Antigua Minister of Tourism John Maginley

Majority shareholders must remember that their junior partners will not always be their best allies.ย  Although the minority shareholders may initially appear to be highly cooperative, this can change rapidly for any number of reasons (change in business economic conditions, change in personal attitudes, change in personal financial situation, differences in the corporation’s business direction, failure to make further contributions to the advance of the business, impeding the corporation from obtaining further outside investment, etc.).ย  As such, majority shareholder will want to exercise his or her control over the corporation in a pre-determined manner, which is best undertaken with a well written shareholders agreement โ€“ Shareholder Lawyer

The promulgation by Antigua Minister of Tourism John Maginley that LIAT will not be relocated to Barbados must be interpreted for what it is, an ignorant statement to impress would be voters with a general election looming. The statement exposes the corn beef politics an Antiguan politician is prepared to engage even if the statement qualifies him as most ignorant to onlookers.

Maginley obviously felt he had to respond to and equally strong message which was delivered by Barbados Minister of Tourismย  Richard Sealy who promised that some LIAT operations will be relocated to Barbados in the coming months.ย  Although Sealy stopped short of confirming if his government will push to relocate LIAT to Barbados in the near future, he confirmed that Barbados will be undergoing the process to acquire Category I status which is a requirement to satisfyย  FAA International Aviation Safety Assessment Scheme (IASA).

One year ago Barbados as the majority shareholder in LIAT co-signed a loan agreement with Antigua, St. Vincent and Dominicaย  for USD65 millions dollars out of which Barbados guaranteed USD31 millions dollars. Let Magindley know this gives the Barbados government the right to heavily influence decisions by LIAT in the interest of Barbados BUT recognizing that all shareholders must be strategically aligned in their interest of the airline. Magindleyโ€™s retort only serves to muddy the issues for LIAT at a time when the regionโ€™s only carrier is battling to remain solvent. BU holds no brief for Minister Sealy who history will recall as one of the most inept tourism ministers Barbados has had but we give him credit for responding to Prime Minister Balwin Spencerโ€™s boast that he will not be sending home civil servants like Barbados has done. Imagine Magindley suggesting that Sealyโ€™s statement must be takenย  as meddling in the affairs of Antigua yet Spencer made a similar statement about Barbados and what?

Magindley you have declared Antiqua has agreed to build a hanger with a 20 year plan. You are advised as a minority shareholder to gain assent from other shareholders; especially the majority shareholder BARBADOS.

57 responses to “LIAT’s Woes Continue With John Maginley’s Idle Talk”

1. […] David Majority shareholders must remember that their junior partners will not always be their best […]

2. Everybody can make a mockery of this government. The off the cuff way in which the minister mentioned bringing back some LIAT operations here was made too casual as if an ad lib. I said at the time……….that came over as if Sealy just made that all up to impress somebody. Lo and behold, he lied and now Antigua’s minister of tourism thrashing Barbados.

Wuhloss, look how far we fall that Antigua can be thrashing us. The man is as pompous as a donkey’s behind! He got on as if Antigua is the major donor. I dont often agree with this government but Barbados needs to stand up and move some of the operations here. Those people up in Antigua who run LIAT are running it into the ground!

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | April 4, 2014 at 9:06 PM |

Moving the LIAT Headquarters and its mind and management out of corrupt Antigua is a necessary proposal that has been recommended many moons ago. David of BU can attest to its authenticity.

The problem here is whether the major shareholder has the Red-Bull given wings to make it a reality in order to save the airline from falling out of the skies, both figuratively and literally speaking.

The man jack from Molasses Hill to make that call is a political weakling and a wimp of a decision-maker.

If the man can’t even fire the biggest lying joker ever, pretending to be a minister of finance, how the hell would he ever get enough โ€˜flyingโ€™ colours to talk about moving LIAT’s mind and management from Antigua?

As you, Prodigal, have recognized the miller is seldom wrong about the fumbling joker in the Caricom pack. Ask Carson the dead dog Cadogan.

Watch out for Fumble to undermine Sealy (as he does with other ministers especially the MoF) in his obsequious attempt to appease his Caricom/CSME masters by saying the Barbados Government has no plans to either privatize LIAT or relocate its HQ from Antigua.

