Submitted by Islandgal246
Jumas Restarant

My husband and daughter took me there for my birthday last week. He ordered Lobster, I ordered green curried shrimp and my daughter ordered curried fruit as the main. I had some bajan fish cakes and my daughter some curried pumpkin soup for appetizers. The appetizers were good. The main meal very disappointing. The lobster was a good size but was cooked with too many seasonings and came without melted butter. We had to ask that they bring us some. Lobster is best when it is grilled with some butter or steamed and should always be served with melted butter. The green curry shrimp was not really green curry at all. I expected a creamy sauce with coconut and the rice was sweetened. Now that was a first for me and it was disgusting. The shrimp were well cooked but the sweet rice the lack of coconut milk in the curry did not make it a Thai curry as they advertised. My daughter’s fruit curry was too sweet along with the sweetened rice. She left most of it. The deserts were below average . My husband ordered coconut cake and received a large slice of a heavy plain cake with no signs nor taste of coconut. We were expecting a white fluffy cake with coconut cream sprinkled with coconut. I ordered a rum and raisin cheesecake and found it boring and not very good. My daughter ordered a creme brulee and it was fair. Overall the staff were very pleasant the setting was beautiful BUT the food was very disappointing for the prices charged. Will not return nor recommend anyone. It is clear that they need a really good chef.

Jumas response – Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago

A few points to make in response to your review: Firstly you asked for two Re Discover set meals and ordered a bottle of red wine to go with those. However, when the waitress brought the red wine you had ordered from me you claimed you had ordered the white. The wine was changed without question. The rice that came with your main courses was not in any way sweetened – it was jasmine rice pure and simple. Our Thai curries are always well received and are exactly what they are stated to be – green or red curries.

You state that ‘lobster should always be served with melted butter’ Clearly you are entitled to your opinion but and you were brought melted butter. However, your claim that the lobster was cooked with too many herbs and spices is ludicrous. The lobster was cooked with teriyaki, ginger and garlic as is clearly stated on the menu and I must make the point that the gentleman eating the lobster cleaned his plate completely as did everyone on your table so I am a little baffled by your comment that your daughter left most of her meal.

Our coconut cake is very popular and is absolutely laden with fresh coconut. I asked you at every course if everything was satisfactory for you and you replied that it was so I find the content of your review rather strange being that if you had any genuine issues with the food you were given every opportunity to voice them but chose not to. Your comment about the chef is insulting – she is a very talented lady and the level of reviews and repeat customers that we get speaks volumes about this.

205 responses to “My Experience Eating Out at Juma’s Restaurant”

1. i know fuh sure who will never be on my GUEST LIST, for dinner,,,,.oops that reminds me i have to scratch that name off,,,,, ISGAL

2. The Point Being ??? Avatar
    The Point Being ???

Lets not fuss over this,too much, the complainer obviously knows not of what he or she speaks. It may well be a first time outing at a restaurant and may have been overwhelmed by what they were faced with, lets hope the next time he or she does venture out it maybe to Kentucky or Chefette where it is not as intimidating as the other outing was.

3. While islandgal246 may or may not be accustomed to fine dining, granted that customer may not always be right, nevertheless Juma’s behaved like a pig in rebutting the critique and it makes me think twice before eating there on that basis alone. Plus having called there and spoken to some huffy Brit accent when making a simple query (based on their pesky e-blasts which invade my Inbox and I never even gave them my e-mail address) has also not added to the rep, watch out folks! Another Brit who feels because the UK owned here feels they still run things….

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal

You are getting too old for this s. ..t: get a life!

5. Why not try Bo’s restaurant next door? Same view, lovely service, straightforward food, laid back ambience.

6. not all expats are Avatar
    not all expats are

Oh, Islandgal, your post shows your naivete. You surely cannot be an island gal. People come to the Caribbean for the sun, sand, and sea. Go to Paris or Italy for food. That being said, your review shows your ethnocentric arrogance: Everything should be like it is back home. Then stay home! There is no right way and wrong way to prepare food. There are different ways. I consider Juma’s food delicious.

