The following was sent to the Nation Newspaper by Minister Donville Inniss

Sanka Price taken to task by Minister Inniss
Nation Editor Sanka Price taken to task by Minister Inniss

Reference is made to an article appearing in your Nation Newspaper today which relates to matters before the Parliament of Barbados (Order Paper).

Under the caption on Page 5 Govt Seeking to raise record  $4B, you state, “When the House of Assembly returns from the Easter recess today at 10am, Government will be seeking to raise the highest amount of money ever – a record $4 billion – through the issue of Treasury Bills and tax certificates which is almost double the current level set two years ago.”

This is an erroneous statement. I am not sure if the error is due to the contents of the Order Paper or due to your newspaper misunderstanding of the laws of Barbados. However, by way of clarification, the Government is seeking Parliament’s approval to raise the loan limit to $4b (as opposed to borrowing $4billion).

Section 2(1) of the Treasury Bills and Tax Certificates Act, Cap 106 gives the Minister of Finance the authority, subject to Parliament’s approval, to raise sums not exceeding the amount specified in the relevant resolution by the issue of treasury bills and tax reserve certificates and tax refund certificates. Such monies raised via this mechanism may also be used to pay off bills issued and outstanding.

Now whilst the abovementioned quote may be excusable, the following comment in said article is perhaps a deep reflection of mischief seeking to outpace commonsense along the racetrack of intellectual competence.

and with proposed amendments to the electronic Transactions Act also on the Order Paper, there are indications that the cash trapped Government may not be able to pay people eligible for tax refunds in cash but may do so with tax certificates.

Perhaps had your writer taken the time out to ask a question or to do some basic research then the conclusion drawn in statement above, would not have surfaced. Perhaps my not-yet-conceived grandchild, is more appreciative of the fact that the Electronic Transactions Act amendments helps to create a better platform for e-commerce and the greater use of ET to help transform this economy by enhancing administrative matters related to said Act.

To take these two pieces of matters before Parliament and conclude that the Government is cash trapped and is looking to provide tax refunds via tax certificates and not cash, is absolutely erroneous.

I am particularly disturbed by your article because your media house sometimes seems oblivious of how far and wide your comments reach and how others use the information contained therein informs decisions elsewhere which may impact upon our island.

This article was drawn to my attention earlier today by a potential investor from Europe, who called this morning to say that based on these two paragraphs, his firm is re-looking the Barbados option. I have sought to allay his concerns by pointing out the errors. Not sure how many others out there are guided by the errors of some of your articles.

By way of charting a way forward, I make myself available to explain any item on the Order Paper of Parliament and to help clarify any concerns you may have.

Regards

Donville Inniss MP

107 responses to “Nation Newspaper Continues to Mislead”

1. @David May 13, 2014 at 9:12 PM “What is the definition of a jackass anyone?

A jackass is the opposite of a jennyass

ac is female therefore she is NOT a jackass

2. SS

Change your glasses

3. @bad boy

True but it all will be solved when there is confidence returned to the market, stark economic policies will not do it.

4. Oh dear look how Sandals pull out of the Heywoods deal. I hate to have predicted this but I told a few friends last year, that when all was said and done Bjerkhamn and Simpson et al, ably assisted by Maloney and big guts Sealy, was going to walk away with the property to be used for a third marina.

Duplicity is a bitch……….only thing left to do now is how to get the government to pay for the property as its “equity” in the project but leaving all the upside profits to private sector.

I smell other Four Seasons in the making.

5. lemuel you do not understand economics all wunna BLP malcontents understand are words which wunna regurgitate to cast fear,,,,debt that accumulates with high interest and insurmountable charges annually is called bad debt, there are many ways to tackle that debt,,,,,maybe borrow ,,to pay off such debt,,,,increased taxes, or sell off primary investments ,, now you can choose any of the above which you think can tackle the bad debt ,,which barbados is facing,,in an environment where the main source of income has been cut drastically,,,,,,

6. WED, MAY 14, 2014 – 12:08 AM

A major change of heart by Sandals Resorts International of Jamaica relating to its proposed Almond Beach Village project in St Peter has opened the door for Government to stage a potentially massive coup in local tourism.

