Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
As we recover from the exuberance of the seasonal celebrations, we still have to face the reality of tough decisions as a nation. There is no hiding place, it is as Frank Sinatra said, the end is near and we are facing the final curtain. So far, predictably, neither our political leaders nor policymakers have indicated that the urgency of the situation has struck home. They are behaving as if time waits on the slothful, Barbadian workers and their arrogant and obstinate representatives before moving on. We only have to read the nonsense talked by the general secretary of the National Union of Public Workers (didn’t they get a Bds$6m loan from government? If so, why?)

Of the workers sent home from the drainage department, he is reported as saying: “They would have been given fixed term contracts and in a lot of cases with the people from Drainage, their fixed term contracts would have come to an end on the 31st day of December. “Nobody is looking at the fact that these are persons who would have been on four, sometimes five years, in a temporary situation, who, in my view, should have been appointed to the post that they were in.” What an admission of incompetence, of poor leadership, of betrayal of his own members. When did he realise that these temporary workers were in such contracts? Why, as union leader, did he not resolve this matter, and forcefully?

Of course the workers should not be on such long-term contracts. More than six months in an acting position should be confirmed as a permanent job. We now have a society in which even those in good, secure public sector jobs, with ‘guaranteed’ salaries live in fear of the sack, traumatised by the reality that they are only two or three pay packets away from destitution. A society in which envy, greed, bitterness have replaced dynamism and talent; one in which more energy is expended on being resentful of one’s neighbours’ material possession than in trying to improve one’s own intellectual and career prospects.

Leadership:
We now have a government, a nation, without any real leadership. The prime minister, by far the worst we have had since constitutional independence, and indeed of all out post-wear premiers and prime ministers, remains silent, while Donville Inniss takes the platform. His recent call for a reduction in the size of the state was, apart from other things, an invitation for a national debate. But, in typical Barbadian debating tradition, most commentators preferred to concentrate on Mr Inniss as a personality than of what he actually said. Quite often Mr Inniss shoots from the lip, but his regular intervention in public discussion – ignoring the traditional Cabinet portfolio responsibilities – showed that there is a vacuum at the very top of government and nature abhors a vacuum, and at least he is thinking about his role as an elected representative.

In the absence of much-needed dynamic there is therefore no programme for restructuring the public sector, nor indeed for rebalancing the economy. But the bandits are coming out of the woodwork, with some of the more unscrupulous employers threatening that if they do not get new (and obviously bigger) state contracts they too will have to offload some of their workers. In simple terms, these bandits are prepared to blackmail the government when it is at its weakness. Some of may like to think that consecutive BLP and DLP governments have brought this industrial relations thuggery on themselves, but it is ordinary people who suffer and that is of concern.What is needed in the early part of Q1 is a proper grown-up analysis if the local, regional and global economies and our place in this new picture.

Despite what party-supporting fanatics may think (my wife is an Arsenal supporter I know about fanaticism), the brutal truth is that we need an intelligent, secular analysis out of which policies must be drawn. Instead of rhetoric about a ‘green economy’ a competent and dynamic leader would have introduced the broad outlines for a green economy within 100 days with a broader and more detailed programme for this session of parliament. It does not take a genius to work out our environmental needs: waste recycling, coastal fish stock, energy needs, and so on.

Self-Help:
In the absence of progressive monetary and fiscal policies from the authorities ordinary Barbadians have stayed rooted in the middle of the road as this uncontrollable financial crisis descends on them like an avalanche. There have been no attempts to form social enterprises, no entrepreneurial individuals have seen it necessary to small businesses to replace some of the imported goods and services, consumers are still addicted to buying expensive, imported produce rather than form local farmers’ markets. Those of us who prefer to go shopping in the markets rather than in the supermarkets get the impression that local consumers perceive market shopping – other than for fish – as second rate, inferior, to the supermarkets. Are you suggesting to me that a security firm formed of former police and Defence Force staff cannot be given the contract for the Grantley Adams International Airport instead of G4S, a British companies with a sticky record against black deportees?

