Submitted by Islandgal246
Jumas Restarant

My husband and daughter took me there for my birthday last week. He ordered Lobster, I ordered green curried shrimp and my daughter ordered curried fruit as the main. I had some bajan fish cakes and my daughter some curried pumpkin soup for appetizers. The appetizers were good. The main meal very disappointing. The lobster was a good size but was cooked with too many seasonings and came without melted butter. We had to ask that they bring us some. Lobster is best when it is grilled with some butter or steamed and should always be served with melted butter. The green curry shrimp was not really green curry at all. I expected a creamy sauce with coconut and the rice was sweetened. Now that was a first for me and it was disgusting. The shrimp were well cooked but the sweet rice the lack of coconut milk in the curry did not make it a Thai curry as they advertised. My daughter’s fruit curry was too sweet along with the sweetened rice. She left most of it. The deserts were below average . My husband ordered coconut cake and received a large slice of a heavy plain cake with no signs nor taste of coconut. We were expecting a white fluffy cake with coconut cream sprinkled with coconut. I ordered a rum and raisin cheesecake and found it boring and not very good. My daughter ordered a creme brulee and it was fair. Overall the staff were very pleasant the setting was beautiful BUT the food was very disappointing for the prices charged. Will not return nor recommend anyone. It is clear that they need a really good chef.

Jumas response – Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago

A few points to make in response to your review: Firstly you asked for two Re Discover set meals and ordered a bottle of red wine to go with those. However, when the waitress brought the red wine you had ordered from me you claimed you had ordered the white. The wine was changed without question. The rice that came with your main courses was not in any way sweetened – it was jasmine rice pure and simple. Our Thai curries are always well received and are exactly what they are stated to be – green or red curries.

You state that ‘lobster should always be served with melted butter’ Clearly you are entitled to your opinion but and you were brought melted butter. However, your claim that the lobster was cooked with too many herbs and spices is ludicrous. The lobster was cooked with teriyaki, ginger and garlic as is clearly stated on the menu and I must make the point that the gentleman eating the lobster cleaned his plate completely as did everyone on your table so I am a little baffled by your comment that your daughter left most of her meal.

Our coconut cake is very popular and is absolutely laden with fresh coconut. I asked you at every course if everything was satisfactory for you and you replied that it was so I find the content of your review rather strange being that if you had any genuine issues with the food you were given every opportunity to voice them but chose not to. Your comment about the chef is insulting – she is a very talented lady and the level of reviews and repeat customers that we get speaks volumes about this.

205 responses to “My Experience Eating Out at Juma’s Restaurant”

1. @islandgal
    “That someone should walk away from voicing their opinion? That cower to the pack and run away? No Pearlie I will continue to say what I have to say if I felt that I have not been given value for my money spent”

You did walk away, you did not have your say.to the restaurant, you chose the safety of the internet to vilify the restaurant and got all huffy when they fought back.
    Why you think that you have the moral high ground here and why David supports you in this is beyond me.
    By all means have your say, but it get over your victim complex.
    The rest of your post is just a childish ego trip.
    BTW, could you direct us to some positive restaurant reviews you have written? Serious question as I have been unable to find any. Probably my bad internet skills.

2. @Furry bear…….I will but it will be wasted on you since Chefette and KFC are all you know!

3. David I also “celebrate” by “fine dining” when I am in Barbados but the food is always just ok or in one instance my food was inedible.

4. yuh see what i mean..there islgal..goes again wid her razor sharp tongue all fired up tossing and throwing pot shots at local and international business who are the staple of our economy ..Straight jacket. please.

5. Hants | August 8, 2014 at 10:17 AM |
    re Bushie as you have noticed I am avoiding getting my brass CAPPED. lol

==================================
    Since bilateral cataract surgery and just before, when the ” floaters ” predominate its difficult to see what I am typing except when I use CAPS.

I wont apologise for using caps. I think at this age I should be allowed my convenience

be good and have a good day and enjoy mekking mock sport in the rum shop

6. @Firbear

Look at this way, many of the issues published by BU the same criticism can be made – why not send an email to the individual or company before we publish. It is a critique we acknowledge but justify our approqch given the pervasive nature of the problems that confront us.

7. @Firbear

YOU BOWLING WELL
    BALL WELL PITCHED UP AND WELL DIRECTED
    ISLAND GAL COME ON HEY YESTADUH MAWNING EXPECTING THE BU RUM SHOP GATHERING TO JUMP PUN SHE BANDWAGON……………..BUT NOT SO IT A GO
    THE CANTANKEROUS CLOWN GETTING LICK DOWN

TOO SWEET THOUGH IN DE RUM SHOP

8. I WROTE “I am avoiding getting my brass CAPPED.

LET ME BE CLEAR. I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH GEORGIE PORGIE POSTING IN CAPS.

