinion. I just read ac comment
    ac | September 8, 2014 at 1:51 PM |

I cannot fathom how a person who can read and write can be so incomprehensibly devoid of even a modicum of common sense.

A person working in a Geriatric hospital and not being paid in a timely manner should be disgruntled and angry.

The Ministers and senior Government employees ent ketchin bus.

24. May I add that one day you may need a temporary worker in a geriatric hospital to wipe your sorry backside.

25. islandgal246 | September 8, 2014 at 1:17 PM |

“It is like an abused spouse remaining in a marriage with the abuser.”

It way above my intellectual capacity (and pay grade) for me to understand how you could possibly equate an individual awaiting a salary, and someone remaining in an abusive marriage.

There are two completely different psychological states of mind. Abusive relationships are driven by the abuser’s sense of insecurity, in that they lack recognition of their social value and make an effort to gain or re-gain some semblance of that value by dominating and controlling the abused. This condition manifests itself to the point where the abuser has a need to psychologically manipulate the abused to remain in the relationship.

And then to bring the Barrack debacle into the scenario without recognizing that his issue is one of a political nature, while the non-payment of salaries is a bureaucratic enigma that has been plaguing the civil services for several years, baffles me also.

Since you sought to equate awaiting salaries and abusive relationships, perhaps you should also examine the psychological and emotional effects of being unemployed. Long term unemployment causes frustration, depression and people to feel unproductive.
    The Barbados economy is stagnated and many Barbadians are becoming unemployed and are looking at the possibility of long term unemployment, resulting in them having little hope of their future. Age discrimination is also a reality in the Caribbean, making it extremely difficult for people of a certain age to gain employment…… and this has to be taken into consideration.

Yet, despite not being paid for several weeks, these individuals still go to work and produce, perhaps even more so than their permanent colleagues.

It is perfectly ok for you to say people are cowards for remaining in the civil service under these conditions. You maybe gainfully employed and receiving your salary/wages on time every month or week as the case maybe, whereby you have never experienced what these unfortunate people are experiencing. Therefore, being sympathetic to their cause will be far removed from your psyche.

Sometimes, we need read, understand and think through how we are going to respond before rushing to do so. However, as the Desiderata poem states:
    “As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.”

26. Amazing some commenting would criticize temps who are largely unskilled and blame them for depending on government and in the USA, the land of opportunity, more exist on food stamps than anywhere else.

27. well going by some comments here it seems as if those who are complaining are tagged or categorize as vulnerable and unable to find employment ,,other than which is provided by govt,,therby having made made a choice of being dependent,,rather than being self reliant and furthering there education whereby they would be sufficiently skilled or certified .rather than having to belly ache and throw out the sympathy card which in this case cannot help them,,, the choices we make in life can either break us or make us,,,,and truth be known,, it seems as if some of these employees made choices which are disadvantageous to themselves albeit looking for no way out… but expecting to draw and lean on the sympathy for a pay day,,,,,,,

28. Here it is we have a group of people legally contracted by government who for what ever reason is not paying the people and we find excuses for the government and instead blame the vulnerable. Bear in mind in a challenging economic time any government worth its salt has a mandate to protect the most vulnerable. This is one of the same persons who agreed with this government not sending home workers. What is the definition of a yardfowl again?

29. David | September 8, 2014 at 4:56 PM:

“Here it is we have a group of people legally contracted by government who for what ever reason is not paying the people and we find excuses for the government and instead blame the vulnerable.”

My dream is how to learn to write like this,and then get a good job at th UN. It are we dream. Exclamation exclamation exclamation smiley face exclamation.

30. David wrote “What is the definition of a yardfowl again?”

A true yardfowl is one who is stupid enough to defend the indefensible.

31. Wunna know wot good? It be ta do “dis ole man who hatin de wimmen and havin a real fart control problem nuh”?

Dat good honey chile wxclamation Facebook exclamation Facebooksmiley face Ha and Ha and (smiley phace Facebook) Ha wid exclamations!!!!

32. I could understand a worker at an almshouse in St.Lucy waiting to get paid in
    1950 but this is 2014.

33. @Jack Bowman
    My dream is how to learn to write like this,and then get a good job at th UN. It are we dream. Exclamation exclamation exclamation smiley face exclamation.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Deserving of a medal
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/14902358078/

34. overseasbajanyankee Avatar
    overseasbajanyankee

@AC

some greater thought and sensitivity ought to be given to this topic.

we will always have vulnerable people around, and by the way, a job does not defined your vulnerability.

there are a numb of factors; for example, prostitutes are considered a vulnerable group as they are more exposed to sexually transmitted infections, they are mostly the powerless in the role play and in some instances will give into to unprotected sex, among other things,

There will always be unskilled persons in society, some remain there and others move on to greater things based on their motivational needs and their ability, the great maslow stated we have basic needs such as that for love, food, clothing, shelter and a job and after those needs have been satisfied we strive to move on to have our high order needs satisfied. Regardless of our needs, we need to have money or access to it to survive.

