Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

Back in the nineteen seventies while I was working in Canada as a travel agent we pioneered a number of what were then ‘unique smart partnerships’ with airlines and hotel groupings. One of the most successful was an arrangement with Wardair on the Winnipeg-Gatwick (London) route, where our agency block booked groups on certain dates to obtain a lower price. The benefit to the traveller, our customer, was that if they flew on these particular specified dates, they would get their first or last night’s airport accommodation at no extra cost.

What prompted these memories was trying recently to find a more affordable way of getting my wife to the UK shortly for family reasons. We ended up booking a flight to Manchester, simply because it is currently far less expensive than flying to a London airport. Despite having to travel over 220 miles to where she is staying, off-peak rail travel is very reasonably priced and virtually door-to-door with a minimum number of station changes.

The longest part of the land journey is between Manchester and Euston and is operated by Virgin Trains. This prompted me to look carefully at the incredible network they operate and a closer study of the ticket prices and overall journey times to other major northern British cities. Huge population centres that include Liverpool are only about an hour away and Edinburgh and Glasgow between three and four hours from Manchester Airport.

We know that already announced arrival figures for 2014 are down. May 2013 recorded the lowest stay-over numbers for 11 consecutive years during the same comparable period, with May 2012 very close behind. Hopefully the Top Gear Festival will have redressed the problem for this month, but with almost half a year of the softer summer months yet to come, what can we do to grow the most receptive markets?

Is it, for instance, possible to smart partner with Virgin Trains to help fill the Manchester to Barbados flights with their airline associate by negotiating even lower connecting rail fares. The effectiveness of such an initiative could easily be monitored by using an exclusive booking identity linked to the flight record locator code.

Another smart partnership could be to contract specially reduced overnight rates with UK airport hotels. Neither of these suggestions would necessarily commit Barbados to any direct expense, but give us a distinct competitive advantage when our visitors are making final destination choice.

Our policymakers will also have to acutely focus on where precious marketing dollars can produce the most cost effective results for the rest of this year and that would appear to be in Great Britain and Continental Europe at this time.

And the reasons are evidently logical. They are the only source areas that have largely shown any consistent evidence of growth, plus the average stay and spend is almost always higher.

36 responses to “Tourism Next: Suggestion Smart Partnerships the Way to Go”

1. […] with airlines and hotel groupings. One of the most successful was an arrangement with … Continue reading → visit main […]

2. The person or persons who wrote the editorial in today’s (Monday, May 19, 2014) Daily Nation Newspaper did intellectualism and progressive thought in Barbados a very serious and fundamental disservice and injustice.

Now, this editorial – with its very clumsily and crudely constructed title- Uneven yoke with tax burden – tells a sad and pathetic story about the stark lack of intellectual and logical depth and penetration of the person or persons who wrote it, over matters that are clearly too deep for them to grasp and handle. So, nary a word on what is a TAX; what attitudes inform TAXATION.

Also, what is very clear too about the person(s) who wrote the editorial is that they may be very unaware that more and more Barbadians are becoming more and more critical in their assessing and critiquing the subject and matter of TAXATION in this country.

So, as times goes by, and these and other people in this country understand more truths about this evil wicked unproductive dispensation called TAXATION, the more increasingly exposed and open to ridicule will be the colossal ignorance of the particular editorial writer(s), and others like them too in Barbados, in relationship to their very distorted views on subject and matter of evil wicked TAXATION in this country.

Anyhow, the editorial starts by saying that the “Furore over the Value Added Tax (VAT) which surfaced recently should have died down, given the forthright comments of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler that this form of taxation is here to stay”.

Furthermore, the editorial, a little further, goes on to say that “While Minister Sinckler must be commended for curtailing valued time and energy in debating a non-issue, he needs to be as pointed and explicit in dealing with more fundamental issues”.

Now, whereas we will certainly not be going any further in highlighting those aspects of this editorial that could only be described by the PDC as having arisen out of very uninformed unthinking minds, we will greatly venture to say that the writer(s) will surely not like to see wide ranging long running serious national debates on the nature of TAXATION in this country.

So, as far as they (the writer(s) are concerned the Minister of Finance said what he had to say, so the furore should have died down. What disgusting ignorance!! Imagine that because the editorial writers are only redeemable at reproducing narrative and picking a side on the issue, they write that debate over the VAT is a non-issue. What a vicious scandal in Nation journalism!!