4. David told a couple of people to take a break but I think he should also tell prodigal and miller to take a break because you are getting no traction on your constant attacks on each Minister on every thread posted from 2008 until now 2014.Give a rest pleaseeeeeeeee.
    David I would argue that Noel Lynch was the most inept Minister Tourism ever.
    David can you post the article of this organization that gave Barbados a higher ranking than any country in the Caribbean in terms of its financial management. It came over CBC news. At least that would some good news from the constant negatives from you know who.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Clone | April 4, 2014 at 9:59 PM |

Instead of asking people to take break and looking back with a foolish argument about Noel Muscle Mary Lynch why donโ€™t you share your views on what the Antigua MoT, John Maginley, has said about LIAT which is both in contradiction and contradistinction to the current Bajan MoTโ€™s (Minister of Threats) position on the same LIATโ€™s future?

The question is what the hell the Barbados government (the biggest shareholder with the most to lose) going to do about LIAT? Wait until the IMF forces it to dump LIAT from bleeding the Bajan Treasury?

6. LIAT will be dead by end 2014, so it doh reely matter now anyway.

7. miller,
    Just ignore the likes of persons who think that only DLP yardfowls have a say here on BU. If you dont want to read our posts, just scroll down. Just last week one of them was calling for Bush Tea to be silenced.

Neither miller or I offend David and we respect the blog. As long as this bunch of misfits are in power, I will speak out.

You dont want to be reminded that this government is treating poor black people like dogs in the way they are being dismissed and that a minister has a list and is bold enough to tell you who aint going home?

You dont want to be reminded that this inept bankrupt government is sending home these poor people without a cent?

You dont want to be reminded that the Central Bank made a loss of 3.5 million dollars?

You dont want to be reminded that the government is getting into bed with a questionable company called Cahill?

You dont want to be reminded that this government moved 100 million dollars out of the severance fund?

You dont want to be reminded this government has 67% of our NIS dollars in useless government paper?

Get use to the criticism of the DLP…………more will come when the next set of dreadful economic news come in a few days time!

8. Prodigal Son | April 4, 2014 at 10:44 PM |
    Neither miller or I offend David and we respect the blog

True. This is so because like Nationwide the blog operator is on your side.

Who remembers Barrow calling the leaders in what is now the OECS bandits? The Mcglinley guy out of Stanford’s hometown fits Barrow’s description based on the wild rubbish he was shouting on VOB. A fisherman who spent a week at sea only to be short changed by a market vendor with his catch has nothing on the crude coarse pirate sounding Mcglinley.

LIAT would be better off in Barbados. The Barbados taxpayers are paying its way and as Sealy rightly stated they must have a bigger say. Antigua isn’t laying off a fellow and bragging about it. We’ve sent home 3000 even as we prop up Antigua’s overemployment in LIAT. Mcglinley can jump high he can jump low, he can like it or lump it.

9. “Weโ€™ve sent home 3000 even as we prop up Antiguaโ€™s overemployment in LIAT. ”
    Our sending home 3000 workers and counting has nothing to do with our ‘propping up’ of liat.

10. @Clone

Which blogger have BU told to take a break?

Is this the euromoney report you are talking about?

http://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/euromoney-guide-march-2014.pdf

11. @Anomynuss

If the agreement is for Antigua to host the headquarters for another 5 years what is the relevance of making a statement that Antigua will be building a hangar with a 20 year consideration?

12. http://whatsupcaribbean.com/index.php/business/22208-cdb-president-a-caribbean-without-a-liat-will-be-a-very-difficult-caribbean-to-navigate

Jim Lynch ยท Top commenter ยท Sutton, Ontario

Sure it would be, Dr. Warren Smith. And you should know yourself some of the basic reasons why LIAT was failing even before the Captain Ian Brunton-induced "meltdown".

Because years ago, apparently straight out of what must have been decades at University, you were sent to be CEO of LIAT – yes, like Chairman Jean Holder you had endless Degrees, but you had NO knowledge of aviation, and you had NO experience managing anything before. In fact, at that point you probably knew as much about aviation as Holder himself – you were a real matching pair, so you got the green light!

And you were just another of a LONG line of regional "administrators" thrown into LIAT by the regional politicians to "see what they could do".

But your tenure – some call it "slumber" – was marred by a pilot sick-out which closed the airline down for two days, and shortly thereafter you moved on to bigger and better things, Hopefully you are not proving the Peter Principle at that "Presidential" level.

I was in the LIAT Boardroom when you and the Pilots’ Association met at the end of the sick-out – and I could see that you did not have a clue. You did not know, for instance, that this culmination of industrial came at the end of TEN YEARS of contract negotiations – over the same one contract renewal.

