Westminster system

In a popular democracy, citizens, collectively, are the ultimate principal; elected representatives are their agents. These agents are also principals who, through the legislature, delegate authority to a host of departments and agencies that make up the sprawling executive branch of government – Fraser Institute

It has become obvious to many several built in checks and balances of the Westminster system of government Barbados has adopted from its colonial past are failing.  It is a system of governance which requires exhaustive participation by citizens to work effectively. Nearly 40% of eligible voters  did not vote in the last general election, an obvious symptom of a democracy in decay if we sample just one indicator.

Auditor General reports (2004 to 2013) of successive governments record a consistent performance of fiscal indiscipline. A flouting of the financial rules. An easy translation of the Auditor General’s comments can be described as  a system of graft and corruption. A scary observation is that the private sector is the entity which sells goods and services to government therefore citizens who should be holding ‘government’ accountable are complicit. In the case of Barbados we may not compare with Nigeria and other more openly corrupt countries but there is a view the covert nature of how we do business places us in the ballpark.

What the Fraser Institute publication concedes is that the “Westminster model is not designed to provide for the accountability of individual elected representatives to individual voters”. To expand: in order to adequately evaluate the performance of government – comprised of several organs – is too complex and costly. The publication makes the obvious point a democracy must delegate authority to function, it logically follows that a robust system of accountability must be adhered to mindful of the maxim “absolute power tends to corrupt absolutely.”  If Barbadians continue to allow themselves to become polarized by partisan political positions the obvious will eventually occur; a compromising of our democracy.

A recent example of how our so called Westminster style of government has failed is the public condemnation of the Cabinet of Barbados by a senior minister that has gone unpunished (to date) by the Prime Minister.  Ministers are expected to honour the convention of collective responsibility because  all ministers are collectively responsible for government operations.

What is interesting about the Westminster system according to Fraser is the culture of secrecy which it encourages – the shielding of information from citizens. It seems an oxymoron to discuss Westminster style democracy and the secrecy it promotes.

One approach to wrestle back control from the establishment is to impose term limits on those who serve. The problem is that the the incumbents see no motivation to change the status quo. Only in Opposition when spouting propaganda (lies) are the views of politicians aligned with concerned citizens. Mia Mottley tried to change the constitution of the Barbados Labour Party when she was on the outside; a periphery point to establish sincerity. Since assuming the leadership of the party has she restarted the conversation with the party? Why should we allow a cadre of politician to view being member of parliament as a job rather than performing a stint of public service?

The time has come for a national discussion about the need to hold our government accountable. The Auditor General, The Public Accounts Committee …

117 responses to “Rise of the Professional Politician”

1. Hal you have focused on the salaries but you dont mention the rest of what I suggested.

“implemented INTEGRITY LEGISLATION AND FREEDOM OF INFORMATION and made all government business including deals with (lobbyists and middle men) public except for issues of NATIONAL SECURITY.

If all Government business is transparent the tiefing will be restricted.

2. @Hants

To your last comment, if you read the PDF attached you will see that the Westminster system encorages secrecy. Therein is the conundrum.

3. Ross…….i actually agree with you on that one since rape, murder etc. are also very serious, without knowing too much about the bail act, I suspect the magistrate and prosecutor could also have used their discretion and jailed those two, it’s one thing and bad enough to have a rapist/murderer/thief running around Barbados, it’s quite another to have two dangerous pyromaniacs on the loose who are putting the whole island including their own communities at risk, ……….different ballgame. I would say the same thing if they were black.

4. @ Hants

All that and more. We should know the full assets of all newly elected members of parliament, and their worth on leaving office. Any undue wealth that cannot be accounted for would be removed from them.
    it should also be a serious criminal offence to buy votes, including being barred from parliament for a full term; and any businessperson or private person trying to buy influence should face at least five years in prison.
    no corporation should be allowed to make donations to political parties and the maximum any citizen should be allowed to make should be Bds$5000.

5. Lawson

Even if a candidate fails to meet the established academic criteria for political office, he or she may still have a teams of capable advisers in his or her corner. Lawson, the public record clearly shows that Harry Truman, governed what was arguably the greatest country in the world, through a major World War and he did it on a mere secondary school education. Now, I think prior political experience ought to be one of the standards for the office of the PM, as well as the moral and academic qualifications.

