Henderson Bovell

Imagine! The house engulfed in flames, but the DLP assures: “don’t worry, we have the key to the front door!” The Government is now making the wild allegation that its ability to access a US$225M bridging loan in these tough economic times, is an indication that Barbados can still borrow on the International markets at reasonable rates.’. How can a “rolling-basis-interest-rate,” ‘EVER’ be a good thing?

Owen Arthur would describe this as: ‘a man jumping off the 80th floor of a building, without a parachute and when passing the 50th floor, is heard to say: “so far so good.” Let’s put this discussion in context. You will recall that the DLP was forced to withdraw its $500 million bond offer on the International Capital Market because (given the “JUNK BOND” status the DLP has earned for Barbados) respected and credible International Investors now find Jamaica’s debt more attractive than Barbados.’

Remember also, that the Central Bank of Barbados took-up US$375 million and essentially bought “JUNK:” with it, that is to say –ย  “DLP-JUNK-Bonds.” Then consider that since June, the DLP caused this country to lose over $400m in foreign reserves. With the foreign exchange cover causing panic, the DLP is “desperate” but it finds itself in a position of absolute weakness – having had four downgrade, including one to “JUNK,” as well as a negative credit rating.ย  Investors like Barbados but they have simply lost confidence in the DLP and with this much uncertainty (where all indicators are showing that things are deteriorating “fast”) a capital flight is inevitable!

Nobody is taking delight at the DLP’s misfortune! Because every time the DLP gets it wrong, (which is often and on everything) Barbadians pay with increased taxes and more pain.

What are the facts, as regards this US$225m bridging loan?ย  The DLP is incurring more debt, this time on the foreign exchange side but in circumstance were the economy continues to shrink and where the foreign exchange earning sectors are not producing.ย  This is a short-term loan, with a high interest rate and with strict conditions attached.ย  It would seem that as a condition of this loan, the Government must provide the bank, Credit Suisse AG, with a full Copy of the IMF staff’s report of its article 4 consultation with the IMF, scheduled for next week, and a schedule of the Government’s plan for implementation of any IMF recommendations.

It is not “you” – the people of Barbados, who the DLP feels it has to account to, even after promising (as part of its good governance charter) to let Barbadians know what it is doing on their behalf.ย  It is prepared to be accountable to foreign interests (Credit Suisse AG, and the IMF) not you who voted for it in February!ย  I asked recently if you can trust the DLP, can you?

Do you realise that an old lady selling fish in the Oistins Fish Market – can go into any Commercial Bank and get a loan on more favourable terms (perhaps with 10 to 15 years repayment period) than a DLP Government – once her business plan is in good order?

What are the terms? It would seem that $20 million has to be set aside in a separate account not accessible by the dems.ย  That may not be a bad thing! Nevertheless, this is short-term money and at a very high rate of interest.ย  Seems like the rate can be fixed but that would attract a fee, which the Government can hardly afford.ย  The only certainly here is that as long as the DLP is the Government – things will get much worse!ย  It is why in order to get that (take-it-or-leave-it) short-term loan for US$225m – even though at a high interest rate – Barbados has to report to ‘a Commercial Bank,’ what is contained in an Article 4 Consultation with the IMF and on top of thatย  – how it plans to implement any IMF recommendations. Talk about surrendering Barbados’ sovereignty!ย  But what would you expect from a Government that may be seriously considering selling Barbadian passports and citizenship, perhaps to get foreign exchange?ย  The shocker is that the US$225m bridging loan – comes with a rolling-basis-interest-rate.

Christmas is coming but so too is the IMF and it may be quite some time before a number of Barbadians can afford to eat a little ham, jug jug or turkey again.ย ย  And come January 2014, the DLP may have US225 million reasons why it will send home the same 10,000 Public Servants, it mentioned in those paid general election ads. If so, Christmas will be no more merry than the New Year likely to be happy for over 10,000 Barbadians and their families.

Nobody believes that the DLP has what is necessary to improve the economy and see it through to brighter days. That’s why the Bank seems to have opted to make provisions for further decline. They know – like you do (even if not willing to admit it) that the DLP’s inability, compounded by its propensity to conceive flawed policies; exercise poor judgment and make bad decisions – is the reason things will get worst.

Even the “Market Vendor” can get a loan at fixed interest rates but not the DLP. Their’s is a rolling-basis interest rate, take-it-or-leave-it! And yet, the DLP can somehow feel good and boast that Government’s ability to access a US$225M bridging loan in these tough economic times, is an indication that Barbados can still borrow on the International markets at reasonable rates.’

