309 responses to “Caribbean Court of Justice Shanique Myrie Decision”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 4, 2013 at 5:18 PM |

So even if Ms Myrie had intentions of selling her “fronts” what is wrong with that? Where there is a demand there will always be a supply. Shanique was just trying to sell a service in great demand in Barbados. Ask any Bajan โ€œjohnโ€ who gives them the better service, local or foreign. The same way you Bajans prefer imported goods over those locally produced so too the men in their choices of fruits from the middle of the human garden called the body.

If she were a white whore out of Russia or some other Eastern European whorehouse โ€˜invitedโ€™ to service an upscale clientele she would have been treated as a much welcomed tourist adding to the country’s falling numbers.

You should stop attacking poor Shanique and her ilk. Even if she intended to sell โ€œpussโ€ she is no more immoral than the politicians who sell bullshit everyday to idiots like you who buy into the propaganda of regional integration and freedom of movement of both goods and services aka people.

2. @ balance ,

JUST LIKE YOU AND OTHERS I CAN FORM ANY OPINION ,BASED ON WHAT IS BEING SAID VIA MEDIA andPUBLIC DISCOURSE THE FACT IS THAT BEFORE THE CASE BEGUN ALL KNDS OF ASSUMPTIONS AND ALLEGATIONS WERE BEING HURDLED AT BBOTH PARTIES. AC TOOK A STANCE ,. SO WHAT THAT WAS BEFORE THE TRIAL IF I MAY REMIND YOU. .
    YOUR ACCUSATION THAT AC SIDED WITH THE IMMIGRATION OFFICIALO IS PURE POOPYCOCK AND TAKEN OUT OF CONTEXT AS INOTHING AC SAID WAS PERTAINING TO EVIDENCE <
    TYPICaL BLP YaRDFOWL LIKE TO MIsREPRESENT AND MISLEAD<

3. When will this government acknowledge that you cannot defend the indefensible? When will it be big enough and bold enough to realize and acknowledge that each time it attempts to do so it brings Barbados further into disrepute? And when will it come to terms with the fact that, as in this case, a quartet of players and poseurs is not an ensemble guaranteed to win anything very much?

4. Oh but Ross they have won … they will still get paid … in six (seven … my Gad) digits …When will government do as you say …? When it is made up of NO lawyers with an abolished AG post …sorry … but there is an intrinsic conflict of interest … an elephant in the room … I believe that there now can be NO appeals … right?

5. @ Clone
    I listen to the line of argument by some of the Judges and knew the case was already lost.
    Barbados is the only country in the Caribbean that would have lost this case.
    The judges are like the other Caricom Nationals in that they do not respect us. They all feel we are too arrogant.
    Question doa….
    Why all them duz come drawing up rund we like stinkin panty …comin from all bout ..and we ent so crazy bout them place…..none of them. Wait we got gold bout hay ..(jobs wid high pay)….them doan kno ..um fa we children and gran children not dem pickaney .quixs…Time we institute we own policy bossie, odder wise ….we children gine get over-run and leff out !
    Think bout dat…

6. Look at it this way. If there was even an even chance that Myrie could have won, for me the responsible thing to do would be to pay her the half million and done (negotiate a bit of course) … and ensure that you fix your own house … Now the final bill is going to be a whole lot more …!

7. THe fact that MYRIE wON does not make ac change her opinion that barbados or any other country has a right to protect its borders just because a few rogue immigartion officials took it upon themselves to become the LAW instead of applying the law as stated , i meaning the jubliation coming from the BLP yardfowls is with the same vigor and nasty attacks and wild accusations as those of the DOOM AND GLOOM prophets and very predictable to say the least, further more i ac makes no apologies for supporting my country prior to the case being heard unlike u yardfowls who at every turn like mad wolves taking turns at devouring everyinch of flesh on a dead animal relentlessly only this time it is country and its people. WUnna ought to be ashamed of wUNNa selfs.

