Submitted by Douglas
Sugar Point Cruise Facility

The DLP is on the right track to restore growth to the Barbados economy. We are having constructive dialogue with stakeholders to implement the tough measures and minimise the impact on those affected. We have started that consultation long ago with stakeholders to identify strategies to restructure the Barbados Economy. We have introduced our home grown policies such as the recently passed Electric Light & Power Bill and income tax amendments which will grow the alternative energy sector in Barbados.

As we go through the necessary process to reduce the public sector, we are aware of hope on the horizon to grow the private sector to take up the slack. Government has signed off on the proposed financing arrangement for the new Sandals Beaches Hotel at Almond with the Chinese Government. The coastal work in preparation for the new cruise terminal at the port has already begun. Both the IADB and the Chinese Government have expressed interest in financing the Pier Head Marina. Cabinet will take a final decision on the financing in a few days. The construction of the waste-to-energy facility at Vaucluse will bring in US$300 million in investment. These and other projects will contribute significantly to grow the Barbados economy in 2014 and beyond.

The Barbados economy will turn around, – not through political gimmicks, but hard work and dedication.

To read the full article:

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/no-gimmicks/
https://www.facebook.com/DLPBB

79 responses to “No Gimmicks”

1. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Prodigal Son; You said above;
    I totally agree with your post. What was so mind boggling was the absolute absurd statement which the PM spewed……. we went to cabinet to get money to pay you but it was not approved. Is this man for real?

Let us assume that he was correctly quoted and did indeed go to cabinet for money to pay the people who were laid off. That suggests that, in addition to your very reasonable surmises, there is a certain degree of chaos, yes, but also unexpected backbone in Cabinet which might partially explain why some other Ministers (eg Finance) were not there at the apology session.

Did you wonder why a minister would have gone to cabinet to reinstate workers who had been laid off under policies set by that same cabinet and implemented by the Minister of Finance? (Remember the Public Service Ministry is one of the few Ministries run by the PM and whose portion of the flawed implementation he apologized for).

Absolutely unbelievable! The PM could not have been quoted accurately or those comments were taken out of context or correct time frames.

However, It would appear that there are still a few wise heads in Cabinet to have prevailed against a CP presumably originating from a super Ministry.

It would also appear that these types of scenarios where cabinet members pull and push against each other are far from over, since it appears that the workers in the Transport Board are also facing an imminent haircut where a different cost cutting strategy is being used but one which has the spectre of possibly causing unintended consequences to the private sector and safety of the country’s commuters.

2. @are-we-there-yet

You should always keep at the forefront the reason why there was an E11 scenario. The apparent sloth of he PM when treating with civil service matters.

3. @Lawson
    Politicians should take a leaf out of Chris Christie,s book, if something happened under your watch whether you knew about it or not, tell the people… apologize rectify the problem instead of trying to hide everything under the rug then you will have a govt that works
    *********/\/\/\/\/************
    The book isn’t closed on Christie yet, when your closest aides and your childhood friend get together to try to punish someone who didn’t support you perhaps you had a hand in it. Any way you are close to the scene of Harperland and he claims not to know anything about the Duffy deal even when his handpicked Chief of Staff and multiple aides worked out a deal to let Duffy (and the PC’s) off the hook. Politicians always claim to be like a jilted spouse (they are always the last to know)

BTW do you know how many times Christie said I apologize in a 90 minute hour news conference?
    24 times

4. Sargeant I have spent a lifetime reading people in my construction business I have never had a signed contract just a hand shake, as a first responder emergency worker it was my job to size up the situation in seconds. I believe he is telling the truth I don’t see words rolling off his tongue as easily or disingenuous as what I have seen what is going on down there. I may be wrong but I have a good feel about him. Frankly I like a lot of what Harper has done but I am very Skeptical that he did not know, similar to Clinton saying he did not have sexual relations with that woman, but I still like him. The problem with Canada is that senate is appointed career govt workers are passed over for hockey players, media people fund raisers etc sickening Even the governor generals Clarkson and Jean media people what crap you reap what you sow.

5. It’s so clear PM Stuart is just a figurehead and not part of the current DLP, at least not the part that knows what is happening on the island and how to fix any problems, apparently he is not even aware that he is the one supposed to direct Sinckler to approve payments to workers sorry, people to whom they paid for votes.

A bajan white prime minister in black majority Barbados, never, first they are too arrogant, cocky, skin color conscious and blatantly self-serving, more so than the present idiots bajans have to contend with in parliament.

6. @ Sergeant
    ” Politicians should take a leaf out of Chris Christie’s book”

When has Chris Christie become the poster – child for Political correctability in America? Christie, is what I would call a poor example of a politician who takes responsibility for the misconduct of the members of his administration. But I guess you have your reason?