Barbados is a good country but it has a very weak Government, which nobody has confidence in but one which feels that it should be congratulated for earning a “JUNK BOND STATUS” downgrade for Barbados – an achievement that not even Erskine Sandiford (when at his lowest) was capable of!

136 responses to “Christmas Will Not Be Merry for Public Servants About to be Sent Home”

1. The DLP is a joke Government
    Those Christians -so called–who prayed for the DLP to win the last election prayed and their prayers were heard but alas ! you get what you pray for.

The DLP ?

Well the BLP got to be real bad if they can be rejected for such a sorry bunch of jokers called the DLP . I know better though. Sickler was sick every since–sick in he head to blame BLAME BLAME everybody else but the DLP

2. All employees with 5 and less years will be sent home first. The bomb will drop on Tuesday December 20 2013. Further to that the NIS is in bare trouble. Chris Stinkliar has taken up people pension money to back Four Seasons and Almond hotel and now can’t recoop the money spent.

3. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Wunnah really feel dat Freundel gine sen’ home 6,000 people. W’unt happen! He wud rather gih up de Gubmint and let a New one tek de necessary painful actions initiated by his MoF presumably against his advice and consent.
    Bet yuh it gine be another case of adamant vs adamant.

4. “If so, Christmas will be no more merry than the New Year likely to be happy for over 10,000 Barbadians and their families.”

do not go overboard in your effort to discredit the administration lest your credibility could be called into question as well. sending home 10,000 public servants would almost cut the public service in half making it virtually impossible for government to function effectively.

5. RE sending home 10,000 public servants would almost cut the public service in half making it virtually impossible for government to function effectively.

DOES IT FUNCTION EFFECTIVELY NOW?

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | December 1, 2013 at 8:07 PM |

Do you know how many people are employed in the public sector?
    If not, your assertion would just be as outlandish as the one with which you take umbrage.

The public sector is โ€˜believedโ€™ to have in excess of 30,000 employees. How can such carrying capacity of an army of occupation be sustained in a capitalist economy with a dwindling private sector, a significantly reduced tax base and declining GDP in real terms when compared to 8 years ago? It is either a cut in significant numbers back to 1992 levels or a significant reduction in payroll costs through major downward adjustments in emoluments, both statutory and casual.

Greece did it. Why can’t Bim through a planned programme of privatization and outsourcing.

7. Lets hope that when the public sector is drastically reduced, we also see a significant reduction in the use or misuse of MP and ML registered tax payers vehicles. Would the PM or any other minister have the balls of the RH Errol Barrow,and ask that these cars be laid up as soon as possible on the Garrison or the nearest police station? . I think not.

8. As the old people put it”geese doan breed wid duck egg”.That therefore makes fair this question.Can a clear and pellucid message come from a shady source?How do you Mr Bovell not see that Barbadians have not forgotten you,nor the fact that your actions played a major role in the reasons the BLP was rejected?You got some nerves,or is it just a set of big balls? One thing is for sure….shame is an emotion of which you know nothing.

9. BLP/DLP no different.
    BLP sells off national assets to foreigners to maintain the appearance of a strong economy. But theres only so much you can sell in 166 sq miles!
    DLP, just sorry bunch of fantastic loosers. Since the death of their leader, they’ve all gone astray like a heard of sheep crossing Morgan Lewis road without a sense of where they are going, except those sheep down Morgan Lewis know exactly where they are going.
    Stop playing politics people. You are silly for doing so. What you want is LEADERSHIP, period. B/D/N doesn’t matter any. Leadership is whats needed!
    The scaling down of the public service is probably necessary with so many defunct and in-operative government depratments and ministries. Its not a good thing for people to be out of work, but the question one may ask is, do they really work? Simple matters in Barbados can take days if not weeks to resolve. That simply isn’t good for business. Pensions and the NIS are the next matter of fear and concern here. Take these funds which are supposed to be ari-marked for peoples futures and flush it down another tourism latrine. Another bag of money wasted on an infinently dumb idad whose time has long past. Tourism has been a failing venture since 1990. But Chris is too full of himself to see the error of his ways. Time for David .E to cross the floor and bring and end to this episode of ignorance. People in Barbados need to realize that it matters nil who is in the government. What metters is how they successfully implement new and radical ideas that cause the country to stop running to the international community begging for handouts. For years we’ve been nursing the breasts of some international entity with money instead of looking for ways to make our own or at least save some of what we have. Now its time to pay the piper.
    But this writing is probably in vain, as we dont like to hear the truth about how foolish we are and appear worldwide.
    If they are indeed sending home civil servants, start with the old piss-bags called PS’s and SEO and that lot of paper-pushing morons who cant get a pencil sharpened without a salvo of twenty-nine meetings about nothing. Get out the political pimps too because they are bent on the destruction of this land unless the BLP is ruling and the masses are being enslaved by big business. Then eliminate all these clerical officers and other mouse-dung sweepers who waste entire days hovering over each others desks without driving a stroke. Finally, the department heads that are in-effective and can’t manage, can’t lead or show results, can all go home at their curent salaries minus 50% as they’ve just stolen money either directly or by proxy for at least half of their civil service careers.
    We are again begging at the feet of the IMF. How sad! After E.Sandiford made the most unpopular decision a PM could make just over 20 years ago, we’re exactly back in the same place and we think that 6 or 7 years of DLP rule got us here? Think again( if you can really exercise that brain past idle speed) WE got us here by not doing ANYTHING different to move Barbados forward. But for all of you who refuse to change, adapt or just accept responsibility and want a saviour to appear, One is coming soon. Actually, the’re are already here!
    I’m back to watching!

