309 responses to “Caribbean Court of Justice Shanique Myrie Decision”

1. A classic case of “tail wagging the dog.

2. @ac. Very funny. If I understand you, which I believe I do. You are naughty and have given me a laugh, many thanks, I needed it. I have to confess, however, that I am counting the minutes down. I watched the case on streaming video when the CCJ sat in Barbados and I am VERY interested in the judgement. It is, in my view, an acid test for the admittedly excellent judges of the CCJ. Their problems with this case transcends any problems that the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council would have had with such a case. These judges were seriously under the gun, as the Privy Counsel would not have been. Let us not discount the pressure on them on this one. It must have been like having the world on your shoulders. So now I wait with breath firmly bated, to see how they have done – and I think we all owe these judges the courtesy of not judging the decision as partisan Bajans, but as citizens of the Caribbean as a whole. Indeed, ourselves, as impartial judges. Anyway, that is what I intend to do.

3. De lawyers representing Barbados din all dah impressive tho’ … my problem is that they still get pay …! Ugh …

I admit to having a bias, and that is that Miss Myrie is a Caribbean woman … in situations l will ALWAYS err in her favour …

4. Personnalywhich ever way the decison goes ac have no qualms. however with so many misteps by barbados being presented in the case ac would be hard press as judge to give a favourable decision to hometerritory. hopeful all lessons would have been learned. as for myrie she would not remaine unscathed the are many unanswered questions as those as to her purpose of business and her place of abode

5. @Baffy. Agree with your regional views completely, as you know. I got to say, though, that I thought Roger Forde did a very good job. I think he earned his fees. I nearly died laughing when he told the court that perspective was important, for instance if he lived in China, he would be tall. Very difficult one to decide, though. Many faults on both sides. I know how I would call it without being partisan Bajan. And neither side would be a clear winner. Which is why I can hardly wait to see what the superior brains (to mine anyway) of the CCJ has decided. Going to be very interesting indeed.

6. having a political decision would then cast the CJ into a categorary of political stools and the fall out can damage or hurt the court image in cases such as these. i believe the CCJ would distant themselves from such theatrics and render judgements baed on “evidence”

7. Amused

It is 10:30 … Dese Judges traveling pon LIAT ..?

8. Wait Baffy
    It going be on D radio? Better still in Whitepark?..a lil boy like onions cud go in dey and sit down?Cuz I would love a airing.

9. We must all bear in mind, particularly the biased ‘patriots”, that the passport being issued to Bajans now says, Caribbean Community, then it says Barbados, i applied for one recently and that is what mine says, i believe everyone else’s says the same.

10. Wangechi Mutu observes: “Females carry the marks, language and nuances of their culture more than the male. Anything that is desired or despised is always placed on the female body.”

11. The CCJ website is saying that the judgement is due to be handed down on Friday at 10.00 am.

12. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

OA 002 of 2012
    Jamaica
    4.10.2013 at 10:00am
    Conference Room
    2nd Floor
    Shanique Myrie Barbados
    Delivery of Reserved Judgment
    (By Video- Conference)

13. Thanks Jeff Cumberbatch ! Baffy ……stupess !

14. Sorry for misleading on this matter, we got our dates wrong. Like Everybody we are all on edge waiting for this decision.

15. @Baffy. Apparently. LIAT.

In my quite wide experience with the Privy Council, counsel for the parties send a very junior lawyer to the PC for 09:30. They identify themselves and the party they are representing and are handed the written decision with the statement “upheld” or “denied”. Then, about half an hour later, it appears on the PC website. Hopefully, by now the CCJ website will be in the process of being updated, or shortly to be updated. It appears to me that the judgement is being read on videoconference to counsel concerned. Frankly, I expect it to be quite a long judgement of at least 75 pages. Also we need to factor in that it may not be unanimous and dissenting judgements will also then need to be read. It seems likely to me that even if it is unanimous, judges may have arrived at their conclusion in different ways and that too needs to be read to the court. In the circumstances, we may be a bit premature to say that they are flying LIAT. Almost certainly more than the main judgement will have to be read to the court. I just cannot see all the judges completely agreeing with each other. Remember, these are not Barbados judges, the CCJ people know what they are doing and are not looking for a fast out by letting one moron write the judgement for the other morons.

But I am VERY eager to see it.

16. So LIAT off the hook … Stupse

17. You finally get control of your island and you are not allowed to say who can come and stay,,,,how absurd. I am sure all the unemployed lawyers were lining up to take the case. Remember judges were lawyers so they will have to come up with some result that everyone will get paid at the taxpayers expense.

18. What insipid nonsense …!

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 3, 2013 at 10:00 AM |
    “… as for myrie she would not remaine unscathed the are many unanswered questions as those as to her purpose of business and her place of abode..”

