Submitted by Islandgal246
Jumas Restarant

My husband and daughter took me there for my birthday last week. He ordered Lobster, I ordered green curried shrimp and my daughter ordered curried fruit as the main. I had some bajan fish cakes and my daughter some curried pumpkin soup for appetizers. The appetizers were good. The main meal very disappointing. The lobster was a good size but was cooked with too many seasonings and came without melted butter. We had to ask that they bring us some. Lobster is best when it is grilled with some butter or steamed and should always be served with melted butter. The green curry shrimp was not really green curry at all. I expected a creamy sauce with coconut and the rice was sweetened. Now that was a first for me and it was disgusting. The shrimp were well cooked but the sweet rice the lack of coconut milk in the curry did not make it a Thai curry as they advertised. My daughter’s fruit curry was too sweet along with the sweetened rice. She left most of it. The deserts were below average . My husband ordered coconut cake and received a large slice of a heavy plain cake with no signs nor taste of coconut. We were expecting a white fluffy cake with coconut cream sprinkled with coconut. I ordered a rum and raisin cheesecake and found it boring and not very good. My daughter ordered a creme brulee and it was fair. Overall the staff were very pleasant the setting was beautiful BUT the food was very disappointing for the prices charged. Will not return nor recommend anyone. It is clear that they need a really good chef.

Jumas response – Jumas_management, Owner at Jumas Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago

A few points to make in response to your review: Firstly you asked for two Re Discover set meals and ordered a bottle of red wine to go with those. However, when the waitress brought the red wine you had ordered from me you claimed you had ordered the white. The wine was changed without question. The rice that came with your main courses was not in any way sweetened – it was jasmine rice pure and simple. Our Thai curries are always well received and are exactly what they are stated to be – green or red curries.

You state that ‘lobster should always be served with melted butter’ Clearly you are entitled to your opinion but and you were brought melted butter. However, your claim that the lobster was cooked with too many herbs and spices is ludicrous. The lobster was cooked with teriyaki, ginger and garlic as is clearly stated on the menu and I must make the point that the gentleman eating the lobster cleaned his plate completely as did everyone on your table so I am a little baffled by your comment that your daughter left most of her meal.

Our coconut cake is very popular and is absolutely laden with fresh coconut. I asked you at every course if everything was satisfactory for you and you replied that it was so I find the content of your review rather strange being that if you had any genuine issues with the food you were given every opportunity to voice them but chose not to. Your comment about the chef is insulting – she is a very talented lady and the level of reviews and repeat customers that we get speaks volumes about this.

205 responses to “My Experience Eating Out at Juma’s Restaurant”

1. firbear | August 7, 2014 at 12:18 PM |
    DAVID WILL DEFEND THE BU FAMBLE MEMBA AND REGLAR I DE RUM SHOP
    DONT EXPECT HIM TO BE ABLE TO DISSECT A COMPLAINT “about the service.” AND THE RANT OF ONE WHO TINKS SHE NOSE EVATING BOUT FINE DINING

2. I am clueless to this sort of thing but I thought customer service would have been the first step.A call, a sit down, an email perhaps?

3. @islandgal246

Rather than an inferiority complex, I am aware of my abilities and secure in the knowledge that I am certainly wider travelled and have eaten in finer restaurants than you could possibly aspire to.
    All of this does not give me a superiority complex and inflated ego such as you appear to have.
    Blood pressure normal, no diabetes……..sorry.

4. I used to like both Chefette and KFC but couldn’t eat their chicken and rotis because there was too much salt for my taste.

The only thing I can eat is the fish sandwich and ice cream.

To be fair the average Bajan like nuff salt and in their drinks nuff sugar so my comments are tempered by the fact that I do not cook with salt and do not add sugar to anything I drink.

5. @Firbear

Understood but as Hants commented individuals will react to bad service, and we may debate what is’bad’, it is our right to do so in this fair land.

6. NO SUCKABUBBY
    NOT WHEN IT COME TO ISLAND GAL SAH
    SHE IS AN ATTACK DOG AND A CHALLENGER- SHE IS A BU CHALLENGER NO LESS

7. @Hants
    Not liking the food and therefore not going back for more is the sensible way IMO.
    Going online an complaining that it is not to your taste is a power trip.