Analysis and Conclusion:
We have failed even to develop our only world-class product, rum; concentrating on so-called tourism, which is the addiction of policy-free politicians and senior civil servants. It is an intellectually easy option. Typically, there has been much rhetoric, loads of promises, but in the end nothing has been done. One course of action the ministry of finance should urgently consider is imposing a windfall tax on all foreign-owned banks based in Barbados, with the size of the tax based on annual turnover, rather than declared profits. If these banks are prepared to extract maximum profits from Barbadian savers without making any real contribution to the financing of small and medium enterprises, then government has a moral duty to compel them to pay a one-off levy. This should be followed with the imposition of tough new restrictions on what these institutions could claim as exemptions in future. This tax can then be used to fund a retail balance sheet bank, which would provide the financialisation that is so badly needed.

Of course, our academic economists, who act as advisers and party apparatchiks, still have a resistance to specialising, especially in areas such as housing and tourism, which are central to social and economic development. So, once more, the urgent need for widespread urban development is not even on the agenda – or either party. There is no discussion of inflationary expectations or of inflation targeting, so very little evidence of the assumptions underlying our economic forecasting. So far the DLP government, the BLP opposition and the Social Partnership have failed to come up with positive ideas. The crisis facing the nation is not the result of any global economic problems, but the flaws in our parliamentary democracy which are some of the biggest hindrances, not only to the quality of public debate, but to the overall development of our democracy. Every week members of parliament meet and what passes for debate is the usual ping-pong of personal abuse and yaboo shouting. And, they get away with it because the nation is anaethetised to the poor quality discussions in what should be the nation’s premier debating chamber.

Let me end by quoting David Cameron, the British prime minister, who said in his parliamentary tribute to Nelson Mandela: “Progress is not just handed down as a gift; it is won through struggle of men and women who refuse to accept the world as it is, but dream of what it can be.” For prudent and responsible families, this is a time to batten down the hatches and prepare for rough seas, no matter how much money you have in your safe. There are stormy seas ahead. In the final analysis, ordinary voters must make their feelings felt, they must demand more from their elected officials and public servants. If they do not, then the bell will toll for all of us as a nation.

In the meantime, have a happy and wonderful new year.

144 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Barbados is Facing the Hour of Decision”

1. @HAl
    “In the final analysis, ordinary voters must make their feelings felt, they must demand more from their elected officials and public servants.

How do we achieve this within a system that perpetuates the opposite?

or put another way, how do we (legally and peacefully) enact accountability other than within 5 year cycles?

Just observing

2. It is interesting to hear that 200+ of the workers being sent home from Drainage, and who were employed leading into the last election, were recruited from the PM’s constituency and Denis low. Mr. Integrity himself!

On 2 January 2014 23:25, Barbados Underground

3. Man alot of the “Stories” will now start to come out. lol. We all knew what was happening but unemployed people tend to be a bit more vocal.

4. While we must try to encourage this late comer to certain realities, he is still not there yet. For he still seems to believe that something short of a radical transformation will be helpful, he is still wrong! And will always be wrong. The writer will yet come to a realization that there will be no fixing this with the popular and known tools.

Just skimming, we seemed to have gleam that a point that was made by the real thinker, William Skinner, about the value to Barbados, initially rejected by this writer, several months ago now becomes a central policy position. Skinner at that time rightly argued that about USD58MM is FOREX earning from rum and its by-products was not a small matter to a Barbados economy and could not be minimized. Skinner further suggested a more aggressive marketing approach involving the intangibles could of been helpful. This writer now sees it fit to heavily borrow from the brain of a William Skinner after a stalwart rejected of his adroit determination. And there are many other examples of borrowing.

This example locates the writer still in the pantheon of those who are still waiting for others to tell them what creativity is to be. He is in the good company of the multitude. For the majority is always wrong. For those to whom his missive is aimed are liked minded. Only the Skinners of this world understand how we should proceed. The copiers and other Old Boys of the British Empire (OBE) will never be helpful, especially in current circumstances because their masters have not a clue.

