309 responses to “Caribbean Court of Justice Shanique Myrie Decision”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@old onion bags | October 4, 2013 at 10:02 AM |

Didn’t now you were a fan of George Carlin! He was one of the greatest standup comic.

You are a man of exquisite taste in serious comedy. George’s brand of comedy would attract limited appeal among Bajans because of their simplistic superficial interpretation of real comedy. George was really anti-establishment whose criticism of society would not fit in well with the ‘don’t-rock-the-boat’ mindset of the local pseudo intelligentsia.
    You should recommend George to the Bushman. LOL!!!

2. The possibilty that she might be compensated lies in the fact that there are glaring holes in the prosecution evidence which were/ are problematic and lead to suspicion. and coverup

3. We are awaiting formal posting of the decision but Myrie has been awarded 70 thousand plus. The gist Is that Caricom Law supercedes Barbados law. stay tuned! Barbados escapes with a rap on the knuckles.

4. Yeah Miller boi,

Dun know Onions enjoys good fooling ….. though I would rather not incl. Bushie de Outback man in our mandolin….. his life’s trip is more that of a palin cock gathering metaphysical trinkets a string bag, while hoping to deprecate all mankind for any having reason for a few moments euphoria at the man’s joyous plights…..Bushman would denounce Carlin as another lost cynic and waste of time BBE.

5. Doubt Ms.Myrie feels good with the decision…..most of the 70 gran will be legal fees and travel…..a long way off a cool Mil. We await the other half re Caricom travel and entry.

6. CCJ rules Barbados breached Jamaican national right to enter country

Written by CBC NEWS Friday, 04 October 2013 10:34

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) Friday ruled that Barbados had breached the right of a Jamaican national when she sought entry into the country in 2011, but stopped short of awarding the one million Barbados dollars in compensation she had sought.

“In all circumstances the Court made a declaration that Barbados had breached Miss Myrie’s right to enter Barbados. The court ordered Barbados to compensate Ms Myrie in pecuniary damages in the sum of BDS2,240 and non-pecuniary damages to the tune of BDS$75,000.

“The Court also ordered Barbados to pay Ms Myrie’s reasonable costs. The Court refused all other declarations and orders sought by Ms Myrie and Jamaica,” the CCJ ruled.

Shanique Myrie, 25, had been granted leave by the CCJ to file the action, alleged that when she travelled to Barbados on March 14, 2011 she was discriminated against because of her nationality, subjected to a body cavity search, detained overnight in a cell and deported to Jamaica the following day.

Myrie also claimed that she was subjected to derogatory remarks by a Barbadian Immigration officer and asked the CCJ to determine the minimum standard of treatment applicable to CARICOM citizens moving around the region.

7. How much is the 30,000 or more square feet upstairs Trimart Complex Haggatt Hall costing the Government Stephen Lashley?

8. Good luck tuh wunnuh, um aint only bush that will overun Barbados. 🙂

9. Here are the original documents from the CCJ who like the raw stuff.

http://www.caribbeancourtofjustice.org/uncategorised/ccj-rules-in-favor-of-shanique-myrie

10. What is the price of humiliation … huh? … and is the Court not privy to the admiral track that the Government has developed in obeying orders to pay plaintiffs … huh?

11. admirable

12. Is it unreasonable to expect that Barbadians will be addressed from the PM, AG or others on this matter? We are talking about the pride and divinity of a people here damit!

13. Now tune in to VIB to hear Ellis and Johnson talkin’ obviousness and trying to make it sound like a knowledgeable and profound offering … two FF’s , if ever there were more classic examples such … Now these two will promote their respective images as two who are qualified to discuss such weighty topics … Needless to say I have already changed the station

14. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Nation newspaper columnists Tennyson Joseph, Peter Wickham and Ricky Singh will love this verdict and their obvious regional bias will be reflected in their upcoming columns.
    I hope that the Nation newspaper will try to give some balance on this issue as they have not done on political and economic matters.
    It is always good to give readers some balanced coverage and not spin.

15. It seems that EVA’BODY … EVA’BODY except the few here pun BY glad the woman win … I AM A PROUD BARBADIAN TODAY … I tearing up now …!