8. Causes of type 1 diabetes

The exact cause of type 1 diabetes is unknown. What is known is that your immune system — which normally fights harmful bacteria or viruses — attacks and destroys your insulin-producing cells in the pancreas. This leaves you with little or no insulin. Instead of being transported into your cells, sugar builds up in your bloodstream.

Type 1 is thought to be caused by a combination of genetic susceptibility and environmental factors, though exactly what many of those factors are is still unclear.

Causes of prediabetes and type 2 diabetes

In prediabetes — which can lead to type 2 diabetes — and in type 2 diabetes, your cells become resistant to the action of insulin, and your pancreas is unable to make enough insulin to overcome this resistance. Instead of moving into your cells where it’s needed for energy, sugar builds up in your bloodstream.

Exactly why this happens is uncertain, although it’s believed that genetic and environmental factors play a role in the development of type 2 diabetes. Being overweight is strongly linked to the development of type 2 diabetes, but not everyone with type 2 is overweight.

Causes of gestational diabetes

During pregnancy, the placenta produces hormones to sustain your pregnancy. These hormones make your cells more resistant to insulin.

Normally, your pancreas responds by producing enough extra insulin to overcome this resistance. But sometimes your pancreas can’t keep up. When this happens, too little glucose gets into your cells and too much stays in your blood, resulting in gestational diabetes.

I GOOGLED THAT ONE

9. firbear | August 7, 2014 at 12:33 PM |
    Not liking the food and therefore not going back for more is the sensible way IMO.
    Going online an complaining that it is not to your taste is a power trip.

THAT DESCRIBES ISLAND GAL TO A T
    BTW SHE IS A PSEUDO PSYCHOLOGIST TOO BESIDES BEING A PSEUDO FOOD CRITIC

10. @David
    Hants has it right.
    Food not to my taste is NOT bad service it is my subjective opinion.
    A slopping soup on the table and grunting when challenged IS bad service and completely objective.

11. @David
    Should read” A waiter”

12. @DAVID
    THIS firbear FELLA LIKE HE GOT MORE THAN ACADEMIC TROPHIES YUH
    HE GOT YOU AND ISLAND GAL TIE DOWN YUH
    THAT IS GREAT FAST BOWLING
    BARE FUN IN DE RUM SHOP
    I CAME DOWN AT 11 THIS MORNING ITS ALMOST 1 NOW AND I HAVE NOT FINISHED READING MY EMAIL OR EVEN BOTHERED TO WATCH CRICKET YET

BARE MOCK SPORT AND FUN IN DE RUM SHOP ah lie?
    great entertainment

13. @Firbear

Don’t agree on the definition because for example some vegetables cooked soft or served cold has to be defined as poor service but your general point is taken.

14. so isgal..why are u getting all bent out of shape over the plant which i purchased from your place of business..when all it takes was a cordial way of resolution..by the way which you had attempted but somewhat diverted on a path to malign my character.so unprofessional..yet u seems to expect a different.standard when the tabes are turned on you.

15. @ David
    As is your point.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You must forgive Islandgal, she is more accustomed to a bread and two.

17. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

lord have mercy caswell
    ya didnt have to hit she so hard man

is a two wid saltfish or wid saltfish essence lol
    de rum sweet sweet david
    ya cant pay for dis man

18. Businesses should do this much more when a rampant ego on a power trip internationally maligns an employee instead of having a quiet word at the time.

Don’t want to complain when others are in earshot, so I’ll wait to get home and then announce my dissatisfaction TO THE ENTIRE WORLD. what a joke.

Good on the Jumas people for not taking a spanking lying down.

19. Although some BU contributors may conclude that Islandgal246 is blowing the situation out of proportion, she is entitled to raise her concerns with the management of Jumas Restaurant, if she thought in any way that the service she received was poor.

However, I think the real issue here is the response of management who, from the context in which their reply was “composed”, appeared to be on the defensive. Essentially, management is saying they employ top quality chefs, and as such, the customer not being versed in the culinary arts is not qualified to critique the chef’s food.

Proper customer service protocol would dictate that management listen to the customer’s complaint, apologize for any inconvenience caused and either give her a refund, invite her for a complimentary dinner, or both. Hotels and restaurants do these things so as to keep their reputation intact and to avoid bad publicity which may ultimately lead to a fall off in business.

