Minister Denis Lowe

It should concern all Barbadians that workers at the Drainage Unit, a government department, have had to remonstrate against their employer regarding late payment of salary. One may reasonably expect that there will be computer glitches or other unforeseen administrative foul up occasionally.  In this case the problem appears to be NO MONEY available to pay workers. Of further concern if we are to understand the energized Denis Clarke of the NUPW, the union representing the workers, there are two other departments which are experiencing a similar problem.  Coincidentally, the three departments having problems with late payment all fall under the ministry of the environment Denis Lowe.

It is unreasonably for any individual who is contracted to supply labour to not be paid. When government is the employer it becomes an unpardonable action. We can debate that many workers in the Beautification Unit – one of the three units – were employed in the lead up to the last general election. What we should not debate is whether they should be paid.

It seems that Prime Minister Stuart is a good mentor to Minister Denis Lowe. The silence is deafening!

1. Rebuttal

1. Silence is golden

2. Hear nuttin, see nuttin, do nuttin and everything safe

2. Where is the outrage Avatar
    Where is the outrage

Actually the whole society seem to mentored by Stuart. We are all silence in the face of this wrong. There is absolutely no outrage.it is as if Dems now .. dems again should really be DUMB now… DUMB again.

3. STAY

CALM

&

FOLLOW

THE

DLP

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Have you seen the new money yet?

5. Carson…………..someone in Bim was just describing the new money to me…..does not come out till June though, what good will it do people who are broke and hungry??

6. Why is this problem only located at the Ministry of the Environment?

7. It’s confined to The Dennis Lowe Department of the Ministry of Drainage.

8. Dennis Lowe should be FIRED !!!
    Freundel Stuart should be RETIRED
    This DLP Government should BE KICKED OUT

9. All the other government depts waiting to see who is next.

10. When people keep quiet dem frighten as shoite dem gine be next.

11. LET THE BLP run this country and teach the DLP how to run a Government.
    The DLP poor and the people in St. John are to be pitied for voting DLP consistently . The people in St. John need to come into the light. The BLP should target St. John. Keep all their political meetings in St. John and convert those ‘ignorant’ people in St.John and show them the light

12. DEMS NOW, DEMS AGAIN … Wait until June/July when Sinkliar start to unwind his “restructuring plan”

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Well Well | May 2, 2013 at 8:19 PM |
    Carson…………..someone in Bim was just describing the new money to me…..does not come out till June though, what good will it do people who are broke and hungry??
    ……………………………………………………………
    Trinidad may soon put in a bid to buy the old currency at half price.

14. How can this be when the minister of finance has boldly told us Barbados does not default on its debt.

15. Fumble’s puerile policy on managing public opinion is, sadly to say ” regardless of what I say, they will say that I have said nothing, so I shall say nothing” ” it is better to keep one’s mouth shut and be thought of as a fool than to open it and be conclusively known to be one” ( He obviously did not givePatrick Todd the latter part of this memo to self. Could someone please email this to Noel Lynch and George Hutson???)

In Barbados, unfortunately, his style IS probably best since his many detractors WILL latch onto his words like a remora eel does to a shark.

You simply cannot please all the Bajans so Fumble, in employing his own version of ” the rain falling on the just and the unjust” employs the silent treatment that some of our wives use when we have not done what we have instructed.

Now I know that a few of my detractors will seek to impute that I said that Fumble has piece uh female in him, whu after all this is Bulbados, and yuh does never see he wid nuh wuman but I would caution you to remember Alvin Cummins’ remarks re defamation.

Fumble has ascended to the tenth degree. No, the man is not a karate Dan, nor judoka nor lodge man, no, no, no…

He hath, by virtue of the powers of the ingrunt electorate, been granted the requisite second five years to guarantee his pension and will walk away from Llaro Court ( he and his band of DLP marauders) in 2013, with this pension, unless Owen Seethru comes back to oppose Mia Why You Bite Me again. Why we ole people does doan jes.lay down en die? Coitus Interruptus Cadogan been recommending compulsory eradication of all uh we aftah 70!!!

Fumble should seek out the services of a speech therapist, like Owen did, (though those skills did not really help the lisp while Seethru was under the influence of the Unbreakables), someone to help him learn how to speak and present himself on a podium, and to command the attention of his audience, rather than be seen as a nerdy professor from Kjakistan who is excited that he has just learnt to read English and is equally enthused by the words the Permanent Secretary composed and provided him for his speaking engagements

The chink in my armour is showing it is evident that at 81 I grudge him an buffalo Sinckliar for dem pensions dat is gine be ten times mines.

16. Sir COW sending home people. What is the status of the 3S project anyway. He claims he is owed 20 million because government terminated the contract.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/05/02/cow-down-but-not-out/

17. It’s really coming down now………………..

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/05/02/cow-down-but-not-out/

18. Sorry David………….I missed your post, but if you read it, it appears that COW has sent home everyone and is dumbfounded that the economy is in such bad shape…….

19. Colonel……………..at the rate everything is unraveling, don’t look like the Trinis will have to pay a dime for it…………

20. This contribution is concerned with the fact that employees of the Drainage Division have not been paid over the past few weeks. These are the same poor people that Carson tries to convince us that his DLP party is in the forefront of representing. Instead of Carson being sympathetic to their plight, the only thing he has to say on this unfortunate situation is:
    “Have you seen the new money yet?”
    Or is he trying to say that these workers have to wait until the new money is printed to be able to pay their bills?

