Former Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

The top story of the week stoked by the local media is that a newspaper snagged a video which was circulating on Facebook for over a month and posted a blurred image of two teens having sex in a classroom full in the knowledge they were being video recorded. BU has no doubt the public outcry provoked by this incident like all the others before will pass with nothing material done to address the factors at the root of juvenile and parental delinquency in our society. It must be said that the newspaper at the centre of the incident must have experienced a spike in sales.

This is one week  since the Police Service Commission Report to Retire Commissioner Darwin Dottin was released by BU and ignored by traditional media. How can anyone take the local media and the bevy of talk show hosts seriously when in one breath they pontificate about the moral issue emanating from the sex video, and rightly so, but ignore an issue which attacks a key plank in our governance system.  What separates Barbados from the rest has been our ability to maintain law and order on our little island. Despite all of our challenges Barbadians have always prided themselves in being a peaceful and law abiding nation.

While Barbados was consumed this week by the sex video saga the global media reacted to news that the USA (Big Brother) hacked the phones of prominent persons across the globe. All part of adhering to national security. And in Britain there was the news that the long awaited trial of Rebekah Brooks and Andy Coulson is set to begin, a case where two journalists are alleged to have hacked the phone records of members of parliament, members of the royal family and others – Phone hacking: Court told of tabloids’ ‘decade of deceit.

BU is convinced there is a lot more to the story of Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin and his involvement with wiretapping activities in Barbados.  While the Police Service Commission (PSC) had the option to recommend to the Governor General the suspension of Dottin, rather than his removal from office for misconduct which would have involved a commission of Inquiry (COI), the PSC has been delinquent in the view of BU. It should have felt obligated to place its evidence before the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Attorney General and request that Dottin be criminally prosecuted. Such an approach would not have involved an expensive and challenging COI, merely the arrest and arraignment of Dottin and his trial on criminal charges. As far as BU is aware there is no law  which gives a Commissioner of Police immunity from criminal prosecution. The DPP would have examined the evidence, determined whether there is sufficient to charge the goodly gentleman instructing and charge and arraign him and bind him over for trial.  This idea of proceeding against Dottin to preserve his pension is ludicrous.

On behalf of the the late Inspector Anderson Bowen’s, BU pledges to ventilate this matter until the truth is known. The local media and cohorts can continue to do what it does best, pander to the advertisers.

122 responses to “Police Service Commission Should Have Passed Darwin Dottin’s File to the Director of Public Prosecutions to Seek His Arrest”

1. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;

Mightn’t it also be appropriate to extend the BU call to the current AG, during whose tenure much of the alleged wiretapping took place? If that is inappropriate, since (to be fair) being or not being AG when the original appointment of the CoP was made is unlikely to translate to necessarily being the CoP’s alleged puppetmaster or deep awareness of his alleged misdeeds, the matter might only be solved if a formal charge was made against the CoP and the various AG’s and PM’s (in both parties) and the directly aggrieved persons put on the witness stand. And is this likely at this stage since the PSC report and subsequent action seems to have ensured that the matter is unlikely to take that road?

Outside of that what would be a sensible rationale for Ms Mottley to unpick her teeth? and really, would anything Ms. Mottley or any other person allegedly involved in the matter, say outside the court system that would have any real binding or actionable value unless Ms Mottley very unpredictably came out and declared that the claims of the DLP unofficial surrogates linking her and the CoP in illegal activities were true?

So, outside of grandstanding, and perhaps inadvertently providing political fodder for distracting the people of Barbados from our perilous economic position, what is the real value of this BU campaign?

We heading down de cliff already.

2. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

I didn’t see the above posts by Miller and Bush Tea before posting mine above. But it seems to me that they both have significant elements of sense and contain an implicit strategy for attacking a future development similar to this wiretapping story.

For arguments sake only if we assume that the CoP was indeed involved in serious widescale wiretapping that was outside of legitimate national security concerns and was motivated by politics and perhaps a criminal scatter shot voyeurism as well and that Miss Mottley was involved in the matter as 1st a puppet master and then in operating one of the machines herself for political means then it seems clear that the PSC’s actions will ensure that neither Ms. Mottley or the CoP will have to answer to a court for the allegations.

The PSC report and the subsequent posturings of individuals allegedly involved in the matter, suggest that the PSC might have been more concerned with maintaining a certain kind of status quo (eg. securing the CoP’s pension rights) and removing a perceived political operative (the CoP) than in getting to the bottom of the situation and providing transparent justice in an even handed manner and thereby ensuring to the extent possible that such a matter never raised its ugly head again in fair Barbados.

