Danny Gill is a member of the NUPW

I am responding to the attention grabbing headline carried on the front page of the Thursday, April 17, 2014 Nation Newspaper :- “CLARKE HITS OUT”. In that piece, which was accompanied with the additional headline No Solidarity on page 3, the General Secretary of the NUPW has been reported to say that the appointed and assumed “safe” members in the NUPW showed little or no interest in caring about their fellow comrades who were sent home or being sent home in the recent retrenchment exercise. He went on further to indicate that even when the prospect or discussion about striking to support their fellow comrades was put on the table or introduced, many of the appointed and “safe” civil servants hid beneath the burden of having a “mortgage”. I must take strong exception to this story. For the most part, it appears to be some sort of “public relations” face saving gimmick for the General Secretary Dennis Clarke. It also could be an attempt by him to explain away his failure to effectively lead the union in a time of crisis. It is an affront to all members to be “scape goated” for Mr. Clarke’s considerable failings.

I have been on the National Council of the NUPW for more than four years. The National Council is the NUPW’s highest decision making body outside of its Annual Conference. During my tenure, there has been no discussion or even a hint at striking against the current administration.

The only instance at the NUPW when this talk of taking striking action came up was at the meeting with the first batch of retrenched temporary workers, and the General Secretary Dennis Clarke played down the entire idea much to the chagrin of the participants of that forum.

At the meetings of the National Council when the prospect of the retrenchment exercise was predicted by the General Secretary, all of the members of the Council were very concerned, as most of them would have experienced the trauma of the 1991 exercise. Meeting after meeting the National Council would have supported the many “fool hardy “ measures concocted by the General Secretary because all of us thought they could have saved some of the temporary workers from going home.

Contrary to what most people think, Dennis Clarke cannot call any strike action on behalf of the NUPW. His role is to announce that the National Council has taken a decision to “call its members out on strike”. He has no authority to call for any strike action whatsoever. Furthermore, I continue to remind Dennis that he is employed by the membership of the NUPW, not the other way around.

At a time when the other union leader is seeking an apology, it would be appropriate for Dennis to tender one to the entire union’s membership for casting them in a very poor light and also casting aspersions on the characters of the entire “appointed” public service. At this time, the NUPW needs to rebuild its image as a vibrant champion for all public workers. However, I believe that it would be well-nigh impossible to do so with the current General Secretary as its head.

170 responses to “Oh NO, Dennis Clarke!”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Bush Tea | April 21, 2014 at 8:15 AM |

Your position on the PLANTATION DEEDS affair is flawed.@@@

Bush Tea@ On this Holy time of the Year, I want to thank you for getting the picture.No, i can not write ever thing or say all, By we are Glad that you got the picture with all the clues we placed on BU, Now you all who read can see we did what we can do and go where we can go, The next was to go after the head of the snake which is the PM and AG.
    We know they are Spies watching and reading and look to adjust their plan that theirs ,The next step was to run in the Elections
    We see the problem is from the TOP DOWN and Not from the bottom UP;

The government is allowing the people to do the same thing they are doing With the land So now one goes to court , 90% of old cases in the court is dealing with land, Clear title to land ends the cases with a TRUE title search , When the BOOKS and RECORDS ARE MISSING OR HIDDEN
    But We still have ours,None of the big ups that holding Fraud titles today
    can not show where they got it from , many us the word we bought it , but most bought from the person that are tenants on the LAND for little to nothing and move on,
    Ask any of the 30 lawyers in government Ministers, Senators for a Clear title,
    Ventnor Plantation deed alone with Rockley and Kings Village down past St Lawrence is over 525 acres alone , So we love to see How MIA get to build a building that has L / C ?on it with clear title.
    All collecting rents and most not paying taxes on that income,