By the way, did you see the real news today? ie, Gaza genocide. I ditto Caswell’s comment. Get a grip on what’s important.

7. This is what BU is for?!!! Posters personal pettiness. Well I wont be recommending Barbados for a vacation, the people are clearly too maliciously opinionated.

8. ”Go to Paris or Italy for food. ”

Must be joking. Barbados has excellent restaurants and even the ‘food van’s’ food is tasty and clean. Witness the number of tourists who eat even at the van’s near the sea.

But, yes, go to Paris just for food is you want to pay 3 times the average world rate, even just for a glass of wine or beer.

PS – http://www.thedailymeal.com/sandwich-week-cuzs-blue-marlin-cutter

9. And look… http://www.newsweek.com/top-chefs-choose-101-best-places-eat-around-world-64455

Quote ”BARBADOS

CUZ’S FISH STAND
    Bridgetown, off Highway 7 near Needham’s Point
    Specialty: Blue Marlin Sandwich

“It’s a fish shack with a line out the door. From a cook’s point of view, everything is wrong with their sandwiches, like the cheese on them, but they’re so delicious.”
    —Marcus Samuelsson, Red Rooster Harlem, New York”

10. I beg to differ ..I have eaten in Restaurants in Paris, London, and several Caribbean islands so I know what fine dining is. What I am stating is that when you are paying good money for bad food it becomes a problem. When I read most of the reviews they were good and that was why I decided to try Jumas.

Eating out in Barbados is and miss and I will be missing in future. The reviews that were critical from tourist, Jumas responded with an apology to start with. I found that me being a local they came attacking me. When you ask a client in a restaurant if everything is ok with several other customers within earshot by what do you expect the client to say? We didn’t want to embarrass the restauranteur at that particular time. When my husband went to pay, the restauranteur never asked him what he thought of the food and service. If he had my husband would have told him because there were no customers within earshot.

I have asked many friends who live here if they have ever tried Jumas and many told me that it was not good. AC I won’t ever want to be your dinner guest. The stupidity you write on BU is a clear indication of what you will serve up at the dinner table. And pray tell why would anyone want to accept an invitation from a yard fowl like you?

I think it all boils down to when someone criticizes a business, the business needs to look at it constructively and see where they can improve. Barbados’s main industry is Tourism and should be giving value for money. The problem is many of you have never been exposed to different cuisines so your views will be narrow. Many of you all will pay and grumble behind their back but are afraid to voice their opinion openly.

Thank you Victor I have never heard of Bo’s. @ Caswell you are simply the pits and very limited. @the pointed jackass your are extremely stupid to suggest that I try Cheffette and KFC. Perhaps they work for your sandpaper pallette but not for me.

11. @not all expats are……Why don’t you go to Gaza and fight instead of flapping your gums?

12. isgal the point is that it seems like u never have anything good to say about the restaurant that u visit in barbados,,,,,,,how about giving a critique of those that u have had favourable service,,,these long winded bad mouthing of restaurants coming from one person( you ) becomes boring and monotonous , ac agree u need to go get a life…..better yet open yuh own dam restaurant ,,,bon appetit

13. i have had piss poor service in international restaurants,,,,,,but i make it my business to call customer service to resolve the matter,,,not every day is going to be a good day,,shit happens in business…….however waging a PR war on these small business becomes petty in as much it can lead to a financial loss for the company and slow customer activity ..because of one customer experience,,,,,,such petty shite can be resolved,,,,without being mean spirited and vindictive,,BTW the potted plant i bought from YOU ,,the roots were rotting,,notice when i attempted to replant it….now go figure,,,,,,,,

14. AC I do not sell potted plants you have the wrong person and probably you killed it with too much watering stupid!

15. And AC if I ever sold a plant that is not up to standard I will replace it. In fact I am selling out my palms you want to buy any? LOLL

16. @ not all expats are | August 7, 2014 at 3:52 AM |
    “People come to the Caribbean for the sun, sand, and sea. Go to Paris or Italy for food.”
    You sound terribly pretentious. Why would anyone take a vacation in the Caribbean or any other destination without actively sampling the food, the people, the local culture, et al.