10. @Hamilton

So BLP DLP same damn party, where do we go from here.

On 2 December 2013 01:10, Barbados Underground

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller, re. your 8.30 pm post.

Spoken like a true annunaki of the enlil faction with not one ounce of empathy for mere mortals. You seem to glory in the prospect of 10,000 public workers being placed on the breadlines. I was there when Sandiford had to institute the 8% cut and also had to cut temporary and weekly paid staff to right an economy that he had done a lot to wreck, It wasn’t pretty, but he did it.

This time around it is times more problematic. There is a possibility that the NIS funds are not as rock steady as Chris and others have been saying. If so, they and the whole country can be damaged almost irrepairably by poorly thought out actions at this stage.

This is a time for allowing some of those in the driver’s seat of this economy (minus the current PM and the MoF, of course) to work towards accomodations and strategies that would significantly reduce the number of people to be sent home. Now is the time for the scalpel, not the blunderbuss. Anything else will be chaos.

I agree with Balance’s more measured approach.

Occasionally a few presumably young posters take a turn in us regular BU posters for the appearance of us being “all right jacks” and your post seems to concretize that impression in spades. It appears that you are comfortably off and couldn’t be care less about the other folk who will suffer from such a massive “correction”. Think a little about the likely far reaching consequences of such a drastic correction that includes the sending home of 10,000 people. Your and my comfort levels will vanish in an inkling. We must all be our brother’s keepers in this battle to save Barbados.

12. Instead of laying off 10, 000, why don’t the government cut middle – management and opt for furlough days? It has worked in practically every states in the United States during this economic recession. And why haven’t the government instituted these economic measures earlier?

13. Why doesn’t the government lower the retirement again to 65. I rather suspect that raising the retirement age to 67 was an error that should be corrected.

Let some of the 65+ go home and open up some spaces for young people to come in.

I am sure that most 65+ people would happily take their pension and happily go home

14. @Dr. Justin Robinson

The BU family has not seen you around recently, why not intervene in the discussion to fill a vacuum which seems to be always at play with this government.

On 2 December 2013 01:34, Barbados Underground

15. The number of people that opted to stay away from the polls tells me that disenchantment is building.The nonsense that passes for business as usual will soon come to an end.Once enough people are displaced the March that certain politicians promised may well take place…..only for a different reason.The will of a people cannot be frustrated forever.

16. @ Fenty,

While this may be a applicable suggestion, you still have to take into consideration the industial climate in which we operate. Will the NUPW allow for such and will the culture of the Public sector allow for such.
    I agree with watcher who articulated a need for leadership. I will go further and add that we need transformational leadership to fully address this on going economic issues. Once we make our way out of this by any necessary means, will our way of doing business and operating be transformed completely to prevent the reoccurrence of factors to cause the same said problem 20 years from now. This was one critical aspect that was missing from the 1991-93 economic fiasco. While we took the necessary steps to correct the problem, we failed in to transform the economy and the thinking of civil servant along the way. As the old adage goes, the more things change, the more they remain the same.

17. I hope Bajans will show true Christain charity and be kind to each other.

Losing your job in the month of December can be very traumatic.

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013, MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2013, MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

CROOKS, LIARS,SCUMBAGS AND BULLERS,,the people they WANT TO send home were kept on long enough to get their VOTES, now after the vote they can go home, Better yet they got more than 300bds on the street paid out by both parties and the AG crook did nothing , and where was the Police and DPP? Who care the DLP will get their 2 term pensions , CROOKS

With all the people going home they will have to time to be on BU and google to learn how they were made fools of, Also they will learn the truth and make sure they get VOTED OUT next term ,
    The people have to look out for the tricks , Right before the next elections they will find work again and then let THEM go again after the vote with fake numbers by the MOF and CENTRAL BANK TO GUIDE THE PEOPLE WITH LIES AGAIN,
    NO WORRY WE HAVE A PLAN, STAY TUNED

Henderson Bovell@ blp an DLP both crooks, done, MIA and Owen no better,PM SINKMAN , MOF .AG CROOKS,, BOTH GOT TO GO.

