The following was sent to the Nation Newspaper by Minister Donville Inniss

Sanka Price taken to task by Minister Inniss
Nation Editor Sanka Price taken to task by Minister Inniss

Reference is made to an article appearing in your Nation Newspaper today which relates to matters before the Parliament of Barbados (Order Paper).

Under the caption on Page 5 Govt Seeking to raise record  $4B, you state, “When the House of Assembly returns from the Easter recess today at 10am, Government will be seeking to raise the highest amount of money ever – a record $4 billion – through the issue of Treasury Bills and tax certificates which is almost double the current level set two years ago.”

This is an erroneous statement. I am not sure if the error is due to the contents of the Order Paper or due to your newspaper misunderstanding of the laws of Barbados. However, by way of clarification, the Government is seeking Parliament’s approval to raise the loan limit to $4b (as opposed to borrowing $4billion).

Section 2(1) of the Treasury Bills and Tax Certificates Act, Cap 106 gives the Minister of Finance the authority, subject to Parliament’s approval, to raise sums not exceeding the amount specified in the relevant resolution by the issue of treasury bills and tax reserve certificates and tax refund certificates. Such monies raised via this mechanism may also be used to pay off bills issued and outstanding.

Now whilst the abovementioned quote may be excusable, the following comment in said article is perhaps a deep reflection of mischief seeking to outpace commonsense along the racetrack of intellectual competence.

and with proposed amendments to the electronic Transactions Act also on the Order Paper, there are indications that the cash trapped Government may not be able to pay people eligible for tax refunds in cash but may do so with tax certificates.

Perhaps had your writer taken the time out to ask a question or to do some basic research then the conclusion drawn in statement above, would not have surfaced. Perhaps my not-yet-conceived grandchild, is more appreciative of the fact that the Electronic Transactions Act amendments helps to create a better platform for e-commerce and the greater use of ET to help transform this economy by enhancing administrative matters related to said Act.

To take these two pieces of matters before Parliament and conclude that the Government is cash trapped and is looking to provide tax refunds via tax certificates and not cash, is absolutely erroneous.

I am particularly disturbed by your article because your media house sometimes seems oblivious of how far and wide your comments reach and how others use the information contained therein informs decisions elsewhere which may impact upon our island.

This article was drawn to my attention earlier today by a potential investor from Europe, who called this morning to say that based on these two paragraphs, his firm is re-looking the Barbados option. I have sought to allay his concerns by pointing out the errors. Not sure how many others out there are guided by the errors of some of your articles.

By way of charting a way forward, I make myself available to explain any item on the Order Paper of Parliament and to help clarify any concerns you may have.

Regards

Donville Inniss MP

107 responses to “Nation Newspaper Continues to Mislead”

1. Seems like the the Nation Newspaper strikes again …

2. Donville, the error was not the NATION’s but Parliament’s and for which Minister Sinckler apologized! Yuh too hasty!

3. @Albert Brandford

The Prime Minister about 10 minutes ago condemned the Nation for posting the article, the question therefore, what does it all mean?

4. @ David
    Did Sinckler state in his submission today that the government is in fact cash strapped?

5. @enuff

Yes he did.

6. I read the article in the NationNews and I believed it to be true given the recent layoffs and the other information regarding the state of the economy.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/govt-seeking-to-raise-record-4b/

I expect errors and mistakes when reporting on a car crash or a football match but not on issues as serious as this.

Now even more absurd is Albert Brandford blaming Sinckler for the mistake.

Sinckler does not work at the Nation.

7. Donville Inniss wrote “This article was drawn to my attention earlier today by a potential investor from Europe”

Guess what Mr. Minister there are also ordinary overseas Bajans who invested in Government debentures so some of us would be concerned when we read in a newspaper the words “Government may not be able to pay”

So I will have to take a sip of the single malt and relax.

David BU is becoming the reliable source of information although you have to read between the lines.lol

8. as I have said before the nation newspaper acts with a level of impunity and complete disdain. I think this comes more from their sense of their market power than any political agenda. power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. the nation knows they run things right now and they are doing as they please. they know most people will not sue, when people sue they have the money to pay for lawsuits, and when anyone takes a stand they hide behind press freedom and the public’s need to know. the nation is like any other big business flexing its might to its own benefit.