5. I’m so hurt right now to see what is going on in my country. May jah have mercy on us!

6. Here is the 64k question: how can Barbados withstand 4+ more years of this chaos which seems to be rising towards a crescendo?

7. @Observing on
    I have a possible theory that might enable us to achieved this end. How about the Barbadian electorate utilizing the American concept of Civil – Protest to achieve this objective? Civil – Disobedience could possibly forced the hands of the ruling party, as it has done in many instances in American History.

8. PM Freundel Stuart speaking to the Financial Times on the 19 month economic stabilization programme designed to correct the slide in foreign reserves and lower the fiscal deficit (20 December 2013)

9. “How about the Barbadian electorate utilizing the American concept of Civil – Protest to achieve this objective? Civil – Disobedience could possibly forced the hands of the ruling party,”

Mark Fenty weren’t you just saying in an earlier post that you still support this party and that you aren’t ready to jump ship? So what de rass yuh opening yuh mout fuh? Yuh tink Bajans got de balls to do force de hands of de ruling party? Your Party? LOLLL !

10. Off topic : It puzzles how Guyana one of the poorest countries in the world gives away so much money to countries who “suffer disasters”. Guyana is giving St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Dominica US$275,000 to assist with recent flooding. Shouldn’t this money be put to use to aid the masses of very poor, very vulnerable and destitute in Guyana? Shouldn’t the money be used to repair Guyana’s dilapidated infrastructure like roads and canals? Against the background of serious poverty and lack of jobs and opportunity Guyana’s population votes with its feet every day and flee Guyana. The same islands Guyana is giving thousands of US$ to do not even want the numerous Guyanese who live in these islands illegally. Not only that Guyana has given hard cash to the Philippines and other places that suffered disasters. While its a noble gesture wouldn’t it be more noble to spend that money to help alleviate the massive human suffering in Guyana. Any of the many self appointed sociologists, political and economic gurus on BU could help me figure out Guyana’s “misplaced generosity?

11. The DLP tricked themselves
    They said that the BLP would send home people so they packed the public service with people just before the election that they did not think they would have won. The idea is that the BLP would have won, would have sent home people and the DLP justified.—BOOM !!!

We all know what happened in the last BUY- ELECTIONS

12. Maureen Holder tonight pon TV saying that the PM must talk to the Nation, even SHE playing she now seeing what a piss poor leader he is.

13. What an admission of incompetence, of poor leadership, of betrayal of his own members. When did he realise that these temporary workers were in such contracts?

DULLENNIS CLARKE SHOULD BE DRAWN AND QUARTERED

14. @The Fan $275,000.00 is chicken feed for Guyana. Remember Guyana got a debt forgiveness a few years ago. Stop trying to fan cinders and tek yuh fan and fan yuh pooch!

15. […]maybe we’re overreacting here? Because if the economic situation were as bad as some have prognosticated, why haven’t we seen Barbadians by the hundred of thousands protesting in Bridgetown as well as entire island? Just a little something to chew on!

16. FREUN-DUL (DECEIVER -UNDERMINER -LIAR (DULL} STUART
    COULD NOT LEAD A PACK OF RATS TO A GARBAGE DUMP FARLESS LEAD A GOVERNMENT.

BUT HE IS A WICKED MAN THOUGH.. HE PUNISHING THE PRESENT MINISTER OF FINANCE FOR THE EAGER 11 FIASCO.
    THE PRESENT MOF BEGGING TO BE FIRED —BEGGING—
    HE AND MIA CONCOTED AND TRIED A NO CONFIDENCE MOTION–THAT AINT WORK–FREUN-DULL AINT BUDGING
    AND THE COUNTRY SUFFERING .

FREUN-DULL GOT THE MAN LOCK DOWN AND ALL THE MAN TRY TO EXTRICATE HIMSELF, FREUN-DULL AINT EASING . THE PRESENT WOULD LIKE TO GET FIRED.

ON ANOTHER NOTE
    DAVID COMMISIONG (ah spell the name right?) HAS AGREED WITH ME THAT WE NEED TO GO BACK TO THE POLLS.