19. Henderson bullvell who is taking him seriously when the DLP was the best thing since slice bread and then it was the BLP when he get a political pick> The economist were saying the government is too large , the deficit is too large , we were borrowing money to pay salaries . The BLP add a layer of bureaucracy with urban and rural development commission , pan African commission , invest Barbados BTI BTA , fund access, all doing the same thing as some central government agencies . borrowing and debt did not start in 2008 to show up foreign reserves , remember loans for a rainy day that never came . BAD MANAGEMENT OF THE ECONOMY SINCE 1992 . we behave line the Trinidadians under eric williams in the oil boom . money wasn’t no problem . so we give a million to Isreal Lovelll , pineland creative workshop. overruns on all projects (prison , crab hill police station) . hired the marish and parish as contractors and consultants . some consultants were hired to see over hamie laa, CBC , Parliament , drug service ( Gill the so called pharmacist politician that cant win a seat ) so if 3000 , 8000 or 20 0000 civil servants got to go ? what ? )

20. Clyde Mascoll in his weekly column called for “austerity on the current account”. Read between the lines Barbados, whoever won the election in February, the spending cuts had to come.

The DLP was trying not to send home public servants because they knew the political ramifications of that in the same way that Owen Arthur and the BLP during the global boom kept increasing the numbers at Rural,Urban and a host of government departments for political gain.

Hindsight is always 20 / 20 vision but it is time for solutions. Unfortunately political “whores” like Henderson Bovell run from party to party singing for their supper. A classic case of an empty vessel keeping noise.

21. “Henderson Bovell run from party to party singing for their supper. A classic case of an empty vessel keeping noise.”
    but the proof of the pudding is whether there is merit in his commentary

22. @Bajanfuhlife
    Too many lies and half-truths pass as facts on BU. The government apologists are sounding even more pathetic.

23. MILLER there are on average about 27000 public employees inclusive of statutory corporations. to send home 10000 in one swoop must as a consequence impact on the effective functioning of an already ineffective as people say public service.

24. Only a few months ago Ryan Straughn and the BLP were being vilified for broaching talk about sending home public servants. Hopefully Bajans will wake up now that they have been bitten twice. The talk shows have gone into hibernation to make some money to ensure profit margins are maintained but there is social media.

25. David,

Again you seem not to get it at all!!

This blog ought to be in the forefront of helping to search for and bring about that sustainable indigenized egalitarian participatory people centered model of development for Barbados.

The further persons like Dr Justin Robinson stay away from national discussions on the social political material financial direction of this country the better for this country.

Persons like him do NOT advocate for that procurement of such a model; rather they assist in the retention of this Westernist oligarchist dependency exploitative model of development that is ingloriously seen in existence here in Barbados.

So please refrain from calling or asking for their interventions!!

26. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

Why Is Sending Home Public Workers On the Agenda As An Issue For Discussion?

Just nine months after a general election, in which the ruling DLP spent thousands in radio, television and newspaper ads, to convince the country that once re-elected, it would not send-home public servant or privatise anything – why is the issue of sending home Public Servants on the agenda, as a serious item for discussion, especially when the present Government “never sought,” “neither was it given,” any mandate to send home Public Servants?

In whose name and by what authority would this DLP Government be acting? Is it so obsessed with pleasing Rating Agencies and the IMF – that it is willing to cause such pain and human suffering, even after spending thousands to tell Public Servants and the country – that a vote for the DLP, is a vote to keep their jobs safe? Is this the same DLP that also said: “it will not cheat;” “it will not steal,” and “it will not LIE?”

Since it is clear that the DLP deceived the country two elections now – the first with its reckless 90 and 100 days promises and now – with a “scandalous gimmick” that the country should not vote for the BLP because they were the ones who had plans to lay-off public servants and make old women pay to travel on the bus – for telling such a horrible lie – the country must punish the DLP by ensuring that its Minister do not qualify for pension for life, while the rest of society suffer.

Demand fresh election, now!

Lying to the country and bluffing its way will cause everyone, except DLP Ministers – social and economic pain. The country must therefore reel-in the DLP now!

The DLP has lost “credibility” and the “moral authority to govern.” It keeps getting it wrong and each time it does (which is often) it punishes the country with even more taxes and hardship. Everybody must make sacrifices except the large DLP Cabinet, which is a cost overrun. The country must say “NO” to the DLP’s politics of lies and deception and make sure that the DLP gets that message, urgently!