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Well Well | April 21, 2014 at 11:29 AM@
    Agreed, What we see in the courts on the test cases we did was a set up , No matter what you have the same judges were god crooks when they were lawyer and will have to undo the deeds they were a party to,
    Linda Blackman and he Husband ,one lawyer and one judge ,We with her in 2004 town hall meetings, Sat before Blackman the Judge also , You had to see his face.They all waiting for Violet to die , and hope that would be the end of things, As you can see Violet had to find some one who is Born Bajan and was gone from here for 40 years to help her with out conflicts or favors to others.
    The PM made so many lies, to say the person running against him was a NON NATIONAL ? NOW WHO CAN THAT BE?. Where the case was put in his face by Me and others in his face on paper ATTORNEY GENERAL CHAMBERS APRIL 30TH 2009. AFTER David died We then gave to the new AG on DEC 14TH 2010.So to say i was a non national , After they had to police check me out , And for what , TO SEE IF I KNOW WHAT VIOLET BECKLES HAD BEFORE I HELP HER OUT OF MY OWN POCKET.,The answer was NO, how can it when all was removed from the books ,
    get the clues?

3. @Deeds

To suggest records were changed at the Archives you have moved from the realm of politicians to civil servants and others outside politicians. This is a serious charge.

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

We are not making any changes, We stating more facts, done by , or with the help of Civil Servants,LAWYERS AND OTHER VOTED AND APPOINTED MINISTERS, ,,loser Todd,MOF Sinckler, Lowe, PM Fumble , AG Brathwaite ,Owen , MIA, Lashley Mike ans Steven Et Alii, both sides than ran in the last elections Knows the truth ot learned after speaking to US

Archive,
    Land registry,
    Land tax
    High Court
    Barbados Library
    Inland Rev
    Banks
    Inland Rev.
    Water company
    Town & Country
    Yes We have Proof,
    UDC
    NHC
    Hidden, moved, rewritten , delete , not replaced, forged , made up , missing , for eyes only , and so on , No PUBLIC ,The police dont have a problem with what we have , Some one tied their hands.

5. Mr Danny Gill,

We counter two particularly glaring, false and reckless misstatements you made in your 9.06 am post.

You not only wrongly accused us of “jumping all over the place” in that post, but also you falsely stated that “You (we) had NOW put a developmental issue on the table” in the said post.

Now, the facts will show that contrary to what you falsely alleged – that “you (we) had now put a developmental issue on the table” in our previous post (before this under this thread), we certainly had not just then started to do so, but had been doing so almost through out from the first contribution that we had made under thread, to this one.

Furthermore, the facts will show too that we had not then put “a developmental issue” on the table – as you so falsely asserted in itself – but that we have been dealing with or pointing to various overarching and underlying developmental issues in our various contributions under your lead article.

Here, you will see for yourself, that the facts speak for themselves, as proven by the following excepts from the previous individual posts under this thread, and that they do also speak to the reality that it is you who have hardly been dealing with the same development issues.

Hence, in our response to you at 10.39 am April 20, 2014, we counseled you in the last paragraph of that response, that “harking back to a by gone nostalgic sentimental past is absolutely unnecessary, especially when it is patently clear that the social, political, material, financial fundamentals of our country have seriously and inexorably changed in nature, extent and effects, and that therefore there must be EVOLVED by the most ideologically politically progressive, conscious, and advanced of our people, new and serious people centered political organizations of various types to help LIFT the country and its people, to HIGHER and GREATER levels of existence.”

Note that in your following post at 11.08 am, April 20 2014, you did not even address the developmental issues we had dealt with or pointed to in our 10.39 am, April, 2014 response.

In our next contribution under this thread at 1.14 pm, April 20, 2014, we wrote, in criticizing the contribution of trade unions to this country’s development, the following : “what we would say though is that the efforts of trade unions have been and amounted to very little over the years in terms of the national DEVELOPMENT of this country.”