Then the incredibly incompetent management of the day pulled their trump card – that notice had not been given of closure of the self-renewing contract – and I was the one at the far end of the table on your left who pushed a copy of the Union’s notification letter, with a copy of the Postal Registration Notice attached to confirm that it had been delivered, along the table to you – accompanied by duplicates for all of the backward incompetent managers who accompanied you to smirk and rejoice at yet another twisted victory over the employees.

But at that point you almost ran out of the Boardroom without another word, followed by your cohorts, and I bet you did not have the guts to reprimand those managers who had embarrassed you. And guess what, business as usual followed, we went back to work, and nothing happened to any of them.

Surprise!! Well, no, not really.

Just an example of how the political and technical mismanagement of LIAT over the years has killed the airline. At the very top, few members of the current Board have any place overseeing an airline, far less any commercial enterprise. And management from top to middle is a shambles, for DECADES they have carried on a running war with the employees – so much for productivity.

But, as you note (and as I have been saying publicly myself), LIAT is facing REAL closure now. Not so much directly because of mismanagement, incompetents and incompetence of the past (though they have all played a major part) but because the passengers themselves are demanding an alternative to the everlasting and never-ending delays and losses – "Leave Island Any Time" and "Luggage In Another Terminal".

The recent meltdown just got all those people to jump off the fence of indecision and make a choice. And they chose "Anything But LIAT".

Here’s the thing, Dr. Warren Smith… I think you are going to lose that US$65 million you lent the shareholders. And not because LIAT will fold but because the two major shareholders are already paying some US$100 million into LIAT annually just to keep it going, and take a look at those countries’ finances now – Barbados has the IMF on the ground and Antigua has trouble paying pensions to its most vulnerable citizens.

If/when LIAT closes, the shareholders will also face further demands – Barbados still has a loan to LIAT worth some US$50 million, the lease contracts will all be broken (which will have financial consequences), and there are over 1,000 LIAT employees systemwide to receive severance pay.

Not to mention any monies owed to the employee pension or provident funds – LIAT is not holding back on THOSE again, are they? In 1995 when I left not only had LIAT not paid in their own contractual share, but they had not even paid in the monies they had deducted from the employee pay!! Fraud on a major scale – some US$ 10 million worth – but again nothing happened and nobody was even reprimanded.

So I hope you have a lien on at least two of those new and owned aircraft, Dr. Warren Smith, because if you do not there will be a nasty-looking black mark appearing against your name in the regional Book Of Records. And you are 100% a bureaucrat, from the start of your career – for sure the private sector don’t want you!

13. Georgie Porgie

You’re certainly at liberty to express your customary half – truths, innuendo, and propaganda regarding the competency of the current government.

And I certainly hope that your right to express a vote of no confidence, isn’t being impeded as well as curtailed by the DLP yard fowls who circumvents the BU blog incessantly. lol

Furthermore, PG, let face it: it didn’t escaped our noticed that thousands of discontented Barbadians are flooding the streets of Bridgetown with they signs and banners, shouting in loud tones anger that this bunch of misfits must go.

You see brother, your argument falls flat on its face because it can’t stand up under weight of a strict – scrutiny. And as you well know: in a Democracy, the majority opinion is often the voice of conscience.

14. I am not saying that the economic situation
    is ideal in Barbados because we all know that the economy is on life support as we speak.

But what I do not get is this: if things are as bad as some project them to be , why isn’t the BU blog flooded with more of the discontented masses in Barbados?

I would have expected a turnout in much the same light as the Tea Party and the Reagan Republican sister blogs, who have had enough of President Obamas’ liberal agenda, interlaced with his socialist tendencies.

So this leads me to concluded that the situation in Barbados isn’t at crisis level. Yes, I know, people who have more than a surface level understanding of economics, are cognizant of the severity of the situation.

15. In any other business, the Chairman of an unsuccessful company would have to go; Is Mr Holder Chairman of Liat for life given the fact that Liat has gone from bad to worse under his stewardship.

16. Miller….have we not all being saying that the politicians/ministers in Barbados have NO BALLS, that Antiguan minister was really forcefully in his speech to the majority shareholders who happens to be the taxpayers in Barbados, it appears the ministers in Barbados only have balls around elections when it’s time to bullshit the Bajan voters, they need to be taught that’s not balls atall, that is being deceitful.