May I suggest that you broaden your horizons?

17. @IG
    Perhaps, given your experiences you should dine out less frequently. Perfection is rare and if you are not satisfied, then you ought to speak up and not worry about hurting anyone’s feelings. It is not an insult…you are the (paying) consumer, they are at your service!

18. Jeff I am not looking for perfection only a good meal that is worth the money I am paying. How can we/Barbados improve without criticism? What does this say about our Tourism product? Yes there are some good restaurants, Mangoes was great but that has closed and Juma opened up in its place. Champers is another good one but since I live in the North of the island I thought I would try one close to home. As stated the ambiance was great but the food was disappointing. I won’t be trying new restaurants I will stick to the ones I know that are good. Zacchios is another not so bad restaurant but was tired with its menu.

19. @ islandgal246

First it was your Fairmont Hotel Restaurant experience and now this. Stay home and cook what you what if you want everything to be to your liking. Different chefs prepare meals differently depending on their style and the type of establishment it is.

20. TJ …..you still don’t get what I am saying. It has passed way over your head!

21. I think Jumas could have handled this better.

22. Good news travels far but bad news even further. Appease before defending is what I believe is more appropriate .

23. @islandgal

Keep the critiques coming. Let the word spread in Barbados that they need to be on their game because there is the BU food critic who may visit. Absolutely nothing wrong with your approach, we can’t moan and bellyache about poor service and not speak out about it. Tourists do it all day via TripAdvisor, Facebook and other social media channels, the hospitality sector is too important to treat with customer service issues in a business as usual mode.

24. We’ve been to Jumas several times and had excellent food and service. If I have an issue with something in a restaurant I bring it to the waiter or waitress’ attention and give them a chance to sort it out. This can be done quietly and politely without disturbing anyone else in the restaurant.

25. Isgal i belive u are being mischievious and petty .given that most reviews has been positive a fairminded individual would have given the benefit to the restaurant..and maybe if visit again and receive the same serviceone would have every right to openly complained ..u approach. smacks of arrogance and selfishness without thought or. concern on how such bad publicity can affect the employees livlihood if closure result

26. AC Do you think I have another set of money to throw away? Please shut to hell up. Publicity is good. The bad makes one examine improve and raise the bar. If you are in business serving the public then listen to your customers.

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is indeed very strange when AC and I are on the same page. Stop your crap Islandgal and learn to cook.

28. Caswell you should be pitied you are the epitome of an uncultured boor. Go play with your dolls!

29. @
    I wouldn’t have cared less if others heard me,I would have let them have it straight up but only AFTER dining and before paying.They can do nasty things to your subsequent servings.
    I think you have done the proper thing and I find the response typically working class Brit–uncouth and arrogant.Thanks for the heads up.

30. Oh..islgal..one a note of interest..i noticed your response when i brought to your attention the condition of the purchased plant..firstly was to blamed (me)who was the customer…even though if i might have taken such a response as an offensive..the last thing on my mind would have been wanting to take action which could reflect negatively on your business.at times before were response or lash out..maybe it is best to put ourselves in such circumstances

31. @Caswell

Agree we should know how to cook but some people – the BU household included – like to do fine dining to celebrate, explore etc and it is a right of any individual who can afford it.

32. There is no harm in IslandGal246 writing about her experience at Juma’s.

The restaurant has a good rating on TripAdvisor so IG246 was must have been there on a bad night.

33. AC you never purchased a plant from me and you are LYING! What is the name of the plant ?

34. David fine dining for Bajans is about “celebration.”

For real Bajans there is no substitute for good home cooked Bajan food.Period.

May I add that the best lobster I have eaten was one I shot while spearfishing and roasted on the beach. No butter. No salt.
    Roast flying fish and fresh raw sea eggs ( when legally harvested ) are also culinary delights.