In the same contribution, in the third last paragraph thereof, we expressed the following: “We are wondering whether or not they (trade unions in Barbados) were formed to as much as possible detract from and to as much as possible thwart too the achievement of otherwise FAR, FAR GREATER levels than are the case of the social, political, material, and financial PROGRESS DEVELOPMENT well being – and too of the PACE, DIRECTION, and SCALE of those things – of the broad masses and middle classes of people in this country”.

We note that in your following contribution at 1.52 pm, at April 20th, 2014, you never even lifted a finger in defence of the fact that we suggested, inter alia, that trade unions have been contributing little to the national development of this country. Also from that contribution it obvious that you only dealt slightly with the overall question of development issues of this country.

So, it is clear, from those excerpts, from our first contribution, right up to this one – with the exception of one single PDC contribution at 6.55 am this morning – that we have been consistently coherently dealing with or pointing to a number of overarching or underlying national development issues that have arisen with, or that have been involved in the coming about and maintenance of Trade Unions in Barbados.

Whereas we have been relating with those developmental issues, you have either not been dealing with them or playing scant regard to them in your posts under the lead electronic article.

Too our consistency and focus in dealing with or pointing to those issues is very clear and indisputable.

Therefore you have totally absolutely erred in your assertion that we are “all over the place”, and this is strengthened by any one that has been following our written discussion having regard to every one of our posts under this thread, and seeing the fact that we have continued to deal with or point to the absolute irrelevance of trade unionism and trade unions at such a critical juncture in the history of this country; the fact that we have continued to highlight how grossly exploitative and parasitic trade unions are of the same unionised workers they have been claiming to represent; the fact that we have been pointing to a deep and staggering moral and political crisis of identity, belongingness, and responsibility of epic proportions involving those who lead the trade unions and the workers that are involved in these particular unions, and the fact that the PDC has been formulating the thesis that trade unions are preventing the broad masses and middle classes from achieving far, far more than they are actually achieving socially politically materially financially problems in this country.

Hence, we conclude this piece to you by denouncing in the strongest possible terms trade unionism and trade unions in Barbados over such things now, and by categorically stating they NO place, even within such a scarcely modernizing country.

So there you go.

6. Trade Unionism in Barbados took a turn for the worse under the Prime Ministership of Owen Arthur.

The day he Knighted Sir Roy….every day since then in the lives of Barbadian workers have become a funny….NIGHT !

7. AND TO YOU BUSH TEA,,,,,WHAT HAVE YOU INDIVIDUALLY DONE AS A FREE CITIZEN THAT WOULD BE OF SERVICE FOR YOUR COUNTRY TO IMPROVE AND PRESERVE THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR BAJANS / except to hug your computer and type the kinda of crap that would take barbados back to the days of patch holes and donkey carts, with the ever so ongoing assault on those who disagree with you., negro tell the bu household all the giant strides you made in helping this country to move progressively forward and not in the backward motionless state of stagnation one which would more often relay in your retarded comments,

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Fractured

I never thought that you and I would ever agree on anything. Mind you, I don’t completely agree with you: it got worse when he received the knighthood. I believe that the knighthood was the reward for Trotman using the trade union movement to benefit Arthur, starting in 1994.

The trade unions became putty in Arthur’s hand thanks to Trotman.

9. T bush tea theone common denominator that you and deeds have is a convintion that all lawyers and politicians are thieves .deeds presentation without being fully substantiated is enough to give you a liberated voice as proff or a jumpoff point to further state your belief ..other than that outside of that issue she woulf be label a brass bowl..your hypocricy has no bounds as one can see hidden inside your overcoat the colors blue and red

10. Fractured:

is that you? Remember(when Ma Money won) I told you half of BRA (revenue authority) would go home; it was done. Remember I warned you that with your help and the DLP, Maloney and Clarke will oversee a retrenchment program without a struggle from the unions. It was done. You need to get your friend Joseph Coats drink a drink and beg the PM to bring back Clarke’s daughter before he gets a massive stroke.