27. @ Henderson bowels
    Skippa, have you considered using a pen name?
    Bushie is all for free expression, but some names present a red flag to the extent that it taints the content of the message…..
    Um may not bother you…. But more persons may be tempted to read your contributions and then to judge it on its merit – as opposed to pre-judging it on YOUR merit up front….and scrolling down….
    …just saying….

28. Why Is Sending Home Public Workers On the Agenda As An Issue For Discussion?
    The REAL QUESTIONS are….
    1-How many persons does it REALISTICALLY require to operate an efficient and effective public service in Barbados?
    2-Why is paying 15000 persons for doing NOTHING NOT an issue for discussion?
    3-Who in their right mind expected that this could have continue ad infinitum….
    4- who should be vilified?
    -The jackasses who CREATED the mess for personal ends?
    – the ones who did not have the guts to reverse it?
    – or the BBs who are now forced to do the necessary?

Answer: ALL OF THE ABOVE …along with those of us who sat around and allowed it.

A people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

29. The public Service is being DESTROYED.
    My friends in the Public Service tell me that a degree is now the ticket to ride. Persons are being pushed ahead of others for no reason other than the possession of the piece of paper. Since when an irrelevant piece of paper , in many cases, gives you the ability to replace people who have pratical experience. There seems to be some idea that as long as you go to University , you can automatically function in any job as if you do not have to learn anything about the job. Can you take anyone with a degree and put them to work just so/ somebody aint got to show them the ropes ? , dont they have to learn the nuts and bolts first ?. It is so stupid !

Nowadays, you don’t have to have experience in the job ,just a degree. The policy they say is creating havoc to the detriment of the country Barbados.

30. It would have been better to sell some of your assets when things get hard and you need cash in hand.
    There is absolutely nothing wrong in selling some of your assets. It is the done thing. Any body who opposes that policy is (sib) stupid ignorant and backward

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

are-we-there-yet? | December 1, 2013 at 9:30 PM |

A-W-T-Y, why blame the anunnaki? He is just a messenger from the intellectual โ€˜electโ€™ or โ€˜watchersโ€™.
    The dramatic reduction in the size of the public sector is a demand from the IMF and has been for some time now. The size of the public sector should have remained at the 1993 level with only marginal increases in areas vital to socio-economic development and not finding jobs for political party supporters and university graduates unemployable in the private sector or unable to meet the demanding requirements of self-employment.

If the current level of public sector employment is to be maintained then significant tax revenues would have to be generated by the productive engines of the economy primarily in the private sector. This is not happening therefore making the current unemployment levels clearly unsustainable.
    How long can Government continue to eat into the NIS funds to meet public sector payroll?

Who says that many of those currently on the public payroll would not find alternative employment under a planned programme of privatization and outsourcing of many functions? These workers would automatically become more productive and efficient under private sector management.
    Why canโ€™t the some functions like those performed by the NCC, Drainage, road repairs, School Meals, transportation and Civil Security (not the Defence Force which needs to be significantly downgrade or disbanded) be outsourced?

Maybe we would see a fast improvement in the removal of the debris that the Drainage people removed from the wells and drains and placed on the pavements instead of leaving the detritus and waste for weeks on end with much of it finding its way back into the same wells and drains after the rain falls.

It is time for the political directorate to face the music, stop with the lies and cover up and bite the bullet. Taxpayers can no longer afford to meet the exponentially increasing national debt servicing obligations and still carry on their backs an increasing army of occupation that is more a parasite than a contributor to national development.

32. Both political parties are responsible for the morass but the party at the control now will obvious hold the licks.

33. @ Bush Tea

I will comment on instead of try to answer two of your questions i.e. (1) How many persons does it REALISTICALLY require to operate an efficient and effective public service in Barbados? and (2)-Why is paying 15000 persons for doing NOTHING NOT an issue for discussion?

I remember a primer teacher dictating an arithmetic problem ” if one man can build 9 blocks in a day, how many blocks will 8 men build in a week?”

Now the answer to that problem made the assumption that each of the 8 men would build the same number of blocks per day.

The problem Bush Tea is that with all the cuntputers and measurement systems available, over the years, no government department has been able to develop a system which measures the productivity of these soldiers of the Army of Occupation.

COW Williams and the other business people in Bulbados have a system of metrics which operates as follows.

COW wants to make $20M/year after taxes and expenses. To do so COW needs the input of 100 men working at full capacity. Full capacity can be measured in output i.e. projects completed and $$ in COW’s bank account.

