178 responses to “Reparations is Not a Nicety, it is an Absolute Necessity”

1. what were are arguing is the Law ….. the law is presented as: “a person having a right to defend themselves and using fear as such a right of defense ” then it does not really matter who the jurors are the Law is rigid and makes it hard for jurors especially mixed to reach an agreement ,,having more whites only help to strengthen or bolster with inequality

2. If the jurors must or should act as directed then it should not matter white or black jurors.

3. The trouble with American jurisprudence I believe is at the state level because at the federal level, the sentencing guidelines are clear. At the federal level a judge must act within the periphery of the stipulated sentencing guidelines. However, at the state level the judge is given a bet more latitude to determine sentencing; he can either give the max or decided on the minimum. Jury selection is very crucial in determining whether or not a black man or white man will walk. And this is of course in relation to the history of racism in America.

4. David, I hope that I am not insulting your intelligence by informing you that your understanding of America judicial system is quite limited.

5. @Fenty

BU genuflects to your superior knowledge.

6. Again the OJ bad example white people loved the Juice great athlete, good actor bad criminal. But I have heard that alcohol, drugs and jealously can make people do strange things. Just like insulting Asian people by calling them all Chinese, Zimmerman is part Hispanic, Rihanna I believe is part scottish ( where else would she have got those looks and rhythm from) It is very difficult today branding anybody white black or whatever , the killing of blacks by Hispanics we have only seen the tip of that iceberg, but it isn’t news and controversy if a Mexican kills a black or vice versa the news I bet doesn’t even report, its only good when they can drag out baby pictures show the jacks and blocks they used to play with. But with a gun culture this going to happen. The case lately that upsets me the most is the kid they let off because he was too spoilt to know the difference between right and wrong when he drove drunk and killed those people. Insane

7. David, why do you think that their so many innocent black men sitting in prison throughout America today? And thanks to the Innocent Project many of them are finally able to get some measure of justice.

8. i,,the laws of justice are written and stacked against blacks,,, we would not be having this argument if the laws were fair ,,,for indeed dunn and zimmerman would be in jail,,,,,,,the jurors are not without guilt either for giving these two men not guilty verdicts,,how is it possible to find a man guilty of using deadly force by use of a firearm to pump several shots into a car but ignores the same evidence which lead to a not guilty verdict in the death of the young man… does not make sense,,,,,the same gun the same dunn all systemically

9. David, please don’t patronized me because I might be stupid but I am far from being ignorant, I know an insult when I see one.

10. @Fenty

Good!

11. @ David
    Here is a story that might interest you I hope. There is a black fellow who reside not too far from where I call home in the state of Connecticut. And when he was in his teens, he was convicted for alleged raping a white woman. So with the advancement of the new DNA testing in the state of Connecticut in the middle to the late 1990’s, he was proven to be innocent of those alleged charges. He is now a free man thanks to the efforts of his love ones who believed in his innocence. But, the morale of the story is that the state of Connecticut compensated him the sum of some five- hundred million dollars for every day his spent in prison. And this kind of injustice has been taken place in this country for decades and beyond. Now, correct me if you think that I am incorrect here, but when have your heard of such injustice taking place in the small island of Barbados? David, there is an (Innocent- Project) which comprised of law students and a few prominent lawyers, who goes around the United States and defend black men as well as women who have been convicted wrongfully. There have been so many aquittals of black men who have been convicted wrongfully throughout the country, words can’t obviously express the joy their families must have felt.

12. @Fenty

Here is some research for you: Barbados is a predominantly Black country where Blacks are routinely placed on remand for years. Can you name the Black Bajan who was on remand fo 10 years in a Bajan prison?

13. Oh Lawsie David [BU] whu you just gone en do?

You Challenge Marcus Fenty, citizen of the United States of America, sojourner ONLY in Bulbados, to name a Black Bajan incarcerated in Dodds, jes one?

How low can you get man?

You mean that you pulling at the hairs on the man balls to challenge him to cal the name of his next door neighbour pun dis island of Bulbados, someting dat he is incapable of doing, as am I, de same man dat call all de names of the illustrious Royal Barbados Police Force a few weeks back when he get internet at he house!!

Man I now see why Ross pelting invectives at you man!!

Low down man, low down… abuse of privilege and tings like dat David…

Shameful man… I doan know what to say man… i hurted by this act of Goebbelian proportions……

14. @PUDRY

David (BU) throws himself at the mercy of all BU commenters; the coherent ones.

15. And evidence has emerged in later years, (a death bed confession) indicating that the last lady who was hanged in Barbados, sometime in the late 1940’s was not guilty of the offence. Its never too late to clear her name.

16. The critical question of Black men being found Guilty of crimes they did not commit is whether or not it is the inability of most White people to tell the difference between Black men is a factor, which it is. Saw a program on TV where a white woman thought “her rapist” was Mr A but only after DNA evidence proved his innocence and the guilt of someone else did she realise her genuine error. She then made peace with thechap and tried to help him when he got out of prison. It was NOT a question of hate or malice just mis identification.

17. …. and then to confound matters more there is the recent incident where the police prosecuted a black man right here in Barbados for raping two white women.

The women realized the police had the wrong guy but still had to pay for his defense to get him off.

True true fact!!