16. David

If you had the where with all you would probably find out that the PM and the AG are conveniently out of the country on “the nation’s business”

17. At the end of the day, the Myrie case and all the complaints about the bad attitudes of the people we meet first upon entering the country has resulted in a fundamental and welcomed change from one year ago when i entered Barbados……proud is not a word i use lightly but i am proud to see the change, the smiles, the greetings and respect now being shown to everyone…may it last forever, it is a start.

18. This was a slam dunk for the defendant.m. at everymove the oprosecution was conrneredv showing the uineoptuitude and arrigance of the imigration officials from the beginning to end .firstly by giving myrie admittance they all but admitted she had a right of entry.then the key stone cop tainted their argument when they suspiciously did not interview Myries host even though they knew he was at the airport to pick her up. .Too many Lies and coverups was the straw that broke the camels back. Justice prevailed

19. Now govt MUST move forward with haste and address this issue expediting as court ordered .therfore shutting down arguments and counter arguments from the opposition. closure of this Issue must be met with SPEED. disallowing the BLP yardfowls any traction going into the next election.

20. The diabolical reality is that a woman get she privates violated in a dingy toilet and get 75 grand, but two lawyers walk way wif close tah 500 grand fah losing a case … I wonder wah de reasonable costs that the Court talk ’bout gon’ be … afterall look wah de Bajan lawyers mek .. Myrie shoulda get a commission …

21. Now govt MUST move forward with haste and address this issue expediting as court ordered .therfore shutting down arguments and counter arguments from the opposition. closure of this Issue must be met with SPEED. disallowing the BLP yardfowls any traction going into the next election.
    …….to what are you referring…..weather-cock ac?

22. Barrack…ent get nuh money now affa 8 yrs……..wuh wuh Myrie …oh dear … weather-cock..oh dear..lol

23. BAFBFP does it seem like insipid nonsense now. All lawyers got paid, all judges got paid a lot more than her I bet. all at the taxpayers expense Take your head out of your ass now and again and you will see how the real world works

24. Lawson I wish I could ketch you in a dingy toilet … you know where I would shove my whole foot … mek you yelp wif pleasure …! Then more lawyers and Judges would fin’ cause to mek lil’ money …!

25. As a jurior i take issue in disagreeing that the laws of Caricom overides each individual state. this case was an unusual in the sense that the events and circumstances in this case merited judicial opinion and in noway takes away the rights of states to protects its borders in a legal and efficient manner.

26. @Baf

Have you read the decision? Did it say anything about cavity search?

27. If McClean and the other idiot Husbands had sought to settle the case between the two governments instead of trying to paint the black female Myrie as a known whore, knowing fully well it was her first trip to the island, then there would be nothing to be embarrassed about and the whole matter would have gone away a year ago having been settled between two neighbors…………those two clowns (senators, did i not say those females in parliament are soft in the head) can be thanked for Barbados’ embarrassment due to their arrogance of believing they are above the law when violating the rights of others.

28. BAFBFP before threatening to put your foot anywhere you first should take it out of your mouth. If misdirection passes for an apology in Barbados I will accept your apology . Now I cannot accept your offer of visiting you in your dingy toilet, as I don’t swing your way but I am sure with your knowledge of the internet and mastery of the English language I am sure it would not be hard to find a buller who owns a flashlight that meets your satisfaction.

29. BU urge commenters to read the decision which deals with the rights of Caricom citizens under the RTOC at ports of entry and less if nothing to do with an aleged cavity search. Read for heavens sake.

30. David
    No mention from what Whickham said on radio … but apparently from those who heard the proceedings, her story came across a believable. There should have been something on cavity searches though, that should have been addressed … stupse.

Lawson
    I don’t need nah torch light to spot foolishness. I know that you ain’ nah bulla, da is why I mention the inconvenience of the foot up the ass … but I yes am indeed capable of making an apology while still keeping my foot firmly buried …

31. @Baf

If you don’t mind let us analyze the decision and what it men’s for Barbados and the Caricom and not what PW believes.