17. An interesting hypothesis which nobody will waste time trying to prove is the negative impact the Myrie episode had had on Barbados’ regional reputation.

On Saturday, 5 April 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

18. LIAT in a shambles, Barbados aviation in a shambles, Barbados finances in a shambles, Barbados government in a shambles, Barbados leadership in a shambles. If wunnah so vexed dat Barbados payin all de bills, do like Trickidad and tell de ress ah dem jokers Barbados ent no ATM and SELL MANY OF THE LIAT SHARES.

How de hell Barbados get over 50% of LIAT IF DESE SAID CHUPPID BARBADOS POLITICIANS DIDN’T BUY DEM?

Start at the top… Gonsalves has proven beyond the shadow of a doubt he has no business being the lead for LIAT. Holder has proven beyond the shadow of a doubt that he has no business being the leader of an airline, the Board similarly, and LIAT top management have carried the airline through DECADES of losses.

CLEAN HOUSE was the cry last year, but they put Jackass Jean to diddle himself for another 100 days and come up with a diddling plan to diddle for another 100 days.

Time is up. CLOSE THE EXPENSIVE DAMNED PIECE OF SHYTE DOWN.

19. @ David

โ€œAn interesting hypothesis which nobody will waste time trying to prove is the negative impact the Myrie episode had had on Barbadosโ€™ regional reputation.โ€

I agree with you a 100%; however, we must be prepared to accept if it has been proven that the entire situation was not handled properly by Barbadian officials.

This LIAT issue has been plaguing Barbados and the Caribbean region for years. As the majority shareholder, Barbados needs to get serious and have more say in the operations of LIAT. Far too long islands like Grenada, Anguilla, St. Lucia, Martinique, Guadeloupe, St. Barths, St. Martin, St. Kitts, Nevis, St. Thomas and Puerto Rico have been benefiting from the enhancement of their development and tourism product on the backs of Barbadian tax payers Their governments have refused time and time again to invest in LIAT. However, they are quick to contribute to any criticism of Barbados; you don’t have to ask them twice.

In the interest of Barbados and CARICOM, should not CARICOM Ambassador Robert Morris be involved in this issue. Should not the Minister of Tourism solicit the Ambassador’s labour relations, dispute resolution, negotiations skills and his vast trade union experience, as these attributes are what may be needed to assist all the islands involved in this LIAT affair. And I have not heard him on the Myrie case as well.
    This administration is paying a man thousands of dollars a month with diplomatic status, and all he can be seen doing is giving history or trade union lectures. Maybe his focus is primarily that of the fishing agreement and the proposed gas pipeline from Trinidad. He is not alone, we have a Minister of Foreign Affairs who is silent on numerous issues as well.

Bobby Morris should be one of the casualties in this retrenchment program.

20. @Artaxeres

Bobby was given a largely ceremonial position because he has been a faithful foot soldier with health problems and a career to nowhere with Sir Roy holding strain.

Bear in mind Barbados benefits a lot by operating as a hub for the EC. Dismantling LIAT will have to done carefully.

21. @ David

Point taken.

22. Minister of Foreign Affairs Maxine McClean to appear on the talk show tomorrow? There is some license which our eminent talk show moderators and riverside journalists may take advantage of as it relates to LIAT and Myrie.

23. Like Dennis Kellman, Minister McClean does not ever deal with anything to do with her ministry. She picks an easy to handle moderator like Cory Layne to try to manhandle him over the UWI tuition mess. She will never try that with Peter Wickham………….she tried one day and Peter told her “minister come off it”, she has not called back whilst he was on.

I am convinced that her initial response to the whole Myrie fiasco was the reason it got so far.

24. @Artaxerxes

While I agree the hypothesis on the Myrie matter might be difficult to prove it has had a negative effect on the quality of Bar Barbados as a destination. Here is yet another one, a young 22 old Jamaican visitor murdered in Barbados. http://jamaica.gotnewswire.com/news/man-charged-with-murder-of-jamaican-in-barbados

Sad sad sad. Our society is changing.