IF WE DO HOWEVER , PENSIONS WILL BE LOST SO THE BEST THING TO DO IS FOR 3/4 PERSONS TO CROSS THE FLOOR.
    CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT AND THE INCOMING GOVERNMENT EMBRACES ALL IN NATIONAL UNITY.

NATIONAL UNITY IS SOMETHING THAT WOULD BRING BACK CONFIDENCE

CONFIDENCE

CONFIDENCE

FREUN-DULL DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE

THE NEW GOVERNMENT WOULD BE PERFECTLY PLACED TO IMPLEMENT APPROPRIATE MEASURES

17. An important question is addressed to the self appointed political scientists and economists and a known jackass answers. What next.

18. @Mark Fenty,

Bajans ain’t feel the full effects of the layoffs yet. It now start.

@Islandgal246
    You have me ‘deading’ with de laugh. I like how you fix the Fan. Guyana is the only country in the Caribbean that has grown over the last 2 years or, and is projected to do so in 2014

19. Fan is a troll attempting to deflect the discussion, you may be familiar with waiting, ruffin, 1000 pounds of blubber and others.

On 3 January 2014 00:37, Barbados Underground

20. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Observing; re. your question above;

As the breadth of the austerity measures and the job losses and reduced work periods escalates and become undeniable by even CBC and the Advocate, the reporting of these will be so horrendous that Government will not be able to pretend that they are unaware of the social fallout of their policies and a few weak ones will falter.

Bajans may be lazy and mainly comprised of brassbowls but they are not fools and it will eventually hit them that we are in an unprecedented position that they will have to do something about themselves for their individual survival.

It is then that we will see:
    * Hopefully peaceful demonstrations outside a number of Government offices.
    * Signing of citizen declarations and presentations of them to the GG and PM.
    * Strategic mass campaigns on social media.
    * Peaceful mass marches in the mode of the1991 “duke of York” marches.

But above all the overlying message to the Government would be that nuff nuff people are hopping mad with their lack of performance and are demanding that they either shape up very quickly or ship out. When the stark realization that they themselves are in jeopardy of losing their pensions hit home some of the Politicians will brek fuh themselves, particularly the youngish ones. Actually it only requires two and a new Government could be formed without members having to lose their pensions.

I would be very surprised if there are not some MP’s thinking along those lines right now. But they have to time it carefully before FS brings the whole pack of cards down on everybody like Sandiford did before him. The BLP has to be careful also that the timing does not propel them into the role of the villains of the piece since DLP propaganda and spin could be devastating as we all know.

21. SOMETHING GOTTA HAPPEN
    SOMETHING !!

22. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;
    Just looked at the video of the FT interview of the PM. Not good! How can we withstand 4+ more years of this man?

23. Agree that it was a poor interview and does little to inspire confidence in the people who elected him to serve. Confidence has to be facilitated, it does not occur because of words.

On 3 January 2014 01:06, Barbados Underground

24. @ David

You asked above, what can be done.This is the question we have been struggling with. But there is no simple answer. But, there are answers. All the easy answers will not work. We think the first step has to be a broad acceptance of what the problems are. This will be difficult to do because all the players have assumed their bunkered mentalities. However, the bigger the problem the more room there is for popular solutions. The real question should be, how do we give our society to jettison old mentalities and recognize that our current situation departs from past problems, when all of our institutions have been compromised. Only only answer we can posit if for the people to hit the streets in droves and convene a popular parliament to to confront the status quo..

25. Some social commenters are beginning to discuss how does civil society work around government to protect what we have gained to date. This explains how ludicrous the situation has become. Even at this dire strait the partisal political BS continues to play out.

On 3 January 2014 01:22, Barbados Underground

26. David, there is no way around them. We have to go through them

27. Of course we don’t mean with they permission. We mean with the bulldozer of public opinion

28. Agree Pacha, you know what they say, behind every recession is the good that can come out of it. If the economy continues to plummet to debts never experienced at some point the Barbadian who has become use to pride of place among its peers must react.