21. Just the initial signs of a Country going BANKRUPT.

22. Just curious to the timing of launching the new money, wonder what the cost of redesigning the currency was, “Barbados burns while DEMS fiddle”.

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

From your illustrious Member of Parliament
    The working class can kiss my ass
    I am on my way to a grand pension at last.
    I have got a job,thanks to you, and not on the dole
    You can stick your next election vote up your hole.

24. Most Bajans are not even aware that it is a company in England who charges the government X amount to print money………….they probably feel government have they own template and printing press, especially those party sheeple, know absolutely nothing…………

25. Has the problem been resolved or will it resurface next pay day?

26. Why print new money?

It is called “rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic”

When you are supposed to be in charge, and you have absolutely NO IDEA what is going on…or what to do, ….you rearrange deck chairs.
    ….it eases the conscience with respect to that fat salary cheque you cash every month…

27. islandgal246 Avatar

The workers at the bottom will be screwed again and again and will have to wait on their wages while the top brass get their pay on time. Something is seriously wrong with that scenario.

28. What is wrong is that many of the employees are party faithfuls employed at election time. Let us look at the Beautification Unit!

29. islandgal246 Avatar

David those party faithful were the pawns to win the election, now they will be discarded one by one.

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar
    Colonel Buggy

What ,again , is the role and function of the Drainage Unit?

31. What ,again , is the role and function of the Drainage Unit?
    …to drain some money from the treasury to justify another Ministry so the PM would not have to make difficult decisions and to drain some before the elections to pay for votes…

When the rains come the place will flood EXACTLY as before….so um ain’t nuttin to do with dat!

32. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

hearing a lil buzz that VAT will be going up again. if this is ture, looking on the bring side…

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | May 3, 2013 at 11:47 PM |

“hearing a lil buzz that VAT will be going up again. if this is ture, looking on the bring side”

Are you surprised, mi amigo? It’s more than a buzz; it’s an inevitability. It is recommended that the rate be moved to a ‘rounded’ 20%.
    And to make things even interesting is that the Minister of Finance does not have any say in the matter. The lying buffoon is now only a loud mouthpiece.
    Hard ears you won’t hear, hard ears you will feel!

34. just want to know Avatar
    just want to know

Are they still saying no Public Workers will be going Home? Some of them really need to go.

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Why are Bajans Mad ?, Did some one lie to them for a vote ?or got paid for a vote . Did you all think the money was free , ? Now you have to pay it back , maybe with more VAT, based on lies.
    Both BLP/DLP is the same , Vote Different get Different .
    Vote the C .U.P next time and see TnT come to Barbados ,
    Both BLP /DLP Will be Audited and Who need to go to Jail Will go Jail.
    DPP replaced, Heads of departments who is in Fraud will also see Jail .
    As you can see Fraud get more time in Jail than drugs.

36. Problem with the buy election, the money is finished and the sheeple are broke and will soon be broke, hungry and jobless………………not so boastful and braggart anymore now they realize how everyone on the island will be impacted. Time to do what our foreparents did, come together and find a solution for survival. Can’t eat party colors now can ya?

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

He claims he is owed 20 million because government terminated the contract.AUDIT the COW.
    The BLP gave $100 MILLION contracts to COW for road and what ever each year? Over priced dividers at $15,000 each? If those numbers are right then what the hell DLP owe his ASS.
    Audit C O W also and all in this
    No more free land and roads to fix
    No worry when DLP / BLP tell the Truth , We will take back all his Bajans workers and change the name of the Company THE C.U.P

38. Something as important as not paying employees salaries is it good enough for Minister Lowe to issue a statement via a GIS release?

39. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Minister Lowe is also crook as i stated before , He also knows the truth and he also sit by and play his games. Dont expect nothing from him but more lies, non action .All of them went to bed after elections looking for more things to take. Looking for the end of each month for a pay check none of them earn , As soon as his lips move , he is telling a lie, More flies in the soup , dump the pot,

40. There needs to be an island wide audit………….just to get a handle on who did what with whom over the last 3 decades as it relates to the involvement of both parties DLP/BLP….there are still some warm bodies that are able to do time in prison.

41. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

JUST ASKING | May 2, 2013 at 11:28 PM | LET THE BLP run this country and teach the DLP how to run a Government.@JUST ASKING ,you are asking the wrong people .HAVE you ever seen a debate during elections? Well not this last time . Both side run from the C.U.P members .
    Truth stand alone , no lies need to be next , From the 15th of December when DAVID WAS BRAVE AND FREE TO POST THIS TITLE. All of them ran in to a whole ..
    All need to demand , which they will not do , for a debate on the truth.DLP/BLP Will never have an AUDIT while both sides in office sleeping , When the people after more than 20 years agree to let a 3rd PARTY IN OFFICE to show what they were not doing,(things the wrong way) a 3rd Party have nothing to hide, for the 3rd Party had no hand in the defraud of the Nation. Let their balls drop where they may. Now with about 22 lawyers in office , the ESQ, QCs will look to close ranks tight with the Oath of Crooks.
    When , Thy Kingdom Come and the Queens are gone , then and only then will see the Lords Pray… Say the Lords Pray Very Slow and loud to hear the Message .
    Hard Times are coming , get your can foods ready ,, This is a warning.