8. BAF

The immoral act is government’s as with Garcia. But sure – the tradesmen were not worthy of their hire. The interesting question is who gave the government the legal advice it swallowed and regurtitated through the mouths of these characters. Perhaps they will donate their fees to charity. Wouldn’t that be nice?

9. AC . You are behaving like a true paling hen. Girlfriend please puhleeze keep quiet. You are making yourself look rather foolish and letting Bushie and and a few others think that all women are like you.

10. BAF

Just seen CBC News. My concept of “players and poseurs” seemed amply justified. I will add “jokers” – the fellow Forde is a disgrace. By contrast I thought Brathwaite’s remarks were statesmanly.

11. Look on the bright side, in the near term you may see a spike of tourist women coming to Barbados hoping the customs people will feel them up, for a good payday this may be the best tourism dollars spent yet.

12. Ross
    be careful, Amuse took a shine to Forde …

13. I believe that any legal team that purports to represent the interest of the nation state of Barbados should only be paid for a win …. Uh hum!

14. BAF

Yes I realize that. But no matter. I’m sure he winced when he heard the fellow’s idiocy.

And yes, why not: no win, no fee – it’s a kind of personal injury case – yes? Mind maybe the elusive ‘justice’ is bigger than these things.

15. islandgal,
    In the early stages when this case was being discussed, am I mistaken or is my memory bad……………was not this ac vociferously defending the government and cussing Ms Myrie? How can she be now defending her and praising the decision? One thing is certain, for once she cannot blame OSA!

By the way, if the attitude of Roger Forde on the news tonight is anything to go by, no wonder Barbados lost the case!

16. Why are we grabbing at the shadow. This decision says that (1) front line border officials have no discretion to deny entry to “caricom nationals” who are entitled to legal and consular services if adverse action is contemplated, (2) “Community Law” which includes Heads of Government Conference Decisions and Law made by the “organs” of Caricom trumps Barbados Law up to and including the Constitution. Bajans need to wake up and smell the coffee. Caricom is a heck of a lot more than a trade treaty. It will be interesting to see what the opposition to CCJ in JA and elsewhere morphs into.

17. The Court held that Myrie did not pose a threat to national security:

[14] The Court held that in order for a Member State to limit the right of entry of a national of another Member State in the interests of public morals, national security and safety, and national health, the visiting national must present a genuine, present and sufficiently serious threat affecting one of the fundamental interests of society. The threat posed should, at the very least, be one to do something prohibited by national law. The national must pose a threat to do something prohibited by national law. The Court held that the principle of proportionality was also relevant to the application of Community law.

18. Item 13:

BU finds most interesting where community law trumps national law. This has implication for Barbados ensuring national law is aligned with community law.

[13] While the 2007 Conference Decision entitles a Member State to limit the free movement of a national of another Member State if such national is โ€œundesirableโ€ or would become โ€œa charge on public fundsโ€, the Court indicated that this entitlement must be construed as an exception to the right of entry. Consequently, the scope of the refusal and the grounds on which it is should be based must be interpreted narrowly and strictly and the burden of proof must rest on the Member of State that seeks to invoke either ground. The concept of undesirability must be concerned with the protection of public morals, the maintenance of public order and safety and the protection of life and health. While Member States have some discretion when invoking this exception, the scope of the concept of โ€œundesirable personsโ€ is subject to control by the major Community Organs, particularly the Conference, and ultimately by the Court as the Guardian of the RTC. Refusal on the basis of undesirability must be based on national law and on Community law but where the former is inconsistent with Community law, the latter must prevail. The Court also provided general guidelines on how a Member State may limit a visiting nationalโ€™s right of entry on the ground of the visitor being a person likely to become a โ€œcharge on public fundsโ€.

19. Prodigal ..I remember the vitriol thrown about Miss Myrie. We cannot eat humble pie. Barbados needs to apologise to Miss Myrie including AC. I didn’t hear Mr Forde but his attitude I presume represents many of the attitudes on this island.