I find that many Barbadians are afraid to complain when they receive poor customer service [from certain establishments], but they would seek to defend that establishment as opposed to complainant.
    If Islandgal had gone into Ms Jones’ village bar/restaurant and complained after buying food which was of poor quality, you can bet that she would get support from the other customers in boycotting the bar. As a result, Ms Jones’ sales would fall dramatically. These same people would go into Chefette, receive poor service while purchasing their salty food….. but complain about it outside, hence Haloutte can have 15 Chefettes in Barbados.

20. We must remember, when tourists stay at hotels or patronize restaurants, and receive poor service, although some may complain to management, you can be sure that they will make their “official” complaint to Trip Advisor.

Potential travelers will often refer to Trip Advisor for advice on the best hotels at which to stay to, since this site will post ALL complaints for the world to see.

21. “Although some BU contributors may conclude that Islandgal246 is blowing the situation out of proportion, she is entitled to raise her concerns with the management of Jumas Restaurant, if she thought in any way that the service she received was poor.”

Indeed she has and had she done so rather than rushing into print on the internet I am sure that the matter would have been settled amicably.
    Why she felt the need to do this rather than a face to face discussion with Jumas is beyond understanding.

I really do think that you are misreading the Juma defence of his restaurant as it seems that all is not as islandgal portrays.

Disclaimer. I am not associated with Jumas,have never visited and at those prices I doubt that I ever will.

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Marlon Kaye | August 7, 2014 at 2:49 PM |

RE a rampant ego on a power trip

ARE YOU A PSYCHOLOGIST SIR?
    YOU GOT ISLAND GAL DOWN TO A T YUH?

23. most restaurants used a formula that is mostly appealing to the majority of their customers,,,,in the article by isgal ,one gets the feeling that she might have preferred her food serve in a way that fits her style of taste ,,,unfortunately restaurants because of budgeting and others constraints normaly sets a standard to deliver a meal in a timely fashion and one which is prepared in a style that the majority of customers would find appealing and appetizing,,,; ,it can be very hard for a restaurant to find a formula that would be attractive and satisfying to every individual,,,as in the case with isgal,,,,,gathering from what took place,it seems as if the service itself was not bad,,but her fault was with the food and how it was prepared which was against her grade and style one what she normally prefers, ,unfortunately there are customers like isgal ,,who are very hard to please and outside of having the restaurant hire a personnel chef to prepare meals to their style and making,there is very little that management can offer that would be of satisfaction to that type of customer,,,,

24. I had never before eaten at Juma’s, but after reading the reviews I will DEFINITELY try to make a booking for this weekend.

25. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Seems islandgals negativity is a positive for the restaurant
    Seems islandgal has lots of egg on her face

i love this rum shop David

26. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

in TG EVANS text on Hermenetics there is a story about a new priest at his first experience at his parish church.

Apparently, he strode up to the pulpit with pomp and pride, but things didnt go so well at all. He descended like a wet duck.

An old lady met him at the door thus

‘”SONNY IF YOU HAD GONE UP LIKE YOU CAME DOWN, YOU WOULD HAVE COME DOWN LIKE YOU WENT UP”

WUHLOSS ISLAND GAL YOU COMING DOWN LIKE A WET DUCK HERE YUH
    AFTER ALL THE MAN SAID THAT YOUR HUSBAND LIKE THE FOOD SO MUCH HE CLEAN UP DE PLATE. He lie? LOL LOL LOL

YOU IS WHAT MY BROTHER THAT GONE MISSING SINCE HIS LAST MOCK AND TAUNT WOULD CALL A BRASS BOWL! ah lie?

27. firbear | August 7, 2014 at 4:45 PM |

“Indeed she has and had she done so rather than rushing into print on the internet I am sure that the matter would have been settled amicably. Why she felt the need to do this rather than a face to face discussion with Jumas is beyond understanding.”

My friend, your statement is utter rubbish……. the tourists do it every day. I can tell you have never visited the Trip Advisor site or any other site that critique the hospitality industry. Tourists come here and would hardly make a complaint to the management of any establishment, but refer to reserve their complaints to travel sites or travel agents, who won’t fail to give any establishment an unfavorable review.