I AM AVOIDING GETTING HIT BY SHRAPNEL AND CROSSFIRE FROM THE GP MISSILES FIRED AT MY BU RUMSHOP “FRIEND” BUSH TEA.

I IS A COWARD SO BUSHIE GINE HAVE TO FEND FUH HE SELF WHILE I RUN BOUT HIDING FROM GP.

9. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

GP, we need you pon stand by here quick quick to tend to isladngal after all dese warm licks and old blows she here getting. Murda. Dis is bare sport! Firbear got she like de mockstick dat she is. Cuddear! Somebody bring lil Limacol or smelling salts fa she, do.

10. @hants
    dont worry
    the worse i will do to you is send you to the RETREAT. LOL
    OR ASK YOU TO GO TO THE RETREAT

ONE DAY PEPPY CLARKE THREATENED THUS

THE NEXT BOY THAT TALKS IM GOING TO THROW HIM OUT

SOME ONE IN CLASS SINGS OUT
    SIR YOU MEAN ASK TO GO OUT OR SEND OUT SIR
    SO I WILL ASK YOU TO GO TO THE RETREAT

@ Pompasettin Pearlie | August 8, 2014 at 12:37 PM |
    GP, we need you pon stand by here quick quick to tend to isladngal after all dese warm licks and old blows she here getting.

SORRY PEARLIE I AM A DOCTOR ……….I AM NOT A VET!

11. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

,Ahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Murdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
    Oh Lord have mercy! David BU website mash up today! I gone fore GP mek me laugh til I pee myself in here!!! Murda!

12. @David
    You miss my point David.
    She had a meal in a restaurant with which she was dissatisfied even though they all cleared their plates(you see, I believe Juma the customer is NOT always right or truthful)
    Instead of complaining to the manager/head waiter/owner, she went online to give a character assassination of the restaurant and the owner.
    Not in the same league as exposing crooks and charlatans, which you do quite well may I add.
    She is no more than a coward and an internet bully who never expecte her victim to fight back.

@islandgal

I am waiting for the links with mounting excitement.
    Please stop mocking Chefette and KFC, it is all that many Bajans can afford for an occasional meal out.Stop being so snobbish.

13. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

islandgal NOT snobbish.
    SHE POOR GREAT
    ASK PEARLIE! MURDAH

14. Beefore you are allowed in a restaurant you should have to tell them what your favorite type of wine……whine is then they can decide whether to let you in or not.

15. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

lawson | August 8, 2014 at 1:22 PM |
    Beefore you are allowed in a restaurant you should have to tell them what your favorite type of wine……whine is then they can decide whether to let you in or not.

GOOD PUN LAWSON ! PUNS ARE FUN LOL
    GOOD BALL!

THE RUM SHOP REAL SWEET TODAY DAVID! LOL

16. @ Pompassetting Pearlie

Glad to see you. Glad to see you having some fun for an ole girl. Go back to looking out your window and I’ll see you nex elekshuns here pun BU.

17. @GP

Thanks for the shout out. I garden in the summer and spend most of my time outdoors. I also play bridge sometimes twice a week. This summer, I am also making a patchwork quilt for my bed. It is ‘queen sized’ and takes up most of my indoor time, although I have been lurking here on this space from time to time.

To tell the truth many of the topics don’t interest me and then there is the politicization of almost everything these days.

18. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

PAT
    RE To tell the truth many of the topics don’t interest me and then there is the politicization of almost everything these days.

I CAN RELATE TO THAT
    YOU ARE 100% CORRECT

19. @islandgal

Are you having trouble finding the positive reviews? Your internet skills must be as bad as mine.
    Or could it be that you have only ever posted 2 reviews, both negative?
    Is this because you have only dined out twice?
    Or could it be that you cannot be bothered to give a good review as negative reviews are the only ones that give you a feeling of power over restaurants?
    You are I think a coward, a liar and an internet bully and a very sad person who deserves a taste of the bullying that you dish out.

20. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Sus Chrise man, cuddear, firbear got she grabble-up like when one a dem pitbull dogs wring a bite in ya and don’t wanta leggo. Ya could lash dem wid a hoe or thrown ice water pon dem, dem aint letting go. She can’t get way from dis one. Ya powerful-foolish neh, well hold fa ya licks islandgal! A good dose a ya own own medicine.