32. Now govt MUST move forward with haste and address this issue expediting as court ordered .therfore shutting down
    —————————–
    JOKE !
    you mean
    30 YEARS FROM NOW

33. I will be the first to offer sincere apologies to Miss Myrie if no one else on BU…….you have had your day in Court and won…. Many many Barbadians are deeply saddened today.

34. This was a slam dunk for the defendant. . at everymove the prosecution was cornered showing the ineptitude and arrogance of the imigration officials from the beginning to end .firstly by giving myrie admittance they all but admitted she had a right of entry.then the key stone cop tainted their argument when they suspiciously did not interview Myries host even though they knew he was at the airport to pick her up. .Too many Lies and coverups was the straw that broke the camels back. Justice prevailed
    having said that absence of scientific evidence the ccJ awarded her compensation that would compensate any physchological damage Myrie might have endured. fair and correct decisions..
    today is a dark day for country having once again to defend itself in the court of public opinion govt now can yield and do what is right or retreat and pretend as if our country was wronged. Ac call on govt to DO WHAT IS RiGHT in the business interest for all those involved Our Nation’s integrity has been scared and now more than ever it is time to put our best face forward and learn from these mistakes.

35. “This was a slam dunk for the defendant.m. at everymove the oprosecution was conrneredv showing the uineoptuitude and arrigance of the imigration officials from the beginning to end .firstly by giving myrie admittance they all but admitted she had a right of entry.then the key stone cop tainted their argument when they suspiciously did not interview Myries host even though they knew he was at the airport to pick her up. .Too many Lies and coverups was the straw that broke the camels back. Justice prevailed”
    AM I READING RIGHT AFTER YOUR PRIOR CONDEMNATION MS MYRIE AND UNBRIDLED SUPPORT FOR THE IMMIGRATION AUTHORITIES VITUPERATIVE YOUR ABOVE COMMENT SEEMS RATHE WEATHERCOCKISH. I WONDER AT TIMES IF YOU READ WHAT YOU WRITE OR YOU JUST WRITE BECAUSE THE FORUM IS FREE

36. .ac…..while you at it why YOU ALL don’t tekk all waana georgie bundle and GUH SO!!! D whole Bubbadoes would be the better for it..fa real…blundda affa blundda….shite man!

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 4, 2013 at 2:24 PM |

You, ac, owe the young lady Shanique Myrie an apology.
    You referred to her as a prostitute who came to Barbados with nefarious intentions to corrupt the moral fabric of Bajan society. You even supported the alleged acts of the Immigration officer(s) to cavity-search the young Nubian woman which blatantly violated her human rights arguing that Barbados has the right to protect its borders from people like Ms Myrie.

Now that the CCJ has ruled more in the favour of Ms Myrie are you going to accuse the judges of being influenced by Opposition forces to unseat your neurotic administration by making them look incompetently stupid? This is one situation you can’t blame on the international recession.

Why not call for Barbados to withdraw from the CCJ and even Caricom? You might find solace in the arms of Bush Tea on such a crusade.

Seeing that your administration is suffering from a serious case of implementation deficit psychosis are you going to leave the Myrie debt to be settled by the soon incoming administration along with the Barrack, Lagan and 3S.

38. @Miller

Has the ruling exonerated Myrie from the fact that she was entering Barbados to visit Fontabelle?

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 4, 2013 at 4:43 PM |

She would have been a massive hit among both men and women. Loads of SJP’s would have been thrown in her direction or pushed in her G-strings. You have missed out on a star attraction. Ask the 3 MPs who are regulars. They take the word “Rehab” quite literally.
    Hint, hint!! Wink, wink!!

40. I am with BAF on this one. The difference is that from the time she got her case heard at the CCJ I knew she would have won.
    I listen to the line of argument by some of the Judges and knew the case was already lost.
    Barbados is the only country in the Caribbean that would have lost this case.
    The judges are like the other Caricom Nationals in that they do not respect us. They all feel we are too arrogant.
    There is no way that Trinidad joining that court.
    Let us go back to the London Privy Council. She would not have won that case there.

Well Well you like you is some kind of idiot. Have you ever seen an American immigration officer smile and say welcome? Have you seen it in Trinidad? I have never yet met a smiling immigration officer in any of my travels. Why pick on Barbados immigration officers. You think they are clowns to be smiling all the time.

