Update: Several persons still have not been paid and some have been paid from the date this letter was written. Some persons got all, half or part of the money that was owed to them, it is not that you purposely work without pay. When you are temporary in service and you are absent from work the money is deducted after your 14 days sick leave, when you are permanently appointed it is not. If you do not come to work because you are not being paid they don’t see it as an excuse you are still mandated to come to work. The only way to get your money is to resign and work elsewhere, easier said than done.

As far as we know the problem originates from Geriatric hospital who sends the paperwork late, then Ministry of Health who receives it then disappears. Then Personnel Administration Department where it magically appears and then disappears. The point is not to cast blame but to see how this can be improved. Management in those institutions do not care, if they did, they would ensure we are paid on time. School opening and my children don’t even have their school stuff as yet. I just wish the Minister would do something urgently about this.

68 responses to “No Salary II”

1. Colonel

What is your point? In 1994 I went to Bermuda and I was pleasantly surprised to see a beggar wearing a decent suit. That little boy could have had a prosperous existence with the finer things of life until this Government that specializes in creating poverty took a turn in his family, and the family did not have the heart to sell the little boy’s bicycle just yet. You ever thought of that?

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

You know I got a soft spot for you Caswell but let me tell you, re your comment that the blame is not PAD but the minister who allows the file to sit on his desk before signing off, that PAD plays its part in the long delays of wage payments. All of them do not do an efficient job and all of them do not give a rat ass about those who are not being paid as long as their are in receipt of their’s every month. The fault has a two way blaming street that stems from the lapse processes and absolutely zero enforcement of rules and regulations with in the Government run operations.

3. ac | September 8, 2014 at 9:16 PM |

“what eager 11, another big propaganda bomb that blew right up in the face of the blp yardfowls,, get over it,,,”

December 18, 2011: Stabroeknews.com: “Sinckler confirms that letter to Bajan PM was drafted”:

“(Barbados Nation) Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs Chris Sinckler has come clean on a NATION report that he and ten of his Government colleagues were seeking an “urgent audience” with Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to discuss matters of “grave” concern and to chart a path forward for the retention of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in Government.
    In a SUNDAY SUN exclusive, Sinckler confirmed that a letter had indeed been drafted with the names of the 11 DLP members affixed and for immediate dispatch to the Prime Minister.
    Consistent with this newspaper’s reports, he also said that members of the group were united in the quest to get the Prime Minister to meet “with respect to perceived weaknesses in our leadership of the country and a sense of drift and inertia arising there from”.
    But in an attempt to possibly explain why some of the 11 MPs had issued strong denials while threatening this newspaper with legal action, he said unfortunately the letter was leaked to THE NATION with “only about two or three people [having] actually seen the draft……”

Chris Sinckler “and ten of his Government colleagues” 1 + 10 = 11 [eager]

4. oh..well get over it blp yardfowls..go clean wunna house..the dlp is in tact..the eager or not so eager have set aside whatever differences that would have originated from this toothless leak…can,t say the same for the blp leadership who is constantly under political fire by former pm and member of the blp..go figure.. this story seems to be a solace of comfort for fools and political dreamers

5. @ Artexe
    It seems the norm for BU bloggers to rant and rave about what everyone else is or isn’t doing to get this country to where in needs to be. The usual suspects with the following – a question disguised as a statement – Making a personal statement and pretending it is someone else’s -Guilt trips -Confrontational statements
    – The “silent treatment” – The “no way out” question – Lie – contempt.
    What you all do for a living seems in question. A time and motion study will shorely show how cunning this country is becoming -Indipendance ? Seems you need a lot of help in the classroom…. Who is doing there job…

6. I read the bad news in the Nation this morning.

“but the post of ADR coordinator, which should have been created to run the programme, was put on hold due to the lack of funds.” LACK OF FUNDS.

“Royal Fidelity assistant vice president, Jillian Nunes, said there was “great concern” about “the slippery slope [Barbados’] sovereign debt rating has found itself on” SLIPPERY SLOPE.

7. Caswll Franklyn

What’s wrong with a begger wearing decent suit? Haven’t you given any thought to the fact that the suit could have been the only pair of clothing he has had? It tickles how some people make these judgements about others, based on a superficial ascertainment of the facts. Here in America, some people may see a begger with a top of the line pair of brand name shoes and automatically assumes he has money, or is doing well. Do not allow your prejudices to guide your decision on whether to or not to give to someone in need, always follow your intuition and moral conscience; it seems to be the best guide.