20. @islandgal

The judgement is bigger that Myrie. It has serious implication for not only Barbados but ALL member Caricom states as it relates to movement of people. We live in interesting times.

On 4 October 2013 23:38, Barbados Underground

21. Amused and lawyers on here Peter Thorne reported Barbados has to pay the costs of Myrie’s lawyers. Is that correct? What I heard the judge read out was that Barbados has to pay reasonable costs. Explain to us non lawyers the difference because what I heard does not tally with what not so bright Peter Thorne reported.

22. However, the BIGGEST implications seems to lie HERE…..as ‘every soldier crab’ seems to want to come and live in Barbados…that’s the reality

23. David when these heads of governments meet to sign treaties and agreements, many of them do this only for pomp and ceremony. Many are not serious about implementation. This will make them sit up and take notice that when they agree to something they must make sure that they understand the implications. Perhaps more citizens need to take governments to the CCJ. Al Barrak should consider this move.

Barbados is being embarrassed BIG time all around. We have a PM and a MOF showing the whole world how incompetent they are. A MOT doing nutting and saying nutting about our Tourism product. We need to clean up our act and be more professional.

24. It is very clear the order of the Court:

(a) Declares that the State of Barbados breached the right of the Claimant to enter Barbados pursuant to Article 45 of the RTC in conjunction with the 2007 Conference Decision;
    (b) Orders the State of Barbados to pay the Claimant the amount of Bds$2240.00 (being the equivalent of JA$112,000.00) for pecuniary damages and the sum of Bds$75,000.00 for non-pecuniary damages;
    (c) Orders the State of Barbados to pay the costs of the Claimant to be taxed if not agreed;
    (d) Makes no order as to costs of the Intervener or the Community;
    (e) Refuses all other declarations and orders claimed in the Originating Application and in the Statement filed by the State of Jamaica in its capacity as Intervener.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Senator Maxine McClean, as a show of contrite remorse, should offer an apology to both Ms Myrie and the Government of Jamaica.

Based on the initial misleading accusations levied at Ms Myrie of being a liar intent on engaging in nefarious activities in Barbados we believe in the spirit of regional integration and from one black woman to another Ms McClean ought to either offer an apology or tender her resignation for the sake of decency and integrity in public office.
    If she does not we can only conclude that it takes one lying whore to know another.

26. It will be interesting to hear Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart response in the context of how he responded during the Guyanese Affair that he will not allow Barbados to become a warehouse of the unskilled seeking entry to Barbados.

27. Clone | October 4, 2013 at 6:10 PM |

Well Well
    I can safely call you a liar. No American Immigration says welcome to America. They take your Passport look at the screen with your info.

Sorry for your bad experiences in Miami, NY, Chicago, Seattle and wherever else Clone, but your experiences has never been my experience………….you can continue to encourage the immigration/customs in Bim to be nasty to their own Caribbean people, it has worked out so well in the Myrie case that it has even set a precedent. LOL!!!

28. And Clone…………..by the way, if you are continually treated so badly by immigration/customs in the US, why the hell do you still go there?? are you a glutton for ill-treatment, a sadist, what gives???

29. Should set precedent for Plantation Deeds, an easier case to decide considering evidence in his posession

30. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Look, i’ve been through the Airport since I was a little boy. Before it was rebuilt it had a nice atmosphere. As a child I never noticed the immigration or customs. But of course now i’ve grown older and since it was rebuilt it honestly deteriorated in my opinion. Sure it may be bigger but a cheffette and a few stuffy shops doesn’t make it fun.

Not to mention the behavior of certain immigration and cusoms staff, wuhloss, dem tink dem is de almighy!! So while I as a bajan feel hurt bout this it had to occur so that certain persons would be brought back down to earth. Now maybe they will be more humane and at the same time follow the law and record everything, so as to stop incidents like this from re-occurring. But ya know how corrupt law enforcement hates cameras and voice recording!!