7. Well Well never say never… who would have thought that a skinny black man would end up in the white house, and move his mother etc in. Thank god that white, yellow, red and brown Americans have more of an open mind than you considering that blacks only make up 15% of the population. You see smart people can look past religion, race, privilege etc. Stupid people will vote for a candidate along those lines then whine about what they end up with. The good news is everyone doesn’t think like you and the herd mentality , when they had the race riots in LA one of my friends actually went out and bought a television

8. Sergeant, I would have chosen Obama rather than Christie as the symbol of political correctability. Obama have had instances where he had to take responsibility for the misconduct of some of his staff. I am sure you remember Obama’s favority saying: ” The buck stops here,”

9. @Mark Fenty
    Where did I write anything about “taking a leaf out of Chris Christie’s book”??? I was quoting “Lawson”

Incidentally Obama may have said “the buck stops here” but Truman had it displayed on his desk in the Oval Office.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

These DEMS think that they are real smart. Here they are trying to refocus this thread on Obama and Christie. That is not going to work!

I want to hear more about the PM presiding in Cabinet when they did not approve the application of additional funding to pay the workers from his and Lowe’s constituencies. Some of these people were employed and promised two-year contracts in January 2013 in order to vote in those two constituencies. And for the DEMS betraying them, the PM apologised. He should be aware that apologies don’t buy an ounce of snuff.

These people need to come out and inform on those persons that bribed them to vote.

11. Sergeant, an apology is in order, but you need not quote President truman because he was a proud member of the KKK. But he had since recovered from his bigotry, by becoming the first presidents to have desegregated the Armed Forces.

12. Obama spent over 1 billion dollars to get a job that pays 400,000, I wonder what is really meant by the buck stops here, because they owe somebody for that money raised and what is the pot at the end of that rainbow.. Debo Adegbile police officers are sickened by this selection. Careful when you tar people there are lots of people around with a history of liking there own color. if you don’t think Well Well is racial profiling read her last submission.

13. @Caswell

We are watching some on every blog who seek to distract the discussion. We are not expecting that all comments will stay on point but when there is an obvious attempt to be disruptive, well this is where BU will use our best judgement.

14. Lawson, after 400 years of mental and physical enslavement by the man of European extraction. What makes you think that black people wouldn’t want to support their own regards of the endeavor. People like you yourself seems to have no problem with the cronyism that is and have been intricately interweaved in social and historical tapestry of the above mentioned race of people. And your unintelligible comment about how Mr. Obama spent 1 billion dollars to get a job that pays 400,000 leaved something to be desired.
    You ought know that it isn’t the money that matters but the title of president which carries the influence that generates the big bucks Mr. Think about it Lawson: Mitt Romney spent $800 million to get a job the pays 400, 000.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Gimmicks!!

My granson, de one dat does do de IT tingy at *** tell me dat de IDB recently gi’ an award to the 5 bessest governors in Souf America dat implement good government programs wid a little money!!

Imagine dat being reward fuh doing you job as an appointee of de people, dat is sacrilege.

Anyways, he say dat one uh dem set up a e-governance system dat did like a electronic scorecard fuh de ministry dem dat report pun de progress uh political “promises”

It did wuk like dis.

Day 1. As Governor, in we case Fumble, i set out my wish list us to-do tasks, like Fumle and Seethru do in dem manifesto.
    Day 2. He get a plan from he municipalities uh, if dem cud do any uh he dream list, how dem gine do it. Dat shun be too hard fuh de DLP DreamTeam” you know dat in 2007 dem did calling demself de Dream Team? Man dem is a real bunch uh dreamers in truff, even up to now dem still dreaming, Fumble ent wake up yet, and de res uh dem daydreaming!!
    Day 3. De different peoples dem quantify how much de paln gine cost, whu sorta time it gine tek and who qualify to implement dem
    Day 4. He prioritize de plans dem and set a timetable fuh implementing dem, de most important first
    Day 5. He put up an electronic bulletin board uh whu going on and who doing what? Talk bout transparency, de man actually publish whu gine on wid each project dem!!
    Day 7 onwards. He chart he progress towards dem goals. En, he tek commentss from de beneficiaries dem to improve de projects outputs
    Day 365. Dem went back and see whu dem do fuh de year and whu was dem mistakes and what dem achieve

And my friends dat is whu dem get praise fuh, NO GIMMICKS!!

No tell me realistically, if any uh wunna feel dat eider de BLP or de ingrunt DLP, would put up a electronic notice board fuh de res uh we bajans tuh see what we doing in terms uh progress and effing we is spending we money and we resources and meeting we targets?

I definitively tink not!!! cuasing when i budget fuh $300 million and mek a supplementary vote to pay my friend de contractor, who gine gi me a kickback, all uh wunna ingrunt Bajans gine see de report card metrics gone up pun de chart and wunna gine know what i does now do under de cover uh de night.

BUt doan fear, effing i din want to serve wunna as servants uh de people, when de IMF (short for International Mother Fvkrs) come heah in the next few months dem gine put up an electronic Score Board of Sorts that not only wunna ingrunt Bajans gine see, but Moodys and D&B and evey development bank and financial institution in de world to see.

Yeah, so much fuh dem GIMMICKS!!