9. the paper has fallen a long way from its high standards. its now an opinionated, he sad, she said, sensationalize what you can rag. the country deserves a lot better.

10. shite..man three strikes the nation is out,,,,,now how many more of these political errors,,,or pot shots is the nation going to be excused( of) from the misguided blp malcontents who in cahoots with the nattions seems to have waged an all out war at govt, to the detriment of country,,want a bunch on billy goats ,,,,sinckler was right the whole gang are ignorant bald pooch jack rabbits, chomping at bits and pieces,

11. the problem is that the nation actually subtracts from its ability to credibly critique the government by these types of actions. By seeming as if its always looking for the worst spin on each and everything its undermines the credibility of all its stories related to the government and the economy.

12. Where did the Nation get its information from?

13. The Nation is committed to bringing Barbados to its knees to further facilitate the takeover by Trickidadians.
    Which part of that is difficult to grasp….?

Wuh shiite…even if the story WAS TRUE, something of such possible negative impact on a FRAGILE economy would DESERVE a double check, …an authoritative comment from some official as to what such a ‘loan’ means…. why it was needed etc….
    ….unless of course you wanted to frig-up that economy even more…

The government NEEDS to be criticized – because they ARE a bunch of incompetent jackasses….and the opposition is slightly less appealing…BUT this only serves to make the Nation’s task easier….indeed the Nation Group has excelled in meeting their master’s ONE CARIBBEAN objectives so far….
    …and wunna must remember where that “ONE” comes from….
    It was the “one” from ten that leaves ZERO….. 🙂

14. But look my crosses, though! Donville Inniss you really got the unmitigated gall to tell the Nation that they are misleading the public? Talk about being bold faced!

Mr Minister, we the people of Barbados would you like to answer to us for the gross bold faced lies you dems went all over our country and told us to get our votes to win an election. You need to answer for the lies you told. You told us no privatisation, no layoffs…..not a job will be lost. You told us the country was stable.

In the light of what has been happening……the six thousand persons who have been sent home, many without a cent, the economy which was stable and on a growth path, we want you to tell us if you dems were not only misleading Barbados but were LYING.

15. The DLP is all about smoke and mirrors. The time they spending to persecute the Nation would be better spent governing this country because God knows they are doing an awful job.

16. “This article was drawn to my attention earlier today by a potential investor from Europe, who called this morning to say that based on these two paragraphs, his firm is re-looking the Barbados option.”

These DLP ministers and their supporters are always trying to give the impression that opposing views by the BLP , their supporters and independent commentators, are used by potential investors as the basis upon which they will invest in Barbados.
    This is utter rubbish and Donville Inniss has used this strategy to appeal to the emotions of his supporters.

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Albert Brandford;

You said above:
    Donville, the error was not the NATION’s but Parliament’s and for which Minister Sinckler apologized! Yuh too hasty!

Give us the particulars as Donville’s post really makes “the Nation” look almost as inept and incompetent as the Government has proven itself to be.

What did Minister Sinckler apologize for? What did he actually say?

18. Artaxerxes,

Every time the economy takes a deeper dive down into the black hole, out comes either Donville Inniss or Maxine McClean saying that either the BLP or its supporters and now the latest whipping boy, the Nation are discouraging investors from investing in Barbados. This is the DLP’s modus operandi. Don’t be fooled, we have wised up their their every slippery moves.

Out of the mouth of the one person who should be instilling confidence in the economy, he declares today he had to send home people to save the dollar from devaluation. Won’t this scare investors rather than some article in the Nation?

The Dems are desperate and they are angry and are going to be lashing out at any and everyone. Did you not hear the crack heads and shout some people minister on DLPTV last night? He attacked every teacher……and this from a man who was one of the worst teachers at Christ Church Boys…. who was hardly there for his students when he was leader of the BUT.

The worst is yet to come, Barbados, buckle up for the rough ride and crash landing. One thing I notice today, the Stinkliar sounds like a defeated man, he just does not know what else to do……..all else has failed…..miserably!

19. What about the second part of the article which refers to the Electronic Transaction Act? How did Sanka Price make the leap to tax certificate?