41. So yes i did say orginally that barbados does have a right to protect its borders and still ascribed to such. it is the law. However i never accused myrie of any such illegalities as the ones you described.

42. Clone

You really ain’ wid me hear but that is alright … Yah soun’ very pleasant today even though Wells may not agree … HA

Miller

According to the Jamaican Observer
    “The court ruled that evidence Myrie presented about an illegal cavity search and detention in an unsanitary cell at the Grantley Adams International Airport and subsequent deportation was powerful enough for them to award her BD$2,240 in pecuniary damages and BD$75,000 in non-pecuniary damages.”

and

“dismissed claims that Myrie was discriminated against solely because of her nationality and made no judgement on behalf of the intervener, which is the Jamaican state”

and

“It also ordered that Barbados alter its laws to be in harmony with the Revised Treaty of Chagarumas which speaks to the free movement of Caribbean nationals throughout Caricom”

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/CCJ-rules-in-favour-of-Shanique-Myrie#ixzz2gn5j09Uf

43. The case was lost, hardly, everything unfolded as it was meant to happen ALL THE LAWYERS GOT PAID …she got 36000 us dollars, it sounds better when you say 3.6 million dollar award (Jamaican) . This wasn’t about the merits of the case it was to make sure all the lawyers got a piece of the action. Lets see what the total cost of the case ends up, and who really were the monetary winners

44. I confuse … but I ain’ cay … cause she win … and now she is a star billing … in Jamaica, Barbados (if she get let back in) and Trinidad … HA. She might even lay down a track or two (although the Myrie last name might be viewed with suspicion in the US following last year’s conviction..)

Any now she got $3.6m Jamaican dollars, that mek she a millionaire and if in fact she could pole dance I fah one would pay ta see she … She would be best advised to cash in on her fame …

45. @miller

We all need rehab at some time.

46. Lawson

Wait … I din mean to cuss you … We saying the same blasted t’ing. You had to be so f#ckin’ difficult ..?

47. BAFBFP the sad thing about this case is that police or custom officers will turn a blind eye to some indiscretions not to be caught up in this kind of event which may ,jeopardize their jobs and pension allowing things to be smuggled, undesirables to enter etc. I hope as you indicated she invests here new found wealth wisely, a new pole or a round of drinks for her friends what a pittance she got lol,,,,,,,wait to you see the overall bill if you ever do.

48. Whatever the young ladies’ intentions, and she may have been innocent, when they violated her rights, they effectively canceled whatever wrongdoing they envisioned she was about to commit………..the least they can do is manup and apologize to her along with paying her of course.

Clone said:

“Well Well you like you is some kind of idiot. Have you ever seen an American immigration officer smile and say welcome? Have you seen it in Trinidad? I have never yet met a smiling immigration officer in any of my travels. Why pick on Barbados immigration officers. You think they are clowns to be smiling all the time.”

Clone i don’t know what kind of negative aura you present when traveling, but yes, i have seen immigration in Trinidad, USA, Canada, Switzerland and a host of other countries smile and welcome you to the country once they stamp your passport……..my last two trips into Barbados i have finally seen it done here by customs and immigration…….the problem may very well be you and not the immigration in the countries you visit.

49. [15] The State of Barbados justified its denial of entry to Ms Myrie on the basis that she had told lies to the immigration officials as to the identity of her host in Barbados but the Court found that in this case Barbados did not discharge its burden to justify the limitation placed on Ms Myrie’s right to entry as it produced insufficient evidence to establish that she posed such a threat as properly to deem her undesirable. While the truthfulness of replies to questions from border officials may, of course, be officials is, of course, a relevant consideration in assessing such threat, the Court was of the view that Barbados had not established Ms Myrie’s untruthfulness on her replies to such questions.

From the Executive Summary of the judgement

50. Well Well
    I can safely call you a liar. No American Immigration says welcome to America. They take your Passport look at the screen with your info. Tell you put your finger to get the print look into camera for photo stamp your passport and give to you. What welcome what? In fact I was in Miami and spent nearly three hours walking up and down in a line before getting to an immigration officer. You think those officers got time to smile at so many people coming into to this hub.