The BU and Bush tea’s call for Miss Mottley and perhaps others to ‘fess up and undergo a voluntary BU trial is disingenuous at the very least. They are politicians. What could they gain from taking such a course? What could they lose?

On the other hand, assuming that they are guiltless in the above scenario, would anything they said change people’s mind about their guilt? Wouldn’t it make more sense to have their say if and when a formal case was made?

3. @ are-we-there-yet
    Spoken like one of the establishment lawyers of Barbados

Years of BU research and debate have long established that there exists in Barbados NO SUCH THING as justice practiced……
    All seeing persons now accept this reality.

Anyone therefore, who is now calling on the PSC to follow the steps that would have been followed in any NORMAL country to ensure that justice was dispensed ….against a former DEPUTY PM / AG / Senior Lawyer/ big-up Family mogul ….and an established COP ….could only be laughing at BU family members.
    Wuh you think Bushie is a brass bowl or Wuh?!?

EVERYONE knows that such an approach would have gone NOWHERE.

Why do you think that NO such PROSECUTIONS have happened successfully in Barbados in the last 40 years? ……because we have ALL honest politicians/ cops/ lawyers/ big-ups????!
    Steupssss

Obviously we have a few GOOD people on that Commission who ACTED (let Bushie repeat that word…. ACTED) to deal with clear illegality.

If they acted improperly, and two big up LAWYERS and a former PM are incapable of rebutting those accusations legally, or publicly, or anonymously on BU, or via statements from their counsel or from their priests or some shiite….then Bushie and other INTELLIGENT citizens will be able to draw RATIONAL conclusions.

This is NOT about their personal political futures! ….it is about TRUTH, JUSTICE, FAIRNESS and righteousness in Barbados.

LONG live the PSC.

4. A fundamental issue in the aboved matters is : when is wiretapping legal or illegal in Bdos , when this question is address we can proceed with meaningful debate.

5. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

But Bushtea. You miss my point.

It is that the PSC’s method for dealing with the problem did not and will not reach to the core of that problem and its solution if BU’s claim is true that the former AG was the puppet master in the former CoP’s alleged criminality.

The PSC’s actions might ultimately result in the permanent removal of the CoP but with his full pension and other perks. They also seem unlikely to establish any clear legal culpability and payment for his alleged crimes. The PSC’s actions will also do nothing about any of the alleged criminality of the former AG, Ms. Mottley. Those allegations are not made by the PSC but by anonymous people with apparent political agendas on BU.

But realistically, What does it profit the former and current LOTO to set up a campaign on BU to rebut the innuendos? Mightn’t it be better to keep any ammunition they have in this regard for any future formal and legal challenges in this matter?

If you want justice, it is very clear that the Bushtea and BU approach will not work and that the bus might have already left the terminus for any future action that could allow such justice to be adjucated and imposed.

The BU / Bushtea approach is an exercise in futility if the objectives that you state are real and are not just tongue in cheek prescriptions to allow some to vent and others to block. Changing absolutely nothing. Not one vote will change.

Of course there is still the possibility of politically damaging Ms. Mottley through the promulgation of unproven, and possibly unprovable, innuendo in this forum. But that is quite moot.

To me, there is no evidence that the action by the PSC comes from a deep sense of patriotism or otherwise by some of the members but rather as a result of asymmetrical thinking by FS, similar to his thinking in the AX affair.

But the parlous state of the economy still trumps all other current discussions re. politics. This matter does not rise to that level at this time.

6. There is no confidence in our governance systems.

7. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar
    Let them gather for they shall soon scatter

Are we there, I am sure you like Mottley, Arthur and Dottin would wish for this to go away but trust me it is going no where. Suffer your corruption for very much longer.

8. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David;
    Yes, you are right about the lack of confidence in our governance systems. But the solution may not be in promulgating unprovable innuendos. The trick might be to enjoin the protagonists to present assertions as such and not as facts until those assertions are proven. But the discussions must go on.

The discussion alone will not get the denounement you and I desire and we should not expect that just venting will lead to the desired solutions.

The problem with this case is that, by their actions, the PSC has chosen a path that will likely lead to a strengthening of the status quo, not its removal. To change the trajectory will require more than frank discussion of perhaps twisted facts.

9. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Let them gather for they shall soon scatter;

Yuh got me wrong. I don’t want it to go away. I want provable and proven facts to be discussed. Not innuendo.

I have never been involved in any aspect of corruption with any government or private sector entity.