6. @Wewll, well

If a senior line manager of a court prosecutor telsl him – in fact instructs him – not to oppose bail that is a prima facie criminal offence of interfering with justice.
    But our Guyanese DPP will not launch an inquiry – nor his boss, the attorney general.. I am sure it was done for all legal and proper reasons, but transparency is important, if not people will begin to think you can buy justice in Barbados.

7. Well Well having just retired from the fire service I have seen every color of arsonist, but in the case of children or teenagers we have found that education works better than incarceration so we visit schools on a regular basis to make them aware of what can happen as a result of there negligence. I can only think that Barbados fire may not have the resources or manpower to be able to do this…….. even after our best efforts some people wont get it ……even after it has been explained to them time and time again…….. but that is what tar and feathering is for.

8. @Hal

It seems you are focussed on the renumeration part of the issue but we need a system where candidates offerring themselves for public office must expect to publicly share their positions on issues. Against their declared positions we will be able to hold them accountable. What we have are candidates proffering party positions.

9. @ David
    I am not, but that is the attraction for a number of Barbadians.
    The most important about seeking public office is integrity and vision. Anyone seeking elective office must have a vision of the kind of society s/he wants to see. Then put that vision before the electorate and see if they will support you.
    I fully support a mid-term recall provision. MPs cannot squat in parliament for five years.

10. Lawson

If you examine the historical record of the office of the presidency, you would discover that many of the presidents of the United States, had both military as well as political experience prior to their bid for the White House. In other words, these men knew how to run things prior to they bid for the White House. I think Clinton and Obama hadn’t any military experience but both had had some prior political experience.

11. Here is an example: check the Senate and the rejected appointed there.

12. Lawson……thanks for putting it all into perspective….lol

13. David,

We not playing anything here. The accusation is groundless and baseless.

Given what you wrote in your 9.41 am post, what we are reiterating still, is this: that with a system of term limits – and seeing how it has been functioning in the USA model – which is the model that is best known to us – not the only one we know about though – it would be entirely ineffectual and cosmetic in being a solution to the many problems (corruption, cronyism, inept policies, etc) that are bigger than what comparatively little it is designed to solve, if it were to be ever implemented here.

For, these problems that issue out of governmental politics in Barbados are in need of a holistic approach to their solution, and with term limits being so confined cosmetic, they do not even begin to tackle the roots of those particular political problems.

So there you go.

14. Hal………I don’t know what to tell ya…..it’s obvious the DPP’s office don’t want to send a serious message about lighting fires as a sport on the island in this particular case, we just have to wait and see how much interference goes on and what happens next time, then everyone will know who is selling out and who to avoid….lol.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Robert Ross

It makes no sense replying to idiots. Whenever I hit a nerve, I expect this type of reaction from political yard fowls.

However, for your benefit, I will respond. In the case to which the idiot referred, I was the plaintiff and I won. The Government had to pay me. Secondly, I have never laid my hands on my wife violently at NIS or anywhere else. I have never been banned from entering their offices. As a matter of fact, I was there yesterday having a chat with several workers.

Don’t worry Ross, I have no skeletons in my closet.

16. Robert….was anything I stated incorrect?

17. That’s’ the some point I was trying to emphasize here sometime ago. If the BLP failed in its efforts to articulate a vision that is incapable persuading Barbadian electorate, it cannot then turn around and accused the same electorate of being ignorant and ill-informed because it has elected the DLP. This kinda reminded me of President Obama’s second bid for the presidency: where the GOP / Republican Party, focused all of its resources on defeating Obama and somehow failed in its effotrts to articulated a vision for the American people.

18. @PDC

Please read with comprehension. BU supports term limits which does not mean it is the panacea to solve our problems.

19. PDC

Firstly, what Barbados need is a ethics committee to hold those ministers answerable for violating house ethics rules. Here is one of your checks and balances. You also need a impartial media to inform the public conscience regarding the misconduct of these ministers.