Say what you may, some hotels and restaurants in Barbados have international ratings (e.g. 5 diamond, 4 star or 5 star), and these establishments must maintain a particular standard so as to retain their rating. People from these rating agencies will visit these establishments, incognito, and partake in all the amenities on offer. Sometimes they even portray being a disgruntled patron/guest just to see the reaction of the staff and response of management to their complaints. Consequently, after their visit, the establishment would be informed as to whether the service was exemplary, or, as Bushy would say, a “lotta shiite”.

Many restaurants advertise on the international market as being first class, and would they employ the services of food stylist to make the food look attractive in a finished photograph for this purpose. They list reviews from a few satisfied customers to reinforce their self imposed rating. When patrons actually visit some of these establishments and receive poor service, they have all rights to complain.

Essentially, many Barbadians suffer from the “customer loyalty syndrome”, whereby the customer becomes so accustomed to utilizing a particular service; he remains loyal despite any poor service he may receive. Marketing agents capitalize on this “syndrome” by offering various “gifts” so as to maintain this loyalty.
    Case in point is LIME. LIME customer service has been very poor over the years, yet customers will neglect poor quality only to say “I accustomed to LIME, I was with them for years”.

28. btw david it is not FAIR for an individual to use a FORUM like this to air their personnel grievances,, exclusive of the other side ,,nothing wrong with constructive criticism ,but destructive criticism the one that borders on arrogance and lack of self control is not only highly offensive to the listener and the viewer ..but should be deemed a public nuisance,,,,,,

29. @Artaxerxes
    Firstly, I am not your friend, I have never met you.
    Secondly, BU is not TA
    Thirdly, how can you categorise my statement as utter rubbish unless you know for certain that there would not have been an amicable conclusion which of course you do not.
    I suggest that the utter rubbish statement is yours.

30. AC I am still waiting on the name of the plant you said I sold you from my business establishment that I do not own.

31. ac | August 7, 2014 at 5:07 PM |

“most restaurants used a formula that is mostly appealing to the majority of their customers,,,,”

This not true. It is contradictory to suggest that “most restaurants use a formula that is mostly appealing to the majority of their customers” on one hand, then to state “it can be very hard for a restaurant to find a formula that would be attractive and satisfying to every individual”.

Many restaurants cook food using a standard procedure that appeals to the international market. You must bear in mind that patrons from various countries in the world do not cook food as spicy as we do in the Caribbean. If you watch any food channel, you will be surprised to see that, whereas our idea of seasoning food is to prepare meats with “Aunt May” or “Windmill” seasoning, they season their meats with pepper and salt; they marinate meats in olive oil mixed with certain seasonings, we marinate meats in lime and salt; we wash the starch off spaghetti, and they don’t.
    That’s why in a restaurant, you would always see salt and pepper bottles on each table, and the choice of condiments, which may vary from customer to customer, is always served on the side.

However, if you are a lover of spicy food, there are always the choices of restaurants that serve Caribbean, Latin or Indian cuisine, just to mention a few.

32. firbear | August 7, 2014 at 6:24 PM |

“Firstly, I am not your friend, I have never met you. Secondly, BU is not TA. Thirdly, how can you categorise my statement as utter rubbish unless you know for certain that there would not have been an amicable conclusion which of course you do not. I suggest that the utter rubbish statement is yours.”

Ok, “my enemy” your point is taken……yours is the typical response from a “know-it-all” whose ego has been bruised, and one who cannot accept analytical and constructive criticism. However, despite the fact that I still maintain your statement is utter rubbish, I respect your views, as you should mine.

However, I won’t lower my standard and that of BU to continue in a “trade insult for insult match” with you. Continue to rant, I won’t reply… have the last word.

33. arterexes……i stand by my comment,.i am in a very good position to know of what i speak,,,,would not even bother arguing……waste of time. .

34. It’s Island Gal’s decision to choose her medium to air her grievance
    and she has done so.Let the chips fall where they may.

35. @Artax

Agree with you. A restaurant will identify the segment it wants to serve i.e. French, Mediterranean,Indian, Chines etc and work diligently to deliver a quality menu. The objective is to make sure ALL customers who dine leave happy and will spread a positive word. With social media a smartphone away it is an imperative.

36. Life changer + Avatar

@ Artexe.

