Antigua Minister of Tourism John Maginley

Majority shareholders must remember that their junior partners will not always be their best allies.  Although the minority shareholders may initially appear to be highly cooperative, this can change rapidly for any number of reasons (change in business economic conditions, change in personal attitudes, change in personal financial situation, differences in the corporation’s business direction, failure to make further contributions to the advance of the business, impeding the corporation from obtaining further outside investment, etc.).  As such, majority shareholder will want to exercise his or her control over the corporation in a pre-determined manner, which is best undertaken with a well written shareholders agreementShareholder Lawyer

The promulgation by Antigua Minister of Tourism John Maginley that LIAT will not be relocated to Barbados must be interpreted for what it is, an ignorant statement to impress would be voters with a general election looming. The statement exposes the corn beef politics an Antiguan politician is prepared to engage even if the statement qualifies him as most ignorant to onlookers.

Maginley obviously felt he had to respond to and equally strong message which was delivered by Barbados Minister of Tourism  Richard Sealy who promised that some LIAT operations will be relocated to Barbados in the coming months.  Although Sealy stopped short of confirming if his government will push to relocate LIAT to Barbados in the near future, he confirmed that Barbados will be undergoing the process to acquire Category I status which is a requirement to satisfy  FAA International Aviation Safety Assessment Scheme (IASA).

One year ago Barbados as the majority shareholder in LIAT co-signed a loan agreement with Antigua, St. Vincent and Dominica  for USD65 millions dollars out of which Barbados guaranteed USD31 millions dollars. Let Magindley know this gives the Barbados government the right to heavily influence decisions by LIAT in the interest of Barbados BUT recognizing that all shareholders must be strategically aligned in their interest of the airline. Magindley’s retort only serves to muddy the issues for LIAT at a time when the region’s only carrier is battling to remain solvent. BU holds no brief for Minister Sealy who history will recall as one of the most inept tourism ministers Barbados has had but we give him credit for responding to Prime Minister Balwin Spencer’s boast that he will not be sending home civil servants like Barbados has done. Imagine Magindley suggesting that Sealy’s statement must be taken  as meddling in the affairs of Antigua yet Spencer made a similar statement about Barbados and what?

Magindley you have declared Antiqua has agreed to build a hanger with a 20 year plan. You are advised as a minority shareholder to gain assent from other shareholders; especially the majority shareholder BARBADOS.

57 responses to “LIAT’s Woes Continue With John Maginley’s Idle Talk”

1. Chairman Holder reported today that LIAT headquarters will NOT be moving from Antigia although he admitted LIAT operations will expand in Barbados. Interesting that he mentioned that LIAT’s ontime performance has reached 90%. This is good but we want to jear him on what is happening with profitability. In fairness to men he hinted a route overhaul is in the offing.

2. LIAT numbers 2012-2013 are out, found in a Barbados Government publication again… with an increase of almost 15% over the 2011-2012 figures. So at this rate LIAT will pull down a Billion US dollars from its shareholders in six years instead of seven.

Hey, somebody call my man Chris and suggest new ways of raising wunnuh taxes, boh… Barbados is going to need quite a bit more for LIAT’s black hole than it has now – you see, with 50.3% shares, all ah we gine hadda corntribbut a whole BILLION Barbados dollars in the next six years 2014-2019.

So open yuh wallet, boy… OPE-IT-IN NOW!!! And bring plenty more tuh, gorblinit.

3. Oh my goodness, more falling numbers at LIAT – from 1.3 million in 2008 to 850,000 in 2012, to an unnecessary “meltdown” in 2013, to an “unexpected” vicious attack in 2014… alluhwunnuh read this – eff yuh dares…
    http://dominicavibes.dm/airline-partnership-to-provide-increased-flights-to-dominica/

But doh worry, is only we taxpayer money, and you know dat dey juss like plastic, it doh mean nuttn, it ent real money. And Dominica? Chaw, man, dat dey far enough from Bados, nah worry, man.