Yuh got me wrong.

10. Where is the innuendo?

BU has posted a report prepared by the Police Service Commission.

The report makes a serious case against the suspended COP Dottin.

BU has used our right to ask questions based on what we know about the issue.

What we know is that the truth will not come to light if we trod the same old path.

11. No politician in Barbados
    will be locked up, censored
    or reprimanded for
    any misdeeds
    except t by the people themselves
    B’dos/very corrupt place -Yes !

——————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaagga – again!

12. Bushtea said;

“Why do you think that NO such PROSECUTIONS have happened successfully in Barbados in the last 40 years? ……because we have ALL honest politicians/ cops/ lawyers/ big-ups????!
    Steupssss”

__________________________________-

The only person (note i did not say yardfowl) who believes that shit is the die hard DLP supporter ALVIN………lol

13. What we know is that the truth will not come to light if we trod the usual path
    Well said David…..and no one probably knows that better that the members of the PSC…. ( 🙂 and “are-we-there-yet”).

Skipper, NOBODY who has followed BU (except for you apparently) identifies JUSTICE In Barbados with “going before the courts”.
    What court what?!?

Justice for MIa may well be most appropriately meted out by political means…..and BU is well able to achieve that….
    If she choose to remain silent, thinking Bajans will know what to conclude.
    If she speak and it is clear that she was responsible, then that speaks for itself.
    If it was Bushie and all was above board, As a public figure, the bushman would come clean…..

Bushie does not support any vindictive attempts to deprive the CoP of a means of feeding his family – after DECADES of public service….most of which would had to have been of a high standard.

Justice for him may WELL be loss of reputation, loss of Job and public embarrassment for betraying the trust placed in him.

As said before – WISE actions taken by the PSC.
    …would that we had more such commissions….

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet? | November 5, 2013 at 1:39 PM |
    “Yuh got me wrong. I don’t want it to go away. I want provable and proven facts to be discussed. Not innuendo.”

Innuendo is the biggest weapon in the arsenal of propaganda and vilification emanating from the mouths of blind foot soldiers like “Let them gather for they shall soon scatter”.
    We are still waiting to hear the explosion that was caused by the dud revelation of the Pegasus Hotel tapes or even the ‘facts” of corruption detailed in the still missing FBI report.

Here is one “factual” innuendo that cannot be disproved and dismissed. The Barbados dollar is in for a serious correction but this time an external agent would demand not only further internal corrections but also an external adjustment downward to make it ‘competitive’ with your regional competitors in the East Caribbean whose prospects for growth in tourism and international business seem to be much higher than Bim’s.

In the coming months- when the forex tank runs critically low- the actions (or lack thereof) of the PSC, Dottin, Mottley or even the GG, PM, AG, Bush Tea and the other duffers would look like child’s play when the foreign cat is thrown among the local pigeons. Let them debate that.

15. @ Miller
    “Dottin, Mottley or even the GG, PM, AG, Bush Tea”
    You REALLY owe Bushie an apology this time man…..Shiite!!!
    …you put Bushie ….LAST!?
    …and behind the AG too-besides?

This is IT!
    Choose your damn weapons skippa….!

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Bushie does not support any vindictive attempts to deprive the CoP of a means of feeding his family – after DECADES of public service….most of which would had to have been of a high standard.”

What feeding family what??? The man has grown up children that can fend for themselves like any other middle class Bajan family.
    What about the many civil servants who were deprived of their pensions for lesser infractions?
    What about the fellas who are caught with marijuana and are sent to jail unable to work to feed their families and saddled with a lifelong criminal record like a millstone around their necks?

What about Al Barrack still waiting over 5 years for justice as established by the Courts of Barbados and not Bushie’s kangaroo court?

What about the CLICO policyholders who were promised they would “soon” get back their investments misappropriated by a man of the same moral genotype you would wish to assign to the same man you do not wish to see face the law courts but given a slap on the wrist by the same kangaroo court you underscore as the organ of justice and fair-play?

17. That is the weapons you chose?
    Steupssss

man Miller, you cannot tell Bushie what to support. You are free to say what YOU support…….and if you want to execute a fellow for any mistake he may make…….. Then go right ahead….cause we all know that YOU are perfect and not a fellow could find you guilty of a thing.

As to your drug friends ….if THEY have made lifelong contributions to society and only made a mistake in judgement…… then Bushie won’t kill them either……

…and if Barrack made a legal tender and got that contract fairly and according to the rules…..Bushie would have paid him forthwith….

..you got any Bigger fire power?