Wunna got me laughin out loud loud loud in de lil house. People enough must be passing de front road and axing demself if Pearlie head gone and she want sending down Jenkins.

Look I gine hear and soak out dis piece a saltfish to do these couple fish cakes later on. Wunna too turble in here. Murda!

21. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Pompasettin Pearlie
    PUT ME IN FUH DE FISH CAKES HEAR?
    BUT YA RIGHT
    DAT LAST OVER FROM FIRBEAR GOT IN SIX BOUNCERS, RIGHT UP IN DE RIBS AND STRAIGHT AT DE HEAD
    MAYBE YOU SHOULD CALL TWO SONS FUH SHE

22. I took some time to read through the reviews for Jumas, it seems that most ppl enjoy their meal there. However, in the reviews which were not 100% flattering and the reviewer stated that they did not eat all of their meal for one reason or other, just like with islandgal, the manager responded that the plates were clean when they returned to the kitchen. Does he check every plate when it is returned to the kitchen?

Anyhow, islandgal you should have politely voice your dissatisfaction before you left the restaurant and the Manger could have been a bit more gracious in responding to the review because he knows he has a good product, as shown by most of the reviews on TA and he could just let that speak for itself. No need to go on about the wine you selecte etc. To me he came over as being petty.
    Well both of you did to some degree.

23. firbear | August 8, 2014 at 2:07 PM |
    @islandgal

“Are you having trouble finding the positive reviews? … Or could it be that you have only ever posted 2 reviews, both negative? Is this because you have only dined out twice?”

It’s obvious what happened. Passive-aggressive islandgal (who thinks she’s being attacked as a “local” even though she’s pretending to post reviews from Martinique) was being passive-aggressive so didn’t want to have a quiet word with the restaurant staff.

So she gets home and publishes a review for an international readership in which she says this restaurant needs another chef.

The owner of the business, quite legitimately, decides for once not to take this crap. So he writes a rebuttal. Islangal was expecting an apology, but she gets an actual rebuttal from a business.

So she thinks: “right, I a memba on a blog and I gonna post the review and the rebuttal and (i) everyone will support me and (ii) I’ll do so damage to the business of this fool who DARED to call me out.”

And then the whole thing backfired fantastically, making her look like an idiot.

24. Don’t all restaurants in Barbados have a box where you can voice your opinions using little slips that ask the customers how do they think the restaurant can make their dining experience more pleasant, what needs to be improved on the menu etc, it would make a lot of sense combined with the tripadvisor reviews.

Management would definitely have to pay attention to that, particularly if the customer is reluctant to complain before leaving the restaurant, they certainly would have no excuse for not complaining if the idea box is present and if they refuse to comply with suggestions on improvement, oh well, too bad.

25. Now I remember, they are called SUGGESTION BOXES and are used by banks, restaurants and all companies that are customer based, all restaurants in Barbados may want to really consider using them going forward.

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

well well for island gal it will be called a WHINE-ING BOX

27. GP……lol

28. look wu na “let up on islgal………..any how i looking forward to her next review ….. i hear its going to be a big wig hotel…….between me and wunna…..I HEAR SANDY LANE is next,, de woman don;t mek sport,,,,,,uh hear,,,,,,stay tuned,,,,

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

ISLAND GAL AND COMPANION ENTERS BIG WIG HOTEL AND ARE SEATED

THE WAITER APPROACHES AND ASKS HOW CAN I HELP YOU

ISLAND GAL SINGS OUT : GIVE ME THE WHINE LIST!

THEN YOU ORDERS A BUSTA AND A BREAD AND TWO

30. isl gal uh need to come out and defend yuhself,,,,for my part i ran out of stink bombs, to pelt at yuh,,,,,bush tea gone back in hiding cause he can’t take no more body blows from gp so that left yuh all by uh lonesome,, i think it is time to bring out that 2×4,,,

31. i love it red whine and seafood lol how can you judge cooking after that

32. AC
    Bush tea ‘gone in hiding’ because he has a life and can’t sit at a computer 24/7 like some….
    …also bush tea realizes that in the land of the mediocre, it is foolhardy to try to operate as one would in a high quality environment.

This post from Islandgal is a case in point….
    She goes to a HIGH END restaurant for a SPECIAL occasion and subsequently complains that the experience did not quite live up to her HIGH expectations.
    High quality establishments are EXPECTED to cater to unique and discriminating taste……that is what EXCLUSIVE means.