So rest assured that – as long as Maximum Leader Fumble has full control of LIAT, as he has now – NO action will be taken (maaan, jess like he does always do wid the Bados Gubmint) and your hundreds of millions a year in tax money will be safe in that bottomless LIAT pit.

In fact, Dumble may have such confidence in his faithful puppy Jackass Jean that he will come back to you for more!! And I just KNOW you will LOVE to hear that!! Open your wallets, my people, LIAT needs MORE!!

Wunnuh Doubtin Thomases doh tell me nuttn when LIAT collapse fore de end of dis year, yuh hear?

But when yuh right, yuh right, MEK DEM BRING IT TO BADOS, we lickmout jackasses should have FULL responsibility when it brek dung – ‘causing we does put de most money in it, ent? And axe dat dey Minister Sealy, when we bruk off LIAT we gine agen fuh Category One!! It MUSS come!!

4. Clone

Thank you for pointing out this obvious fact to David because it seems as though he has selective memory when come to this reality. Prodigal Son, is given great latitude to verbally molest the DLP administration, without the obvious constraints that are dished out to the opposing narrative. He just cannot come grips with the reality that his BLP party, has been defeated in the worse way possible. During the greatest recession in our present age!

5. Bados still gots BD$120 million a year for LIAT dis year… Bados gots plenty plenty plenty money, man, Fumble Dumble, Lackey Sealy and Jackass Jean pelting it dung de drain like it gine outta style… but keep pelting it, keep pelting it, you could pelt Jean Holder and all – read um and weep, Bosie… Mistress, yuh gots a quarter yuh could spare a poor poor taxpayer?
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/04/09/red-flag

6. “The promulgation by Antigua Minister of Tourism John Maginley that LIAT will not be relocated to Barbados must be interpreted for what it is, an ignorant statement to impress would be voters with a general election looming.”

The higher monkey climb, the more he shows his ass.

An agreement was signed about a month ago which sealed LIAT’s Head Office would stay in Antigua for at least the next five years. This is public knowledge, and reported in the Press – does nobody do their due diligence any more before licking their mouths in public?
    http://caribarenaantigua.com/antigua/news/latest/106362-liat-not-going-anywhere.html

And Barbados is now so full of shyte, red tape, ignorance and corruption that LIAT would never survive here. Sealy got BD$100 million in his hand from Fumble Dumble after elections and done spend off most of that already – the rest he has plans for. After all, it is only taxpayer money and there is plenty, plenty more where that came from, even if he has to raid the NIS – again.

Nuff, nuff taxpayer money bout de place, man. don’t worry. If Sealy want more he can just juck one of we eye out with a next nudder tax of some kind.

FACT: Barbados now owns MORE THAN 50% of LIAT… NOBODY can make any decisions or changes about LIAT without Fumble Dumble agreeing, and – as usual – he has his mouth sealed shut. Get it straight, BARBADOS decides the future (or lack thereof) of LIAT, nobody else can be blamed for that.

Once upon a time so highly educated and respected, HOW the hell did the people of Barbados get so feckin IGNORANT today?

7. prodigal i can bet on you to talk nuff sh..it when it comes to this govt…like uh opening salvo about mockery ……..are you for real…let me spell this one out to you ..the antigua tourism minister is a politician and a panderer just like MIA mottley who on occasion comes up with ridiculous ideas and fly by night suggestions to rally the BLP yardfowls,,,hence one would take anything which this antigua minister of tourism say wid a grain of salt,,,,,,,same could be said for MIA with her .,,rubbing shoulders mantra and calls for MOF to resign……get it………. the liat debacle has been going on for years and all like you had little or if anything at all to say about the millions of dollars being handed out to prop the flying ghost up when the BLP was in power,,yeah this is the same airlines with the same problems that people like you and others encourage the BLP govt to sustain……… now when you spit shite in the air be careful cause plenty of it gonna fall in yuh face yuh hear,,,,,,,,,dumassss….