COW’s foremen (the equivalent of PSes) are responsible for his projects being completed on time and they get paid based on their deliverables. Each one of COW’s foremen knows their team workers (the equivalent of public servants) and if their team is not delivering COW will fire his foremen and they in turn will fire non producing team members.

Shi*e rolls downhill, there is accountability in COW’s system. I, COW Williams dont fear Leroy Trotman, he dont employ nobody, he ent got no company and if he so much as blink, I will sell or close down MY COMPANY. Leroy can’t dictate how much money I COW going make and who I COW will fire to ensure that i mek my $20M.

The problem is that even though COW’s methodology works everywhere we have an inveterate practice of vampiricism otherwise called the Public Service.

Here some parasites have entrenched themselves into the matrix of government.

These Draculas (BLP & DLP representatives) and their Boris Karloff imps suck the blood of our economy and once appointed (or fooping the minister) they cannot be fired. Of course there is always the threat of the balls-less Leroy Trotman marching. And it is noted that his balls are bigger when the DLP is in power.

As i said when i started i would comment on your questions not answer them.

34. @pieceuhderock

Who is responsible for implementing the performance management system in the public service?

35. The Public Sector Reform Unit located in the E. Humphrey Walcott Building at Culloden Road

36. @ Pieceahderock
    …..well commented….. Shiite man….that was BETTER than an answer…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now answer Bushie this….Who would you put to mash up that stupid, outdated, wasteful system of management?
    Who would know how to get around all the stupid technicalities, rules and other barriers that were DELIBERATELY put there by incumbents to protect their wasteful positions…?
    Hint….
    Not the OPSR …… LOL the only thing that they managed to accomplish is the creation of an ADDITIONAL inefficient ministry LMAO Ha Ha. Muh belly!!!

37. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller; I agree almost totally with your 9.30 pm post last night. Indeed, I made some of the same points you have made above in another post of mine last night.

The thrust of that post was that letting go 10,000 workers in one fell swoop would be accompanied by serious unwonted consequences and that there could be some mitigation of these circumstances by reducing the quantum of the workers released and by allowing some of these workers to ply their trade in the private sector or as contractors to government for such services. To also mitigate the effect I suggested that there could be a gradual implementation where workers would not be permanently severed but invited to become contractors for government services while retaining their earned pension rights.

I suspect the 10,000 worker cut is taken from the 2013 Election playbook of the lies of the DLP and is not a realistic option for whichever government is in power. It might however be a reasonable target to trim the size of the Public service by.

I note that the wild coot is making a proposal for Government to reduce the deficit by offering a type of savings bonds to Barbadian holders of savings that could be used to significantly reduce that deficit and allow a more leisurely correction of the agreed out of whack current deficit numbers. There is a need for significant reductions in the civil service work force but those reductions have to be managed in a way to ensure that there is minimal collateral damage to the society and the serious spinoff damage to the economy.

As a former Public Servant I cannot help but have sympathy for my former colleagues and their families who have been in the main victims of a system that was not of their making but was designed to provide maximum benefits to the politicians of both sides.

That Wild Coot idea is one that should be worked on and patriots like you and Bushtea , with excess cash savings should consider, if and when it comes to fruition, to invest some of that cash and help Barbados.

Re. the Enlil reference. I could not help reflecting on the stories that Enlil and the Annunaki council sought to destroy mankind whom they had helped in creating through exposing them and the Igigi to the flood created by a near pass of Nibiru and the catastrophic collapse of the Antartic ice shelf . The story goes that Mankind was saved through the compassion of Enki and Ninurta through assisting the one the Bible calls Noah to escape with the seed of all living things.

38. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR;
    I retired from the Public Service in 2000 and at that time Public Sector reform was going nowhere, primarily because it was generally placed under successive PS’s who were all very near retirement and had absolutely no interest nor aptitude nor incentive for implementing such reform in a meaningful way for propelling the service forwards outside of the clutches of the politicians. It would appear as if it has continued in that train and has gone nowhere since then.

The rumours of massive layoffs might hopefully work to get public sector reform moving in the right direction, especially if a new coalition government that might result from this imbroglio is scared by the populace into doing what has to be done in this regard.

39. There is apparently little beyond the ordinary that is being done inside and outside (government) of the export sectors of this country to increase significantly the foreign exchange capacity of the country.

There is also little beyond the ordinary that is being done inside and outside (government) of the import sectors to reduce significantly the capacity of themselves to substantially use up foreign exchange on the country external accounts.

Whilst the government sector is in need of serious and fundamental restructuring and in the right ways and to serve the correct ends , any measures to layoff many of those public sector workers and to increase evil wicked TAXATION, will NOT increase/significantly the capacity of the foreign exchange earning sectors to get foreign exchange, and will not decrease significantly the capacity of the import sectors to substantially use foreign exchange on the country’s external accounts.