8. Caswell Franklyn | September 9, 2014 at 12:30 AM |
    Colonel

What is your point? …………………………, and the family did not have the heart to sell the little boy’s bicycle just yet. You ever thought of that?
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Colonel Buggy | September 8, 2014 at 11:27 PM |
    This is the point, Bro
    …….. this begging problem is mushrooming, due to the fact that many of us have got our priorities wrong.

9. You denied the existence of the “eager 11” by stating:

ac | September 8, 2014 at 9:16 PM |
    “what eager 11, another big propaganda bomb that blew right up in the face of the blp yardfowls,, get over it,,,”

Then you admitted to and confirmed their existence by stating the secret was leaked to the press (which could only be have done by a DLP member):

ac | September 9, 2014 at 8:13 AM |
    “the eager or not so eager have set aside whatever differences that would have originated from this toothless leak…”

When people stood in solidarity with the retrenched workers from the Drainage Unit, NHC, NCC, Transport Board, Beautify Barbados, and the other government agencies, you said that they were being unpatriotic and should put country before self. And in defense of the DLP, you said the retrenched workers were being sacrificed in the best interest of Barbados.
    You defended the government’s decision to break its own labour laws by withholding severance payments from the retrenched workers for a period of more than 2 months.

You criticized those retrenched workers who protested for not being paid their severance, by stating they should wait until they are paid, without being sympathetic to their plight. As in the case of Lisa Marshall, you were of the opinion that she should not receive her severance payments based on an unsubstantiated claim that she stole money, only because she showed up the tardiness of this DLP administration.

You admonished those persons who asked for the solid waste tax to be reviewed. You said they were unpatriotic since paying the tax would help the country and that the government should not review it.
    When Sinckler said they would review the tax, you were the first one to come to BU to inform us that a “caring DLP government listened to the voices of the people”.

Now you are defending the policy of delayed payments to civil servants:
    ac | September 8, 2014 at 1:51 PM |
    “so what we have here are a workload of people who are inequipped and can,t find jobs elsewhere ..living off govt payroll and becoming disgruntled..disgusting..”

The unemployment rate in Barbados has been recorded at 13.5%, thanks to the DLP’s failed economic policies and terminating over 3,000 public sector workers. Can you tell me where these people would gain employment if they leave the civil service?

Juxtapose this to my asking what Todd, Husbands, Sandiford-Garner and Ince are doing to merit a salary, your reply was:

ac | September 2, 2014 at 6:01 PM |
    “arterexes u are such a fart hole……these people were voted or appointed by the citizens of barbados and govt,,,now are they not entitled to what is due them,,where in the constitution does it say that a person must not be paid a wage for a service they provided unless proof to the contrary can be provided,,,”

Tell me where in the constitution does it state that these public sector employees should not be paid?

You don’t ever contribute anything that makes sense, yet you choose to contribute on each and every topic that comes to BU. AC, you are just a bloody nuisance who should be banned from contributing to BU.

10. ac | September 3, 2014 at 6:24 AM |
    “O.k so pull and turn the issue…. Facts are facts,,,,,,avoiding the truth is a way to avoid the issue,,,,, the issue here is whether govt officials selected by the voters and appointed by the govt and others whether in parliament or not collects salaries that they are not deserving of,,,,,”

The above was your replay to me asking what are the four losing DLP candidates do for the salaries they are currently earning.

Surely you must agree that these public sector who have to experience delays in payment of their salaries were “appointed by the government”, then why should they not collect salaries that they are deserving of as well?

11. steupse,where did i say people should not be paid by there employers.

12. @ Artaxerxes | September 9, 2014 at 7:29 PM |

Excellent dissection of ac’s rantings, Artaxerxes. As only you could! Well done!

13. Artaxerxes wrote AC, you are just a bloody nuisance who should be banned from contributing to BU.

AC should not be banned.

She must be accorded the privilege of continuously tormenting those who choose to read what she writes.

14. Prodigal Son | September 9, 2014 at 8:50 PM |

Thanks Prodigal.
    ……………………………………………………………………….
    Hants | September 9, 2014 at 10:04 PM |

“AC should not be banned. She must be accorded the privilege of continuously tormenting those who choose to read what she writes.”

Point taken Hants……… hahahahahaha

15. steupse………………………..long and hard

16. Holding our authority figures accountable for actions/decisions is a must. A good example is the hit being placed on the Commissioner of the an NFL to resign. Some (yardfowls) are comfortable focussing on the act others look to the source of the problem.

17. uh don,t just throw out the baby with the bathe tub …because a bunch of hooting and hollering yahoos say so. ..assessment of value is key