35. Fine dining in Barbados means expensive dining,it has nothing to do with quality of the food, portion size or value for money.
    For Islandgirl to dismiss Chefette and KFC as not good enough for her speaks volumes. Good enough for the poorer underclass but not for her ‘cos she rich and better than them.
    Those that criticise Juma for responding to a public pillorying should ask themselves what they should have done. Roll over and take it, when they felt the attack was unjustified?
    It seems that they ate all of the food before coming on BUTRIPADVISOR to complain.
    And BTW, just because someone makes the effort to speak good English it does not automatically make him a Brit or a neo-colonial.

36. @ Hants
    You said it!

37. bare mock sport in de rum shop
    david running out of shite topics so we have to hear about island gals dining fiascos
    and we have to read her insults to those who fail to toes the line
    bare mock sport in de rum shop
    we just missing proffesor brass bowl now lol lol lol

In the 4th Investec Test: England v India at Old Trafford Manchester the score is India 152 (46.4 ov)

38. @Firbear

Have you not dined out, ate the food, but was not particularly impressed?

Also, dealing with customer complaints require some tact even if you know you are correct.

39. David I have a policy when it comes to dining out.

Do not complain. Do not send back food that doesn’t taste okay. Pay the bill, leave and never return.

Did that at one of the best restaurants in Barbados.

40. Jumas management whoever you are are

I love your rebuttal of the criticism given you by this johhny come lately and poor great fool

absolutely spot on

i particularly like when you say

: Firstly you asked for two Re Discover set meals and ordered a bottle of red wine to go with those. However, when the waitress brought the red wine you had ordered from me you claimed you had ordered the white. The wine was changed without question.
    POOR JUMAS HE DID NOT KNOW HE WAS DEALING WID A CANTANKEROUS RUDE NEW NIGGER

The rice that came with your main courses was not in any way sweetened – it was jasmine rice pure and simple. Our Thai curries are always well received and are exactly what they are stated to be – green or red curries.
    BUT HOW DID SHE NOT KNOW AND UNDERSTAND THIS?
    SHE IS ONE DAT NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING

You state that ‘lobster should always be served with melted butter’ Clearly you are entitled to your opinion but and you were brought melted butter.

MR JUMAS YOU DIDNT KNOW THAT YOU WERE DEALING WID A CANTANKEROUS MORON

WHowever, your claim that the lobster was cooked with too many herbs and spices is ludicrous. The lobster was cooked with teriyaki, ginger and garlic as is clearly stated on the menu and I must make the point that the gentleman eating the lobster cleaned his plate completely as did everyone on your table so I am a little baffled by your comment that your daughter left most of her meal.

I LIKE THIS PARAGRAPH THE BEST
    ISLAND GAL HUSBAND CLEAN HE PLATE CAUSE THE FOOD DID TASTE SO GOOD AND MUCH BETTER THAN WUH HE DOES GET AT HOME

Your comment about the chef is insulting – she is a very talented lady and the level of reviews and repeat customers that we get speaks volumes about this.

JUMAS SIR YOU GOT TO UNDERSTAND THAT THAT IS WHAT SHE DOES BEST

EXCUSE THIS POST MENOPAUSAL MORON JUMAS
    :

41. JUMAS SIR

DONT WORRY BOUT SHE HEAR?
    NEARLY ALL THE REVIEWS ABOUT YOUR PLACE ARE GOOD
    YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THAT IN BARBADOS WE HAVE SOME WITH CHAMPAGNE TASTE AND MAUBY POCKETS WHO LIKE TO PRETEND THEY KNOW IT ALL

NOW BU CARRYING A FOOD CRITIC AND EXPERT?
    MAN EVEN DE RUM SHOP REGULARS GIVING SHE DUST

BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE RUM SHOP
    IT GWINE BE CAT pISS AND PEPPA BOUT HEY ah lie?