At the same time it is well placed to see close to $1 000 million being invested in the economy.

The shift in what is to be the largest single hotel project ever undertaken in Barbados has left Government with a recommendation that it purchase the historic Sam Lord’s Castle, one of the most famous names in local tourism, to establish a new Almond-branded resort in St Philip.

MIDWEEK NATION investigations revealed that just two weeks ago the Gordon “Butch” Stewart-led international hotel operation informed Government that it was no longer interested in a lease arrangement for the sought after Heywoods,

St Peter property on which is plans to establish a multimillion-dollar Beaches Resort to be the new flagship in its Caribbean chain.

7. AC

I neither support DLP or BLP, but I live here. Enough said!!

8. The Nation needs to be careful. Some of my co-workers if they read a story in the paper they always wonder if the details are true because its the ‘Nation’.

9. just asking , Avatar

Only yesterday i asked if anyone was aware of how any lawsults the nation was facing for defamation . They soon wont be able to get insurance ,

10. Sandals like they decide to beat a hasty barefoot retreat from Barbados. Whaloss this is bare sport.

11. @ bad boy:

“its sad that at this stage of our development with so many persons trained in finance that a wealthy media house like starcom refuses to invest in someone with a modicum of financial sophistication but yet it seeks to opine on financial matters,

Thank you for making that great point. A multi-million dollar enterprise should be employing at least one professional independent columnist so that readers will be treated to better analysis regardless of which party is in power. Brilliant point mad @ bad boy.

12. If I were a investor from Europe or any other place my concerns would be the very overvalued Barbados dollar which is destined to decline, the IMF presence, rising unemployment, stringent financial controls on getting my money back out of Barbados, falling GDP, declining tourism all which will be leading to a increase in social unrest and all of which are negatives when compared to many other investment opportunities in the rest of the world.

And by the way. whether you are raising the lending limit to 4 billion or borrowing 4 billion….at the end of the day you owe 4 billion and whatever increase there is in Government Debt will lead to further FX declines. The real message being sent to investors is that even after borrowing money from Credit Swisse we now have to borrow more money which will put further pressure on FX reserves. And then as an investor I would just be unsure about the security of my investment when I constantly hear about the Chinese and Middle Eastern countries making very substantial loans to the Government that may effect my potential investment.

There is a very large financial mess to clean up before investments are coming our way.

13. but david confidence does not just appear like that and is a complicated multi-faceted mix of things. I will, suggest to you that a credible austerity programme is crucial to restoring confidence. if you have a deficit and you take the decision to lay off ten percent of the public sector work force (3,000) and end fully funded university education for example you send a string signal to the market that you are serious about dealing with your problems. It does not solve your cash flow problems but if provides investors with confidence that you are willing to take the tough decisions. Another key piece is where will the growth come from. to me the administration is failing in implementing and getting its growth message out. it seems stuck right now with convincing the market that it is serious about the austerity. I think they need to do the austerity and talk more about the growth initiatives.

14. Ross
    The word is SPECTACLES and not glasses.

15. Oh..lemuel i forget one of the most highly touted recomendations bythe blp. Cuts..cuts but when govt pursue or implements the cries of doom and gloom ..and how govt is hurting the poor becomes louder…in economics there are no set rules on the how trends or movements might affect an economy..most of which is learnt by trial and error and not repeating past policies which have failed

16. but my reading of the sandals story is that sandals wants to do the project itself rather than enter a lease arrangement. am i the only one with that reading?