18. ….and Miller
    If ANY CLICO policy holder could show Bushie how it could have been wise to invest their life savings with a man whose IQ is only slightly higher than ac’s …….
    ….then Bushie will personally reimburse them too….

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 5, 2013 at 3:31 PM |

The PM did! Are you saying his IQ is below ac’s for such a wise investment? No wonder he is your favourite politician LOL!! After all, he is the man who not only placed his savings in the ponzi scheme operated by the same man whose IQ is below zero (since ac’s is at zero) but also his abiding trust in and adoration of the same estimable gentleman Greenverbs the giant idiot referred to as the greatest and most successful black business executive in Barbados.

You admire FS extends to the same latitude FS admires Greenverbs.
    No wonder the country is down the drain. If you are looking, BT, for a role model or earthly idol why not look to Sinckler?
    There is also every chance that Sinkliar was also a sucker in the ponzi scheme but used his inside contacts to jump before the financial ship hit the fan, got his money out and was able to drive away with a Mercedes at a knockdown price.

PS: You owe the PM big time. Reimbursement, please!

20. @ miller
    Man you looking to fight dirty or Wuh?
    The challenge is to show Bushie how it made sense to invest with a moron……NOT that the INVESTOR was a moron…

LOL perhaps them fellows bright enough to know that come what may, tax-payers will pay for their risks..

Look sharp um is you and Bushie who are the jokers yuh…..

21. @Miller You are obsfacating the issues. Dealing with this issue does not mean we can’t del with others. You argument seem to want to make solving the COP issue contingent on solving others.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | November 5, 2013 at 5:09 PM |
    “You argument seem to want to make solving the COP issue contingent on solving others.”

Not at all! What is being demanded is the rule of law and justice. The CoP has been accused by the FSC as being the “engineer” behind alleged criminal activity.
    It is up to the FSC to prove its case by first following the same law.
    Le it make recommendations to the relevant agency or officials mandated by the Constitution for the arrest and charging of the CoP just like any other accused person and let the Courts decide that person’s guilt or innocence. If MAM or other politicians are involved in the alleged criminal activity then the investigation and evidence should reveal and corroborate all the speculation and rumour-mongering peddled by the likes of BT and his anti-Mottley motley crew.

We believe you have also subscribed to this course of action.
    All other “monkeying” around with the course of justice should be considered as machinations of those responsible for the governance of a banana republic.

“The only stable state is the one in which all men are equal before the law.” Aristotle

23. @Miller

Do you believe all politicians in Barbados have held unblemished reputations through the years?

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 5, 2013 at 5:49 PM |

No! Neither has any politician been charged and found guilty of malfeasance while holding public office.
    The laws governing public administration are framed to ensure meek, subservient and politically infected civil servants are the ones to carry the blame can and take any fall.
    If the CoP falls into that category, so be it!

25. @ miller who admitted…
    No! Neither has any politician been charged and found guilty of malfeasance while holding public office.
    The laws governing public administration are framed to ensure meek, subservient and politically infected civil servants are the ones to carry the blame can and take any fall.
    You really ain’t got no shame at all….
    You ADMIT TO THE ABOVE,…and yet here arguing strong that the PSC should have followed that same course, which ensured that “Neither has any politician been charged and found guilty of malfeasance while holding public office”..

…ya got Bushie here suspecting that you is a politician yuh…. LOL Ha Ha … Oh shirt!!

Based on your above, you should be CONGRATULATING this PSC for finally taking some kind of MEANINGFUL action to CHANGE the rot….

26. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

But Bushtea;
    You said “Neither has any politician been charged and found guilty of malfeasance while holding public office” and implies that the main effect of the PSC’s actions will be to effect the above.

But the path the PSC has taken will do nothing or extremely little to Politicians since, as far as I recall, it does not seek to nor brings evidence of malfeance against the former AG. That is being done by DLP Spin doctors and surrogates on BU, not the PSC.

You really have provided no evidence that the PSC has directly or indirectly sought to change the way politicians are treated. Their action has merely, as usual, sought to punish a public servant using possibly tainted evidence provided in a manner that is reminiscent of FS’s methodology that cares not one whit for due process.

27. Miller @5.37pm
    Well said and clearly understood by those who want to see justice.The PSC as presently formulated is nothing but a canker of lackey political hacks of corrupting influence upon the body politic and to think that one of that body is an Anglican priest,a clerk in Holy Orders,yet showing the weakness of an untrained street character.Why Gearbox would probably be more inclined to ask serious questions on such a serious matter,yet it has gone over the head of this unholy man.Is he a messenger of God or of the man in Bay Street!

28. As usual in Barbados of late we have the Bees against the PSC and the Dees pro PSC. Some things just don’t change.

On 6 November 2013 00:32, Barbados Underground

29. Clearly you are not there yet…
    Bushie implies NO SUCH THING….
    Bushie states ONLY that in an environment where lawyers – of the ilk of Miller, Gabriel etc – are able to protect their Lodge brothers, their family members and their political allies from ANY kind of criminal activities, by playing GAMES in our courts; by manipulating weak and hazy laws; and by well established DELAYING TACTICS – running into DECADES…..
    …it is REFRESHING to see a PSC take immediate and DECISIVE action to REMOVE an UNSUITABLE CoP from office and to EXPOSE to the public, the deeds of an unsuitable politician…. ….confirming what a former PM publicly stated previously.

People who have openly accepted BRIBES while in office, …many by CHEQUE….; who have flaunted the rules and the LAWS…. Have paid NO price for their well known actions…… BECAUSE WE LISTENED TO ADVISORS LIKE MILLER, GABRIEL AND A-W-T-Y.

However,….
    If anyone now feels STRONGLY that criminal actions should commence – so that some scrunting lawyers can extract some more of Dottin’s and the Treasury’s dollars over the next 15 years….so be it!

30. Thank you ‘are- we- there- yet’ for your enlightening comments on this leaking of the PSC report issue and its impact on the outcome of Mr Dottin’s removal from office and /or a successful prosecution if any of his alleged wrongdoings ; it is refreshing to welcome someone on BU with a philosophical and common sense approach to the tainted issue

David’s post below is instructive.
    David | November 4, 2013 at 5:35 AM |
    And Crusoe this is the point, we need to take the report out of the realm of speculation and test it for the facts if any.

31. As man balance….
    Have you ever been on a Board of Directors…with responsibility for the successful operation of a business or major operation?

Do you think that every time you lose confidence in a senior employee you would prosecute them in court?
    If information comes to your attention that your manager is acting illegally or unethically or unprofessionally….. Do you call the police and charge him?

…or do you act in the BEST INTEREST of the business, call him in, present the evidence to him/her and, if you remain unsure of that employees SUITABILITY for that job, ….peacefully and FAIRLY part company with the person?

How do you think the private sector would deal with such a challenge?

This is NOT an issue for low level operatives, so if it is above your pay grade feel free to say so….. 🙂
    …and don’t mind the foolish lawyers…they only looking for work…. LOL

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Balance

I am hardly one to complain about leaked documents but I must observe that this leaker could not have been a civil servant. We should note from the text of the report that the PSC stated that they prepared the document themselves. It was confidential and therefore the circulation had to be restricted. It is obvious that someone very senior is using BU to do their dirty work. Beware of Greeks bearing gifts.

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In your response to Balance you seem to be missing the point. If you were running a private business you would be within your rights to make such a call. However, in this case you are dealing with a public body that must comply with the rules set out in law. If the PSC had the information that they claimed, they were duty bound to follow set rules. They should have interdicted the Commissioner from the performance of his duties and instituted disciplinary proceedings. Also, if they had evidence of criminal activity, they should have reported the matter to the DPP. You cannot do the right thing the wrong way.

34. So Caswell..
    Was the CoP not interdicted from the performance of his duties? …or interdicted mean something else.
    …was disciplinary action not instituted against him? Did he not take the matter to court?
    How do you know that the matter has not been reported to the DPP….or is not in the process of being so delivered?

True that you cannot do the right thing the wrong way, but there are PLENTY ways to skin a cat…. 🙂
    …and the history is that in Barbados, you cannot get the right things done using the “right” ways – cause the lawyers get in the way.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

No Bushie. The Commissioner was not interdicted from the performance of his duties as is understood in the Public Service. He was placed on something called administrative leave which does not exist in the Public Service. And he certainly was not subjected to any disciplinary procedure: they proposed to retire him and send him home with full retirement benefits. That procedure would ensure that he would suffer adverse consequences if he were guilty of wrongdoing.

If the matter were reported to the DPP that would have been stated in the report. Any reference to the DPP now would be an afterthought to punish Dottin for challenging the unorthodox procedure employed by the PSC. Put simply, the PSC messed up.

36. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar

How anyone of you so called fair and honest people out there can find it possible to write a single word of support for either Mottley or Dottin two persons who have by their own actions undermined the integrity of the office of COP and Depraved Prime Minister / Attorney General and have in no small way infringed our rights to our own privacy and Freedom Of Speech, it is sad it is a despicable and dangerous route to take to have political person intruding on those rights of Barbadians.

Mind you it was not done under any guise of national security or was it ordered by any judge, they intrusions were done by Mottley for her own sick and depraved reasons and carried out by Dottin, to the BLP pimps on this site the file clearly states that many of the recordings were done for reasons political including her need to know Arthur’s every move against her.

37. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar

Frankly remind me again which Law School you graduated from and was in with Honours in Writing Utter Bull Shite?

38. @Caswell

Trying to follow your argument.

You have a concern about the report being leaked that we know. Bear in mind confidential reports are leaked all the time to media the world over, and of course there is always the debate about the people’s right to know versus all the other considerations.

Are you saying now that the report has been leaked that the public should not be equally concerned about the revelations contained in said report or are you mostly troubled with why it was leaked?

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t get me wrong: I am glad that the report has been leaked. I was just wearing my trade unionist hat trying to point out that the source could not be a civil servant and I don’t want any of them to become a convenient scapegoat.

40. Thanks Caswell, BU continues to be concerned about where do we go from here now that we have such serious positions being made known by the Police Service Commission (PSC), an important organ operating within our governance system.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This whole situation is laughable. Firstly, Carmichael resigned as Chairman of the PSC citing that he is now an independent senator and I assume that he would have suggested that serving in the two post would have presented some type of conflict of interests. I beg to differ, as an independent senator he should have been the ideal person since he should not have been aligned to either party.

Thereafter, a person who had been a platform speaker for the DLP in the last election campaign is appointed. While I am not casting any aspersions on the character of the new chairman, I can’t help feeling uneasy about the appointment, especially since it is widely known that the DLP wanted to remove Dottin from office.

I am also concerned that the PSC did not follow established procedure if I am to go by the report and Dottin’s letter which sent him on leave.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Dottin may have been let go wrong , But a crook still and many more things he have done wrong to Barbados and Violet ,Let him now think of his non action and the laws he did not follow ,
    We are glad he is gone , He did not earn his pay check, We saw his ass up at court looking for Justice,He got the right Justice no matter how late it came , But it came before he died, So he can feel the pain of non action,
    MIA and OWEN will be NEXT. Shame on they way out the door,Then the PM and MoF will be next ,,Yes we have our own list , some listed and some not , Sir Ham and Sir COW also, From the TOP down.

43. @ Caswell Franklyn
    You have the nerve to draw attention to the fact that the present chairman of the PSC was a platform speaker of the DLP during the last election but found nothing wrong with the appointment of an immediate past AG under the BLP regime as the countyr’s CHIEF JUSTICE? You do a great job of showing your lack of credibility and honesty .

44. yes indeed David no one can deny you or anyone else the decision to publish a confidential Government document leaked obviously for strategic political ends and which would as a consequence stir up a feeding frenzy among apologists from both sides of the political fence but the question of procedural fairness cannot be ignored in the overall scheme of things since to all intents and purposes, the report must eventually engage the attention of the Judicial process when the matter gets there adjudication.