16. @ Well Well
    ” A Bajan white prime minister in black majority Barbados…”

We haven’t had one as of yet and probably may not have one in the not to distant future. But that hasn’t in any meaningful way prevented what Dr. Don Blackman calls the: ” Aristocracts of Skin Colour in Barbados.” You know the historicity regarding the White, Negro and Mulatto classes in Barbados.

17. um look dis…….peter wickham asking OSA to take the mask off and stop masquerading to the public about “gimmicks” and to reveal to the public the truth about his retirement.. IS HE (OSA) or isn’t he,,,,,,,seems like OSA rebuttal about “gimmicks” has uprooted and unearthed another one of OSA dastardly and bold faced lies or maybe one of OSA GIMMICKS…….

18. The back page of the Nation today highlights a Sir Allan Fields bluntly stating the government lacks credibility on the economy. Whether you agree or like the Sir he is at the epicenter of how mainstream private sector must be thinking. It is a reality which the government and interested stakeholders should not ignore. His view is one which reconciles with BU. Coincidently another private sector opinion shaper, Peter Boos uttered same last week.

19. @ David

It always disturbs us when we see how the punditocray genuflect when certain people speak. No one seems to remember that these same White men conspired to overthrow a government in the past. They are now washed in the blood of the lamb.

20. @David
    Recently I’ve tried to steer way from political discussions but wasn’t the “Knight” part of the Social Partnership and CEO of the largest private employer group in the country? In his role wasn’t he called upon by OSA not to undertake certain measures by his Company lest it undermine the social cohesiveness of the country?

Then didn’t they with the “Knight” at the helm turn around and dispose of the largest trading company with control over the importation and distribution of goods in this country to the Trickidadians? This is a case where we should not only look at where the ball is being played but who is playing the ball.

21. Lawson……….you are missing my point, we all know how racists whites are in the US, however, they can in no way be compared to bajan ‘whites’ who carry an extremely heavy weight of ‘superiority complex’ which we all know is a fatal and debilitating disease and incurable, particularly since their ancestors were enslaved by their own and they seem to want to blame it all on Bajan blacks……and thy will never be accepted as white in the fantasy world of Europeans, that hurts their false pride even more, remember back in the 1800 irish, italian and jews were considered the niggers back then, lots of baggage bajan whites on the island have to carry, and then there is genetic memory……in saying that, the bajan ‘white’ will forever continue to assert themselves as superior to blacks in Barbados if only to try to feel better about their miserable selves in their miserable minds, never mind Barbados is a MAJORITY black country, that is where you missed my point, blacks in the US are a mere 12% of the 1/4 billion population in the US, there is no comparison…….as i said, NEVER a mentally ill bajan white to manage the country, just imagine Iabingy the idiot or Boring jack Bohman running a black majority country like Barbados…………ha!@!

22. Mark…………black bajans are quite mentally ill themselves as regards skin color, hair texture, who don’t consider themselves high yella or high brown, I was shocked at that one, think thiry hair should be straight or curly, blonde or blue, anything except their natural state………as i said, alot of mental illness going around…..the education system is certainly of no help either.

23. Allan Fields is a fine one to talk, yes he was a business man, but quite guilty of sucking Barbados as dry as he could with the help and collusion of various black governments DLP/BLP, then he turned around and sold the whole kit and kaboodle to Trinidad………..ha!! i am not blaming him as a businessman but just as someone who don’t give two shits about Barbados and it’s people either.

24. @Sargeant

Yes which agrees with BU’s comment about the influence he was allowd to wield because of being head of BS&T. A group which was predominantly retail and distribution.

25. @David

Since the Knight’s actions played a part in the dismantling of the economy perhaps he should observe the mantra ”Silence is Golden”

26. @Sargeant

The issue for the pragmatist here is that this Sir continues to be a member of the centre of influence in Barbados. He will remain a member of the Catlewash network until death does him part.

27. AND………………we can guarantee that death will he depart with not one shit that he acquired while passing through, the pimp title will be of no further use, if everyone, particularly the black Bajan population would look at life as realists and not through the eyes of European fantasy, the transition would be that much easier.

28. Well Well have you considered therapy, I am sure this could help you immensely. Maybe not now , but when you have to bend over for the white man to get you out of the mess you and your ilk have created on the island. It will be demeaning to beg the same people for help that you rage against .but Suicide is not the answer. Trust me this was a self fulfilling prophecy the brits knew this was coming and probably wont help But it may not be as painful as you think as I hear the Chinese have little dicks

29. Lawson…….once again, i do not live in Barbados, I have just as much albino/white genes in my DNA strands as you do, maybe even more……i need just as much therapy as you would, but in your case it would be for fantasizing that the white man can help anyone, well hell, the white man cannot even help himself, look at the mess he has successfully created on the earth which he found in good condition and managed to fcuk up…..right now while the white man is fracking to steal the earth’s resources , the earth is cracking to kill everyone, just to show who has the real power…..don’t forget the British are now begging the chinese to buy and manage their power plants in England, since England is now running on empty and will probably sell you as well, regardless of the Chinese and their little dicks, i suggest you do your homework, they might be running different ships, but the white man is in the same boat as everyone else.