17. One must not compare the US Government raising the debt limit with the Federal Reserve and compare it to the Barbados Government raisng its debt limit to 4 billion.Besides the stupidity of the comparison,the Federal reserve is owned by a select few and makes a killing out of the decision, while in our case its the taxpayers’ ass that is grass.Hear the leading jackdonkey bray in parliament yesterday”Oh we not borrowing that kind of money ,we only making provision so we dont have to keep coming back here to raise it again”Yea tell that to your constituents in St Michael South;(my teacher would say’tell that to the marines’)They will believe it no doubt.Moody’s will further downgrade your payback failure to a grade in the region of 30% possible default on debt due.All you are doing is borrowing to finance current account.Hear a recent commnet from a Fund Manager
    “With tax revenues stagnant,the government debt burden is large and growing.More and more borrowing is being focused in short term Treasury bills due in part to investors’ unwillingness to buy long term bonds in the necessary quantities……..still the cost of interest on debt already outstanding is a huge portion of the government’s budget,dwarfing the budgets most government departments;let alone the cost savings from the very painful staff reductions announced recently.Unfortunately,we continue to believe that finding a sustainable solution to the fiscal stresses will not be easy,or painless”.
    The misguided and ill informed electorate missed the boat in February 2013 and everybody now will have to suck salt.The policies of Freundel Stuart,Chris Sinckler,DeeLisle Worrell,Jepter Ince and Darcy the Quisling Boyce,should all combine to bring disaster to Barbados’ economy.All we need now is for Hamilton Lashley,having failed in his bid to get Vybes Kartel to come to Barbados to lecture to our school children,now in an attempt to bring football teams from Laventille and Morvant,two of the most volatile communities in Trinidad,notorious for shooting and killing each other in gang warfare,Lashley wants to bring this criminal element to Barbados to cause more division and heartache in this country.The Dems are up to no good when it comes to morality in public life.A man who diverted peoples policy finances into shell companies so he alone can benefit,is held up by this Prime Minister as a good example of an upright,honest and outstanding citizen.So wait,Barbados is Jenkins now?Madass people running this place?

18. Are we seeing a destabilisation of the Nation Newspapers by people with political interest. Journalism is practice every second. You don’t have to wait on press releases like the Old Lady on Fontabelle who practices reactive journalism. This is not the Nation way which practices PRO-ACTIVE journalism. If a public figure don’t want sniping of stupid, or planned action to be printed, then the best thing is to shut your mouth. Suppose Obama made a security statement whilst in the mist of people whilst having a glass of alcoholic beverage…..Don’t you think that the risk factor will be greatest with one of them rushing to the media.

ac and Bad Boy and the other political bench warmers criticise the Nation due to the below statement in yesterday’s Nation:-
    “Government will be seeking to raise the highest amount of money ever – a record $4 billion – through the issue of Treasury Bills and tax certificates which is almost double the current level set two years ago”.

The order paper states
    “Be it resolved that Parliament approve the 4.0 billion dollars as the amount to be raised by the issue of treasury bills and tax certificates and tax reserve certificates and tax refund certificates in accordance with the Act”.

Now you understand why the MoF had to give an apology since the Speaker would have read the same order paper with the same language, thus the reason for clarification.

The PM stated that the amount was raised so that the house would not have to meet constantly to raise the limit. Flexibility by foot, more debt, less revenue. Medicine for failure.
    I wonder if the Advocate had published the same statement from the actual order paper like the Nation what will the critics say. Anyway we will be waiting in vain since that paper don’t publish negative party statements.

19. i don’t agree gabriel. the us is raising the debt limit to borrow money to help pay debt and run the government because they are still running large fiscal deficits. Barbados is doing the same. the major differences are that for a variety of reasons the US can sell as much tbilsl and bonds as it likes (until china changes its mind) while we can’t, so we have financing challenges that the US does not have, secondly, with no fixed exchange rate and the rest of the world still willing to hold dollars, the US can print as much money as it likes, we can’t do that. hence we are either forced to go to the IMF to get some financing and deal with the conditionalities or do the kinda program we are trying to do with some assistance from the central bank.