45. The Sermon on the Mount gives us the qualities and virtues which we associate with discipleship. This document tells us how Christ’s followers are to live. The Beatitudes which form part of the Sermon on the Mount can be seen as character traits that define who we are and how we live.
    The Beatitudes invite us to cultivate in our lives the virtues of meekness, righteousness, mercy, purity, peace and endurance. We can add to these what might be called the Christian understanding of character given to us by Paul in his term the ‘fruit of the spirit’: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. When we look at the lives of the Saints we see countless numbers of persons who exemplified in their lives the “fruit of the Spirit”.
    The Feast of All saints can be used to draw our attention to the importance of moral character that determines how we behave in all circumstances. Our character is shaped by nature and nurture. There are some things we acquire from our parents and there are some things that come as a result of socialisation. We are all made in the image of God and this gives all of us the potential to live a good moral life. However, the environment in which we are raised can hinder our moral development and rob us of the opportunity to be people of sound moral character.
    A person’s character is formed by all the experiences that make him/she who he/she is and it determines how the person behaves in all his or her experiences. Without a good and informed character we are likely to make the wrong choices and do what is demeaning.
    Over the past days there has been much discussion about our young people and the need for them to develop good character traits. Some persons have been negative in their comments about our young people. The discussion and comments have been agitated by the publication which appeared in the Nation News Paper two week-ends ago. Regrettably, the children and their families will suffer mental and emotional pain as a result of the article. However, we need to get pass the ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ of the article and ask what can we learn from the story. Is there a message in the publication for the church, schools, families and the community at large? I think there is a message for the community. Sometimes what appears to be evil God can use for good. I think this is one instance where such can happen if we listen.
    We should not jump to condemn all young people as bad and no good. There are thousands of young people in our land who are living good lives, excelling in their chosen fields and making the best use of their lives. There are many young people of whom we can be proud. However, some of our young people are not making the best use of their lives and are involved in activities that damage their character and tarnish their images.
    Before we rush to write off our young people we must be reminded that they are the products of the society. They are shaped by the environment in which they are nurtured. They are being raised in an environment that endorses naked materialism, selfishness, individualism, lack of respect for people’s property, liberalism, untruthfulness, a society that does not have a sense of shame. They are living in a world that glorifies sex, violence and the rude boy behaviour. Our young people are being raised in an era that legitimises lewd behaviour. This is all that some of them know; this is not to excuse them for any kind of unacceptable behaviour but to highlight the complexities some of them face in making the right decisions.
    In a sense the society has failed its young people and must accept some of the blame if blame is to be apportioned. Much of the negative behaviour which permeates all sectors of the society is sanctioned by many adults in the name of expediency. Where we have failed as a society? What are we not doing? What can we do?
    For many young people what we describe as negative behaviour is a phase they are going through as they seek to establish an identity, experiment with their bodies, test their freedom and see how far we will allow them to go. They might not do it in the way we think best but they cannot be written off. Our duty is to walk with them and accompany them on their journey. We might lose some along the way but no one is beyond redemption.
    The challenge to us at this time is to create an environment that teaches our young people to be responsible; to be responsible in the use of their bodies, the Internet and social media, the use of their time and to strive for excellence. The discussion should not be about sex at school but about responsible behaviour in all spheres of life. Many of our young people have gone astray for lack of proper guidance and in some instances their questionable behaviour is a cry for help.
    What can we do to bring about some form of reformation?
    I believe that our families have a vital role to play to help our young people build a good character, to have a good name, to be of good repute. “A good name is more desirable than great riches; to be esteemed is better than silver or gold” (Proverbs 22:1).
    The importance of the family can never be over stated as it relates to building good character traits in our young people. The home must be the place where the accepted values of the society are passed on to children. If our home and family life is weak and dysfunctional we are going to have a weak and dysfunctional society. Unfortunately, in many instances some of our families lack the skills needed for disciplining their members. We need to empower parents with the skills that are required for good parenting. Groups like the Mothers Union and Men’s Fellowship that have the family as the focus of their ministry need to rise to the s occasion and step up to the plate.
    Parents cannot abdicate their responsibilities to the church and school. Parents must be involved in their children’s development and be aware of their activities. At times this will call for exercising ‘tough love’. As parents we must enforce the accepted values of society. Values such as truthfulness, honesty and respect are non-negotiable. As parents there are times when part of the character building of our children will require us to say no to some of their requests. Sometimes as parents we give to our children things that we should make them work for and unintentionally we contribute to their demise. Part of developing a good character in our children is to refrain from giving them the impression that life is a free ride.
    Finally, adults have a vital role to play as we seek to help our young people develop good characters. We must live good and wholesome lives and ensure that they are examples that can be emulated by the youth. Adults cannot seek to correct young people if their lives are shady and questionable. It cannot be a case of “do as I say not as I do.” We must ensure that as far as is humanly possible our lives are characterised by values such as humility, self-control, patience, truthfulness, honesty, purity and righteousness. We cannot speak to our children and young people if our private and public lives are crooked. If we seek to offer guidance to our children and young people and they know that our lives are fraudulent they will say to us “physician heal thyself”. We need to ask “what messages are we sending to our children and young people by the way we live.” Young people are not foolish; they are very observant and they know when we are living a lie. Let us as parents and adults set good examples that will aid positive character building in our children.
    God our Father, You see our children growing up in an unsteady and confusing world. Show them that Your ways give more life than the ways of the world, and that following You is better than chasing after selfish goals. Help them to take failure, not as a measure of their worth, but as a chance for a new start. Give them strength to hold their faith in you, and to keep alive their joy in your creation. Through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen

46. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Caswell;

As usual, some really perceptive non-partisan posts above. It is logical that the report was not leaked by a low level operative and that it quite possibly came perhaps directly but anonymously from one of the members of the PSC.