11. Walter Maloney has gone very quiet of late or is this only imagination?

Let us hope he does not become a casualty of the retrenchment given the precarious state of affairs at the NHC.

It will be interesting to observe the elections of officers at the BWU and NUPW next time around.

12. David:

Don’t you find it strange that Clarke has been making his pronouncements and not one member of the executive Maloney and crowd sought o rein him in. You are giving Ma Money too much credit; he does not have the wherewithal to make any sensible noise.

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | April 21, 2014 at 2:40 PM |

@Deeds

To suggest records were changed at the Archives you have moved from the realm of politicians to civil servants and others outside politicians. This is a serious charge.@
    Yes David that is the charge. And so found by the police , But no action taken , Why ? and who stop them from going after Owen and MIA , Was it PM Stumble and Dumbwait AG? or was it the COP Dottin , Or the DPP, maybe it was the GG himself , Some one made a call , ?
    Some Persons did some thing , and it was approved by some one or ones, It was carried out by others and covered up by many who got things they cant afford , Then to run Barbados in the ground and look to blame the World , When all the players in the Massive Land Fraud and land gab is on this Island and many are in this DBLP government that must be removed at the Next Vote , The Records and the History must be set right After Slavery and then Independence to 2014.The Playing field is not Level and either is the living standard of those in office to match their pay check to how they are living , The are living more like drug dealers.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

15. @Gill

why is Clarke still in office? Was there a Council meeting to allow him to work past the union’s rules for retirement?

16. New Blood

Dennis Clarke is over 65 years old; in fact he shall be 66 in October. There is no rule or vote or regulation that allowed him to go past 65; he took it unto himself. Dennis believes he is Trotman and can determine when he goes.

I spoke to Dennis and indicated to him that it would not look good, given the years he has given to the union, for him to ousted at a National Council meeting. Dennis assured me that he would be going in October this year. And as to my word, I would give him that time.

However, people subsequently met me and repeated the conversation Dennis and I had word for word but flavored by Dennis. All I was trying to do was to ensure Dennis was not thrown out but he seemed to have interpreted that I was against him in some way.

However, he current behavior can not be ignored.

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Newblood

You don’t understand NUPW: Clarke manoeuvres the selection of assistant secretaries who become ordinary members of Council. Those assistant secretaries usually outnumber the elected councillors and therefore carry the vote. Over the years, people got fed up with that nonsense and started to stay away, so even the most of the elected members are Clarke’s minions. There are a few exceptions most notably Danny Gill who are fighting a losing battle to bring some semblance of order to the union. In essence Clarke does what he likes without any direction or control.

18. caswell:

Who prepares the list of the Assistant General Secretaries to be co-opted to the National Council? Why would Dennis Clarke have so much say?

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lemuel

It appears to me that you already know the answer to that question: the General Secretary prepares the list of persons who he thinks should be co-opted to the council. I don’t have a problem with that. My concerns stems from the fact that there is no upper limit to the number of persons that are elected. As a result the co-opted minions, oops members, who owe their positions on the council to the GS, outnumber those elected. Put simply, the GS guides the council from behind like the driver of a donkey cart.

20. Plantation……..now we are absolutely sure why they cannot lock up each other like in other countries in the world or even in the other Caribbean islands where politicians, civil servants, lawyers, etc are arrested, we always knew they are all IN TOO DEEP smelling each others shit….lol

21. David:

I understand that Dennis Clarke called the Nation Newspaper and told them that he will not be speaking to them anymore. He banned himself.

Next he is going to contact you on BU and instruct you not to carry anymore threads on him.

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Well Well | April 22, 2014 at 10:45 AM |@ You know the picture and now , I hope all can see it , Bush tea did a great blog, We were waiting for someone to see and make note, We can not blow our own horn all the time , We see someone heard the horn, The thing now is for people to ask the Ministers they voted for theses question and get their answers or non answers on record.

23. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

lemuel | April 22, 2014 at 3:46 PM | @

That is so funny , Nation paper, In other countries , the NEWS come looking for you ,in Barbados you must report on you self , We not calling no one for we see most are controlled by crooks and will not print truth.

If no one called the papers , wait and see how big the papers will be, Like the PM David said , where are the investigative reports in Barbados ? there are NONE , for none are paid off to work right , If they like the States and do a 9 NINE PART series on the PLANTATION HISTORY , THE WILL SEE THE MASSIVE FRAUD FIRST HAND ,

Dennis Clarke try to use the PAPERS, to act like he is working, But now the papers is exposing him for what he is , A sell- out insider, So how will the members know what going on , if the news nor Clarke is speaking ,,,,Jack ass licks lolol

24. @Lemuel

Let us which them luck.

25. well Dennis Clarke goose is coming home to be cooked .

26. @Caswell and Danny

What happened to the Union’s accouns that they are so far behind? Why wasn.’t there a quron as the recent agm and the meeting had to be post-poned and are you happy with the elected leadership of the union?

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | April 22, 2014 at 5:46 PM |

@Lemuel

Let us which them luck.@ LUCK ! This is not a game , when you wish people luck , that is another way of turning your Back ,
    What the people need is what they paid the Union to do and that is work for them , It also mean to be in good faith,
    Shamgar , Start from where you are, Use what you have, Do all you can ,
    We dont see that,

I worked for the NEW YORK BLOOD CENTER , Our Union is
    1199 NATIONAL HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES EMPLOYEES UNION .
    I WAS A UNION DELEGATE.
    I saw and learn and was CLEAN in My dealings , I could not be bought at any price, i paid the Price , Better to be Free and Clean than to be a DIRTY SLAVE. I see plenty DIRTY SLAVES in Barbados selling of and out people and Lands,
    What a Nigga knows ? only what the White man tells him , What a Nigga Knows?

28. @Deeds

Why don’t you take time to read and understand and note BU’s response?

29. Deeds:

1199 is a good union. Few Barbadians know that it used to offer scholarships Barbados to do graduate studies. No one here is saying to abandon the union. What is needed is for the membership to get off its bed of slumber and next elections make a clean sweep of what is at the NUPW pretending to representatives for the membership. The senior civil servants need to come out and vote, and not allow Dennis and his cronies to put people to handle the boxes to sway the election in the direction that they have purposed. The NUPW has alot of wunnabies running around talking about leadership when all of them can not even defend themselves in a situation. Like the last time I am only a voice in the wilderness crying out.

30. Lemuel–can you or any one respond to new blood questions. There are important questions

31. Erice

I can not; I do not have that inside information. And Dennis may fire staff if that type of thing gets out.

32. Wunnah hear Akuntie on the airwaves. What grandstanding
    But let us as members of the NUPW and families of the retrenched workers start the chant and the struggle for the menace to go
    And the people say DENNIS MUST GO! DENNIS MUST GO! PLEASE DENNIS, GO.

33. What vote! Elections next year. Dennis will be gone after destroying this noble institution. Mamoney says he’s done, he too after the destruction and Akuntie looking towards the post. Help us Supreme being.

34. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

@Fractured BLP I now know that u could only be hay on this blog for comic relief cause you talking a whole bundle of ASS regarding the Arthur and the social partnership. It tells me you know not one ASS u does be talking bout. The social partnership was meant to curb any alienation the three parties had with one another. If anything it made Leroy Trotman and the BWU more relevant in the eyes of the worker and the public in general. Every little dispute even wildcat strikes occurred because workers knew the BWU would come with its “weight” to back them during the 90s and early 2000s. But i guess you “fractureddlp” was living like the DEMS then…..in the land of virtual IRRELEVANCE.
    You now got this kiss me tail gov’t behaving like a bull in a china shop destroying everything including what the BEES established because it suits them politically. This ” Gov’t” has succeeded in making Leroy look small and the BWU and NUPW look virtually irrelevant in a climate where workers does ask “wha de union does do fuh me”.
    Now to this …this joker…. of a general secretary of the NUPW. He says he is “retiring” in October but i feel he should be sent PACKING waaaaaay before then. How could a general secretary tell his membership he negotiated a wage freeze in a DLP branded home made recession!!!!! I mean CUH DEAR!!!!! not even a little 2% or 1% or something to match at least the inflation rate?????In real terms he basically negotiated a wage cut because inflation “still exists”. Clarke should be sent packing FUH DAAAATTTTTT!!!!!
    How could a general secretary tell temporary workers in his union “THEY DON”T HAVE A JOB!!!!” Clarke should be sent packing FUH DAAAATTTT!!!!! How can a union not mount any sort of reaction to the sending home of 3000 workers besides TALKING HARD????? So when public workers ask ” WHA DE ASS DE NUPW GOOD FOR?” what Dennis Clarke gine tell DEM?????. Clarke should be sent home FUH DAAAATTTTT!!!!

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

DLP (formerly CBC) TV

Even you are buying into this nonsense about sending home 3,000 workers. For the hundredth time, Government is retrenching 6,000 workers. Approximately 3,000 workers were laid of between June and December last year which did not count. The figure of 3,000 that is being bandied about only relates to persons who were dismissed or are about to be dismissed after January 1, 2014.

Don’t you recall Minister Suckoo saying that the 392 workers retrenched from the Drainage Division on December 31, 2013 did not count toward the 3,000. Also, you should recall Freundel saying that he consulted his dictionary for the meaning of temporary to justify sending home longstanding workers. They did not count as well. Please don’t perpetuate this DLP lie of 3,000 being retrenched.

36. Why aren’t they any questions being fired at the Chief Financial Officer Dennlis Clarke about the accounts of the union. By now the special conference should have been convened. What’s being hidden?
    What about the Q in the community that was hosted at the union this year but made a loss and the Celestial Noises made a profit having used the union’s finances so that they could travel this year, all through the HARPOON’s maneuvering.
    According to HARPS the function broke even. No wonder the SUPERMAEKET failed

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David | April 23, 2014 at 6:11 AM |

@Deeds

Why don’t you take time to read and understand and note BU’s response?@
    DAVID@ You of all for People should know most thing I, Or We agree to write on BU leave way for people to think ,
    Bush Tea , Well Well, Look , and a few other seem to be thinking ,
    Saying what is my next steps is right in your face , but yet you keep asking or saying, We HAVE NEVER STOP step or stepping.That need to be clear to you if you would take your time and read PLANTATION DEEDS REPLY AND POST.

Lemuel | April 23, 2014 at 7:00 AM |

Deeds:

1199 is a good union@ 1199 and most Unions start out well . The problem is when People in the UNION get in BED with Management .
    I have Proof and lived it , I spoke of it and did ALL i could to let others know.

We have a vote , and we vote to go on strike at the Union Hall in the City.
    When it did not go the unions way, a few days later , the next vote they did was at Union Hall sites,

The NEW YORK POST NEWS paper had in the paper 4am print that the strike was over ,
    The Vote at the sites was not until 6am , no one at out site had voted AS yet.
    So reading the paper before we had voted THAT the VOTE was done and approved made us man

When I called the NY POST , they said all that is in the papers had t be in before or by 11pm the night before ,

I hope you read well and under stand ,SELL OUT of Union management .

We had a strike FUND and the UNION did not want no money to leave the FUND,
    We got a 2% or to 3% total over the years ,But Yet the Same UNION crooks gave them self 9% plus mileage and other Gifts,
    How in the Hell people working for you give them self 9% and we got 2 to 2%,, They need not get no more than what we got at the TABLE.
    THE DBLP the same thing , they hike their pay and sending People HOME.