Discerning people pick up on subtle traits and are good judges of quality — they’re the ones that can tell if your cupcakes are homemade from the finest ingredients or totally from a box mix.
    You seem not only a blog troll but an arrogant underling. Suppose you were bullied when you were a kid…

37. isga; why would u still be interested in knowing about the purchase plant,,,i close the conversation when u called me a liar,,,,,,,since u had proven to me that your lack of professionalism towards your customers is just as tacky and classless as those who you have accused

38. @islandgal

ac bought a plant
    ac traveled to St. Lucia
    ac…

…. liar….feet….fir

39. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

RE However, I won’t lower my standard and that of BU to continue in a “trade insult for insult match” with you.

WHAT STANDARD HE TALKING BOUT DOUGH? RUM SHOP STANDARD? HE EVER HEAR BOUT BONNY PEPPA?
    YOU CAN COME DOWN MAN ——–AND CHALLENGE TOO! THATS WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU.

LEAVE YOU ACADEMIC TROPHIES AND STEP IN THE RUM SHOP AND FIRE AWAY. ENGAGE IN ROBUST DEBATE. AND IT IS CHEAP ENTERTAINMENT TOO

40. AC we all know you you as a LIAR on BU . You have been called that on numerous occasions. That doesn’t surprise me that you would try to insinuate that you came to my invisible place of business and bought a sickly plant. You can have the last word.

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

POOR AC
    THE MOST ROBUST DEBATER AND PERENNIAL CHALLENGER ON BU GETTING CUSSED BY THE BLOGMASTER FOR HAVING HER SAY
    HOW HE KNOW THAT AC DIDNT GO TO ST LUCIA OR BOUGHT A PLANT? HE WAS DEY? MURDAH

42. My girlfriend and I eat at Jumas ever so often and we’ve never EVER had an issue with the food or the service (their soup is FANTASTIC). Glad to see the mgt standing up for themselves.

43. osgal i don;t understand your persistence ,,,,u call me aliar,,u state their is no place of business ,,yet u seem unusually interested in the details of the purchased plant,,,,most noteworthy that u have the support of DAVID who only assumes not with clarity or irrefutable facts that the same person who is now responding to u is one of the same ,,yet he knows who i am

OH by the way did you not say that you have palms for SALE or am i making that up too,,,,,maybe all this is a crazy figment of my imagination,,,,,,BTW when is the SALE,,,i would like to purchase two at your place of business,

44. islandgal, BU will give you the following complimentary at Juma’s.

Open tomorrow for breakfast and Sunday lunch and dinner. Also open on bank holiday Monday from 9am.

Photo: Open tomorrow for breakfast and Sunday lunch and dinner. Also open on bank holiday Monday from 9am.

45. Thank you David but no thanks. Once bitten twice shy!

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I tell you, her palate is more used to a bread and two. You want to give that woman diarrhoea.

47. @David
    I have no intention to prolong this now futile discussion but could you tell me why islandgals version of events is not questioned as it differs by some margin from the Juma version. Why is she believe without question?Why is Juma not believed?
    She said they sent food back uneaten, they say all the plates were cleared. Someone is lying.

48. @ Artaxerxes
    Refreshing to know that there are bloggers like you and Gabriel who understand the reality of modern business.
    Customers are diverse and complex and have unique and unpredictable taste.
    One man’s meat is another’s poison.

For that reason, ANY serious business establishment would ACCEPT (and even welcome) all kinds of negative feedback …ESPECIALLY WHERE IT IS UNEXPECTED……since it provides opportunities to learn more about customer taste and fetishes, about how it is perceived by customers, and it gets a chance to turn a negative into a positive.

No one here can judge Islandgal’s satisfaction expectation – WHICH SHE PAID FOR….

The company’s response is as childish and immature as the most recent lout to have infested BU with CAPITALS…..
    Instead of apologizing for not having met a PAYING customer’s expectations, and offering to meet with her to understand why their concept of high quality did not match hers, they go on a rant about how much food was eaten, who complained there and then, and what her taste should have been….

Properly handled, they could possible have won an advocate for life, learnt a new option for their menu, taught Islandgal a thing or two about the restaurant business, and won the respect of people who REALLY understand business.

….instead of winning the admiration of losers like GP and AC – who are lonely housebound morons looking for recognition, and Caswell who can’t afford to eat out on his Unity pay anyway…..

49. neva mind isgal…….the moral of the story,,,,,WE ALL:: MAKE MISTAKES,

50. Good to see you about Tea Bush, good to hear the whacker whirring…lol.