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

3 CROOKS running LIAT, reverse math will let you know and see the crooks clear. Same crooks running Barbados ,
    Master LIARS , Master Scumbags, Numbers will let you see and know that they NUMBERS DOES NOT ADD UP TO THE Words..
    These PIGS must be gutted out of the system , We can beat the SYSTEM , BUT WE CAN NOT BEAT THE Law , No LAW is in this , unless the law of Fraud counts

26. @ Prodigal Son

โ€œLike Dennis Kellman, Minister McClean does not ever deal with anything to do with her ministry.โ€

Excellent observation… Maxine McClean is a very tactful politician, which was evident during her tenure as a moderator at VOB. She seems to pick her fights and intimidate โ€œweakโ€ moderators or those who would not want to hard press her for answers.

Peter Wickham has been at the forefront discussing Caribbean related issues and has produced and moderated โ€œBrass Tacksโ€ programs that dealt specifically with LIAT. He had the past CEO, Ian Brunton, and a representative of the Leeward Islands Airline Pilots Association (LIALPA), on separate programs, in which the two gentlemen were able to put forward their perspective on how LIAT should operate.

However, taking Wickhamโ€™s track record with this DLP administration into consideration, it would surprise me if David Ellis allows him to host the program. On the other hand, Ellis usually has a timid approach to ministers of this government, and since McClean is an old school mate, neighbour and fellow moderator….. should Ellis host the program, we can readily assume the stance he may take and questions he may ask.

โ€œI am convinced that her initial response to the whole Myrie fiasco was the reason it got so far.โ€

Good point Prodigal……. and I agree with you. In the absence of the results of a thorough investigation, McCleanโ€™s initial response was to insinuate that Myrie was lying. Her approach should been a bit more diplomatic, in that she should have noted Myrieโ€™s complaint, while assuring her claims of the alleged assault and treatment at the hands of airport officials would have been thoroughly investigated. Consequently, the Caribbean Court of Justice, based on the evidence presented, were able to conclude that some of Myrieโ€™s accusations had some merit.

27. McLean is neither a politician nor a diplomat … She has never run for office and she is not a member of the Corp.

Maginley is an Old Lodge Boy, believe it or not.

92,000 people (1/5 of the long stay arrivals) pass through Barbados to do business at the US Embassy, LIAT brings them here. So Bajan tax payers will continue to support the airline and representatives at the UN General Assembly will continue to abstain or vote in favour of the US. This is good survival sense

28. Did Maginley know Allan Stanford ? Antigua’s real claim to fame is being the hideout of one of the world’s notorious criminals. He must have received logistical assistance from the politicians to run his global scams from Antigua.

29. Just Saying

Bite your tongue. Because the US government went after Stanford does not make him anymore of a criminal organization than every other investment bank, retail bank and insurance company in the world.

30. Maxine Maclean said on brass-tacks today Macginley cannot make the decision that Liat stays in Antigua that is a decision to be made by the shareholders and the majority of those are Barbados’.

BAFBFP boy from Lodge should shut his arse and bring some funds to the table. He who pays the piper calls the tune. That’s the truth and nothing but. Macginley is the one who needs to be sat down and read the riot act.

31. There was a time when Barbados was a leader in the region and our country was respected by all and sundry.

Not now.

Our Minister of Tourism, (like Ronald Jones, does anyone believe his announcement of a $80 million tax was in his script at the Alleyne’s speech day?) seemingly diverted from his prepared script and said something off the cuff and now we have a war of words with him and the Antigua Minister of Tourism John Maginley.

Top it all off now, Maxine McClean push in her mouth to cause further confusion………Richard Sealy started the war of words, let him finish it. I refused to listen to her today….a waste of my time and energy!

32. @Prodgal Son

To be fair to Minister McClean we thought she handled the question well.

33. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Just a question if I may. Would have LIAT’s hangers and other facilities been re-built quicker and at less cost if the building had been insured?

34. Does LIAT management and Board intend to hold anybody to account? This is ridiculous.

PM Gonsalves says LIAT’s under-insurance will add EC 10 million to damage price tag

Tuesday, 24 July 2012 14:40

Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves has disclosed that the under-insurance of โ€œnon aviation componentsโ€ caused the regional airline LIAT, to incur an additional EC $10 million in damage โ€“ bringing the price tag for Juneโ€™s hangar blaze to a staggering EC $60 million. According to the Antigua Observer, the Prime Minister made the disclosure during a meeting of majority shareholders of  LIAT, held  in Barbados on Friday.

Dr. Gonsalves said the regional carrier had insurance for some of the damage, including the DASH-8 aircraft, but did not have โ€œfull coverage.โ€

The uninsured items that were damaged apparently include โ€œbuildings,โ€ but further specific details were not given.