What questions remain unanswered? Wasn’t Shanique- a citizen of a Caricom territory and holding a valid passport at the time- allowed to visit any territory she sees fit?
    If she was held carrying a contraband substance like marijuana or cocaine it would have been a different story. But she only had her god-given female assets. Now what is wrong with that? One can bet if she was a Muslim woman of East Indian or Middle Eastern descent she would have been treated better than the Queen of Sheba untouchable to black Bajan hands.

Just a bunch load of tin pot dictators behaving like monkeys handling guns when it comes to regional integration.
    Black people are their own worse enemies and by the treatment of their own kind would always remain inferior to other ethnic groups. Ask any white person for confirmation.

20. You see there is every reason to believe that there are more than a few women in Barbados who will see i2i with the likes of Miller and Amused on this … not..!

21. Queen of Sheba?????? she more resembles one of those indian mother goddesses with many arms…… all with there hands palm up

22. miller even though she is a citizen of the caribbean rules dictates that one must give credible and truthful information as to . purpose and place of abode indicating that her stay is valid and for whatever reason she could not met her commitments during her stay she would not be a burden to govt, it’s more than her not being allowed entry based on color or ethnicity but a rule which is also applied internationally obviously to prevent illegal entry of persons with questionable backgrounds, in this case she barely could explain sufficiently as to whom and where she was going to stay,

23. Did Michael Lashley give credible and truthful information to US customs re declaring more than $10,000 in his possession, why was his visa revoked??……it is time to stop acting highly moralistic and holier than thou ye rabid ‘patriots’.

24. Agree with Amused that this will be an interesting decision as it relates to rights of Caricom citizens under the RTOC. It is not slam dunk and represents the tension of operating in a union.

25. If Barbados loses, and for the sake of womanhood, I hope to hell that it does, the idiots involved at the airport should be made to pull their pockets. Tax payers should not be made to fund shite behavior …

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 3, 2013 at 5:47 PM |

If you were to apply that rule to every woman who arrives at the GAIA a whole lot of Bajan men including some of the well- connected social elite like Mr. ac would have to ‘take matters into their own hands’ when the Friday & Saturday nights come.

We are sure you, ac, given your spirit of inquisitiveness and wanting to be au fait with everything going on whether above or under board would have visited a few whore houses and private clubs in Barbados. Maybe you can get Mr. ac to accompany you to Rehab or Ace of Diamonds for a treat.

Do you think all of those girls are home-grown performers or have a work permit to entertain Bajan men and some women?
    Your hypocrisy knows no bounds. Myrie was just a deal that went awry.
    The officials, both political and bureaucrats, take bribes to allow the seedy business to turnover which provide a much need service that Bajan women are too proud to supply at a reasonable price as the market requires.

License the clubs and make it a legitimate business to provide some more revenue into the government coffers. There are many precedents to look at for a workable model. The country needs it and is already prostituting itself.
    Ask Bushie what is ‘Tourism’ in his books.

27. When all said a dun ..Myrie may walk with a cool million..what we should be concern wid ..that it will never happen again..camera yes…..we need to be in a position to be never again to be so exposed.

28. myrie entry into another carribbean country under a caricom passport does not take precedant to the immigration laws that govern the country into which that person is entering, these rules are bindding and are there to protect the goverance and constitution of a country, those who mightr have gained entry through favours or might have been carelessly overlooked by officers not capable of doing their job ,does not make the law null and void,.furthermore this case might have been a standard bearer into making sure that the laws that govern each island individually are interpreted so as not to cause confusion and are equally applied to all. So miller next time you decided on doing any illegal transactions mek sure that your whores have their papers and documents readily available for tough examination. myrie might have won this round, but overall the govt might be given more led way as in the interpretation and application of the laws as to be determined by ccj multiple rulings in this case. MY hands are FOLDED.

29. We have no money to buy spare parts to service almost half of the Transport Board’s fleet, where the heck are we going to get a Million dollars to service Ms Myrie?
    Bizzie Williams is laying off staff because the government has no money to pay him for his product and services. Since the Barbados Government has/had a lot of buildings that were otherwise serviceable, but most of which were allowed to become derelict, so that money could be put back into election campaign supporters ,like Bizzie’s, pockets ,by paying high rent for office space in buildings owned by him, then the Stephen Lashleys should be made to personally pull their pockets and settle up with Bizzie and others.

30. “Black people are their own worse enemies and by the treatment of their own kind would always remain inferior to other ethnic groups. Ask any white person for confirmation”

Haven’t I made this awful comment in this forum time after time. seems i have a convert.

31. ‘in this case she barely could explain sufficiently as to whom and where she was going to stay,”

Ac this is not unusual but a regular occurrence which is more often than not sorted out to the satisfaction of both parties. On a visit to Jamaica I sat next to a lady who could hardly speak English and was confused about the two names but one address given her and her uncertainty about where or with whom she was staying. it turned out that the person picking her up was not the person with whom she was staying. Any how I was impressed with the willingness of the Jamaican immigration officers to assist her and not send her back. Yes, Ac and not all immigration officers in Barbados are overzealous. Ms Myrie might very well be telling lies but it is possible too that she might have been given a name and an address of someone she never met which is not unusual based on my personal experience.