On 3 January 2014 01:31, Barbados Underground

29. They will ALL jump ship Islandgal. Reudon Eversley now Maureen “know all” Holder.

30. lol

31. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Pachamama;
    Forgive me for being old and relatively conservative with views that don’t match yours re. the sense and utility of a drastic and total removal of all the trappings of the current socio-political systems in Barbados and replacing them with what seems like poorly worked out ones that do not specify many areas that should be of importance as to how Barbados will survive under your brave new system.

I would be most grateful, and I expect that some other oldsters who post here would also be, if you would take some time to convince us how you would go about implementing the transformation that you glowingly describe in your writings and how you expect that the populace of Barbados will be affected and where foreign exchange (if actually necessary in that new society) would be garnered, inter alia.

Of course, as I think I intimated before, I sense that there is a strong possibility that forces external to Earth, might be on the verge of effecting cataclysmic transformations to the whole earth that would trump all my parochial concerns. But for now I would really like to know how you propose first of all to change the current political system here and then to what under the current somewhat uniformitarian GAIA system?

Could you also point me to some writings on the global Pachamama system?

32. This is a very selfish way to look at it. Every single country in the Caribbean ,at this time needs a lot of infrastructural work domestically, but this does not stop us from helping some other unfortunate one in need. Perhaps it would have been ok, for Canada or Great Britain, who themselves are suffering due to the world wide recession, to come to the aid of our Caribbean sister countries, and moreso, to our very own, Barbados or Guyana, if unfortunately we becomes victims of a natural disaster.
    Mark 12: 41-44
    And Jesus sat over against the treasury and beheld how the people cast money into the treasury; and many that were rich cast in much.
    And there came a certain poor widow,and she threw in two mites,which make a farthing.
    And he called unto him his disciples ,and saith unto them .Verilly I say unto you,That this poor widow hath cast more in,than all they which have cast into the treasury.
    For all they did cast in of their abundance, but she of her want did cast in all that she had, even all her living.

33. @Mark, 8:01
    Even this requires some level of leadership, informal or not.

@islandgal
    Maureen had me laughing…she hem and haw and then didn’t have a choice but to admit that leadership and reassurance is needed in times like these. well well

@Pacha
    Same thing as for Fenty… we would need a tip of the spear to start the movement.

If the emotion at NUPW today is anything to go by that “point” may not be as far off as we would have thought. Things can change in the “Blink” of an eye. lol

34. How about the Barbadian electorate utilizing the American concept of Civil – Protest to achieve this objective?
    ………………………………………..
    Would that be Central or South American?

35. We believe that things are going to get so bad so quickly that the movement will start itself. We only truss that it does not degenerate into a BLP/DLP thing, because the entire system has to be confronted. Anything less is self defeating.

36. The people can be the tip of the spear. We think the age of the solitary ‘leader’ is long over.

37. Barbadians protesting? that will be the day. The “ringleader’ types of the 1991 march against Sandie, are now all taking a back seat, and appear to be looking in the other direction .

38. It was the Mahogany Coconut Group that called for a government of national unity immediately after general elections; it was the MCG that declared the Social Partnership dead ! We are now hearing about Emminent persons and the first two mentioned are a politician , who left Barbados in a very perilous state and a public servant/politician/minister that is an agent of the BLP/DLP.
    It is obvious that we are hell bent on diong the same things with the same people and expecting different results.

39. FREUN-DULL DOES NOT INSPIRE CONFIDENCE.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    That’s not exactly true. He has given every single Bajan, Bridgetown characters , John Boyce and Kellman included, that he / she, too, one day could become Prime Minister of Barbados, nothing to it.

40. @The Fan,
    Did you know that Guyana produced 400,000 ounces of gold last year. You know how much foreigh exchange that works out to be, with gold being sold at more than onethousand dollars an ounce.
    @Pacha
    We have a Constitution. We operate in a democracy governed by that Constitution. There is no provision in the Constitution for a government of National Unity. Changes in the Constitution require a 2/3 ly.majority of the sitting members of the House of Assemby.
    Give me your solution.One of the things that has worked to Barbaos’ advantage over the years is its political stability. What will be the effect on external interests (read Standard &Poors, Moody’s, International investors, etc etc.) It is easy to open the bottle but once the furies are out they cannot be put back in. Go read the story of Pandora’s Box. Google it.