Now as far as the checks and balances are concern, there are too numerous to mention in the Republican Model.
    1) president’s veto
    2) Constitutional amendment
    3) Supreme Court ( the citizens can file a Amicus Brief to the challenge any law deem unconstitutional.
    4) Electorate vote
    5) States Interposition ( the state can challenge any action of the federal government in the Supreme Court…

And finally, there is House Committee on Ethics which monitors the conduct of Senate and House of Representatives members.
    There is also a Congressional Committee on Ethics which oversight the House Committee on Ethics.

20. This system of goverance maybe in need of major overhaul..however the same can be applied to all countries for example venezuela whose system was run by the rich and where the poor blacks are shut out of the system.

21. Chuckle…..who is going to draft critique and pass the legislation required for the new “Governance System” and in what century would it be ready in?????
    We realy mekking bare sport ’bout here.

22. Vincent

You have to think beyond the ordinary brother, let God and the sky be your limit and eternity be your measurement. But then again, I kinda understand where you’re coming from: extraordinary claims requires extraordinary evidence.

23. David,

Noted.

If you have not accessed and read the following three significant books, then you need to – The Shadows of Power: the Council on Foreign Relations, The American Decline by James Perloff; And the Truth Shall Set You Free…. By David Icke; Confessions of An Economic Hitman by John Perkins.

Dompey

Thanks for the information. We have seen it before. It shows how very far ahead of us, in Barbados, the USA is in so many regards, politically constitutionally, notwithstanding the devious ideas, actions and conspiracies of the establishment and other anti-progressive forces in the USA and beyond.

24. Here is something from a Professional Politician just posted in the Nation on-line.

WED, APRIL 16, 2014 – 3:30 PM

THE DEMOCRATIC Labour Party’s (DLP) record of social revolution of the Barbadian society can stand up to scrutiny.

So says the party’s general secretary Donville Inniss as the 59-year-old organisation commemorates another year of existence.

Speaking yesterday at a Press conference held at the DLP, George Street headquarters to bring the public up to date with planned activities, Inniss said the party has a very good history as a political organisation.

He said the policies that emanated from the party helped to move Barbados from being a village to being a nation state.

Now, Inniss said the focus of the party was to put Barbados on a path of sustainable growth.

“So that in the not too distant future we can be talking about low unemployment levels again, about greater satisfaction among the people of the country, about new businesses opening and expanding, and not having any challenges with the foreign exchange position about making a mark on the international arena,” Inniss said.

According to the Auditor General, its Governance practices do not stand up to his scrutiny.

25. Who listens to Dumbville’s rhetoric anyway, it always sounds self-serving, three years ago he cared not one iota about the business people, his mantra was “and what would you like your government to do for you?” like he needed to ask, he should have known the answer back then..

26. PDC

The Republican model isn’t a perfect model after all but I nonetheless, love the checks and balances the system offers. It is living constitution which progressively change to address the contemporary challenges of the day. In other words, the constitution isn’t a state of being but operates on the process of growth.

27. @Dompey

Yes it is a good constitution which allows lobbyist to dictate.

28. Who in their right minds would want change coffee colored skin anyway, it got melanin, a gift from nature……..Melanin…….never leave home without it.

29. David

David, ask Hal, the term lobbying was coined in Great Britain, where politicians used go to the lobby and make their illegal deals? Lobbying is not an American concept, is was transported to America by our colonial master.

30. David

David, I don’t fully understand what you’re driving at because I thought I had made it clear that system isn’t without its imperfections?

31. David

Yes, David, it is a good constitution which allows lobbyist to dictate. But the same constitution has imprisoned countless number of senators, Representatives, governors and mayors etc. Just quizzical David, name one politician in Barbados who has served any jail time for political corruption?

32. Well Well

“A gift from nature”

I am just curious, but can you define Nature for me in clear and concise terms?

33. you pay peanuts you get monkeys… Ha ha ha .. Pay them more and you get gorillas …. HA HA HA.