38. @Danny Gill & Caswell

Any response to NUPW Vice President’s outburst in the news today? What is he suggesting? That the membership can still at this late stage invoke a standing order to strike?

39. @ Caswell Franklyn | April 23, 2014 at 9:28 AM |
    Wait ….a Drainage Worker tell me she check at de Ofiice in Warrens fuh she sevrance money and dem sey it gone to de Ministry of Fine Ants–Over by Chris and Sleeping Giant—God knows how long Chris goin blow pon dat and how long de sleeping Giant goin’ nap pon it! LOL!LOL!

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I understand what the little fool is saying but before I respond, I must ask under what authority was he speaking? He can only speak on behalf of NUPW if and when he is acting as president.

There is such a provision in the rules which allows fifty members to sign a petition to summon a general meeting, but what has been the experience of members who sought to proceed along that route.

I remember staff at the airport signing a petition to summon a meeting to bring a motion of no confidence against the General Secretary, Dennis Clarke. The workers accused him of calling the acting CEO of the airport and informing him that the workers were planning a wildcat strike.

The Acting CEO summoned an urgent meeting of shop stewards and allowed them to know that he was aware of their plans since Clarke had called him at home to give him the information.

The workers submitted the petition that was in order, but rather than summon the meeting, the GS got Hal Gollop to write and threaten the person who they perceived as the ringleader. They also advised the members that the petition was not in order because it was addressed to the GS and not to the president.

The workers went ahead and submitted a new petition, addressed to the president. The president responded by saying that the petition was out of order because it should have been addressed to the GS. They got fed up and joined Unity Workers Union.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bobcat Man

It is my understanding that the Government is aware that they have to pay the compensation immediately but they decided not to and let the workers take them to court. The cases would be held up in the system for a long time and by the time the workers get judgments, the members of the Government would have secured their pensions and that the payments would be the problem for an incoming administration.

42. David:

I did not hear the comments by the Vice President. I understand that he was having a conversation with Stetson Babb.

In relation to strike action, it is not normal to go and vote to strike in case a strike is needed. Strike action should be driven by a specific issue. I do not know what issue the VP had in mind when he suggested that a strike was a possibility.

Actually, I thought the VP had been roundly distancing himself from Dennis Clarke and his pronouncements about the “appointed” public servants. It seems as if the Executive of the NUPW is quite comfortable with the thoughts coming from the mouth of Dennis Clarke.

43. looking on – that organisation is full of corrupt and crooks at the top -harpoon was hired by the one foot Dennis ‘car parts”Clarke who has lost Grace with his side kick .

Recall he had threatened to fire one of the workers if she had reported the Harpoon had feel her up to the police . Harpoon seems to think that NUPW is the supermarket but she must recall that she lost the supermarket and the husband .
    when the cell phone bills come she hiding holding the one relating to mamoney Maloney ,but all public workers know that he has not repay the $6000 more farless the $18000 phone bill but let them know that we have copies for the Special conference when and if it is called .

44. David:

I am seeing some clever moves by the DLP operatives. Dennis is on the ropes; Trotman took a beating last weekend. The DLP operatives had a full weekend. See how their plans are unfolding. Trotman given a victory in the negotiations for the NCC workers – “fifty saved”. Now it is Dennis turn; he shall be given a victory with the Sports Council. With the news media fully behind this conspiracy, the headlines shall be hot this weekend with all the victories while ensuring that the puppets for the DLP continue to wreck havoc on the collective process in Barbados.

45. @Lemuel

PR and Propaganda is all part of selling a position.