In addition, these editorial nuisances did/do not realize that there were/are no connections whatsoever between the imposition of the VAT by a wicked thieving government of Barbados, and what Sinckler had to say (essentially that the VAT is here to stay).

Finally, what they must be told in no uncertain terms is that TAXATION is THEFT by the government – and that whether it is called VAT, personal income taxes, duties, cess, licenses, NIS, what ever it is, it is the continuing and gross and flagrant violation of the income and property rights of individuals, businesses and other entities in this country.

So, therefore, as long as these kinds of crimes and criminalities are waged against the remunerations of the relevant people, businesses and other entities by the government of this country, the nature and effects of TAXATION upon those entities will always be fundamental issues in this country, and furthermore there will be no dying down of comments surrounding them.

3. i know ,,i know,,but to be expected,,,,,the response would be predictable,,,,,anyhow,,the bahamas minister of tourism gave a ringing endorsement loaded with appreciation and accolades very appreciative of the sandals resorts international in leading the way in helping to move the bahamas economy in a positive direction ,,,

4. Yes price does matter. For the vast majority of tourists these days cost is a very big consideration. We seem to have missed the boat on making arrangements with low cost airlines to fly to Barbados from North America. Check out Spirit Airlines and Allegiant Air lines who fly to many warm destinations from almost next door to some of our major source markets.

5. @SITH

The argument by some is that Barbados is not a brand which should cater or target low cost segment.

6. @David

If the argument is that we should not target the low cost segment then we need a massive upgrade in many of the accommodation facilities the island offers. There are a very significant number of rooms on the island that barely would be three star. The tourists are discovering that and are headed to other destinations. If we are to be only a 5 star expensive destination we can expect more hotel closings.

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

8. @Due Diligence

Forgot to upload the full article you asked for a couple days ago re: Sandals

http://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/sandals.pdf

9. Due Diligence Avatar

Thanks David

The further details raise more questions than answers.

Interesting that no mention is made of the price Sandals proposes to pay for the Heywoods property – for which I believe BTI paid $50 million.

How much of the financing did NIS provide? How much is the three-year loan note due to ARI? Who ranks first in priority to sale proceeds, NIS or ARI.

Will NIS will get back all the money it “invested” in Heywoods, to now use to pay benefits to the 3,000 retrenched workers.

BTW, did NIS recover its Four Seasons loan?

The assumption that the Chinese would agree to “redirect” its loan commitment to the Sam Lord’s property seems like a stretch. The basis for original commitment (if there was one) must have been, at least in part, based on the revenue stream from a long term lease or management contract with SRI. Given that Almond was a failed venture, would the Chinese feel as comfortable with a lease, or management contract, from an Almond-branded property.

Finally (for today at least) there is the question about whether Government has any business being in the hotel property business.?

It may be timely for Government to re-read the April 17, 2012, article “The Almond Resorts Collapse” by Peter Boos at http://businessbarbados.com/industries/tourism/almond-resorts-collapse/ .

Particularly this paragraph.

“Let us not forget the outcome of the GEMS project. Government interventions of this type are very damaging to the wider economy in the long-term. They distort the market and provide unfair competition to successful well-managed businesses. Worst yet they drive away investors.”
    Wonder how Paul Doyle will feel about having to compete with a Government owned/funded property just up the road from the successful well-managed and privately owned Crane Resort.

Oh, what a tangled web they weave, when first ………… – perhaps to help the CLICO bailout.

10. @DD

You may recall the reason given for the government buying the Heywoods property, it had to do with givernment buying the only beachfront property on the West Coast onbehalf of Bajans.

11. Pizza de Rock (with research support from Harry Calihan) Avatar
    Pizza de Rock (with research support from Harry Calihan)

David, I recal the givernment do that. Dey say dey goan put in place a pizza place for key pizza stakeholdfers et al,,,,of that ilk. No pizza place. BA LING. BA LING BA LING. It are obyous.

12. NO MASSIVE PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS, SO NO LAND TAX OF BARBADOS, BLP DLP=no massive pizza Avatar
    NO MASSIVE PLANTATION AND NO DEEDS, SO NO LAND TAX OF BARBADOS, BLP DLP=no massive pizza

No pizza from scumbag pizzaman lawyer bullerman on Baxters. Paid but no topping. Ask fo grill steam and rice, pea, but only pea. Stole monet massive frdau

13. Due Diligence Avatar

I guess Government has decided to flip the property to Butch, at a huge profit to be used for the benefit of all Bajans.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

DD, we know the price Government paid for ABV. Do you think they will tell us what they sell it to the various Sandals companies for, when we get the money and on what terms?

