Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

When my now wife and I ‘discovered’ a then virtually derelict Arawak Inn back in 1988, we never really set out to become seasoned hoteliers. More like having the privilege of living in a big ‘house’ right on the ocean and sharing it with a few friends and the many clients who followed us over the years with our British based tour operators business. Each restored and occupied room was another gallon of paint or new soft furnishing.

Our first major setback came when after paying the initial deposit to buy the hotel, the value of Sterling plummeted from over BDS$4 to the Pound to BDS$2.88 at the time of completion. As all our funds were brought in from overseas, there was no alternative as an option. Effectively this wrote-off literally every cent we had budgeted for renovation and improvement of the property. As new residents it was virtually impossible to borrow monies from the banks. They wanted a trading record, three years of audited accounts, cash flow forecasts and business plans among many other requirements. Suppliers, with very few notable exceptions, would not grant us credit and so we learnt very quickly, how to not only survive, but flourish and transform the hotel from earned trading revenue. While easy to say now, in hindsight, it was probably the best thing that happened, leaving us totally debt-free years later.

What often brings a wry smile to our faces is endlessly hearing the frequent uttering from frankly people who should simply know better, that Barbadian hoteliers have constantly got their hands outstretched begging for Government (taxpayers) monies.

The reality in our case, and I would think the vast majority of other hotel owners, that over the last 26 years we have not received one red cent from this or any previous Government. The single exception is a reduced rate of land taxes, but now that we are currently closed, even this concession has been withdrawn.

Like many, we will struggle to pay the first instalment of yet another unbudgeted expense by latest end of this month, the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.  Especially at this time of the year which is the most financially challenging period for our beleaguered tourism industry. If we fail to do so, we are threatened with a 5% penalty plus 1% interest on and unpaid balance per month. I wonder how many people have calculated that this is an effective APR (annual percentage rate) of around 22 per cent interest.

Take an unpaid balance of $4,000 as an example. $200 in penalties plus 1% per month for six months adds another $240, so a mind boggling $440 in total. What is especially galling is that we are expected to pay this new imposition before we receive the tens of thousands of dollars we are still owed in NIS and VAT refunds, which have not accrued any penalty and interest, at least to us.

As the Minister of Finance rightly pointed out, with all the various collection agencies, now under one umbrella, the Barbados Revenue Authority, with a sole Commissioner, it should be a very simple task to resolve this problem. If this or any administration believes for a minute that small businesses like ours are going to our bank, cap-in-hand to beg overdraft facilities for the sole purpose of paying an additional inflicted tax, where payment is demanded at a few days notice, then think again.

53 responses to “Muni Tax Knocks Small Hotelier for SIX”

1. Oh for God’s sake Loveridge, stop the constant belly aching and just get on with running your business. We do not want to see and hear from you every few days.

2. It seems the whole country is bellyaching.

The BHTA has strongly come out to say that by owning the most expensive beachfront property they have been hit hardest at a time when the government has agreed to offer the sector concessions. Where is the logic?

Also Minister Sinckler addressed criticism last week that the government was tardy in paying tax returns, Loveridge is a good case that he is wrong.

3. A certain future coalitional government and of which the PDC will be part shall ABOLISH TAXATION and replace it with the right strategies for the Government properly and fairly coming by far more of its own income and revenue, and for its properly and fairly coming by money to present to the relevant others in commercial, social and other contexts.

4. OK…..maybe this is beginning to make sense after all… 🙂

Freundel and Stinkler are convinced that they have no political future with the DLP …the Eager 11 and all that….(and no other employment future otherwise) and have cast in their lot (secretly until now) with the PDC….
    These two are now using their remaining time in office to so vilify the concept of taxation, that the PDC’s central plank of the abolishment of all (evil) taxation is actually beginning to sound attractive, rational …..and even sane.

Come next election, only ac and Dompey will vote DLP; only Enuff and Prodical will vote BLP ….and PDC will win by a landslide – thanks to Stinkler’s shiite taxes on property, Credit Union assets, and whatever other shiite he can conceive in the coming months when these backfire…

….only problem is …that would put Froon and Stinkler into PDC’s “certain future coalitional government”…. Steupssss…

Man Caswell …..BUP the ting….

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier @ We at PLANTATION DEEDS give your post 5 stars. We see the issues from both sides , Cause and Effects. The information that you and others are posting about ,,now let you all see our POINTS. Being all things equal and the DBLP government is now about to split into 2 parties again, The DLP will now expose by their own AUDIT, What MIA and OWEN have been doing WRONG for greed to suit self and party along with lawyer who also now bitching along with PIMP title holders.