In serious organizations that espouse high quality service, they actually SEEK OUT people like Islandgal to come in and critique their service as they seek to perfect their craft. They APPRECIATE such feedback and use it to move to even higher levels of excellence.

Not surprisingly, the collection of losers on BU – including the management of the place- goes down the line of whether the food was eaten (how the hell is that even a consideration? Wuh this is a canteen?), and whether the customer made a fuss during the meal – those kind of people don’t frequent expensive restaurants…..

High quality is NOT a coincidence. It is the result of careful and maticulous planning and execution and, in the case of customer service, of LISTENING to all your customers and responding to their genuine concerns, desires and suggestions,
    Indeed, customers are ENCOURAGED to give feedback after the meal…..so then there would be NO NEED to come on BU.

Uncouth louts think that by hammering customers who complain (feedback), their business will somehow be enhanced….?
    What a joke…..
    What a joke of a place…..
    What BBs…..

33. PROFESSOR BRASS BOWL u somehow missed the mark on this one,,,NO BODY SAID THAT ISGAL SHOULD NOT COMPLAIN……..NOBODY,,,,,, PEOPLE TOOK UMBRAGE TO HER ATTITUDE AND THE WAY IN WHICH SHE HANDLE THE SITUATION… BY THE USE OF OVERKILL…… WHICH WAS TOTALLY UNCALLED…IT WAS LIKE TAKING A SLEDGE HAMMER TO KILL A FRIGGIN ANT..

34. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

AC
    THE WOMAN WAS WHINE-ING AND EVEN THE BB’S ON BU GAVE HER A BASHING
    THE SEWER RAT COME AGAIN TALKING ABOUT MEDIOCRITY

HE KNOWS A LOT ABOUT IT
    HE EVEN CONFESSED THAT HE IS MEDIOCRE- A RETARD

BARE SPORT IN THE RUM SHOP MAN

35. @ac

How is your plant purchased from islandgal doing? What is the name of it again?

36. i put it on ebay for sale,,,the response was good,,,,,so far even with the rotting roots the buyer has not,,, complained ,,,,,,,,, hopefully that ends the saga of the rotten plant,, u happy now,,,

37. @ac

Ebay huh?

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

GOOD RESPONSE AC

39. LOL
    You KNOW that you have reached the bottom of the pile when you find yourself slinking around BU behind ac….Ha Ha Ha

Two pathological BU liars….one a slave to the DLP and the other to his ego and to an illogical religious dogma that he does not even understand.

Of all the people to talk about someone’s “ATTITUDE” we have ac the DLP dickhead and, GP the uncouth self-praising, christian lout.

Joke of the day!

40. professor brass bowl u are one slime ball…… u called me a DH.. u hater……now what on earth have possessed your retarded mind…. words to such effect ,, only emits from gutter rats,,, are u one ..just asking……..

41. an illogical religious dogma
    THAT IS ACCEPTED ALL AROUND THE WORLD BY BIBLE SCHOLARS WHOSE BOOKS AND CDS ETC FILL MANY A LIBRARY AND BIBLE BOOK SHOPS

YET NO ONE HAS SEEN THE NAME OF THIS RETARD IN ANY OF THESE BOOKS AS AN AUTHOR OR EBEN IN THE BIBLIOGRAPHY

that he does not even understand.

I UNDERSTAND IT WELL AND MANY BELIEVERS IN SEVERAL COUNTRIES KNOW THAT I UNDERSTAND

MANY ON BU UNDERSTAND THAT I UNDERSTAND

A RETARD IS NO MUCH FOR A SCHOLAR
    I WILL BOAST ABOUT IT TILL I DIE

42. ac review………..fat assess……….too much cellulite,,,,,,,tooo pale skinned……….need to get in the gym……….good grief,,,,,,,,,,,

43. bush tea david put up a menus for u to grab hold of,,,,,,,,lots of tail and not talking about lobster,,,,,,looks like plenty butter was put to suffice,,,,,,

44. AC
    ALSO LOTS OF WHINE-ING TOO

45. Memo from Brazil to Germany who needs the world Cup?

46. David it is disappointing that out of a population that includes 16 million black people only light skin women competing.

Should we say “enhanced booty with implants”?

47. JUMAS Restaurant still taking a beating:

https://twitter.com/JumasBarbados

48. Aint got nuttin to do wid de food. Like many other establishments in Bim, set up by foreigners, the funds are always questionable.

49. Never wrote it had anything to do with the food Pat.

On 2 November 2014 16:46, Barbados Underground wrote: