Henderson Bovell

Imagine! The house engulfed in flames, but the DLP assures: “don’t worry, we have the key to the front door!” The Government is now making the wild allegation that its ability to access a US$225M bridging loan in these tough economic times, is an indication that Barbados can still borrow on the International markets at reasonable rates.’. How can a “rolling-basis-interest-rate,” ‘EVER’ be a good thing?

Owen Arthur would describe this as: ‘a man jumping off the 80th floor of a building, without a parachute and when passing the 50th floor, is heard to say: “so far so good.” Let’s put this discussion in context. You will recall that the DLP was forced to withdraw its $500 million bond offer on the International Capital Market because (given the “JUNK BOND” status the DLP has earned for Barbados) respected and credible International Investors now find Jamaica’s debt more attractive than Barbados.’

Remember also, that the Central Bank of Barbados took-up US$375 million and essentially bought “JUNK:” with it, that is to say –ย  “DLP-JUNK-Bonds.” Then consider that since June, the DLP caused this country to lose over $400m in foreign reserves. With the foreign exchange cover causing panic, the DLP is “desperate” but it finds itself in a position of absolute weakness – having had four downgrade, including one to “JUNK,” as well as a negative credit rating.ย  Investors like Barbados but they have simply lost confidence in the DLP and with this much uncertainty (where all indicators are showing that things are deteriorating “fast”) a capital flight is inevitable!

Nobody is taking delight at the DLP’s misfortune! Because every time the DLP gets it wrong, (which is often and on everything) Barbadians pay with increased taxes and more pain.

What are the facts, as regards this US$225m bridging loan?ย  The DLP is incurring more debt, this time on the foreign exchange side but in circumstance were the economy continues to shrink and where the foreign exchange earning sectors are not producing.ย  This is a short-term loan, with a high interest rate and with strict conditions attached.ย  It would seem that as a condition of this loan, the Government must provide the bank, Credit Suisse AG, with a full Copy of the IMF staff’s report of its article 4 consultation with the IMF, scheduled for next week, and a schedule of the Government’s plan for implementation of any IMF recommendations.

It is not “you” – the people of Barbados, who the DLP feels it has to account to, even after promising (as part of its good governance charter) to let Barbadians know what it is doing on their behalf.ย  It is prepared to be accountable to foreign interests (Credit Suisse AG, and the IMF) not you who voted for it in February!ย  I asked recently if you can trust the DLP, can you?

Do you realise that an old lady selling fish in the Oistins Fish Market – can go into any Commercial Bank and get a loan on more favourable terms (perhaps with 10 to 15 years repayment period) than a DLP Government – once her business plan is in good order?

What are the terms? It would seem that $20 million has to be set aside in a separate account not accessible by the dems.ย  That may not be a bad thing! Nevertheless, this is short-term money and at a very high rate of interest.ย  Seems like the rate can be fixed but that would attract a fee, which the Government can hardly afford.ย  The only certainly here is that as long as the DLP is the Government – things will get much worse!ย  It is why in order to get that (take-it-or-leave-it) short-term loan for US$225m – even though at a high interest rate – Barbados has to report to ‘a Commercial Bank,’ what is contained in an Article 4 Consultation with the IMF and on top of thatย  – how it plans to implement any IMF recommendations. Talk about surrendering Barbados’ sovereignty!ย  But what would you expect from a Government that may be seriously considering selling Barbadian passports and citizenship, perhaps to get foreign exchange?ย  The shocker is that the US$225m bridging loan – comes with a rolling-basis-interest-rate.

Christmas is coming but so too is the IMF and it may be quite some time before a number of Barbadians can afford to eat a little ham, jug jug or turkey again.ย ย  And come January 2014, the DLP may have US225 million reasons why it will send home the same 10,000 Public Servants, it mentioned in those paid general election ads. If so, Christmas will be no more merry than the New Year likely to be happy for over 10,000 Barbadians and their families.

Nobody believes that the DLP has what is necessary to improve the economy and see it through to brighter days. That’s why the Bank seems to have opted to make provisions for further decline. They know – like you do (even if not willing to admit it) that the DLP’s inability, compounded by its propensity to conceive flawed policies; exercise poor judgment and make bad decisions – is the reason things will get worst.

Even the “Market Vendor” can get a loan at fixed interest rates but not the DLP. Their’s is a rolling-basis interest rate, take-it-or-leave-it! And yet, the DLP can somehow feel good and boast that Government’s ability to access a US$225M bridging loan in these tough economic times, is an indication that Barbados can still borrow on the International markets at reasonable rates.’

Barbados is a good country but it has a very weak Government, which nobody has confidence in but one which feels that it should be congratulated for earning a “JUNK BOND STATUS” downgrade for Barbados – an achievement that not even Erskine Sandiford (when at his lowest) was capable of!

136 responses to “Christmas Will Not Be Merry for Public Servants About to be Sent Home”

1. โ€œThose who led us into debt were gambling, as if they were in a casino.. there is talk of a crisis. No. They gambled. They lost… We cannot repay the debt because we have nothing to pay it with. We cannot repay the debt because it is not our responsibility.โ€

Thomas Sankara had great belief in people – not just the people of Burkina Faso or Africa, but people across the world. He believed change must be creative, nonconformist – indeed containing โ€œa certain amount of madnessโ€. He believed radical change would only come when people were convinced and active, not passive and conquered. And he believed the solution is political – not one of charity. Surely Sankara has never been more relevant to our quest for justice in Europe and the world. http://www.redpepper.org.uk/thomas-sankara-an-african-leader-with-a-message-for-europe/

2. Sankara used a conference of the Organisation of African Unity in 1987 to persuade fellow African leaders to repudiate their debts. He told delegates: “Debt is a cleverly managed reconquest of Africa. It is a reconquest that turns each one of us into a financial slave.โ€ Seeing these same leaders go off one-by-one to Western governments to get a slight restructuring of their debt, he urged common, public action that would free all of Africa from debt”

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet? | December 2, 2013 at 7:06 PM |

What about the size of the Cabinet (Executive Arm of Parliament)?
    Before Stuart can send home public sector workers he needs to cut the fat from his Cabinet and lead by setting the example of sacrifice.

You just cannot have a bloated Cabinet (the biggest in the country since Ministerial government of1954) with overlapping duplicating ministerial responsibilities presiding over a reduced public sector and in an environment of a contracting economy.

If he continues with the current size Cabinet of ineffective puppets after sending home thousands of public sector workers we shall see if he has Barbados first and foremost or the DLP in-crowd.

4. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Miller;

I agree totally with you. I think not only that cabinet’s size should be significantly reduced but that Cabinet and the Opposition needs to do like Grenada did recently and take a substantial reduction in perks to send the message to the country that the situation is really serious and that they will do their part. Indeed, I think that they must at least do this if they are asking for significant sacrifices by the country. They must lead by example.

But we are talking about Freundal Stuart, a man whose brain appears to be wired differently to most. First of all a typical PM would not have allowed us to be in this position where we now apparently have no options but servile submission to IMF conditionalities. His standard modus operandi has been shown to be to wait for circumstances to dictate the decisions that must be taken, i.e. wait until the last moment and let the decision make itself especially since this current situation was obviously on the cards over 2 years ago. Everybody saw it coming. His MoF made some provisions for tackling it only to be cut down by Freundal in regard to the layoffs that were seen as necessary by the professionals as part of the plan to reduce the fiscal deficit.

This new model of running an economy deserves to be called “freundelling” an economy from henceforth.

If Freundal is true to form he will insist that no one must be released from the public sector under his watch and there must also be no privatization. Lets wait and see if that actually happens despite anything that Chris might say with presumably Cabinet’s blessing. Let us also wait to see what the fallout on the DLP and Governance of this country will be whatever happens.

My analysis above is probably totally wrong and I really hope I am wrong this time but Freundal’s record of snappy quick decision making as PM, outside of the really weird non-response to MAM’s vote of no-confidence in Chris Sinckler, suggests that he will ensure that a decision on the IMF conditionalities will be made at the very last minute, while insisting, with no perceptible chips in his hand, that the DLP policy of no layoffs stays intact and that perhaps taxation be raised to astronomical counterproductive levels to partially achieve a slight correction in the fiscal deficit.

The professional economists will probably argue that such is not possible since all countries who approached the situation we are now in, gave in to the prescriptions provided by the International Lending Institutions for the use of their monies. but with Freundal all things are possible. Perhaps he was reading Thomas Sankara recently.

5. Gabriel,

While we have an appreciation for your opinion above at 1.13 pm, we must state that many academic doctors in Barbados, though not all, lack, to a greater extent, the higher intellectual training, conditioning, and, to a lesser extent, the higher intellectual capacity to engage in robust debates ( that you so speak about) on this BU blog.

Many academic doctorates thrive off the false ideology psychology shrouds that many people in Barbados have put over their heads, and that falsely mark them off – most of these academic doctors again – as being in a different intellectual class (perception) than they ( these bestowers of such shrouds) are in – that they are so well researched and studied, so erudite and scholarly, when in truth and in fact they are not as much as these things that many of these same people may feel.

Therefore, no matter how many academic professional and other qualifications most of these academic doctors may have, they will not be coming on this BU network, so to speak, to engage in any serious robust intense debates on the issues (if you may call them that).

The principal reason why we think they will NOT be coming on this blog, is because and in spite of their intellectual class consciousness too they fear resent that many commenters on here will gradually be lifting these false fictitious ideological psychological shrouds that have been, as the PDC has said before in here, put over their heads by many others, off their heads for many others to see the stuff that they are really and truly made of.

So, it will be a waste of time putting down any welcome mat for persons of the ilk of Robinson, and a waste of energy for David to be apparently begging some of them for their interventions!!

Anyhow, they will naturally or unrationally fear or resent this blog primarily because no longer in this greater information and communication technological age are these academic doctors and their natural habitats – the universities – the primary sources of/for the distilling harvesting of ideas, theories and knowledges for others to imbibe or to use, et al. As it stands now there no undisputed clear primary sources of ideas, theories, and knowledges in Barbados.

Furthermore, the acute realism of this same age is helping to tear down these perceptions of their being a superior intellectual class!!

For, in this increasingly globalized era, the ability of many other people to greater input or output ideas, theories and knowledges (scientific, academic or other wise) on the basis of other sources and means of testing for and arriving at ideas, theories, and knowledges has not only led to greater intellectual methodological competition between the sources of internet oriented ideas, theories and knowledges (some you tube offerings) and many of these academic doctors, some of the latter’s tools – the students, the text books, pamphlets, journals, periodicals and many of their settings – the class lecture rooms – but has also led to intellectual methodological challenges (wikipedia, etc) to them and their means of conceiving, acquiring and ideas, theories and knowledge.

It is this intellectual competition and these intellectual challenges that translates into (form) part of the bases for their sometimes fearing sometimes resenting this BU blog. The fact that this BU blog has its own participants and followers somewhat away from their following the transmissible strictures, theories, etc. of these academicians provides greater fuel for this fear and resentment – which is apparently real and actual to a great degree.

While it is true too that many Professors have been using the internet to purvey ideas, theories and knowledges to many internet users, they have done so in ways in which they are NOT subjected to the challenges which come with the intensity even toxicity of discussions on this BU blog.

Therefore owing to their type of training and conditioning ( they are of peers, very fraternal, of fraternities, hierarchies, curates in degree mills), many of these academicians will not be found on this blog, and if a few (Jeff Cumberbatch, Karl Watson, et al) are found on BU providing intellectual substance succour to many others, such comments are few and far between, fundamentally because BU is far more democratic, equitable, fair, open, less rigid, formal, institutional than the traditional settings they are accustomed to.

Well, certainly though this blog is not made for the essential characteristics of their roles and functions either.

6. Two topics struck me today as I made my rounds to the grounds as a coach. The first was another murder of a woman by ‘her’ man. When is this going to stop? Overhearing the filth and violence chatter from the block boys and girls we are producing young bucks who are scum who have zero respect for human life. One cant believe these animals were born from women who nursed and raised them to the point where they are strong enough to kill the same women.

The RBPF must become ultra aggressive with any report of scum threatening women and go for them prepared to shoot to kill. The society wont mourn the don’t care about nobody slime bags. Shoot to kill any man who threatens a woman. Ask questions later.

The second topic was the glee with which BLP yard fowls greeted the news by accused molester Roy Morris that 3000 public servants will be sent home. Like Roy and useless pimp and a-hole Henderson Bovell they are over the moon to see thousands of people maybe out of work. Once the government appears to be failing though it will impact the society in the worse possible manner the Bees yard fowls are delirious with happiness. Barbados interests come a distant second in the psyches of these cockroaches.

My one request is that Ryan Straughan be the first person fired.

7. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

DLP Keen On Selling-out Barbados: Even Citizenship And Passports For Foreign Exchange

Barbados is not for sale! If you agree – why not stop the DLP from: making any further silly decisions and causing Barbados greater harm? “Reel-them-in!”

This Government may be able to trick some Barbadians and get them to believe its nonsense that the country is in this mess because it was trying to keep people employed and preserve Barbados foreign exchange cover, but it cannot trick those who know that it is important to guard their minds, whenever the DLP speaks.

Thinking Barbadians know that this country was in trouble, the minute the DLP was elected in 2008, even if others only became aware of that fact, when the DLP began wasting so much time distracting the country with a sterile debate – whether the society is more important than the economy.

Barbados is in the mess it is currently in because the DLP triggered a melt-down of the economy, when it increased the price of diesel by 77%. It then compounded that folly with an inflationary budget, which robbed the country of a further $108m in taxes. Over time, this folly would cause the economy to contract and eventually, shrink – as it now has.

Because of its arrogance; incompetence and share stupidly – the DLP then tried to tax its way out of a recession. Its flawed policies; poor judgment and bad decisions (when added to mistrust; weak leadership and a lack of investor confidence) all combined to cause the social and economic instability, which now grips the country.

It was never about any foreign exchange cover or saving jobs but about a Government that spent 14 years in Opposition feeling that having had to wait so long – the fatted calf was their’s to be slaughtered for DEMs, hence the huge; ineffective Cabinet, which now constitutes a cost overrun. For the DLP, it was and is about “power” and “preserving the DLP!”

If the DLP was really as serious, as it purports – as regards saving jobs or protecting the foreign exchange cover – surely it would have done something meaningful and tangible to prevent that 20 straight months of decline in tourism.

Secondly, it would have been deeply troubled by the fact that long-stay tourism arrivals had declined by as much as 11.56% when compared to 2011, which in-itself was bad, compared to previous years. That the DLP would allege to be concerned about foreign exchange cover and not lose any sleep, even when the revenue in the tourism sector declined by some 20%, is as alarming as the DLP seeing nothing wrong with slashing the marketing Budget of the BTA from $88 million in 2011 to $59 million.

How can the Government expect anybody to believe that it is even remotely serious about saving or earning foreign exchange – when it doesn’t care that the BTA owes some $26 million to various creditors all across the planet?

How can the DLP be serious about saving jobs and protecting Barbados’ foreign exchange cover but allowed Almond (a credible home-grown-family’s- international-brand) which employed over 500 staff – to fail and lay idle for over two years?

Would a serious Government have allowed so much drama within the International Business Sector, where a number of companies simply pulled-up and relocated, out of frustration at the DLP’s tardiness?

Having won the Government for the second time, based on deception and lies, the DLP now finds itself in a predicament.

That the country could go from being “stable” to near collapse in such a short space of time after a general election – is explained by two possibilities: lies and deception and betrayal of the trust and confidence of Barbadians.

It is therefore sad and unfortunate that while the rest of the society is struggling to make ends meet and ‘keep body and soul together’ (not knowing if they will have a job tomorrow) – DLP Ministers have no such concern. Instead, they are obsessed with qualifying for pension. That’s why urgent fresh general election are necessary, especially since the DLP never sought, or was given any mandate to send home any public servants or privatise anything.

But, let me see if I am understanding this! The DLP messed-up and put the country in this crisis – causing a downgrade to “JUNK,” social and economic instability; severe human suffering and poverty and you must now lose your job, while they keep theirs? Is that what they are really telling you? Seriously?

Barbadians must urgently reel-in this DLP and stop it from committing this country to more debt and from making any deals with the IMF and other foreign interest? Barbados is not for sale, neither Passports nor Citizenship! The country must ensure that the DLP gets that memo, immediately, in the national interest!

8. Ruffin
    You must be hurting badly.The fact is many of you bought into the promises of the DLP in spite of all the dire warnings emanating from all the reasonable sources available such as the Central Bank,Mascoll,Wickham,Hoyos,Hoyte,
    Brandford,and even from the BLP platform.You opted for the unsustainable
    wild spending offerings of the DLP camp and now the moment of truth has come you talk of the glee with which you think others are seeing it.For you the DLP would have done nothing wrong.Its all the BLP and its perceived pals.
    No Barbadian wants to see Barbados fail.Patriotism is supporting your country all the time and your government when it deserves it.This government deserves to go.Too much lawlessness emanating out of the MoF and the PM has not shown leadership.Now the moment of truth has come and there can be no more pussyfooting and fooling people. The DLP is a failure full stop.

9. @Those BLPites, hoping to get back in power ans preading rumour, untruths, disinformation, misinformation, the following is from a contribution in November last year:
    “Barbados before 2008 was not financially stable. Three (3) S&P downgrades proves this.”
    I never anticipate decisions before they are made. There was an IMF Article iv consultation in October 2013, and the report was released a few weeks ago. Why would the IMF come again in December. You think the people don’t have any

10. it madness to think and farther less propagate that 3-5 thousands public workers would be sent home by xmas, only a cockroach could scribble such nonsense on a piece of paper,

11. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Alvin

Thanks for the info re. the IMF consultation in October 2013. Perhaps they were invited back for the one this week because things got sharply worse since October. Let’s hope any adverse decisions will be made after December for the sake of the public servants whose jobs appear to be directly under threat.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ruffin | December 2, 2013 at 9:03 PM |
    โ€œโ€ฆthey are over the moon to see thousands of people maybe out of work.โ€

Ruffian, if you and the other DLP backers of this incompetent administration believe the BLP yard-fowls are ecstatic over the DLP engineered plan to get rid of public sector workers then why not prove it to be pure BLP propaganda and their minions at the Nation and keep the poor workers on the payroll.

The DLP is the party forming the government of the day, not the BLP. It is your decision to go back on your promises and commitments you made to the electorate and, in particular, the public sector workers who voted to safeguard their jobs from the rapacious scythe of the BLP if it had been returned to office.
    Remember the mantra โ€œNo layoffs, No privatizationโ€ under the DLP watch?
    The fire is being turned up daily under your deceitful asses while you cook in your own juices of lies and propaganda.

13. Does anyone know what was the outcome of the NUPW meeting tonight?

14. @those above…did not finish the sentence..thing else but to come here.
    In case you think that the IMF only holds consultation with countries in difficulties check:
    Internatoional Monetary Fund
    Kuwait: 2013 Article IV Consultation
    Publication Date: December 02, 2013

Electronic Access: Free Full text (PDF file size is 1,267KB).
    Use the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view this PDF

Y ou people are holding this (a VISIT BY THE imf) over the heads of the people, as if it is some sword of Damocles, ready to demolish everybody.
    I am confident that there will not be the widespread termination of posts, as many of you hope for (with no consideration for the havoc this will create), just to satisfy your political agenda. You are calling for elections..again, Hoping against hope. Never happen.
    Didn’t Prime Minister Stuart already discuss the layoff of temporary workers when he defined what constituted Temporary?

15. @David, and for general information.
    The IMF is composedof Members. Members have the ability to access loans from it. This is what they say about Lending:
    Lending
    The IMF provides loans to countries that have trouble meeting their international payments and cannot otherwise find sufficient financing on affordable terms. This financial assistance is designed to help countries restore macroeconomic stability by rebuilding their international reserves, stabilizing their currencies, and paying for importsโ€”all necessary conditions for launching growth. The IMF also provides concessional loans to low-income countries to help them develop their economies and reduce poverty.

So far I have not heard that Barbados has had difficulty meeting any of its international obligations. We have foreign reserves to cover a number of weeks; not as much as we would like, but we have them. Why then would we seek to invite the IMF?
    All you people are seeking to do is create hysteria over a condition that does not exist.

16. By the way Bovell,here in Canada..when I bought my homes we were given long term mortgages (twenty years) with five year terms. That meant that every five years the interest rates were adjusted. Do you understand how that applies to the $225 million loan; that the government has been able to obtain, that you sought to disparage?

17. Oh, Miller & Chaucer,
    I am coming at you with your nonsense about Outsourcing. Can’t you get it through your thick head by now that we have no private sector. All the people you would propose to outsource to cannot absorb the people it would take to do the work you propose, unless they are subsidized by government for the same money you are trying to save. You said you are not prepared to answer me in detail, but I will give you details. As younger people would say,” I ent frighten fuh you.” You were part of a government that for 14 years did not have answers. How come now you have all the answers.

18. Oh I almost (actually did) to indicate one reason why the IMF consultation will not take place in december:

Barbados: Financial Position in the Fund
    as of October 31, 2013

VI. Projected Payments to Fund 1/
    (SDR Million; based on existing use of resources and present holdings of SDRs):
    Principal Charges/Interest Forthcoming
    2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
    0.00 0.01 0.01 0.01 0.01
    Total 0.00 0.01 0.01 0.01 0.01
    VII. Implementation of HIPC Initiative: Not Applicable

VIII. Implementation of Multilateral Debt Relief Initiative (MDRI): Not Applicable

IX. Implementation of Post-Catastrophe Debt Relief (PCDR): Not Applicable
    ……………………………………………………………….
    Taken from the IMF report on Barbados. (Link:IMF Barbados/article iv consultation 2013). Google

19. Surely the government must make a concerted effort NOT to lay off people at Christmas.

At least wait until January.

20. Today is the day, let us listen to what the MoF has to say. Be assured it has to be bitter. A case of better late then never?

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | December 3, 2013 at 2:07 AM |
    Who ever said the government will be laying off workers before Xmas? The media reports suggest 2014.Only ac has made such claim.
    Temporary workers are entitled to 1 month’s notice and Xmas is 22 days away. How can they be laid off before Xmas, then? Only ac is spreading propaganda about a pre-Xmas cutting of staff.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 3, 2013 at 12:13 AM |
    “Oh I almost (actually did) to indicate one reason why the IMF consultation will not take place in december:”

Are you (again) calling the MoF a big liar? He has confirmed on more than one occasion the IMF consultation is due to start this week.

23. Bajans will have to accept that their North American lifestyle is done for the foreseeable future.

Barbados has no natural resources and having maxed out the “credit card” has not choice but to “cut and contrive”.
    They will have to fore go the 60 inch tv and settle for a 32″.

I hope for the better but fear the worse.

24. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

No Union; No Private Sector; No Social Partnership (however well intentioned) can confer on the DLP – any authority or “MANDATE” to lie; to trick and play Barbadians; to privatise any State asset or to send home any Public Servant. We just had a general election in which the DLP spent thousands of dollars in radio, television and newspaper advertisements โ€“ giving Barbadians a solemn oath that if re-elected, they will not ‘send-home’ anybody or privatise anything – “within this term.”

The DLP never asked for any mandate to do any of those things, neither was any given. And since the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was punished and rejected at the Polls for being honest, surely now – the DLP cannot be accommodated – having lied and for now seeking to do that which, they do not have a mandate! The country cannot go from being โ€œstableโ€ to โ€œcrisis,โ€ in such a short space of time, when there was no hurricane; public health crisis or plague!

But, let me see if I understand this! The DLP messed-up and put the country in this crisis: – causing a downgrade to “JUNK,” social and economic instability; gross uncertainty; a capital flight from Barbados; lost of investor confidence; severe human suffering and increased poverty – and you must now lose your job, while they keep theirs? Is that what they are really telling you? Seriously!

Barbadians must urgently reel-in this DLP and stop it from committing this country to more debt and from making any deals with the IMF and other foreign interest that will hurt Barbadians?

The “electorate” must therefore say a loud “NO” to any attempted “BACK-DOOR ACCOMMODATIONS,” gift-wrapped as: “full and frank discussions’ – purporting to have authority to give the DLP a mandate to: ‘lie; deceive; privatise anything; send home Public Servants or to โ€œVALIDATEโ€ any such breach and betrayal of sacred trust conferred on the DLP by the electorate โ€“ in relation to the โ€œMANDATEโ€ given and commitment made to the electorate – in the recent general elections – when the DLP SWORE that country was โ€œstableโ€ and outlined the conduct Barbadians can expect from it, during this term, one re-elected.

Either the DLP cannot be trusted or it is reckless or both. Which ever you choose to accept – the crisis Barbados is in โ€“ is explained!

It is immaterial whether there ought to have been a duty of care on the part of the electorate to know that the DLP tells lies; could have been lying; cannot be trusted and does not keep its promises.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 2, 2013 at 10:14 PM |
    โ€œit madness to think and farther less propagate that 3-5 thousands public workers would be sent home by xmas, only a cockroach could scribble such nonsense on a piece of paper,โ€

Do you think the news about the St. John Polyclinic is also BLP propaganda scribbled by cockroaches at the Nation?

The St. John Polyclinic has been mothballed (again). This facility was due to be opened since December 2012 but it seems the hex of “I would never, steal, cheat or LIE” has been firmly fixed to this DLP administration by spiritual forces who are against wrong.

The mere fact that there were No provisions in the Estimates for the current year is indicative of the current administration’s plan to keep that complex as a white elephant and a fitting memorial to the man who was instrumental in the collapse of CLICO resulting in the deprival of thousands of policyholders of their hard earned savings and personally enriching the smartest crook in Bim who has turned out to be native curse on the poor naรฏve people of St. John.

We wonder what those two idiots from St. John, โ€œacโ€ and the โ€œNegromanโ€, have to say about this disgrace once again inflicted on the people of St. John other than blame the BLP for failing to complete the project between 1995 -2007?

What is happening to the people of this once proud country afflicted with the worst government ever? What is coming next? Failure to pay government pensions to the ever increasing number of greying citizens who once worked in the public sector? Or would it be the reneging on a bond payment to local investors?

26. Uh see the real problem wid the BLP yardfowls is that Privatization and fire sale has been stuck in wunna throats. Nothing more nothing else. all this Doom and GLoom has been a consistent drum beat trying to force the govt into giving into wunna wishes and leaving the public at the hands of private compnies whose only loyalty is the dollar. Wunna don.t have any answers except to create an artifical armageddeon before Xmas

27. @Miller,
    Are you all backing away from your claims?
    Henderson Bovell said: “…it will send home the same 10,000 Public Servants,…” He did not say “may”, “might” “should” or anything like that. He said “will”. His words are there.

28. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

I sincerely hope those who might be waiting for a Ministerial Statement/Mini Budget this morning, when Parliament reconvenes โ€“ are not caused to feel let-down and disappointed, as they already are, by the weak performance of this Government – which has promised so much but has so far, delivered very little.

No one would deny than in a crisis (like this which the DLP triggered) and where there is already a climate of uncertainty in the country, resulting in businesses and household being unable to plan properly because they are unsure of what the DLP is likely to do [which is compounded by a lack of consumer and investor confidence in the DLP anyhow ] that the Government would have recognised the needs for โ€œtimelyโ€ and โ€œtruthfulโ€ information – on the state of the economy and what commitment and secret deals it is making, so that people can plan what adjustment they need to make.

Only last week the Opposition BLP offered the Government the sound advice , that given the climate of uncertainty it had created in the country – instead of quarterly reports, the DLP should give the country information on a monthly basis or in a more timely fashion – so that households and business can plan.

This is a time for โ€˜serious people,โ€™ โ€˜serious policiesโ€™ and โ€˜serious politics.โ€™ But just when you thought that the DLP has recognised and accepted such sound logic! Even so, why would a Ministerial Statement come on a Tuesday in Parliament, when Cabinet meets on Thursday? In any event, you would think any such Statement would have been issued โ€“ โ€œAFTERโ€ the DLP meets with the IMF โ€“ unless the DLP is satisfying both the IMF and Rating Agencies and not talking to the people of Barbados, whether household, workers or businesses.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 3, 2013 at 9:43 AM |

Do I sound as if I am vacillating? Is my name Fumble?

What is your position? Is it one of total assertion there will be NO LAYOFFS, NO PRIVATIZATION under the DLP regime?

My position has been the same from day one going back to early 2012. The most effective way to reduce the burden of the public sector is for the government to remove its heavy presence from the market place and privatize/outsource many of the functions as prevails in the UK. There are precedents for such privatization/outsourcing programmes.

Go ahead Little England, the former G B is behind you!

30. History is in the making.History repeats itself.Let Walter Blackman refute this record:
    1991 Sandy said Henry Forde was preaching doom and gloom,that the economy was firing on all cylinders and all was well in this country.The Dems got a majority and claimed victory.Then the s..t hit de fan!
    2013 Freundel says pay no attention to the BLP.They are speaking horrible untruths(telling lies is notpart of his vocab,this wannabe classicsman).Not a hair will be touched.Not a man or woman sent packing.Pensioners and schoolchildren will continue to ride our buses free of cost.UWI students will continue to have access to cost free education.A new hospital coming.A new harbour coming.The Sin John district hospital and centre opening in March 2013.We just signed an agreement for new brand name hotels to be built.Tourism is on the increase.Manufacturing is on the up and up.Agriculture is going to be the new kid on the block.The loans are approved for draw down.
    Etc etc.And CCC and ac gloating and prancing up and down,cussing Bushie,Onions,Miller,Island Gal,Enuff,Balance,David and all the other unblinkered members of BU.Then,then,then!!The s…t hit de fan AGAIN.2014 is going to be the year of reckoning.With the antidote administered by the IMF will be a review of certain pieces of legislation to better place Barbados to pay its way.The Constitutional Amendments will be up for review to ensure no political interference in the appointments of Public Servants,and will resort to the appropriate Commissioners as before.The Holiday with Pay Act will be reviewed to provide 2 weeks holiday with pay.The Employment Rights Act will be reviewed to make it more employment friendly and remove unreasonable fetters on employers.There is no such monster named Indecent work.Immoral may be.The Severance Pay Act will be reviewed to discourage employees who simply turn up for work and do as little as possible,ensuring the uncompetitiveness of some companies leading to closure and payment of Severance.Productivity will be the mantra.Enabling legislation will be the route to making Barbados the place to set up one’s business.Profit is not a bad word.An income tax free Barbados should be a serious consideration.

31. @Miller,
    This is a quick one, since I have read thfough your blog very quickly, but what struck me right away; there is a difference between Privatizing and outsourcing. I already told you we have no private sector. You know this, and I know that you know it. this is not England. I can’t say with any “assertion” because I am not in the island, for now, but I am confident.
    Later.
    @Well Well,
    Are you alright?

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 3, 2013 at 3:33 PM |
    โ€œI already told you we have no private sector.โ€

There you go, Alvin, once again displaying your obstreperously fossilized ignorance only attracting attention like a featherless peacock among โ€˜imaginaryโ€™ peahens.

If there is no private sector in Barbados from whom or where do you think the government gets its tax revenues to pay civil servants and pay for its operations? Do you think it is taken magically from the hat of the MoF or hidden in a vault in the Central Bank?

Government imposes taxes and levies on the economic activities of individuals and on business enterprises that pass them on to the same private individuals or consumers by way of higher prices for goods and services on sale. Business enterprises act as the tax collecting agencies of government.

Do you have a problem with that explanation or are you prepared (as usual) to argue that the public sector is financed solely from the sale of services to the consuming public? How are the police, schools and polyclinics financed?

33. be careful what you vote for you may get it!!!

34. Alvin Cummings “I already told you we have no private sector”

As part of the heavily taxed private sector I object to your statement.

35. Alvin you dithering old duffer,don’t you think you have said enough for the day,you biased octogenarian.

36. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

DLP: A Weak, Impotent; Puppet Government.

This is a time for “serious people;” “serious policies” and “serious politics” but the DLP’s ‘refusal to come clean,’ is causing it to play an extremely dangerous game, in circumstances where it has already relegated itself to a position of severe weakness, with hardly any options available.

Perhaps consumers and investors are giving the DLP one last opportunity to show that it is serious about fixing the ‘climate of uncertainty’ it has created in Barbados.

And while very few now believe that there is something the DLP can contribute, it will be a shocking; costly and painful error – if the country continue to believe that the DLP is still “calling the shots,” when it is clearly not. “You eva hear a brek man call shots yet!”

Still, however weak and impotent – the DLP is the Government of Barbados, even if literally broke and broken. And that is a dangerous reality!

The minute it started borrowing $40m a month to pay salaries and wages; saddled itself with a deficit of close to one billion dollars and presided over the disappearance of over $400m in the foreign reserve (which will be made worst by any further capital flight) the DLP lost power and control and immediately began displaying all the signs of being a puppet Government – even if just re-elected.

Sad to say, but my fellow Barbadians – your country is already being run from Washington. What you have, is a weak; puppet administration, harassing you and other Barbadians from Bay Street, while functioning as errand boys for those now calling the shots.

The DLP may want to sound up-beat but the IMF, Rating Agencies and creditors like: ‘the bank of Credit Suisse AG’ – are the ones now pulling the strings.

Even if it were aware that economic recovery and growth depends on spending from both consumers and investors, each of whom have option – it was already too late for the DLP, the instant it allowed that $US225m bridging loan to fall into its begging bowl, with those IMF conditions attached.

The last thing anybody wants now, is a capital flight from Barbados, which could be compounded by news of pending massive layoff from the public sector. That is bound to cause private sector employees and employers, to panic.

With the country already crippled with economic and social instability – the last thing anybody wants is political instability even if the DLP is already the weakest and worse Government Barbados has ever had.

Such an augmented climate of fear, will result in reduced spend and people holding-on to what money their have. The sad thing is, while employees in the private sector and the public sector will find themselves on the bread-line, the DLP, which caused the mess – still expect to keep their job and be the Government.

And somehow, Barbadians are accepting that crap. That they will be contented to starve, while DLP Ministers get obese on the fatted calf – is beyond all comprehension!

37. @Miller,
    You hit the nail on the head.
    “…Government imposes taxes and levies on the economic activities of individuals and on business enterprises that pass them on to the same private individuals or consumers by way of higher prices for goods and services on sale. Business enterprises act as the tax collecting agencies of government.”
    Where is the INVESTING capacity of the BARBADIAN PRIVATE SECTOR? Where were they when BS&T was up for sale? Where were they when the shares of the Barbados National Bank went on sale? Why couldn’t a conglomerate of local businesses not have purchased the majority shares in the bank? If foreign exchange was needed why couldn’t that conglomerate approach an investment house; (Wall Street, or Bay Street (Canada) or the U.K, to obtain a loan undertaking to pay back the funds from their collective (Whatever name they chose) Why does government have to , or is expected to be assisting the hotel industry in advertising their products overseas? Where has the private sector been in the Four Seasons problems? What has the Private sector done to attract more foreign exchange into the island, outside of tourism? Why is the Marina (Bay street) development being left to government; (I think there was talk of a BOLT arrangement involving government),, when the lands are owned by , or used to be owned, by private entities. Is the property not part of the portfolio of BS&T? That should be a private sector led iniative, wherein the private sector makes arrangements with other private sector agencies overseas. Has the Private sector collectively or otherwise, approached companies overseas;U.S., Canada, The Middle east, the U.K, Singapore, or other places to get their input and interest in investing in this project? The private sector has become a front for distribution of Trinidad products. What initiatives has the Private Sector undertaken in the last ten years or even more, to lead infrastructural development of the island. Jada with the development of the Villages at Coverley, showed what could be done. But who is JADA? Williams Industries has led and continues to lead in this area, R.L Seales in the Rum Export industry is another example, but apart from these the Private sector that functions is foreign and not Barbadian.

38. @Simple Simon: I am not talking about rich individuals like you or Money Brains, Georgie Porgie etc. I am talking about corporate barbados. Private sector is used as a collective. By the way how many shares did you buy in the BNB? I would have bought but I didn’t have the money, but I recommended many of my friends from overseas ,who bought shares and kept them until Republic Bank, having obtained the required number forced them to sell.
    It is true, Gabriel, that I am an octogenarian, but I am far from “dithering”. I still have all my faculties. that’s why I can see so clearly. Education, experience and smarts, that’s what it is.
    Miller and chaucer talk about “outsourcing” District Hospitals. Where are the private sector entities who are prepared to fill this gap? Relatives are abandoning older folk at the emergency department of the hospital. Bayview needs patients, and has been put up for sale. Has the Private sector thought of turning it into a Nursing Home? (If you all do that now you have to pay me for my idea.)
    I will give them detailed reasons why this outsourcing idea would need the Private Sector (the collective) to do a 360 degree turn.
    Where is the Private sector in resuscitating the Agriculture sector of the island? where is the private sector in terms of using their contacts to increase the export of Barbadian products (agricultural and manufactured. Why must Government be expected to advance, finance, and push attendance of companies from the private sector at trade shows?
    The pprivate sector (collective) should be approaching foreign companies for joint ventures. government is to provide the saety nets for those unable to provide that net. Even if it has to tax rich people like you. Didn’t Wrren Buffet and Bill Gates tell the government to increase their taxes?

39. @Alvin Cummins December 3, 2013 at 10:24 PM “Simple Simon: I am not talking about rich individuals like you…By the way how many shares did you buy in the BNB?”

I did not feel very rich when I took the bus to to and fro work today.

Would have bought BNB shares but I was too busy paying exorbitant taxes (under both parties) raising the kids and paying the mortgage.

Rich??????I wish.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

40. @Simple Simon,
    What do you mean by “exorbitant” taxes? with children and a mortgage, as well as personal allowances your salary has to be good to pay such taxes. However you are contributing to the social fabric of the society, especially if you are taking the bus to and from work..
    I want to call on all Bajans, who love their country, to encourage all of their friends, family, even enemies, living in the Diaspora to send home to Barbados at least $10.00 every month to be put in a savings account, to invest in fixed deposits, buy treasury notes, or even buy some shares on stocks that are traded on the local stock market. We have over a hundred thousand Bajans living overseas; probably more than the present poplulation, but we will leave it at a hundred thousand. If each one sends home ten dollars in foreign currency; u.s dollars, Pounds, euros, or any other currency, that will be 100,000.x10=$10,000,000.00/month in additional foreign exchange. Ten dollars can’t kill anybody. Of course if every, or anybody, wanted to send more that will be acceptable. The important thing is for ALL bajans to come to the aid of their country.
    The Jews do it. Why can’t we?

41. “The important thing is for ALL bajans to come to the aid of their country.”

Why is it that every time the DLP runs the country down that there is all of a sudden this patriotic call for “all hands to the plough”; whereas even when the going seems to be good under the BLP, there are no such patriotic views to make the going better but rather the calls consist of hounding them from office on specious allegations of corruption or squandermania.

42. however patriotism means what is doing right and best in the interest of country, THE necessary call for all people to help support there countries economy in time of need should be commendable and not stoke with the rage and fire power of political yardfowlism

43. Investment decisions whether by individual,company or sovereign is based on having confidence in the market.

44. but one cannot and should not overlooked that asking our own to be demonstrative in support of ones country can dramatically lead to a change of confidence encouraging others to follow. similiar calls have been used in times of natural disaters. although this might not be such one of a kind the social and economic challenges which the country are facing does bear a similar resemblance

45. I think most of us including ac are apprised of our present predicament.I think too most of us are disinclined to accept the present administration to be
    capable of leading this country.
    It has been our history to have a two party system since the ’60’s and despite
    the prognostications of the PDC and others,the record of a good and acceptable governance of Barbados is only actualized in the persona of a BLP.That party is replete with talent and the concept of confidence is readily reposed within its modus operandi.The party has expertise in Tourism,Agriculture,Government,
    Finance,Economics,Manufacturing,Management,Health etc.In other words because of its programmes and policies over the years,the conservatism and
    thrift that resides in the average middle class Barbadian provide the
    sustenance upon which the GDP of the country improves during the years the
    BLP occupies the corridors of power.When we are operating on all fours,the only method used to remove the BLP is spreading lies about key party members

46. @Miller and Gabriel;
    Are you saying then that a call for ALL bajans in the diaspora to come to the aid of the country should be ignored by Bajans who are supposed to be “loyal sons and daughters all”? Were you saying then that the BLP does not support calls for Bajans to support or help their families, because the government is not in your hands at this time? Are you saying that because the lifejacket is not marked BLP that the swimmers in the water MUST ignore it? This is exactly what I am getting at. This is the attitude of businessmen, and civil servants who are only supportive of the BLP.
    @David, you say:
    “Investment decisions whether by individual,company or sovereign is based on having confidence in the market.
    Was there confidence in the market when the BS&T was being sold, when the BNB shares were up for sale, when the four Seasons ran into difficulty, when the Marina project could not get off the ground, and the business sector could not pull its weight? What sort of Bull are you trying to propogate David? Dammit it man, the elections are over, the time to support the country ; not the government, for the country will continue whichever party forms the next government.
    I am calling on ALL BAJANS, THOSE IN BARNADOS AND THOSE OVERSEAS, to come to the aid of the country.Why are you people trying to put obstacles in the way unnecessarily? If Barbados succeeds EVERYBODY benefits. You are just like the Republican party in washington. Nothing but negativity. Why would you discourage Bajans overseas from sending foreign exchange to the island when it needs it now?
    @Gabriel, you wrote:
    “The party has expertise in Tourism,Agriculture,Government,
    Finance,Economics,Manufacturing,Management,Health etc. In other words because of its programmes and policies over the years,the conservatism and thrift that resides in the average middle class Barbadian provide the
    sustenance upon which the GDP of the country improves during the years the BLP occupies the corridors of power.
    the evidence shows otherwise. In all spheres the BLP has not shown what you talke about. Your administration destroyed agriculture, through unwise practices and policies. Tourism figures began to fall during your administration and debt increased astronomically. Your failure to pay Al Barrack and saddle the incoming administration with that debt, has to be described as wicked and deceitful. Talking about governance, for the first time in Barbados’history there was a riot and subsequent fire at the Prison. Your leader was the attorney General at the time. The decision to build a new prison was hers, and the person (company) to whom she gave the contract for building a new prison was a company with known crooked connections. It resulted in a massive debt, (over 700 million dollars U.S. which was originally stated as 90 million, and whose repayment falls to this government.
    Anyhow this excerpt from the Standard and Poors report shows confidence. The only people showing lack of confidence is the BLP and their supporters.
    “poor economic conditions and fiscal constraints have caused difficulties for the current administration. In the February election, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was elected for his first full term (five years) in office. However, he now faces a stronger opposition as the DLP lost four seats in the lower house, maintaining a narrow majority.
    Nonetheless, we expect Mr. Stuart to continue to implement his economic agenda. Drug trafficking, money laundering,
    fiscal consolidation and economic linkages with other potential trading partners will remain key issues for the
    government.” (Standard and Poors Report 2013)
    Financial Sector โ–บ The banking system in Barbados remains liquid and well-capitalized in line with official requirements.”
    Nuff said.
    We Will survive!!

47. henderson bovell Avatar
    henderson bovell

Look DLP, stop playing games and just admit it! Your policies are not working. You keep making bad decisions! You do not know what to do next. Your Government is broke!

People who have money and those who can influence who have – do not have confidence in you. Things will not get better for the country with you as the Government.

The DLP has been a failure, which has caused far more harm than any good it has done.

Put an end to this famine you have caused. Just do the country the courtesy and call fresh elections so that the country can have the appropriate discussion and give the required mandate to a competent team. The DLP has nothing sensible to contribute!

When the BLP promised to work hard to ensure a “BETTER” and “BRIGHTER” tomorrow – they mean for dems too! It will therefore be easier to simply pass a law so you can get your pension, than for you to waste time trying to qualify for it and cause the country avoidable pain in the process.

In the name of God I beeseth you, depart and let the country be!

48. Prime Minister quoted in the news today that he will neither confirm or deny public sector layoffs but the topic is on the table.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | December 4, 2013 at 6:24 PM |

A drowning man grasping at straws! A forlorn man having to face naked reality but trying to save a hypocritical face.

Public sector layoffs were on the agenda for sometime now and was discussed and agreed around and under the tables and in the “cabinet”.
    How else can a MoF announce a $66.4 reduction in the payroll bill unless layoffs were agreed? How else could he have announced expenditure cuts in the August 2013 budget speech?

Pussyfooting, vacillating and obfuscating will get him nowhere fast and only make his integrity and popularity ratings be deemed as junk and performing like the deteriorating economy he is presiding over.
    Let him be man enough and announced on Friday coming that a few thousand temporary workers will be laid off in January 2014. At least he can hide behind the IMFโ€™s coattails and shout. Or will he be a coward at wait until the last Friday of the month when Parliament is on recess to drop the bomb everyone knows is coming in the first wave of public sector reform?

50. What a wuss!