20. yu know gabriel, elections are about choices. did the bees really present themselves as a good alternative, the put money in your pocket slogan and we can turn everything around overnight smacked to me of a leadership not in touch with the state of the local or global economy. the removal of motley seemed to also divide the party and reduce the election energy. there may have been strategic errors such as the focus on radio ads to the exclusion of tv which the dems used very effectively, it would have been the fifth election all about owen, people can get jaded and fatigued with that message. the dems had done no layoffs at that point, the housing was a visible sort of success, bajans have never given one term. to me there are a whole heap of things, hence a close outcome.

21. Due Diligence Avatar

bad boy | May 14, 2014 at 9:16 AM |
    “but my reading of the sandals story is that sandals wants to do the project itself rather than enter a lease arrangement. am i the only one with that reading?”

My initial read of the Sandals story was that that Gordon “Butch” is pulling out of the deal for a Beaches at the property at Heywoods, St. Peter. But with the lack of detail in the abbreviated Sandals story at http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/buyout/ it is rather confusing.

DD does not have access to the full story in today’s MIDWEEK NATION, only to abbreviated nationnews.com story; and would appreciate if someone in the BU family could post the full story to this blog, so us bloggers can see more details.

In an article “Big Plans” at http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/05/14/big-plans-2/ Minister Sinkler is quoted as saying :“In tourism, in another two days or more it will be revealed that massive foreign and local investments will be made in this sector. I had a visitation from an investor who said that a group of them had just bought a major property which had been out of ‘circulation’ and will be brought back into business by 2015/2016.”

I guess “in two days or more” the MOF or a representative of the group of investors will be disclosing details of the major property they have just bought – Heywoods perhaps?

22. @bad boy

You are correct an austerity program is a bitter pill required to heal the patient but a good bedside manner and conversation are also required to make it less painful. This combative and turbulent landscape will trigger side ailments.

23. the nation story i suggesting that sandals will do the beaches in its own instead of leasing from government and the btii has recommended that the government used the money it had planned to spend on the beaches to do an almond branded property at the sam lords site.

24. agreed David

25. @bad boy

The government was in bailout mode regarding Heywoods. To pursue the same approach when the MoT is on record expressing regret at government’s involvement in the ownership of hotels would have to be explained in context.

26. Due Diligence Avatar

Happy Days are here again!!!!!!!!!!!

Below are some highlights attributed to Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler that I have cut and pasted from the article “Big Plans” at http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/05/14/big-plans-2/

investors continued to pump major funds into the island because of their confidence in the economy, even amidst the downturn.

Only this morning I met with some investors, but I am not at liberty to speak about the meeting, because it is in germination. It is going to bring a new kind of colour to Barbados’ economy,

In tourism, in another two days or more it will be revealed that massive foreign and local investments will be made in this sector. I had a visitation from an investor who said that a group of them had just bought a major property which had been out of ‘circulation’ and will be brought back into business by 2015/2016.

We know that significant foreign investment is going into Barbados’ tourism plant.

Sinckler revealed that there would soon be “exciting news” regarding Barbados’ offshore drilling programme.

very shortly I will be asking the Prime Minister’s permission to travel overseas to speak with international investors to bring them up to date on what is happening in that area.

We know of the investment in the waste to energy project.

during a recent dinner engagement with a member of the Royal family and investors he was given the assurance that they will do everything to bring investors to the country.

The minister added that Sandals invested US$65 million in the property because of the concessions offered “and particularly because of investor confidence in the future of Barbados economy

Apart from Sandals – US$65 million, there are no names and no numbers; just talk, talk, talk.

DD suggests the Prime Minister decline the request for permission to travel overseas to speak with international investors; indeed he should put a gag order on the MOF.