Just shows mistakes can be made and more importantly there are people who will do the right thing.

Even made the Telegraph and Guardian in London!!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/centralamericaandthecaribbean/barbados/9700928/How-two-British-women-raped-in-Barbados-declared-their-attacker-innocent.html

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/dec/13/barbados-rape-accused-freed

18. @Moneybrain
    The critical question of Black men being found Guilty of crimes they did not commit is whether or not it is the inability of most White people to tell the difference between Black men is a factor, which it is
    Yeah yeah we know we all look alike right “Money”? Are some of these whites friends of yours? Don’t worry they are in good company as the former COP in Bim said much the same. It’s time that people stop using this lazy ass excuse to excuse their stupidity/racist attitudes, if they can’t tell one Black person from the other why don’t they give them the benefit of the doubt if they are accused of a crime?

When it comes to crime and punishment where black people are concerned Blackstone’s theory “It is better that ten guilty persons escape than that one innocent suffer” is put on its head.

19. Familiar music, familiar sound
    Does mute your thoughts for the underground
    Lonely sight for any turning light
    Future prophesy for the [Incomprehensible]

There’ll be equal stay and equal play
    The underground where none can betray

The underground

They’ll all turn black so who’s to know
    As a matter of fact, color, creed and breed must go
    There’ll be no light, so there can be no sight
    And you’ll judge your fellow men on the stand
    By what is right

Familiar music, familiar sound
    Does mute your thoughts for the underground

The underground

20. Ras Man should set up the Herb Man Business in BBD
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=51285

21. @Sarge
    The reality is that Testing has proved that many Whites DO have a problem telling the difference and it has NOTHING to do with being racist.

The case I was referring to was a classic and indeed I saw the picture of the truly guilty man and after spending my entire life around black people had loads of trouble telling the innocent one from the guilty fella. I am normally very observant

I made a mistake a few years ago at a school re-union near the Bar in a dimly lit area where an old pal said hi and asked if i remembered him and I got his name wrong because he had on a cap, was in a dark area and is quite dark himself. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with racism.

22. Moneybrain
    …when you find your self in a hole and sinking…
    ..man stop digging nuh! 🙂

If wunna can’t tell the difference between blacks, then these court decisions – without supporting evidence, are either racist (and note we are talking about people’s lives here not talk) or a sign of some REALLY stupid people….. Which you think it is…?

23. @Bushie
    I believe you could read and comprehend, or did I make a mistake about that? The info presented is self explanatory for those with an IQ above 99.
    However, for those BLINDED by anything that possibly be considered racial, I am not surprised that they would remain glued to their bias. Any clown knows that many Studies and Tests prove that Eyewitness accounts are totally inferior to Circumstantial Evidence and obviously to DNA/ Scientific info.(when race is NOT a variable farless).

I do appreciate the gravity of rape and murder trials.

Bushie, this is NOT even above average effort on your part.

24. Perhaps we now know ,today, where this present Government stands on the question of reparation. By celebrating a Parliament which for some 195 years, supported slavery and made legislation to keep slavery going,is an endorsement of the establishment during those years of slavery.

25. …. on the other hand this is the same parliament which freed the slaves and changed the status quo which had existed for millennia,

…. in fact, long before it had even been dreamed of!!

This parliament is really a gift from God …… created to do his will …… despite the efforts of wicked people to subvert its purpose.

We should keep a moment’s silence and reflect on that purpose.

26. John | February 28, 2014 at 1:26 PM |

…. on the other hand this is the same parliament which freed the slaves and changed the status quo which had existed for millennia,
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    Actually the Plantocracy,who were part and parcel of the Parliament, reaped untold benefits by the abolition of slavery. No longer had they to pay large sums of money down in the Bridgetown slave market to purchase slaves.There was a ready supply of cheap labour in the form of these freed slaves and their offspring, all e paid a pittance, well into the 1950’s. The Planters no longer had to provide food and accommodation to these freed, slaves, who were required to pay rent and provide their own food out of the few cents that they were paid.
    The planter class were therefore better off in the post slavery days, they did not give up something for nothing. Its no wonder, on the eve of South Africa reluctantly abolishing Apartheid ,that after a meeting in Washington, the South African Prime Minister stopped over in Barbados, probably on the advice of the then US President, “to see how apartheid works , without having it on the statute books.”
    Sometime before the Bussa Rebellion took place,Britain decided to form a West Indian Regiment, made up of British Officers, and freed slaves making up the rank and file. The merchants of Bridgetown were up in arms , with England, threatening to withhold the payment of taxes,as it was considered sheer madness to have these black soldiers bearing arms. Then the Bussa uprising came along,and these same Black Soldiers, in the judgement of the same Merchants and Planters, performed admirably, putting down the insurrection. They would have agreed with the local natives of East Africa , who referred to the men of the West India Regiment as “Wazungu Waeusi.” (Black Europeans.)
    The Barbados hard nosed planter class, only ,cede, when its to their benefit.

27. “This parliament is really a gift from God …… created to do his will …… despite the efforts of wicked people to subvert its purpose.”

I have not heard such ignorance in a long time like what John just said.
    I wonder where this GOD was before when the slaves were being raped, beaten and killed. I wonder if it was the same GOD the masters brought to the slaves?