15. @Adrian

Good question and here is the answer, governments have in the past not made MOUs public. The issue the government must reconcile is that is promised a level of transparency never seen in Barbados. The people continue to wait.

16. Due Diligence Avatar

It says on Page 45, of the 2008 DPL Manifesto, under GOOD GOVERNANCE “Under a DLP Adminisation, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through………….. The publication of details of of agreements and contracts involving the government and its agencies ………..”

The absence of transparency may be because disclosure of details of MOUs could result in them becoming My Own Undoings

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I am sure there are many read this blog that think I’m anti-Sandals or ‘Butch’ Stewart, but that is NOT the case. I fundamentality believe that since Sandals paid US$12 million to the Government of the Turks and Caicos Island, every taxpayer has right to demand absolute transparency on ANY deal they are involved in on Barbados. That might be an ‘impertinent’ request, but I think it is a totally reasonable expectation.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

should read ‘many who read this blog’

19. @Adrian

Your thoughts about the Sandals roadshow in the USA recently which was well received according to Adam Stewart?

20. David almost every day on TV here in Toronto I see a Sandals advertisement on various Canadian and American channels.

Just saw one for Grande Riviera Ocho Rios.

In my layman’s opinion Sandal’s roadshow would be successful because the relentless TV ads make Sandals brand recognizable.

21. @Hants

Let us hope it works, we need the tourist to come if only in the short term to give the country a chance to shift gears. If we can’t generate forex from tourism revenues the dog dead.

22. This begs this question. Why is there virtually no advertisements for Barbados on North American TV?

I still remember the tag line “Just beyond your imagination”.

That turned out to be prophetic.

23. @Hants

We have discussed this matter, they don’t have budget, they have payables.

24. hants north american advertising not cheap,,,,,,,one day before u open uh mout and keep asking the same question till kingdom come ,,call a local tv station and asked how much it cost to run an ad,,,, as all well know the govt had put millions into a rhianna ad campaign ..which could have been a replacement,,,..

25. Is it that there is no budget David?…or that we have the usual set of square brass bowls in wrong holes?
    Would you not think that by now we could have developed the kind of expertise to actually generate, market and promote these high level advertisements OURSELVES?
    Why are we paying a set of bowls large salaries in order for them to contract high priced international experts to do these promotions?
    …shiite man…by now we should be in position to SELL such services to other countries….we have been pissing around so long….

….but of course all those years it was just jobs for the boys….

26. @Bush Tea

The word on the street is that CWC2007 created a huge hole. Government you may recall had to issue guarantee to banks to secure debt to the BTA. In the meantime a look at US Cable you see the Bahamas, Jamaica, Cayman, Puerto Rico and others advertising.

27. bush tea why you always got simplistic child like answers to complicated problems ,,,,issues of such depth and magnitude surpass your puny unimaginative brain ..;;leave it up to you.. your idea of a well managed tourist industry would be excursions and picnics and biscuits and corned beef for the tourist,,bush tea bigger and better brains have been tackling this problem and let me tell yuh it is not that easy,,ask loveridge even he threw in the towel after years of management of the peach and quiet,,,,,however just like u he knows every thing,,,,,but some how just couldn’t get his right,,,,,i wonder why,,,,,,,

28. David in the absence of TV ads and print ads can you tell me how Barbados is advertised in Canada ?

29. Maybe we should put a fishing boat in Toronto to compete with this.

http://globalnews.ca/news/1334239/tourism-calgary-drops-giant-cowboy-hat-in-toronto-harbour/

Competition in the Tourism is fierce.

30. @Hants

One would imagine road shows, hosting travel operators, using digital, messaging the diaspora must be a few of the other approaches used.

31. hants next time yuh in barbados buy a couple tee shirts with logos and designs featuring barbados and give them to yuh fishing friends and family members insist that they wear them frequently as a favour to you,,, ideas such as these works as stimulants,,,,, never know u might be on to an interesting idea that can be a big financial catch for u. ,,,

32. David I here watching CSI: Miami and sure enough……another 1-800- sandals.

I really hope that Barbados will benefit once Sandals is fully operational next season.

33. @Hants

There is no second guessing the marketing might of Sandals and this is likely why Barbados went with Butch. The argument in Barbados has been the level of concessions given and the lack of transparency in the transaction.

34. David wrote “the level of concessions given and the lack of transparency in the transaction”

I believe that all hotels should be given the same level of concessions and transparency is paramount.