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Print the truth no matter what , unless under age, Let Bajans know what the government is hiding , get investigative reports to go out and seek the problems of the nations and not just print what the DBLP want you to print to control the people, Truth be told . Dont be like Tony Best , a crook liar and scumbag ,

28. Plantation=MASSIVE BUT DEEDS LOST, POLICE COME,,,NOTMY FAULT MASSIVE FRUAD,&fualt TOTALLT MADE UP, not wereking Avatar
    Plantation=MASSIVE BUT DEEDS LOST, POLICE COME,,,NOTMY FAULT MASSIVE FRUAD,&fualt TOTALLT MADE UP, not wereking

Blpdlp police not WORKING,DEEDS BUT NO POLICE EVIDENCE…boney peps

29. David any savvy investor would try to buy Heywoods, Sam Lords or Four Seasons.

Those are 3 prime locations for Luxury hotel/resort development and I am betting that is what will happen in the next few years.

30. While Donville denying that government is cash strapped, Sinckler in Parliament admitting it is in fact true. Whilst justifying increasing the debt limit to $4b to avoid having to return soon (clear indication of intent to borrow heavily?) bragging about BIG injections of foreign funded projects. This is a tragicomedy, no amount of spin by ac, badboy et al can convince me otherwise.

31. @enuff

The debt ceiling is 2,6 billion why quibble about 1.4b?

32. David I aint quibbling. My point is the stories just don’t add up!

33. It was a sarcastic comment. The discussion has to be bifurcated i.e. current debt + limit increase and what does it mean.

34. sandals …sandals …. the bad news bears have latched on to another piece of halftruth and misinformation……..

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Due Diligence

You mentioned that “Sinckler revealed that there would soon be “exciting news” regarding Barbados’ offshore drilling programme.”

Did Sinckliar make mention of the “onshore drilling programme??..”

De one where he and de rest uh dem drill we pooches fuh blood??

Oh sorry it is only de bald pooch cat dat he talk bout nuh…300,000 bald pooch cats/pussies….

36. @Due Diligence
    “Sinckler revealed that there would soon be “exciting news” regarding Barbados’ offshore drilling programme.

very shortly I will be asking the Prime Minister’s permission to travel overseas to speak with international investors to bring them up to date on what is happening in that area”…………………………….

DD,
    The dead king and the DLP said in 2008 that there was no oil off Barbados and it was all a hoax by the BLP. What would Stinkliar be drilling off shore for?

37. “Only this morning I met with some investors, but I am not at liberty to speak about the meeting, because it is in germination. It is going to bring a new kind of colour to Barbados’ economy,

In tourism, in another two days or more it will be revealed that massive foreign and local investments will be made in this sector. I had a visitation from an investor who said that a group of them had just bought a major property which had been out of ‘circulation’ and will be brought back into business by 2015/2016…………………………………………………

More lies…….from the biggest liar ever to be a minster of finance. Remember the idle boasts and projects that were on stream during the hastily put together press conference with the other buffoon Richard Sealy last year………projects on my desk…..will begin in two months……as we speak……….dont forget the 600,000 stimulus programme that we are still waiting on. Remember Pickering, the Merritt project, the marina project?

DD, I will believe when I see actual projects .

38. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Some Good news

When I read that report and the others earlier today I thought that at last there seemed to be not only a break in the bad luck of this administration but that things would not be as dread as I have been fearing for well over a year and that we seemed at last to be seeing a glimmer of distant light at the end of a long tunnel.

Then it occurred to me that Butch is a savvy business man and I wondered what was in it for him that trumped his getting a rebuilt sandalised property to manage at hardly any cost to himself and if somehow eligibility for the massive concessions might be at play here. I also wondered how easy it would be for the Government to convince the Chinese to transfer the sizeable investment that had been allocated for the Heywoods – Sandals project to a Sam Lord’s – Almond one without a very significant time lag. I also wondered at the identity of the investors who had indicated that they were purchasing the direlict property alluded to in the article and what that might portend.

I hope these projects depart from the trajectory of many of the big projects mooted over the past 6 years.