We had asked you question before, back then that you never reply as you look to hide from BARBADOS LAND FRAUD INVESTIGATION AND SERVICES ,
    We write clues and few of you have seen and now know where we are today is based on fraud,
    Ownership of where you are does no mean that you were not defrauded when you paid your good money for the place you live , stay and do your business,
    Beatrice Henry from 1892 dies Dec 13th 1985 , age 93., The facts and clues are there,
    Now you answer question you refuse to answer when asked when the PAIN of Violet Beckels and the Public reach your door,
    What ever it takes , when ever it takes ;for all good reasons to let you All see the PONZI fraud,
    Barbados is nothing more than a delayed reaction to Massive fraud and cover up .
    More PAIN to come , Now you can see and feel our World when the wrong is being done to,
    On your own , do a CLEAR TITLE search from 1988 and go back 70 years to show a CLEAR TITLE which is law , and not a 20 year good title Rule the made up by Sir Henry Forde to steal from Violet Beckles Estate,
    If you see gaps and no where else to find you records in the Archive , You will now know you are also a victim of The Massive Land, PONZI, laundering , Fraud upon you, Seek proper legal help , No Bajan Lawyers , Ask A lawyer from you birth which i am thinking is England.
    Report to Mi6 or Scotland Yard.
    The Only truth you will find in Barbados is PLANTATION DEEDS,

6. Let us hope for the DLP’s sake there is a lift in the economy because it is not looking too bright at the moment.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Many hotels contract private persons to remove their garbage. It would be unfair to force these people to pay a tax on the guise that the tax had something with the collection of garbage.

8. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Caswell, In fact as a business we get NO ‘free’ collection of waste at ALL. We pay for everything to be taken away.

9. Bizzy the man who stands to benefit from this tax or should we say …..whom we have been fooled to believe that this tax is for ………………comes out and says that this tax is causing such an uproar and presenting too much hardship…………that the tax should be abandoned and replaced with what Bush Tea has been saying all along, an environmental tax on goods (kudos Bush Tea, someone is reading you).

What was the response from the ignorant “pieca” minister of fine ants……………give the tax time to work. Stinkliar, you are a jackass, if people do not have the money to pay……..how the hell do you expect them to pay? With what they going to pay the tax? The hairs off your head? Do you expect people to steal to pay this tax for you to mis-spend?

Everybody is complaining but the liar said that it is only five people complaining. These people have become so power consumed that they are past arrogant, they do care, they just do not care. Pay the tax if you got it or not.

Another arrogant one is that minister of education. It is pointless talking about him. I find it passing strange that they sat down and decided to impose tuition fees on UWI students but now all of a sudden as soon as solid waste tax money starts to roll in, he can now announce that the government has found money to give 3000 bursaries. Why the hell was tuition fees then introduced?

I am just tired of these idiots! A friend of mine who voted for them told me this weekend that he never thought the DLP could have been this bad………..he has a solid waste tax bill for $1400.00.

10. @ Caswell
    Steupssss…
    Why are you trying to pick apart jobby instead of launching BUP?
    The WHOLE Muni tax concept is idiotic….it is SHIITE….

….not just for hoteliers, but for EVERYONE except Stinkler….who has finally come up with a methodology where he can understand the application of percentages…
    …they probably told him that total unimproved land value on the books is $1B and that .3 percent of that is $30M ……AND HE SEEMS TO UNDERSTAND THAT CALCULATION…..
    thus the Muni tax….

The problem with taxing the various imports THAT ARE THE BASIS OF OUR PROBLEMS is that these involve different percentages, various exemptions, and some of the calculations are complex – involving long division and fractions….

Well cuh shiite….we can’t expect a fellow who never pass a Maths exam to get involved in such complexities can we….?

When the Muni fails (cause even brass bowls ain’t foolish enough to spend good money paying shiite taxes to pass on to Bizzy) …Stinkler will probably come up with the “Personal Municipal Existence Tax”
    ….where every citizen will have to pay $250.00 in personal existence tax.
    ….he will probably be able to understand that one too….where approximately 120,000 adults each pay $250.00 ….
    …LO and behold he gets $30M

Watch out !!!! 🙂

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

THIS Fraud tax is there to cover up the LAND fraud , Most of you is now looking at SELF. All is SELF and NOT all together across the board,
    looking out for SELF is why things are betting worse and then, TO have you all fighting among SELF.
    When you stop LOOK-ing at SELF then and only then will you all say WELL WELL to what has been Hidden in the BUSH-tea.