40. @ Bush Tea

It is no longer a matter of who would one seek out to put to rectify this situation.

That is no longer on the table for us Bush Tea for time is long gone when we are “full craftsmen of our fate”

The Daffy Duck Party and the Barney Lynch F**kup de Partyites that the people of Barbados have suffered under these 22 years no longer have any choice in this matter.

The IMF will see to that this wondrous Christmas Tide.

Maybe, just maybe, with the self-purge that has to come, the DLP idjits will use that time, (mindful of the fact that whatever they do, they will loose the next election) maybe they will use that opportunity to change the system.

Maybe, the DLP will use the imminent opportunity to send home the public service vampires and, in the process, bring a new breath of life to our country, one that uses committed public servants and workers who want to turn around Barbados’ ill fortune.

โ€œWhen the will defies fear, when duty throws the gauntlet down to fate, when honor scorns to compromise with death โ€“ that is heroism.โ€

Maybe, Fumble, mindful of his last swan song will say, “since it is obvious that I WILL PERISH HERE, I Fumble Stuart, will throw myself on this sword, and hush the dogs of wars.

By my act of heroism, I Fumble will change this iniquitous public service, and “by my living, do credit to my nation….”

But then Bush Tea, that would be a man with balls and unfortunately, balls and Fumble don’t go hand in hand. On the other hand if we were talking about Ronald Jones and balls in hand well then ….

The IMF instituted purge is going to be a “night of the long knives” effected to support the DLP faithful and not to support a “Barbados faithful” policy.

Would that we could find men with principles “Is there no balm in Gilead, can there be no physician found?”

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet? | December 2, 2013 at 12:11 PM |
    “To also mitigate the effect I suggested that there could be a gradual implementation where workers would not be permanently severed but invited to become contractors for government services while retaining their earned pension rights.”

This is something that should have been considered and implemented even under the previous BLP administration as part of the Public Sector reform project. What has compounded the situation is the 5,000 or more that have been taken on since 2008 as part of the feasting on the fatted.

Would the pension rights of the newly engaged contractors be such financial burdens on Treasury given that appointed public officers are no longer entitled to two pensions with the NIS being the main pension provider?

We should view your proposal not as a possible shock to the workers but more so as opportunities to achieve black economic enfranchisement through the creation of small enterprises using the partnership or cooperative model of business.

In any event, something has to be done with the present size of the increasingly unaffordable public sector workforce before it sinks the entire ship of State.
    This kind of bloated public sector workforce only exists in communist or socialist countries or those awash with money from oil exports like Kuwait, Saudi Arabia Nigeria and even our neighbour T&T.

The anunnaki sees you have been doing some research into the genetic engineering โ€˜originsโ€™ of the โ€œAdamโ€ and the real โ€˜genesisโ€™ stories encoded in the Sumerian tales as told by Zecharia Sitchin. These tales including that of the Noah and the Flood were stolen (plagiarized) by the old Jewish writers and presented as the Word of their god Yahweh.
    Maybe you can give us your take on the book of Ezekiel to โ€œenlightenโ€ the great Bushie on his real BBE.LOL!!

42. @ David
    @PDC
    Dr Justin Robinson’s input should be most welcome.Any intelligent contributor to BU would welcome robust debate of issues.To suggest a participant’s contribution is coloured by his scholarship is moot.Let all come forth.Some will get the royal treatment,yet that should not dampen one’s enthusiasm.CCC , ac and Alvin C are such examples of dogged determination against the odds.

43. @Bushie, December 2, 8:44 am

You never spoke “truer” words. This man is a joker and everybody engaging him. If the article was under pseudonym and not his name with worse yet his picture, I am sure many more people would be apt to read it first and judge it after (even though one would recognise that it is clearly from a BLP yardie). This man has no credibility…I ent know who he trying to impress

44. UM dogged determination against the odds…………………….. u spoke a mouthful and with forceful authority gabriel………..but as i clearly remember those odds going back to 2008 and leading into the last election were highly against our favour. However it was the end result that count.

45. When according to PDROY the “nights of the long knives” begin…..and temporary and casual workers are put out to graze the sour grass of Yhezden bout here is going be a real boiling pot…..Jones with his early premonitions about bullets and crack skulls going look a real prophet….but Bajan unemployed not going take all this so easy…..esp with a low level fund NIS…boy looka trouble on the horizon….now see why BWA workers wanted they money NOW

46. @ A-W-T-Y AND the Anunnaki

I am wondering if the idea(s) being progressed won’t be another of the “40% Procurement Plan of the DLP”, revisited under another chapeau.