39. I wonder why sandals wants to buy the St. Peter property now instead of a bolt arrangement . While it might benefit our coffers the fact that they can turn around their strategy so quickly is a bit disconcerting. But then the MOF says he will rake the Chinese loan to take over Sam lords. I don’t know how one can take a loan committed for one project and divert it to another. This and all these apparent worldwide INVESTORS makes me wonder what juice these ministers drinking.

40. Due Diligence Avatar

pieceuhderockyeahright | May 14, 2014 at 6:31 PM |

“I will be asking the Prime Minister’s permission to travel overseas to speak with international investors to bring them up to date on what is happening in that area.”

DD wonders how those international investors in New York, London, Toronto, Frankfurt, Beijing etc will feel about investing in Bim after they hear de bald pooch cat talk

41. @ David

What do you think?

“The NATION actually quoted the lower end of the range of the number to be retrenched; the upper end is 80.”

42. @enuff

There is a place to debate breach of protocol but the substantive issue stands, people will be going home from the Central Bank. The MoF has explained that low return on US investments is driving the losses.

43. Due Diligence Avatar

are-we-there-yet | May 14, 2014 at 10:41 PM |

My thoughts exactly

I too wondered how the Government could negotiate with the Chinese to transfer the sizeable investment that had been committed for the Heywoods – Sandals project (if in fact there is a commitment) to a Sam Lord’s – Almond one without a very significant time lag. I too wondered at the identity of the investors who had indicated that they were purchasing the direlict property alluded to in the article.

I guess we will learn their identities in “two days or more”

And why Sam Lord’s. The property is so involved in litigation with the Grants Hotels/Clico matters it will be years before anyone can get clear title.

There is an interesting discussion of Sam Lord’s Castle at http://www.antillean.org/2009/04/11/remembering-sam-lord’s-castle-the-tragic-fairytale-of-barbados’-best-hotel/

Instead of “buying” the Sam Lord’s; why not summarily acquire The Merricks Resort property or the PURE Beach Resort property at Foul Bay as neither of those will ever be built by whoever owns them now.

44. are-we-there-yet, Due Diligence et al:
    We are now seeing the blatant shifting of international loans at the government wimps and fancy. How on earth can you divert that $200. million dollars assigned to Heywoods complex and use it to purchase/repair Sam Lord Castle. The contract of the loan would have include “purchase of land and property at Heywoods”. However, I can see another problem. I have a sneaky feeling that these funds are being used to sort out CLICO. How all of a sudden, within 24 hours, Government can surprisingly find funds to guarantee repayments to policy holders. Is that part of the $200 million? Will the lender recall the loan? Will we be able to get an exact amount of loans/value from 2008?

45. DD. The purchase of Sam Lord’s to Government is to secure funds to repay policyholders. Wouldn’t it be possible to purchase Four Seasons in order to develop a new Almond-branded since Weatherhead operates on the south and west coast. Why Sam Lord’s Mr. Minister? Simple. Chinese Loan = repaying policy holders + purchasing Sam Lord’s = Mekkin’ mock sport of taxpayers.

46. Due Diligence Avatar

Tell Me Why

It had occurred to me that there could be a (not so) hidden (Clico) agenda underlying the shift of the Chinese to Sam Lord’s; but thought I would keep it to myself lest ac, Bad Boy, Domkey or Hants accuse me of having a political agenda.

As usual it all just talk.

The Chinese are not stupid – and would not just agree to a shift.

BTW, I thought I had read the Chinese/Beaches loan commitment (if there is a commitment) was for $500 million.

47. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Nation Newspaper Continues to Mislead@ for the nations papers is the Left arm of the DBLP government., the puppet must do as the puppet master . They are now equal.

48. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Sam Lord’s @ A clear title on Sam Lord’s will show more than any one wants the people to know,,Demand CLEAR TITLES , or in the end we all will pay more than is being paid now.

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

AC darling I am back to help you out here

Been reading some of your stuff and the responses and it seems that you getting some licks in ya crutch. Pumpkin I am gonna stand in your corner. In the next three days I will be back to make my contributions..Do not worry I will not attack you…I promise