A couple of observations:

The number of public servants which was decided on as far back as December 2013 is tied to a number read savings? What is the impact of changing the numbers going home given PM’s Stuart disclosure that 50+ cents out of every dollar goes to pay public officers; an untenable position he stated.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You are allowing the PM’s propaganda deceive you. The lay-offs were about the numbers employed. The IMF is running the economic show in this country and they had determined that 6,000 too many were employed in the public service. Employing ministries and departments were given numbers of people to be displaced. Take the Transport Board as an example; they were told to send home 250 persons not how much money to save. Right now they are saving very little since they still have to cover the same number of routes with fewer people.

All that is happening is that they are allowing tired operators/drivers to do a second shift to account for people who were dismissed. This will soon result in some driver going to sleep at the wheel with all the attendant possibilities. Even general workers are doubling up but they got their numbers down by 250 as required.

The savings set by the IMF were achieved in October last year. If you doubt me check the PM’s words quoted in the Nation on October 14, 2013 when he declared at a meeting a Hilda Skeene School that there would have been no need to lay off workers because the savings that ministries and departments were asked to make to save jobs “were in sight”.

He did not understand then that the IMF was not only advocating cutting cost: there were also insisting on sending home persons who they thought were excess workers according to the IMF’s formulae.

47. @Caswell Franklyn who wrote ” they were told to send home 250 persons not how much money to save.

That is the easy way of saving money and the math is simple. 250 x (salary + employee benefits) = savings after termination.

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

Apparently, you do not read and understand or I did not did not make myself clear. Or maybe you are just looking for any opportunity to twist things to make the DLP look good. Well I have news for you: nothing barring an apology for lying to the country and resignation from office would make the DLP look good.

If you were understanding what I wrote you would realise that you have written is unadulterated crap. I said that driver/operators are being asked to double up. That is, they work two eight-hour shifts in one day. I am saying that could be dangerous and could cost lives.

49. David:

Caswell would have replied in part; however, the other part is that the DLP is seeing Mia and the current BLP in the House as a weak choice next elections. They had her frothing at the mouth expecting Estwick to bring down the government during the Estimates debate. See how quiet she has gotten?

The DLP is subscribing to the old political adage that if you must do some thing nasty and distasteful politically, do it very early in the term. This gives enough time to quell dissatisfaction from the electorate by the time the next election comes around.

People were going home. Look now at the “soft hearted” moves by the DLP operatives to ensure that they get the applause for softening the blow from the retrenchment exercise. And all Mia and her crowd can do is stand up and watch.

The DLP also knows that the buying and selling model which worked so well last time is still in effect. If Mia and her crowd can not put some pennies in a political bag to make a difference next election, the DLP shall win it hands down! Without a doubt we have turned the political corner and our elections shall be determined like the US; he who has the most money wins the vote!

The DLP has to be congratulated for this piece if excellent political strategy!

50. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Lemuel;

Re. your 1.36 pm post, Your analysis sounds very credible given the Barbados we are still in and the noises coming from the Central Bank Governor and his external friends. However, have you factored in the far reaching and probable expanding and deepening effects of the large number of layoffs and other anti-worker, anti pensioner, anti student, anti business and other policies in almost every demographic in Barbados? Will the effects and memories of this period be still there as significant factors that can persuade voters to fire the current MP’s when elections are called? Does it take into consideration the almost tangible disaffection that many formerly staunch DLP supporters now volubly proclaim against their party?

I suspect that the DLP in pursuing their politics using the current tried and tested formulae, might very well have misjudged the massive changes which these current policies will continue to wreak for years and the gusto with which they have been implemented. In addition, the measures have not yet bitten as deeply as they will, the human suffering has not yet peaked and the return to normalcy might well not be in a time frame that will allow the DLP to lie, misdirect and fool the voters in 4 years time or thereabouts.

Indeed, If the current Government continues on its present path of ineptitude in implementation of policies, newer reasons for voting against them will surface from time to time between now and elections.

But of course the other side of the equation is the BLP and they will somehow have to heal their internal rifts and present the faces of a credible alternative when the bell is called.

Four years is a long time in politics. There could be many a slip between the cup and the lip.