Look, Bush Tea right to stay away from this …

34. On the US way of doing things, my man the peanut man, Jimmy Carter get boot out after one term .. HA HA HA, arguably the most honest man to hold the reign of POTUSA. He was even going to return the Panama Canal zone to the Panamanians in 1999…. Now he oversees elections …

The “October Surprise” is a classic example of what elections in the US is all about … subterfuge and straight up teefery .. as per Florida and the George Bush Jr. second term campaign …

Look, people stand in line for up to two hours every five years or so to cast a vote in Barbados … dah really ain’ nah sacrifice to talk ’bout … But a business house spends hundreds of thousands of dollars to ensure that the Party gets its message across … that is a far greater sacrifice. So whose interest should the Party support nah ..? Look if a vote is so fcukin’ important it should carry a price. Wah you say …? Ha ha ha ha Capitalism is where its at. Democracy is a Socialist ideal that really needed to be expanded for it to make any real sense.

The Forth Reich marches on …

35. House of Cards
    Veep
    Board Walk Empire
    Boss (2011)
    Yes Minister
    Yes Prime Minister

36. “Hal Austin | April 16, 2014 at 8:23 AM |
    @PDC
    It must be admitted the system of government we inherited from our former colonial masters is badly flawed. But after nearly fifty years, it is a bit late to suddenly discover this.”

What Colonial masters are you talking about here or in Africa from whence our ancestors were brought here. There is no credible evidence to indicate that a civilisation was here when the English landed so by no stretch of the imagination could we who were brought here long after the English landed can be regarded as having been colonised. We can claim to have been bruised, wounded and mistreated but not colonised. Even a careful examination of the words of the anthem does not make much sense in the context of our historical development- In plenty and in time of need, when this fair land was young; our brave forefathers sowed the seed from which our pride has sprung’- of which ancestors do we speak, the white or black?

37. Caswel

Good on ya. Respect.

Well Well

You make my point for me. The accused of whom we speak, who is charged before the court with an offence, is constitutionally and presumptively innocent. So we are NOT talking about rapists, pyros and so on. The main purpose of the conditions in the Bail Act is to be assured of the presence of the accused when the case comes to trial. The Act states that everyone is entitled to bail though this is qualified in various ways, eg there are substantial grounds to believe that the accused will interfere with witnesses or commit another offence while on bail. The issue of the seriousness of the offence is NOT a formal reason for refusing bail but is one of a number of considerations which may be taken into account when the court exercises its discretion.

The main beef with the usual line is that magistrates are ignoring the presumption and giving undue prominence to the non-necessary factors like the seriousness of the offence. Prosecutors routinely present a shopping list of the non-essential elements as if they inevitably override the formal reasons for refusing bail, ie they turn matters for evaluation into all-or-nothing rules.

In some cases, eg murder, treason and offences under the Firearms Act the magistrate has no jurisdiction to grant bail.

When the Fat Man suggests that a “line manager” who dictates to his subordinate the line he should take may be guilty of interfering with justice he is, as usual, overreaching himself. For one thing, senior officers who are themselves prosecutors often sit at the prosecution desk and inevitably so where the prosecutor is inexperienced. For another, the prosecution is brought in the name of the COP and the prosecutor is only a functionary in the process who, though he may be responsible to make decisions unilaterally about opposing bail, is also subject to superior orders.

38. Vincent

I was referring to the second part of your comment which I found a little obscure. But I was saying that the sky is not always blue over the horizon and that this premise is true of the UK legal system which, to mix metaphors, is by no means a bed of roses. We say things are hopeless here. My view is that they’re not necessarily any better anywhere else.

39. The police is not a prosecuting authority in any democracy. The state is – sometimes called the Crown. Even non-lawyers know this.
    By the way, bail is granted on the degree of the offence and on the evidence, not on a senior office pre-judging the case.
    It is amazing how self-interest can find all kinds of excuses for warehousing young boys from the block while the well-connected can get away if all kinds of alleged offences.

40. Ross

Just curious: why would you need a bail act, when you already have the habeas-corpus?

The habeas corpus is a summons with the force of court order; presented to prison official and demands that a prisoner be taken before the court, and that prisoner lawyer present proof of authority, allowing the court to determine whether the state has lawful authority to detain the prisoner.

41. @Hal

See this recent bail case which may help to deflate the argument of inconsistency delivering bail.

Arson accused in court

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on April 12, 2013.

Saved under Local News, Slider

arsonaccusedThe two men who were jointly charged in connection with the recent fire at Bs Recycling, Cane Garden, St. Thomas have appeared in court to answer the accusation.