This therefore brings me to the point that every effort should be made to pay persons who work on time, and this should be so for govt as it is responsible for enacting laws like the employment rights act, among others,

it is clear to me, from what I have read is that all is not well with the systems in place to ensure that persons are paid regularly on time, and it is those temporary workers who will need their wages/salaries to survive in these trying times. Too often, I believe that callousness and ineptness on some people part are contributing to the situation. Perhaps the parent ministry needs to visit it human resource systems to see where the blame lies, and likewise the Ministry of the Civil Service, the Minister responsible for the CivilService as well as Personnel Administration.

35. @ are-we-there-yet | September 8, 2014 at 12:51 PM |

“As I understand it he said that a major contributor to this situation is that the ultimate politician in charge of temporary appointments has to sign off on each one of these appointments. If that politician is busy or sleeping and the files accumulate on his desk awaiting signature, what happens?

In fact, if true, this might be emblematic of many of the opportunities lost in various spheres in present day Barbados”…………………………………………..

You are so right.

And who is the minister responsible for the civil service? And we wonder why?

36. wait i think the article states that it was a time management problem which originated from the hospital ,,furthermost the article states that some of the workers received all or part of the monies which shows good faith or intent by the employer,,,,,however it seems as if the employee in question submitting the article is not entirely satisfied ,even though admitting that employees were paid up to the time the article was submitted however for all intensive purpose and poltical badgering that fact is entirely overlooked as the yardfowl brigade busily go about looking scratch grain to full tummy..the fact is and one that must not be overlooked is that no one should be in terms of vulnerability allowed themselves to be in a catch 22,, the govt or nobody is responsible for the well being,,everyone owes it to themselves as a call of duty to protect and preserve their integrity and if waiting on others to do so,,,it is not going to happen…. peace and out,,,,,

37. @ac
    “however for all intensive purpose and poltical badgering that fact is entirely overlooked”…………………………..

ac,
    I do not mean to be BU’s “fashion police”….but the phrase commonly used is “for all intents and purposes”.
    …..and dont get offended!

38. Caswell, who should know, has explained the challenges of temps being paid in a timely fashion. This is a problem that has spanned both political parties and for whatever reason we have not shown the will to conquer it.

39. wait prodigal i thought u said u do not read my posts…liar,,,,

40. I do now since posters on BU have been saying that there are a lot of “ac’s”. Could you not just say…thank you? I have given up on you!

41. “Reach across the isle” is. another Fambly special.

Smiley face smiley face exclamation.

42. shocking video…
    ray rice the football player knocks his girlfriend out

43. what on earth is wrong with the male species ,rich or poor they seem to have a deep seated hatred of women….how in the good lords name can a three pound quarter back” be of the mindset that a hundred and twenty pound woman can poised enough of a physical threat to him.that he would physically knocks her out cold,,,, this guy needs to be hung by his testicles ,,,,

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | September 8, 2014 at 5:39 PM |
    “And who is the minister responsible for the civil service? And we wonder why?

Don’t you know we are dealing here with an incompetent and misfit who believes he can manage his ministerial portfolios the same way he managed his private practice?

Where do you think the sleeping giant hibernates on sunny days? The man has files marked “for action” packed to capacity on his desk to form such a high wall of indecision, vacillation and ‘un-productivity’ that not even Humpty Dumpty could sit on.
    He is the embodiment of the saying the ‘buck stops here (and will remain here in the same state as it arrived’).

45. Let us not forget it is the sloth of the PM that prompted the toothless Eager 11 to form.

46. what eager 11, another big propaganda bomb that blew right up in the face of the blp yardfowls,, get over it,,,

47. @ millertheanunnaki | September 8, 2014 at 7:55 PM |

Don’t you know we are dealing here with an incompetent and misfit who believes he can manage his ministerial portfolios the same way he managed his private practice?………………………
    He is the embodiment of the saying the ‘buck stops here (and will remain here in the same state as it arrived’)……………………

miller,
    In the meanwhile I saw him on DLPTV tonight playing he looking wise down in New Zealand.

He took a 10% salary reduction and said that his standard of living drop…….this from a man who lives in Illaro Court……rent free, pays no utilities bills and can eat free from all the parties he holds there. Yet he sits on files which is denying workers their fundamental rights to be paid their salaries.

Oh Barbados, how could you all be so wrong to elect this idiot to be PM to destroy this country?

48. @ ac | September 8, 2014 at 6:56 PM |

“shocking video…
    ray rice the football player knocks his girlfriend out”…………….

ac,
    This is just like what your DLP is doing to Barbados. Kicking the stuffings out of all of us. I have never seen so many Barbadian begging as I do since the Dems became the government. We are dead in the water!

49. @ac September 8, 2014 at 7:03 PM “what on earth is wrong with the male species ,rich or poor they seem to have a deep seated hatred of women….this guy needs to be hung by his testicles”

Dear ac: A month after this beating that woman married that man.

I rest my case.

50. Prodigal Son | September 8, 2014 at 10:14 PM |
    @ ac | September 8, 2014 at 6:56 PM |

ac,
    This is just like what your DLP is doing to Barbados. Kicking the stuffings out of all of us. I have never seen so many Barbadian begging as I do since the Dems became the government. We are dead in the water!
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    And part of this begging problem is mushrooming, due to the fact that many of us has got our priorities wrong.
    Yesterday I observed a 10/11 year old boy begging in the various car parks at QEH, doing the rounds on an expensive bicycle.