31. http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/shanique-myrie-goes-to-court/

if there is any doubt about my support for myrie during the trial u can read my comments here, support of my country did not undermind the injustices that were meted out to her, ac is not at all surprised that the yardfowls would cling to their version and intrepretation of ac love of country would trumping people civils rights ,

32. AC girlfriend like you have been wukking real hard!…LOLL

33. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

If Miss Myrie really was going to pursue a career in gogo dancing and dirty whining if it is illegal, they still did it the wrong way. Should have gone to the establishment where she was shaking her money maker, then arrested and deported her for breaking the law. At least that’s my opinion. Instead they detained and molested her on suspicion….. hmmm?!

34. The judgement is bigger that Myrie. It has serious implication for not only Barbados but ALL member Caricom states as it relates to movement of people. We live in interesting times.

On 4 October 2013 23:38, Barbados Underground
    “”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””
    I am glad we are having this conversation.

One of my children applied to the Accreditation Council for a certificate recently. Boy, was this an eye opener on not only the attitude of civil servants but on their incompetency. To me, one of the so called supervisors came over as aloof, uncaring and a square peg in a round hole even to the point of jealousy that a young person could be well qualified at such a young age.

My child filled out the application and took it in. We were told we had to have the actual degree and not the transcript. My child also had another professional qualification as well as a foundation degree which was a requirement done along side the professional qualification. When told this, she said…we cant accept that! As the graduation was a few months away, we requested the University to expedite the degree and mail it to a relative so that we could get it quickly seeing time was of the essence.

We waited for weeks beyond the time frame given for the certificate to be issued. When we called to find out what was the delay, we were then told….. “we need you to ask the university to send the transcripts directly to us”.

Now we had no problem with the request as we all know that people forge all kinds of qualifications but when they originally rejected the original transcripts we provided……why could they not have told us then that they needed the university to send transcripts directly to them especially since they originally said they had to have the actual degree?

Having said all this, do you think that people are going to be willing to go through this frustrating process to get accredited? We may yet have have an influx now ………. but no…………not now, Barbados is not what it used to be so they may not need to hear………..ever so welcome, wait for a call!

35. @island gal . in the court of public opinion a person must always be readily prepared to defend themselves especially when half assed perceptions and assumptions and misintrepretations are thrown out as fact, I am surprised at YOU island gal that YOU would take such a route, especially knowing that Ac is one big supporter of Peoples civil Rights no matter Race color or sexual preference.

36. Well Well
    From reading yours posts in the past you do have a problem. No where in my posts did I say I was mistreated. I just outlined the procedures immigration Officers take you through for entering countries. No lotta smiles

37. That Slut /Whore/Bitch was coming to Barbados to strip dance in a Club. That bitch should not ahve gotten one red cent–Bitch !!!!

It is all because of this incompetent BLIGHTED -rahsoul DLP government.

THE DLP IS BLIGHTED
    EVERY TIME THEY ARE IN POWER–SHIT HAPPENS
    People see this and still vote for the Clowns especially the Cunts in St. John. Every time I think about , I get so frigging ANGRY THEN–ONE SET PEOPLE COULD BE SO IGNIORANT ????????????

The situation that resulted in this case is the Government’s fault. They don’t know shit from piss.
    A lot is wrong in this country and this hapless Government has no frigging clue…. Oh for a man –a Prime Minister of the ilk of TOM ADAMS (and I am only calling one name)

THE MYRIE CASE IS THE GOVERNMENT’S FAULT ——-AND I CAN PROVE IT–BY ARGUMENT

38. We have been driven into a community or let us spellout the word a FEDERAL oversight of entry rules and regulations .
    It appears as though the Heads of Government is now a Federal Parliament making rules of trade and services.Not a bad thing but for heaven sake how come we the citizens do not know this.This DLP government went out of its way to hunt down and throw out our Guyanese brethren led by the dead king Thompson and the simpleton cCleanYou must know that you cannot do that any more.In any case Barbados needs young immigrants to ensure growth and to improve our gene pool.This ruling should be seen as a good thing for this country.Manage it!

