Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

Perhaps, not surprisingly, there is a lot of donor sponsorship fatigue out there and who could blame any sensible corporate entity for not at least ensuring that any ‘investment’ has a reasonable chance of being cost-effective. We are now taking the re-DISCOVER restaurant initiative that we have been promoting with the help of the Barbados Tourism Authority and its successor to the next level, by introducing REWARD vouchers. The concept is that we may be able to entice corporate Barbados to pre-purchase vouchers that can be redeemed at any of the participating restaurants. Each voucher includes dinner for two, a bottle of wine, VAT and service.

A number of our villa, condominium and apartment rental agencies both locally and overseas have expressed great interest in the idea, to a point that some have even placed it on their websites and Facebook pages. They also plan to use the vouchers as incentives to stimulate early bookings and payment of forward deposits.  Initially, 1,000 high quality full colour vouchers and inserts will be printed which will equate to an additional 2,000 dining patrons and revenue generation of $198,000. Each of the five sponsors has been asked to contribute $250 towards the productions costs. The reality is that without this support, the idea simply would not become viable. Our responsibility is now to help ensure that each company can recoup their ‘investment’ over the next few months.

We view a successful return on investment (ROI) as anything above 10:1, so as long as the overall benefit in terms of direct spending or promotional value is more than $2,500 for each company then we have achieved the objective. Add the secondary benefits of enhancing brand images, increasing sales/market share, building awareness, generating additional web traffic and social media buzz and it becomes even more justifiable.

There is also a unique opportunity to use this initiative as a tool to tell the world, that as a destination we can offer a ‘value-for-money’ product when all so often it is discussed at length, especially on the global social network, that Barbados is a high cost holiday choice. Especially during these lean times, we all have to explore creative smart partnerships where collectively, all partners can see a practical gain.

Fortunately, as this column goes to press our sponsorship positions were already oversubscribed, which will allow us to garner even more leverage and present those brave or visionary enough to support our efforts, even greater exposure. As the vouchers are redeemed we will also get a better idea of which restaurants are outperforming others and the reasons why, through the eyes and comments of the actual customers.

Already we have noticed the positive comments being posted on TripAdvisor as a result of re-DISCOVER programme which has, in several cases, raised the ratings of particular participating establishments. More and more of these travel reference websites are being used as a benchmark to influence consumer choice and there cannot be any more effective medium than patrons who have already sampled the experience.

34 responses to “Private Public Sector Tourism Partnership Discover Success”

1. Congrats Adrian, hope the vouchers have some embedded security features to fight against fraud.

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Thank you David, As many as our limited budget allow. We issue unique numbered vouchers to each participating restaurant and will police usage.

3. Life changer + Avatar

Airlines would rather have you book directly through their website than going through an online travel agency (OTA) like Expedia or Priceline. But who has time to search all the airline websites separately? Use a simple Bajan travel app instead, which not only scans all the major airlines’ websites for the lowest fares, but all of the OTAs as well. It can cater for two way traffic in and out of Island year round,including “Discounts.” You can search for flights from our app to everywhere, and that app will return a list of destinations and prices. It will also tell you if it’s cheaper to book one-way tickets on separate airlines rather than a round-trip on one provider, something that airlines hate.
    Not some thing to guess about, and we can increase our Foreign exchange..,

4. Adrian, isn’t there a Barbados online booking agent?

5. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, not yet. There are all sorts challenges including VAT implications and the fact we cannot current process online credit/debit card. Persons wishing to buy the vouchers will be able to purchase them through participating restaurants either for a specified establishment or through re-DISCOVER who will offer ONE voucher which can be redeemed at any one of them. The restaurants are being asked to contribute $1 per voucher (50 cents per patron) towards the costs.

6. Thanks Adrian but the question was about if Barbados has a local online booking agent to facilitate travel to and from Barbados.

7. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, thats a good question and I am not sure. Perhaps someone else could clarify.

8. Found this online link which sheds some light on the matter of online booking agents. Looks like most travel is managed via conventional channels.

http://barbados.org/marketwatch/4c-channels.htm

9. Life Changer + Avatar

@ Adrian.Some people think Marketing is where you reach out and try to convince someone to buy your product. This is doing it the wrong way, what you are supposed to do is inspire people to buy your product. Publicity and promotion is where you educate someone about your product and they feel inspired to contact you to know more with a view to buying. Can you imagine the different conversations from that point? One conversation is where you have called someone ( costs + possibly your in the middle of something) and the other where they Access your data ( booking dates and discounts etc.) If your saying that your not sure if you can accommodate me ( take my money ) for a flight, or until I physically get here then Barbados, has simply lost my business already…..

10. @David

“Found this online link which sheds some light on the matter of online booking agents. Looks like most travel is managed via conventional channels.

http://barbados.org/marketwatch/4c-channels.htm

The above information is some 15 YEARS OLD and is extremely OUT OF DATE and bares no relationship to what is happening in 2014.

The basic issue for Barbados, in the ONLINE WORLD, is one of Currency Controls and the US/Barbados dollar peg.

11. @Wily

Thanks, posted the wrong link.

http://www.bookbarbadosnow.com

12. Life changer + Avatar

@ Adrian.
    Had a look into (Bajan free app) what I blogged earlier.
    “If it is your intention to establish a business in Barbados that will require significant amounts of capital and engage in frequent foreign exchange transactions, then you are strongly advised to meet with officials from the Central Bank of Barbados to inform them of your intentions at the outset of the process.” In about 15 minutes, you can create an app for your business – and for a low monthly subscription fee, you’re all set. From there, the sky’s the limit. “You can book sales with it, setup customer loyalty programs, promote all your special offers, gain social referrals, and much more. Note for all concerned – You don’t have to do any programming or know anything technical – it’s all built-in. For many businesses, the monthly fee is easily covered by the extra revenue generated by the app.”
    Good luck in getting more custom -to you all….

13. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Life Changer +, Thank you and I will explore the options.

14. @Wily Coyote

You are 100% correct when you say “The basic issue for Barbados, in the ONLINE WORLD, is one of Currency Controls and the US/Barbados dollar peg” Not only is it the basic issue in the online world, it is the basic issue of the economy that has to be addressed if we are going to continue to rely on tourism as the major FX producer. The costs are visiting Barbados is continuing to increase as currencies of our many of our major markets drop in value compared to the Barbados dollar. Check the value of the Canadian dollar over he last four years.

15. @Adrian

Do you have an opinion about government’s plans to build a hotel at Sam Lords?

16. David
    We find that the balance of numbers in the Parliament today is likely to have implications for the future. We are surprised that OSA would now find himself on the other side. This represents a life line for the Dees and a dagger in the heart of the Bees as MAM is now highly unlikely to ever be PM. This blow is certainly no less visceral than the private one MAM gave this same Arthur. If we don’t now know that there is no real difference between these two, dumpy smoke we pipe. Many people now have been able to easily navigate the D and B artificial divide. What a game!

17. IMF approved capital works project.

18. @Pacha

Arthur has been accommodated on that side for the optics it brings, Arthur shows up Mia and the government curries favour.Bear in mind Hamilton Lashley was an Independent and he sat on the Opposition side.

19. @David

“Do you have an opinion about government’s plans to build a hotel at Sam Lords?”

It’s just a Government Land Grab justification announcement.
    I’m sure that “PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD” can explain the senario.

20. The government is currently processing title etc because this matter has been weighed by litigation. Now is a good time for Deeds to make a move.

21. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Pachamama | August 5, 2014 at 7:57 PM |
    CAN YOU PLEASE KINDLY EXPLAIN
    1 WHY IS MAM is now highly unlikely to ever be PM.

2 This blow is certainly no less visceral than the private one MAM gave this same Arthur.

WHAT DO YOU MEAN BY the visceral private one MAM gave this same Arthur.

22. Does anyone believe the House has gone on summer recess until October?

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I believe that consecutive Governments have proven they are not the best at owning or attempting to manage hotels or any tourism entity. Just think where we would be as a destination and the quality of our product if the $200-$400 million squandered on GEMS would have been available at feasible interest rates to the private sector. Personally I found the comments from the current PM very disturbing as he appears to be absolutely out of touch with the reality of the current state of tourism and very badly briefed as to what concessions have been implemented. He urgently needs to check on which tourism partners have been successful granted the same concessions as Sandals, the reduction of VAT level to 7.5 per cent, the 10 Point Tourism Plan, the Tourism Master Plan and I could go on and on. Until these issues are addressed we are not going to solve the problems.

24. @Adrian
    YES WE ARE ADRIAN.
    We solving a LOT of SPENDING MONEY problems had by the Current “HANGERS ON” in Government.
    Try NOT to view things so much from just YOUR point .
    Be positive for these Peeps.

25. @David

“Does any believe the house has gone on Summer Recess till??”

Give these guys a break David.

They put a LOT into getting Barbados, to its current peak and position.
    Plus of course there will be needed; lots of trips arranging, off shore accounts and transfers and nominees etc.
    That takes time.
    Plus Fumble ent nah early riser.

26. Life changer + Avatar

@ GEORGIE PORGIE
    The earlier you learned something, the harder it is to change. “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks” is a saying for a reason.
    Your blogs are basicly saying ” I Seek Out People Like me to Avoid Change, and ignore new information.” I bet your superstitious as well….

27. Those listening to some of the debate in the House yesterday would have been disappointed at the empty debate. The Opposition continuing to point out broken promises by government and the government asking the Opposition to bring solutions. It is our system. No answer when the 10 point tourism plan will fully unfold, when will the Product Unit of the BTI be established etc.

28. Life changer + Avatar

@ David.
    You have probably heard the phrase many times, “timing is everything”. There is a great deal of truth in that statement. The difference between a good joke and a bad one is a person’s sense of timing. An appropriate pause makes a joke . . . an inappropriate pause can kill the same joke.
    Timing is essential when dealing with people. You don’t ask for a raise when business is not going well or when things are tense around the office. You don’t try to correct someone who feels threatened by you. You don’t ask for a favor when someone is under a lot of stress or angry…

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Dr. Love, it is very difficult to comprend that when thousands of people are being disgarded, the dismal falure of implementation, yet the current Governments policy of introducing yet more taxes on the tourism industry while non-performing Ministers of Government drive around in new luxury SUVs.

30. Interesting to listen to Arthur’s contribution yesterday in the House. His is a simple view, the tourism industry is responsible for 60% of the economy, the government needs to give the industry what it wants to be competitive and share the rest of the budget with the other sectors.

31. The voucher idea is a good one but not that new. At least one local company gives its best customers vouchers as Christmas gifts to a certain value to be used at any one of a group of restaurants, with the restaurants’ approval, of course. Such plans are so much better for the economy than gifts of imported booze. I would encourage everyone, not just corporate entities, to check with the Barbados Manufacturers Association, who publish a catalogue of locally-made potential gift items every Christmas. Time to put money back into Barbados!

32. St.Lucia is at it again:

http://www.eturbonews.com/48787/saint-lucia-tourist-board-launches-innovative-campaign

On Wednesday, 6 August 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

33. Here’s a study the BHTA commissioned in December 2009, looks like same old same old.

http://www.bhta.org/images/Download/PCS_BHTA_Tourism_Study_2009.pdf