42. @David

Sure I have and I adopt the Hants method.
    Tact is a two way thing. If she had a legitimate complaint, taking it on to BU was not exactly tactful or a route to resolution.
    The fact that she states that food was sent back but Jumas refute this suggests that there is room to doubt her story. Why assume that she is telling the whole truth?
    Why is it ok forr her to malign a business on the internet but not ok for the business to defend itself using the same medium?
    What qualifies her as a food critic?

BTW, going by the TA reviews she is in a VERY small minority.

43. @Hants and Firbear

Point taken but understand yours is one of several options a customer may chose to react, we are all different. Islandgal like other Bajans who are becoming increasingly pissed at poor service in Barbados they have taken to social media to fight back. Bear in mind we don’t have a consumerisy culture in Barbados.

At the national level NISE was established to respond to the need to improve customer service in Barbados.

44. “For Islandgirl to dismiss Chefette and KFC as not good enough for her speaks volumes. ”
    ROTFLMAO…Firbear …..that is why you are riddled with nuff diabetes and high blood pressure. Yes Chefette and KFC is not included in my restaurant circle. Your limited knowledge of food that is good for you is clearly evident. I won’t get into the gutter to eat with you or anyone. You seem to be suffering badly from an inferiority complex.

45. firbear | August 7, 2014 at 11:48 AM |
    one is forced to agree wid you sah

What qualifies her as a food critic?
    I TINK SHE DOES WATCH IRON CHEF AMERICA AND CHOPPED. LOL

going by the TA reviews she is in a VERY small minority.

DAT IS TRUE BUT DAT DONT MATTER TO BU , SHE IS A LONG STANDING MEMBA OF THE BU RUM SHOP FAMBLE

RE taking it on to BU was not exactly tactful or a route to resolution.
    THIS CANTANKEROUS WOMAN AINT NOSEN UTTIN BOUT TACT SHE NOSE ONLY BOUT AT-TACK!

RE The fact that she states that food was sent back but Jumas refute this suggests that there is room to doubt her story. Why assume that she is telling the whole truth?

I BELIEVE THE JUMAS MAN 100% AND MOST O DE REGLARS IN DE RUM SHOP BELIEVE JUMAS TOO

RE Why is it ok forr her to malign a business on the internet but not ok for the business to defend itself using the same medium?

SHE THOUGHT THAT SHE COULD CHALLENGE LIKE WHEN SHE PUN BU——–AFTER ALL DAT IS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU. ITS CALLED ROBUST DEBATE.

I LIKE THE WAY JUMAS RESPONDED TO SHE ELOQUENTLY AND ELEGANTLY AND ERUDITELY EXPOSED THE FACT THAT ISLAND GAL HUSBAND YAM OFF ALL DE FOOD IN HE PLATE CLEAN

JUMAS YOU TO SWEET MAN YOU TOO SWEET

46. David I fully support a person’s right to complain.

47. slandgal246 | August 7, 2014 at 12:09 PM |
    “For Islandgirl to dismiss Chefette and KFC as not good enough for her speaks volumes. ”
    ROTFLMAO…Firbear …..that is why you are riddled with nuff diabetes and high blood pressure.

WHERE IN DE MEDICAL LITTERATURE DOES IT SAY THAT EATING AT Chefette and KFC IS A CAUSE FOR DIABETES

WHERE IN DE MEDICAL LITTERATURE DOES IT SAY THAT EATING AT Chefette and KFC IS AN AETIOLOGICAL FACTOR FOR DIABETES PER SE?

48. Hants | August 7, 2014 at 12:13 PM |
    David I fully support a person’s right to complain.

I AGREE WID YOU 100%
    ITS CALLED CHALENGING AND ITS BARE FUN ESPECIALLY WHEN THE CHALENGERS GET CHALLENGED BACK

49. @David
    The point is though David, she id not complain about the service. Had she done so then maybe she would have had more sympathy.
    Service in Barbados is regarded as synonymous with servility.. Fire some of the disinterested rude checkout women in the supermarkets and the shop assistants more interested in gossiping and texting than serving customers and it will send a clear message.