LIATโ€™s Board Chairman, Dr. Jean Holder, said that the fire โ€“ which was ruled as accidental โ€“ exposed an error in judgment on behalf of the company.

The intention of Fridayโ€™s meeting was to reveal the companyโ€™s new direction for LIAT โ€“ which includes the purchase of a new aircraft fleet and a the recruitment of a new Chief Executive Officer.

Source: NBC Radio

http://www.gov.vc/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=660%3Apm-gonsalves-says-liats-under-insurance-will-add-ec-10-million-to-damage-price-tag&Itemid=159

35. Who are LIAT’s external auditors? When they inspected the asset registers shouldn’t they have raised a red flag that items were not insured? What about LIAT’s internal audit and control procedures?

36. External auditors? Do they even have internal auditors? A taxpayer-owned in the Caribbean apparently need not show its books to ANYone, so why bother with the expense of auditing?

The bottomless taxpayer wallet will keep pouring money into the bottomless pit, nah worry, man. There is a huge amount more where that came from.

Red flags? Control procedures? Insurance? Responsibility? Accountability? Those are things mere common people have to worry about, but when you are politically “owned” and operated you need not worry about such trivia and nonsense, somebody will find the money from somewhere to fix whatever damage you will ever do.

And whatever happens, as long as you are a yard fowl there will be no ramifications, you will keep your position forevermore. Well, as long as your Parry is in power, anyway!

37. If I may…

LIAT will never move the HQ from St Johns to Bridgetown, because (a) the labor pains will be too intense, (b) the setup costs will be too high, (c) the political fallout will be too deep, and (d) the timing will be too late.

I believe we should all start saying our goodbyes now, thanking the Board of Management (do they have such a thing?) of LIAT for their service, and beginning the long process of wrapping up operations. It is my belief that LIAT can still die with a shred of dignity, without having its aircraft seized or impounded, or the weight of lawsuits crushing the last drop of blood from its otherwise bloated and stinking carcass.

38. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Whatever became of the plan for a Ferry?
    Who were the principals involved in the Ferry move ?
    Cant Vic Fernandes and Jerome Walcott, Harris and the rest invest in a Ferry the same way they invested in Bayview Hospital ?
    The two can go together. Inter-island travel to Bay-view Hospital from patients in the Windward Islands

39. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

What language from Island FLYER
    WOW!!
    I have a lot to learn bro/SIS !

40. IF REDJET were around I do not think we would have John Maginleyโ€™s Idle Talk. However Barbados decided to not understand what was going on and now face a huge LIAT debt as well as frienemies who have been using BIM for years. LIAT is not Barbados’s national airline. Barbados must get its act together and have a relevant AIRLINES POLICY that gives Barbados a position were it wins as well as its neighbors. This can not be achieve by playing games but by being real about the situation and the solutions.

41. Prodigal son remember The CCO (Parris), CFO(Riefer-Jones) and the acting CEO (Riefer-Jones) are all from Barbados. The CCO and CFO are responsible for more than 70% of the company, so technically 70% or more of what is wrong falls on their heads. For the past six months the CFO was also the CEO who is responsible for the whole company so effectively BGI runs LIAT.

42. @Karl

Surely LIAT’s problems cannot be tagged to the COO or CFO, it is a much bigger issue which starts with policy direction.

43. And Karl both have been doing a horrible job. Remember the CCO mocking the Virgin CEO and you will soon find out the under hand things that went on with this fleet change……….the unions kicking up!

44. @David
    They have very powerful positions the only thing left after them is pilots and engineers. They have a huge say in implementation and while broad policy direction would come from the so called board day to day falls on the executive. If they have been given a flawed policy the implement, as a director/executive what do you do? if you think based on on your training its a good policy you implement. If they can be absolved from the failings then the only problem LIAT has is the board. I am yet to hear of a LIAT manager leaving due to his/her dislike for a policy.

@Prodigal Son
    The Virgin thing was a missed opportunity to turn a negative into a huge positive…still waiting to the fleet issues and who might have made what.

45. @Karl

What you have stated is correct BUT the buck stops with the Board and if any company is in free fall like LIAT has been for a long time it makes is a systemic issue and NOT a management issue.

46. This Caricom given its lack of cohesion will be the death of us yet. It seem like if Barbados is left to hold the bag everytime. Now we hear St.Lucia has applied a measure under the RTOC which translates to 70% duty on goods imported from Barbados and other countries clasified as more developed. It was only on Sunday gone our Minister of Foreign Affairs addressed concerns about Barbados shouldering most of the financial burden with LIAT, she tagged it to being supportive of Caricom.