Just check these facts:

# The report only alludes to the CoP and his hearsay malfeances.
    # No linkage is made in the report to the former AG, MAM.
    # That alleged linkage is presented as fact, with necessary embellishments by some new posters and others on BU.
    # The Initial and continuing BU campaign is directed more at MAM than even the former CoP who actually appears to be a means towards a political end.
    # This thread (David’s) appeared to attempt to bring the focus back onto the former CoP but was somewhat highjacked by a few posters whose main focus is MAM and recently seems to be adding OSA into the fold of villians.
    # The PSC is now led by someone who was a platform speaker for the DLP (Bush Tea, the real reason for the change in MO by this PSC was not a desire to right wrongs nor bring criminals to justice but to get at MAM).
    # The PSC cannot be seen as being obviously partisan so the linkage must be done by others hence the leak of the document accompanied by the inputs of the new BU posters.

Connect the dots.

47. @ Caswell et al
    Look, we could continue playing stupid games all day…and frankly, Bushie likes nothing better that academic exercises in useless arguments….
    BUT the fact of the matter is that those petty rules of which Caswell speak applies to ORDINARY civil servants.
    Where in the world do you see such silly procedures being applied to top level operatives? Wuh only a brass bowl would expect that a board of directors or ANY directing authority could seek to apply ROUTINE disciplinary procedures to BOSSES and MANAGERS…

SKIPPA….the traditional methodology of dealing with wayward leaders is to put a couple stabs in their back. This is so because NOTHNG ELSE WORKS.

So what if the DLP wanted to get rid of Dottin? Bushie was calling for his dismissal from the time of the damn prison fire when Glendairy burnt to the ground WHILE OCCUPIED BY ARMED POLICE OFFICERS.
    If the damn DLP leaders had any sense they would have relieved both him and the army joker on the morning after elections for no other reason than that they failed to prevent UNARMED prisoners from burning down a prison while hundreds of fully armed police and soldiers stood around watching.

This place is full of brass…..
    How can anyone be surprised that we are headed for the rocks?

…and Caswell, this is a MANAGEMENT issue not some petty union matter. UNION RULES DO NOT APPLY TO MANAGERS….this issue is above wunna pay grade….

48. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar

Thereafter, a person who had been a platform speaker for the DLP in the last election campaign is appointed. While I am not casting any aspersions on the character of the new chairman, I can’t help feeling uneasy about the appointment, especially since it is widely known that the DLP wanted to remove Dottin from office.

As always Franklyn comments are totally amusing and nonsensical for many reasons, it is not the PSC that has convicted Dottin he was convicted by his own fellow police officers and himself, we’re here a decent clean. Officers he would not be being exposed as a puppet of Mottley by listening recording and then passing on these recordings to Mottley for her pleasure, he by his actions not the actions of the PSC is the reason he should be facing criminal charges in the Supreme Court Of Barbados.

This input from someone who is known to the Courts of Barbados for stealing a vehicle owned by the Crown and was sent to the Courts by Mottley when she was the Attorney General this Franklyn himself some one who has never managed to keep gainfully employed someone who thru his wife beating at the NIS property has been banned from being on the property, some one who supported the move from politician to Chief Justice in a matter of days, someone who presides over a Workers Union of one person himself, now tell me seriously what seriousness can be attached to anything this complete FRAUD will write or say, did he not also submit and sign a letter to the editor under the name of Sir David Seale? Where is the credibility and Honour in this joker? It must be carefully hidden from public viewing or it does not exist.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Let them gather for they shall soon scatter | November 6, 2013

Why don’t you apply the same kind of detailed analytical exposé to the state of the Barbados economy? Your red herrings can’t wish them away just like that.
    Or are you of the view that the current state of the economy heading hard for social dislocation is just a figment of Caswell’s imagination?

50. Let them gather for they shall soon scatter Avatar

Mianaki,

This discussion is about Wire Tapping and FRAUD and a Corrupt CoP and a Corrupt Dep Prime Minister and Attorney General.

This is far more important than your diversions and distractions this matters rocks the foundations of TRUST in both departments and both should be charged and sent to prison and unlike the wishy washy press you control BU has the Balls to give the People of Barbados the information for their own interpretations and trust me even those that do not write on this site have visited to read the story and trust me they may not write on here as you do to support your party thru their corrupt actions but those who are reading are in the far majority saddened and sickened by this conspiracy of Mottley and Dottin to intrude on their privacy those non writers some even your diehard supporters are disgusted by having found out the levels to which a former Deputy Prime Minister and CoP would go for political advantage over the Opposition.