Better LOOK and learn and see better when you put PLANTATION DEEDS and PDC points and FACTS in your minds eye,,will help you fill your C.U.P of Blessings ,
    next time you vote the other side of the DBLP fraud will show what else is hidden,
    BARBADOS NEEDS TO BE VERY CLEAR WITH INFORMATION AND CLEAR TITLES,

keep posting now we are having fun ,

12. St George's Dragon Avatar

I thought the environmental tax on imports had to be scrapped as it was contrary to the free movement of goods across Caricom.

13. @ St George Dragon
    …or is it that the CARICOM nonsense about free movement of goods needs to be scrapped because it is contrary to BASIC COMMON SENSE (unless one is TRICKIDADIAN of course)

Only a jackass would support free trade across different states where “energy costs” vary from lucrative sales to burdensome handicaps….

It is like HAMAS agreeing to a fair gunfight between the Israelis and the Palestinians…..
    But this is what Enuff and Prodical wanted ….and what Owen did….

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Caswell, In fact as a business we get NO ‘free’ collection of waste at ALL. We pay for everything to be taken away.

Adrian

I don’t understand it, why aren’t the business people using that in their opposition the tax. Essentially, you are saying that you would be paying twice for garbage collection.

15. @David July 14, 2014 at 5:31 AM “Also Minister Sinckler addressed criticism last week that the government was tardy in paying tax returns.”

Dear David: Do you know anybody who has received an income tax return for tax year 2013?

Dear David Barbados is a small place. The historians have told us that Barbados is composed of 40 families. Don’t you have any family members in BRA who can tell you whether or not any income tax refunds have gone out as of Friday at 4:30 pm.

Stupsee man!!!

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Caswell,
    I cannot of course speak for everybody but a common feeling currently in tourism is despair . So many promises have been made but not implemented, yet Sandals received everything they asked for and it was applied within a week. I am not sure just how many more tourism business failures it will take to change the current thinking.

17. St. George Dragon

It takes less than a haft of a brain to realize that Bush Tea is xenophobic, short on the supplies of neurons, and caveman in his thinking. Bushie, is still in the agrarian mindset, the retard obviously thinks that working the land will improve the Barbadian standard of living. He old school yaa know because the egotistical nincompoop has never heard of scientifi inquiry as well as technological innovation; the know it how that is conductive to this global economy in its contemporary context.

18. I have not heard of anyone who has received their refund.

In fact, I am still owed 2011 and only got 2012 recently. What was amazing is that I went into the Inland revenue to ask if I could net off the amount they said I still owed in consolidation tax, they said no, pay the consolidated tax due and wait on the refund.

You think this government easy?

During 1994-2007, if refunds were not out by August, there would be a public outcry. How complacent have we become!

19. Dragon, it almost overlooked that fact that Bushie was around when the country people attended school without shoes, and brought their provisions to town by donkey cart.

20. In Mac Fingall’s column yesterday, he talked about Barbadians accepting this solid waste tax and not speaking out. He made mentioned of the two marches and asked if only 100 persons are concerned about this tax.

I agree, Mac but I was at the second march and I did not see you. You have a large following and had you mobilised them, this government would have gotten the message that Barbadians have had enough!

Mac, I look forward to your presence next time!

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

bomb scare scotia,,,,,

just got a call

22. I pay a municipal waste tax in Toronto.

Garbage (grey bin ) is collected every other week alternating with Recycling materials (blue bin).Organic waste (Green bin) is collected every week

I am paying $280 A YEAR.

The municipal waste tax in Barbados is extremely excessive.

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Lover@ You will now see the Plan of the New World Order in Barbados DBLP and Government , For the ONE Hotel do do all things and to help shut down all others SAND,,,,,,,,

24. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

If charge a WASTE tax on the PM and MOF we will take in more than needed, with waste tax and site tax on their holding and the pain of them in you SIGHT, ALL WILL BE WELL

25. Say what wunna want about Bush Tea, at least if we follow Bush Tea advice, we might have something to eat besides rocks, dirt, computer motherboards and cement blocks when the next “Carrington Event” sends modern day computer and electronic based technology into a bottomless black hole.

Experts Warn The Next Carrington Event Will Plunge Us Back Into The Dark Ages

Michael Snyder
    March 21, 2014

Most people have absolutely no idea that the Earth barely missed being fried by a massive EMP burst from the sun in 2012, in 2013 and just last month. If any of those storms would have directly hit us, the result would have been catastrophic.