41. @ALvin
    It is easy to open the bottle but once the furies are out they cannot be put back in.

The GoB is learning that the hard way right now.

@ Pacha
    In the absence of the solitary leader there will need to be a solitary purpose. The unions are all helter skelter on this issue. It seems to be a “brek fuh yuhself” mentality across all sectors…

The people can be the tip but they would need to be unshackled and unhinged

Just observing

42. @Hal,

We will have a happy new year and WE WILL SURVIVE!!

43. “(didn’t they get a Bds$6m loan from government? If so, why?)”

My sources inform that the loan was obtained from the Barbados National Bank under gurantee by the Owen Arthur administration.

44. @ Pachamama,
    Your comments re Hal’s views about the Barbados rum industry , in a previous article are correct.He dismissed it as small and insignificant in the bigger scheme of things. The problem we have is that after reading all the commentators and those who were apparently “properly” schooled/educated, we cannot find one single Henry Ford( of Model T fame amongst them) That is why the Williams’ brothers own more than 30 or so companies between them in Barbados ; that is why Sir Kyffin Simpson is a billionaire. We were busy getting a graduate in every household , who was guaranteed unemployment. It was not long ago that Sir Hilary was going about the place talking about a Barbados Economic Model. Now that the model has crashed, he should be asked what caused the malfunction.
    Education like all other commodities is useless if it cannot create something. Hence we have gone from a society that produced engineers(sugar industry) out of people who only went to primary school while we have engineers who have a diploma from UWI and are jobless and penniless. Hence I am hearing from Hal that Barbadian workers are “slothful”. I think this means lazy as well.
    To quote Hal:”They are behaving as if time waits on the slothful, Barbadian workers…………..” Compare what Hal a Black Ivy loving man is saying and what Ralph Johnson a white businessman recently said and a clear picture of unity of thought emerges. As on Animal Farm it is extremely difficult to distinguish the animals from the humans.

45. The Barbados rum industry is now owned by foreign interest.

On 3 January 2014 02:23, Barbados Underground

46. David: Probably, it might be my computer. But I feel you should like at the time sequence of people commenting. Sometimes you see 8.15 then you see 9.45 then 10.15 and then it goes back to 8.35. Let me know please.

47. @are-we-there-yet
    Perhaps you should take a look at this blog.

http://barbadosfifthestate.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/structural-adjustment-belling-the-foreign-exchange-cat-astrophe/

It is a rather long article but it is divided into five parts. It makes interesting reading. What do you think?

48. “you should look at the time sequence”. sorry for the error

49. The time is set to Barbados time, if another time is showing it maybe your browser.

50. Alvin Cummins | 02/01/2014 at 10:05 pm | Reply

@The Fan,
    Did you know that Guyana produced 400,000 ounces of gold last year. You know how much foreigh exchange that works out to be, with gold being sold at more than onethousand dollars an ounce.

Alvin the per capita income in Guyana is $8000 in Barbados its $25,000. The revenue earned from the gold Guyana sold is a mere drop in the bucket to what Guyana requires to even get close to the GDP of Barbados or Trinidad.

Guyana is rich in natural resources which from all accounts are badly managed. Its got a dismal record in the monetization of those resources. Guyana is the poorest country in the region bar Haiti.. There are many people there living below poverty level and the state is unable to provide even basic necessities.

Guyanese are among the biggest sufferers of the brain drain on the planet. No one particularly Guyanese wants to live in Guyana because of its depressed standard of living. Why would a state in such dire need of basic necessities and infrastructure send cash to countries better off, even with “disasters”? Wouldn’t those donations be better used assisting their own population which is in dire straits? Its an honest question that cries out for an informed reply. Nobody don’t pay that paling cock island gal no attention.