20. the gov call for truth in journalism was once again put to the test and he was proven right ,,,, BU took what was belived to be factual and truthful information from the nation newspaper and posted assuming it was factual,, only now to find out it was wrong,,,,, many readers who have not followed up on this story have been fed false information on which they will rely ,,,the gov. call should be appreciated [ as it seems that there is a growing and deliberate attempt by some in the media who have a vested interest in the destruction of a country and its people,,,there is no freedom when truth is obliterated,,

21. What is the definition of a jackass anyone?

22. david ……the definition is a person who holds and entertains nasty and offensive language ,, hmmmmm,

23. David | May 13, 2014 at 9:12 PM |

“What is the definition of a jackass anyone?”

ac????

24. artaxerexes

ammm….OSA left a relevant piece of information for you live and in living color on the economic blog,,,,,,go check it u would not be disappointed jack ass,,ha, hha,, ha,,,,,,now it makes two,,,,ja,,,,,ssss,

25. Prodigal Son | May 13, 2014 at 8:24 PM |

I agree with you, Prodigal

26. why is this about the dems? we live in a world where many peoples reality is shaped by the media. to whom much is given much is expected. in rightly decrying the central bank governor for his ban on the nation they spoke of the critical role of the press and the need for press freedom. with that freedom comes responsibility. can we honestly say that the nation and starcom have generally used the immense power they have in a responsible manner. my answer is a resounding no. what the ras this has to do with dems or beed. we have a set of narrow minded, single issue bloggers who cannot see an issue outside the lens of dems or bees, or party politics.

27. I find it very amusing that Donville Inniss signed off as MP not as a Minister of Commerce etc.but as an ordinary MP,which tells me he doesn’t have his facts either.And I find it equally amusing that he got a call from somebody in Europe with some ram goat bring game cock story.If you DLP clowns would stop listening to the call in programmes and work for the country Barbados,we might start to grow the economy.Between the hours of 10am and 2pm these ministers are glued to Brasstacks.What a poor rakey bunch of losers.They have finally got around to offshore drilling possibilities.These clowns are so desperate!

28. and david yu re right, how the rashole the reporter made the logical leap he did with the electronic commerce bill and tax certificates. talk about false premises and tenuous arguments.

29. People what has not been sorted out yet is whether the government is borrowing or printing money to settle its debt through treasure instruments that is due. Would moving the limit to 4 Billion allow them to do that? Are we paying debt by incurring more debt by the printing of money through the Central Bank?

30. @ac
    Every person on this blog knows you are a jackass, even your Dlp friends, Fractured is your #2

31. unless there is a special issue the use of the funds from tbills or denbentures is never spelt out. why did Obama try raise the debt ceiling in the US several times? Bim like any country has a legal limit on the amount of borrowing set at some date in the past. if the leaders of the day have reason to believe that they may need to borrow more than the limit then they go to parliament to raise the limit.

government’s anywhere in the world typically settle existing debt by issuing new debt. the central bank, the minister of finance, estwick, the imf, the opposition all agree and have stated that the debt levels in bim are too high and that there will be financing challenges this year. the government has to finance its operations this year, if the financial institutions have a preference for shorter maturities due to current fiscal challenges why would the finance minister not seek to increase how much he can borrow short term? would it be better to lay off more people? would it better to default on debt?

32. watchman yuh got nutting better to do wid yuh self …….ac don’t rice at “every person,” ,,jack as…ss ..now it meks three of us,,, next,,,

33. borrowing to repay existing debts is incredibly normal in most countries, its called rolling over debt lemuel. printing money is much less respectable although the US is still printing a wash of money.

34. its sad that at this stage of our development with so many persons trained in finance that a wealthy media house like starcom refuses to invest in someone with a modicum of financial sophistication but yet it seeks to opine on financial matters, no wonder it ends up misleading. the politics is a national disease we have been distracted from the issue of whether or not we are being well served by the dominant media house.

35. why doesnt the nation help the unemployment rate by employing two or since finance/economics graduates

36. Lemuel,

The governor said in the press conference that the deficit in the fiscal year was larger than he expected…11.3% because of a fall in revenue of $245 million dollars. He said he will continue to finance the government by printing more money until the deficit is cut to 6%. What arrogance!

This spells total danger. He promised the IMF that he would stop financing government by printing money. We are doomed with this and and Stinkliar.