Image: Solar Flare (Wiki Commons).

Electrical transformers would have burst into flames, power grids would have gone down and much of our technology would have been fried. In essence, life as we know it would have ceased to exist – at least for a time. These kinds of solar storms have hit the Earth many times before, and experts tell us that it is inevitable that it will happen again. The most famous one happened in 1859, and was known as the Carrington Event. But other than the telegraph, humanity had very little dependence on technology at the time. If another Carrington Event happened today, it would be a complete and utter nightmare. A study by Lloyd’s of London has concluded that it would have taken a $2,600,000,000,000 chunk out of the global economy, and it would take up to a decade to repair the damage. Unfortunately, scientists insist that it is going to happen at some point. The only question is when.

SNIP

So what is going to happen when one of these things finally hits us?

Well, basically it will be a technological Armageddon. The following is a brief excerpt from one of my previous articles…

An electromagnetic pulse can range from a minor inconvenience to a civilization-killing event.  It just depends on how powerful it is.  But in the worst case scenario, we could be facing a situation where our electrical grids have been fried, there is no heat for our homes, our computers don’t work, the Internet does not work, our cell phones do not work, there are no more banking records, nobody can use credit cards anymore, hospitals are unable to function, nobody can pump gas, and supermarkets cannot operate because there is no power and no refrigeration.  Basically, we would witness the complete and total collapse of the economy.  According to a government commission that looked into these things, approximately two-thirds of the U.S. population would die from starvation, disease and societal chaos within one year of a massive EMP attack.  It would be a disaster unlike anything we have ever seen before in U.S. history.

snip

Today, our lives have been made very comfortable by technology.

But that technology could be stripped away from us in a single moment.

We should be thankful for the good things that we have, and we should not take for granted that we will always have them.

http://www.infowars.com/after-several-near-misses-experts-warn-the-next-carrington-event-will-plunge-us-back-into-the-dark-ages/

26. Volcano Soon Erupt Avatar
    Volcano Soon Erupt

@ PRODIGAL SON— I agree Mac’s Column was good–but yes he can bring a posse of red to the the next one. I was there at the second march as well–even tho the MEDIA made it look like nothing-The turn-out was good and the placards were more. BAJANs NEED TO STOP COMPLAINING AND RISE TO ACTION–COWARD DAYS ARE OVER!!!
    Come out and join the next march–Bobby Clarke needs to do some more advertising.

27. @Caswell and Adrian

The Muni Tax is not about garbage collection moreso garbage treatment. So says the MoF.

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I realise that, but when we pay for garbage collection part of the cost is a dumping fee, so we are already paying for it.

29. “In Europe — where population density makes landfill impractical — state-of-the-art incineration is common and seen as a cleaner way of disposing of trash while producing heat and power. Countries such as Sweden, which now imports Norwegian waste to feed its incinerators, boast the some of the world’s highest recycling rates, Turner says.
    EFW is also more expensive, notes Harnum. A plant costs around $300 million to build and can double disposal costs. “Right now we are disposing of our garbage at the Green Lane landfill for $67 a tonne,” he notes. “Garbage incineration can be upwards of $120 to $150 a tonne.”

http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2013/03/12/landfill_or_incinerator_whats_the_future_of_torontos_trash.html

30. Volcano

Now come on Volcano, why are you blaming the Barbadian masses for this failed march? The truth is, as I have often said here, and I know many people elsewher would agree, that Clarke wouldn’t the outspoken prophet, some first thought he might been because his message failed to take root with suffering Barbadians masses.

31. Prodigal Son | July 14, 2014 at 8:50 AM |

Bizzy the man who stands to benefit from this tax or should we say …..whom we have been fooled to believe that this tax is for………

Prodigal, even Bizzy is smart enough to know that the tax would cause problems in the short term and lawsuits in the long term, he has to find another way to get millions, but Sinckler has already done the math and it’s adding up quite nicely for him.

Hants….I was in Canada last year when the first bills came out for the muni tax, those guys in Barbados do a different type of math and it is always detrimental to the taxpayer.

32. The bottom line is Volcana: Clake’s message failed to take root with the suffering Barbadian masses and he has but himself to blame. I must appaul his efforts but I don’t see how the Barbadian people could ever trust him again.