Twenty two year old Jermain Julian Worrel and 23 year old Hilary Vladimir Glasgow, both of Bridge Road, Cave Hill, St. Michael went before the District “A” court today.

Glasgow was released on $20,000 bail with one surety, while Worrell was remanded to jail. Both accused must be back at the District “D” Magistrate’s Court on April 16.

Worrell, who has other matters pending before the court, will have to appear before the District “A” magistrate on May 10 on those offences. (EJ)

42. Former Prosecutor. Avatar
    Former Prosecutor.

@ Hal Austin
    It is a common thing for a prosecutor at any level of our system to inform the court that he has been advised not to oppose an application for bail . It happens every day in our courts . You should begin to admit that there are some things that you know nothing about and seek information rather than sound off with misinformation and try to play the race card as you have tried here.

43. Robert…..I only made one point i.e….that our present legal systems mode of operation is hampering the progress of Bim….

44. @Former ;Prosecutor
    Thanks for this enlightenment. Two points: first, I have made it clear I am not a lawyer; and, second, I am talking from the experience of the law in England and Wales.
    My point, which I though I had made clear, is that in any developed democracy a prosecuting officer would not have taken such blatant instructions from a line manager. This is an interference with the criminal justice process, an offence.
    I am prepared to accept that it is not unusual in Barbados. Try that in any court in Britain, Australia or New Zealand, all of which are based on the common law system, and voices will cry out.
    In any case, the tradition of having a police office prosecuting in the Magistrates’ Courts is one that went back to when we had people hanging about the court yard acting as informal lawyers for the accused.
    But Barbados has more lawyers per capital than New York and all prosecutions should be handled by the DPP’s office.
    By the way, I know the culture in which this forum is based and restrict myself to one or two subjects.
    But what do I know?

45. Fat Man

I note your first paragraph to FORMER PROSECUTOR.

THEN SHUT UP.

46. There is clearly a stench in the room. But on a point of information: in a society with hundreds of institutions of higher learning, fulltime, party-time, weekend and distance, from certificates to PhDs, people that way inclined can undertake various courses over a number of years, most of which do not necessarily have anything to do with one’s profession or trade. Not that I am suggesting this is me. Just an observation.

47. AT MAN

“stench in the room” – you got that right. It’s called ‘bullshit’, ‘ignorance” and ‘stupidity’. For God’s sake leave the room and give us all a break.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

have a laff

I know someone, who shall remain nameless, will say I need prayer for this one….

A young doctor had moved out to a small community to replace a doctor who was retiring.

The older doctor suggested that the young one accompany him on his rounds, so the community could become used to a new doctor.

At the first house a woman complains, “I’ve been a little sick to my stomach.”

The older doctor says, “Well, you’ve probably been overdoing the fresh fruit. Why not cut back on the amount you’ve been eating and see if that does the trick?”

As they left, the younger man said, “You didn’t even examine that woman? How’d you come to the diagnosis so quickly?”

“I didn’t have to. You noticed I dropped my stethoscope on the floor in there? When I bent over to pick it up, I noticed a half dozen banana peels in the trash. That was what probably was making her sick.”

The younger doctor said “Pretty clever. If you don’t mind, I think I’ll try that at the next house.”

Arriving at the next house, they spent several minutes talking with a younger woman. She said that she just didn’t have the energy she once did and said, “I’m feeling terribly run down lately.”

“You’ve probably been doing too much for the Church,” the younger doctor told her. “Perhaps you should cut back a bit and see if that helps.”

As they left, the elder doctor said, “I know that woman well. Your diagnosis is almost certainly correct, she’s very active in the church, but how did you arrive at it?

“I did what you did at the last house. I dropped my stethoscope and when I bent down to retrieve it, I noticed the pastor under the bed.”

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Good one Georgie

50. GP

Dah din’ funny … 🙁 … The Pastor could ah bin lookin’ fah somet’ing important. Man doctors must respect men of the cloth, man …. Suppose the woman din wearing nah undies, and the young doctor bend down and look’ up … Huh ..? If he diagnose crack he would have to call the police and then what … No. Dah din funny at tall at tall. 🙂

Ross

Man you very harsh …. Ca dear man