39. Just asking….”That Slut /Whore/Bitch was coming to Barbados to strip dance in a Club. That bitch should not ahve gotten one red centโ€“Bitch !!!!”

YOUR MUDDER GOT TO BE ONE OF THE THREE TO GIVE BIRTH TO YOU!

40. “Barbados needs young immigrants to ensure growth and to improve our gene pool.This ruling should be seen as a good thing for this country.Manage it!”

Well said Gabriel! There are too many chronic diseases in families and I suspect that it is genetically caused. This island gene pool has overlapped and many cousins are making dozens thus perpetuating the problem.

41. @islandgirl246
    “David when these heads of governments meet to sign treaties and agreements, many of them do this only for pomp and ceremony”.
    We are now understanding the implications of what Mr. Owen Arthur signed in 2007.
    You take away a country’s strong border enforcement regime and the Jamaican crime epidemic might soon become the Barbados crime epidemic. Take away the emotions and Barbados has a better record of implementing regional decisions than many of our neighbours but it seems that some even in our midst like to make Barbados the whipping boy for simply saying “We want to have control over who comes here”.
    This decision will open a can of worms and will hinder effective border enforcement but then again maybe that was the aim back in 2007. Barbados Beware.

42. (c) Orders the State of Barbados to pay the costs of the Claimant to be taxed if not agreed;

WTF does this mean? Anyone?

43. Islandgal I will pay you no mind
    I reserved ‘cussing you” to another time
    I will not cuss you now
    But just remember that you trouble me first
    One thing I dont do on this blog is attack commenters (first)
    I will not cuss you now
    I reserve cussing for now
    Just want to ask you to go and wash yuh musty crutch and leave me alone

44. Myrie I am on your side … I say cash in on your present fame. Here’s an idea .. start a line of panties that have inscribed on the front the words “$3.5 Million”

45. the CCJdecision did not impede on any of Barbados immigration Laws nor did the CCJ intrepretations of LAWS under Caricom denied Barbados the right toapply their laws providing those laws are applied fairly i and without harrasement to the national and are not in conflict with community law however given precedant to the latter in decision making,also noteworthy is the opinion that on matters of refusal entry considerations such as the interest of moral / safety/ life and health and national interest must be of priorty.for denial. the problem is not so much one of the LAWS of barbados but with those whose job were to dispense but thought it best to bypass and implement laws of their own intrepretation or what we now know as ACTS of ILLEGALITIES
    THESE people every one of them should be fired without haste, for bringing shame and disrespect to all people and country. PM Do the RIGHT THING. THE PEOPLE ARE WATCHING FOR YOUR RESPONSE

46. Just want to ask you to go and wash yuh musty crutch and leave me alone.

Oh lord muh belly. Murder. Just asking yuh nearly kill me wid laugh.

47. Maxine McClean, and Harry Husbands, where are you all? Any comment on this judgement? You did your investigation and found Shanique to by lying, but a regional court found otherwise.. Roger Forde thought that he could bulldoze his way through this court with his foolish ugly self. He look s like a full bafoon.

48. BAF

On Myrie thongs…yes. Reckon they’d do better than your T shirts (lest we forget).

49. Barbados doesn’t need immigrants…you need emigrants …how much air do you think you can put into a balloon. What a sad state of affairs Barbados is in when you have to go outside the country to get a stripper. One of two reasons can explain this phenomena it is either the Bajan populace is too well paid or the strippers down there are real mutts and look better with their cloths on…..BAFBPF your idea would be better if it said instead of 3.5 million….enter at your own risk.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Ms Shanique Myrie has just been unwittingly made into a pop personality; the most renowned Caribbean woman of modern times second only to Rihanna. A regional heroine or Rosa Parks of her time.

Why not give her range of knickers the designer label: “The S & M Padlock: If you want to protect your CAT you will need one when visiting Barbados”.
    They would sell like hot cakes especially among the British ladies.