33. Ignorance knows no bounds.

34. Stop the presses rewind 2009 blp declares DLP increase in Vat..will increase blp chance of winning 2013 election.

35. Extreme but possible.

Family of 4 with 2 children going to UWI living in a $1 million house.

They spend all their income on mortgage car payments etc. and just depleted their savings to pay tuition for the children

They get a muni tax bill of $3300.

That is cruel and unjust punishment.

36. David

Yaa right David. We should never underestimated the power of stupidity. David with the kind of sufferation in Barbados the march should have been a success brother.

37. Plantation……. check your email.

38. but all the time when everybody ..i mean EVERY BODY had their hand in the trough with free this and free that,,,nobody was complaining and thinking that a day would come that the trough would be empty…..but listen up, now that the freeness has come to a screeching halt and all that benefited from the trough is asked to put back something eveybody mad as hell, uh know what wunna a real greedy selfish bunch .

39. don;t p ay self centered two faced bizzy nuh mind..he bought up plenty land fuh free ..now he ass grass cause all that land gonna cause he plenty money,wunna think bizzy worrying about wunna,,,ha..ha,

40. Ignorance knows no bounds.

41. The Democratic Labour Party has all but destroyed Barbados -almost total destruction and has taken us back to the dark ages. They are restructuring the economy downwards and its back to Hard Times.
    They are using the Sandiford model as inspiration for beating up on the people economically and they do not care what nobody say.

Some people especially in the Public Service are using the situation as an excuse to punish and unfair their fellow black brothers and sisters.

What is the way out ? and Who should we trust or
    Who should we cuss

42. The PDC is living in a Fantasy world just like Freundel Stuart. Any bet PDC present members were DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY MEMBERS AND SUPPORTERS at one time or the other.

43. Any bet that with all the ecnomic problems and the similarties 2008 and what now is being called the Era of Doom and gloom..that the DLP would still win the next the election,,,reason being that OSA arthur is the dividing line between what is right for the party and what is best for the country,he is neither fish or fowl ,,,

44. @Hants

Amazing isn’t it?

45. BU would like to read the study which was done by Dr. Justin Robinson for the Barbados Cooperative Credit Union League to inform the setting up of a credit union bank.

46. AC…..are you still rambling……lol

47. Note the following comment posted on another forum. The bold in blue is BU. Who would have thought we would be listening to the same political diatribe/rhetoric to co,pare to when the BLP was in office – NO CHANGE!

Comments:

Carson C. Cadogan:

"If this or any administration believes for a minute that small businesses like ours are going to our bank, cap-in-hand to beg overdraft facilities for the sole purpose of paying an additional inflicted tax, where payment is demanded at a few days notice, then think again."

Adrian let me take this opportunity to remind you and those who think like you. Taxes are a fact of life. I cant think of many people who like to pay taxes, but they have to be paid so that the Govt. of the day can run the country with all the benefits citizens and others, you included, enjoy. Under your last administration, the Barbados Labour Party, they imposed endless new taxes which we Barbadians are still paying up to this day. You cant dispute that. I have never heard you or any of your friends say that the taxes at that time ought not to be paid. Even the vat tax that you are complaining about was imposed by your Barbados Labour Party. If one fails to pay one’s taxes there are penalties which you must suffer. Cast your mind back many years to an American situation. Al Capone ran riot in America with the Feds unable to reign him in, but they finally caught him on tax evasion. Likewise in Barbados they are tax laws and they penalties for not complying with those laws as you and the few others like you will soon find out.

48. where is Carson….lol

49. @Carson C. Cadogan If one fails to pay one’s taxes there are penalties which you must suffer

Except that Al Capone was a criminal and Adrian and the rest of us overburdened tax payers are NOT criminals, the Boys Scouts are not criminals, the Girl Guides are not criminals, Donville Inniss who has also asked for the taxes to be reconsidered is not a criminla, Bizzy Williams has asked teh government to reconsider, he is not a criminal, the Girl Guides are not criminals, the churches are not criminals. I am not a criminal.

So why are we being compared to Al Capone?

Do you impose harsh taxes and then when we cannot pay you use our inability to pay as an excuse to use your own works to make us “suffer”, to criminalize us? Is this just?

Don’t you know that we are suffering already?

Don’t you know that most of us are not DLP, not BLP.

When the BLP are in office they are our servants.

When the DLP is in office they are our servants.

50. Those two parasites of the taxpayers, DLP/BLP, tend to forget the servant part when they get their hands on the treasury and the minorities smile in their faces simultaneously, most of them are unable to walk and chew gum at the same time, not an active brain between them.