If, and i admit to not being an economist, there is not enough money for wages, and the GoB lets go these public servants, (hopefully implementing a strategy of sending home the nitwits and non performers first)

(1) where will GoB get the money to support these “contractor contracts” since, the way i am understanding this economics thing is that, the reason they will be sending home the public servants in the first place is because they dont have any money to pay their salaries and by extension any contracts, and

(2) if my suggestion of sending home the indolent first is employed, why would the GoB thereafter seek to subcontract incompetence once they get rid of it from the public service?

I would however assume that my simplistic model does not include sending home some of the inefficient, with the efficient, and these subcontracts will seek to employ the efficient to ply their trade from the private sector.

Would what is being proposed envision that if the public sector has been decreased by, let us say, 5K people that, of these some 2K may become subcontractors?

Suppose further that the normal salary of this 2K might have been $25K a year as public servants that, in order to ensure that government spending is lessened, the value of an individual subcontracting contracts would be less/year? Sounds like cheap labour to me. Not dissimilar to what Colombian Emeralds (and now LIME) sought to do with its longstanding employees about 4 years ago.

What if we have a converse scenario where even less than the 2K will become sub contractors YET the cumulative value of these sub contract exceed the salaries of the 5K people released?

I fear that, given the skullduggery of these politrickans, we only end up making “lead pipes” using the same ingredients, only in a different order.

Ask Michael Lashes Lashley bout these types of subcontracts another name for kickbacks from the private sector. Michael mudah palace dun build yet?

You feel them IMF fellows won’t see that far?

47. St George's Dragon Avatar

The Government has never had the balls to make the cuts it was obvious were needed. Now it will be all the IMFs fault. Disingenuous, but at least a step in the right direction.

48. St George's Dragon Avatar

Freundel Stuart: โ€œโ€˜So, we took a position that there were going to be no layoffs in the Government. That, of course, carried a price tag, because of all the money that comes into Government, all the revenue Government earns from taxation and from all the other sources from which Government gets its revenue, 36 per cent of Government revenue is spent on wages and salaries.
    We had to take a decision in the interest of the society to ensure that peopleโ€™s lives were not disrupted and families thrown into confusion by a carnival of layoffs, and thankfully, that policy has worked,โ€ Stuart said.”
    But then again – perhaps not.

49. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR
    Excellent questions, so to try to answer them let us put this matter into perspective.
    1) The Government is between the Devil and the Deep blue sea.
    2) Any attempt to send home 3 or 5 or 10 thousand workers without proper preparation of the society or economy and procedures in place to take care of the resultant needs of the displaced ones must lead to absolute chaos and possibly the Jonesing prescription of cracked skulls.
    3) Its easy to condemn public workers as lazy or as an army of occupation or in some other pejorative way but they have legal rights that can not be summarily removed
    4) Established, permanent officers cannot easily or legally be fired or have their salaries reduced
    5) Temporary workers can be removed relatively easily but depending on the time they have worked they are entitled to, I think, up to 6 months of NIS benefits
    6) Let’s say there are 26,000 workers who are paid from the public purse and of whom 6,000 are temporary (I have no idea what the correct figures are but they might be in that ballpark). at least 2000 of the putative 6000 are probably in absolutely essential jobs for the proper running of the service.
    7) removing 3 or 6 thousand jobs will have serious spinoff effects on the profitability of the private sector and will be matched eventually by a significant number of private sector workers also losing their jobs. Growth will not magically come just by cutting jobs without planning carefully for the possible repercussions.
    8) There will almost certainly be a significant contraction in the overall Barbados economy -not something that is desired.
    9) Yuh really tink dat de private sector workers are so much better than de public sector ones. Check out de treatment we all get at some private sector stores.
    10) In general, job for job, the public sector workers are better educated and more amenable to proper training than the comparable private sector ones.

Will have to complete this later but these simplistic points might cause some pause in anyone thinking that merely letting go 3-10 thousand workers will be the panacea for all the wrongs wrought by this government in the past nearly six years. Perhaps 5000 or so of the workers hired for the election sale should have been going gradually over the past 2 or 3 years but even firing them now will put a major strain on a currently buckling NIS fund.

50. Place yourselves as shareholders in say BS&T,or Lime,or Cave Shepherd,or Goddard Enterprises .Would you with a clear conscience vote Freundel Stuart as the CEO,or for Christopher Sinckler as Chief Financial Officer?Methinks not.Given those companies daily checks and balances,changes would be swift and decisive.OUT,OUT,AND CLOSE THE DOOR BEHIND YOU.