47. Let’s try and keep the truth above our heads… BARBADOS is now the majority shareholder. If BARBADOS did not buy the shares or put in the money, then BARBADOS would not hold majority shares.

Nobody cyan bruk we hand fuh do dah, Bosie. Check wit Fumble Dumble, um is he jurisdiction, is he who does tell de Tiger-shrimp-eaters whuffuh do. And HE is de one who spennoff all we money pon LIAT.

BARBADOS appointed the Chairman – who is a BARBADOS national. Most of the Board Members are from BARBADOS.

A Board does set policy, but its chief responsibility is to chart the future of the company. The only future this BARBADOS led company has charted is into even deeper financial waters. In fact, the financial waters are now so deep they cannot be sounded by the most sophisticated depth-finders.

A BARBADOS-led Board selected the last CEO and allowed him to persuade them to initiate a fleet change. If they took his word for it without further discussion or research then BARBADOS is ultimately responsible for the meltdown and sinking of LIAT into a further US$250 million – the US$100 million figure Brunton gave the Board was more smokescreen.

For the six months this BARBADOS-led LIAT Board took to find and appoint a new CEO, it was a CFO from BARBADOS – with no previous aviation experience – who ran the company and behaved as though she was the next CEO.

BARBADOS has an abjectly disgusting aviation authority. The Health Department condemned their last quarters, and the FAA left the Category Two unchanged because Barbados “is not ready” (as we say in the islands). The legislation is not in place, the people are not in place, and there are not enough competent or qualified officers or inspectors, nor do the existing inspectors perform the required inspections set out by law.

In other words, BARBADOS is 100% incompetent in aviation. But you want to move a regional airline here which has over 100 movements a day over as 1,000 mile network with over a million passengers a year because BARBADOS has money in it?

Get it straight, this is NOT a hardware store or fish stall on wheels we are talking about here. At least HALF of the employees require sophisticated and globally-recognised licences to do their jobs.

Here is a sensible alternative… you want BARBADOS to get out from under the LIAT debt – now over BD$120 million a year?

— MAKE BARBADOS SELL THE DAMNED LIAT SHARES.

You want Fumble Dumble to stop buying shares in LIAT?

— FIRE THE DAMNED PRIME MINISTER!! FIRE THE GOVERNMENT!!

You want change, then do something to make change. Coming here and whining and bitching about it will achieve exactly zero.

48. Anomynuss | April 9, 2014 at 3:25 PM |
    Spoken like a true jackass.

49. That must be true, Just Saying, that must be true… after all, you said it.

And maybe that’s why the Antigua Opposition is now asking for a meeting with the Barbados Government to figure out how Barbados got clear majority shares (+50%) and is now calling the shots for the airline. I use that term “calling the shots” figuratively, because the Chief Jackass in the PM’s seat won’t make any decisions and blocks anyone else from moving ahead – and don’t tell me that’s not true, I KNOW it to be true.

But I will say it again…
    – BARBADOS got majority shares in LIAT because BARBADOS kept putting the money down to buy more.
    – if BARBADOS feels cheated on local jobs and control of LIAT, then SELL THE LIAT SHARES and let somebody else deal with it.
    – BARBADOS is in severe financial straits – and it’s a FACT, I don’t give a damn what your opinion is on that.
    – BARBADOS just laid off over 3,000 civil servants – many more to come.
    – if BARBADOS wants to cut government spending, then surely LIAT is a great place to start, with that bill being now BD$120 million a year – and increasing. It’s an alternative to laying off more thousands of people.
    – And if BARBADOS wants to turn their economy around, then get rid of the Chief Jackass who brought it here and won’t make any decisions. Just MAYBE I am not the only jackass around.

The Chief Jackass is a lawyer and operates on the principle of TORT. That is, if he does not do anything you cannot blame him if something goes wrong. So he does NOTHING – except that you cannot run a country by default, and he was ELECTED to do .things. The argument can clearly be made that he is not doing the job he was elected to do.

I don’t want to see the Bees in power any more than you do, but the way the Chief Jackass is dragging this country down almost anything would be better than the IMF’s severest austerity measures and devaluation of Barbados currency.

Wh’appen, Wally, you don’t like to hear the truth?