37. my understanding of the governor’s statement is that it will take time before the expenditure cuts (such as the layoffs), and any new revenue (say solid waste tax) ease the cash flow and in the interim the bank is prepared to do financing if necessary to prevent debt default or a government shutdown. so prodigal yu are asking for either a debt default, more drastic and immediate expenditure cuts (salaries in central government and statutory corporations and interest are the largest items) or more drastic and immediate revenue measures. i agree that these need to be taken if central bank financing is the ultimate sin.

38. or maybe go imf get some financing, but deal with the devaluation, expenditure cuts, privatizations and new taxes they will insist on. I actually think that may be better for bim than the current programme. do you agree prodigal and lemuel?

39. whole heartedly agree with bad boy,,,,,,,there is good debt and bad debt,,right now the debt barbados is facing is weighed down with heavy interest and a significant amount of applied charges,,,the focus is one of elimination..wherby the old debt which is ( *bad debt) would be either restructured or paid off in full which in turn reduces higher interest rates and cost to taxpayers annually ,, the new debt would be like having a first time loan… with one payment over a structured period of timeor payments over a period of time which would bring down debt without unsurmountable burden wherby ,cutting the cost of the loan and eliminating the additional cost and charges of the previous debt,,,,,there are no two ways in avoiding debt to an economy..it is all part of growth,,debt is essential to part of a growing economy……that is a fact,,however having said that,,the trick in avoiding what this country is facing due to high debt and slow growth ,is that when an economy is experiencing and having a healthy economic climate,,or running on all four cylinders,,those at the helm..must make decisions as a long term investment to induce and provide a secured economic environment strengthening and providing a stable fiscal platform on which a country can stand long term…so far this govt seems to be taking note and is learning lessons from the past,,,,,, …

40. Bad Boy:

Clearly, you are not a bad boy when it comes to macroeconomics!! Why do think some people in the Republican Party want to hang Obama because he like the Governor is paying debts by creating more debt and printing money through the Federal Reserve.

41. @Nation “When the House of Assembly returns from the Easter recess today at 10am,”

Good lord Donville. it is almost Whit Monday and wunna now return from Easter recess???

42. Bad Boy:

Do you understand the social and economic devastation that shall come when the dollar is devalued. Already people are storing US dollars, and it shall also take flight by the same electronic transfer!!

43. @Donville “mischief seeking to outpace commonsense along the racetrack of intellectual competence.”

What does this mean in English?

44. AC

If nothing is running properly economically, where are you going to find this “good debt”? You need to let someone who knows what they are talking about read your talking points from the DLP before you post!!

45. But Donville is it true that the Nation quoted a very senior P.S. recently as saying that the government ain’t got na money.

And has said P.S. instructed his or her attorney to sue the Nation’s ass?

True or lie Donville?

Or maybe I should ask Roy “true or lie Roy?

46. @Donville “Government is cash trapped and is looking to provide tax refunds via tax certificates and not cash, is absolutely erroneous.”

Time will tell. Time ALWAYS tells.

Has anybody received a cash or cheque income tax refund yet?

47. if we want to avoid devaluation, we have to avoid an imf program, which requires a home grown program of the type the dems are implementing and importantly no imf financing. if there is no central bank financing while that programme is being implemented we then default which will almost certainly lead to massive capital fligth and then devaluation.

48. Any one what was he size of the government’s budget for this year’s estimates. I am sure it was not 4 Billion. If I am right why would the governor want to raise the debt limit to more than the estimates for 2014-2015?

49. @Donville “This article was drawn to my attention earlier today by a potential investor from Europe, who called this morning to say that based on these two paragraphs, his firm is re-looking the Barbados option.”

Notwithstanding that the Nation is a old and as serious as the London TImes. LOL!!!! We doubt very much that any serous, major investor makes his investment decisions based solely or principally on what is written in the Nation.

Sorry Nation.

50. @bad boy May 13, 2014 at 6:48 PM “as I have said before the nation newspaper acts with a level of impunity and complete disdain. I think this comes more from their sense of their market power than any political agenda. power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely”

How can you say this?

Journalists in Barbados have to work with lawyers peeping over their shoulders all the time.

What if journos in Barbados were free to write and speak the truth without fear of being sued for libel?

Oh happy day.