32. ‘Did Michael Lashley give credible and truthful information to US customs re declaring more than $10,000 in his possession, why was his visa revoked??……it is time to stop acting highly moralistic and holier than thou ye rabid ‘patriots’’

Well,Well- I hope you are not allowing your political exuberance to influence your judgment in slandering Mr Michael Lashley.

33. Boss….
    I frighten enuff to wager a bet esp. pun BU …..(lol)…normally in hay when I predict north is south…given dat,,….Ms Myrie in for a pay-day……(murder)..he he he…beat dat !

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The SSS says that the ruling after considering all the facts, loopholes lies on both parts, will be one for the Caricom. Miss Myrie more than likely and base on the fact that the decision will resonate an outcome for the Caribbean’s initiative for the free movement of Caricom nationals might win this case

35. balance…………i don’t have a political bone in my body……….. local politicians/lawyers are known for committing crimes and when it is exposed call it slander…………..time for lashley to sue the US government for slander, and while he is at prevent himself for being indicted for money laundering when the DLP government is kicked out.

36. Sunshine Sunny shine has made some perceptive points. I would add that sensitive cases are not always or only decided on the basis of law and the Myrie case is one such case since the framers of the law under which this case falls i.e the Caribbean Governments became emotionally involved at the outset and a win-win situation to satisfy the interests of the particular Governments involved and indeed the wider Caricom in my view would be the outcome. The Privy Council would have had no such dilemma.

Immigration would have been within their right to revoke her entry if justifiable reasons existed but on the other hand, were they within their right to detain her or manhandle her if so proven?

37. “time for lashley to sue the US government for slander, and while he is at prevent himself for being indicted for money laundering when the DLP government is kicked out.”

was hearing similar allegations of corruption against BLP parliamentarians when they were in office and what has been the outcome

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | October 4, 2013 at 8:27 AM |
    “… the Caribbean Governments became emotionally involved at the outset and a win-win situation to satisfy the interests of the particular Governments involved and indeed the wider Caricom in my view would be the outcome..”

You can expect the politics of jingoism to be at play here.
    Any decision that exonerates the Barbados government from paying damages to Ms Myrie would give the Jamaican government further excuse Not to fully join the CCJ.
    In order to appease the masses Jamaica might just follow through with its touted plan to set up its own equivalent P C; reminiscent of the famous break-up of the federation when “one from ten equaled naught”.

It could also spread to other jurisdictions not yet full members but whose citizens carry the feeling the Barbados immigration officials and politicians are xenophobic when it comes to people, especially black, from the so-called inferior territories snobbishly referred to as the “low islands”.

This decision could be make or break for the future of the CCJ as a true regional institution and a test to see if it can operate above petty insular political considerations and be a true Court of Justice. Barbados might just be the sacrificial lamb in the interest of the Court’s future.

39. Miller ..

… and all because some jealous, belligerent, jack ass woman decide to show off as boss by sticking she decrepit finger up another woman’s privates …!

40. The CCJ will have to rule and support its decision in law open to peer review and general scrutiny. Why does we give them a chance to deliver.

41. Definitely not the year for Barbados. We seem to be blighted. We do not need a Wickham poll for this one……leadership is everything more so now..esp as balance states…a very “emotional case” this one…time will tell as is soon time.

42. hmmm Let’s see! The Americans have a best practice of breaking bad news on a Friday. The intent is that with the weekend sandwich in between, come monday, whatever “bad” news there was on Friday would be somewhat stale. Does this mean that Myrie has won her case? 🙂
    I think so, another black eye fuh those stuff up bajans who think they are more than anybody else in the caribbean. I believe there is a view that caribbean integration isn’t happening this time around because of Bajans……

43. Those of you all who were quick to call this woman a whore, prostitute and more, just remember you have mothers, daughters and sisters. It shows how little respect we have for our womenfolk.

44. I am Dreaming

I am dreaming that Myrie did not present a good case
    But She will be awarded some money

45. Not sure if the stream will be accessible to the general public.it appears that it is being streamed to the Supreme Court.

46. Looka ere CCJ ….you better not test fart on us..pooop

47. Indeed Myrie – I think – doesn’t have a strong case, but there is more to this than the merits of her argument, and I think there is a strong urge to give into that urge and attend to some of the regional politics via their ruling.

48. Wah streaming where … can’ find the stream … You mean I have to go into town to find out …? 100% sure David Ellis gun be dey … fah sure … He likes hi profile lime lights .. so better stay where I is …

49. KNEW IT

$77,240.00